Reading Reviews for The Proposal
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lostmyheart The Proposal

23rd January 2014:
Hi!

So after reading your amazing(!) Memory Lane, I decided to check out your other stories.
Extremely lovely story, this is. Loved how you wrote the beginning - at first I thought 'okay, this is different, she actually starts with the proposal...' then it was only for Harry he did it. Quite funny!
I enjoyed reading this, I can totally imagine Ron propose to her like this - maybe more awkward and sweaty but that's not so romantic as your version!

And I smiled at the ending! 'and gently slid the delicate ring on her finger, where it would stay for the rest of their lives together.'
I absolutely loved it! Actually felt my tear ducts press a little.

Whenever I get the time, I'll read your other stories! Love your writing.

Hugs
- A

Author's Response: Eeeep! You're really spoiling me with these reviews!

I really struggle to write Ron/Hermione so this had a lot of deleting and rewriting. I'm pleased with the overall result though, and I'm thrilled you liked it!

Thank you so much for all of the kind words, they really make my day :) xx


 Report Review

Review #2, by patronus_charm The Proposal

15th July 2013:
Judging by your AP youíre a massive Dramione fan *cheers* so I thought I would come and see how you wrote Rominione :P

Aw, this story is ridiculously cute and fluffy. Iím in love with it ♥ I knew this was going to be great one just from the start where Ron was practising with Harry and that moment was so adorable as it really showed how far the two have come from being sort of enemies and gah. I canít think of any more ways to say cute but it was definitely that!

I could really tell how much thought Ron had put into this and it really went well with his character. First there was the dilemma of having to choose a ring and then where to propose of all places. Iím glad that he chose his flat because it seemed to be right there and as soon as he said it, I realised it went well with his character.

The tangle of people who knew that it was going to happen was great. First Harry and then Ginny. It made me chuckle to think they had to put up with an annoying Ron who was probably despairing all over the place while Hermione was in the unknown. That was really well done.

Then the actual proposal ♥ that was just, just *unable to formulate words right now*. Ok Iíll say what it wasnít. It wasnít sickening, or clichťd or over-done it was just right and by being that it was just them. I really adored it and could read the scene over and over again.

Overall, I really loved this ♥

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hi Kiana!

I am a HUGE Dramione fan, but my favourite cannon pair is definitely Ron and Hermione so I really enjoyed writing this.

I'm actually quite proud of the introduction to this story, I think it's definitely something Ron and Harry would do!

I'm glad you thought that the characterisation was good for Ron in this, it's always something I work really hard on when writing :)

Proposals are really difficult to write as it's so easy to venture into the realm of cheesy and cliche so it's really flattering knowing that you think this was just right!

Thanks so much for the lovely review Kiana!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Owlpost68 The Proposal

29th June 2013:
That was absolutely adorable. It might be the cutest proposal I've read with those 2. Like always Ron couldn't shut up, and for once in her life Hermione was speechless. I loved that you included him wiping his face on his sleeve and then putting the ring on her finger, it was so Ron :)
Really great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a lovely review! I'm really glad you liked it :) x

 Report Review

Review #4, by obliviate14 The Proposal

26th May 2013:
That was absolutely beautiful! I have no bad comments about it. My favourite part of course was ron's speech!

Author's Response: Thank you so much :) I'm really glad you liked it

 Report Review

Review #5, by Courtney Dark The Proposal

3rd May 2013:
Hey there! Thank you so much for entering my challenge with this awesome piece and now, without further ado, I am here for my review. OH MY GOD! I just realized that rhymed! Go me!

Ahem. Sorry, I'm in a weird mood. Well, I'm always in a weird mood, but...

This was such a cute little one-shot! I actually adored it and my heart is melted like a scoop of ice cream on a hot day!

I loved how Ron practiced his speech in front of Harry - that was very funny and definitely something I can see Ron doing. I loved how in this one-shot, you not only showed the relationship between Ron and Hermione, but between Harry and Ron, too. I loved how though Harry was supporting Ron with all his heart, he was still mocking him a little, too. And it was very funny how Ron grudgingly admitted that Harry was better at all the romance stuff.

You have amazing comedic timing, has anyone ever told you that? You manage to slip in these little funny but random moments at exactly the right time that really make me laugh. Some of my favourites were the idea of Ginny squealing and crying which were then blamed on pregnancy hormones and Harry staying in the kitchen with Ron to make sure he didn't burn the house down.

I think you used the quote I gave you really well, and Ron's proposal was so sweet! It was an added bonus that you managed to use it twice;)

I loved this one-shot, and I can't really fault it. Oh, and before I forget, I loved the fact that you added little details about Ron and Hermione's home and their life - like the fact that Hermione had gone back to study her N.E.W.T's, while Ron had decided that wasn't the option for him.

Great writing lovely!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a lovely review and for giving me such a lovely quote to work with. Yours was the first challenge I had ever written for so I'm glad you enjoyed it (laughing at the heart melting like a scoop of ice cream part haha!)
I always imagined that the trio would remain very close even years after the war so as soon as I started writing this I knew that Harry would be a big part of this. Plus, lets face it, there's no way Ron could have done it alone!
No one has ever told me I have good comedic timing but I take it as a huge compliment, personally I think I'm hilarious haha! I'm glad that I got across the lightheartedness that I wanted to in this story.
The quote you gave me was so adorable, I couldn't resist not using it more than once :D
Again, thank you for the review and for the challenge, I'm looking forward to reading some of the other entries :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Siriusly89 The Proposal

2nd May 2013:
Hello! Siriusly89 here with your terribly late review! I am so sorry, I really am. I didnít mean for it to take this long, its just life sort of ran away from me and blargh.

Anyway, long story short, I sincerely apologize and I hope this doesnít prevent you from requesting from me in the future!

Aah! I love Romione! There isnít enough of it floating around the forums if you ask me. So I am truly looking forward to reading this.

Just as a side note, I review as I read!

I love the beginning, Ron asking for Harryís help was just so perfect. Because theyíve always had each others backs, no matter what (well, lets not mention the incident during the seventh book, just brush that in under the carpet there.)

The buying of the ring sounds hilarious, I really wish we couldíve seen some dialogue for that, I imagine it being rather funny!

Ginny keeping Hermione out of the way so those two could set everything up. You canít really see me, but Iím laughing. Ridiculously loudly.

You used such brilliant description throughout this, that I can almost visualise the scenes as they happen, which is a thing I love!

And then the ending was just picture perfect. Couldnít have been improved.

Thank you very much for this highly enjoyable Romione one-shot!

Feel free to re-request!

Author's Response: No need to apologise! I know as much as we'd like to we can't spend all day on here and the forums haha.
Thank you very much for the review, I'm really glad you enjoyed this story, it's one of my favourites. I have a total soft spot for Ron and you're total right about there not being nearly enough Ronmione stories out there :) I'm slowly working through my one-shots and editing them, I'd never thought to put dialogue in the ring buying part but now that you've said it, I can definitley see that working perfectly-thanks for the tip!
My biggest worry about FF is writing the characters and getting them totally wrong so I'm glad mentioned the portrayal of Harry and Ron's friendship and yes, we'll definitely sweep that 'incident' under the carpet haha!
Thank you again for the lovely review, I'll definitely request another :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by lauraf68 The Proposal

30th April 2013:
Wonderful! 10/10! Spot on characterizations, just wonderful!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Lululuna The Proposal

24th April 2013:
Hello, here to review swap you right back! :)

I really enjoyed this one-shot, it was so sweet! The beginning actually made me laugh out loud when I realized Ron was talking to... Harry! You did an amazing job of portraying the friendship between the two of them, and though I bet Harry felt a bit awkward of course he would come through for his buddy. The little character details really made this story complete for me, like Ron not understanding Muggle money. He really is so endearing!

I also appreciated how mature and secure Ron and Hermione seemed, such as how they moved in together before getting married. I liked how you established the life they've already built together, including the little details of their home, which really gave me a strong image of how their lives have progressed after the war.

Ron's proposal was so genuine, and I love how he pointed out that they still fight and that he can be difficult. My one suggestion would be to break up the proposal speech a little: maybe add a paragraph break and add in how Hermione looked when she was listening, or if Ron suddenly forgot what he was going to say next, or something? It would make it a bit more reader-friendly than having one long paragraph. :)

The slightly awkward moment involving the ring at the end was just perfect and made their relationship realistic and all the more endearing for it. I think it would have been so funny if he dropped it or put it on the wrong hand or something, since our Ron is not always calm in the best of times. You did a really strong job of showing the playfulness and grittiness of their relationship, and wrote it very well! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review. After reading your story, the fact that you liked mine is a HUGE compliment. I loved the suggestions you made about the speech and Ron getting muddled with the ring, I plan to go over my one shots after I've finished my current story and any feedback is really appreciated. I'm glad you liked the way Ron was portrayed in this, he's my favourite character to write and so often people get him completely wrong, making him violent etc, when really he couldn't hurt a fly!
Thank you again for your review, it really means a lot!


 Report Review

Review #9, by me The Proposal

19th April 2013:
EPIC!! ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT ALL!! I especially loved how you had him practice it in front of Harry, lol.

Author's Response: Thanks so much :) I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by bec The Proposal

19th April 2013:
I thought it was great! People underestimate Ron & how
romantic he could be because he was always the joker of the
group (and a tiny bit immature in his younger years) & I think
this showed the perfect balance of his romantic (for hermione
only) side & his everyday appearance side.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm glad you think so :)
I love writing Ron's character, he's so loveable. It always makes me mad when I read fantiction where he is a cheater or abusive cause he's not like that at all!
Thanks again for reading and reviewing :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login