Reading Reviews for Because I Knew You
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by navyfail Timetables and Defense Review

6th August 2013:
I am beginning to like Elise more and more. The werewolf discussion was quite interesting. And I liked hearing about the Muggle man that had been bitten. It is sad that he ended up dying. The mention of Snape was nice. Sometimes I wish that he would sneer less but sadly that is his character. I now have a general feel of Sarah's character. I wonder if she'll ever choose what career path she wants to take up. I would love to see and know more about Elise and Dam's bond and how they met.

Great chapter.
~Sama

 Report Review

Review #2, by navyfail Heads and Prefects

6th August 2013:
Very good opening chapter! I love that you wrote in first person since most people write in third. Another thing is that Elise is a Hufflepuff. Hufflepuff are under-loved so I enjoy reading a story that has one as a main character. Elise seems kind and loyal. She seems like the type that stands up for herself and others, which is great.

I already like Dam. He seems like a good friend. The Marauders seem in character. Sometimes they are overdone but you hit them right on the spot. :) The badge jinxing thing was a nice touch.

All in all, great first chapter.
I can't wait to read more.
~Sama

 Report Review

Review #3, by marauderfan Rounds with Remus

27th July 2013:
eeekkk you posted this like a month ago and I only just saw it, which I blame on the hpff house cup. Anyway, to make up for the mega-delay in reading this I'll do a long quotey feedback, did you miss those? ;)

Every so often he would look up and see James or Sirius send some object toward Peter, under the guise of helping him with his shield charm. More than once Remus heard Peter groan when said items banged him on the head.

I can totally picture this happening. James and Sirius were not the most tactful at that age! Peter probably thinks they're actually trying to help, too. I suppose it sort of helped him practice, in a really bizarre way, but... lol *rolls eyes*

he was still so head-over-heels for Lily that her mere presence made him nervous. Remus knew that James used to harass others, at least in part, for the sheer joy of gaining Lily's attention. Like an ornery toddler, even negative attention from Lily was wanted.

Aw, I really liked this! The hair ruffling thing started out as an attempt to impress her with his windswept hair, but now it's just cause he's nervous around her! Aw...

Elise couldn't help but roll her eyes when Napoleon Smith began a boasting session about his supposed relation to Helga Hufflepuff.

Hehehe. I love it when Zacharias Smith's relatives show up in fanfic :P

(ok, deciding that quote feedback really doesn't work on hpff, sorry)
I really like the way you write Remus, really laid back and not too bothered about the rules that don't matter, like attire for prefect patrols. He's super chill and I like how he and Elise can have a discussion about nothing at all. They're so cute :D

There were a few things you might want to edit, as well. At one point you described James as "speckled" and I think you meant "spectacled" ;) Also I think it'd help to add a separation between the part in Remus's POV and Elise's, I think it'll make the narration clearer.

Ok anyway, fabulous job on this chapter!!! Keep up the great work!

 Report Review

Review #4, by marauderfan Marlene

1st June 2013:
OMG
Well I'm glad Marlene and Sylvester split up! That was going nowhere good. And Sarah!!! Does she know that Nott is a Death Eater?! I'm wondering what's going to happen to Sarah and Elise's friendship. They are best friends, but would their friendship survive that? Aaaa so intense.
Also, I just happen to notice that Dam disappears on the night of the full moon. Coincidence? ;)
Awesome chapter, can't wait for more!!

Author's Response: Sarah and Elise.I don't want to say too much but they will have a hard time. Dam.lips are sealed. :) Thanks for your review!!

 Report Review

Review #5, by marauderfan Daylight before the Full

26th May 2013:
Another great chapter. Interesting take on wizard marriages - it's quite literally an Unbreakable Vow! It made me wonder what would happen with wizard/muggle marriages?

(Anyway, I digress.) So, Remus standing up in class to stroke Elise's hair made me laugh. And the other Marauders' reaction to it, like they're not at all surprised haha. I love seeing part of this story from Remus's POV, particularly on the full moon day. It adds a lot to the story, especially when this aspect of him isn't usually covered in depth in Marauder era stories.

Really wondering what's going on with Marlene and the switching of the room for the meeting. I feel like it has to do with Voldemort.

(Ugh it is super hard to type a review when your cat keeps walking on the keyboard/stepping on your hands)

Author's Response: That bit about your cat made me laugh. :)

The marriage stuff isn't strictly canon, just my interpretation of it. I remember thinking that when I read Bill and Fleur's wedding scene. My thoughts on wizard/muggle relations in regard to that is that they would probably not be married by a wizard. I think that would be a serious breech of the statute of secrecy, unless it were a very small ceremony.

I really love writing Remus. I think he's such an interesting character. I gave a lot of thought to how he'd feel the day of his transformations since we never actually saw him the day of (that I remember) in the series.

About Marlene...she and Elise talk in the next chapter, which is in the queue so all that will be (somewhat) clearer soon. :) Thanks for your review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by PitchBlue Heart to Heart

21st May 2013:
Hi,

So much drama all of a sudden! Good chapter though, it's interesting to see the upcoming War from a different angle. I haven't come across many stories that explain the thoughts of a pureblood and their upbringing, so that was interesting.

- PB

Author's Response: Thank you for your review. I definitely think it is important to look at situations from different perspectives. I sat and thought for a long time about how to phrase everything and exactly how they would feel about things.

 Report Review

Review #7, by marauderfan Studying Runes and Practicing Avoidance

20th May 2013:
Yay! Quick update this time.

Elise's thoughts about how easy it was to talk to Remus were not at all surprising. He always struck me as that type of person who you can't help but open up to.

And that letter from Marlene! Can't wait to find out what that's all about.

Poor Remus. It's not easy being a werewolf is it. At least he's admitted to himself that he likes her, but I have a feeling it'll take him ages to tell Elise!

Wonderful chapter as always and I can't wait for the next one. I love this story :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by marauderfan Heart to Heart

19th May 2013:
Wow! That's a lot to handle. Some nice pureblood sexism, and brainwashing. It's evident the type of childhood Sarah had as a member of a Death Eater-aligned family.

And can anyone say LOVE POTION? or love charm, or whatever Nott put into that necklace. I'm suspicious that he did something to the necklace when he gave it to her. Then again, maybe she actually does love him because of the aforementioned brainwashing she's grown up with - having people tell her to get married young to a good pureblood boy. Ugh.

Re: Elise's thoughts at the end - she isn't too far off, is she? I don't remember if you mentioned Sarah having another brother, but if she has just the one, then it looks like Sylvester is the Death Eater Travers that's mentioned in the later HP books.
This was great. Can't wait until the next chapter!

Author's Response: Although it's not really funny to think of Sarah being given a love potion, that idea made me chuckle. She wasn't, and he didn't do anything to the necklace. I actually put all that in not only for information about what was actually going on with Sarah, but to show her character a bit. She herself is somewhat minor to the overall plot, but her relationship with Elise will shape a lot of things for Elise. Is she brainwashed or just loyal to her family? She is a Hufflepuff. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by marauderfan Arguing Brothers

12th May 2013:
Another excellent chapter! Clearly the Marauders know something about Dam that Elise doesn't know. (I think I know what it is, too :P )
And usually I don't see Sirius as being the type to comfort someone/relate to someone like that but I think it's spot on in this case because of what's going on with Regulus and Sirius at the moment may be quite similar to Dam's situation with his brother.
This was a great chapter and I can't wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Thank you! I agree with you about Sirius not being the comforter, but in this case, it makes sense. More about Dam and the situation with his brother will come out in time. :) Thank you for your review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by PitchBlue Tingling

11th May 2013:
Hi,

Nice chapter! I like 'everyday - Hogwarts' scenes and descriptions of classes, and I think you did really well with this chapter. Elise is still a bit mysterious to me, but I like that. I hope we will get more insight in her character in later chapters.

Good luck with writing!

PB

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for your review! I enjoy just daily life stuff too, I enjoy reading and writing it. Elise will become much more of a main fixture. :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by PitchBlue Timetables and Defense Review

11th May 2013:
Hello, again.

I like Elisa's background story on what she thinks of Werewolves. It gives her character more dimension, I think, and it makes her more 'real' (if that makes sense?). It was a bit sudden and unexpected though, but that's not necessarily a bad thing and it depens on your personal preference. I, for example, prefer a more building - up kind of thing, but what you did worked so, good job! The switching between character - focus and POV's is refreshing.

PB

Author's Response: I understand what you mean about liking a build up...I felt like it worked for this particular moment, but I understand what you mean completely.

I'm glad you liked the change of POV, I was afraid it might be a little confusing.


 Report Review

Review #12, by PitchBlue Heads and Prefects

11th May 2013:
Hello!

I like this chapter, it's light - hearted and funny. It flows along very nicely. The part where Lily doesn't believe James is Head Boy is good, I can easily imagine it happening.

Looking forward to read more!

PB

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked the part about Lily and James...and that this felt light-hearted. :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by marauderfan Timetables and Defense Review

19th April 2013:
It seems like something weird is up with Sarah - it'll be interesting to see where that goes.

Also, based on the argument in class it seems Elise would be a good friend for Remus to have on his side. She doesn't seem like the type to freak out when she finds out about Remus being a werewolf (I'm going out on a limb here and assuming that she will find out at some point during the story.)

Lastly, I'm sure you didn't intend to do this but there is a huge amount of space between paragraphs - about 6 or 7 lines, it seems. It makes it kind of hard to read - so you might want to go back and edit that! ;) Otherwise, it was a very good chapter!

Author's Response: OK.I think I got the spacing fixed. I'm sorry it made it difficult to read. I'll hopefully have the next chapter right from the beginning. Thanks for pointing it out to me.

I don't want to say too much about Sarah, or about Elise and her kind demeanor towards werewolves. But, I'm glad you're pondering what might happen. :)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by marauderfan Heads and Prefects

17th April 2013:
Great start to what I'm sure will be a great story. :) I like that the main POV is a Hufflepuff. The good guys can't always be Gryffindors!

Also, I know this was a really small insignificant scene but I was really entertained by the image of the Marauders having to push the snack trolley on the train as a punishment. Can't wait until the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you! I like a Hufflepuff POV too...I've really come to love that house!

I'm glad you picked up on their punishment and liked it. Seemed fitting. :) Thanks again!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login