14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MargaretLane Dudley Dursley’s Devastating Day

29th March 2014:
This story sounds rather unusual. *goes to read*

Hmm, I'm guessing this shop has some connection with the wizarding world.

The lamp reminds me of Aladdin.

And I'm amused by the shopkeeper saying "good riddance to you" instead of "good day to you".

That part about him being alarmed and not knowing why is rather intriguing.

I'm wondering who the "he" is in the part in italics, whether it's Dudley himself or Harry or somebody else. I assume it's Dudley, but I'm not 100% sure.

Ah, this guy is Ron. That explains how he knows who Dudley is. I was wondering.

Did you mean to have Arthur tell Ron to "banish" or "vanish" the bag?

I never expected it to be an imp. That was a surprising ending. Actually, I wasn't sure WHAT to expect.

Poor Dudley; he did end up in a fairly confusing situation.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Rumpelstiltskin Dudley Dursley's Dancing Delight

7th March 2014:
I'm here for Blackout Bingo (number 7/15 of square 2, to keep track).

Aw, this was funny ♥! I love that Dudley believes that he can do magic, too, if only he could find a stick and say some silly words. After much searching, he finds one! That is fantastic, you really had me giggling through that section.

Bahahaha, well, he did magic. Then he began dancing about in a tutu, because, hey, why not? I love Vernon and Petunia's reactions to this, they were pretty epic.

I loved the ending as well, when Harry and Dudley are reunited in the post-war world.

This was fantastic, it made me laugh, and it was very sweet! Great job!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

I had fun writing this parody as well as figuring out how to describe the dancing (which included doing the different dance steps myself).

Thank you! This was my first parody to write and will be writing more. :)

Thank you!
LEP:)


 Report Review

Review #3, by UnluckyStar57 Dudley Dursley's Dancing Delight

1st August 2013:
Hahahahahahahaha!! This was so cute! :D

I loved how you described Dudley's boredom and insatiable curiosity for magical things. He was very funny, wanting to try a magic stick for himself! When he began to dance, I cracked up. You gave enough details so that I would know exactly what was happening, and yet, it wasn't too wordy. :)

Hahahahahahaha, Petunia and Vernon trapped in a music box! And Dudley wanting them to go back in the box after they had come out! So funny!! I thought it was great that Dudley wanted to kind of get away from their annoyingness.

My only complaint about the story is that Dudley's marriage to "Caroline" was a little bit vague. I would like to see something like, "Dudley married Caroline, a professional ballroom dancer." Or something of the sort. I just need a tad bit more background on her. However, I know that this is a one-shot, and it might be your intention to be vague on Caroline's origins. If so, then just ignore me. ;)

Brilliant work! Such a funny, original piece.

May your pen never run out of ink!

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

I've added a note about adding a little more information about Caroline. Thank you for pointing it out!

This was a fun story to write and was the first parody I've written. :)

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by BluebirdBrigade Dudley Dursley's Dancing Delight

15th July 2013:
Ahaha, this was quite funny actually and I think you really did the whole parody element justice! I found Dudley adorable, which is something that I have never before associated with Dudley. Usually he's a boring idiot to me but I thought he was almost childishly sweet here. Vernon and Petunia still remained foul to me however but I don't think that can ever be changed.

I thought the writing in this was great, you had a really nice flow in the story and there were some great moments here and there throughout the story. There were no grammar or spelling mistakes to be seen, I thought it was a great story overall - so well done!

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

This was definitely a fun story to write, especially working out the different dances. :)

I also wanted to show how much he had changed since the Dementor attack and how much he was able to change without the negative attitudes holding him back.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Freda_and_Georgina Dudley Dursley's Dancing Delight

1st July 2013:
This is an interesting story, but I have a hard time following what is going on/what's going on with that wand/music box.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

Muggles are not supposed to use a wand which stores magical energy. When a Muggle tries to use a wand, either nothing will happen or the wand will discharge its stored energy in interesting ways usually ending not so well for the Muggle. This is the premise I used for this parody with Dudley using the wand and he was able to get off lucky by only having to dance many types of dances. :)

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by bob Dudley Dursley's Dancing Delight

30th June 2013:
Awesome short story.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

This was my very first parody to write. It was fun figuring out what different dances that he would do.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by marauderfan Dudley Dursley's Dancing Delight

2nd June 2013:
Review tag!!!

This was a very unique story, I really liked it. I thought you captured Dudley's character very well. He's obviously grown up a bit by this point and it was nice to see that he's got his own view of magic now. And it was great that Dudley and Harry seemed to be friends at the end!

LOVED the dancing scene. Poor clueless Dudley. And Vernon and Petunia were spot on.

I thought the end was clever - having them get stuck in the box, but I did wonder about Vernon and Petunia - they would have been gone for a number of years, and I'd think that someone would seriously worry.

(Also, you mentioned the dementor incident sort of offhand and it got me to thinking- what did Dudley see when the dementors attacked him? Then again, I know it really has nothing to do with the story, so it's fine that it's not included. It just made me wonder, that's all)

Great work on this, it was a very entertaining read!

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

It was fun working out the dancing scenes. :)

That is a point. I'll have to think about if I can add in worry about them being gone so long. I've added a note so I won't forget.

I wondered the same thing, especially since Harry made a point of wondering what Dudley had seen in OOTP. I found the answer - because Dudley was so spoiled and had no bad memories, the Dementors made Dudley see himself as he truly was.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Lululuna Dudley Dursley's Dancing Delight

31st May 2013:
Hi, I'm here for some review tag! :)

This was a great, funny little story. I actually think you captured Dudley's character perfectly while giving him a lot of depth. I was impressed how he missed his friends, and not his beloved television! I like how he seemed to mature and start having his own thoughts when he met the Dementors, it seems very plausible to me. I also loved the fact that he became friends with Harry's family and they spent some time together- it was very sweet!

The dancing incident was so funny, who knew Dudley had such amazing magical potential? :P I loved all the descriptions of his cavorting about, and how he firmly decided magic was not for him at the end of it all, it seemed very fitting. We never really find out what happens to the Dursleys when they go into hiding, but I think that Vernon and Petunia would have certainly been very irritated and causing a fuss.

The idea with the music box and the Dursleys was very clever, but for some reason a little hard to understand and I had to re-read it a couple times. For some reason I thought they had been trapped in a moving picture, and then realized it was the music box. Maybe you could say something about the figures on the music box looking slightly familiar to Dudley, like a very round, red-faced man and a pinched-face ballerina (or whatever)? Also maybe say that the music box itself fell to the ground, and I think you could play up Harry and the others' shock and fear at the return of the Dursleys. Just a couple thoughts I had, feel free to ignore them! :)

Overall this was a wonderful little story that I thoroughly enjoyed! You did a great job with Diddlekins :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

This was a fun story to write. Especially with working out the different dance steps!

I've added a note to clarify the music box/Vernon/Petunia as well as adding a little more shock when they reappear at the end.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by adluvshp Dudley Dursley's Dancing Delight

29th May 2013:
Hey here for review tag!

This was certainly a very creative and unique piece of writing. I enjoyed reading this one-shot and chuckled when poor Dudley was dancing. I can't believe he made Vernon and Petunia disappear, haha. That was really fun to read, and I liked your writing style. The ending segment was a great way to close the fic as well. Good job!

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

It was fun writing this piece - and acting out *most* of the dance steps for their best description.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by GingeredTea Dudley Dursley's Dancing Delight

28th May 2013:
Review tag!

First of all, this had a great beginning and middle. I liked the comedy of this story and Dudley's reasoning that Harry could use all the magic - because he hurt. It seemed like a very Dudley reason. The end however...well it seemed cut short. Is this supposed to be a one-shot? It was good and left me wanting MORE. I hope someday you will continue it.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

I will look at the ending again and see if it can be finished a little better. There is a scene I have been working on and is still in work.

Yes, for right now, this is a one-shot. Unless a plot bunny appears. :)

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by 800 words of heaven Dudley Dursley's Dancing Delight

28th May 2013:
REVIEW TAG!

How does this story not have more reviews? This is such a wonderful read! Very light and fluffy!

I like the way you've portrayed Dudley here. He's still canon, but you've extended this and shown him how he might've been after he left at the beginning of Deathly Hallows, and I think you took his character in a very interesting direction.

Petunia and Vernon seemed to be Petunia and Vernon, as always, and their fates reminded me of this show that used to come on TV, which told cautionary tales to children - you may know it - Grizzly Tales for Gruesome Kids (great show, btw)? But yes, I thought that was great!

This really was so wonderful to read! Your writing style is so crisp and clean! Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

This was my first attempt at writing a parody. I sat in front of my computer after having looked up what a parody exactly was and became lost in thought. At what point in the Harry Potter timeline would be the best for this parody with Dudley to occur? And why?

I had to look up the "Grizzly Tales for Gruesome Kids". I hadn't heard of it, but from what I've read, it sounds like "Goosebumps".

I wanted to create a bridge from the Dudley seen at the beginning of the books and to how he and Harry become friendly towards each other.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by patronus_charm Dudley Dursley's Dancing Delight

23rd May 2013:
I am so sorry for how long it’s taken me to get here, it was due to exam related stress! Anyhow I am here to review your entry for the Parody Challenge, and I was really excited about reading this one as I have a soft spot for Dudley!

I really liked your characterisation of Dudley – it was great! I think he’s quite a hard character to pin down as we only see him in the opening chapter of each book, but you managed to catch his character in that time period perfectly. You had him wanting to be nice to Harry, but then him still being loyal to his parents.

I’ve never seen a parody include a mix of more serious and funnier elements to the story but it was really effective. I liked learning more about his time in hiding and then the humorous elements contrasted well with, and it was really effective.

The idea of Dudley dancing is slightly scary but hilarious at the same time. I really felt for him as you could tell that he really wanted to find the want, and I love Hestia’s observations of him while he did, that made me crack up! Then when he got it, and started dancing it was great! I think what topped it off and really made it work was Vernon and Petunia’s reaction to it, I wouldn’t be surprised if that was the reason for them disappearing like that! I probably would too :P

Another thing I liked is the ending, as I always imagined that Harry and Dudley would make up so it fitted with my head canon perfectly, and it made me aw at how the wives were getting on. Then for the other two to finally turn up and Harry thinking they were intruders was really great and made me smile even more.

Anyhow I really enjoyed this one-shot as it provided a fresh insight into Dudley’s life and I couldn’t spot any typos or grammar errors! I’ll post the results in a blog after the closing date, so you may have to wait a while to find out.

-Kiana

P.S. I'm logged out for some reason but this is me!

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

The top question I had concerning Dudley was what he saw when the Dementor attacked them. Nothing was ever said in the books about what he saw even though Harry knew he had seen something. I finally found the answer from an interview. :)

It seems to me that the 7th book actually gives the most information on Dudley of all the books. As if Harry is also seeing the change in Dudley.

I had to stop typing several times to laugh at the image of Dudley doing the "pas de chat" or the "bunny hop". :)

Dudley was anxious at that point abut being treated like Harry had been treated and their transfiguration was a defense. Not that he did any of the spells knowingly.

I would like to think that Dudley became more at ease with magic (provided Hagrid wasn't around) and so would have no trouble laughing when Harry's kids did magic.

At the end, Harry has become the Head Auror. Having Vernon and Petunia transfigure back when Harry ends the spell on the flying books had to be done - they couldn't have stayed a music box.

Thank you very much!


 Report Review

Review #13, by AlexFan Dudley Dursley's Dancing Delight

22nd May 2013:
I'll get right to your concerns about the story. The flow of the story was great, no choppy sentences, no grammatical or punctuation errors and lots of description.

There was more description than there was dialogue but that isn't a bad thing because the description was enjoyable to read. There wasn't too much of it but enough to keep the reader entertained.

I absolutely adore this, it was funny and fluffy and everything sounded exactly like something that Dudley would think. I especially love when he said that Harry could have all the magic because it hurt him. It just made me laugh because it sounded so Dudley.

I also loved the ending where Harry goes from Auror to relaxed and instead of being shocked he just asks his aunt and uncle where on earth they'd been that entire time.

Anyway, I thought this was great and I wish you good luck in the challenge!

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

This was a fun story to write, especially with all the different dances available. It was also fun working out how to describe the movements without just naming them. I had briefly considered the "pas de cheval" but decided there wasn't enough room for a horse/centaur in the room. :)

When I wrote that last line, I could almost hear Molly Weasley demanding to know where they've been.

Thank you very much!


 Report Review

Review #14, by HeyMrsPotter Dudley Dursley's Dancing Delight

15th May 2013:
Hello! Here from the forums for your requested review. I've never read a story from Dudley's POV before so I'm looking forward to this :)

I think you got Dudley's character just right. There's a good amount of his parents' influence still in him, calling wands 'sticks' as though he can't bring himself to say wand, and also he's started to break away from their way of thinking after his experiences with magic.

You described his transformations to ballet dancer/cat/puppet/rabbit/tap dancer brilliantly, I could imagine him perfectly in each scenario and it was hilarious! The effects of the magic on his parents was excellent too, and Vernon stayed completely true to character.

I really liked the flash forward too, it's nice to think that Harry and Dudley would make amends in their later years. I'd actually love to read the conversation that took place after that, I can imagine Vernon ring furious!

A lovely read, very funny and a great job for your first parody. Good luck in the challenge :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

I had wondered ever since the OOTP what it was that Dudley had seen when attacked by the Dementor because of his reaction. I only found out recently that he had seen his true self which began his change in attitude towards Harry.

It would be interesting to write the ensuing conversation. Especially as there's been about 10 years for all the family dynamics to change.

Thank you very much!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login