Reading Reviews for Lemonworld
  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by PitchBlue No Wine for Lucy

22nd September 2013:
I totally love this first chapter, your writing is very natural and I like your characters! I can really relate to Lucy, she's hilarious. Looking forward to read more :)

- PB

 Report Review

Review #2, by DumbledoresArmyOfOne Sugary and Lukewarm

22nd September 2013:
I think a pocket sized Scorpius would be a lucrative product if you were to sell it say, on the side of the road.

Oh gosh, I nearly spat out my drink when he headbutted Lucy! he's ridiculous and I love it. I can't wait for the next chapter.

I'm so happy we finally got to see some one on one puddle of awkward interaction- it always makes me smile.

Can't wait for more ridiculousness! Loved the chapter.
~Gilly

 Report Review

Review #3, by DumbledoresArmyOfOne The Christmas Spirit

22nd September 2013:
This story continues to make me laugh out loud. I just love how terribly, cripplingly awkward both Lucy and Scorpius are. A conversation between those two would probably make ME want to eat my shirt!

The epic of Barb and Greg is definitely an exciting prospect. I can't wait to see the rest of their boring and vaguely obnoxious lives ;)

Great chapter, again!
~Gilly

 Report Review

Review #4, by DumbledoresArmyOfOne Puberty Blues

22nd September 2013:
Oh dear. Lucy continues to be rather tragic, doesn't she? Her friends seem to suit her very well - unsupportive and a bit hopeless. I think it's great.

I can't wait to see what Scorpius is like- he's coming off as extremely strange and having 'inept social ability'. Maybe he'll stop hiding soon and we can get a good look at him.

Love the chapter!
~Gilly

 Report Review

Review #5, by DumbledoresArmyOfOne No Wine for Lucy

22nd September 2013:
Hey, I really like this chapter! Your characterization of Percy made me want to shout at him, which is pretty much what canon Percy inspired in me, so you're on the right path there ;)

I like Lucy a ton already- she seems realistic. Her life didn't magically come together after graduating hogwarts, it's a bit useless actually, and she's nowhere near perfect, so I like being able to see those flaws that make her unique.

It's really funny so far! Great first chapter.
~Gilly

 Report Review

Review #6, by AlexFan Sugary and Lukewarm

7th August 2013:
I love your awkward Scorpius, he's just so naive and innocent that you can't help but love him. He's going to have to spend a lot of time with Lucy before he finally gets her sense of humor. And maybe he should stop acting so lovesick around her since it's clearly creeping her out.

It was a short chapter but you still manage to entertain me somehow, I don't know how you do it

 Report Review

Review #7, by Sam Puberty Blues

4th August 2013:
I love the tone of the story so far and I'm really interested in reading more! It sort of reminds me of another Lucy/Scorpius story written on this forum actually, right down to Weatherby the cat, haha. Anyway, keep writing dear!

 Report Review

Review #8, by meghna The Christmas Spirit

26th July 2013:
in vain i have struggled. it will not do. my feelings will not be repressed. YOU MUST ALLOW ME TO TELL YOU HOW MUCH I ADORE AND ADMIRE THIS STORY.

ahem.

why are all your characters so endearing?? more importantly, how do you do it?? starting from chapter one where you have mum and dad and then fern and even colin, bless him. you make even colin the wet blanket endearing.

can we talk about lucy though. she is just perfect. also for making her a cartoonist i give you all the awards. they don't get enough love. i love her character in general -- how she's basically a train wreck but she /knows/ she's a train wreck and can't be arsed to do anything about it but eat biscuits. that's something i can relate to on many levels.

scorpius. why is it that everything that comes out of his mouth makes me want to smack my forehead and aww at him at the same time?? he is too precious. i wish you'd write more about the way he's dressed in future chapters because that is something i would like to read chapters and chapters of. all the house elf bow ties!

gah. in short, i am really happy to have stumbled across this and i have to say your lucy sounds like someone bikini kill would write a song about and basically i am already shipping lucy and scorpius to the ends of the earth. please update soon!

Author's Response: omg please don't tell anyone I had too google endearing because I am supposed to be a 'writer' and i'm sure most people who 'write' know what endearing means. i swear i'm usually good at... words, i'm just way too excited you reviewed my story and actually liked it(!)

i had no idea they were endearing, i mostly base them on people i wish i knew, or each character is just a collection of people i do know. oh, colin, i'm glad you like him.

i thought being a cartoonist would be pretty cool, admittedly, i have no idea what a cartoonist does in an average day of work, so i just make lucy slack off (and scoff biscuits). you're right! lucy does know she's a train that's fallen off the rails and destroyed a whole town! and i can relate to it too, i think we all have a bit of lucy in us.

i suppose you'll like the next chapter if you like scorpius, as usual, he's a complete dork. i'm not sure if he's, well, a realistic character because nobody could be that... awkward? and i will! but for now, just imagine trousers that are too short, wooly socks and cardigans.

i'm sorry, but i'm kind of freaking out because i love bikini kill and just, yeah, feminist music. so, well, you can probably guess that i'm kind of crying right now about how fantastic you are to leave such a big delicious review (probably not the best way to describe a review).

thANK U TY THX THEYANK YOU THANK YIY


 Report Review

Review #9, by AlexFan The Christmas Spirit

23rd July 2013:
Scorpius is just so goddamn awkward that I just love him. I jut read that sentence over it and it didn't make sense even to me by it's true! I just feel so bad for the boy because he's got such a big crush on Lucy but she won't even think about dating him. She whines an awful lot about how no one wants to date her or takes an interest in her when Scorpius is right there and would willingly date her. Someone should tell Molly that beggars can't be choosers. Plus, she could do a lot worse than Scorpius, at least he's nice, awkward and he sounds kind of cute despite the fact that he sonde like he has no sense of fashion.

You know what, I'll take Scorpius, we'll become best friends.

Author's Response: Scorpius! Dear, sweet Scorpius. I love him, and I want to ruffle his hair and feed him sweets and keep him forever. He's so socially inept and awkward. I feel bad for him too.

Lucy is whiney, and it's one of her many flaws. To be honest, I'm quite pleased you're a little disappointed with Lucy because it means she's more realistic! I've done my job to create a character who is annoying and isn't perfect!

Scorpius will be pleased, I'm not sure if you can tell but he doesn't have too many friends.


 Report Review

Review #10, by AlexFan Puberty Blues

23rd July 2013:
What else are friends supposed to do besides point out your weaknesses and make fun of them. It's one of the fun things about being friends with people, you can make fun of them and they'll laugh along because you don't really mean it.

I think that Fern is worried about Lucy and she hasn't found anyone. It sounds like she really wants what's best for Lucy and she really does want to set her up with someone. It seems she's going about it the wrong way though.

I think Lucy and I will make a club for people that boys don't find attractive and never will and everyone in it can dress like slobs and eat Nutella while we watch cheesy romance movies and Legally Blonde.

Author's Response: Friends are fantastic, especially when they doubt you. Not really though! Lucy's friends do care a lot and I'm hoping they become a bigger part of the story.

Fern is worried and she does worry a lot. I'm glad you see it that way because Lucy really does not. But you've got the right idea about Fern, so thank you.

And I think I've been in that club for years.


 Report Review

Review #11, by chloe The Christmas Spirit

15th July 2013:
marney this is my favourite fic i'm ngl.

scorpius/lucy i want it i need it i really do he's so AWKWARD AND CUTE I CAN'T

so thank you for writing a fic that makes me very happy i think you're fab.

Author's Response: Oh was it bad i totally had to look us what ngl meant? I'm so bad at internet stuff, like worse than my parents.

I love Scorpius, I wish he really existed so I could kill off Lucy and claim him for myself.

You make me happier, thank you forever you're fab x1000.


 Report Review

Review #12, by AlexFan No Wine for Lucy

14th July 2013:
I completely understand what Lucy means by guys not being interested in her. She and I have something in common right there. We can be lonely together!

Now I'm interested to know in exactly how Lucy ended up asleep in pudding. I mean, I get that she got drunk and fell asleep in it but how big was this pudding anyway? Was it like a cup or was it like a bowl?

I wouldn't fancy living in Lucy's apartment, it sounds broken down but she is right, it is convenient for her that she lives above a kebab shop. I wonder if she's made friends with the owner. Audrey and Percy don't sound very supportive of their daughter, or very proud. At least Lucy can afford the flat and she's living on her own. And I can tell that Lucy would rather live in her slightly broken apartment than accept help from her parents.

Looks like Lucy and I have very different opinions when it comes to books. I love Fern though "and that is why you're a cartoonist." That pretty sums up Lucy (so far, I don't know that much about her yet).

Awesome sauce first chapter!

Author's Response: I have a lot in common with Lucy, for instance, my murky and possibly terrible career options and my complete lack of social allure. I think we're in the same boat, so we can all be lonely together.

A whole pudding, of course. Lucy likes to ruin the fun for everyone.

You have a lot of good ideas in this review, I'm actually really excited to include a couple of them in the story. The shop owner being introduced is a good idea, so thank you very much. And I agree, at least she can afford it.

I love books as well, so I felt a little uncomfortable writing a character who wasn't a total bookworm, but I guess being a little uncultured is a Lucy sort of thing.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by mathildarose No Wine for Lucy

3rd July 2013:
this is so funny, I love your Lucy already. Also, yum kebabs...

Author's Response: Thank you, Lucy loves you! And I know, if only flats above kebab shops were real... Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by I love lucy Puberty Blues

1st July 2013:
Brilliant - i love it, keep going. Lucy reminds me of myself a lot also, I'm probably just as thoughtless and as in denial about my life as she is. I have absolutely no clue what I'm doing either.

Her friends are fantastic - i'd kill to write dialogue like you do. I had a good laugh every now and then, I was also fondly reminded of my own friends. You write humor very well, you almost do it effortlessly - it's clear that you don't try to hard. You must be a very funny person in real life.

I cannot wait until the next chapter is up - soon, I hope?

Author's Response: I'm fairly sure Lucy is a less clumsier version of me, only skinnier. And thank you, I could only hope my friends were as unsupportive and sarcastic as yours.

And no, no I'm not but you've made me blush.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Jenny Puberty Blues

1st July 2013:
I like this - Lucy's friends are fantastic. Keep writing, I see myself in Lucy. I can't wait until you introduce Scorpius.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review - and I'm glad you can relate to her!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Ashley Lovegood No Wine for Lucy

21st June 2013:
I love the story so far! I think that Lucy has an incredibly
sound voice as a character, and Percy and Audrey are
perfect. Please keep going!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I quite like Lucy because she makes me feel a bit better about myself (i'm kidding). But thanks for your review, i'll keep going if you keep reading!

 Report Review

Review #17, by findasecretgarden No Wine for Lucy

14th June 2013:
this is great! i really enjoy it. i see a bit of myself in lucy too... don't feel bad. i hope you do continue on with it, it's stunning! xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I think we all might have a bit of Lucy in us. And I will, I've submitted the second chapter so hopefully soon!

Thank you so much, really, it means a lot.


 Report Review

Review #18, by DracoAndTheMalfoys No Wine for Lucy

13th June 2013:
I can't wait to find out what happens next! Please don't delete this. Honestly, this is really good and Scorpius is one of my favourite next gen characters and the fact that Lucy is a cartoonist is awesome because that's pretty much my dream job ^_^
Sorry for the bad review... It's like 2am *yawn*
Anyways, I've loved reading this and please write more and don't give up on this yet! :3

Author's Response: I love Scorpius, I just want to cuddle him or eat him or something - he's so great. And I wont! Thank you for the encouragement though, it's really helpful - it has made me feel a lot more confident with the story.

Not a bad review - it was fantastic, thank you for reviewing, honestly. I'm up to editing the second chapter now.


 Report Review

Review #19, by Lise No Wine for Lucy

13th June 2013:
I really enjoyed reading this, and would love to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you, the second chapter is almost done so hopefully soon! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Jessica No Wine for Lucy

12th June 2013:
I am Scorpious. I am Scorpious.
I try to be cool and quiet and try and make the person I like see the things I do and read and make them think I'm some brilliant odd job that they'll learn to love (yeah right).
I love the feel of the unmotivated dull story instead of when all the next generation kids are beautiful and successful because they just are and stuff.
Anyway, 9/10 because I'm craving more of this magnificence.

Author's Response: I have a lot of Scorpius moments, particularly when I am reading really clever books and want the world to know I am also clever (even though I'm not).

Thank you, I have never been tempted to portray any character as beautiful and perfect, a little because it makes me feel better about myself, but mostly because it's a bit overdone and not the most important part of a character. I too like Lucy's lack of motivation and success, I think it was a bit inspired by my own...

Thank you so much, I'm very, very happy you liked it - chapter two is almost done.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Solo No Wine for Lucy

12th June 2013:
It's like readying my future. I'm going to be Lucy, except probably living above a florist with my many cats (and I'm allergic to pollen and cats which just about sums it up really). I love how you've portrayed her and her parents are just brilliant, so infuriating in that concerned parent way that makes you feel like you're suffocating in their niceness and can hear their concern but really, it's my choice to sit here in my pajamas and eat ice cream out the tub with a spoon and do you remember daring me to do it? Humph.

/end rant

Basically, I like Lucy. And Fern seems interesting, and Scorp! Darling Scorp! He seems like a misunderstood odd-bob, and I do so love them. They're charming fellows.

Author's Response: I know - while I was writing this all I could think about was how Lucy was supposed to be this hopeless, immature and totally oblivious character but I could just tell I was writing out my future.

And thank you, I was trying to find the balance between concerned parents and irritating naging parents. I think you have a really good feel for the story, I'm so glad you got it and like it and I'm even more glad that you reviewed the chapter.

I feel like I am the living image of Scorpius - hiding behind stuff and hoping people will find me brilliant and interesting and smart (they don't).

Thank you so much, really.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login