Reading Reviews for The Unexpected
  
45 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ankn Over It

26th April 2014:
it's a really good chapter! I like it a lot, especially the way you wrote mcgonagall.
by the way, you can request a banner at thedarkarts(dot)net, which is hpff's sister site. That's where everyone gets theirs :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by minerva Full Moon Memories

16th April 2014:
So, I generally don't review stories- I just read and move on- but I love yours so much I just had to. I recently read it, and it is fantastic. I was just wondering if we are going to see Ellis finally face down that awful Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher? I forget his name, but I'd love to see Ellis dueling Sirius or really anyone in front of the professor, just so we can see his reaction to her skill. Maybe have Lily and Mia duel too? Like, her finally snapping under the injustice and standing up to him and, well, I'm sure you can write it much better than I can, but that is something that has been bothering me and I'd really love to see it. Thanks, and please update soon- I can't wait to see what happens next!

 Report Review

Review #3, by iamatree Full Moon Memories

4th April 2014:
Wow. That was well worth waiting for, JB. After the long gap... well, I'm stunned. So very compelling and moving and upsetting, but there was a ray of light in there. It helps so much to explain Ellis's character and her idiosyncrasies. Well done... this is the most powerful chapter yet.

Author's Response: Thank you so much :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by ladyrae Full Moon Memories

2nd April 2014:
Great chapter!! Can't wait to see Ellis without her wall and how that affects her. Super curious about what Mia's secret could be, and more curious about who the other wolf was. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you! Hopefully I can get this one up sooner :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Ellis_Sirius Full Moon Memories

31st March 2014:
I was so excited when I looked and saw this update earlier today, I read it immediately (neglecting some homework to do so, I might add). I love the full moon thing, and Ellis showing Sirius what happened to her was really good- I like the pensieve thing a lot. I was a bit surprised, since I figured Mia would spill first, but since we already knew most of what happened to Ellis, I guess it's not that shocking. It just makes me even more curious about Mia, though. All in all, it was really good- keep the updates coming!

Author's Response: haha yeah I figured since I'd given so many hints about Ellis, it was about time to just get it out. And thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Leanna Drobois Full Moon Memories

29th March 2014:
Please continue. This is my favourite story on the whole site.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm really sorry my progress has been slow for a while, but spring break is coming up so I should be able to write at least one or two chapters!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Ellis_Sirius Revelation

10th March 2014:
I recently read your whole story and I am very excited to see what happens next. I love Ellis and I love her relationship with Sirius, I love how she made herself be perfect to protect herself, I love her boldness, she is such an intense, complicated, and wonderful character! She is one of the best OCs that I have read. I also love Mia- what happened to her? And what happened to Ellis? There is just so much that is perfect about this story, so I'm not going to say it all, but thank you so much for writing it. Please update soon- I can't take too much more of the suspense!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! As for what happened to Mia and Ellis, you'll find out in the next chapter... well, you'll find out about one of them :) I just don't know when I'll have that chapter done (school is monopolizing my time)... hopefully soon!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Leannadrobisforever Revelation

17th December 2013:
Amazing as always! Please update soon

 Report Review

Review #9, by accioronald Revelation

8th December 2013:
OMG YOU ARE SERIOUSKY THR BEST WRITER ! Can't wait for the next update!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #10, by ladyrae Revelation

7th December 2013:
Love love love love love!

Author's Response: Thaaank yooouuu!!

 Report Review

Review #11, by ihate coming up with usernames Revelation

4th December 2013:
Loved it! I love it! I love Sirius with Ellis! I love the secrets! I love not knowing the secrets! I love this story! Your a wonderful writer, and this is my favorite story on this website. I just wish you would update faster.

Author's Response: Thankss!! Yeah, I wish I would update faster too, cause that would mean I have less homework :/ Ugh. I'll do my best though ;)

 Report Review

Review #12, by iamatree Revelation

4th December 2013:
I was so excited when I saw the new chapter up!! I did a quiet whoop to myself.
Firstly I'd like to say thank you for showing Ellis's reluctance at finding herself spiralling into a sort of love, or as much love as she could feel. I like the fact she tried to deny it but then acknowledged it, begrudgingly.
Secondly, i'm rooting for Remus and Mia. I like them alot.
Thirdly, I am so desperate to know what's happened to Ellis. If you keep me waiting until the very last chapter then I'll... well I don't know what I'll do but you will feel my typed wrath!
Good work, as ever.

Author's Response: Thank you :) And it won't be the LAST chapter, but you may have to wait a while... it's important to the story to keep everyone waiting.
Or, you know, I just like torturing you all.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Malfoylover1 Merry Christmas, Everyone

15th November 2013:
I started reading this and I am in love with it! It is amazing! KeeP up the good work :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by casa_bella Merry Christmas, Everyone

14th November 2013:
Such an incredible story!!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #15, by iamatree Merry Christmas, Everyone

12th November 2013:
Well JB I may just find something to throw
at you... *hurls nearest object* Don't leave
me hanging! I have to know all about this
story! We all love a little xmas mirth with
a dash of Death Eaters. Standard Xmas :) now
hurry up and add more or else... *takes off
slipper and holds menacingly*
'Tree

Author's Response: I don't know whether to be thankful or scared... um thanks? *please don't hurt me*
But seriously, thanks! :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by iamatree The Yule Ball

12th November 2013:
"I felt very charitable, doing that.† It was an odd feeling, and I wasnít sure I liked it." I liked that bit, made me chuckle. Very compelling chapter and nice to see everyone just being teenagers, without yoo much drama. Well, until the end that is, but generally...

 Report Review

Review #17, by iamatree Who's Asking Who?

12th November 2013:
Eeeek it's so exciting!

 Report Review

Review #18, by iamatree Family Matters

12th November 2013:
I had to re-read the duel part, it was so fast-paced I had to go back to keep up! Seriously (yes I said it) I love your characters and especially how they're not just stereotypes of themselves: Sirius isn't all girls and pranks, James isn't just Quidditch and Lily. I even like how you've done Peter, you wrote he was talented and surviving. He was very clever in that respect and not just a useless lump. Excellent.

 Report Review

Review #19, by iamatree Truth

11th November 2013:
Why can't I know what's happened now? So unfair. ..
I think it's cool how Ellis made her own wand. Very handy skill to have.

 Report Review

Review #20, by iamatree Fallout

11th November 2013:
It is so exciting! A lot of excellent passages in here. Great action from Ellis and Sirius.

 Report Review

Review #21, by iamatree New Developments

10th November 2013:
Ellis is like the Sheldon Cooper of the wizarding world. That is all.

 Report Review

Review #22, by accioronald Merry Christmas, Everyone

10th November 2013:
I love this story! you are an amazing writer ! i love the long chapters keep them up! when will the next chapter be out?!?!

Author's Response: Thank you! And I'm not sure, I'm only about halfway through and I've been super-busy lately... hopefully within the next week or so though :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Rumpelstiltskin A Pink Date

8th November 2013:
Back!

Sorry about the delay, I haven't forgotten about this!

Oh, Ellis. Always so full of herself. That is one of the reasons I adore her, of course. She creates an image of perfection but not in a Mary-Sue way. Her perfection dwells in her confidence in herself, believing that she is better than everybody in every way possible. This asset to her characterization points out her flaws, however. This dynamic is quite brilliant. You are showing a character through a false light and creating illusions and causing Rumpel to jump up and down with the excitement of the techniques prowess. I'm not even going to delve into her intensity. :)

I also found that Lily and Ellis' friendship under the pretense of an agreement (which is almost contractual) reveals another key component in Ellis' characterization. She makes decisions that are logical to her based on their beneficial factors. She's analytical in nature and seems to lack significant emotional attachment. I'm guessing that this has something to do with her past? I'm very intrigued to learn of her past.

Oops, Rumpel's beginning to go all shrink-y on your character. Sorry, I'll try to stay out of Ellis' mind. No promises though, I find your character very intriguing.

Now let's move along before this entire review is about Ellis...although I'd love to do an in-depth character analysis of her. (And this is only chapter three!)

Do you mind if I have a moment outside of analyzing this chapter? Ew! Jason is clingy, and I want to hit him, and decidedly ew. I agree whole-heartedly with Ellis: I officially don't like him. I'm so glad that Ellis made the date extremely difficult and decided to break things off with him. Have I mentioned that I love her?

Okay, thank you, that's all I needed.

Ellis' animagus form being a falcon definitely proves advantageous on the Quiddich pitch. It was a nice way to tie together two subplots.

Okay, time for Rumpel's favorite! (Queue the sarcastic applause.) Of course it was the fight scene!! The first reason is that I have a genuine dislike for Bellatrix (but I think I've mentioned that before). It was nice to see her get her...ehm...posterior kicked. The second reason, of course, is because this is an action scene (a beautifully written action scene at that)! I am a sucker for action and you've written it perfectly with a proper flow.

Well, that's all I have to say for now. I'm looking forward to the next chapter!

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #24, by iamatree A Pink Date

6th November 2013:
I'm curious- nervously curious- to find out what happened to Ellis as a child. I must admit my mind is wandering into dark possibilities. I like the back stories too, the little details such as the portrait of the tree and the wand. Little touches reallu make a story. Brilliant.

 Report Review

Review #25, by ladyrae Merry Christmas, Everyone

4th November 2013:
So I just marathon-read your entire story, and hot damn I'm impressed! The writing is incredible (especially considering from your notes, it seems like you're in high school, while I would've guessed older), and I love your portrayal of the characters (particularly Mia). I also love the long chapters, so no complaints there. Keep it up please!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>