Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Impossible
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by StarlightAsteria Impossible

3rd August 2014:
Hi!

This is so sad. So heartbreakingly sad. Poor Severus - I really liked the way you charted his development from child to adult, and when Lily doesn't forgive him... OUCH. The casual way she tells her friends that she's glad he's stopped trying to apologise - you really made me quite angry at Lily! And him going to congratulate her, of all things.

I thought the song choice was quite inspired, too :)

Celi :)

Author's Response: Hello Celi!
Thank you very much for leaving a review. I have to admit, I did enjoy writing this. Sev is such a sad character that it seemed wrong not to write it, especially when I had this song driving me crazy in my head! I'm glad you liked it :) I like Lily as a mother, but as I teen I'm afraid she doesn't rank very highly. I mean, he did say he was sorry. But regardless, thank you very much!
Lottie


 Report Review

Review #2, by 1917farmgirl Impossible

20th March 2014:
You know, to me, the most tragic tale of all from the HP books is that of Snape. And it's superb story telling on the part of JKR that she kept us guessing his real role until the very end, and managed to make a character we could both hate and feel so much compassion for.

I think you have done an amazing job with this small portion of Snape's story here, and the song you used fit perfectly. I felt real, heavy sorrow for Snape as I read this, felt Lily slipping away from him in your words. I really liked the part about him never, ever using the word again. And him coming to tell her congratulations for her wedding, even though his heart was breaking...very moving.

I found myself unsettled by some questions this story raised - take that as a compliment! I don't read many Lily and James fics because it's not my favorite era, but I also am slightly disturbed by the little bit of hypocrisy. In the past, it has focused mostly on James and how everyone thinks he's a perfect hero and sometimes ignores the fact that before he became that hero, he was also sometimes a bit of a bully. But, now I'm questioning Lily a little as well. She wouldn't forgive Snape for his slip of one word, but she could forgive and date and marry a man who tormented others for laughs? Both mistakes were made by boys who were still growing up and learning - surely she could have forgiven them both?

Anyway, I hope this review hasn't been too rambly for you, and that my weird musings don't bother you.

Beautifully written story! Made me see Snape in an entirely new way and I appreciate that!

Thanks for posting.

- Farmgirl

Blackout Battle round 3 review 18/20.

Author's Response: Farmgirl, hello!
Thank you for such an amazing review, I was shocked to see the length and thought that had gone into it. I'm afraid my response may not match such a standard, just to forewarn you. I love this song, and it just seemed to fit with Severus's story. I'm glad you liked it.
I think she could have forgiven him, if she managed to look past everything that James has ever done. For why she wouldn't, I don't know. I just don't like James as much as most people because he acts like an idiot most of the time, and isn't very nice to those of a 'lower rank'. So I can agree with you completely!
I loved your musings, they were wonderful! And I'm glad to be of service *tips hat*
Chazzie


 Report Review

Review #3, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Impossible

15th March 2014:
Hey there,

So I thought I'd come back and check out some more of your work! I will say I'm all Lily/James but I did really enjoy this, I thought you got Snape's POV over brilliantly so well done you!

The song you picked worked really well for this story - the lyrics were great. I do really like this song too!

Poor Sev - I did feel really sorry for him to be honest. I mean, it was his fault for saying the word that drove her away but people do make mistakes and you brought that point home.

Can I also say your description in this was beautiful! You did an amazing job, particularly at the beginning when you were describing her hair like fire... it was really visual so great job - I loved it!

I really enjoyed this and didn't notice any mistakes so great job! Well done!

Lauren :)
Gryffindor vs Slytherin Review 12 of 20

Author's Response: Hi again :)
Yay, I'm so glad! Thank you for your comments, they really bring a smile to my face. The song haunts me for days when it gets into my head, so it's nice to hear that you like it too. I love Severus. He is just such a sad and lonely character who my heart breaks for. Aww, thank you. It's lovely to hear that. And I really appreciate your time!
Chazzie


 Report Review

Review #4, by love_is_magic_ Impossible

7th March 2014:
Hello! I just couldn't get enough of your writing, so I came back for more!

Again, I find myself wondering how it is that you've only written two one-shots. This was absolutely amazing! Do you write somewhere else? Honestly, you have some great talent and I can tell you really put effort into what you're writing. It's great.

As much as James and Lily will forever be together in my head, I still love feeling bad for Snape. He really does have such a tragic life, whatever questionable choices he made within it. You did such a good job of capturing the progression of their relationship and the emotions he was undoubtedly experiencing through it all. It was heartbreaking but wonderful at the same time.

I sincerely hope you write more sometime. This story is going in my favourites :D I really am glad that the Blackout Battle has caused me to discover your writing, you've got talent! Great job!

Christy

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle 15/15

Author's Response: Hello again!
I'm glad you like my writing! I don't really write anywhere else though. I do like James, but he seem quite - arrogant sometimes? I don't know, but Sev seems a little more insecure, which makes my heart melt for him.
Yay, I'm so happy! Thank you for your lovely reviews Christy!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Unwritten Curse Impossible

1st March 2014:
Hi there! I'm here for the Blackout Battle on the forums. :)

I haven't read a song fic in ages! They're really a lost art. I felt that the song directly related to the piece, which was great to see. I'm curious--did you listen to the song as you wrote this? Or was it just used as inspiration? I've never written a song fic myself, so I've always wondered how others approach them.

I liked the connection you made between Snape's parents and how his mother told him not to love too quickly and then him falling for Lily. I often forget that piece. It makes the whole situation even sadder. I've never liked Snape as a character, but you've made me feel a bit sorry for him here. Thinking about it, he's never really had love in his life. Or he has, but it's never lasted. That's sad.

Anyway, great work. Your writing is really clean and easy to read. Keep it up!

-- Gina

Author's Response: Hi Gina!
I like writing song fics, usually if I've been listening to a particular song for ages and can't get it out of my head. I'll write down all the words (or ask google to do it for me!) and start splitting it up into writable sections. Sometimes it's only a line, but it can be or up to 4.
Severus is just such a lonely, lovely character! He usually gets the blame for things that weren't his fault, and that's why I like him. It is sad that love has never stayed for him, and I'm glad you liked reading it!
Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by TheGirlOnFire Impossible

1st March 2014:
Hello,

This is for the blackout bingo :)

Today is a day of firsts for me; first dramione fic, first Narcissa/Lucius fic and first song fic. I liked this because I found myself sympathising with Snape when I never have before. I always blamed Snape for Lily and his relationship being broken. It has been great to see the relationship from Snapes POV.

TheGirlOnFirexx

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! I'm glad you liked it, I always feel like Severus gets blamed a lot, usually by people he is helping. See this is what happened when you visit the snake lair, we often have stories about Slytherins :P thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Samantha Smtih Impossible

4th December 2013:
Very nice! (Better than I can ever do)

Author's Response: Thank you Samantha! I appreciate your time, and I'm glad you liked it :)

~Charlie x


 Report Review

Review #8, by loonyforever Impossible

12th November 2013:
It was really good; all the pieces just fell into place and I actually started tearing up towards the end when he realized he wasn't going to get Lily but never gave up.

Love stories that were never meant to be are the saddest of all. I know Severus had been a little bad in his time but he never deserved this. He never deserved to be cast aside while Lily and James started their romance.

Thanks for including the other, darker aspect of Lily and James's romance!

Author's Response: Aww thanks loonyforever! I love Slytherin/Gryffindor pairings, and Snape is definitely one of my favourite characters. He just has so many emotions that he hides away from everyone, and I wonder if Lily ever knew how he felt about her. I wanted to put across that he never gave up on her. I think a small part of him thought she would return to him one day, but she never did. It was sad, but necessary. I'm glad you liked it anyway!
And thank you for reading and reviewing. It's nice to know your thoughts!
~Charlie x


 Report Review

Review #9, by luvinpadfoot Impossible

18th July 2013:
I've never heard the song before, but the story stood beautifully on its own. Everything just fit so well together and flowed nicely, starting with the abuse and leading into love, prejudice, and regret. I liked that there was a little bit of redemption in the end for Severus, that last time he saw Lily when it was like they forgave each other for everything that had happened.

His focus on the word mudblood and his refusal to use it again made my heartbreak. So much weight can fall on just two syllables and a few letters. And Severus blamed that for ruining his life, even though he said it of his own volition. It fits with his character, not wanting to fully take responsibility for his actions.

I teared up when he talked of trying to get her back and doing everything he could. Just once in one of these stories I'd like him to be able to get her back. Just once.

I thought it was very realistic how they both got sucked into the war of Slytherin vs Gryffindor and purebloods vs muggleborns and traitors. It seems like Hogwarts has a way of doing that.

Brilliant story and very well written! I'll definitely look up the song now. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing, luvinpadfoot! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I feel that Sev is slightly insecure, because of his past, and that is why he blames other things rather than himself.
I feel awful for not giving them the happy ending I want to give them, but this way works better. I want a Slytherin guy to someday get a Gryffindor girl. But it rarely happens. *sigh*
At my school we seem to get caught up in the same kind of prejudices, but with 'populars' 'geeks' 'goths' and so on, so I put a little of that in. The people you had been friends with suddenly slip away from you, and you end up practically strangers.
Definitely listen to the song, it is really brilliant! And thank you again, it was nice to see that someone has read it! ;)
~Charlie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login