Reading Reviews for After the War
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TheGirlOnFire Remus Lupin

15th March 2014:
Hello, this is for the blackout bingo:) 10/20

I've never actually read anything that told the story of what happened after Remus died. I've never really thought to but this was great. This was very unique to me. (maybe there are stories like this but this is the first I've read).I liked the reunion between James and Remus. Although I felt like there should have been more emotion there, they haven't seen eachother in over seventeen years, it seems to me that they would have felt more. (That's just my opinion). It was a great idea to have this be the build up to the scene in which Harry sees his deathad loved ones. I though that that was very clever. Keep writing such great stories.


TheGirlOnFirexx

 Report Review

Review #2, by Akussa George Weasley

6th March 2014:
Last review of the battle on this story and that's only because there are no more chapters to review because I really had an amazing time reading those four chapters.

And with this last chapter, you have made the tears flow :(

Of course, when I read George's name, I already felt my heart consrict but I was not prepared for how you presented it. The pain and building emotions were palpable and I could feel everything thourhg the descriptions you made.

George has got to be one of hose that lost the most because of that battle. He lost a part of himself and not many people can understand that. No one can ever fill the hole that Fred's absence left but he's a strong man and that is probably the thing I mostly loved about this chapter.

You didn't only show the young man overcome with sadness. Yes, he's going through something horribly hard but I like that you present him as a man that wants to move on. Showing that he won't let that define himself and will try to make a life for himself, no matter how hard it will be, he won't just lament on his loss.

That was such a nice chapter, I really loved it as well. Great read that flowed so nicely. This story was a great find for me tonight!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Akussa Molly Weasley

6th March 2014:
Hello again!

Ok at first, I have to admit that when I saw Molly's name, I was worried that you were going to write her afterlife as well. I now understand that it's a new beginning for her, one that, although marked by deaths and pains, is finally free of war for real. A life where she isn't supposed to worry for the life of her children on a daily basis.

I just love the idea of Molly doing her rounds; it's such a motherly thing to do. I only have one child and everynight before going to bed, I need to go and watch her sleep for a moment, making sure she's as confortable and peaceful as can be. My boyfriend used to laugh at me but now, he asks me when I come to bed how our daughter is doing. I guess mothers need that reassurance and fathers need to accept it and love us for it!!

I loved the descriptions and the small picture you painted of the Weasleys (and Harry and Hermione) through the eyes of Molly. I could feel the love and it was just spot on, for all of them.

Another wonderful chapter, I highly enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Akussa Vincent Crabbe, Jr

6th March 2014:
Wow, that was.. heavy. I feel the pain and horrors this boy went through, trying to get his father's approval although he was less than capable.

I really like that you went with this character; he isn't easy to work with. A simple boy really, one that wasn't really constructed as a human being. He was taught to follow and not think for himself and that is hard to write (for me at least). I always feel like I was to shake him and yell at him to grow up and become his own man and not just a sheep!

I think you really did him justice in the sense that no matter how badly his afterlife might turn out to be for him, he will rest and just accept that he, somewhat, deserves what is coming for him. I feel like you mean for him to understand that he wasn't a good human being.

The fact that he was alone was very powerful as well. Simply descriptive and introspective worked well for this character and is representative of his life. You followed your father's views, Voldemorts' Malfoy's. But you never made real connections.

Great chapter.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Akussa Remus Lupin

6th March 2014:
Hi! I'm here for the battle and although I knew what I was getting into, I was not prepared for the emotions.

I just loved Remus so much and I still haven't gotten over his death to this day. That being said, I think you did a wonderful job making this as "light" as possible; making the transition between death and accepting the he passed over semi-smoothly.

Meeting with James was just a great touch. And how mature he seemed to be, after all these years and how he has come to terms with his own ending. I especially like to think that he was around and never left his friends and his son's sides.

I really like your vision of the afterlife, how it works and how you get to see all those people you had a connection with. Does that mean that they will get to see Peter at some point? Or is he in another "plane" considering the pain he caused them?

All in all that was really beautiful. It was emotional, yes, but not overly and the original setting causes just enough interest to not allow ourself to just curl in a ball and cry all night :P

Great Job!

Review 5/15

 Report Review

Review #6, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Molly Weasley

2nd March 2014:
Hey again!

Review battle review!

This chapter was another mix of heartbreak and sadness. Your characterisation of Molly is perfect. You captured her fierce motherly love and caring nature and also got the guilt in there which I think is perfectly placed. Despite how evil Bella is, Molly is too good a person not to feel some guilt over it.

When she's thinking about each of her children in turn I thought you again captured the emotion so well. I will say though that Ron's was my favourite. Reading how much Molly cares about him and how she felt when he was away was completely understandable and relatable. My heart just broke for her...

Fred... I hardly have words to cover this. His death was by far the hardest for me to swallow and seeing both Molly and George's reaction to his death was devastating. I can't imagine what it's like to loose a sibling but to lose a twin, gosh. You did a very good job of dealing with such a sensitive subject so kudos to you!

The ending was that little bit of hope and brightness in a dark time so I'm glad you included it. Arthur and Molly completely understanding each other and seeing them together gives us hope that they have each other to get through this.

Amazing chapter, you got the characterisation spot on for this one! Well done!

Lauren :)

Review 5 of 10!

 Report Review

Review #7, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Vincent Crabbe, Jr

2nd March 2014:
Hi again!

Review battle review!

This was so much darker than the previous chapter, and rightly so with who it was!

I didn't feel comfortable reading this chapter at all so well done to your amazing writing! All the way through you kept reminding us of the cold and then when the buzzing kicked in too? That sounded so horrible! The whole thing though is so devoid of feeling, it was really chilling!

I liked the bit of Crabbe's character you showed, where he was pushing himself to be a death eater because of his fathers failure and trying to be in his fathers good graces. It was interesting to read!

The ending where he gets stuck with the faces of different people in his life is horrible, but as you said kind of deserved from the life he lead. I loved the stark difference you created from the first chapter... excellently done!

Again, I really enjoyed this chapter! Looking forward to the next one!

Lauren :)

Review 4 of 10

 Report Review

Review #8, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Remus Lupin

2nd March 2014:
Hi there!

Here for the review battle!

So I knew from the summary I would find this heartbreaking and it is. Oh Remus and Tonks... I really didn't want them to die! And leaving Teddy an orphan too... It was so nice how you gave them the after life I guess? The way they're able to see everyone, even though they can't communicate. It does make it perfect for setting up the forest moment with Harry too.

I'm glad James met Remus, it was perfect. I'm also glad you didn't include Lily straight away... it was nice for the two friends to make up although I might have expected Sirius to be there, but I didn't miss him too much.

Speaking of Sirius I thought it was so lovely that James went and sat with him so much in Azkaban... perfect characteristion there.

I think my favourite part of this chapter though was the ending... When James simply says Harry needs them and we know they're going to appear for him. It filled me with so many feels anyway!

I really enjoyed this chapter though! Moving on to the next!

Lauren :)

Review 3 of 10

 Report Review

Review #9, by AlexFan George Weasley

17th January 2014:
That was beautiful. I have nothing to say except that was beautiful.

The emotion in this was so raw and powerful and I could actually feel everything that George was feeling. I have never seen someone capture the emotions of what all Harry Potter fans probably felt when Fred died. I'm not much of a crier but I did tear up and I was sniffling because this was so sad. You showed me how George would never be able to reproduce another Patronus once his brother died.

I can't imagine what George must be going through losing his twin, it must be like losing half of himself.

The description in this was amazing (which goes without saying since you actually made me tear up) and I could just picture everything in my head. The scenery and what everyone's expressions must've been like when they spoke to him. Harry would definitely be the one person that would understand what George was going through, I can understand how he would provide the most comfort to George.

The little things that happened around the Burrow like Fleur's dresses gaining those spots and Aunt Muriel among other things, it put a smile on my face. It seems like Fred really was showing George that he was still around even if his body wasn't. It was almost like Fred was trying to cheer George up.

The ending when George went to go and talk to Fred's grave really got me though. That was my favourite part, it just spoke to me more than the rest of the story. Personally, to me it showed me exactly how much George cared about his twin brother and how far he has to go to stop grieving Fred (or if he would ever stop grieving Fred).

This was just beautiful and I absolutely adored it. Good luck in the challenge and the results shall be posted soon!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Bronykatnisshermionie Molly Weasley

11th January 2014:
this is the best chapter yet!! it made me cry, and not many fanfics do that.
it is really well written, and it has an amazing story line. i always wondered how the weasleys coped with the aftermath of the war, and this is a great portrayal.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Bronykatnisshermionie Remus Lupin

11th January 2014:
this is really good!! i love the idea!! keep writing!!

 Report Review

Review #12, by FriendofMolly George Weasley

10th January 2014:
HollyStone,
There are so many different ways that the authors show George grieving for Fred. I like the George you have chosen. What I like even more that Freddie has found a way to communicate with George. This has so many possibilities. I'm sure as he goes on, Freddie's appearances will be less often. He'll still be around. And George will continue their dream.
Bravo!
FoM
PS Aunt Muriel is a Prewett, not a Weasley. On the other hand that she was chosen by Fred to demonstrate his presence was perfect. We all know how often she threatened to leave each of the Weasley children out of her will. Let's not forget how snide and superior she tried to be. Paybacks are the best revenge!
PSS. Please don't make us wait so long for the next.

 Report Review

Review #13, by academica Vincent Crabbe, Jr

15th September 2013:
Hey, I'm here from Review Tag! I hope you don't mind that I skipped to chapter two; I figured these could be read separately and I was really curious about how your take on Crabbe might play out.

Anyway, your version of Crabbe's afterlife is interesting. I liked how he entertained the thought of burning down Hogwarts and being single-handedly responsible for Harry's demise. I find a sort of poetic justice in him being tormented by an insect; the way Crabbe and Goyle trailed after Malfoy all the time reminds me of a fly annoyingly chasing after a person. Your description of the cold and the insect is slightly reminiscent of themes from Dante's depiction of the Inferno, too.

I did feel like the flow was slightly rough here, though, perhaps because of the tense you used. That may be something you want to check into with requested reviews or a beta. A beta could also help smooth over the couple typos I found--though there aren't many and they don't really detract from the piece all that much.

Good work, especially with a difficult character!

-Amanda

Author's Response: I don't mind at all you skipping to Crabbe. This one was pretty difficult for me, since I have never really been able to see much from his point of view and definitely cannot relate to his character.

I def agree about the flow and need to take some time out to revise and review it...Maybe after this NaNo stuff calms down! :)

Thanks for the great review as always! :)
Laura


 Report Review

Review #14, by 800 words of heaven Remus Lupin

8th July 2013:
REVIEW TAG!

I really like the concept of death and what happens to you after you die you've set up here! I think it's a very interesting mythos, and I look forward to seeing you explore it more in further chapters. Obviously, not all your characters will be dead, but I'm interested to see how you'll show these two "planes" interacting with each other!

An interesting first chapter, and I'm excited to see where this'll go. It's a very intriguing concept overall!

Author's Response: Thank you!! I was really worried about how people were going to take that so I really appreciated the feedback. It is something I have pondered a lot and I am actually considering a "spin off" novel based along this concept. But then again who knows because I always seem to have a million different ideas swimming around my brain! LOL!

 Report Review

Review #15, by AlexFan Remus Lupin

6th July 2013:
This is brilliant! You're brilliant! Everything is brilliant! Sorry, it's just that I've been writing and editing all day, I'm just happy that I've finally gotten to read something.

I think this is going to be my favourite chapter of this entire thing. I loved this! It was sad that Remus died but I loved the way that you wrote this! I love James even make now which is hard to believe because I loved him so much before.

I love how you explained everything in this and I really liked the idea of showing what happened after the person died. I never really thought about that so I really loved how there was some insight to "the afterlife."

I think it was the end that killed me though. They have to be somewhere because Harry is confronting Voldemort and they need to support him! Just thinking about that scene where Harry talks to everyone he loves makes me tear up!

One thing though, wouldn't Nymphadora (Dora) be Bellatrix's niece since her mother was Bellatrix's sister?

Author's Response: Ahhh!! Good call on that one! It is so hard to keep all of these family members straight! LOL! It will be fixed!
Thanks for the awesome review!!


 Report Review

Review #16, by adluvshp Remus Lupin

9th June 2013:
Hey! Here for slytherin review tag! (I just revived the thread after forever).

Ooh I like the concept of this story, and this first chapter is brilliant. I like your idea of post-death, it is quite interesting. You showed Remus' pain and worries very well. I enjoyed reading his interaction with James as well. There were no grammar errors and such so this flowed smoothly. All in all, made for a refreshing read and I liked it.

Good job!
9/10
Cheers
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Awww thanks so much! I really liked this story since allowed me to pretend that Lupin wasn't really dead! (I like to live in a constant state of denial. LOL) I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by FriendofMolly Molly Weasley

25th May 2013:
HollyStone,
I am in awe! You have written the true Molly. Her depth of love, her feelings of guilt and her intense pride of her family. Only a truly good person would have the guilt of ending Bella. Only a loving mother would continue to worry about her adult children to the extent she does. Molly is the center of the Weasleys. No matter how much Ron and Ginny grumble, she is deeply loved and respected by all. I thank you for what you have written about my favorite adult character in the HP universe.
Excellent!
FoM
PS I can't imagine who is next. I am excited though.

Author's Response: Yea! Molly was surprisingly fun to write. (Although I had to make sure I was in a particularly good mood. LOL!) I just see her so full of love that she is near to bursting with it all. (If that makes sense.)

This review just made me so happies and I am glad you liked it so much!! :) Thanks for reading & reviewing. I will hopefully be adding more to this soon!


 Report Review

Review #18, by FriendofMolly Vincent Crabbe, Jr

17th May 2013:
HollyStone,
Wow! Going in the other direction and the development of that direction was Awesome. For so many years Vincent Jr. was a follower and tagalong to Draco. It didn't take long for him to condemn his soul. It looks like the key for him would be the same Harry offered Riddle, remorse. Since he not only didn't repent, he dwelled on how he screwed up his chance at impressing Tommy, and speculated on perhaps his last action would destroy Hogwarts. I always thought there was something sad about how Crabbe Jr. followed the path he did. In your view he was just waiting to go to the next step. Excellent!
FoM
PS Write more soon.

Author's Response: Yea! I'm glad you liked this one. This was SUPER hard for me to write and I was pretty worried that no one would understand it. I just kinda wanted to show him slipping slowly into madness. LOL! Hope you keep reading!! Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #19, by FriendofMolly Remus Lupin

17th May 2013:
HollyStone,
I passed this story a couple of times. Today I stopped to take a look. Outstanding, different, interesting, great flow, and good dialogue. If there's anything I didn't like was that it was too short. I would have loved to see the walk with Harry from Remus and James's perspective. Also when Remus finally meets up with Tonks. I loved your view of at least part of the afterlife. I believe there can be both being on the periphery of life, and being at a destination that is Heaven. So now I will save this one and go on to the next.
FoM

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you did stop and read!! This short story was super fun to write even if it was super sad for me. :) But...It kinda helped me deal with Lupin's death. I dunno...Made it less tragic for me. (Plus gave me a super awesome idea for a spin-off novel!!) Thanks again for the read & review!!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login