Reading Reviews for Snapshots
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Maelody Snapshots

7th March 2014:
What's up with you Gryffies and these tragic stories? I mean wow, but seriously! You're breaking me here!

I don't think I've fallen in love with Hugo so hard before. No one ever goes into depth with him, and this was just so perfect. You can see his father in him in every way, and yet he's even more than that. Braver, in a way, to get what he wants right away.

"I wouldn't want some random girl totting about with a picture of me." Or however that line goes. It was great! One of the first times I laughed during this piece, and I just knew that this was the beginning of forever for Anlee (a beautiful name, by the way!) That little boy was to become her best friend.

The first time you gave me goosebumps was when you addressed Hugo's name for the first time. I figured the camera would make her a Creevey, so I was prepared. I was not prepared for her to fall in love with Hugo. That was and is amazing. I still can't stop thinking of how amazing of a character you made him!

The first time I grew insanely happy in this story was when he told her he loved her. This relationship was just so simple, yet so sweet, and so flawless. It's so believable, and yet so tragic. Simply put, I want to start taking pictures now!

The first time I became very sad in reading this was when she egged him to go at the green light. I knew. I just knew something was going to happen. And it did. And it as awful. And her being in the hospital and wondering where Hugo was, numb to her own intense pain, was the first time in this story that my heart broke.

The first time I cried? Was when she threw her camera at the wall, allowing it to shatter. How she admitted that the 'therapy' someone suggested was not ideal, and how she ached to have Hugo back. How she was wearing the ring he was planning to give her, and how everything is crashed down upon me that he's gone. She's still in the early stages of missing someone. That's a great feat, by the way. I think it's much harder to write something immediately after a close and personal death than it is when the character gets months to recover.

Simply put (I tried to relate this to your story in a way if you couldn't tell ;)), I loved this story. It's the perfect amount of heartbreak, and yet beauty. The relationship was perfect, and silly, and ultimately what every girl wants. Lee got that, but it was taken so abruptly. How awful :(.

This was a great story and definitely deserved it's first place in the challenge! Great job! :D

*Favorites*

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodore Snapshots

15th August 2013:
Hi Taylor! I'm here for the Gryffie review exchange!

I'm actually really pleased that we got paired together; I've loved everything of yours that I've read so far and I've heard wonderful things about this one-shot!

Somehow with this one-shot you've managed to both make me happy and feel all warm and fuzzy and bring tears of sadness to my eyes - there aren't many authors who can achieve that in about 5000 words. I'm just so impressed with this and so happy that I got the chance to read it!

You had me guessing from the very beginning about what was going to happen in this piece, and it was only towards the end that I actually realised what was going to happen. The opening was great - there was an element of ambiguity about who the main character actually was at first. I knew that it was a relation of Colin's of course, but that didn't tell us who they were. I also couldn't quite work out how Anslee felt at first about looking at the photos; at the beginning it seemed like she had mixed feelings as you kept us guessing and then as those sections continued the tone developed into a more concrete sadness and it was clear that she was drudging up memories that she'd prefer to forget.

The line that you included right in that beginning section "yet another person I know that left this world far too early." was the one that made me realise as I was reading that this story wasn't going to end happily. I almost didn't want to continue reading it when I guessed what was going to happen, but your writing of the other, happier scenes was just so great that I had to carry on!

Your characterisation of Hugo and Anslee was lovely. I really like the fact that you chose to write this with Hugo as the male character as there are so few stories featuring him - and I like it even more because he's not the perfect pin-up sort of guy. I loved him at the beginning, as the cheeky eleven year old, asking all these questions and being nosy. He reminded me of Ron on the train with Harry - a classic Weasley! The character development through the story was really good as well, which definitely isn't easy to manage in a one-shot.

The two of them are just so cute! I loved the way that he asked her out and was adorably nervous, and the way that you could see the relationship developing and evolving through the story. One of the things that's great here is that you don't really introduce anything unnecessary to the story. The camera's obviously the main focal point, with Anslee looking at the pictures, but the car is also important, as that brings it round to the end.

I actually think that this is the first time I've read a fanfiction where the wizard or witch was killed in a Muggle way. I really didn't want Hugo to die, but I knew that he was going to... it made me cry, and that's because of how well you wrote it. I could feel Anslee's pain and despair as she was taken from the car and had to leave Hugo behind. But I think the fact that you chose to have Hugo killed by a drunk driver is extremely effective and poignant - it's something that resonates with the reader because it's a tragedy that occurs far too often, and most people know, or know of, someone who has died in a similarly tragic way.

The ending was also brilliantly crafted. You weaved the quotes in really well - if they hadn't been in bold I wouldn't have noticed them at all - but I loved the way that you brought the piece full circle; at the beginning, Anslee says it should be therapeutic, and at the end she realises it hasn't been. It really helped me to feel like the story was complete and left me satisfied - if sad - with the ending. I'm so pleased we got paired together for the exchange!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hi Sian! Wow, this review really left me smiling like an idiot. :)

This story was fun to write, in that it combines the really fluffy parts of a story with tragedy, and I'm glad you noticed them both here! I did use a little bit of foreshadowing throughout, as you seemed to notice as well!

When I was coming up with the framework for this story, I almost immediately decided that I wanted it to feature Hugo. I've always pictured him as a bit quirky and silly, so I really tried to capture that here.

As far as not introducing anything unnecessary, that actually came mostly from my fear of this one-shot getting too long! I knew from the beginning that this was going to be a bit longer than the usual one-shot I write, so I really wanted to plan it out well and make sure I didn't write too much.

Wizards always seem to die in these bold, magical ways, but in the real world, something as simple as someone who's had too much to drink behind the wheel of a car can cut off a life like that. I think that's why I incorporated the crash in here - to make it more human.

I'm glad you think the quotes were weaved in well, and that it wrapped up nicely. Thanks so much for this lovely review!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #3, by DarknessIsMyOnlyFriend Snapshots

26th July 2013:
For a second there I though the boy would be the child of Luna. "you are funny. I like you" I like that this is Hugo though. And a Creevey child...interesting. A friendship with family of a hero was all her uncle would have wanted.

I never really though of the character of Hugo, so I was really interested to see where you would take it. He asks a lot of questions and he whines a bit. And a bit pushy to become her friend haha. I'm not entirely sure how to see that behaviour in the right light, but as I said I know very little of his character.
In the later years he reminds me of Fred and George a bit. Not just the pranking. Also the way he interacts with Anslee during other moments. Confident but not cocky. Suave.

The time jumps were different from what I've read before but I liked it. And for some reason I did not need telling in which time I'd be. It would clear itself up pretty soon, so that's good. I really liked the bits of history you gave us. And Hugo was one romantic man. Asking her to Hogsmeade the way he did. That was cute and it really helped establish their relationship better.

The start gave it a sad vibe, so it kept me wondering what was happening in present time. It was a nice trip down memory lane and wonderful way to get to the ending. It gives a good sense of the them as a couple which makes the impact of the second part of the story much bigger. And it was sad. Very sad. And beautiful in its sadness.

The only thing I found that I could comment on were that some the sentences where Anslee explained why she liked something, seemed a bit forced into the story. However with simply changing the wording I am sure that would change. For instance this sentence: 'I love flipping through the pictures, because itís a really great way to reflect on all that's happened in the recent past.' I can' tell you why it feels a little forced, but it does. I think it feels like overly explaining it. But then again I get that you want to mention it, since you link back to it again.. Am I being difficult? I'm sure I am, sorry haha.

I really like your writing style by the way. It's really easy to read, it flows so...fluently if that's the right word to use.

Author's Response: Hi there! Sorry for the (majorly late) reply!

Yes, Hugo does have a bit of a Luna-like character, especially at the beginning. And I'm sure Colin would have been just beaming at his niece's relationship with a Weasley. ;)

I wanted Hugo to be a bit different, so yeah, he's a little pushy at the beginning because he's used to getting what he wants, and what he wants is to be friends with this girl, and figure out what this object is that she's holding. Also, I like the comparison to Fred and George, because that's exactly how I wanted teenage Hugo to be. :)

I know the time jumps are something I haven't seen much in reading, but I wanted to try it out here, and I'm glad it worked out some. And yes, Hugo's a bit of a romantic on the inside... underneath all that pranking nonsense he's basically a big softie.

There was definitely a fair bit of foreshadowing, and yeah, it ended up sad at the end. But I love that you called it beautiful too, because a beautiful sadness was really my goal for this piece.

Yeah, looking back, I did phrase some of those sentences kind of awkwardly... thanks for pointing that out! I will definitely fix that!

I'm so happy you like my writing style - that's such a huge compliment! Thanks so much for reviewing!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #4, by LittleLionGirl Snapshots

25th July 2013:
Wow. This is such a painful and sad story :( The love in it is adorable though- right down to the photograph of the parchment. I just feel so bad for Lee... He was her best friend too. This story was amazingly well written. Reading this was no problem at all. I couldn't have stopped even if I wanted to.
XOXOXO,
LLG

Author's Response: Hi! I'm glad you liked the story, and that the emotions were conveyed well. Thank you so much for the review!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #5, by ginnypotter242 Snapshots

15th July 2013:
This story was incredible! Hugo a Anslee's relationship was perfect, and I loved every minute of this one-shot. It was incredibly well-written, and the emotions were great. I wasn't entirely sure what had happened when I first started reading, but I had an inkling. (one of those-no, please don't let me be right about this feelings). I love how their whole story is laid out through pictures- it's so beautiful, yet so painful. I love they they were a relaxed couple. It truly made the story about their entire relationship, not just their romantic relationship.

The emotions in this story were great. You changed the mood with each flashback flawlessly. I didn't find any spelling or grammar issues. I like how Anslee relates to Colin- it's a nice connection with the camera. Great job with this entire story.

~Sara

Author's Response: I'm glad you like this! It definitely had a fair bit of foreshadowing. The picture-flashbacks were so much fun to write, in that it was a style nothing like what I usually write. Their relationship was great to write as well, because it wasn't just romance, but it still had some cute romantic elements.

I'm glad you thought I wrote this well - thanks so much for the review and making me smile like an idiot!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #6, by LilyLou Snapshots

12th July 2013:
LilyLou here with your Requested Review!

Okay, so I actually still have quixotic's to do. You were second on my list. After reading this, I realized that you had asked for a review and I didn't even realize it was for this story. So, I'm giving you yours now that I've already read it.

And there is absolutely nothing wrong with this story whatsoever. It is absolutely, positively, beautiful. I cried. In public. I was reading this at a local baseball park and I started crying. Quite embarrassing, really. But oh my god. This one shot is so sad, yet happy, at the same time. I can't even begin to explain how much I love this. I've only ever cried only three fanfictions before, one of them being my one shot, And I You. But that's besides the point. This one shot... There aren't even words to describe. Its amazing, and YOU are an amazing writer. You made me feel as if I were Anslee, mourning over Hugo.

Again, a beautiful one shot, I don't see a thing to critize whatsoever. Sorry I keep repeating myself; I just can't find words to explain.

Keep writing!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Hi Lily!

Oh my gosh, this review left me smiling like an idiot. I'm so, so happy you enjoyed it. :) Thanks so much for this amazing review!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #7, by marauderfan Snapshots

28th June 2013:
*picks jaw up off the floor*

So, I thought I'd see what I'm competing against in the sad ending challenge, and I was blown away by this one-shot! I really like how from the beginning it's got a thread of sadness running through it, even though the memories in the first half are all happy.

I loved your characterisation of Hugo. And Anslee is great - it was a nice touch to have her as Colin Creevey's niece, which already sets up the theme of people dying too young, but also easily sets up the way the story is told in photographs, in little fragments of Anslee's old life. I absolutely loved the way Hugo asked her out.

The end is absolutely heartbreaking. Especially because it's long after the war, when people are supposed to live happily ever after and not die young. And then something as mundane as a car crash ruins it all. I think it was even sadder because it was a car crash than it would've been if you'd had him die of some magical cause.

I can't say I'm surprised this piece won the TKAM challenge as well, it's just so beautifully written. (I love that book - great integration of that quote btw.) So glad I read this one-shot, it was incredible. Great job!

Author's Response: Hi there! Well, I'm very happy that this was jaw-dropping - that's a very nice compliment!

I really tried to foreshadow in the first half, even though the memories themselves are rather happy.

Hugo and Anslee were so much fun to write, and really kind of brought in the photograph theme as well. I did love that scene of Hugo asking Anslee out - it was so much fun to write!

The ending was inevitable - I knew it was going to happen, but it didn't make it any easier to write. :(

Thanks so much for the review!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #8, by MadiMalfoy Snapshots

28th June 2013:
Hi again! :)

First off, yay, obscure character Hugo!! :D Secondly, sad story! Thirdly, OC Anslee! :D

Now down to business! I think the format actually works pretty well for how you want this portrayed. The flashbacks fit in with the current photo(s) Anslee is looking at in the present moment, providing the perfect opportunity for those flashbacks. It flows too, with the flashbacks following the same timeline as the present, without any weird skips forwards or backwards to mess it up.

As far as characterization goes, I absolutely love how you characterized Hugo!! Rather than have him be a very timid, shy Weasley like he is canonically, you wrote him as very outgoing and into muggle things like his muggleborn mother and Weasley grandfather. And with your OC Anslee, I feel she was also very interested in muggle things as well, considering she is from the Creevey family! I loved that you wrote it from her POV rather than Hugo's to give it a different perspective. I mean, even though he obviously dies, it's a nice change from an actual HP character's POV that's usually very canon-y and boring.

As a whole, this one-shot was very good and congrats on winning the challenge!! :D You requested this before the results were posted so now that I'm reviewing it today, I'm a little biased ;) Please re-request on your other pieces, you write very well and I love your stuff! :) xx
~MadiMalfoy

Author's Response: Hi Madi! Sorry for the delayed reply!

I'm glad you thought the formatting worked - it was weird writing a story that flipped from present to flashback so often.

Hugo was fun to write, as was Anslee. They were both a little quirky and non-traditional, which made them all that more interesting. Writing from Anslee's POV was fun as well, because you really get to ride the roller coaster of her emotions as the story goes on.

I'm glad you like this story - and I'll definitely re-request for some other stories!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #9, by KiwiOliver Snapshots

28th June 2013:
KiwiOliver here with you're review :)
Since it's a long-ish chapter, I'll review as I go, then sum up at the end :) Hope that's okay!
I'm intrigued as to why she wants to burn the photographs, because so far this first one seem's quite nice.
I do think they talk like they're a lot older then they are, but I suppose Hugo comes from a well respected family so that could be to do with that.
The part about McGonagall's stern expression made me chuckle, I can imagine that happening :p
Anslee seems like a realistic character, she's normal, not over the top in anyway, I like that.
I like the fact at this point (Second photo) Hugo seems like a fun joker type of person :) He seems like a likable character.
The way you've changed her feelings after each picture brings back a new memory is done really well, because our feelings are the same as hers, as an observer.
Aww It's cute how she's falling for him, you've written that in a nice way, not a stereotypical gushy romance way. I like it a lot :)
AW! That was perfect, Hugo's proposal (to date not get married) is amazing, really great idea :)
I've taken up a lot of this review already so I'll finish it when I finish the chapter (I'm that into it).
Okay. Overall review time:
The flow was brilliant in this story. You managed to warp me through every possible emotion and in a single chapter make me go from chucking to feeling llike I've lost something.
You managed to write brilliantly both ends of the spectrum, which is a big talent because depressing scenes are quite hard to write! (In my opinion)
You have a good character, you manage to make us feel for her, and with her throughout the chapter.
Even Hugo, though we see him through Anslee's eyes, has a strong character that stays constant.
You're plot was brilliant, the idea of going back to memories was a great way to get in a nice mix of heartbreak (Specifically, mine) and I found the whole thing very interesting. I was gripped from the start by the sad first paragraph, throughout all of the photo's I knew something was going to happen, you were able to keep me in suspense which takes a lot :p
My last few words are: A strong, well written story that would be hard to improve. (Hence the lack of CC)
Hope you liked the review as much as I liked reading this!
KO

Author's Response: Hello there! Sorry for the delay in replying!

That little "burning the photographs" thing is one of my little foreshadowing things, I really do love those. :)

Hugo was a really fun character to write, and it was fun to make Anslee gradually fall for him. I was trying to avoid the overdone crazy passionate type love story, so I'm glad that you noticed that. And Hugo's proposal was so much fun - it was one of the first things that came to me when thinking up this story.

I'm glad that you thought the emotions changed well, because that was one of the hardest things about this story: going from the depressing scenes to the happy ones and vice versa.

I'm glad you liked my characterisation - both of them were fun to write, because they weren't the typical perfect character, but they had their own little quirks.

I'm so happy that you liked this - this review had me grinning from ear to ear! Thanks so much!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Siriusly89 Snapshots

26th June 2013:
Hi! Siriusly89 here from the ĎTo Kill A Mockingbirdí Quote Challenge,

Before we begin, just want to say thank you so much for entering!

The first, well Ďsectioní I suppose is really intriguing! The girl seems to be in two minds on whether she actually wants to look at the photographs or not, and itís sort of indecisive and you got that across really well!

Ha, I love it! The nosy eleven year old! I love it! I would have reacted the same way the girl did, for some reason the boy strikes me as one of those loud, boisterous people who have a tendency to break things. Ah! Itís Hugo Weasley, that explains a lot now doesnít it!

Anslee and Hugo are right messers arenít they? That memory made me smile, but it also made me a little apprehensive about whatís to follow, because this one-shot doesnít strike me as one thatís going to end with Hugo bursting into the room, interrupting her trip down memory lane so they can both skip off into the sunset!

That. Has. To. Be. The. Cutest. Way. To. Ask. Someone. Out. EVER. Hugo is such a little cutie pie, but I know that youíre just setting me up for disappointment, as the tone of Anslee during the Ďpresentí sections isnít exactly cheerful, is it? I hope nothing too bad happens, please?

The scene in the library was just more Hugo-ish adorableness, wasnít it? It was.

No, no this isnít fair! Hugo canít have died! I could have dealt with him and Anslee splitting up, or something to that effect, but not him dying! This just isnít fair! You sprung this out of nowhere. Iím rather sad now.

I thought your use of the quote was very well done, and I thoroughly enjoyed this one-shot! Well, it was enjoyable as it could be, but it was really well written, and to be honest, pretty darn close to perfect, and I just love when you read pieces like that, donít you? So thank you, thank you very much

Author's Response: Hello Sarahjane!

Anslee definitely has mixed emotions about looking at the pictures, and for good reason too! They basically dredge up all the memories she wants to forget.

I love eleven-year-old Hugo, he's just so in-your-face - classic Weasley though, isn't he? And the next scene was fun to write as well. I also loved using that sense of foreboding, just to remind the reader that this won't end up all hunky-dory. (on another note, did I really just use that phrase?)

Hugo's a cutie pie - I just loved writing about him... which really made it sadder because I knew what was going to happen to him. I apologise for making you sad, but then again, that was kinda the point, so I don't feel all that bad. ;)

"Pretty darn close to perfect" just made my day. Thanks so much for this amazing review!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #11, by patronus_charm Snapshots

18th June 2013:
Hi Taylor! Iíve been meaning to read something of yours for a while and I just saw you posted in the new story thread and decided to check this out. I had never read a Hugo/OC story before, so I was really excited to read this.

This one-shot brought tears to my eyes! Ah it was so cute and adorable, but the ending! I really liked the use of different tenses because I had sense of foreboding due to the present tense. We saw from the past tense sections that they had a pretty idyllic relationship and that made me wonder why Anslee was feeling like that in the present. At first I thought they had only broken up but I think it was the mention of the picture with Hugo being at the wheel which made it click in my head.

I really liked the whole sense of ambiguity about this story. At first I was finding out the identity of the OC. I thought it might be a relation of Colinís due to her uncle dying and her love for pictures and cameras and I was glad to see it was proved correct. Iíve never read a story about his relation before but I really liked how you added to it and the reason why she had the camera was really sweet.

Then there was the sense of ambiguity because, like I said before, we knew something was wrong but we didnít know what was wrong. I think that worked really well as it kept me eagerly reading throughout to find out what the what was. I think it almost made the ending of it even more shocking and it was so horrible.

Your characterisation of Anslee and Hugo was wonderful. Iíve always felt bad for Hugo as he seems to be ignored in next gen stories so I loved seeing him have the limelight here. I liked how you gave him twists such as him being the pranker but a romantic person at heart. I mean, the way he asked Anslee to Hogsmeade was so, so, so cute. I really liked Anslee too, and you established her character really well for a one-shot and I felt that I knew her well.

The uses of the quotes were really great. I feel bad because I really love To Kill A Mockingbird and I donít remember where these come from, Iíll definitely re-read it and try and find where your quotes were. I thought this was a wonderful one-shot Taylor, and I could go on but I canít really think of any others way to express how much I liked it. Good luck in the challenge! ♥

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hi Kiana! Sorry for the late response!

I feel bad that it brought tears to your eyes, but at the same time, I don't, because that was kinda the point, haha. :P I kind of liked adding the little hints to what would happen throughout, as foreshadowing is my favourite!

As for Anslee being related to Colin, I knew that this would be the OC looking at pictures, so I decided that the Anslee naturally had to be a relation of Colin's. :)

Hugo was so much fun to write! He's so ignored in FF, but I really wanted him to be quirky and not a "cookie-cutter" hot guy, but still amazing in his own right. I'm glad that you like how I characterized them both.

I'll admit, I actually didn't know where that quote came from either when I first got it! But that might also be because I haven't read that book since freshman literature class...

Thanks so much for reviewing this!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login