103 Reviews Found

Review #1, by The Lady of Love Chapter VIII

23rd May 2015:
NOO IT'S OVER =(

I would like to write this entire review in caps lock because I am having so many feels right now but I shall do this like a civilised person. THIS WAS A GREAT CHAPTER AND AN OVERALL AMAZING STORY.

I am glad I read this. You captured the personalities of the four founders really well and showed the events impressively. Your narrative was very strong and the descriptions were just great.

This last chapter definitely tied in the loose ends and it was sweet how it ended with Helga's narration and a little hope that maybe the school would outlive them. And it did. It was so bittersweet.

Oh and I also liked the entry of Peeves here. It was a nice little detail. The row between Salazar and the others, particularly Godric, was well-written. Again, a very heartbreaking scene perfectly executed.

All in all, I have had a great time reading this story. Your writing talent is amazing. Congrats on finishing this story. Great work!

Lots of love
xoxo

 Report Review

Review #2, by The Lady of Love Chapter VII

23rd May 2015:
NO! MY HEART IS BROKEN! WHAT A SAD CHAPTER! SO MANYF FEELS! GHOSH YOU'RE AN AWESOME WRITER.

Okay, back to coherency, this was absolutely heart-wrenching. Poor Elaine and Morgan, and poor, poor Salazar =(

What happened was definitely awful. It was indeed the last straw for Salazar, he just could not bear Muggles anymore, and now I don't blame him for it. The Muggles literally took away everything from him. And the appearance of Maeve was indeed a very interesting touch to top it all off.

Your writing is just amazing. Your concept and backstory behind why Salazar would hate Muggles, create the Chamber, raise the Basilisk and become so bitter is very well-crafted. It is totally on point and something I can imagine happening.

This was an exciting, interesting and very sad chapter. You've written the events perfectly and I'm curious to see how things end. Great chapter, great story, and I'm very very invested in this so if you don't know already, I loved it. Great work!

Love
xoxo

 Report Review

Review #3, by The Lady of Love Chapter VI

23rd May 2015:
First off, I have to say how well researched this story is. You have put a lot of thought into it and that shows. I really admire your writing skills and your creativity here.

The game of Creaothceann is very amusing and funny and I'm wondering how you came up with it. Sounds like fun, haha. I also liked how you subtly introduced the whole Baron-Helena quotient here. Little details like these really make the story so enjoyable for me.

Things were sailing pretty smoothly in this chapter and I liked that. You captured the normalcy of life quite well here and there was a realistic touch. The descriptions were, as usual, very good and I am enjoying the narrative. This is a great story and I can't wait to read more!

Love
xoxo

 Report Review

Review #4, by The Lady of Love Chapter V

23rd May 2015:
This was an amusing little chapter. I enjoyed how the four Founders came up with Hat. You went along with canon very well and gave it your own spin at the same time. I enjoyed the hat's sassiness, haha.

I also liked how you continued to build up on Salazar's resentment for the Muggles and continue to show its growth. The little details really add to the depth of the plot.

Things are of course moving a little quickly but I am enjoying the pace nonetheless. You're not dragging things out and that's good. Salazar's marriage was a pleasant surprise and now Rowena is getting married too. I guess a good story always has a little tragic underlying unrequited love.

All in all, another brilliant chapter that I enjoyed reading. Great stuff!

Love
xoxo

 Report Review

Review #5, by The Lady Of Love Chapter IV

23rd May 2015:
Oh dear no, poor Salazar. I can't believe Maeve left him just because he could speak to snakes. I fail to understand why it would be such a big issue for her though - was it really believed in olden British times that snakes belong to the "devil"?

What happened was definitely sad but it brought the twist that the plot was headed in - Salazar hating Muggles. It makes sense to have developed this bitterness after being betrayed twice. You showed the situation realistically, good job.

I loved this chapter the most so far as it held Salazar's point of view and I enjoyed reading it. The descriptions were rich and there was some interesting insight. The time jumps over the story are also smoothly done and all the chapters and the narrative is flowing smoothly. I am liking the story and I'm curious to see how you deal with the upcoming events.

Great job as usual! Loving the story and loved this chapter!

Love xoxo

 Report Review

Review #6, by The Lady of Love Chapter III

23rd May 2015:
Don't you say this chapter wasn't exciting! It was in fact very, very exciting! I loved how you wrote the building process of the Hogwarts castle. Your descriptions were marvellous and I could really visualise it all. The idea that so many groups, from giants to house-elves, came together to build the school is indeed very creative and heartwarming. That is officially my head canon now too xD

What I loved about this chapter was the simplicity in Helga's thoughts. She is so dedicated, so thorough and so thoughtful - you've characterised her wonderfully. I liked how the four founders were working together here towards the school and how Helga played her part in the process.

The concept of them having a little struggle and little things still requiring some figuring out is quite realistic and it's good you showed that here. I am also enjoying the small details slipped into the narrative and discovering more of the founders' personalities as each chapter passes by.

Great job over all. I am really liking the story. Lots of love for you!

 Report Review

Review #7, by The Lady of Love Chapter II

23rd May 2015:
Another awesome chapter! I loved how you've used different point of views in different chapters. I loved getting an insight into the events from Godric's thoughts here!

It was interesting how you cultivated the idea of bringing about Hogwarts here. The concept of Muggles and Wizards living together in peace but then turning on each other due to the war is very believable - and I think true to canon to some extent. You've done a brilliant job of portraying the scenario.

I am honestly hooked to the story - your descriptions are, you have a very interesting plot and I'm very eager to read on how the story shapes up. Definitely moving on to the next chapter(s)! I am glad I got to be your Secret Spring Santa and picked this story to read.

LOVING IT!

 Report Review

Review #8, by The Lady of Love Chapter I

23rd May 2015:
Hello my dear, I am back! If you haven't guessed already, I'm your Secret Spring Santa and I'm passing along some love.

This is a very interesting story. I have not read much of Founders' era but you did a good job here. I am not expert on the historical times either but to me, this narrative was very well done and nicely aligned with the era. Your writing style is very engaging and I am enjoying the story.

Your characterisations of the four founders are quite interesting and I'm curious to see how things proceed. I like your Rowena and it's cute how you've a thing going on between her and Salazar. This chapter, being the first, certainly provided a good deal of back story to help set up the plot so good job!

I wonder how the two will come around to the idea of Hogwarts and how the relationship between Salazar and Rowena progresses. It's also interesting that Salazar is in love with a Muggle woman - I wonder what will happen next and how does this love turn to hatred for all Muggles.

Great story! Keep writing! I shall be reading the next chapter(s) soon =)

Author's Response: Aaah! This was the most wonderful surprise to see all of your reviews when I logged in today! Thank you so much, you really went above and beyond and this was so kind of you ♡

I'm really glad to hear you liked the story and that the style was engaging and the characters interesting, as I was hoping to give the founders the strong characteristics their houses are known for, but also make them three dimensional and real. I'm glad you liked the dynamics of Rowena's feelings for Salazar as well as Salazar's love for a Muggle.

Thank you so, so much for your review(s)!! I will be responding to the other ones soon :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Flower n Prongs Chapter I

19th April 2015:
Hello! I am here to leave a review tag review.

I have a history degree, but I admit I know next to nothing about 10th century Britain so if there are glaring mistakes in this for the time period, they have gone right over my head. One thing I did notice was that you used names that are more old-fashioned, such as Maeve and Cadoc, so even if they were not commonly in use at that time or in that area they feel like they fit in with the others.

So far, I am enjoying your characterizations of all four founders. The fact that you had Rowena making a lot of witty comments and making sure you did not just show her as "smart" was a nice thing for her character. Having Helga having recently moved would be a bit unrealistic if she was a Muggle, but who is to say that a witch and wizard could not move around as much as they pleased? The discussion between the two women about brooms was amusing, knowing how big brooms would become later.

The fact that you have given Salazar a reason to have disliked Muggles to begin with and now being interested in a Muggle is a very interesting twist! Seeing that relationship fail/go downhill (I am assuming) will certainly have a big impact on his future. As for Godric Gryffindor, having him armed with his sword and appearing brash was very similar to how I pictured him.

I enjoyed reading this, even though I am usually not as drawn to Founders fics. I will delve on further in the future. =)

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks for stopping by! :)

I'm glad to hear at least there are no glaringly obvious historical mistakes, haha. It's wonderful to hear that the names of the original characters in this fit right in with the canon ones, as well!

Thank you, I'm so glad you enjoy the characterisations of the founders so far - and I love what you pointed out about Rowena. True, she is intelligent, but she does appreciate wit (after all, that's engraved on her diadem! I like to think that the legend of it greatly exaggerated its power, and it's actually a diadem that makes the wearer capable of making really witty puns. Omg, new parody fic idea. But I digress.)

I think it wouldn't be too implausible for people to move to new places - particularly for reasons like getting married or something. But yes, definitely easier for magical folk than for Muggles! I'm glad you enjoyed their discussion of the brooms as well.

Salazar, I've always thought, had the potential for a really interesting back story to make him into the person history remembers, and this is my interpretation of how he got there. I'm glad you are interested in his particular story and the Muggle who has caught his eye. As for what happens, my lips are sealed!

I'm so glad you enjoyed this fic so far, despite you not normally going for Founders fics. Thanks so much for your kind review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Shadowkat Chapter III

5th April 2015:
One thing, didn't it say in the books that you had to know where to go and what the destination looks like before apperation?

Author's Response: Yes, you're right, I think it did. They were able to get there the first time because Laurence knew where the place was, and for students arriving later (with their parents) the location would be described well enough for Apparition to work, at least how I imagined it. Hope that clears it up for you! Thanks for your review :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Shadowkat Chapter II

5th April 2015:
Interesting chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Shadowkat Chapter I

5th April 2015:
Hey, I was looking back over the reviews I've had and saw yours. I decided to check out your profile, and am very glad I did. I love the Founders, but it's so hard to find good stories for them. I actually just started writing one myself, so maybe this will give me some ideas about the time period. (No copying, promise.)

One thing that's always bugged me, however, is that in stories like this they always have muggles knowing them. Honestly, I'd think they'd do there best to hide, try and pass themselves off as muggle to keep safe. Maybe that's just me though.

The writing is really good, though another thing that I've always wondered is how any of them were childhood friends. Didn't the books say they came from four separate countries? I'd think it would have to be some pretty big, possibly dark, spontaneous strings of events to bring them all together. Again, really like it. :)

Author's Response: Hello! I'm very glad you decided to check out this story too :) The Founders era is such an interesting time period, it's kind of a shame there aren't more fics set then, so it's great that you're writing one too!

I see what you mean about Muggles, though everyone has their own interpretations of the time period and this is mine. Personally, I thought it made sense that they knew Muggles, since this takes place 600 or 700 years before the Statute of Secrecy, and even about 300 years before witch burnings, so I thought that over time magical folk withdrew from Muggles, and didn't necessarily start out already segregated. There was nothing they had to really keep safe from yet (except foreign colonizers - the same issues faced by muggles.) But as I said, I'm sure there are many various ways to interpret Founders era society! :)

I'm so glad you like the writing - thank you! As for the four different areas they came from, I guess I took a few liberties with that in terms of how long they lived in those places, but I did try to keep to that idea (and relied on the hp lexicon for the really picky facts) - so:, Gryffindor from wild moor (West Country, i.e. where Godric's Hollow is), Slytherin from fen (also England, but in the east) Ravenclaw from glen (Scotland) and Hufflepuff from 'valley broad' (Wales) though in my interpretation, Helga moved from Wales to Scotland before the start of the narration, and Salazar no longer lives in his childhood home either. So Godric and Salazar, both born in England, became friends early on, and Helga and Rowena became friends when Helga moved to Scotland from Wales (probably as a teenager).

Wow, INFODUMP of all the inner workings of my brain for this story. Sorry that was waaay more than you asked for :p Anyway, there you have it. :p

Thanks so much for giving this story a read and for your lovely review! I appreciate it so much!


 Report Review

Review #13, by LadyL8 Chapter III

26th March 2015:
Hello again. Iím back with my third review out of 4.

Firstly, I did not find this chapter dull at all. It was actually very interesting. We all know they built the castle, but we donít really know how it came to be. And Iíve always wondered about how they did it, because the school is enormous. And how did they come up with everything Ė like the changing staircases? And you gave an answer to that.

I love Helga! And itís not just because sheís the founder of our house, but because of the way sheís portrayed in your story. I like that sheís the warm, friendly and social one, whoís responsible for getting people to help build the school as well as getting students to attend. And it fits so perfectly with what sheíd later want from the student in her house Ė to be welcoming, including and friendly.

And I like that she loves cooking and basically taking care of everyone around here. I just imagine sheíd be like a Ďmumí for her student Ė doing her best to make everyoneís having a good time and yeahÖ taking care of them. In a way, she kind of reminds me of Molly Weasley, because theyíre both hardworking women, and theyíre both have a warmth and welcoming heart.

Oh, and I forgot to mention that I loved the story of how they came up with the name of the school. Iíve always wondered why itís named Hogwarts, cause that seems like a kind of random name. So I liked that they discussed it, and had a reason for naming it Hogwarts.

I also liked the sorting Ė that it just started with them having the students that already knew them, and Helga therefore got the most because sheís more known in the community. So she does Ďtake the lotí, but not in the way youíd initially think.

The friendship between Salazar and Helga was also nice to see, but I definitely want to see more Rowena/Salazar. Iím sorry but Maeve just got to go, because Iím shipping those two and sheís kind of in the way of their happy ending.

What Iíve found very interesting so far in the story is actually the portrayal of Salazar. He does not seem like the Ďbad guyí that historyís made him out to be. And heís interested in a muggle, and we all know heíll later come to hate muggles and muggle-borns. So Iím really interested to see what will make him change his mind. I wonder if Rowena had something to do with itÖ or maybe itís Maeve.

Anyway, as you can probably tell I liked the chapter. I think Ė like you say Ė itís very necessary to include, because building Hogwarts is what theyíll later be known for. And you answer a lot of questions we readers may have had from reading the books Ė like how they came up with the moving stairs or the name of the school. So yeah, I still very much like the story

- Lotte

Author's Response: Looking back, I think this was one of my favourite chapters to write, coming up with how Hogwarts got all its quirkiness in its construction/name/everything.

So glad you like Helga :D We do have such an awesome house founder! But given what the Sorting Hat said about her, it just seemed like she would be that sort of person. I think I had the most leeway with her character, as the Sorting Hat talks about her the least :P Oh, I love your comparison of her to Molly Weasley! I hadn't considered that, but I totally agree now that you mentioned it.

I felt that the name was something that needed to be included. I mean, it's a weird name. There had to have been a lot of discussion involved :p I'm glad you liked that!

As Hogwarts had just begun, and the news of the school was just spread by word of mouth through their little communities, I didn't think it likely that there would be many people there at all - just people they knew from their villages.

I'm glad you like the friendship between Salazar and Helga! Haha aw, I'm sure Rowena would agree with you that Maeve has got to go! :P More about Maeve and the Rowenazar ship in the next chapter...

Honestly, that was my intention with Salazar. He gets a bad reputation by the time Harry is in school, but I don't think the other three founders would be such close friends with someone who's 'evil'. He does have some demons in his past, and I figured there could be an interesting story with how he became the person history knows him as. I like your theories but my lips are sealed! Muahaha. Well, until next chapter.

I'm thrilled that you liked this chapter and are enjoying the story! I really appreciate your reviews, you are the best! Thank you ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by LadyL8 Chapter II

26th March 2015:
Hi again, Kristin.

Wow. I wanted more Godric and I certainly got it. This was amazing. Your talent blows me away.

I love Godric, and heís also very much like I imagine he would be. Heís just this caring, fair guy that wants to whatís right. I donít know if itís because I love GoT, but Godric always reminds me so much of Ned Stark. I imagine theyíd look the same, and theyíre both men of honor. And I love both of them, so yeah...

Anyway, I think Godric/Laudine is very interesting. I love that they have different views on things. Godric wants to fight fair and do whatís honorable, but Laudine just wants to save people and not die doing it. And I think sheís believes that is the honorable thing to do Ė to save as many lives as you can, no matter how you do it. So it all comes down to different views on whatís honorable and right. And I think these differences are what make them such a good couple. They even each other out.

And I love that they defend the muggles, because thatís what they (well, Godric anyway) will be known for later. And I kind of love that you start the story at a time when muggles and wizards co-exist, but then things go awry because of the Vikings (donít they just ruin everything?). And thatís when they end up making a school, so the young wizards and witches can learn magic without being scared of muggles hurting them for it.

Rowenaís intelligence really shines through in this chapter, even more so than in the last. And that is kind of strange, since this chapter is more from Godrics POV. But yeah, I liked seeing how smart she is. And you can already tell why she would end up having the intelligent kids in in her house.

And I love the Rowena/Godric friendship. They too are very different. Godric doesnít really want to give up fighting for muggles and wizards co-existing, even though itís clear theyíre heading in that direction either way. While Rowena sees the bigger picture Ė she sees that at some point wizards and muggles are not going to be able to co-exist with both knowing of the other. And then they kind of even each other out, because neither one of them is completely right or wrong. And itís the combination of their ways of thinking that results in the idea of Hogwarts. And I really like them co-working, it was great to see.

Anyway, I can tell youíve done lots of research for this story. Iím kind of a history geek, and Vikings are really my specialty because of where they originate. And so far I havenít noticed anything off, so youíve clearly done a good job in researching the tenth century England.

And I still love the story by the way. Now that they have gotten the idea of Hogwarts, I wonder what will happen next. And I canít wait to see more Salazar and Helga.

Good job. 10/10

Oh, and please ignore my terrible English. Iím sleepy right now.

Author's Response: Awww ♥ ♥ you are too kind! thank you!!

I'm glad to hear that Godric sounds a lot like how you imagined him. Ooh, and this is great because I finally started watching GoT recently, so now I totally get what you mean comparing Godric to Ned Stark - I can see why you'd think that. :D

That is EXACTLY what I was hoping to convey with Godric/Laudine. I really wanted to show their different philosophies on what is the "right" thing to do and how they both have valid points - and they compromise and listen to each other. I really liked writing the two of them together :)

I really wanted to explore a lot of wizarding history in this story and how/why things ended up the way they were - since it is set over a thousand years ago, I figured that very little would be the same. It was kind of neat to start in such a different frame of mind for wizards - I'm really glad you liked that aspect of wizards and Muggles co-existing and how everything led up to the creation of Hogwarts.

It's great to hear that Rowena's intelligence shines through more in this chapter. I figured Godric would recognize Rowena for her intelligence, and so maybe that's why it comes through, as his perception of her. I'm glad you like their friendship too, and how they each bring different points to the table that combine to create the idea of Hogwarts.

I did do a lot of research - I love history too :D And it's great to hear from a history appreciator who knows a lot about Vikings that nothing seemed off about the time period, thanks!

Helga is next (as you know) and chapter 4 is Salazar! I'm really glad you're excited to keep reading!

Thanks sooo much for yet another incredible review ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by LadyL8 Chapter I

26th March 2015:
Hello Kristin. I wasnít around when you guys had the review hot seat. And Iím close to my 4-year anniversary on HPFF, so Iíve decided to leave 4 reviews for each person that participated in the hot seat to show how grateful I am for you guys being around. And now itís your turn to get reviews.

I want to start by saying that this is the first founders story that Iíve read in a long time. And Iíve seen a lot of people praise your founders stories on the forums, so I figured Iíd give it a shot. And Iím really looking forward to reading it.

I like Rowena. I think sheís very much like I imagined she would be, but Iím really interested to see more of her intelligence. You can kind of see it when sheís talking about the Redwalds invisible castle/defense strategy, but I think it will be more visible as the story progresses.

And Iím really interested in seeing more Salazar/Rowena. It is not the first match Iíd think of, but I donít hate it. I definitely think thereís something there. And whatís interesting is that ambition and knowledge are really connected as well, cause you canít really reach your goals without knowledge (in most cases at least). And thatís also why a lot of Claws could just as easily be Slytherins and the other way around. And the fact that those qualities are so close-knitted, could also explain why Rowena and Salazar would fall in love with each other. So yeah, I think I like this pairing.

And I like Helga as well. Sheís also like I imagine she would be Ė a warm, outgoing and friendly woman. And I loved how Rowena explained her friendship with Helga. Because yes, they are polar opposites, but thatís why they are so good friends.

I didnít really see much of Godric in this chapter, so Iím looking forward to learning more about him. But I loved that he and Salazar are best friends, and that he has muggle friends. Thatís very believable considering what heíll later be and believe in.

Anyway, I think you did a good job in bringing out their different personalities, and you can already kind of see how Hogwarts came to be. So Iím really interested to see where this story will be going, and whether Rowena will submit to the pressure of marrying or not (I donít think she will)

And lastly I just have to sayÖ VIKINGS!!! I have to admit the Norwegian in me is very happy to see them in a story, even if I probably shouldnít be too proud of them being from my country (well, Denmark really, but close enough. Norway also had its own vikings, but theyíre not in your story). But seriously, I think it was great that you mentioned them, because I donít think wizards would be oblivious to what was going in the muggle world. And Vikings were really a problem for the British people in tenth century, so Iím glad you mentioned them.

Good job. I loved the story, and I canít wait to read more of it.

- Lotte

Author's Response: Lotte ♥ I'm so sorry it's taken me ages to respond to this - but these reviews you left really made my day!!

First things first, happy 4 years, we are lucky to have you here on HPFF! :D

wow, I didn't know this story was popular on the forums! regardless, I'm so glad that you found it and that you're enjoying it so far!

I'm glad to hear you like Rowena so far! I think in this chapter, her intelligence mainly shines through in her wit and her opinions on Redwald's castle, but you're right, I think it shows more in later chapters.

There are a lot of really compatible characteristics between Ravenclaw and Slytherin (just look at the number of Slytherclaws on the forums! :P ) For some reason I just really liked the dynamic of this pairing, and I'm glad you do too! It's wonderful to hear that you like my portrayal of Helga as well. As for Godric - as you figured out, he is the focus of the next chapter - but I'm glad you liked the short introduction he had here.

It really is wonderful to hear that you liked the way all their different personalities showed - that is what I was hoping to get across here, turning the characteristics that the Sorting Hat focuses on, into real people who encompass those traits. I'm very happy you're interested to keep reading, too!

Yes, Vikings!! All my research pointed towards Danish invaders being the main struggle for the Brits of the time. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed their inclusion in here (despite them not being Norwegian :P ) And yes exactly - before the Statute of Secrecy, when (I imagine) wizard and Muggle people mixed in society, wizards probably had a fairly good idea what was happening in the Muggle world, because they were a lot closer to it back then.

This was a truly wonderful review. Thank you so much! ♡


 Report Review

Review #16, by Felpata Lupin Chapter VIII

22nd January 2015:
Oh my darling Kristin!
Thanks to you for this lovely story!!!
This ending was just so sad... But it's the way things were supposed to go, so...
I loved your including of Peeves in here :)
And I also think the choice of Helga's POV was perfect for the closing. Her empathy and her friendship give just the right perspective to the loss of Salazar first and Rowena next.
It's consoling to know that Hogwarts will, indeed, overlive them.
Thank you so much once again and all my love!
Chiara

Author's Response: Hi Chiara! Thank you so much for your kind comments, I'm so glad you enjoyed the story! Gah, I know the end was sad, but that was what I had to work with from canon! Besides the fact that I can't seem to write a fic without killing off at least half of the characters :p

So glad you liked Peeves :D I thought this chapter needed something light and amusing to balance out the bleakness of all the other events that happened here.

Thank you, it means a lot that you liked the choice of POVs and that Helga's perspective worked well for a closing.

That's exactly what I was hoping for with that last line, that in spite of how sadly their story ends, their dream does come true as Hogwarts lasts at least a thousand years past them! :)

Thank you so much for all your support on this story! You are such an incredible reviewer. ♥


 Report Review

Review #17, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter VIII

21st January 2015:
Dyaaa! Tears! That is so sad. After all this time Godtic and Helga are the only founders to show for it! The historical notes proves what kind of author you are; one that does research before throwing things down on paper. and the time it took to finish shows the mastery and dedication to this short story. So glad I found it. Touching, realistic, and interesting.

By the way, all these reviews are thanks for not missing a day of our Hot Seat Reviews.
--Georgina

Author's Response: Seriously, five reviews on this from you today was like the best present ever! ♥ Thank you!

Gah, I'm sorry about the sad. I'm kind of incapable of writing happy endings. I am so glad you were touched by this story and found it realistic and interesting, those are such wonderful compliments. And I'm glad you found this story too! It's been a pleasure reading your reviews. Thank you so much ♡


 Report Review

Review #18, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter VII

21st January 2015:
That last line: brilliant! Oh perhaps it took you a year and a half to write but from my perspective it was worth it! I love the way you're developing these characters as the years go along and Hogwarts itself is evolving into something more like was we know today (you know, "know")

Beautiful work that speaks for itself.
--Georgina

Author's Response: Ooh, thank you, I'm glad you liked the last line, I was quite proud of that one ;) The year and a half was because I suddenly took a hiatus in the middle of writing the story and then it was difficult to get back into it after so long :-/ but I'm glad it didn't seem like a clunky transition or anything. Thank you so much, I'm thrilled that you like the way the characters and Hogwarts are evolving.



 Report Review

Review #19, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter VI

21st January 2015:
I realize this is mostly filler, but although it wasn't exciting, it was interesting. I kind of like how you have Helena, though she does seem to be revealing personal facts about herself quickly. I guess if she was really frustrated she might be more inclined to say things.

I love how much thought you put into this.
--Georgina

Author's Response: You're spoiling me with all these reviews today! Thank you so much! ♥

It was kind of fillery, but I thought it was important to show Hogwarts running smoothly, after years of struggles and before everything all goes downhill.

As for Helena, there was a 17-year gap between the previous chapter and this one, so I was hoping to show that she's close with Godric (and the other founders) so it's not like she's revealing a hugely surprising thing, just putting a voice to things Godric has noticed for a while as her teacher. But you're absolutely right - her frustration would contribute a lot to her sharing those things.

Thank you so much - there really was a lot of planning, and especially research, and so your last comment means a lot to me. :)

Thanks for your wonderful reviews!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter V

21st January 2015:
Whoa, I cannot believe you put Laudine in Slytherin! Not that I don't understand why you did it, but it was still unexpected. Also, I kind of like the way you made the hat, to me it seemed just a tad more matter-of-fact than sassy, though there was definitely some sass in there. It's hard not to think of a hat like that as having at least a little bit of sass. I feel horrible for Rowena, she doesn't seem quite enamored by her fiancť.

Love this chapter.
--Georgina

Author's Response: :D Hehe. Laudine was totes a Slytherin type. I like the idea of how 'typical' Gryffindor and Slytherin traits balance each other out, which is very much how Godric and Laudine interact, and she puts more practical things ahead of being noble. Ooh, I'm glad you liked the hat! That scene was a lot of fun to write, as everything was just getting so serious and I need to write silly things apparently. Rowena... yeah, she puts logic ahead of her own feelings, so the only one she's tricking is herself. At least he is somewhat of an intellectual match for her, which to her is probably more important anyway! ;)

Thank you so much for your review! I'm thrilled you are enjoying the story ♥


 Report Review

Review #21, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter IV

21st January 2015:
Again, love this chapter. It's so cool to hear how the school-making process worked after one year. I also like hearing about the medieval views of muggles and wizards about each other. Then Salazar's heartbreak! That was so horrible, but had to happen to harden his heart to make him run out later.

Another lovely read!
--Georgina

Author's Response: Georgina! Hi and thanks so much for stopping by this story again! I'm so glad you liked the process of figuring out how to run the school, as well as the muggle and wizard dynamic. Poor Salazar. He does go through a lot in this story :(

Thanks so much for your review :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by Hogwarts27 Chapter VIII

20th January 2015:
Hi, I came running to read this when I saw your post in the finished stories thread. This is a wonderful last chapter, superbly written, and a real joy to read.

I enjoyed the arrival of Peeves, which made a nice bridge for the reader, reminding us that some things from the early days of Hogwarts continue absolutely unchanged into the present day Hogwarts we know. I also enjoyed the short sentimental moment between Helga and Godric when they notice each other's gray hair and remark that they've become old, or perhaps prematurely old, through all the chaos of running the school.

And I felt a real sense of loss when Salazar left, because of your earlier backstory, and the touching way you dealt with it in this chapter. And what a dramatic and fitting way to end this story with the ghosts, so that everything tied in with canon.

Thanks for writing - and finishing - this lovely story. And congratulations! A finished story is always an accomplishment. I've enjoyed every bit of the journey it took me on. Your writing style just grabbed me so that I could lose myself in the story-telling with every single chapter. Thank you very much for the reading adventure.

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for coming to read this - it means so much to me that you pounced on it just as soon as it was posted! I'm so, so glad you liked it!

Haha, you know what, Peeves was not even originally intended to be in the story at all, until the idea popped into my head as I was partway through writing this chapter. In the end I'm glad I did, because the rest of the chapter is pretty heavy with stuff like death and betrayal and more death. And yes it does kind of link Founders-era Hogwarts with present day, as a few things never changed! That's a lovely way to think of it! I'm glad you liked that moment with Helga and Godric as well - despite all the huge changes on a grand scale that happened here, I felt like the little scenes of mundane things are a nice balance. :)

I'm glad that resonated with you, when Salazar left - that's definitely what I was going for, to not really have either side be entirely to blame. As angry as they were with him at the time, I felt that having Salazar leave would be devastating to them after so long of working together. So glad you liked the bit about the ghosts as well, and that you thought it fit into canon! That is so great to hear :)

Thank YOU so much for reading this, and for the congratulations! It truly is a great feeling to have it completed, and having support from wonderful reviewers like you made it just that much more enjoyable to write. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the story so much, and thank you for your amazing support. ♥


 Report Review

Review #23, by StarFeather Chapter V

15th January 2015:
What Gryffindore's wife fought with Vikings made me imagine Ginny who fought Death Eaters in her fourth year with Harry, and I remembered somewhere I had seen a photo of Viking's grave or something related to them in England.

And Sorting Hat's birth, the way you described about it , it was really brilliant. Its ironical personality, rudeness against Ravenclaw and Gryffindor made me smile.

And you weaved Rowena's feeling for Salazar and jealousy toward his wife well, that led us to read more, what would happen next between Salazar and Rowena?

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much for coming back and reading on, it means a lot to me! :)

I really liked writing Godric's wife. She's the type of lady who does what she has to do, which is tough with a lot of Vikings invading the country as there were during this time period.

Haha, so glad you liked the Sorting Hat! I really don't know how it ended up so sassy. Despite this not being a humourous fic, silly stuff tends to end up in my stories when I least expect it haha.

Thank you, I'm glad to hear you liked the storyline with Rowena and Salazar. Definitely a lot left unsaid with those two.

Thank you so much for your review!!


 Report Review

Review #24, by StarFeather Chapter IV

14th January 2015:
Hi : ) I came back to read your tale about the Hogwarts Founders. HPFF forums reminded me of your story.

I like your setting up the personality of Salazar, how he had hate feeling against Muggles, showing an incident related to snakes. The expression about snake language J.K.Rowling created the world, but you did good job which made me imagine the scene vividly.

I'm looking forward to reading Gryffindor parts next.

Ravenclaw didn't give in, good for her.

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm really glad you liked the setup for Salazar and that he seemed realistic. I thought that given Salazar's connection to snakes this would make sense, especially considering that snakes would probably be viewed as evil by any religious people of the time. I'm glad you were able to imagine the scene vividly, thank you!

So glad you liked this and I hope you enjoy Ravenclaw and Gryffindor next :) Thanks for your review!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter III

2nd January 2015:
I really like how you have them trying to learn the ropes of Hogwarts; the ideas for the layout, the secret passageways (love their history!), the house-elves, the common rooms, all the details make it a great read despite the lack of excitement. Eustace with a dragon, is that a nod to CS Lewis' Voyage of the Dawn Treader? If not, that is an unusual coincidence, this kid's personality even seems a bit like that Eustace.

Anyway, love the story. Keep it up!
--Georgina

Author's Response: Hey again Georgina! Thank you, I'm really glad you're enjoying the process of how Hogwarts was constructed and all the things that needed work in the beginning - I think this was actually my favourite chapter to write!
Eustace, yeah it was a bit of a coincidence as I had a list of old-fashioned names that I was going to whenever I needed a new character, and that name happened to be next on the list at that point - but I saw the connection immediately and it was too good not to keep it that way! XD Haha, I'm glad you caught that :p

Thanks so much for your review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>