249 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Arianna Professor Burke

23rd June 2014:
I'm sorry I failed to notice this sooner, but your spelling of the word vile is incorrect. When spelled that way, it means, 'disgusting or repulsive'. I believe he way you want to spell it is vial. No offense, I just wanted to point it out.

Author's Response: Thanks for pointing out the typo!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Emma Search and Seizure

8th June 2014:
Ohhh...search and seizure. Very funny. Now I feel stupid.

Author's Response: Haha, I'm glad you liked the pun. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Abby Knockturn Alley

16th March 2014:
I'm really enjoying it so far! You're a great writer!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I'm glad you're enjoying it. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by keirnan Free

8th March 2014:
LOVE it KEPP DOING hat your doing

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Luke Free

7th March 2014:
I really loved this, I think you're at your best when you explore the almost "real" side of the magical world, the corruption of the government, anxiety and PTSD over a dramatic illness and not shying away from the implications of that illness as well as a nice plot that's not necessarily about a dark lord, but something on a smaller scale that works really well in exploring what the next generation might have had to deal with. Albus very much is following in the footsteps of his father in his knack for investigation, but there's also that focus on school work and stability that I think you capture really well.

I think in some of your previous works, some of the characters were slightly one dimensional to make room for your stronger characters, like Matt but I have been noticing that over this story especially and the last few one's that Al's friends and even the enemies are becoming less and less like background characters that fit into a very "black and white" sensibility but characters with real struggles and real flaws. It's wonderful to see this development and again this almost sense of realism embedded into this magical world so nicely.

One thing of note that I did love, was that they get the adults when they need to get the adults and your work lacks the trope of "Adults are idiots" that so many authors use to put the characters at their youthful characters at the forefront of the work, it shows a maturity to the characters and again works brilliantly.

The "Young" mystery worked really well and was layered successfully throughout the work, I really enjoyed piecing it together and I hope there's more to piece together. I like that it isn't so cut and dry.

I think you're a brilliant writer and I think you've approached this next gen series quite differently to the original, whereas in the original... the story was the arc over the seven books, but I want to see the adult lives of these characters and it feels like there are chess pieces that you've put down that can't be answered in a series full of adolescents, so I really do hope you consider extending or time skipping to show more of the adult lives of these characters (which I think rivals your Albus works... almost).

Yay, from your biggest fan... who has been much to quiet of late.

Author's Response: I really enjoy writing about the "real" side of things rather than doing a straight fantasy novel. I never wanted to do another Dark Lord for the next generation, and so far it's working out quite well. I think it's more realistic for the next generation to have a more "normal" childhood.

When I started writing the series, I came up with far too many main characters, and that resulted in a few of them being flat, which is something I've struggled with since. But the good thing about writing so many novels is that I can explore characters who have seemed flat in previous novels. Matt has always been my strongest OC, whereas Amanda was the weakest, up until the fourth one. I'm glad their flaws and struggles are coming through.

The "adults are idiots" trope kind of bugs me. One of the main aspects of YA literature is that the adults are not main characters and remain in the background. But sometimes, it just doesn't make sense for the adults not to be there. For Harry, yes, it made sense, because his parents were dead and his "parental figures" kept dying. But Albus has a strong family and loving parents; it wouldn't make sense for them not to be involved.

I'm glad you liked the mystery! The Young portion of it is mostly over, but there is plenty more about the overarching mystery that will be the plot of the 6th novel. There will be a lot more on Stuart Boone in that one.

Aw, thank you! I'm glad you've enjoyed all the novels. Originally, I wanted a main story arc over seven novels, but I never came up with one, so I switched tactics. I love showing the adult lives (like I did in Searching For Forever), so I do have plans to do a few novels about their adult lives after I finish the main seven.

You have been quiet! It's nice to hear from you. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by myhorserockyrocks Free

2nd March 2014:
Great chapter!!! I can't wait for the next book!!!

Horse :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by bubbagump Free

24th February 2014:
great ending to an awesome story.
love your work.
keep on writing :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Eliza Free

24th February 2014:
Thank you, again, for a wonderful story! It will be hard to have to wait so long for a next one, but then again: time always seems to fly by. I'm glad you enjoy writing as much as we enjoy the reading! Lately, I noticed your progress, when I reread a part of the first book. Your writing style has become even smoother, in comparison and the first book was already awesome. Keep up the good work! I'll be looking forward to reading book 6. It's always one of the highlights of my week, reading a chapter. :)

Good luck with writing and I'm sorry for your friend's cat!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! It's always hard waiting for the next, but I'm 11 chapters in and will be posting the first chapter shortly. My first one was definitely not very good, but it set the stage for the rest. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Liana Free

23rd February 2014:
That felt good. You know, that good feeling you get after finishing a wonderful book. I loved every second of it. I can't wait until the next one starts. I'll be on the lookout for the Neville/Hannah story. Congratulations on another great job.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it so much! I love the feeling after finishing a great book. The Neville/Hannah story has been put on the back burner for now, since I came up with a plot for the 6th Albus novel. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by ngayonatkailanman Free

23rd February 2014:
Oh no! We have come to the end of year 5 and OWLS. Plus careers. What a journey for all our intrepid young wizards and witches. I cannot wait for year 6 I am so glad you have a Neville/Hannah to wet our appetites. Congratulations for completing another wonderful and interesting year.

Author's Response: Indeed we have. But there will be more to come. The Neville/Hannah is on the back burner for now, while I write the 6th Albus. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by MargaretLane Free

23rd February 2014:
The whole Northern Irish situation had a LOT of situations like that. Internment without trial was introduced in Northern Ireland to deal with the terrorism and a lot of innocent people were jailed. I once wrote a song fic about Sirius. with one of the protest songs about those cases. I needed to leave out a line that mentioned the actual name of the case and another that mentioned "Irish men and women", but everything else fit.

*laughs at Albus thinking Harry is taking them to the hospital wing out of habit, because they end up there so often*

And nope, never considered Boone the murderer. When I found out it was a werewolf hiding in the Shack and Polyjuicing as Young, my thought was kind of "oh right, so that has nothing to do with the murder." I guess I kind of figured you wouldn't make a werewolf the villain. Plus, I can't see what his motive would be. Not that I can see what motive ANYBODY could have.

The comment about long missions again has similarities with the character I mentioned in my last review. It's not exactly the same, but still.

And Harry's words put rather a different complexion on things. Why I always have to compare things to history is a good question, but this sounds a bit like Eoin O'Duffy, who was head of our police in the 1920s/early 30s and tried to encourage a coup when a new Government he was opposed to got elected. It didn't happen and the new Taoiseach had him fired, but offered him a position in a less sensitive department. O'Duffy refused the other position and turned to fascism. Yeah.

And I'm not at all surprised Hermione would have arranged something.

*laughs at Kendrick putting the Shrieking Shack down to Dumbledore's eccentricities* That's a good way to explain it away all right.

And I LOVE Matt's comment about Gryffindor courage having an ounce of stupidity.

Ahhh, now I'm even more anxious for year six, although at least you've already hinted Bethany is a witch. I was wondering about that.

Did you mean to say that Kaden and Matt "still focused most of their attention on brewing." Something like "pranking" would seem to make more sense there.

And we still don't know who the murderer is. *ponders* I'm sticking with my librarian guess, as I can't think of anybody else.

You finish up well. I always find the last couple of paragraphs of a story difficult.

And *grins at the title "Tipperary Hill"* I was IN Tipperary on Thursday.

And I like the sound of a Neville/Hannah fic dealing with the effects of the war.

Sorry to hear about your former roommate's cat.

Author's Response: I definitely thought everyone would assume Boone was the murderer. But I didn't want a werewolf to be the murderer, even if he did have motive, which he didn't. Plus, it helps the plot of the 6th one not to have the murderer caught in this one.

I always compare literature to history, too. It's so interesting to figure out the parallels.

Dumbledore's eccentricities is a good way to explain anything odd at Hogwarts. Nothing would be too bizarre for Dumbledore. Gryffindor courage definitely has an ounce of stupidity, and the boys demonstrated it here.

I can't wait for you to read the sixth! I may have meant to say pranking, but I'll have to go back and look at the sentence, as Matt doesn't really do much pranking or brewing...

The murderer will most likely be revealed in the sixth one. I find the last few paragraphs hard, too. I'm glad you liked these.

I love the name Tipperary Hill. I actually didn't even think about the real Tipperary Hill in Ireland, as I took the name from a neighborhood in Syracuse, NY, where the traffic lights are upside down so the green is on top, to show off their Irish pride. I'm not sure when I'll post that story, as I'm now focused on the sixth Albus. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Karou_Marauder Free

23rd February 2014:
Hiya!

This is a great end to a great (story? year? novel?). I love how Albus was saying all the good things about his friends, so sweet.

I really want to know what Matt's going to be when he's older. Have you got an idea yet?

Keep writing, you're really good.

-Karou

PS sorry about your friend's cat. :(

Author's Response: I'm really glad you liked it so much! I do know what Matt's going to do when he's older, and you can actually read about that in one of my other fics- Searching For Forever. It's about Lily, but Matt plays an integral role. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Arianna Free

22nd February 2014:
I am now going to briefly rant. AND I THOUGHT WAITING FOR PERCY JACKSON TO COME OUT WAS BAD I MEAN SERIOUSLY. OK, I'm done. But honestly, the only reason I'm ranting is because you are such an awesome writer, and I read all of your books so waiting for the next one to come out is torture. But I guess I could re-read...

Author's Response: Haha, feel free to rant! I know it's hard to wait. But the wait is over, as I'll be posting the first chapter of the next one soon. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by ginnyREEpotter Stuart Boone

20th February 2014:
Wow, I can't believe that the last chapter comes out tomorrow!! I've been following you since you were still posting Between Here & Somewhere. I can't wait to see how they did in the OWLs. Who wants to bet Rose gets top grades?

I was really excited about Matt getting to lead the adventure, he's my favorite of the characters. If Kaden and John were nervous, it really says something about how brave Matt is. I never doubted he was a gryffindor, but now there's proof!

I also feel really bad for him, because hearing Boone's story probably didn't help him feel better about the future. I hope he knows that his friends will be there for him.

Awesome story, can't wait for the next one to come out. Hope it happens soon! Please keep writing you're really good at it!

Author's Response: It does! Or at least it's coming out today, because I forgot yesterday was Friday...oops. Aw, wow, you've been reading them a while! Rose will surely get top grades.

I had a lot of fun writing this as Matt being the leader. It was different, and I think it brought a lot to his character.

Boone has a very tragic story. Matt's is completely different, but it'll take a while for him to realize that, especially in facing his future. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by Karou_Marauder Stuart Boone

17th February 2014:
Aw, poor Boone. I hope the Ministry don't give him too much grief. Identity Theft is wrong but I really hope Harry or Ron or SOMEBODY makes them see sense and that Boone doesn't get charged for murder.

AAHHH!! WHO IS THE MURDERER? TELL ME! please?

Author's Response: You'll find out more about Boone at the Ministry in the sixth one. And who the murderer is as well (probably). Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Arianna Stuart Boone

15th February 2014:
Well. Today I came in, and I didn't expect it to have been updated, but I was like "What the heck, I'll take a look." And then when I found it had been updated, I screamed. Bit pathetic, really. Oh well. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Haha, I'm glad you were so excited! Not pathetic at all. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Cool Stuart Boone

15th February 2014:
I wonder how Matt will deal with this. I really like how you connected everything.

Author's Response: That'll be addressed more in the next one. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by myhorserockyrocks Stuart Boone

15th February 2014:
Great chapter!! I can't wait for the update!!

Horse :)

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by MargaretLane Stuart Boone

15th February 2014:
Hmm, I suspect Burke is his source of Polyjuice. Or maybe not, as I guess he was likely to have been the Young they saw in Knockturn Alley.

And a couple of lines later he confirms that.

And I am REALLY sorry for this guy. It seemed like everything went against him - losing his parents, being bitten, losing his chance at a Ministry career, ending up on the streets. It's...well, I was going to say his life is pretty much the worst thing I could imagine, but it's actually beyond it, because obviously lycanthropy isn't something I imagine. Having no family, no job and no access to social welfare and ending up on the streets always strikes me as about the worst thing imaginable and his life is even WORSE than that. Poor guy.

His age, the circumstances of his being bitten and its effect on his career have similarities with one of my characters, but their life is nowhere near as bad as his.

And I am wondering where he transformed. He wasn't in the Shrieking Shack at full moons, so where was he?

And *pokes them for charging for Wolfsbane* It doesn't surprise me, but the idea of people going without medical help because they can't afford it is so sad. And in this case, it's kind of stupid too, because they are putting other people at risk by leaving werewolves unmedicated. Considering the attitude to werewolves though, I can well imagine people objecting to "taxpayers' money" (if wizards pay taxes) being used on them.

I can see he has little choice, but he must realise what a risk he is taking by transforming in a forest, when that was how he was bitten.

*laughs at Young spending almost every evening in the Hog's Head* THAT could explain a lot.

*laughs at John's question* It honestly never occurred to me that Stuart could be the murderer. Who is, I still have no idea, though my suspicions of the librarian remain. That's just because she's new and kind of overshadowed by Burke and Young, though.

And I can't help laughing at Albus describing his question as "tactless".

I can understand why he ran. My immediate thought was that surely his hands would prove him innocent, but I am, or should be, well aware what prejudice can do. As a child, I followed the campaigns for the release of people like the Bermingham Six quite closely. I'm not from Northern Ireland (I've never even been there), but it was still close enough to freak me out a little. And the wizarding world certainly has similar cases. I've often wondered if the whole Sirius thing was inspired by those cases. Now, of course there was a fair amount of evidence against Sirius, but there was really none at all against Stan Shunpike and considering the lack of trial and so on, I suspect even if there had been proof of Sirius's innocence, it wouldn't have helped him. So Stuart has good reason to worry.

I was thinking he should go to Harry. Harry would be fair and might know what to do, even though he has limited power at the moment. It's a pity Dumbeldore isn't still around. I'm sure he'd come up with some unorthodox solution that would help everybody.

Author's Response: Yep, it's implied that Burke is the source of the polyjuice. Boone had everything going for him and then he didn't. He's a very tragic character and while their are parallels between his life and Matt's, I also created Boone to show how different a werewolf's life can be if they have support. Matt has the best possible circumstances for a young werewolf (with the exception of Wolfsbane not being effective).

Boone transforms in the forest, far away from Hogsmeade in order to not endanger other people. He didn't realize that the Shack was safeguarded against werewolf escapes.

Boone's lack of being able to afford Wolfsbane was a bit of a commentary on the American healthcare system. From what I understand, that sort of thing doesn't happen in the UK. But, it would really hinder the plot of the wizarding world followed that philosophy. They're kind of behind the times anyway.

Haha, Young's spending every night at the pub does explain a lot! Certainly makes him an easy target for identity theft, too.

I assumed everyone would assume Boone was the killer. I thought it'd be obvious, which is part of the reason why I didn't want it to be the case.

I've never heard of that case. I'll have to look it up. But I bet it inspired Sirius's story if they're that similar.

Yep, Harry's power is very limited, which is part of the problem. Oh, yeah, Dumbledore would've figured something out. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by george the giraffe Stuart Boone

15th February 2014:
Oh my! I hope this isn't over-hyped by the Ministry, because that will make it harder on Matt. And we still don't get to find out who the real murderer was! Now that I think about it, I bet Laurentis and Johnson aren't going to like this.

I hope you have plans to finish Albus' sixth and seventh years, and I'd love to hear about his future potential work as an Unspeakable! There's so much mystery associated with the job.

Author's Response: If the Ministry overhypes it Matt will have a very hard time. Laurentis and Johnson won't like this at all, because their scapegoat will have to be set free.

I do have plans to finish the series, but I'm not sure when I'll start the 6th one. I don't have a firm plot for it. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Liana Stuart Boone

15th February 2014:
Stuart sounds like he has arthritis. He was such a pitiful character. I'm really proud of Matt. He represented Gryffindor well. There are people who have so many problems yet they choose to go on. There are others who whine about everything and give up. I wonder who actually murdered those two people.

Author's Response: He does a little, but arthritis doesn't cause seizures. Matt did represent Gryffindor well! He's very resilient. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by ngayonatkailanman Stuart Boone

14th February 2014:
Oh no. poor Boone. I hope that he will be treated with compassion. Nobody could really blame him. He had to survive. It is not his fault. The law must be changed.

Author's Response: He really is quite the tragic character. It's not his fault what happened to him, but it is his fault how he dealt with it. He didn't have to steal identities. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Arianna Secret of the Shack

11th February 2014:
Ahhh! I'm so mad! But it was an awesome chapter

Author's Response: Haha, I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Eliza Secret of the Shack

10th February 2014:
I really liked the chapter, but this comment is going to be more general and more Matt-related and more really just directed to you, the author :)

I've already mentioned in another review that I know what it's like to have PTSD/ anxiety, etc. and that that makes me love Matt. The thing is, I started developing PTSD only about three or four months ago. I've been following your stories about Albus and Matt for about two years, so I knew about PTSD already through your story and that's why I recognised it. I always pitied Matt, because it sounded so awful, but now I know how awful it is to e.g. wake up crying from nightmares about the past. That might sound as if I'm trying to get pity, but I just felt like saying it, because I've really started thinking about Matt a lot since I stated developing PTSD. He's really sweet. :P But no, it's just so weird, getting PTSD after knowing about it through a fictional character.

How can you describe Matt's symptoms and concerns so accurately? I mean, is it just research or have you experienced PTSD/ anxieties/ depressions/ etc. personally (not necessarily you, but maybe a dear one)? Just wondering.

Oh and a quick question: are you going to go directly on to book 6 after finishing this one?

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! Oo, I love Matt-related questions. And questions directed at me!

I'm sorry you've had to deal with anxiety and PTSD. :( I hope you have someone to talk to about it, whether a friend or a therapist, or whoever. I know you're not trying to get pity, and I'm glad you're able to relate to Matt. Being able to relate to the characters is part of what makes reading so awesome.

I personally have never experienced PTSD, nor have I met anyone who has (that I know of). I've had anxiety, although nothing near what compares to Matt's. I did major in psychology for my undergraduate degree so I learned a lot about PTSD and anxiety in various classes. What I didn't know from class, I researched. I'm really glad you think it's realistic!

I haven't started writing the 6th one yet because I'm still figuring out the plot, so it'll be a while before I start posting it. I like to have about 10 chapters written before I start posting a story. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by Freda_and_Georgina Secret of the Shack

9th February 2014:
So the double-Young turned out to be an imposter! I thought for sure the answer was going to be time-turner related. Well this explains a little, but wow I really can't wait to hear this guy's story! I hope the real Young gets off; if he's unaware of his imposter. In that sense I hope the Ministry isn't too corrupted. Still, this will look really bad on werewolves, right as Matt's about to attempt to enter the field. Can't wait to hear his story--I wonder... I wish you posted more often than once a week!

McGonagall's reaction to Divination is rather priceless, I loved that!
I also liked the dynamic of Matt leading the adventure--with John and even Kaden reluctant about it, that really does say something about it.

Author's Response: He did! I suppose it could've been a time-turner, but the time-turners got smashed in Order of the Phoenix. It's possible someone made more, but I bet that would be complicated.

You'll hear his story as soon as I post the next chapter! You'll also find out about Young in this chapter or the next (can't remember off hand which). You're right that this won't help werewolf rights. If anything it'll make things worse, at least for now.

I loved giving McGonagall a cameo in this. She's such a great character! I figured it was about time for Matt to show that he really is a Gryffindor. I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>