Reading Reviews for Snatched
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MyMyMiss Snatched

7th March 2014:
Hey there!

I really enjoyed reading this story, as I always love under-loved characters and I love reading about scenarios from their PoV, and this is one of the best little stories I Have read in a long time.

You have a great description with your detail to write, your descriptions and the detail you put behind them, make the reader feel like you're actually there or even watching the scene like it's a movie and that is always want a reader wants they want to be able to see what the writer see's and you have managed to do that twice now!

you're a talented writer and I am adding you to my favorites!!

~MMM

-blackout battle round 2.

Author's Response: Hello!

Wow, thank you so much! I love minor characters too, and writing missing moments, so this story was really fun to write.

I'm really glad you enjoyed the description and detail here, it's brilliant that you felt you could imagine everything as I described it - that really means a lot to me.

Thank you so much, that's such a compliment! Thanks for the review and good luck in the Bingo!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Akussa Snatched

13th February 2014:
I really enjoyed this story! The pace was fast and yet you managed to give a vivid descriptions of the scene as well as the emotions of the characers (Dean's fear as well as the Snatcher's joy were well presented).

I really like the idea behind this story, missing moments like this always make me happy. I love to see how other people imagined those little things that were only hinted in the original books. I also like to write them but that's something else!!

I think you did a wonderful job with Dean's personality; he was a real Gryffindor through and through and I especially like how you said that him and Seamus practiced duelling to get ready for the war. It was a nice piece of information that show just how unprepared and uninformed the kids were before the war : they had to learn it all on their own and that's a shame.

All in all a great and entertaining story!

Author's Response: Hey Akussa!

I love writing missing moments for one-shots like these, because they're so interesting to interpret and see how other people think about them! The pacing was something that bothered me, so I'm really pleased to know that you thought I did well with it.

Yes, I really wanted to show that Dean was a true Gryffindor and he struggled through all of this when he shouldn't have had to - he was only a kid, after all. I'm glad you liked the way that I wrote the story, and that you enjoyed it!

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #3, by MissesWeasley123 Snatched

1st February 2014:
Hello! I remember you leaving your 400th review on HFCKSM, so I figured I could as well! It feels so weird to have reviewed this much, lol.

And Sian, how. This piece is better than that Benedict and Tom mash thing. Like, whut how.

You write action so well, which is why I'm really hoping there are some chases in Jigsaw! You manage to keep the pumping blood and all that nail biting goose bump jazz so well. SHARN, HOW.

Your writing is always such a pleasure to read, and honestly, seeing the variety you can write is really brilliant and impressive. You've written a bit of everything, and done it well -- your talent is mindblowing as always dear.

I really liked Dean. You added so much to his character, and we got to see him up close and personal. He was more than Ginny's ex and it was amazing. His Gryffindor attributes truly shone in this piece, especially his chivalry.

Scabior and Greyback! wow. I liked them. You always manage to show your twisted characters, like Tom in The Heir Accedes with such depth and care. You really have a knack for these canon things and that's truly admirable.

I would go my usual shouty caps but y'know, I'm a bit tired. *flops over* I've sorry this hasn't bit a great review. Magnificent story though, it truly served the win!

Author's Response: Ah, I'm a really bad person and took ages to respond to this :( But thank you for leaving your 400th review on my story! It's crazy that you've written that many already, I'm jealous of /your/ reviewing talents!

This was actually the first action piece I'd really written, so it was quite scary for me. I'm glad you think I did it well! And you're making me blush now, you're so sweet!

Yay, Dean! I probably didn't even think about him being Ginny's ex when I decided to write this *hides* but I'm happy you liked his character, and the bravery and chivalry that we saw from him.

I'm not sure it's a good thing that I'm good at writing twisted characters, is it? It probably means I've got something wrong with me...

Thank you for this review, lovely! You've put a massive smile on my face reading it ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by patronus_charm Snatched

9th January 2014:
Hi Sian, here for the first of your reviews!

I really enjoyed Deanís thoughts and general mind-set here because it was very different to what I expected but at the same time very natural too. He had already accepted his fate as soon as he knew the Snatchers had arrived and it really showed me how war does that to people and takes away all the hope they had. It was a rather sad to see that for months he had been running and hiding, people died alongside him and in a way it was all for nothing.

Though you didnít keep that moment for long and let him fight against it with him lying about his name. I know it was only a really small thing and that he only changed his surname but it was such a lovely scene to see that though he had given up on running and hiding for months, there was still the last bit of fight left in him which made when they found out who he really was even worse because he had sort of got his hopes up about set free. Ok, what I said made sense in my head so I hope it does to you too!

I liked the way you weaved in the little things from canon that we knew about his capture such as feeling pain and grief for Ted, Dirk and the other goblin dying and then almost forming a friendship with Griphook as a result of that and that was a really touching and poignant moment and it was more of a calm and compassionate angst rather than the frantic one of whether Dean would be able to get away and save himself or not.

Ooh one final thing I wanted to say was that I really loved Greyback and Scabior! The squabbles between the two over who could do what made me chuckle a little, and it was funny to see even here there was a hierarchy!

Great one-shot!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hi Kiana!

Is it bad that I'd kind of forgotten that this story was on my page for you to review? :P

I'm pleased that you thought his mind-set and thoughts seemed natural to read. I always worry when I'm writing characters that appear more in canon, and boys as well as I don't really know how they think! After all that he'd gone through I think he felt like it was sort of inevitable - when we saw him in the books he seemed to have accepted his fate a bit.

You're such a great reader and reviewer, I always love the little things that you pick up on! I wanted that to show that he's still trying to fight and make a stand against these horrible people who are persecuting him and others for no real valid reason. He was hoping to be set free, I was just glad that he actually was a few days later, even if he didn't know that here.

I really like weaving in all those little details because I feel like they help to make the story more believable. I kind of wanted him to be proper friends with Griphook, although it wouldn't quite have fit with his canon character.

I'm glad you liked those bits! In the books we saw a glimpse of that rivalry I think, but I wanted to exploit it more here and I'm glad it could make you laugh a bit!

Thanks for the review!

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by BLONDEbehaviour Snatched

23rd September 2013:
Hello!

I enjoyed this! Really really neat :)

I like how we saw an untold pat of the tale, and shows us a bit of insight into minor characters. Dean is a really cool character, and you portrayed him well!

Also, your description, amazing!! You did a great great job, I had a great visual there. I could see everything :)

It flowed great, and I like the quick thinking of Dean, really good :)

Really enjoyed this :)

Grace

Author's Response: Hi Grace!

I love exploring little moments in canon and minor characters - it gives me so much freedom to write! I'm pleased you liked the way that I wrote Dean and his quick thinking.

Description is one of the things I always concentrate on in writing, so I'm pleased you found it effective. Thanks so much for the lovely review!

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by magnolia_magic Snatched

26th June 2013:
Hi! I'm here from review tag, and I couldn't resist checking out this story! Dean is one of my favorite characters to write, and also to read. I really enjoyed your take on him, and the way you handled this missing moment.

I love how you kept coming back to Dean's Gryffindor characteristics, like his courage and loyalty. I thought that was really important to mention, because it shows us that his character remains noble even when he's under such extreme stress. And the way he tried to protect Griphook spoke volumes about the kind of person he is. I really enjoyed what you did with his character!

This was a very engaging, on-the-edge-of-your-seat kind of read. I felt like I was holding my breath right up until the end, when the Snatchers finally captured him. You did a great job of bringing us into the action. And the Snatchers themselves were appropriately creepy, I think :) Especially Greyback. I always kind of shudder when he comes up in stories, and your portrayal was spot-on.

I enjoyed this! I've seen you around the forums and heard a lot of good things about your work, so I'm very glad I got to come check it out. Keep it up!

--Maggie

Author's Response: Hello!

I've never written Dean before, but I love minor characters so it was great fun to get the chance to write him!

I'm really pleased that you could see Dean's Gryffindor qualities in this, because that was one of the important things that I wanted to come through. From what we see in the books, I've always imagined him to be the sort of person who tries to protect others and I'm so pleased you liked my characterisation of him!

Since I've never tried writing action before it's great to hear that you found it engaging to read. The Snatchers are horrible, especially Greyback - I was a bit creeped out writing him myself!

You've heard about my work? Gah, I'm blushing now! Thank you so much for this lovely review!

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by HeyMrsPotter Snatched

11th June 2013:
Hello! I'm here to review your entry for my challenge :)

I really like how immediately I'm thrown into the action, it reflects the urgency of the situation really well.

Greyback is really well written in this, in just the few sentences you write about his part in this, you've captured his personality. I love how animalistic his actions are.

I also really liked how you kept referring back to Dean's Gryffindor courage, almost like it was a beacon of hope for him, and the little background of his when you wrote about his father, both were nice touches.

Overall, I really loved this, the little details made it fantastic. Missing moments stories are my favourite, they are what fanfiction is all about, and I particularly love those about minor characters so this is perfect! Thanks for entering, I'll be posting the results today :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Missing moments and minor characters are what I love writing most, so when I saw this challenge and the Snatchers as an enemy, I couldn't resist!

I'm so happy you enjoyed this! Greyback's personality was strangely fun to write and I'm glad you think I got it right. Another thing I tried to do was add some depth to Dean's character by including things about his friends and background, so it's great you picked up on those.

Thank you so much for this review and for giving me first place - I'm really so happy about it!

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by CambAngst Snatched

4th June 2013:
Hi, there! Ever since the Cranium game, I've been wanting an opportunity to check out some of your work. I see you in Review Tag all the time, but you're a hard one to catch. Somebody always seems to pounce on your post within minutes. Here I am at last!

I thought you did a really good job of writing the action scenes in this. Even though we know what's going to happen, you brought a lot of tension and nail-biting suspense to the narrative. It was easy to imagine the spells flying and the trees being blown apart as Dean tries to escape from the Snatchers.

I liked the canon details you were able to weave into the story, as well as Dean's reactions to them. The loss of Ted Tonks was obviously something he felt very badly about. And the sense of responsibility he feels for keeping Griphook safe, even though he knows that the goblin feels no such loyalty toward him, was another nice touch. His recollections of learning to fight with the D.A., sparring with Seamus and even the horrible memories invoked by the Dementors all helped to fill out his character.

Scabior and Greyback were also well written. The primal menace of the werewolf and the smug self-importance of the grubby, low-class wizard both really came through.

Your writing was really good in this. It all flowed nicely and there was a nice balance between narrative, exposition and dialog. You didn't overuse any words and it didn't sound awkward or sing-songy. There were no typos or grammatical problems that I could see. Overall a lovely job.

Author's Response: Hello! Your reviews are practically famous so I was really excited to get this!

Action scenes are something I haven't actually written very often, so it's really reassuring to know that it doesn't seem too stilted or unrealistic. I think the fact that we know what happens kind of makes it easier to read this (well, it made it easier for me to write, anyway) but I did still want the suspense and tension there.

I think canon details make stories seem more believable, because the reader's able to relate to them, so I'm glad you liked the inclusion of them here.

The characterisation is something I make a lot of effort with, and I feel it's important to add some depth to each character, especially if it's a one-shot. I'm really happy you were able to pick up on those details I included about Dean, and Scabior and Greyback are really horrible, aren't they?

This review really made me so happy! Thank you for the compliment on my writing and the lovely review!

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by LilyEPotter Snatched

1st June 2013:
Hi! Review Tag!

This is a very good story! The story flow is good.

It is interesting seeing what happened from Dean's viewpoint as their small group had been glossed over in the book.

Very good story!

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm really pleased you enjoyed this. I always like taking 'missing' moments that haven't really been written about before and exploring them, as well as writing about minor characters!

Thank you for the review!

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by BellaFan202 Snatched

29th May 2013:
Hi!

This is really impressive, I could never right anything this serious.

I think you did a really good job with characterization. Everyone seemed appropriately like themselves. If that makes sense. Considering the circumstances, that's pretty much exactly how I would expect everyone to react, I guess is what I'm trying to say. :P

The story seemed to flow really well. I would have liked a little bit more description, but I think you did a good job. I feel like given the circumstances, Dean only processed so much about the situation and his surroundings, that, even though it in isn't first person, the description is appropriate. Wow I hope that made sense. That was bad. Sorry. If you need clarification, just let me know. It's rather late so I apologize in advance if anything else is crazy.

Anyway. I was interesting and on the edge of my seat the whole time. Fenrir creeps me out to no end. Hate him so much. *shudder* But that's a good thing for you as a writer. :)

Can't really think of anything else to say. Don't really have and CC to contribute, so I'll just end this ramble here.

~BellaFan202~

Author's Response: Hello!

Aw thank you! I seem to have taken to writing more dark and angsty stories recently :P

I'm pleased everyone seemed in character to you and that they reacted how you would expect them to in the situation. And I'm glad Fenrir creeped you out! He's a horrible character, especially in this. I wasn't showing him any mercy when I wrote him!

That's actually really helpful, because the description was something I was wondering about when I wrote this. I'm going to take another look over it and tweak a few things when I get the chance.

Thank you very much for the lovely review!

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by ShadowRose Snatched

28th May 2013:
Okay, so I clicked on this one-shot yesterday when it was released, and I'm just now getting around to writing this review... oops. :P

I love the context you chose for this story. Dean's an often-ignored character in fanfiction, so I love that you shed some light on his character and situation in this one-shot! This was a brilliant way to handle the prompt - which I'm assuming was Snatchers, am I correct?

I also like that you focused more on what was going on at the present moment than on the past, or having Dean think about his friends. Given what was going on in this scene, it certainly makes sense that he wouldn't be focused on much other than the present moment!

The description in this is spot-on, just enough information to give the reader a sense of what is going on, but it also allows the primary part of the story, the action, to be the main focus. I love the way that you describe Dean's dilemma (ooh, alliteration :P ) in that he wants so badly to run, but he's so exhausted and starving that he can't at this point. I really feel like I'm in the story with him and I can't help but sympathize with his situation.

Oh gosh, Fenrir's character is so perfect. He's so bloodthirsty and vicious - I love it! And then Scabior is great too, very business-like, but still a little vicious nonetheless.

As far as constructive criticism, the only thing I can really offer is that maybe you could have focused on Dean's thoughts a little more? It would have been fascinating to see his emotions - the adrenaline, fear, etc. - throughout. You already mentioned the guilt he felt regarding Ted and the others, and I really think going into more detail about his feelings would add even more to this story. Of course, it's fantastic as is, as well, so feel free to ignore my suggestion, as it's only my opinion. :)

I really like the cliffhanger-esque ending you have going on here. It leaves the story a bit unresolved, although we do know what happens in the end. It's not super-dramatic, but it definitely builds up the tension.

Overall, this was a really great one-shot - you are really on a roll with these! :)

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Hi Taylor!

I'm just so pleased you got chance to leave a review at all - I know how pushed everyone is for time!

You're right that the Snatchers were my prompt. I toyed with a few ideas before deciding on Dean, purely because I love minor characters and writing about them. I tried to focus on what was happening in the now because that was what was important to Dean. I'm so glad you felt you could sympathise with his situation!

Actually that's been mentioned in another review, and it's always helpful to have a second opinion. Because I haven't written a lot of stories like this, I probably concentrated more on the action, so I'll definitely take another look over it and try and add some more emotional depth to the story. And CC is always helpful - there's still a lot of room for improvement in my writing!

I'm really pleased you liked the ending! Since we all know that Dean does escape, it helped keep things from being too melancholy, but I wanted to show the fact that Dean didn't know that.

There are too many good challenges for me to resist at the moment, and of course they're brilliant procrastination :P Thanks so much for leaving a great review!

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Aphoride Snatched

28th May 2013:
Hey there - dropping your requested review off from the forums! I have to say, you've been on a real run with these one-shots, lol. It's pretty impressive ;)

Anyway, I really enjoyed this! I liked how you chose to write from Dean's pov in this, when he and Griphook are on the run, having lost Ted and Dirk and Gornuk. It's such a dangerous, terrifying time and I thought you really brought that to life in this, with the snatchers chasing them, Greyback being there, Scabior only just able to control him, the mention that Ted and the others are dead, killed by the same lot...

I don't know whether it was a conscious choice or not, but I also like the fact that you didn't focus on him thinking about his friends at school, Seamus and the others, or where the trio might be. It sort of subtly brought it home that yeah, while those things are important to him, he has slightly bigger and more real problems than those to face right now.

I thought all the characters were great. They all reminded me a lot of their canon counterparts - Greyback and Scabior especially. Greyback's ruthless, Scabior's in it for the money, and so they don't always agree... but they work together nonetheless. I liked how you had Griphook be scared, before turning to run. It shows how the war is effecting everybody, no matter if you're muggleborn or not.

The mentions of canon details, like the muggle-born registration commission and the list of wanted people were great, too - I like how Dean, like Harry and the trio, tried lying but didn't do very well at it. It shows another dimension to his character and adds detail to him. But it does get him into trouble...

I liked how you ended it as well, with Dean lying on the ground, captured, being transported away to who-knows-where by Snatchers... it's a nice cliff-hanger-style ending (this is the second one, I think, I've seen from you - you're good at these... ;D), but allows us to reattach this segment to canon. It literally is like a missing moment.

The one thing I did think you could perhaps embellish in here is emotion. Dean's going to be scared, pumped up on adrenalin for/from the fight, upset about seeing three people he knew get killed, perhaps worried about Griphook, worried about himself... I just thought there's so much to explore there, maybe you could include a bit more of it? The action's fabulous, though, you don't need to change any of that...

So yeah, I really enjoyed this. Feel free to re-request when you have another one-shot up (tomorrow? lol) or whenever! :)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hello!

I've written quite a few in the last few weeks, haven't I? The challenges on the forums are far too tempting for me to resist :P I also had to take advantage of the amazingly short queue last week! I'll probably wait a bit before bombarding you with more though, just in case you're getting bored of them!

I try and keep to canon as much as possible, so I'm really pleased that the characters reminded you of those in the books. One of the things I wanted to show in this was that the war did affect everyone, but differently. The challenges Dean faced that year probably outweighed the thoughts of his friends. That's not to say he didn't think of them, of course, but he had more important things to deal with.

I'm really pleased you liked the ending! I had a few different ideas about where to end this, but I did want to make this into a missing moment. We know what happens afterwards, when Harry is captured and they're taken to Malfoy Manor. But at this point, Dean didn't know that everything would be okay for him, and I wanted to get that idea across.

I did try and put some emotion into this story, but I probably concentrated on the action more while I wrote this, so I'll look back over this and try and improve that aspect.

Thank you so much for yet another amazing review!

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Jchrissy Snatched

27th May 2013:
Hi m'dear!

This was a very sad but realistic one shot. I'm so happy we know that Dean ended up with the group at Malfoy manor, because that made it a tiny bit easier to read.

I think you did an amazing job creating the sense of desperation in Dean with the competing desire to remain true to who he was. I loved that his thoughts about being a Gryffindor and how he wouldn't leave Griphook, nor would he take death as an out.

Even though he made the brave decision, I loved that you still had a tiny bit of conflict when Greyback offered it. Knowing what would be in his future, or so he thought, the idea of taking a less drawn out death might be tempting even if for just a second.

I felt so afraid for him when they the Snatchers start advancing. I just wish they'd have gotten away :(! Although, I guess they probably ended up in a better place with the Malfoy Manor.

Dean's exhaustion and lack of nutrition were so well described. He had to keep going, to go faster, but it was so clear that so much of him just wanted to drop. Ugh poor Dean :(!

I was proud of him for trying to lie. At least he kept his wits about him, but in this situation it wasn't enough. I loved how you continued the intensity all the way through, too. Your word choices and the way you wove us through their encounter created such an awesome sense of urgency.

I also really liked that you included the bit about Ted and the others they'd been traveling with and Dean's remaining guilt surrounding it. Sometimes I forget how many people really died in the last book, and gah :(.

Really lovely and moving one shot, m'dear!

Jami

Author's Response: Hey Jami!

I seem to have taken to sad and dark one-shots recently :P

Actually the only thing that made this bearable to write was the fact that I knew Dean had a happy ending, and that he got away from the Snatchers. I felt really sorry for him writing this!

In a way, I felt that Dean had it harder than Harry, Ron and Hermione. They, at least, had a purpose while they were on the run, whereas Dean had nothing to occupy him and he was just running for his life. There had to be points when the desperation and exhaustion became overwhelming and perhaps death seemed like a better option.

Even though I wrote this, I was proud of him for trying to lie too :P I can't imagine him giving up easily, and the way that he came back to Hogwarts to fight when it would have been easy to stay away and save himself proves how brave he was.

You know, I cried so much when I read the last book, and that was just for the major characters. If you think about people like Ted it makes it even worse!

This review made me so happy - thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and leave this lovely review!

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by CassiePotter Snatched

27th May 2013:
I really enjoyed this one-shot! I think you did a wonderful job setting the stage at the beginning of your story, even though you started in the middle of the chase. You wrote that brilliantly, by the way! And I loved Greyback and Scabior! I got chills reading them! This story was really well done, and I really loved reading it! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie!

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed this! It was a little unorthodox, starting the story in the middle of the chase, but I thought it was the best way to open it. And I'm glad you liked Greyback and Scabior too - they were actually really fun to write.

Thank you so much for a great review!

Sian :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login