Reading Reviews for Knowing
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by maskedmuggle true or not

12th July 2014:
Hey!

This is so incredibly heartbreaking :( I can't even deal with all the feels right now. Poor, poor Remus. His perspective on the world is truly unique and you portrayed Remus as such a selfless character here, and that was so, so fitting. I really loved how you wrote about Remus' love for Lily - you did it in a way that seemed so natural, and felt very realistic and believable. I loved how Remus could see Lily gradually drifting closer to James and just coping with it, despite the feelings in his own heart. The ending was just so heartbreaking - I tried to think of another adjective to use, but heartbreaking is really the only one that fits what I want to say. To imagine Remus admitting "she will never be his"... that was just so sad. Even more so given just how beautiful a person Remus is that his most perfect moment of his life is dancing with Lily, despite knowing that she is with James. You wrote this so wonderfully and conveyed Remus' perspective perfectly.

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #2, by teh tarik true or not

12th July 2014:
Hello again!

So I'm sobbing a little at the perfection that is this. I love Remus/Lily, but it's ALWAYS unrequited and angsty, and it's always poor Remus who gets the heartbreak because stupid Jily (this is my unpopular opinion :P ). You have this really, really lovely way with words, of conveying characters with a startling simplicity and yet rawness that hurts. Your characters are vulnerable without being melodramatic, and I love how you write them, honestly. Despite this being such a short piece, you've really captured the complexity of the Marauder interactions, between Remus and his mates, and between Remus and Lily, and how Lily fits into their group.

I think the wedding scene just may have been the most painful to read. Poor Remus! And that dance, being is only way of letting go and getting on with his life. Your last sentences were amazing.

The most perfect moment in his life? *cries*

It should last forever. :P

Beautiful writing as always!

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #3, by UnluckyStar57 true or not

12th July 2014:
Oooh, ouch. Remus/Lily/James. :/

It is wonderful that his friends accepted him, but I think that, in some ways, it meant more to him that Lily accepted him. Unrequited love really hurts, and Remus fell prey to the sting of heartache. And then he had to go to Lily's wedding to James, and just... ouch.

It is interesting to me that Remus would break up his friendship with James if Lily wanted to be his. I feel like Remus' friends are a huge part of his life, and why would he want to lose that? But love makes fools of us all...

Really brilliant work on this! It was so sad and lovelorn. :)

House Up 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

 Report Review

Review #4, by Pretense Of Perfection true or not

10th July 2014:
i'm a hardcore James/Lily advocate, and have never really liked Lily with anyone else, but wow! You made the Remus/Lily ship totally believable. You did an amazing job showing his love for her, and how it progressed over the years, and in such a very short one-shot, i'm simply amazed. The only CC I can offer is to maybe have a beta look over it quickly, as I did notice one or two spelling/grammar errors, but it's nothing that detracts from the overall quality of the writing. The emotions felt to real, they almost jumped out at me from the page. When Lily tells him she knows his love for her is so apparent, it almost makes me wonder how she stayed oblivious to it. You conveyed how strong his feelings were when he says that he would ruin his friendship with James if she ever loved him back. I think the ending was perfect, and the bittersweet tone of the story was covneyed beautifully. I can totally see him wishing she was walking down the aisle toward him instead of James, and at the end, when he dances with her, as a way of trying to let go of his feelings for her and say goodbye, my heart literally fluttered.

--house cup 2014 review--
gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #5, by Veritaserum27 true or not

9th July 2014:
Wow! Great job with this. It was really moving and unexpected. I loved how you talk about the absolutes that children and teenagers have and how it makes life easier to live in absolutes. But I never expected it to go in the direction that you took it. You described Lily and James's love for each other so beautifully and Remus's unrequited love so painfully. Like most things in his life, Remus must suffer. The fact that Lily knew about it made it so much sadder. It broke my heart when he pretended that she was walking toward him. Arrgh - so much with the feels! Very impressive writing and in just five hundred words. Kudos!

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #6, by LadyL8 true or not

9th July 2014:
Hello There.

I loved your banner and summary. They instantly made me want to read this story, and I'm so glad I did. It was heartbreaking, but so well-written.

I've always loved the marauders in their youth, probably because I imagine them being the kind of group that everyone would want to be a part of, the popular group. And while my favourite character will always be Sirius, I've had a soft spot for Remus since I read Prisoner of Azkaban. I think he's definitely had a hard time growing up, having to hide a part of himself from everyone, always fearing they'll find out and hate him. So I imagine him being happy when his friends did find out, but didn't care about it. But I also believe - like in this story- that he'd be even happier when Lily didn't hate him for it, because it's one thing to have your friends accept you but another to have someone you never talk to say they don't care about it. So I think your portrayal of Remus in this story, is exactly like I imagine him being when he was younger.

And I really felt sorry for him, for loving someone he could never have, and not being able to say anything about those feelings because it would mean losing his best friend. So my heart really ached for him, and I just wanted to go into your story and give him a warm hug.

Anyway. As you've probably guessed by now, I really liked it. You're a good writer!

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #7, by Lady Asphodel true or not

29th January 2014:
Hello! Alishya here! Tagging you from the review thread!


First Paragraph: First, I must say, I love Remus! He such a great character. (Despite fictional) I wish he could see the goodness in himself too. :D

It's so sad how he see himself as someone to be feared or hated. And we know the wizarding society has basically shunned werewolves and whatnot - but... come on! Great person!

I loved how you wrote about Lily in Remus' eyes. It brings a more defining... I don't know... warm feeling to this story. :)

The ending was very sweet and sad. I am a James/ Lily shipper - but doesn't mean I don't want to see my Remus happy. I quite believe too that he loved her - especially how he praised her to Harry. There was definite fondness and admiration (particularly in the actor's voice.) So that and your fic here really painted a picture for me. ^_^

This was marvelously written! Keep it the great writing my dear! :D



- Asphodel

Author's Response: Thank you Alishya! This review totally made me smile :)

I LOVE Remus. And even though I, too, ship L/J to the end, I can't help but think Remus loved her too. After all, besides his three friends, Lily was likely the first person his age to show real acceptance for what he was.

Thank you for such a lovely review! I'm glad you like it :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by BluebirdBrigade true or not

15th July 2013:
Oh poor Remus, I really felt for him and the way he felt it was almost his duty to the code of friendship not to indulge or show that he cared for Lily in a more than firends way. He seems so unbelievably sad and I couldn't help but really sympathise with him and his unrequited love.

The part where he imagines her walking towards him down the aisle in white rather than James was a really sad moment for me as we see that he can never have her now. She is James's forever and yeah, I just thought it was very haunting and some of the sentences seemed very poetic. Great story and awesome writing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This is such a great review ♥
I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by caomoyl true or not

15th July 2013:
Hello!

It has never occurred to me how Remus must have felt to be accepted by people when he lived in a world of people who hated those like him. Just a small 'we don't care' must have meant so much to him. It meant that they weren't scared of him, that they accepted him for who he was, and, possibly, would stand by him no matter what. That is something that he probably didn't get often.

I like how you showed Remus' love for Lily. It wasn't really jealousy of James or even hatred. He was happy for them and loved her in his own way, happy that she cared for him and accepted him rather than have a romantic type of love, but he still wished there could be more but just didn't show it.

Loved this! Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you liked it :) I really tried hard to communicate how Remus might have felt toward the woman he described as "uncommonly kind" so I'm glad it worked!
Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Lisa true or not

9th May 2013:
Oh that was really sad and really good! Great job at making every word count!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login