Reading Reviews for The Perks of Being a Sociopath
  
74 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ladyrae The Match

28th June 2014:
Another great one. I loved the development of Olivia and Remus' relationship, and that she's finally seeing the mischievous side to him. As soon as he was about to ask her out, however, I knew the game would end in a kiss. Your dramatic timing is both perfect and infuriating!

The part where Remus was tutoring Olivia and it went back and forth between her thoughts and her answers was brilliantly written. I loved reading about him trying to help her and her realizing how hopeless she truly felt. I thought I'd miss the lack of Sirius, and I did a bit, but this was too epic.

I can't wait for the next chapter. Update quickly if possible!!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by oldnumberseven  The Match

23rd June 2014:
Haven't been on HPFF in awhile, but I looked at my favorite stories list today and OMG YOU UPDATED! SO EXCITED, CAN'T CONTAIN MYSELF!!

:D

First of all, I love the different ways each character deals with all of their stress - the first paragraph is awesome! And specifically, I love the way Olivia deals with her issues by doing little things like listing prime numbers in her head. It makes me love her even more, even though she really isn't doing that much plot wise.

But when she DOES do something plot wise ... oh man, the feels. Btw, could you make Remus any cuter? I swear, I was fangirling so hard during their lesson. The way he talks to her about emotions ... well it struck a chord with me, in a good way :) And I guess the ending with Evan was cute, but I'm such a Remus/Olivia shipper that nothing will be better than the moment they finally get together ;) Which, by the way, better happen soon because the image of heartbroken Remus is killing me right now.

Thanks for the update girl, hope all is well!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Gladis Gudgeon The Match

23rd June 2014:
Yay, a new chapter! Finally! I'm kind of mad at Olivia for being such an idiot about Remus, but not so much that I'll stop reading. I have a idiot tolerance level, but Olivia's other areas of awesomeness stop her from surpassing it. I rarely read characters I like so much. Please don't wait months before posting again.
Gladis Gudgeon

 Report Review

Review #4, by Gladis Gudgeon Solving Puzzles

10th June 2014:
PitchBlue
I love this story. The character Olivia is so interesting and original. I have always noticed that girl characters almost always fit into one of three sets: stupidly brave and fiery. Bookish and nerdy. And bimbo. Olivia is not like those characters. She is really unique and three dimensional. She isn't evil, but she isn't mushy either. I love it! I try to put that in my characters, but you've done an amazing job with it. (The plot and stuff are good too.)Please post another chapter soon!I check every week. 10/10
Gladis Gudgeon
P.S. I read this story a few months ago, but now that I'm publishing my own stuff I realize how important reviews are.

 Report Review

Review #5, by ladyrae Solving Puzzles

31st March 2014:
Another brilliant chapter. I'm really enjoying the different relationships Olivia is developing. Hot angry makeouts and serious book conversations and screaming about privacy. All incredibly fun. Can't wait until the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #6, by oldnumberseven  Solving Puzzles

28th March 2014:
Omg please please let no one review before me ... because then I would be review #69 and that would make my day. Oh and btw, since you posted that xx track today, I listened to them while I read this chapter and it was phenomenal! Haha :D

Arg, your Remus is so damn sexy. Seriously, he's amazing and that scene with him leaning against the wall before class was amazing - "Hey", "Hey yourself", omg such an awesome moment. And you just HAD to make him read Kundera, didn't you? Gah, he's so perfect and silently emotional and just Remus-y :P And Sirius - explosive in this chapter, but it fits. I love how you write the Marauders in line with canon, but also in your own personal way. It's great.

Olivia's relationship with Evan is also pretty intriguing and I'm waiting for him to realize what Olivia's real feelings towards him are. But for now, I'll just fangirl super hard when they have tense, sexual moments in the mud XD

Can't wait for the next chapter, whenever it comes out!

 Report Review

Review #7, by mrsdeanthomas421 Everyone has their limits

13th March 2014:
I just found this and read the entire thing in one sitting- it's fantastic! Olivia is not your stereotypical female protagonist and I am loving the development of Remus. Please keep updating! Great job

Author's Response: Hey there, thanks so much! You're way too kind haha. The next chapter is still with my beta reader, but I should get it back any day now so you won't have to wait long :) Thanks again for you wonderful review and I hope you'll keep enjoying the story!

 Report Review

Review #8, by sarahe Everyone has their limits

7th February 2014:
Thanks for another great chapter! I am so excited to see what more becomes of Olivia and Katie and all your characters (and the canon ones too but I guess I already know what happens to those...) I loved the part right at the end with Remus and Olivia. I agree with another reviewer that Olivia is being a little dense with the whole Remus situation but I see why it has to be that way. You portray these characters so realistically and really make the story your own! Keep up the good work; I can't wait for the next chapter!!! And more Remus, please! And Sirius! :)

Author's Response: Hi there! I hope you'll enjoy the story as I write it though I'm sure there'll be some moments you'll want to kill me haha :P Since a few people have commented on Olivia being dense, I'll keep it in mind when I'm writing the next chapters - that's what reviews are for, after all! I'll probably tone it down a bit. Oh gosh that's one of the best compliments I've ever received, I'm constantly worrying that my characters aren't written realistically enough! Hmm yes I'll incorporate a lot of Remus in the next chapters, Sirius will have his part too. Thanks for another wonderful review, I really appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Viana Everyone has their limits

7th February 2014:
Thank you for your story :) Ive already read a few Remus/OC stories and yours is one of the bests. It is not so much melodramatic and you put it in a first war background nicely. It feels like it is actually a part of your story, not just necessary background. Im looking forward next chapter ;)

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you for the amazing compliment! Well I think a war like that would have a big impact on everybody's life (and it creates some interesting plot opportunities haha). I'm about halfway done with next chapter so it shouldn't take as long as the previous ones :) Thanks for the review, love!

 Report Review

Review #10, by ladyrae Everyone has their limits

3rd February 2014:
Love the new chapter. Sorry exams were so tough, and I hope things are going better now (both for your sanity and so I get a new chapter quickly).

Loving Olivia's reactions to the attack. And Remus's new protectiveness. And how Evan flipped out over everything. Absolute awesome. I am wondering why Olivia's being so dense about Evan and Remus's motives for their worry and interest, but I'll write it off as suffering minor PTSD and having much more important things on her mind. Wonder what will happen if/when Evan finds out she was in St. Mungo's for a day for it, too.

Can't wait to see Sirius again and figure out what happened there. Stay sane and keep writing!

Author's Response: Well it wasn't too bad, I tend to be dramatic about those things :P I've already started writing the next chapter and I've got tons of time now, so you won't have to wait long!

Thank you, I'm glad you liked it! Olivia is being so dense because she just doesn't understand those sort of things because it doesn't make sense to her - it's not logical and it doesn't follow rules. "Too many variables," is what she'd say haha. It may be a bit extreme, but I do know a couple of people like that. They all have brilliant minds but they are a mess with people.

Haha well maybe some more angry snogging? Sirius will make an appearance next chapter, but if you know his history from the books you'll probably figure out what happened.

Thanks for a wonderful review, I really appreciate it love!


 Report Review

Review #11, by oldnumberseven  Everyone has their limits

3rd February 2014:
Hi, hello, excuse me, Laura's biggest fangirl coming thru - make way!

:D

First of all, OMGTHATCHAPTERIMAGE. dude, it's freaking magical. Major props. Now onto the story ... OMGTHISCHAPTER. Seriously, so many good parts, don't know where to begin.

Well, I suppose I'll start with Olivia, since she is at the center of this little fic XD Man, every time you post a new chapter, I feel myself loving her more and more. She's rational, in the sense that she's very logical and calculating, but more importantly, she's stubborn. So if anyone asks her about her feelings, she almost has this Spock-like mentality of "Does not compute, I have no feelings".

But I've also been rewatching Breaking Bad lately and Olivia kind of reminds me of Walter, in an odd way. Dunno if you watch it, but the main character represses his feelings and then does violent criminal acts to blow off some steam. Now, Olivia is certainly not a drug lord kingpin, but she does use aggressive snogging with Evan as her outlet ... which is why I fangirled the hardest when I read "He was still angry. She was too." Evan's mad that Olivia doesn't have feelings for her and Olivia's mad that people keep asking her to open up about the Oxford Street murders ... BOOM! Angry, sexy make out XD

And then we have the Marauders. Omg, James is the best. The scene on the train? Hilarious. I laughed out loud several times. But Remus ... oh Remus, you totally care about Olivia now, don't you? Too bad she's too angry/stubborn to see it, even if everyone else does! I'm looking forward to the "lessons" already XD

Beautiful work as always,

Carly

Author's Response: HI BIGGEST FANGIRL!! (we should get badges)

Haha I made a whole lot of failed chapter images for that one. I'm quite happy with this one though, thanks :)

Olivia was reaaally stubborn in this chapter, it actually annoyed me a bit but that can be good because characters are supposed to have flaws, right? Again, you describe her perfectly :D (omg the Spock thing made me laugh out loud)

I don't watch Breaking Bad, but what you're saying is spot on. That agressive snogging was sooo fun to write, I always wanted to write that xD By the way, the 'Oxford Street Murders' has a really nice ring to it, mind if I use it in future chapters? It sounds so cool! :D

Eeeeh that means so much to me! Sometimes I'm afraid this story is a bit too much angst and not enough humour, so I try to incorporate it wherever I can. But yeah, Remus is totally smitten, poor bloke. I can't wait to start writing head-over-heels-in-love Remus!

Thanks for another amazing review Carly, I value your opinion so much and you have no idea how much you influenced my writing and this story. Thanks love!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Pen and Pixels Everyone has their limits

2nd February 2014:
Just found your story yesterday, it's excellent! So glad you're not just brushing over the war. Keep up the good work, please! :]

Author's Response: Hi there! Yeah, I figured the war was a pretty big thing back then so I really wanted to incorporate it in the story. Thanks for the nice comment!

 Report Review

Review #13, by ladyrae Oxford Street

12th December 2013:
Incredible. I'm loving this story. Quicker updates please!

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much! Yeah, I know the latest chapters have been quite late, sorry! I blame university :P But I will try to get the next chapter up sooner. Thank you for reviewing, I really appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Ventari SylverFox Oxford Street

12th December 2013:
Very well written and unexpected, as one can come to expect from you! Amazingly written chapter, seasoned with a dash of fluff, perfectly ripened drama, and spiced with a measured touch of teenage angst.
I sit in anxious anticipation for more!
=0)

Author's Response: Gosh, thank you so much for your amazing review! It's so kind of you, really :) The next chapter is progressing slowly, but it'll still take a while because finals are coming up :/ But reviews do inspire me to write more, so yay!

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review, I really appreciate it :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by oldnumberseven  Oxford Street

8th December 2013:
Omg, new update YES, YES, Y-E-S!

The flow of this chapter is amazing. It's like 7,000+ words but it doesn't feel like it, if you know what I mean. Each scene blends into the next one, so props to you!

I love Olivia's relationships with Liz and Katie and reading the three of them together was hilarious. I seriously want to get to know Liz in real life, she's a spitfire XD Katie's funny in her own way too and I love that she told Olivia that not everything goes according to plan.

And then we have James, silly James. I laughed pretty hard when I read him trying to be a hero. BUT THEN THERE'S REMUS, OMG. I've been waiting for Olivia to show some sort of emotion towards him, which is why I was fangirling so hard during the attack. Horrible thing for me to do, considering people were being murdered left and right, but seriously, I was.

Wonderful chapter, as always. Hope all is well and can't wait for the next one :D

Author's Response: Gosh it's so long, I wrote it over the periode of a month so I was afraid it wouldn't be cohesive :)

Omg sometimes I get so frustrated with writing Liz (in a good way) bc she's so funny and I'm really not and then I'm like I WRITE HER FOR CHRIST'S SAKE I should be that funny. But yeah I'm not. And Olivia really needed someone to point that out to her :P She's totally a control freak.

That James part was actually hard to write because I could imagine it all before me and in a movie it would be hilarious, but it's difficult to put it in writing, if that makes sense? Anyway that Remus part seriously came out of nowhere! But I thought it fit and after 15 chapters I have to give them some action, right? :P

Man I have 2 papers and one very big Hindi project due this week, I'm on the verge of tears but I'm pulling through xD What's life without those crazy parts, eh? The next chapter might also take a month because after this week I'll have to start revising for my finals in January. That's right, we don't get a Christmas vacation in Belgium :(

Thanks for the review Carly you're the best :D :D :D


 Report Review

Review #16, by Ventari Reality Check

24th November 2013:
Lovely. Fully thought out concept with well written execution. Cannot wait to see there this goes!

Author's Response: Thank you! I've got big plans for the story :) The next chapter is nearly done so it should be up soon. Thanks for the review, dear!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Fay Reality Check

26th October 2013:
I feel like such a bad review-er, I haven't managed to read your story in a while because life has been hectic, but I now have an account! (I was PurebloodManiac). So I have just caught up on all the chapters I've missed and OH-MY-GOD! I don't even know where to start, I love your story so much - you've added the perfect amount of information to keep the reader interested - and yet it hasn't been overly dramatised to seem cliche and ridiculous, just the perfect combination. I'm also shipping Olivia and Remus like crazy, but I love how you haven't written all that typical sappy nonsense. It's perfect!

And KATY. I am completely infatuated with Katy's character, she is so adorable and shy, and she doesn't pry too much. I also find it amazing how much Olivia seems to care for Katy and vice versa. Despite how much Olivia cares, she still doesn't bash her mother's opinion - which I find admirable.
I would also like to commend your chapter image, it's superb and you have amazing graphical skills (in reference to computer editing, not graph-construction). I like the swearing, I think it's amazing how Liz isn't afraid to express her culture, and yet she doesn't show-off about it. I find that when your family comes from a different culture to the one you live in, a lot of people either feel embarrassed and/or ashamed about it, or have so much pride regarding where they come from that they show off a whole lot. Liz is the perfect middle-ground, and I love her for that. (Still, I think if any more Spanish swearing was incorporated it'd be a bit hard to keep up)!

I still like how your story isn't like those that have a swear word in every sentence - it can come off as rude and immature, but yours has a decent amount (they are teenagers after all)!
Any-who I feel like I have been rambling too much, so I shall end this review on the note that you, my friend, are a fabulous author, and I really look forward to your next update. :)

Author's Response: Don't say that, you're a wonderful reviewer! I know how life can be hectic, uni life is totally crazy right now! I barely have time to write.

Thanks so much! I love it that you love Katie (and ship Remus/Olivia) and that it's noticable how much Olivia and Katie care for each other :P About the chapter image, well the guy's just gorgeous so that makes it good by default.

Love to hear your thoughts on Liz and her family, you're spot on about her! The swearing will lessen in the next chapters, but I had fun with it :)

Seriously you have no idea how much your review means to me, since I'm kind of in a rut writing-wise (I HAVE TO STUDY SO HARD IT'S RIDICULOUS). So yeah your review really brightened my day and motivated me to write some more :) Thanks hun!


 Report Review

Review #18, by sarahe Reality Check

25th October 2013:
Loved this chapter! My favorite was the hospital wing scene ( we'll say the whole thing because i cant choose between the remus and liam parts) But i loved finally meeting katie and i think youve definetly done her character justice! But i am forseeing a problem. Theyre going to go shopping and then probably see the guys and lupin but remus will see katie and (somehow) realize katie is a werewolf and finally realize theres others like him and fall in love with her and he cant! Remus is for olivia dont do it!! (Alternately i see katie realizing remus is a werewolf and falling in love with him. That would create a divide between olivia and her and lead somewhere. Idk.) I love this story and i cant wait for more!

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much! I'm really glad you like it. Hahaha well I love to hear your theories about what will happen :P I'm still working on the next chapter so who knows, maybe you just gave me some ideas... Either way, thanks so much for your lovely review, it means a lot to me! Got some new energy to write now 'cause university crazy right now. Thanks dear!

 Report Review

Review #19, by oldnumberseven  Reality Check

10th October 2013:
Dude, I just went on an emotional rollercoaster reading this chapter. *cracks knuckles* It went a little something like this:

- Squeeling for joy when Liam gave her the little pick me up talk. It's amazing and such a perfect Gryffindor thing to say XD

- Connecting with my inner Sherlock fangirl when Olivia started deducing the Marauder conversation.

- Dying a little inside when Katie describes the transformation and also when Remus watched her sleep and wanted to distance himself from her. Omg, she is EXTREMELY interesting, stop being an idiot!

- A mental academic golf clap for your Peron reference.

- Literal snorts of laughter when Sirius poured that potion in Liz' hair. Seriously, I almost snorted tea out of my nose. It was hilarious.

- Dying inside AGAIN when Katie started telling her she needs to let other people in because feeling emotions are better than feeling nothing at all and because it makes you feel human and alive.

So yeah, I'm dead now. Thanks a lot.

XD

Author's Response: Thank you Carly :D That bit with Liam might be my one of my favourite parts about this chapter... is that weird? I just never had the chance to focus more on their friendship and on Olivia's issues, so I really enjoyed writing that.

Man, that werewolf and Remus part. It was like a very big thing to me, I mean it's like SHIT HAS STARTED GUYS because Remus is starting to realize his feelings. And he's a complete idiot.

Well you really helped me out with that so give yourself some credit! :D (Oops, forgot to mention that in my author's note, sorry!)

I needed something as a base for Liz disliking Sirius, and it seemed like an attack on her hair would be the best option :P I'm worried that it was a bit 'childish' or something, but I'm glad you liked it! It doesn't need to be all serious right xD

Omg you just summed up everything I wanted to say with that part in one sentence! :D Seriously, it makes me so happy that you always get EXACTLY what I'm trying to say. Girl, you're a genius!


 Report Review

Review #20, by miluv Reality Check

9th October 2013:
you better be doing a damn good dance right now hahaha :) love this chapter, and I forsee lots of girly dress fittings and Christmas shopping next chapter! Maybe even a surprise appearence by Remus, where he comes, looks at Katie, realizes she's a werewolf, and BAM, sparks fly:D yay update soon!
xox, miluv

Author's Response: Dude, the macarena is nothing compared to it! Thanks so much, I love to hear what you think is going to happen next chapter! Hahaha I hadn't thought of that yet, you're definitely giving me some ideas. Thanks for taking the time to review, dear!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Ryebread Boys, Boys, Boys!

5th October 2013:
Awesome chapter! Such a cliffhanger! I need another chapter. You're a very good writer. Keep it up.

Author's Response: Aw thank you, you're too sweet :) As a matter of fact, my beta was extremely quick in sending me my chapter back so I just submitted it in the queue... Thanks for your lovely review, it means the world to me!

 Report Review

Review #22, by miluv Boys, Boys, Boys!

26th September 2013:
hahaha love the an, and the chapter of course! poor olivia:( and was evan jealous?? and gosh please tell me remus doesn't like her too, that would be too much! I liked it when he was just her perfect guy best friend ever:) update sooon love you
xox miluv

Author's Response: Thanks! Yeah Evan was totally jealous, though he'd never admit it. No, Remus doesn't like her YET, this will eventually be a Remus/Olivia story but it'll take them a while to get there (this story will span 3 years so there) :) So far only Evan likes her, don't worry. I'll do my best, thanks so much for your amazing review dear!

 Report Review

Review #23, by CreativeOddball Boys, Boys, Boys!

24th September 2013:
Oh my glob! That chapter was even more amazing then your other ones! Can't wait to find out what happens next! I would say that I dislike the way Evan is getting all jealous and potentially annoying, but hey! she did say 'no strings attached' so if he gets his heart broken it'l be his fault! Basically what I'm trying to say is that I like the fact that you didn't go into the whole cliche love-triangle. Although it can sometimes make for a really good story it usually just ends up making unnecessary drama and someone always ends up getting hurt and depressed but yours is different 'cause as I said before you can't really blame it on her leading him on 'cause it was his choice to partake in the 'no strings attached' thing which means she is very much free to start dating anyone she wants, 'cause they're not going out.
Love the story and can't wait for more!
'Till next time, bye!

Author's Response: Oooh thank you I was pretty excited about this chapter myself! Yeah Evan is not being cool about it, they did agree on a 'no strings attached' thingy. I'm glad you said that, I really didn't want another love triangle fic. It would be very out-of-character for Olivia anyway. Couldn't have explained it better myself!
Thanks for your lovely review, I'll post a preview on the story blog while I finish chapter 14 :) See ya!


 Report Review

Review #24, by TheWizardingPorcupine Boys, Boys, Boys!

24th September 2013:
My god I love this chapter! Liz is just hilarious and Remus is so sweet!

So now Slytherins are after Olivia? Interesting, spooky. the Marauders will save the day, I bet.

Which one of the Marauders like Olivia:Remus or Sirius? Im betting on both.

Will Olivia ever tell Remus she knows his furry little problem? Will she ever tell him about Katie?

PLEASE POST A NEW CHAPTER SOON!

Author's Response: Aw thanks! I had the most fun writing her. This will in time be a (mainly) Remus/Olivia fic, but they're not at that point yet. Sirius only likes Olivia as a friend, no romantic feelings whatsoever :) Eventually Remus will find out that Olivia knew all along, but you may be surprised how he finds out...
I'm just fixing up the last bits of chapter 14 and then it'll go to my beta, so it might take a week or two! I'll post a preview on my blog though :) Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by oldnumberseven  Boys, Boys, Boys!

23rd September 2013:
OMGGG WHERE DO I EVEN BEGIN.

I wish I could be best friends with Liz Ortega. Seriously, I laughed SO hard during the Quidditch match - all of the "Ooo, look at that one! Oh yeah, he's going on the list" stuff almost had me to tears. She is fantastic ... and I'm wondering (and also wiggling my eyebrows suggestively) who she'll end up with XD

And then there's the whole Evan/Remus debacle. I love that Evan gets jealous of Remus (I honestly thought it was going to be the other way around, but I actually like Evan being the childish one and Remus being the older/wiser one, it's funny). And btw, can you write Remus any hotter please? I'm fanning myself over here.

AND THEN THERE'S THE ENDING.

Omg, you just HAD to have a cliffhanger at the end, didn't you? You better update soon, missy, for I do not like cliffhangers ... my feelz just go out of control XD

Oh and p.s. I see what you're doing with the Sherlock parallels ... and I like it :P

Author's Response: Aaaahaha I had the most fun writing this chapter :D Liz is definitely the comic relief of this fic. She's so easy to write, it's unbelievable. Well I have some ideas about possible love interests, but I'll pm you about that ;)

Yeah I wrote this before you gave me the idea of making Remus jealous, but that will definitely come too! He's just not crazy about her yet ^^ But they're falling...slowly... *cue evil cackle*

Normally that was going to be a seperate chapter, but I never had a cliffhanger before so I couldn't resist xD The next chapter might take a bit longer because I still have to fix up some last things, and then send it to my beta... But I'm working on it! :)

Thanks for another amazing review, Carly! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>