Reading Reviews for Regulus Arcturus Black
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by DracoFerret11 Now I Was Gone

7th July 2014:
Hello again! I'm just cruising through these one-shots. I have a special place in my heart for Regulus, so let's go over things:

Plot: Ahhh, Regulus, bby. I love him so much, so this was just depressing to read. I never thought of him having a relationship with anyone, so this was interesting to read. (Side note, at first I thought the girl was Narcissa and I got super grossed out, but then I had to think about that and realized that's against TOS, obviously. But maybe clarify that somewhat.) I loved how you structured it into memories, but I realize that Regulus just stands there blinking at Voldemort ten times, which was a bit odd. The memories themselves progressed well and flowed together nicely. Good job!

Characterization: I loved that you captured Regulus's naivety. That's such an important part of his character. That's what got him into his situation in the first place. And I liked how you described his inability not to love her, despite all she'd done to him.

Descriptions & Emotions: I liked the small details you added about Regulus's past and his progression from innocence to Death Eater. It was very believable and I liked that I could see the important changes he went through. I loved the dramatic moment at the end (and the line "I was eighteen, and now I was gone.") when he realizes she's just going to let him die. Ahh, sad.

The ending only bothered me insofar as Regulus not dying how he did in canon. ;) But I'm a freak like that. (Even as a Dramione fan, I know! Weird!)

Anyhow, well done! This was well-written, and I loved reading about Regulus. Good luck to Hufflepuff in the House Cup!

--Emily (House Cup 2014 Review)

 Report Review

Review #2, by dreamer21 Now I Was Gone

26th April 2013:
Hi I'm here from the review tag.
Okay so wow.
I'm all heartbroken at this. I have a thing for Regulus and I want to write some story on him myself.
You did a great job with describing pain, I dont like sad endings :( But you made me sad which means your writing is effective so you get a balloon, *hands you a balloon*
I don't like this Slytherin Chica. Too heartless for my taste.
Regulus.
I'm just rambling now.
I like your writing style btw.
And one thing i'd suggest is that you separate the "blinks" it'll add a more profound effect. more dramatic. :D
Okay, so surely I'd be paying your stories a visit very soon. Till then Adiosss
Em

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm glad that the emotions were able to come across for you and that you were able to feel his pain! Thanks for the balloon! I'm glad that you like my writing style! I do hope that you will stop by my stories again soon! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #3, by marauder5 Now I Was Gone

25th April 2013:
Hi! I'm here for the review tag.

Oh my God. I don't even know where to begin. This story was so brilliant that it has left me speechless.

No, I'm not going to leave it at that, though. I have to let you know how much I love this story. First of all, Regulus! We got to know so little about him in the books, which gives you free hands to write him in fanfiction. And you have done it very well, my friend.

I loved the 'blink' thing. It was a perfect way of separating the flashbacks while still linking them together. I wonder who this woman is. Is she an OC or someone from the series? I'm guessing OC. Either way, you've portrayed their love perfectly, and it was so sad that he did all of it for her..

The last line is fantastic- 'I was eighteen and now I was gone.' So simple, and yet a very strong and beautiful sentence. I absolutely love it.

I hope that you're really proud of this story, because it really is brilliant! Thank you for writing it :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I'm really glad that you liked the story! That last line is one of my favorites as well. I felt that it really delivered a bit of a punch.

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #4, by ChaosWednesday Now I Was Gone

22nd April 2013:
Hey, it's Whiskey from the forums :)

Ah, Regulus! A fascinating character that deserves more attention in the fandom, for sure! I like how you try to answer many of the questions about his motivations and his story by connecting them with his intense and somewhat childish love for a girl. The way you describe the events has a detached yet poignant tone to it makes them believable even to someone like me who just isnt into shipping :P

The *Blink* structure is a nice choice ;) It adds a fast and unsettling rythm to the story, which never really lets us leave the actual event of his approaching death. In fact, I would make the segments even shorter, or maybe have them get shorter as we near the end? Just a thought...

I really do love how you managed to evoke vivid images with such little description...I couldn't do that! Him pretending to be surprised to see her at the Quiddich game, the broken nose, her waiting for him after the mission and a few other moments really helped me picture both Regulus and your OC, despite the limited information. I also liked this sentence: "Blink. Death, blood, and screams, those were the rewards for a Death Eater." After all the black and white depictions of Death Eaters we are used to, one forgets to really picture their life and just accepts it as a fact in a desensitized way. But that sentence managed to remind me of their sadism - you refrained from telling the reader that Death eaters= bad directly like most others seem to do and instead explained why.

Great job, basically. And thanks for the swap :)

Author's Response: This review is really wonderful! Thank you so much for swapping with me and for looking over this piece! I'm glad that you liked the blink structure of the story and found it to help cement the reminder of his death!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #5, by PolyJuice_ Now I Was Gone

14th April 2013:
See now, I never know what to say when I get a story like yours. It's quite obviously well-written and I've not much criticism (and by that I mean none at all).

Instead I'll just rave about how fantastic this is.

The emotions just about killed me. "I was eighteen and now I was gone." The way you brought the whole blinking thing in was genius, it added so much; it felt so tragic.

Wow, this is a super unhelpful review, isn't it? *despair* It's not my fault I've nothing to say other than to squee..

Before I dig myself into a hole here I'll leave you.

I absolutely love LOVED it. One of the better stories I've read in a long time,
Liz

Author's Response: Oh wow this review! Thanks so much and honestly just telling me that you loved it and that its one of the better stories that you've read in a long time is amazing! I'm super happy that you liked it! Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #6, by fanfictionwriter Now I Was Gone

11th April 2013:
Dang, I thought it was a book. I didn't know that it was a one-shot! haha sorry :P

but how do you make your own banner? yours is really good. :)

Author's Response: Well I appreciate you stopping by and leaving a review. For information on banners and how to make them you can check out the dark arts a sister site of here. I made mine in gimp. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #7, by ShelbyBlack Now I Was Gone

10th April 2013:
ERICA!
I LOVE YOU I LOVE YOU I LOVE YOU AND I LOVE THIS! Ee, I'm so happy! You're so great, I'm glad I have you as a friend!

Day...week...month...YEAR made!

Love lots ShelbyBlack.
xxo

Author's Response: Aw sweetie I'm glad you enjoyed this! It was a fun piece to write and I'm glad I've got you as a friend too! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #8, by CambAngst Now I Was Gone

10th April 2013:
Hi, Erica!

That was a really interesting and very different take on Regulus's short and tragic life. Being one of those tall, dark and brooding sort of guys, he's not exactly a rare commodity in stories around here. This was the first time that I'd seen a story where he became a Death Eater for love rather than his parents' twisted sense of values, however.

This is probably horrible to admit, but when you described his relationship with the mystery female character the first thing that popped into my head was the whole discussion of "friendzone" that presaged the April Fool's Day prank. The second thing was the sham marriage that Rodolphus Lestrange shared with Bellatrix. Whichever one you want to hold it up against, I think the point is the same. This girl never really loved Regulus the way that he loved her. In the end, her only true love was for the Dark Lord and the power that he represented in her mind.

I know you said that this chapter hasn't been beta read, but I really didn't see very many things that need to be fixed. Here was the only typo I spotted:

Now here I was her standing before me, with the Dark Lord next to her. - here she was standing before me?

This was a neat idea and you did a good job of executing it. The only thing that struck me was that it isn't clear whether he's already taken the locket horcrux when he confronts his former love, and if so, whether she was part of the reason that he decided to betray his master. I thought that would have added something, but then again I'm a stickler for completeness. ;)

Author's Response: wow thanks for this wonderful review! Honestly, I love receiving reviews from you as you are a fantastic author and the only way to grow is to be critiqued by great authors. So thank you so much for taking the time to read and review this. I'm really glad that you liked the concept of the story and how different it was from what most people portray him joining Voldemort for. Thanks again for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login