Reading Reviews for Tea and Biscuits
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Violet Gryfindor He Liked Tea

9th December 2013:
This is a nice start to your story! I rather liked your depiction of Draco here, though you think that he's OOC. It must depend on how a person imagines Draco would be after the war because I don't see this version of Draco to be out of character - he's still very opinionated, somewhat rude and disdainful, hiding his actual thoughts from those around him. He went through a lot during the war, and that has the potential to change him, bringing out different aspects of his personality and inspiring him to find a new course in life. A strong interest in tea isn't something that comes to mind right away, but I think that your choice to make him distance himself from his old friends and his general manner here is still pretty Draco-ish.

The ending was especially striking because the intrusion of the narrator there was highly effective, carrying readers forward into the next chapter and the introduction of Astoria. It's hard to make that kind of narrative intrusion work, but in this case, it added to the fun, quirkiness of this story. Hearing that Astoria would disagree with Draco suggests that the road to love won't be particularly smooth - it's one of those minor disagreements that can make or break a relationship. I'm interested in knowing more about your Astoria and how Draco will react to her just from that little hint you provided.

It would be nice to see you do more with Pansy, though. Since she's the only one of his old friends that he can tolerate, I assume that she'll make a return, but hopefully you can flesh out her character some more - there seems to be more to her in the way that she grins at Draco at the end, but the nature of her babbling conversation makes me wonder why Draco tolerates her. If he's so annoyed with her, why does he still spend time with her? Is it for old-time's sake? It'd be nice to explore that further, and you could use it to also further Draco's character development.

Good work on this introduction to this story! All the best in continuing to devleop its plot and characters! ^_^

Author's Response: I'm glad that you like my depiction of Draco, I was a little bit worried only because I didn't think that he would become like this after the war. But I do agree that after the war he might've gone down a lot of different routes in his life. I felt like his interest in tea would've been one of the things that he may have developed once he started leading a quiet life away from everyone that he associated with as a teen. I'm glad to hear that you didn't view him as OOC however.

The ending is personally my favourite part of the story. I had the most fun writing it and every time that I go back and look over it I always feel so proud of it. I'm very happy to hear that I pulled it off well and I'm especially excited to introduce Astoria to the story. I imagine her to be a bit of an opposite when it comes to Draco so it definitely won't be smooth sailing with them.

I am definitely going to be going into Pansy more because there is a reason why she's the only one that Draco hangs around her. She's going to have quite a bit of a part in the story.

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, it means a lot to me and I had fun answering it!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Erised He Liked Tea

17th July 2013:
Hello :)

Ha, Draco Malfoy and tea, who would have suspected? I think a lot of people make out Draco to be this heavy drinker after the war in a typical self-destructive streak. I like that here he seems to have made peace with himself and likes himself a little bit more!

I also enjoyed how he didn't really enjoy Pansy's conversation but that he 'tolerated' her. Her characterisation was good too, exactly how I've always imagined her in my head.

I like how you introduced Astoria into the story without them actually meeting! Very clever. Considering they seem to be different on their opinion of biscuits then I wonder how well they'll get on later?

Can't wait to read more! :)

Author's Response: Everyone has different ways of dealing with things and I just pictured Draco as someone who would think things through instead of going immediately to alcohol.

I've always pictured Pansy as one of those girls that gossips excessively. I went with the fact that she was always reading Witch Weekly and talking about Hermione. It's nice to see that someone else likes her characterization!

Who knows how well they'll get on, after all, biscuits make or break relationships!

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Justicar He Liked Tea

6th July 2013:
This was great, I even laughed out loud in a few sentences! Cant wait to see an update :)

Author's Response: I'm glad that you enjoyed it and I'll try to get a new chapter out as soon as possible! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by patronus_charm He Liked Tea

6th July 2013:
Happy Ravenclaw Review Tag!

Bahaha your characterisation of Draco had me laughing throughout reading this! Even if he is slightly OOC, I really loved it. I donít get why some people are obsessive about sticking to canon because this version of Draco was a lot more fun. He still retained some of his old quirks such as thinking he was superior to others but then there were new things like the tea drinking.

I adored all of the tea drinking remarks! As a Brit who loves tea, I donít find them nearly enough in stories but the amount in this one chapter was brilliant! It really fitted with Dracoís OOC personality too, because you wouldnít normally expect him to be so obsessive over one drink but it really added something to him. Though I do have to disagree with him about the whole biscuit thing, they are fabulous with tea.

The jokes about Mary-Sue brightened my day significantly. It really fitted with the whole image of Pansy as I always imagined her to be rather fake so hearing that made me chuckle! The ending was great too, because the way you talked about how Draco and Astoria would meet and then fall in love sounded really great and Iím eager for this big moment to come about.

Overall I thought that was a really great start and I hope more will be posted soon! ♥

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm glad that Draco has amused you, I was hoping that his characterisation would make people laugh. This version of Draco is a lot more fun to write as well as read. I love wrting about him and his strange obsession with tea.

I thought tea and biscuits seemed like a cute and fluffy way for two people to meet. I don't know why but it seemed awfully romantic to me. Ah well, to each is his own. I'm sure Draco would love to argue with you on the whole tea and biscuits debate. Astoria agrees with you though.

I'm glad that the Mary-Sue bit amused you, it made me giggle as I was writing which I'm sure made me look weird.

Thank you so much for reviewing and I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the first chapter!


 Report Review

Review #5, by quixotic He Liked Tea

5th July 2013:
Tag!

I love it! Tea and Draco are now my OTP. Let's see if your Draco/Astoria can change my opinion about that ;)

On a more serious (by this I mean sirius) note, the story is beautifully written. I like how Draco still judges people but only on the inside. It's nice to know that he didn't undergo a total personality transplant after the war and that there is still a bit of the snide teenager in him.

Great chapter! I can't wait to see when Draco meets Astoria and his reaction to her addiction to biscuits. Will there be a food fight? Haha.

Author's Response: I'm it I see.

I think I've just added another ship to the many ships of character/food/drink ships that are in the HP fandom. I'm thinking of Dea or Teaco. I'm hoping that Draco and Astoria can convince you that they belong together.

I think besides the hating muggleborns thing, Draco didn't change all that much, he just kept some of his opinions to himself.

I'm so glad that you enjoyed it and thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Illuminate He Liked Tea

5th July 2013:
Hi! Here for the Ravenclaw Review Battle!

I really like your prose here! It's very simple and eloquent, and easy to read. You manage to convey a lot about Draco's character purely by describing his love of teatime xD He just wants peace, which we can understand from what we know about his character in the past- he just wants his life to settle and be comfortable.

I also like that you didn't make him a full-blown good guy. He's still a pretty judgemental guy at heart, but it still shows his growth :) I love his annoyance of Pansy, a girl who I think everyone would have grown tired of by now. I'm interested to see what happens next between them, and if it develops a love triangle between them and Astoria.

Favourite bit: the mention of 'Mary-Sue.' xD

Great job!

Author's Response: Hey!

I'm happy that I managed to get that through to the reader. I was hoping to show that Draco just wanted a quiet life without having to outright tell it.

I didn't want to make him too OOC and besides, he wouldn't be Dracon if he still didn't judge people.

I was hoping someone would notice that bit with the Mary-Sue. I was trying to think of a name for the character and for some reason I thought of Mary-Sue. I thought it'd be funny. Good to know I'm not the only one who thought so.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Fan of a fan He Liked Tea

26th June 2013:
I'll admit that I've never seen Draco portrayed as this, he's usually some kind of sex God so I was really surprised to see him portrayed as really normal. I really like this Draco though and his unhealthy obsession with tea. I love how you still maintained the Malfoy superiority with him so it wasn't a totally different Draco.

I'm excited to see whee this fluffy story goes. It sounds really interesting!

Author's Response: I've never personally pictured him as a sex God or like this but he just seemed a lot of fun to write him with this refined sort of air around him. I figured he was a little bit too OOC so I made sure that I had some of the Malfoy arrogance still in his personality. Happy to see that it came through! Anyway, thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by UnluckyStar57 He Liked Tea

13th June 2013:
Hi! This looks like it's going to be a really fun story!

I love how you've started a little love story in terms of biscuits and tea. There's something that's so cute about that, and it's even cuter that you've chosen to make it about Draco and Astoria.

Draco does seem a bit OOC, yes, but that's what fanfiction is for, isn't it? I like how, even though he had relaxed his position about Muggle-borns, he still retains an air of superiority to people who don't do things the way he does them. Pansy is a perfect choice as a possible foil to Astoria, because she just doesn't understand the importance of teatime, and that's Draco's biggest pet peeve, it seems. :)

The funniest part, to me, was when Draco was making a big deal (in his head) about Pansy gulping down her tea. It really shouldn't be that big of an issue if you're a normal, forgiving person, but no, Draco Malfoy must see things in blacks and whites, and tea MUST be taken in a leisurely fashion. That part almost reminded me of the show Fawlty Towers (if you've ever heard of it) when Basil Fawlty makes mountains out of molehills about the things that his wife, Sybil, does to make him mad.

This story is going to be really cute and funny, I can tell! Good luck with writing the next chapter! :)

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: I wanted to write something different and Draco and Astoria don't seem to be written a lot so I thought I'd try my hand at it. And because I get a fuzzy feeling whenever I think about this story, it will mostly be just fluff and what will end up being my lame attempts at witty conversations.

Yeah, he is OOC but I just loved him so much that I couldn't bear to change him. I wanted to keep that holier-than-thou thing for Draco because, after all, once a Malfoy, always a Malfoy.

Everyone's got their pet peeves out there! It's like me and people chewing too loudly, or swallowing too loudly, or chewing with their mouths open. It just gets on my nerves so much. Draco just happens to have problems with people drinking their tea the wrong way.

I have never watched Fawlty Towers but that does indeed sound like Draco. Thanks for reviewing and for the feedback!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login