Reading Reviews for In a Family Way
  
33 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jonia Epilogue

6th April 2014:
I've read a lot of fan fiction. This is a top 5 story. VERY well done and thank you!

 Report Review

Review #2, by BKL8008 Epilogue

24th February 2014:
A perfect ending to a great story!

 Report Review

Review #3, by BKL8008 And Baby Makes Three

24th February 2014:
Without trying to offend the ladies here, I can only say that this was a great read. I was on edge, I laughed, and I was reminded of my first Godson's arrival: "Not in the Mustang, baby! Keep those legs shut!" I was 19 you see, and the seats had just been redone. This told to a laboring woman at 140+ mph down the freeway...Great read!

 Report Review

Review #4, by ohmymerlin Epilogue

12th January 2014:
Oh, this story was brilliant. Although I kept crying whenever James, Sirius and Lily talked. It just makes me so upset that they didn't get to do this with lil Harry.

But I was also laughing the whole time. You really have a knack for writing humour. I loved all the characterisations, you got them really on spot!

I loved this epilogue, it was so sweet! I love Arthur, and he was just so sweet!

Anyway, I really loved this story! Thanks for the great read! :D

10/10!

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by ohmymerlin Guess Who's Coming to Dinner

11th January 2014:
Hello again!

I couldn't resist not reading on so I thought I'd review again!

I laughed SO loudly when Harry thought, 'Maybe he had seen a green witch'.

I also loved how they said Ron couldn't tell anything was up even if Harry had a massive parchment saying 'My Wife is Pregnant'. Poor Ron, he can be just so oblivious sometimes, ahhahaa :p

And the morning sickness quote about a man making it up made me laugh so loud. The whole chapter made me laugh, actually. I couldn't stop giggling all throughout it! If I didn't have music on I think my parents would be confused as to why I'm alone in my room laughing like a maniac.

This was such a good chapter, I'm going to definitely need to read on!

10/10 :)

- Kayla :)

Hufflepuff, 2014

 Report Review

Review #6, by ohmymerlin Change of Plans

11th January 2014:
Hello!

This was so cute! I love reading about Harry and Ginny, and you've written them so well. I laughed so loudly at the line, 'Tom Riddle had not had any power over his sex life.' It was such a Harry thing to say! :p

I also liked how Harry was muttering that he was not Ginny's house-elf, it seemed something like a husband would say :p

But it was really sweet how he was so concerned for her. He's an angel that Harry :p

Anyway, this was a really cute introductory chapter! And it was written really well! :D

10/10 :)

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by marauder5 Epilogue

23rd June 2013:
This was the perfect ending to a really sweet story! I've always imagined Harry being a bit insecure about becoming a father, since he's never really had a stable father figure in his own life. It's nice how James can give Harry a bit of advice, though.

And then you reminded me in the sweetest way that Harry did have a father figure all along, someone to look up to. Arthur. That was just perfect. The last paragraph was absolutely wonderful, and I think it was the perfect conclusion to the end the story.

I've really loved this story! I'm a bit sad that it's over, but it's perfect the way it is, so I guess it shouldn't be longer. Good luck in writing other stories, and I hope to see you again when you post a new one :)

Author's Response: Arthur is a lot of things that make him seem kind of odd and out of step with the rest of the world. But when it comes to being a father, he is unbelievably good. He and Molly took Harry into their hearts from the moment Ron began writing home about him. Harry was always going to find help there.
I'm so glad you believe the story to be wrapped up well. I haven't ever contemplated continuing it for that reason. People ask what happens next, and I have to tell them, "A lot of late nights and diapers, that's what. Nothing exciting to anyone but the new parents. This story is over." And I'm glad you agree. Thanks for sticking with it. ~GW


 Report Review

Review #8, by lauraf68 Epilogue

23rd June 2013:
Finally I've had a chance to catch up on HPFF reading and what do I find? You've finished re-posting this awesome story.
Poor Ginny, all that false labor and then ends up having Ron & Hermione deliver James.
I especially enjoyed the epilogue. I too have a father in law who is more of a father to me than my dad could be so I could relate to the emotional aspect of it all.
Thank you for an excellent reading experience. -Lauraf68

Author's Response: I appreciate you sticking with it until the end. Nothing too different in the reposting, just a few edits here and there. I'm glad you enjoyed the epilogue. I love showing how uniquely special the Weasley family is, not just among wizards, but among humans. Arthur and Molly took Harry as their own from the beginning, no questions asked, regardless of their financial situation. They'd have had him live at the Burrow if Dumbledore had allowed it. The details of JKR's work, and the threads she weaves that also allow us to pick them up and weave a bit more on our own, are pure genius. Thank you for going on Harry's little journey with me. I am so glad you liked it.~GW

 Report Review

Review #9, by harryginnyforever31 Epilogue

18th June 2013:
Great chapter. You ended the story on a good note with harry and Arthur having a heart to heart moment. I'm in love with this story and I do hope you continue it. I know it says completed but I wish you would still write. The story is fantastic. Great chapter

Author's Response: Sorry, that's the end. I'm so excited you enjoyed it, though! I couldn't resist giving Arthur some love. He is awesome. Thank you for reviewing!~GW

 Report Review

Review #10, by harryginnyforever31 And Baby Makes Three

17th June 2013:
Amazing chapter. If feel like Ron had a big moment in this chapter. I mean delivering that baby must have been hard being Ginny's brother and all. And oh my god Ginny was probably dying from all that pain. Harry seemed so surprised with the name and he was such a great husband during the delivery. He never left Ginny's side. It was sweet. All in all great chapter.

Author's Response: I adore Ron. I always try to give him a little extra love since he gets so mistreated in most fanfics. I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Only the epilogue left!~GW

 Report Review

Review #11, by marauder5 And Baby Makes Three

16th June 2013:
Wow! Well you're right about one thing, I'm sure neither Ron nor Ginny ever imagined it happening LIKE THAT - neither did I! It was quite a strange situation, and I felt so bad for all four of them, but maybe especially Ron and Ginny. However, Ron lightened up the mood with his funny comments - you write him so well, best out of all them, I think - for example, when he told Ginny that only she could get them into such a mess, and how it's against every law of nature for him to see what he has to see in order to catch the baby when it comes out. Well, thank God he manned up and did it, and I'm also glad that both he and Hermione completely forgot about the horror before when the baby finally arrived, and decided that they wanted to have one of their own. I would have loved to see more of Harry and Ginny's reactions to finally meeting their son, but maybe we'll get more of their love for him in the next chapter (the epilogue, right?) Once again, this was very good. The flow is perfect and it's so easily read. I can't wait for the next one, even though it's the last one! ;)

Author's Response: Ron is my favorite. I'm glad you think I write him well, because I try really hard to keep him in character. I do with all of them, but him especially because I think he's so mistreated in most fan fiction. There is an epilogue to come, and I hope it satisfies your need to see the little Potter family. Thank you so much!~GW

 Report Review

Review #12, by marauder5 Getting There is Half the Fun?

14th June 2013:
Yay! Another chapter! And a great one too - I always long for the next one, but I guess that James will be born in the next, and that it will be the final one? If so, I'll be a little sad, but I still can't wait for it. This story has been one of the greatest ones about Harry and Ginny becoming parents that I have read. I hope you'll write more longer stories after this one, because you are very talented.

Anyway, let's talk about this chapter:

Firstly, I thought that Ginny's humiliation was very believable and in character for her. I really think that this would have been her reaction: even though both Mrs Weasley and Harry tried to convince her that it was okay, she still made up her mind to not go back unless she really KNEW that the baby was coming.

The letter from Malfoy was really funny! I think that he was genuinely annoyed, but I also think it was quite sweet of him - almost as if he was reaching out to Harry, finally. It was great.

And giving Ron and Hermione the cottage - that really was a brilliant idea on Ginny's part, since she loved it so much. But argh, I was so frustrated that she refused to tell Harry what was going on. At least she finally got it out of her (even though Harry didn't seem to appreciate the timing...). I look forward to reading Ron and Hermione's reaction to that, how Harry will handle the birth, and to seeing little James, of course!

Author's Response: One chapter and an epilogue (Hey, if JKR did it, it must be the thing to do!) left. I'm so glad you're enjoying it. I had a great time writing it. I've been working on the story of Draco and Astoria for a while now, so hopefully that will be my next longer story. There's still a bit of excitement left to come. I hope you like it as much as I do! Thanks so much!~GW

 Report Review

Review #13, by AcydRaynbow Guess Who's Coming to Dinner

13th June 2013:
Beautifully done! I love your attention to detail and their facial expressions/surroundings!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you're enjoying it. I appreciate the review!~GW

 Report Review

Review #14, by lauraf68 The Name Game

3rd June 2013:
The last two chapters were amazing! So glad Ron took charge in the chapter and not only cleared the air with Malfoy, but saved Harry from himself and most of all Ginny and the baby.

This chapter was very cute with the baby showing its displeasure. My favorite part was Ginny & Kreatcher's scene and how she decided on the baby's name. I know Harry agrees since you follow canon, but I look forward to reading of his reaction.

-Lauraf68

Author's Response: I love that you pick up on the scenes that matter the most to me.
Ron and Ginny's relationship may suffer from their tempers, but you know that bond is too strong for a few fights to shake. Ron is nothing if not loyal to those he loves, and he's always been good in a crisis.
I tested my girls' names the same way. My mother always said you could always tell how much trouble you were in by how many of your names were used. Real trouble calls for all three, and it needs to roll off the tongue easily when yelled in a fit of anger. :)
I'm so glad you are enjoying the story. The last few chapters are being set to post soon!
~GW


 Report Review

Review #15, by marauder5 The Name Game

2nd June 2013:
This was so sweet! I loved the fact that Harry introduced the television to keep Ginny from getting too bored, and that George considered selling them in his shop. (Would they really work around magic, though? Isn't that why magical people don't use Muggle devices?)

Kreacher was a nice addition. I can definitely imagine him being proud to serve the Potters - after all, that is an honourable family name now, instead of Black. It was also really nice to have him plant the thought of James Sirius in her mind. I really liked that.

George and Angelina are brilliant! So glad to finally get to see the interaction between them :) Your portrayal of George, especially, is fantastic - he sounds just like the George we all know and love. As for the baby names, I'm surprised they didn't think of at least James after they had mentioned naming him after a deceased family member. But I guess they were distracted by George, right?

And then I guess we saw the first of James' actions! I loved how you had him stopping them from fighting. It was really sweet :) Ron and Ginny right before the wedding also made me go 'aww', because it reminded me so much of my own relationship with my big brother. You really nailed that sibling love, I think.

As ever, I can't wait for the next chapter! This one was another great one to add to the collection. I love this story and I hope you're proud of it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This was my first story longer than a one shot, so it is close to my heart. I'm glad you're enjoying it. I adore my twins, and writing a healing, happy George makes me smile. Ron and Ginny share that same temper, but they're always going to make up. You're probably right about the movies and magic, but I thought it was only mentioned that muggle devices didn't work at Hogwarts. Either way, I couldn't resist. Bed rest sucks, and I would never have survived without movies! I appreciate your review so much. The lady few chapters will be up soon!~GW

 Report Review

Review #16, by Greenfaery The Name Game

1st June 2013:
You have a wonderful way of writing. The story is beautiful and I felt like I was there in the corner watching. I laughed and cried. You have a great talent! I am excited to read more from you.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! This review made my day. I have the story completed and will be posting the last three chapters in the coming week. I appreciate your review! ~GW

 Report Review

Review #17, by marauder5 Sorting Her Priorities

28th May 2013:
This was another really great chapter of yours. I was worried for Ginny and the baby there for a while, but thankfully, it all worked out. It's nice that she and Ron finally made up, and that he got to be the 'hero' for once, and save day. Him and Malfoy, of course. It's nice too see a more mature side of Malfoy and Ron - i was great how Ron went over to thank him. I bet Ginny's going to be bored on bedrest, but she's going to have to manage. And yes! Angelina! That was just a brilliant move from Harry's side :) I can't wait for the next chapter, keep up the great work!

Author's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed this chapter. I adore Ron, and he is never given the credit he deserves in most fanfic. I wanted to show him being the hero for his sister. And though they are both pretty thick sometimes, Malfoy and Ron have both grown up. They're approaching thirty now, so they aren't angsty teenagers anymore. It's easier to distance themselves from what was and focus on what is.
I couldn't resist adding Angelina in there. My twins are my favorite, and I loved giving George his secret sweetheart, even though he wasn't fooling Harry in the slightest.
Thank you so much for reviewing! ~GW


 Report Review

Review #18, by lukelog925 Sorting Her Priorities

27th May 2013:
Great Chapter I think your version of the canon characters fit J.K Rowling's to a T.

I was wondering if you were going to add more chapters since in the info pain of your story it says "COMPLETED."

If you can let your appreciative readers know how many chapters you have planned would awesome.

p.s.

I like how you brought the George/Angelina canon into the story, along with Draco and Ron reconciling.
If you ever decide to do a next generation story I can say you've made it easier for Scorpius and Rose lol.

Author's Response: I am a canon fan. In my mind, if JKR didn't say it, it didn't happen. I write to extend her world, not change it. This story has been completed for a long time, and I'm just posting chapters every few days or so. There are 11 chapters total, so we're getting closer to the end. I'm so glad you're enjoying it. Thanks for reviewing!~GW

 Report Review

Review #19, by Ginger Lust Welcome Home

26th May 2013:
Wow. That was great. Tears were wept.
Brilliant chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you! I couldn't resist bringing in some of the old DA boys and giving Harry a surprise of his own. When he spoke with Dumbledore after the Battle of Hogwarts, I got the idea for portraits of his lost family. It just took me a while to work it into a story without it feeling too cheesy. It is still a little sappy, but I like it. Thank you so much for reviewing!~GW

 Report Review

Review #20, by marauder5 Welcome Home

25th May 2013:
It was so sweet when Harry got all exited about having a boy... and then Ginny's comment about Ron turning into a Pygmy Puff, that was so funny! :)

I definitely like the idea of Dean and Seamus working together. So Seamus might have exposed Harry's plans, but it all worked out! I'm glad that they're moving into a new house. The only thing I can point out (and this is merely because I'm such a canon-freak) is that they're not likely to have eight bedrooms. (Remember in the epilogue, how James and Albus offer to share rooms, just so that Teddy will be able to live with them? That suggests that they only have four bedrooms, doesn't it?) Well, anyway, it's not that big of a deal, but I just wanted to point it out :)

Oh, and by the way, I agree with Harry: with Weasley genes in him, that boy is going to need a LARGE ice-box, haha!

And Neville. He's just the best friend anyone can have, isn't he? I LOVE HIM! (sorry for my over-excitement, but his gesture was just too sweet!!) I love the idea of having portraits of Lily, James, and Sirius as well. That last part was very touching.

All in all, this was another wonderful chapter, and I look forward to the next one :)

Author's Response: You're right about the canon part, and them not having more than 4 rooms. I just went a little overboard with the house, I think. It was easy getting carried away giving Harry the home he's always dreamed of and deserved.
Neville is my favorite. I could totally see him doing this kind of thing. After reading that Dean was a good artist, I thought putting him in business with Seamus was just fun. Seamus is fearless, and doesn't care if he makes mistakes. He just keeps trying.
Any child with Weasley genes will eat his parents out of house and home within a week. A large icebox is a necessity.
I'm so glad you are enjoying it! Thanks so much for reviewing.~GW


 Report Review

Review #21, by harryginnyforever31 Welcome Home

23rd May 2013:
Keep writing more. I love this story. I can't get enough of it. Please write quickly!

Author's Response: It's all written! I just have to find the time to keep posting each chapter. I'm so happy you're enjoying it!~GW

 Report Review

Review #22, by lauraf68 Welcome Home

23rd May 2013:
Oh my! I missed your last update so I had 2 chapters to read, I was so excited! The previous chapter was HILARIOUS!! Percy and Bill had Harry's mind spinning, so glad that Arthur was there to help bring his anxiety down. Then what Audrey and Fleur were saying had me nodding my head in agreement while saying "Don't get Ginny too worried" (like my I-Pad had anything to do about it).

This chapter was just wonderful too. I like how Harry just jumped in after Ginny burned dinner, smart guy!! But then the whole new house idea had me so happy for Ginny. Just think, all new and she didn't have to stress or wear herself out.
Then came the room Neville decorated and the portraits. My goodness, you had me laughing through my tears (gotta love that Sirius Black and never mind that Lily can put him in his place).

Wonderful job!! Found one tiny typo: "Their feel touched solid ground,". I'm sure you meant "Their feet".
Take Care. Thanks for a great read, looking forward to more. -Lauraf68

Author's Response: Thanks for pointing out the typo! Going to fix it now!
I really loved writing this last chapter. I loved giving Harry his own little moment, and letting Neville have a part in it. The portrait idea came to me when I read the end of Deathly Hallows and Harry discussed his choices with Prof. Dumbledore. I was pretty happy with how it turned out, so I'm excited that others are enjoying it, too! Thank you so much for reviewing! ~GW


 Report Review

Review #23, by Ginger Lust Interesting Conversations

20th May 2013:
That was great. I really enjoyed it. Poor Harry. You'd think the other fathers would try to be consoling... but no... they just had to scare him. LOL It was great. Same goes for the ladies.
Molly's part was hilarious but understandable. I laughed hard.

Eagerly awaiting more.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Thank you so much for the review!~GW

 Report Review

Review #24, by marauder5 Interesting Conversations

20th May 2013:
I really enjoyed this! I think it was funny how everyone scared the parents-to-be with their horror stories of parenthood! However, one think that doesn't quite make sense to me is that Harry felt he didn't know anything about babies, when he has taken care of Teddy and when they have a whole bunch of nieces and nephews. I get that it's very different when you have kids of your own, a MUCH bigger responsibility etc., but he should be familiar with 'spit-up', shouldn't he? Well, it was still funny.

Also, I wanted to comment on Percy. In my mind, he changes a lot after the war, but I think this would have been even better if he had kept some of his old traits. I like how you made him act like he knew everything about being a father, when he really didn't, but I think you could have stretched it even further. For example, maybe Bill should have been the one to talk about sex life after the baby is born, and then you could have Percy blush and be very awkward about it? I don't know, these are just suggestions. It is your story, after all ;)

I do, however, love your writing style! I can tell that you put an effort into each chapter to make it as good as possible, and you're successful! This is one of the better stories I've read about Harry and Ginny becoming parents! It really makes sense that Harry would worry about being a good father, since he doesn't really have a role model. Also, I think that the interaction between Harry and Ginny is brilliantly written. And of course Mrs Weasley would be upset that they didn't run straight to her as soon as they found out...

Well, you should be very content with the story so far, and I look forward to reading the rest of it! Please post the next one as soon as possible :)

Author's Response: I love Percy's character. He's very complex. I really wanted to show how he still has to be the 'expert' on everything. When Bill decided to get real, he had to show that he knew ALL about that. And after you're that age and married, you really don't get awkward or blush much. Especially with your brothers.
I'm so glad you are enjoying the story! Thank you so much for reviewing!~GW


 Report Review

Review #25, by Ginger Lust Keeping Appointments

28th April 2013:
That was beautiful. I don't normally read Harry Ginny stories. I've only read two short ones before this one. But I am beginning to like them. (I'm more into R/Hr) I am enjoying your story very much.

OK. Still just abit upset about Ginny going to a Malfoy doctor but at least she, Astoria, is only interested in helping.
Loved Harry hexing Draco. He deserved it yet again. Maybe he'll learn soon. And with, what I'm sure will happen more and more for Harry and Draco, more exposure to each other, both will hopefully get along better without hexing each other to death! Or having their wives hex them theirselves. LoL

Anyway, great chapter... looking forward to more.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing. I am a huge canon fan, so I adore Ron and Hermione almost as much as Harry and Ginny. Draco has come a long way, but he and Harry are never going to be friends. There is just too much between them in their past. They may, however, learn to tolerate each other's existence on the planet. I appreciate the review! Thanks again!~GW

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>