Reading Reviews for Simplicity
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by naflower05 Care of Magical Creatures

21st July 2013:
good chapter! I can't wait for the nest one, update again soon! =]

Author's Response: Thanks! The next one is coming up, I've been struggling with writers block but its getting there! haha

 Report Review

Review #2, by Clare Care of Magical Creatures

14th July 2013:
Absolutely love this story. You're writing is brilliant and I'll be checking back at every available opportunity so as not to miss the next bit. Can't wait for more. :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Check back soon for the latest chapter! Will be updating today or tomorrow! xx

 Report Review

Review #3, by ain't no muggle. Care of Magical Creatures

14th July 2013:
PLEASE CONTINUE I NEED MORE FEELS OMG.
PLEASE I BEG YOU.

XX

Author's Response: UPDATES ARE COMING! I PROMISE! SOON! x

 Report Review

Review #4, by Smile-and-read Care of Magical Creatures

13th July 2013:
I love your writing, characters, and development of the story! It is outstanding!! You set a perfect pace and I love how realistic your characters are. Great job and keep up the great work!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, It's great to know people enjoy my writing! Check back soon for an update! x

 Report Review

Review #5, by Rintunes Care of Magical Creatures

9th July 2013:
They're partners, they're partners! Hehe, yay! Sorry it took me so long to get back to you on this chapter, I've been busy as a bee! And you really didn't have to thank me, I just know that I appreciate getting feedback on my writing, so I want to spread around the author appreciation. Have I mentioned I'm glad that they're partners?

I'm actually really interested in the fact that Lincoln (or Connie, I don't really know what to call her now) wants to be a Dragon Trainer. It seems the opposite of an unpredictable and normal job. I didn't expect that, but I think it lent her more of a personality. I like this daring side of her. And now I'm wondering if you're going to play on her mother's warning her away from dragons or not.

So, quick typo correction. Near the beginning of the chapter, when Lincoln's startled awake, there isn't a dash between "wide-awake". Okay, only typo I spotted.

I like how we keep getting more details on Lincoln's life. It's good. And oh my gosh, her mom. Pleading insane? I feel so bad for Lincoln right now. Is it bad that I want her friends to find out about her mom already? I just want to see how they would react...

I though the Remus/Lincoln partnering was adorable, and I can't wait to see what entails from that partnership. I can't wait for the next chapter, update soon please! Thank you for writing!

~Rintunes

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the reviews! I've been so busy lately so I haven't had time to update but hopefully I'll get the chapter in in a few days! I'm so excited to write them as partners! I was worried it would be too cliche, but who cares! It'll be awesome! haha

Keep reading (when I update, hehe)!

Meghan x.


 Report Review

Review #6, by oldnumberseven  Care of Magical Creatures

1st July 2013:
"I'm not so sure they would want to be my friend after they found out who I was related to. I'm not sure anyone would. They say crazy runs in the family."

Aaand this is why it's so great to see that Lincoln is becoming friends with Sirius. After I read that sentence, I was like hey, she should talk to Mr. Black! He's probably the best person to talk to about that stuff ... even if they are trying to avoid the subject at the moment :D

I'm also interested to see what happens when they figure out her real identity. Maybe they will see her mother's letter? But regardless, I have a feeling they aren't going to care too much ;)

And Remus action! Hurray! I wish I could be his year long partner XD

Thanks for the mention in the chapter dear, but you didn't have to ;) I just know that I always love when people consistently review my story so I thought I'd spread the love!

Author's Response: Well I'm new to publishing my fan fiction stuff online and it really helps when people continuously give you positive feedback, makes you want to keep going with the story! I'll check out your work :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by oldnumberseven  Howarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry

25th June 2013:
"Have fun Lincoln, but not with boys."

Ha! Fox sounds a little bit like my father ;)

To go off my last review, you're written Connie's transition into the school very well! I like that you didn't just plop her into Hogwarts and make her stand on stage with the first years. Also, her conversations with the Marauders seem genuine instead of forced because you can see her true personality starting to come out - for instance, the scene where she tells Sirius to stop making fun of the first year and he actually listens to her. Brilliant stuff.

And I particularly like your portrayal of Sirius. And Remus. I can't wait to see what happens when Connie finally admits to herself that she finds him attractive XD

Author's Response: Thanks! I don't want my story to be like so many other where she just suddenly want to be with Remus and that's it... there needs to be some kind of realisation, that's really important to me but it's also important that she has some kind of connection with him she just doesn't know what yet, thanks for reviewing! xx

 Report Review

Review #8, by oldnumberseven  The Simple(ish) Life of Lincoln Silverstreet

25th June 2013:
I will admit, I normally don't like fics that have transfer students because I think it's a little overdone ... HOWEVER, I really like your interpretation! I like that you've taken the idea and fleshed it out. It makes the transition a lot more believable - for example, it's heartbreaking and sentimental that she wants to be called Connie to remember her dead best friend. I think it has to do with the fact that you write a very realistic first person narrative! I like the witch already and it's only the second chapter!

I'm also interested to see how her mother's choice plays out in the future. I want to know why she turned evil too XD

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I don't usually like them because they're always so cliche with ditzy characters that just hook up with the Marauders but I'm hoping I've given Lincoln enough substance to set her apart- I couldn't resist this idea when it came to me! There will be more about her mother in later chapters :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by oldnumberseven  Prologue.

25th June 2013:
Oooo, what a great beginning! I love that the Head Auror's wife is a defector, although I'm interested to know a bit more about why she decided to get wrapped up in the Dark Arts instead of something mundane ... like gardening haha :D

I also like that you've set the scene before we've actually met Lincoln. It gives just the right amount of context!

Onto the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks! There will be a chapter dedicated to why Lincoln's mother did what she did later in the story but the important thing for now is the act itself and how it effects Lincoln! :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by naflower05 Howarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry

24th June 2013:
good story so far! I really like it! I can't wait to see what happens next! Update again soon! =]

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I've officially got an outline for the first 11 chapters so hopefully I'll be able to get updates pretty quickly as long as I write on schedule! Next chapter should be submitted for validation soon!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Rintunes Howarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry

24th June 2013:
Okay, I loved how you started off this chapter. The list was hilarious, especially the pathetic bit. I am so, so very happy that you gave Lincoln a super supportive, loving dad; some dads would've gone off the deep end and maybe left Lincoln to fend for herself. I'm glad that her dad didn't end up as one of those unfortunate souls.

I'm going to make a quick correction; in "He two was tall..." the "two" should've been a "too". It doesn't matter that much, and I don't know if you want to take the time to change it. It was in the tenth-ish paragraph from the top.

The dialogue in this chapter was really funny. I cracked up when Lincoln's dad said "Have fun Lincoln, but not with boys." Loved it! And the talking between the boys in the train compartment was funny, and then it was funny between the girls in the dorm.

I think it's interesting how you're going to have the professors call Lincoln "Connie" because the professors usually call the student by their last names. I'm just wondering if the other students are going to react to that.

Anyway, I am loving your writing thus far. I can't wait for the next chapter and for Lincoln to start classes at Hogwarts. Thank you so much for writing!

~Rintunes

Author's Response: Thanks for pointing out that error! I'll definitely fix it, I try to pick up on everything before I submit but sometimes I miss those smaller ones! I think having the professors call her Connie will give her a little mystery with the other students, make them wonder about her and set her apart from the rest of the students because she has this huge secret no one can know, I hope it turns out okay! Submitting the next chapter soon for validation, thank you for all your great reviews!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Rintunes The Simple(ish) Life of Lincoln Silverstreet

24th June 2013:
I really truly loved this chapter. Your story has already caused plenty of feels for me and I'm only on the second chapter! Overall, your writing has been descriptive, but doesn't overcompensate or drag anything on. All of the words have a purpose.

The opening, with the repetition over and over of the word "simplicity" could be a drawback for some writing, but with Lincoln it really drove the point home that she, because of what her mother has done, just wants everything in its place, for everything to be easy, for nothing even remotely crazy to happen in her life anymore. And even before her mother committed murder, she was a simple girl.

I also liked the fact that you gave the date of the murder. It made Harlow's act seem more real. And then you emphasized Lincoln's friendship with Amelia and the pain over her death with details of their relationship. You didn't just tell us how Lincoln felt, you showed us how she felt with events and places she had been with Amelia.

Their friendship was also shown by the way Lincoln imagined Amelia, with the way she would talk and her habits and what she wanted to do when she grew up. It made Amelia more personal to the story, a more true to life character instead of some person who was murdered.

One last thing, then I promise I'm done. With this chapter anyway. I just thought it was funny how Lincoln said she doesn't like being surrounded by water, yet she now lives in Britain. I don't know if you did that on purpose, but I laughed at that.

Okay, I'm all done now. Thank you so much for writing, I'm going to go read your next chapter now!

~Rintunes

Author's Response: Haha I actually didn't do that on purpose but I noticed that as well when I edited and I was going to change it but I decided it was just an extra thing Lincoln had to deal with because of her mother's act, even if it is as simple as having to live in a country with a lot of rain! Your reviews are amazing though! They really inspire me to keep going with this story!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Rintunes Prologue.

24th June 2013:
That was an amazing start to your story, I loved it! It's okay that it was short, prologues usually are, it's just important that you started your story off with something exciting.

I think that it's good that you put a reason behind the fact that Harlow became a death eater. She felt like she hadn't done anything with her life, but she's certainly made a name for herself now. And I like that you didn't make her completely heartless. She obviously cared for her daughter... even though I guess she did kill Lincoln's best friend. But that fact also lent her a more villainous trait.

I also liked your journalism pieces in this chapter. I've always struggled with the detached voice that a journalist piece usually shows if it's being unbiased and just stating the facts, so I think you did really well with that.

I'm looking forward to learning about Lincoln, since there wasn't very much info on her yet. Well, onto your next chapter! Thanks for writing!

~Rintunes

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review! I hope you learnt a bit more about Lincoln in the following chapters! I've struggled a bit trying to get her across the right way but hopefully I've succeeded! Thanks though, the journalism comes from the journalism class I did last semester! Haha
Meghan x.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login