Reading Reviews for Fluxweed
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MyMyMiss Fluxweed

14th March 2014:
'A full moon hung low in the sky, bathing the ground in silvery light' Instantly drawn in withe the first line which is always great!!

I really liked the descriptions, as always, you have captured the moments perfectly and really laid out the perfect scenery and visula needed when reading a story.

I had never thought of padma/draco even talking let alone meeting and her vanishing his project, I had a little giggled as I love underloved characters with any cannon character no matter what they play s (lovers, friends enemies etc.) I think, also, just an idea that this could lead to a short story? Just an idea. Maybe expand it a little and add more between the two, I think that would be really awesome, especially with the writing you describe and how brilliantly you draw your reader in instantly!

I'm sad that she didn't get her fluxweed though, the poor thing! they went through so much with those carrows, and you explained that awesomely too, how wicked and evil they truly were.

excellent work again, going to read more from you!!

~MMM

-Blackout 3/20.

Author's Response: Yay, I'm so happy the first line of the story managed to draw you in - it's great that the description was able to do that!

This story was actually written for a Gryffie challenge, and Padma and Draco were two of the characters that I had to include from a list, which is how they ended up together. I'd never pictured them having a conversation before either, to be honest, but I'm glad you thought this worked. I imagine that they must have spoken at some point, since the school is so small. It would definitely be interesting to expand this, now you mention it!

I know it was a pity she didn't manage to find it, but I'm glad you liked the way I portrayed the evilness of the Carrows!

Thank you so much for this lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by lady_devil Fluxweed

8th March 2014:
For the Blackout Battle!

Hi back to review another story!

I have never read a story about Padma, this is my first, and I think you really did a job with her character, especially with everything that's been happening.

Draco is especially, completely in character, amazing I must say! He's exactly the way she's supposed to be during this war and having no choice but to do it.

This is story is dark and beautiful written, captures every element of horror and dark, I really enjoyed every word you have written. It flows flawlessly from beginning to end, fom my view it captures again what life would be like when Hogwarts was taken over through a student's point of view.

The interaction between Padma and Draco was perfect, there's no words to really say how well you written their conversation, coming from opposite ends of the war. I enjoyed Padma getting that Gryffindor in her going by standing up to Draco to not allow him to take the Iron Maiden out of the forest. Even the battle was beautifully written, I can picture it in my head.

Another story I will be favouriting by you! :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks so much for coming back to review another story, I'm honoured!

I don't think I'd seen a story written about Padma before this, so it was definitely fun to explore her character. I wanted to show that all the members of the DA really had been fighting and struggling to survive in the castle, and even though Padma's in Ravenclaw she's definitely got Gryffie qualities (like her sister) and is brave in standing up for what's right.

Draco was hard for me to write, but I'm really pleased you liked his characterisation here. The fact you think this was well written and captured the confrontation and the horror of this makes me really happy.

Thank you for the favourite, and the brilliant review! Good luck with the Bingo!


 Report Review

Review #3, by patronus_charm Fluxweed

9th January 2014:
Hi Sian, back again for review number two!

Again, I really loved Padmaís thoughts here just like I liked Deanís. Iím glad I read this one straight after the Dean story because it meant that I could compare how both of them changed during the war which was really fun. The almost shock with Padma herself with how the war changed her had me laughing a lot.

There she was straight O student, and basically perfect and now sheís on midnight runs for fluxweed and fearing for her life in the forbidden forest. I really loved that change, because it was a really seamless and believable one and I felt proud of her that despite being a Ravenclaw she had the courage to go and do that which was a nice way of showing how house characteristics.

Draco was great! Iíve always had a soft spot for him and seeing him all tired and almost weak made me aw like crazy because heís suffering from the war in the same way too. I could sense his dislike for the Carrows for making him make that, because even if he was a Death Eater he was one who had a chance of redemption due to feeling disgust about it. I really liked the idea of Iron Maiden as it was really interesting and original. Did you come up with it or was it from the lexicon?

I really liked how you stayed true to Dracoís character though and how he began to chase Padma down and use crucio on her, because above all he wants to save himself and doesnít care too much about morals and this showed that more bitter side to him really well. Iím so glad that Padma got away and was safe in the end though as that was really lovely and the closing line seemed to fit with the story so well.

Great one-shot and write more now because Iím out of stuff to review :P

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hey Kiana!

I thought that you might like this story since it has a Ravenclaw protagonist! She does change so much and I'm glad you felt proud of her! I think it's really important to show it's not just Gryffindors that fought that war, and she ended up in the Room of Requirement with the rest of the DA, so she must have been brave enough to fight.

Draco was the one I was worried about in this story! I'd never written him before but I'm glad you liked his characterisation here. He's really suffering from the war and he's getting desperate, mostly to save himself like you said. The Iron Maiden was actually the 'thing' prompt for this challenge! I actually wasn't even sure what it was before I saw it as a prompt, but I was surprised by how well it fit into the story.

I'm writing, I'm writing! Well, I will be when I finish responding to these reviews :P Thank you for the review though, dear! ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by MissesWeasley123 Fluxweed

17th October 2013:
I am so happy for this task! Let's me read some more of your work! :D

Wow. You won this, right? No wonder... This was absolutely brilliant.

Firstly, the idea you had for this is so clever and intelligent. To choose Padma, a minor character and revolve this entire one shot around her. You did it so well.

When you mentioned the fluxweed having to be picked at the full moon, I did a gasp. I seriously thought, judging by your summary, that maybe Padma would get bitten by a werewolf. I love the twist though, it was such a surprise.

Ugh, Draco. So despicable as always. But you stayed true to his character and that's what I liked most.

Iron Maiden, that was freaky. I didn't quite understand what you meant, so I stopped reading and googled it. Yep - that's creepy. And very twisted. The Carrows are so well described by Padma, it's so real.

You definitely have to write about her again, for sure. This was amazingly well done!

Author's Response: Nadia! So I finally get round to replying to this, ten days late... *hides*

Haha I'd have loved for you to be around for this challenge, because the prompts we were given were completely bizarre and not at all easy to fit together. Padma was the protagonist I liked the most on the list and I had fun writing her (minor character alert!). I definitely think I'd like to try again!

I couldn't help including the Carrows when I decided on the Iron Maiden as my 'object' for this; they're so horrible that they'd have to have something to do with it! Draco was rather sinister in this, and not portrayed the way he normally is in FF, but I wanted him to come across as a real antagonist in this piece, so I'm glad it worked!

Thanks for this amazing review, my dear! ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by LittleLionGirl Fluxweed

25th July 2013:
Wow. This was ineradicable. You don't actually hear much of either Patil twins during the second wizard war- even less with Padama. This was very well written and you could catch the tone of danger and action though the duel and the running in the eerie feeling in the forest. This was an amazing one-shot to read!
XOXOXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: Hi!

Padma was a great character to get the chance to write, and I had a lot of fun adding some depth to her character. I'm pleased that you could sense the danger and the atmosphere in the forest. Thank you very much!

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Jchrissy Fluxweed

2nd July 2013:
Sian, you're going to need to get to writing. Because I just realize this is one of the only two stories of yours that I have left to review. So, go on. Type away! :P

I was worried about how this would end because of the summary. I know this is terrible, but I don't remember what happens to quite a few Hogwarts era minor characters. I've spent too long stuck in the Marauders era that I tend to forget about the not so major ones in this, and so I wasn't sure if Padma makes it through everything alive or not.

The first part of the story I was convinced she'd come in contact with a creature or something. I loved that you set up the eerie feeling, and then it was really her who went running into the danger. The fact that nothing came at her and she ventured upon Draco was even creeper. And what he was building! wow. I honestly wondered at first if an Iron Maiden was something different there, then when you started described it I got a chill.

Too many people show a softer side a Draco, that giving us the boy who doesn't care about anything but saving his own skin was so incredibly refreshing. He felt like Draco. not like someone who's gone through some huge reform, who realized he's in deep and is sad and scared of the Dark Lord now. He felt like the arrogant boy who could care less about others, and that balanced P's attitude perfectly. The fact that she didn't even realize at first how much danger she was in set up such a tense moment of 'uh oh.'

I loved the details you focused on about the fluxweed and what they were going to do with the potion. You really have a talent for taking these tiny little moments, twisting canon fax in there, and making them into really awesome, addicting one shots.

This was an awesome story. It was creepy, intense, and in the end I found myself wanting to cheer for her. Really great story, Sian!

Author's Response: Jami! You're spoiling me so much with all these lovely reviews!

I wanted the summary to be ambiguous so that people would be guessing up until the end what would happen, so it's good that works!

Haha I kind of wanted people not to know what to expect from this while Padma's going into the forest, so I'm glad you thought it might be a creature at first.

Shall I let you into a secret? I didn't know what an Iron Maiden was before this challenge, and when I found out I was so tempted to twist the prompts around and stick the band in there instead somehow! :P It's horrible, so I'm glad you got chills about it! But I thought it fit with what we know of the Carrows as well, since they don't care how they keep control as long as they have it.

Draco was actually really hard for me to write; there are so many different versions of him in FF and it was hard to settle on how I wanted to portray him. I think at this point while he is scared, saving his own skin is still more important to him than anything else, and we see that through the Battle at the end of the last book. Haha I wanted to cheer for Padma too!

Thank you so much for this amazing review, Jami!

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by soufflegirl99 Fluxweed

23rd May 2013:
The tension you build up in this piece is so well crafted, and your characterisation of Padma is perfection! I think you captured the suspense and fear of a raven claw brilliantly in this, and the whole title is beautifully simple and inventive.

You had me on the edge of my seat, when she knows there's something behind her, and it's actually Malfoy. That was expertly done, and the range of sentences really added that eerie effect. I think the use of dialogue really helped as well, just to keep the pace going and keep the reader engaged.

The way you write Malfoy is brilliant! Straight from Rowling's characterisation, and you really add the arrogant and inquiring side to him, that makes him so believable and realistic. I loved your version on him - and I'd like to see more of him!

The format and structure is fantastic too - it really helps keep the story at a varying pace - creating compelling suspense, and then steady flow at times. The time you did it in is original too, I don;t read much about their seventh year, so I think it's such a cool and creative one shot - a quirky character, time, and plot!

Overall, an awesome descriptive and wholesome piece of writing. It had me gripped, and I think you really write Padma's thoughts well. Awesome!

Sophie :D

Author's Response: Hey Sophie! This review was such a lovely surprise!

I'm glad you liked the characterisation of Padma and Draco here. Because I love minor characters, Padma was great fun to write and I enjoyed exploring her character here. Malfoy was more of a challenge because he's been written about much more than characters I normally use. You never know, we might see more of him in the future!

I'm pleased that the flow and pace seemed appropriate for the story. The seventh year at Hogwarts is really interesting, because we don't know much about it at all - it's something I'd like to explore more in the future, I think.

Thank you for a fantastic review - you've put a massive smile on my face!

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by True Author Fluxweed

22nd May 2013:
Hello! Here from Review Tag 3.0!

First of all, I want to give you a big hug for writing a story about Padma. I have a thing for minor and kinda ignored characters and being an Indian myself, I have a soft corner for the Patil twins. =]

Malfoy! Haha it's funny that you've written a story about a character I like and a character I don't like at all isn't it?. :P Anyways you have written well and good. Your plot is original and I didn't spot any grammar error. The flow looks good too.

Good job!
Ashwini

Author's Response: Hello!

Aw, minor characters are my favourite, and Padma was so fun to write about! I can see myself writing about her again some time in the future!

Draco...he's normally someone I'd never consider writing about, but he was on the list of antagonists for the challenge and it fit in here. But if you don't like him, hopefully he works as the antagonist here!

Thanks for a great review!

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Aphoride Fluxweed

22nd May 2013:
Hey there - sorry about the slight delay in getting this to you - but I'm here with your requested review! :)

Okay, so I have to tell you that I lovelovelove stories about minor characters, so the fact that Padma is the protagonist of this is enough to make me pretty happy already.

I love the way you've created her, though. We really know very little about her - that she was a prefect, that she was Parvati's twin, she's a Ravenclaw, and she liked parties and dancing, and is considered by Seamus to be one of the prettiest girls in their year. It doesn't say anything much about personality, though, so it's a fairly clean slate. That being said, I think what you've done with her really fits in to what we already know. A straight-O student, clean school record, suddenly discovering bravery when it's needed - she's a great character, and you've made her interesting. I liked how you had her reflect on little changes, like Hagrid being gone, because it added to the tension in the story and to her character.

Draco! I really like what you've done with him. He's obviously on the way to changing - he's exhausted, he's becoming disillusioned - but he's still /him/ if you know what I mean. He's still arrogant, he still looks down on others, he's still rude and a bit thoughtless, and clever. But yeah, I like that you've got him stuck in this sort of limbo, and that you made him just explain what the Iron Maiden's for and about it, even though he didn't need to. It's really great characterisation, and something I haven't seen all that often, so kudos to you ;)

The plot was great... I've never thought of the DA using Polyjuice Potion - but now that you used it in this, I'm sitting here thinking 'why didn't I think of that? Of course they would!'. It seems so obvious now, lol. But yeah, it's a great idea - and the mentions of Neville's Herbology skills and Michael and Terry hiding in the RoR with Neville, it just really brings home the scale of what they're doing. Added to the mention of the IM, it really makes it so clear, without needing much embellishment or horror or anything, that they're kids fighting a war in a school, when they shouldn't have to, you know? And that's powerful. You've done it so simply, it almost sort of slips in unnoticed. It's fabulous.

Ah, flow is perfect... slow pace at the start, then fast at the end... perfect... I swear I started reading faster when Padma started duelling Draco, lol. Seriously, though, there is nothing in this which I can find wrong... absolutely nothing.

This was amazing, yeah. Nothing really I can say about it otherwise... characterisation was flawless, pace was brilliant, plot was excellent... I'm running out of synonyms for 'great'! :) Really, really enjoyed it - feel free to re-request in the future! :D

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hi! This review was definitely worth waiting for, because now I have a massive grin on my face!

Minor characters are my favourite, too, particularly when writing, because there's so much to explore with them. Actually, I think out of all the stories on my author's page, Draco is the most major!

Eek, I'm so pleased you liked the characterisation of Padma! We know so little about her from the books and she's rarely written in FF, so I really enjoyed writing about her. You picked up on all the little details I wanted people to notice about her, and it's great to know she was an interesting character!

Draco was more of a challenge for me, because he's much more popular, but I'm glad you saw all the layers in him that I wanted to show. I've always seen him as quite a complex character, and I'm really happy it came through here.

The idea about the Polyjuice Potion kind of came out of the blue, but once I'd thought of it, I could definitely imagine the DA doing it! They could cause a lot of trouble that way, I imagine, and once the majority went into hiding it would have been necessary to have some sort of disguise to get around Hogwarts.

I'm seriously so flattered with this review! I genuinely can't tell you how much this means to me and how happy I am because of it - thank you so much! And I'll definitely re-request when you get a slot free!

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Erised Fluxweed

19th May 2013:
Hi there!

I am so impressed with this entry! This is a great example of using the prompts really well which you have definitely achieved. I wondered if anyone was going to take on the Iron Maiden and you managed to fit it in in the best way possible. It seems totally plausible the the Carrows and Filch are vile enough to want to use it on students. The very idea was shocking and really added to the story.

The setting you used created a really spooky and tense atmosphere - what isn't tense about being in the Forest, alone, at night? - and Padma was a great choice as the protagonist. I really liked her character development in that she'd been forced to become more brave and more like her sister in a way.

The final chase was really tense and exciting, they're one of my favourite things to read! You did a great job of keeping the pace fast and exciting and I love how she vanished the iron maiden. Ravenclaw quick thinking there :)

Great entry, good luck!

Author's Response: Hi Jenny!

Thank you so much! I've never tried anything like this before and I really wanted to stretch myself - none of the 'thing' prompts were inspiring me until I looked up what an Iron Maiden was, and then this storyline emerged. I figured that the Carrows are horrible enough to think of using something like that to torture the students, as if what they already did wasn't bad enough already!

I'm so pleased I got the atmosphere right, and Padma's character development was something I wanted to get across here. I've always thought all the DA members must have displayed a lot of courage in that last year to fight against the Carrows even when they knew the costs.

Thank you for a lovely review!

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by MissMdsty Fluxweed

17th May 2013:
Hello dear!

I love stories set in Hogwarts during 7th year. In a way I'm glad that JK chose not to take us there in the 7th book, so that for us it would remain a sanctuary, a place where nothing like what you described here could happen.

This was a chilling story. The idea of students being tortured in school is appalling on its own, but making older students build torturing devices is sick. I'll say that I don't have any idea what an Iron Maiden is and I have no intention of googling it! I'm happier not knowing.

The descriptions in this story were amazing! It gave me such a chilling and dark feeling, you captured the mood of the Forest and of Hogwarts perfectly! I liked two things especially, the idea that the students hidden away inside the school used Polyjuice to get around and it was a nice touch that you had her try and fail to disarm Draco!

All in all, a very lovely story! Good job my dear!

Ral

Author's Response: Hi Ral!

I really wanted to stretch myself with the Gryffie writing challenge, but was struggling with the 'thing' that I had to include. I had to look up what an Iron Maiden was to write this, and I think you're right in not wanting to know!

I'm so happy you liked the descriptions here! I put a lot of effort into creating a realistic setting that reflected the events at Hogwarts in the seventh year. I really like the idea of the DA still trying to cause trouble for the Carrows when they're hiding away in the school.

Thanks for the great review!

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by HeyMrsPotter Fluxweed

15th May 2013:
Hello! Here from the forums for your requested review :)
I thought the story was developed and flowed really well. You pulled me in straight away with the sense of mystery and gave away just the right amount of information as the story went on, like writing that Padma was there for a potion ingredient but not saying which ingredient or potion til a little later, it kept me really interested.

You've captured the determination and loyalty of the DA perfectly, the remaining members come across as completely dedicated to their cause, even the ones that are only briefly mentioned. Padma too, the fact that she's alone at midnight in the forest speaks volumes; fighting on the side of good is the most important thing to her.
Draco's characterisation is excellent too, he's arrogant on the surface but ultimately a coward and a child.

Your descriptions are beautiful, you not only describe what the forest looks like but also the feelings of fear and apprehension that it creates; which perfectly emphasise Padma's bravery.

I loved the scenes between Padma and Draco, particularly this line "Beams of light flashed around her head; blue, red, and purple, but no green, and for that Padma was thankful." I also loved the final line, it ended the story perfectly.

This is another of your stories that I absolutely loved. You have such a talent, particularly for writing minor characters and your descriptions are always flawless. Excellent job and good luck in the challenge!

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm so pleased that you thought the story flowed well and that you were interested. I was worried that people would think it was completely random and that it didn't make sense, so it's quite reassuring to know that the story was developed and you were interested in it!

We don't see much of Padma in the books, and I get the idea that most people think she's involved in the DA just because of Parvati, but I really think that, in the final year especially, she would have made that choice on her own. For the DA members, fighting for good becomes much more important than school, no matter the personal cost. I'm glad Draco seems comes across the way I wanted him to!

Descriptions are something I always work hard on, so it's brilliant to hear that you enjoyed them. I wanted the story to end with a plausible explanation for Padma ending up in the Room of Requirement, so I'm happy it seemed like a good ending.

Minor characters are my favourite to write, because there's so much you can do with them. Thanks for the lovely compliment on my writing!

Thank you so much for this brilliant and thoughtful (and reassuring!) review!

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by CassiePotter Fluxweed

12th May 2013:
Hello!
I really enjoyed this one-shot! I loved how you wrote Padma and Draco, and how they interacted with one another, especially under the given circumstances! I think you did a wonderful job capturing the grim and intense mood at Hogwarts, and I loved that you didn't shy away from the extent that the Carrows go to to punish students. It really is horrific, and I think you wrote that really well without overdoing anything. I also loved the end of this story, because we find out why Padma might end up in the Room of Requirement when she did. Overall I thought this was a really great story! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hey!

I'm so pleased to know that you enjoyed this one-shot! It was written for a writing challenge so I was quite unsure about it, especially about making a plausible story with the prompts I was given. I wanted to get across the grim mood in Hogwarts during the war, and there aren't many stories that focus on that period.

The punishment that the Carrows use is really horrible! The Iron Maiden was one of the prompts I had to use as my 'thing' (although I didn't actually know what it was before I wrote this story!) and that fit with the Carrows.

I'm glad you liked the ending! There's never been much explanation about how the DA members all ended up in the Room of Requirement, so I wanted to provide a believable explanation about how Padma might have got there.

Thanks for the review!

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Anne_noymous Fluxweed

12th May 2013:
I thought it was chilling, and very dramatic and very clever.
You have some serious talent mate, and now you've sorted your grammar have you thought about going professional?
Anne_noymous

Author's Response: So many reviews! You spoil me! :D

This story was completely different from OCM, although it was similar in style to another story I've written more recently. It was written for a challenge, too, and the prompts made it quite tricky to write!

Aw, I'd love to be a published author someday, but I know I've still got a long way to go before then! Thanks for the lovely reviews!

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by Ayume Matsumoto Fluxweed

12th May 2013:
This story is great! ^-^ I really love your characterisation of Malfoy, and you didn't make Padma too advanced for her level of magic which made it more believable. The story was a great insight into moments which may have happened at Hogwarts while the books focused on the trio's travels.

I really enjoyed reading it and it was the perfect length too (quite often I get a bit bored if the word length is too much and there isn't much action in it.) This, on the other hand was very much to the point and had a good balance of description and action.

Author's Response: I was so worried about this story because I thought it would seem very unrealistic (the challenge prompts were kind of difficult) so it's very reassuring to hear that you enjoyed it!

I wanted this story to seem like a plausible explanation of some of the things that happened at Hogwarts in the seventh year, and I'm pleased you think it was the right length and had a good balance of description and action.

Thanks so much for leaving the first review on this story!

Sian :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login