Reading Reviews for The Brave at Heart
  
186 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Felpata Lupin II. In the End

17th October 2014:
Hi again, Kristin!
I just finished reading this and, well... I really don't know what to say!
All the story was amazing, just as usual. And this ending... I'm not sure if I'm supposed to cry or smile... I mean, I always knew where this was heading (it's always a bit cruel in this kind of stories to grow so affectionate to all the characters and then be reminded in the end of their cruel fates... I didn't really expect Melanie to die that way, though... That was so sad...) but I'm somehow glad that they're going to have a bit of the happiness they deserved at least in the afterlife, if this even makes sense...
Anyway, lovely work, just as always!
Hugs,
Chiara.

Author's Response: Hi Chiara!
Wow, thanks! This was actually the first story I ever wrote - although it's not as well written as some of my more recent work, this story will always be close to my heart. It means a lot to me that you liked it that much and felt attached to the characters! :)

That's exactly what I was going for with the ending. While I wish they could have had a happily ever after, there wasn't really a way to end it happily and still canon... and besides, I just love bittersweet endings ;)

Thank you so much for your review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by hermionehero I. Epilogue: Sixteen years later

5th October 2014:
Loved your story! What a treat to read! You are a good writer. Hope you write more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so thrilled you enjoyed the story :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Rumpelstiltskin Carry That Weight

18th September 2014:
Hello!

Wow, Mel's all about asking Sirius questions that he doesn't exactly want to answer: first about Remus, then the nicknames, and then Regulus -- she's on a role! At least Sirius seems to be opening up to her a little bit, what with actually having a conversation with her about his brother. (Also, I'm sure that Sirius' claw hand looks absolutely fabulous, because he's Sirius :p .)

“The world is not split into good people and Death Eaters, Sirius,” -- That's actually a very powerful line, in my opinion. Not only does being a Death Eater seem to define a person's good or evil status, especially in people like Sirius' opinion, but there are also people who aren't becoming Death Eaters who aren't necessarily good people. Mel's ability to see this, influenced slightly by Nathan's involvement, is a strong show of her characterization as it conflicts Sirius'. Though, there is that strong bond of similarity between them, as both of their brothers are either Death Eaters or soon-to-be Death Eaters, so that element alone provides an essential commonality. Which, of course, means, queue awkward hand-holding meant to be a gesture of friendship ^.^ hahahah. Teenage love.

Speaking of, I love James and Lily's interaction here. That tentative dancing that Lily's doing around her feelings, while showing the desire to speak to James and be around him is absolutely fantastic. Her denial of actual feelings towards James I think is not only for everybody else's benefit, but for her own, like she's trying to convince herself that she really doesn't show an interest. However, it's almost as if she's partially admitted to herself that she's developing feelings for him, already. ♥

Yes, I would think that learning how to dissuade Peeves from his pestering would result in life at Hogwarts being just a tad more tolerable. ^.^

Gah, wow Mel...*cough* thinking before she speaks isn't exactly her strength, is it? Baha, it made ME laugh, though, even if it was a little bit horrifying for her. I do love her rationale when she decided that she was never going anywhere near Sirius ever again -_-...poor Mel. I can imagine that she's quite embarrassed, even though her cover was oh-so-suave.

Of course, it didn't help that Vanessa assisted in the revision and spreading of the tale. I think that, in her position, I would have just locked myself in a cupboard and refused to come out for the remainder of the year...or until someone did something so embarrassing that everybody forgot about the incident. Yeah...

What was he going to tell her?! Stupid, giggling girl *hmph*. I'd like to hex her, myself, to be quite honest. Luckily, Sirius took the events of the previous day lightly, overlooked the rumors, and was able to maintain his friendship with Mel. You've really nailed this charismatic aspect to him that I really just love about him, and would expect him to be like.

“You know, there’s nothing going on with me and Carol,” he said cautiously. “We’re just friends.” -- His justification proves, to the readers, that Sirius might have actual feeling for Mel. Of course, with both of them being teenagers and dancing around the subject like teenagers do, it leaves Mel feeling worn out because these kids refuse to process their feelings O.o! So, yeah, the main topic of this review is teenage love (don't mind me). Obviously, they're just both very confused by their feelings, and don't know how to handle those feelings, so they just play this back-and-forth game. It fits perfectly into the story, building up tension to the point where you want to scream 'Just kiss, already!' -- which is an absolutely fantastic thing.

I'm rambling.

Well, isn't Mandy the romantic ;). Though, Althea doesn't seem to mind the soup incident, and that she does, in fact, have a crush on Hector. ♥

I think one's own personal ghost would be a pretty neat thing to have.

Oh boy, Death Eaters inside the castle...that's going to start a panic. Well, yes, actually that's exactly what happened. Parents (as well as students) will be wondering if Hogwarts is a safe enough place to be.

Ouch, Althea, that was pretty harsh. Though, Slytherin House DOES seem to be under fairly constant speculation...poor Slytherins ;). The war is happening...and it just seems to be escalating! Things are really going to hit the fan when they're OUTSIDE Hogwarts...

:D Great chapter!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Rumpel! You're such an amazing reviewer, like where do I even start with this review other than "bkjasjhkd"

That conversation was one of my favourite parts to write about this chapter as they finally TALKED about important stuff and connected on a deeper level. I really like the connections you drew here between Melanie and Sirius - although they do have the commonality of having brothers involved in the other side, they have very different perspectives of it. I do like that line in particular - Sirius said something to that effect in OotP when talking to Harry (and in my mind at least, he was recalling this conversation with Mel :P)

You hit the nail on the head with what I was trying to convey with Lily, and I'm so thrilled it came across that way. That's the way I imagine it too - she was trying to deny it to herself for a while, but her shell is cracking by this point!

Well, Melanie does usually say what's on her mind, which in this case is unfortunate when things like that are on her mind. Maybe it would have been easier if Sirius actually picked up on it, too. :P

Aw, thanks! That really means a lot to me that you think I've done the characterization well with Sirius.

Hmm.. does he actually have feelings for her? Who knows, because as you said - like teenagers do, they just get awkward about it. Ughhh sometimes I just wanted to yell at all the characters :p I'm glad you like that dynamic and all the building tension though!

Mandy is too much of a romantic! :P Sometimes when writing her lines I was just doing these huge eyerolls at how absurd she is.

Panic indeed. That would be super scary.

That was definitely harsh from Althea - she's normally quite a nice person but as you can imagine she's under a lot of stress, and that does sometimes crack even the nicest people. Poor Slytherins indeed. The war must have been a bad time to be a snake.

Thanks so much for your amazing and thoughtful review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by Rumpelstiltskin Second Hand News

27th August 2014:
Ah! There are so many of your stories that I need to read!...and I need to finish this first!

Jeeze! Hector is all over the Quiddich tryouts (but who wants to try out for a sport directly after eating lunch...yuck)! It's a bit adorable that he's so excited, though :). After some of James Potter's classic nonsense -- because how do you possibly involve James without his nonsense -- I was glad to see the Mel made the team ^.^. Yay! Oh, this means that there will be a fierce competition between Gryffindor and Slytherin this year...whoo!

Unfortunately for Mel, Jasper WAS good at the tryouts! I don't suppose breaking his legs would do much good, with magic and all...wouldn't keep him out for the season.

Haha...I love the way the next section began. Charlotte's little crush vanishes at a bad grade...that was pretty priceless. My friends and I weren't as kind as Mandy was in school -- we'd laugh at each other if they got a bad grade and we didn't... *cough* all in good fun, of course ;). Charlotte's course of vengeance (doodling unflattering caricatures) seems like a good outlet.

Vanessa Saltz...that's never good. Oh, bahaha, spider-in-the-hair is classic ;). I would have freaked out, too, if somebody told me there was a spider in my hair (but it's much funnier to see someone like Vanessa freak out). Ink on your essay is not as funny :( (escape, before you face the wrath of Pince)!!!

*Cough* Anyway. Aww! Lily's flirting a little with James :D. She may not realize it yet, but I think he's starting to grow on her ♥ .

I've seen people's hair dance on the breeze before...though mine never seems to do so. If the wind catches my hair, it typically flies back into my face, blinding me in the process. I must find out the secret to dancing hair.

At any rate, the girls are right -- that's completely adorable of James :D. I do love watching this slow process of Lily figuring out her feelings...it makes it all quite romantic.

Are Mel's attempts to flee from Luke's sight finally at a stop? Is Luke finally going to stop asking her out? Hooray! (For now, any way.) I feel a little less bad for him now that he has a girlfriend, though that doesn't necessarily mean that he's still not harboring feelings for Mel. Ugh, teenage love is complicated.

That's true...Voldemort won't stroll into Hogwarts until the next war...but that's besides the point. At least they know where Mark is, but Hogwarts might be one of the safest places to be at the moment. O.O Hopefully something doesn't happen to Mark.

Though, with Death Eater's being recruited, it might not be the absolute safest place ever. Camille's not worried about Voldemort...oh boy...she'll figure it out.

O.O Oh goodness. The wrath of Pince! I love how much she worries about the books ;)...she IS the librarian, so if she didn't worry, then there would probably be an issue.

Aww...poor Mel. Sirius just likes playing with everybody's emotions, so I can't blame her for feeling that way. Aha, but Mandy's over him (for real this time) or so she says. That's difficult to judge. On one hand, Mandy's straightforward telling Mel to ask him out, but I'm kind of afraid that Mandy will become jealous again, and they don't want to fight anymore!

Or...Mandy has a crush on Remus. That's too cute. ♥ Well, Remus is closed-off for better reasons than 'most blokes'...but we'll see how that plays out. *Excited*

Just ignore Jasper, Mel...this is what practice is for...to practice :D.

Great chapter! I seem to be taking forever to read today, sorry about the delay!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Wow, Rumpel, what a review! ♥

Hector has to be enthusiastic, he's the captain! But yeah, no one else wants to go immediately from lunch to tryouts :S Haha, yes, as if Gryffindor and Slytherin didn't already have fierce competition!

Mandy is generally very kind. Which is good I suppose because Charlotte is generally not! And a bad grade definitely gets a professor out of her good graces. :p

I always had the feeling that Lily had excellent hair - absolutely the type that would dance. Ah, bummer about you getting a face full of hair when it's windy, I sympathise. Mine usually just looks like I hugged a Van de Graaff generator (ie a huge mess).

I loved writing Lily and James' slow (REALLY SLOW) process of growing up and changing. Aw! Glad you enjoyed that too :)

'Ugh, teenage love is complicated' - yep. Pretty much sums this chapter up :p

It is a weird time in the war - some people don't realize the danger (particularly the younger students), no one really knows where is safe... as I see it, it was probably a lot like the beginning of the second war, only no one knew quite what to expect the first time around! :/

Thanks so much for your review!!!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Ribbons Carry That Weight

18th August 2014:
Hey Kristin!

I loved this chapter. It was really, really great. I loved all the Sirius/Melanie interactions, as well as the Lily and James stuff that happened.

I also ADORED the tiny part about Lancelot the cat. I know, I'm weird. What can I say?

My one suggestion is for you to go into a little bit more detail about the death eater attack, like the panic in the corridors and what everyone was doing and what ministry employees were there etc. I also found myself wishing for Sirius and James's reactions, which might be a little weird.

So, that's it for now because I really want to read the next chapter.

Lots of love,

Alena

Author's Response: Hey Alena! Aw, I'm so glad to hear that! It's wonderful to hear that you like Sirius and Melanie. And yes - we are finally getting into the part of the story where there's chemistry between James and Lily too. :P

One of my favourite things to write is just the little, trivial daily life things (which, I suppose this story is just a lot of those little things strung together, haha) so I'm glad you appreciated the bit about Lancelot! :D

Ah, yeah you're right that definitely would have been nice to add! I think for Melanie it was just general confusion, so her thoughts aren't very clear about exactly what is going on where. Unfortunately with first person it limits the accessibility to other people's reactions, and things are seen through her lens... Or it could be because I wrote this part of the story around three years ago and I just wasn't as descriptive of a writer back then :p

Thanks so much for your review! Hope you continue to enjoy :)



 Report Review

Review #6, by Ribbons What Friends Are For

6th August 2014:
I am shipping Sirius/Melanie so hard right now, I feel a little bit insane. I know the story is obviously about their romance. but I still feel like I'm over thinking every interaction, just to construct some kind of attraction between them. When the map spouted that whole 'hot' thing, I literally screamed I was so pumped.
Looking forward to reading the next chapter!

Ribbons

Author's Response: Hehehe :D Well, the first half of the story is more about friendship. But yes... we're getting there - I'm so glad you liked that scene! I had way too much fun writing it haha. Thanks so much for your lovely review - it means so much to me that you're enjoying the story!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Ribbons Beginnings

5th August 2014:
Oh my god, I am so excited to read more. This is amazing! As soon as Melanie was sorted into Slytherin, I knew this story was going to be fresh and interesting. It's almost always a given that the main characters are in Gryffindor (or at least the OCs that fall for the marauders are). Either that or it's considered no big deal and there's no animosity at all, which is unrealistic. When you think about it, Slytherins would be pranked more than anyone else, would have to endure being considered 'evil' and have bad morals and they would also have trouble finding good dates outside of their house because of their house's reputation. I mean - that's completely awful! I am so glad that you have put in this early and major plot point/twist. It's genius! Can't wait to read more.
Cheers!

Ribbons

Author's Response: Eeee! Your review was the most wonderful thing to find when I logged on today! ♥ I am so glad to hear that you think the story is fresh and interesting. I love what you said about the Gryffindor/Slytherin thing too, Slytherins get a bad rep in the books and I like to think that the relationship between the two houses isn't always enmity, but sometimes just intense rivalry -I really enjoyed writing that aspect. So stoked that you like the story so far! I hope you continue to enjoy it!! ♡

 Report Review

Review #8, by gigi Stepping on a Serpent

23rd July 2014:
Absolutely loved this chapter. Your story is quite addicting. Thanks for making me very happy.

Did the scarecrow win the award for being out-standing in his field?

Author's Response: Hi again! Thank you so much for your kind words - that is so lovely to hear :)

And yes, that is the answer to the riddle! :D Gold star for you ☆


 Report Review

Review #9, by gigi Those Who Defied the Dark Lord

22nd July 2014:
OK this chapter lost me. Too much dialogue in the middle of a battle when there's spells and curses flying all around and I found myself rolling my eyes quite a bit. But hopefully this is the only chapter that feels off, because the rest has been pretty good so far.

Author's Response: I'm sorry you didn't like this chapter... there was a lot that needed to be said, so there were a couple of points where Mel wasn't fighting/ was searching for Lester with Charlotte, because that was more important to her than fighting. I hope you enjoy the rest of the story though. Thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by gigi The Moonlit Knight

22nd July 2014:
Why does Sirius have to be such an idiot and say the wrong thing? I just read "How to tame a Marauder" and there too Sirius had to say something stupid to hurt his gf and jeopardize the relationship. I was hoping this story would be different. I hope Mel is not like Laura who wasted a lot of time being mad at him and can sort this out quickly. Because if this story continues to stick to canon like HTM, we know time is short what with Sirius' future in Azkaban, exile and an early death. I wish it was Remus that told Mel the secret or at least all 4 together.

Other than that I loved this chapter and the story so far.

Author's Response: Hi! About Sirius saying the wrong thing - he is a rather impulsive person in canon, and in writing this story I was trying to stick to canon as well. And teenagers make mistakes in relationships. I was trying to write Sirius and Mel as realistic, flawed people who are learning. And yes, time is short :( I think it would have been nice if Remus was able to tell the secret too, but things don't always work out in the best way.

Anyway, I'm glad you are enjoying the story so far, thank you :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by sjar Flying Together, Falling Apart

16th July 2014:
i think you've done a pretty awesome job!!!

Author's Response: Aww! Thanks so much!! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by papilio II. In the End

16th July 2014:
just finished!! btw im the person who said there from wales. Btw I thought you where from America at some point in the story but other times I wasn't sure because you used place that are not big capital like London. glad you did your research. i love remus so much he just so cute and you always made me laugh. i laughed so loud earlier when everyone was in bed (akw) haha
papilio xox

Author's Response: Hello again! Yeah, I tried to include a lot of things that weren't London, because I know the UK is more than that ;) I'm glad the research paid off - and I've been there too which helps. Remus is one of my fave characters, I'm so glad you liked him in this story, and that I made you laugh! :) it means a lot to me that you enjoyed the story, thanks for reading and for your reviews!

 Report Review

Review #13, by papilio Mandy's Lonely Hearts Club Band

16th July 2014:
just wondering where you are from (love the story so much aha, that why im still up reading it at 5am lol)
PAPILIO XOX
ps. im from wales!

Author's Response: Wow, I'm so flattered that my story has kept you up until 5am reading. Thank you! But get some sleep! :p
(And I'm American... does it show? haha)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Rumpelstiltskin A New Start

12th July 2014:
Hey there! Long-time-no-see ^.^.

While both Mandy and Mel have had an extremely eventful summer, I'm glad that they're on good terms with each other. They're going to need their friendship after this last year at Hogwarts (or before) when they're really being impacted by the war. It's also refreshing to see everybody on the Hogwarts Express chit-chating and getting on so nicely, catching up after the summer. Going back to Hogwarts seems like finally returning home.

Ouch, those are some rough comments about werewolves! I see that none of the girls really threw in their opinions (I wonder if they'll find out about Remus, and how they'd react)! Anticipation. O.O Sirius shouldn't hit the glass so hard. If he were to damage his brain, well, let's just say I'm fearful for everybody :D (haha, look I made a joke).

Oh look, it's Snape! Yeah, it must be difficult to know that you were fairly good friends with somebody when you began your school adventure, but then not even have them acknowledge your presence at some point. Well, they'll be at fairly opposite sides of the war, anyway, but you know what I mean.

I do love the random bits of dialogue thrown in, just as little, normal conversations that the girls are having during the day (you know, comparing one to the other's cat and whatnot) -- it never fails to make me laugh.

D'aw, she so has a crush on Sirius, it's almost painful to watch her try to avoid that. Albeit, I understand that she's trying to keep her distance in order to stay on good terms with Mandy (which is important)...still funny though. On a side note, Lily needs to learn to love James :p -- though, shouting at him may very well be her way of show him love ^.^. Of course, Sirius HAD to get him in trouble...oh boys.

Well, after all of that Sirius watching, strangling fights could be a form of flirting. Sorta. Well, I think it might be. Ooooh, maybe if Mandy does have a crush on Remus, then Mel might get the OK to pursue her crush on Sirius. Maybe...nothing's set in stone for teenage girls.

I'm sure Remus can keep a secret ;).

Oh Luke...just give it up already, yeah? That boy is persistent I tell you. Heheh, but the line "use the force Luke" made the entire scene, so I'm perfectly fine with him not giving up :D

Great chapter, it's nice to get back to this story!

-Rumpel

::Slytherin - House Cup - 2014::

Author's Response: Rumpelll ♥

They have indeed had an eventful summer. But yay for strong friendships! :)

Yeah.. it certainly doesn't help that they didn't like the professor to begin with. But I think that probably not everyone was tolerant, so yeah Russell comes across as kind of tactless there :-/

Losing friendship is always hard. Even if it's someone who turned to dark magic and hates your new friends - but they were friends once so it's difficult :(

Haha, thanks, I'm so glad you like that! I really enjoy writing the random, completely unnecessary conversations haha

I don't recall age 16-17 as being particularly easy for romance. So everyone is confused about what everyone else thinks, and has to resort to shouting, or attention-seeking hair strangling, or generally failing to express feelings in a normal way.

That line was like the whole reason for that scene, I couldn't resist XD I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Thanks! It's great to see you back! Thank you for your lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by SkyEcho Counterstroke

10th July 2014:
Hi Kristin!!

This chapter was great! I'm really enjoying the developing friendship between Remus and Melanie. And I look forward to reading more about the prank war haha.
I love how Melanie isn't afraid to stand up for herself, or others she feels are being treated unfairly. It was interesting to see Regulus here and I like how we get a sense of how truly different the brothers are. It was nice to see some support for Melanie at the end!

I'm really enjoying your story so far and can't wait to find out what happens next :)

*House Cup 2014 Review*

Author's Response: Hi Kristen! :D

Thank you! I really loved developing their friendship as it is such an unlikely one. The prank war does return in the next chapter I believe.

Melanie's not that brave, but she is kind of easily goaded into things and is sometimes too honest, has a smart mouth :p I'm glad you liked Regulus' appearance too - I figured he had to show up at some points as he's in the same house as Mel.

It means so much to me that you are enjoying the story, thank you SO much!! I really appreciate the review! ♡


 Report Review

Review #16, by td II. In the End

16th June 2014:
I really like your story..but I wish the ending was a happy one tho..

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks, I'm thrilled that you enjoyed it! I wish it could have ended happily too, but it had to be this way :( Thank you for reading!

 Report Review

Review #17, by CambAngst A Message and a Mess

12th June 2014:
Tagging you from Review Tag!

Can I tell you how stoked I was to get back to this story? Very stoked, indeed!

Melanie's brother seems to have one crazy owl. Like a larger, more dangerous version of Pigwidgeon. The letter that she brought was anything but amusing, however. I like how you're maintaining some mystery around Melanie's brother and parents. Are they or aren't they?

Mandy seems to be taking it all fairly well, considering her mixed parentage. I like the fact that you've introduced at least one Slytherin character to this story who isn't a pureblood. Or Snape, I guess. It really helps to balance the perspective out a bit.

Moving along to the prank. It seemed pretty clever in the state we first see it in, but it looks like things are only going to get more interesting. Three of the house tables look pretty and smell nice, the Slytherins are going to get a nasty rash -- possibly poisoned -- and Filch is going to have a major allergy attack. It seems well thought out and probably better than the broom closet prank from the Slytherin girls, especially considering that it hasn't fully played out yet.

My goodness, have the Slytherin girls been tricked into taking the fall for the Marauders' prank? I'm really feeling the need to move on to the next chapter, just to see whether Remus, Sirius and the others took off just before Filch arrived on the scene!

Another enjoyable chapter, albeit a tad short. Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Do you know how stoked I was to see this awesome review? So stoked! Seriously, it means so much to me that a splendid writer like yourself enjoys this story.

I think his owl was sort of inspired by Pigwidgeon, actually. I guess when you get a new owl it probably has to adjust to its task of carrying letters, right? And the letter.. yeah. There's a lot Melanie isn't aware of outside Hogwarts just because she's shielded from it at school, so that's a reminder for her that she should be thinking about it.

Melanie is not a pureblood either - I think probably a lot of Slytherins weren't purebloods. There would certainly be fewer people with Muggle heritage but I seem to remember that the number of completely pureblood families is pretty low.

Their prank was probably much better planned out, yes - after all they are known for this sort of thing! And... well. They aren't exactly friends with the Slytherin girls yet, as it would take more time for them to drop such an ingrained house rivalry, so... perhaps they wouldn't be above doing that. We shall see. ;)

Thank you so much for your review!!


 Report Review

Review #18, by toomanycurls II. In the End

11th June 2014:
I HOPE YOU'RE READING FOR SOME SHOUTING AND KNOWING THAT THERE WERE UNWRITTEN CURSE WORDS IN THIS REVIEW!!

I was really excited that you mentioned Melanie and Sirius at least having a friendship during GoF. You get kudos for that. Sirius' downward slide is understandable while everyone is gone from Grimmauld Place. WHY DID SHE PULL AWAY FROM THE KISS?!!?!?!?!??!?! *cough* sorry

Their letter writing campaign made me squee and I was looking forward to more snogging...

...UNTIL...

I'm tearing up again just getting back to that spot in the story. (Maybe I'm for-real kind of crying right now)

THERE AREN'T WORDS FOR THIS PART JUST KNOW I'M ANGRY AND THINKING A LOT OF MEAN THOUGHTS ABOUT WHAT I COULD DO TO BREAK YOUR HEART.

The after the veil bit was a gush of fuzzy feels that I needed after feeling so terribly sad about Mel's death. I love the idea of them trotting off together into afterlife land where they can snog and hold hands and NOT HAVE YOU HARM THEM ANYMORE!!

I should probably comment on how well you characterized Sirius in this chapter with his OotP mood/attitude (I felt like I could have rolled this into my Remus/Tonks stories).

WHOO! i'm famous! At least I was mentioned in your A/N. I really loved this story and can't believe it's done and I kind of hate you for breaking my heart. (Just kidding, I still love you.)

-Rose

Author's Response: Aww! I loved this review, despite (or maybe because of?) all the shouting and implied curse words :p Your enthusiastic reviews on this story siriusly always made my day.

I wanted Sirius to have at least something while he was alone in that cave. On the occasions that he talked to Harry in GoF he seemed happy, so I figured an old friendship was possible! SORRYYY because she's married! :p Though, I imagine that kiss probably went on for several minutes before she pulled away, if that makes you feel any better, haha.

I'm sorry about that part! But I had to. :( It was either that or create a massive plot hole, as she wasn't around in the second war. Plus Sirius was pretty miserable in Grimmauld Place and this was like another reason for him to be sulky, not that he needed more reasons.

I don't really do happily ever after (yep, shock, right? I can see the surprise on your face) but this was as close as I could get! At least they have a happily ever after when they're dead... :p

Ahh, thanks about the characterization! You know it's funny, since I've actually had this story finished for a year and a half, I was thinking the same thing when I read your R/T stories, how they fit into my own headcanon. In your story sometimes when Sirius was moody I was thinking "ITS BECAUSE HE'S GRIEVING ABOUT MELANIE" and then I was like wait, wrong story. And that would have been obnoxious of me. But haha yay thank you!

You are famous! Eternal glory and a gold star for you. Thank you so, so much for reading and I am so thrilled that you loved the story, that is such a wonderful compliment. Sorry about the heartbreak. Here's this though: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by lindslo2012 Beginnings

11th June 2014:
Hey there!
This is a very good first chapter to the story.
I always enjoy the Maurauder's era and stories like your's make me enjoy it even more. :)
I think that you do very well with description and it made me feel like I was actually into the story. Another thing is in Maurauder fics I don't hear about Snape much and I would like to more. So I was pretty happy that you mentioned him in your chapter and I hope we see more of him while the story goes on.
I always tend to enjoy the scenes with Lily and James in them because they just make me smile even if they aren't together now it makes me happy to think that they eventually will be- unless you don't make them be of course because it is your story. Well, good job! And I hope that I can read some more so feel free to come by and request a review you can find the link to my thread on my profile!
Thanks for the good read, can't wait to read your review!
-Lindsey

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you! Aw, that is so sweet of you! :) That is wonderful to hear about the description too - this is my earliest fic so I had thought the description wasn't impressive - so that is very reassuring :) And yes! Snape as well as the MCs are in Slytherin together so he does pop up every now and then!

I love Lily/James too! Haha, I don't really think I'm spoiling anything by telling you that they do indeed get together :p This story is meant to be as canon as possible.
Thanks for your lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Nick Progression

9th June 2014:
Umm chudley cannons would never win a game. But so far it's good, and also what does OC mean? Or OtherCanon? And which character is which as far as the whole OC thing goes? Thx.

Author's Response: Haha... poor Ron, that's serious dedication to still like such a bad team :p Thank you so much, that is wonderful to hear that you like the story so far! So yeah, Other Canon is HPFF's way of listing characters that are really minor in the books, like Avery, Mary Macdonald, etc, and OC stands for Original Character which is any character I made up, such as Melanie, Charlotte, etc. Hope that clarifies it for you :) Thanks so much for reading and for your review!!

 Report Review

Review #21, by toomanycurls I. Epilogue: Sixteen years later

3rd June 2014:
I CAN'T BELIEVE I'M HERE ALREADY!!! I REMEMBER VALIDATING THIS BUT REVIEWING IT IS SO FINAL.

I'm really happy that Melanie and Nathan are close again. And I love that he's involved with Ali Bashir because it makes me feel like he was jsut off the pages of the books.

THEY SHOULD HAVE DONE THE CARPE DIEM THING TOO AND GOTTEN MARRIED EVEN THOUGH IT WOULD HAVE BEEN TRAGIC. phew. I had to get that out. I'll be getting a lot of things out this chapter.

Considering that Sirius was ripped away from Melanie (not your fault but I'm still bitter with you about it) I think you did it in a very kind way. At least she woke up after it happened.

I'M STILL GOING TO GET SHOUT-Y THOUGH BECAUSE... i wanted this to be au and for them to live happily ever after. This had to be such a shock. You portray her disbelief very well - ENOUGH WILL THE FEELS. I CAN ONLY TAKE SO MUCH. MY HULL IS CRACKING (that was in Scotty's voice)

Um, really good job weilding the feels with Melanie evading the aurors and going to collect her things. Just :'( that's all

:-o SIRIUS WENT TO VISIT HER!!! AND SHE JUST THINKS IS A CUNNINGLY SIMILAR BLACK DOG. aw, it's almost worst now that he thought she was dead. I thought my feels were already worn out but nope. dude, I'm only like a quarter of the way down the page. CAN I JUST FAST FORWARD TO THE SNOGGING?

Yay, she believes him. ...why are't they snogging? :P

:( Cake baking is ruined by the fact that she got married. ugh they could have done a cake batter moment.

Sirius is being quite unfair. I really like Melanie's take on making the best of what she had. :) It's a great message.

...and snogging! ??!

haha, wait, he made that cake without knowing the ingredients?

Okay, cake round 2 better have snogging.

Um, I'd like to suggest an edit here: They held on to each other for a long time, but finally jumped apart when there was a loud crack from outside.

and add that they snogged passionately ;)

SHE SHOULD HAVE SAID SHE LOVES HIM. I'M ALL BESIDE MYSELF THAT HE EVEN SAID IT BUT AHAHHAKLAKLAWOIFNAKLSDFJKLAJFKLASJFLASFJLKAWJF.

I should say something about how sweet her family is but I just can't right now.

Amazing chapter

-Rose

Author's Response: Rose!! All right, confession, I've held off on responding to this review simply because it's so lovely and I keep just coming back to re-read it! ♡

Haha thanks! I wanted Nathan to be far enough removed that he'd managed to lie low and not get caught by Voldemort, but still with some tie in to canon so that he seems more real and connected with the books. And he deserved some sort of happy ending because no one else gets one haha.

I knowww... I think they would have gotten married after the war, if they'd been able to. SORRY I HAD TO! You can thank JKR for the heartbreaking feels and making Sirius go to Azkaban.

Aw, yeah I guess it was the kindest way I could have done it, but there was really no nice way it could happen. As it was he thought she was dead and she woke up to a terrible surprise, but... I suppose it could have been worse. She could have died. I did seriously consider that, but I wanted to write an angsty bittersweet reunion instead. :p

I'm glad you thought her disbelief and reaction seemed real. She had always been the type to run from difficult things so it seemed like something she'd do to escape.

Of course Sirius is being unfair ;) Azkaban really stalled him, so that he's hung up on the past because he didn't have those 13 years to change and move on, whereas a lot happened for Melanie during that time. :-/

Lol, yeah that must have been a terrible cake. I think he just poured some ingredients in without measuring, thinking it'd all be fine.

Gaahh sorry about that scene :p Sirius has nothing to lose, and Melanie does still love him, but can't say it.. I was seriously soo drained after writing this chapter! I apologise for the lack of snogging though. :p

THANK YOU SO MUCH for this amazing review! You're the best!! ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #22, by J E P Andela II. In the End

26th May 2014:
So, this is it. I can hardly believe it's all over!! One of the most beautiful endings ever written. Just... WOW!

"Well, the Death Eaters killed one of the Unspeakables" and I went, OH NO, not Melanie!! But of course it was and I think it was very noble of you. To have them reunited! I absolutely loved the ending, everyone back together. Maybe there is a life after death, like Nangijala or Nangilima. Where they can live happily ever after. Oh, and Charlotte. Brave and beautiful Charlotte!!

Really, I cannot find the words to tell you how much I loved and adored this story! Thank you so so much for sharing!! I know I will read it again and again, whenever I feel sad or unhappy.

Thank you!
-Julia

Author's Response: Julia ♡

Ahh I just want to hug this review (and you)!!! I am so, so honoured that you liked this story and stuck with it, and left such amazing reviews. And wow such a compliment that the ending was beautiful - aww! Thank you so much!!

gah I know, I felt bad about killing everyone off but I had to! :p But I liked the idea of those voices behind the veil being like a big reunion, gives a little happiness to such a sad part in OotP ;)

Eee thank you so, so much for reading and for all your support! It means so much to me and I am thrilled that you liked the story that much. You are a wonderful reviewer and your feedback always brightened my day. Thank you! *hugs* ♥♥


 Report Review

Review #23, by Veritaserum27 Beginnings

22nd May 2014:
Hello!

I'm here for the review swap!

Wow. There was a lot of back story in this chapter. I understand that it was necessary to build the characters and the plot. Melanie obviously comes from a biased pure blood family. Her overuse of the term "Mudblood" proves that. I noticed that she didn't use it in the second part of the chapter when she was in fifth year. Perhaps she has grown.

I liked the fact that you chose to write a story from the point of view of a Slytherin during the marauders time period. Your portrayal of James and Sirius is pretty accurate and it makes your main characters more sympathetic to know that James and Sirius were frequently the instigators of the pranks upon the Slytherins - not the other way around.

I think you are building to a nice conflict in this story. We know a war is brewing and, although it seems that Melanie doesn't want to take sides, she soon will have to decide.

Thanks for doing the review swap!

~Beth

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks so much for your review!

Yeah, there is a lot of back story in this chapter, I hope it wasn't too much! :S Melanie's family is indeed a little biased, though they're not purebloods... there's more about them later on.

Thank you, I'm glad the premise is interesting! Haha, I don't know if James and Sirius are *always* the instigators.. Melanie is not necessarily an objective narrator :p

it's certainly a difficult time to be growing up in, with war going on. And yes, she thinks she'll have no part in it, but as you said, she can't stay on the fence forever.

Thank you so much for the swap!!


 Report Review

Review #24, by toomanycurls The End of the Beginning

22nd May 2014:
THIS REIVEW MIGHT BE IN ALL CAPS BECAUSE I CAN'T BELIEVE IT'S OVER AND THERE'S ONLY A FEW MORE CHAPTERS AND I KNOW I VALIDATED SOME OF YOUR EDITS BUT I WASN'T READING IT READING IT. SO. I'M EXCITED.

okay, I'll try not to shout the whole time.

Sirius' joke about being a back-up singer is quite hilarious with the Quibbler article that comes out about him later on.

:-o I am excited for Melanie to be part of the Order!!! Aw, Sirius is so protective. They could be snogging during his confession of love and not wanting to lose her (FYI).

SNOGGING!!! WHOOO!! I literally cheered.

Oh come on, Mandy, it's not an invitation to die. Just... not a very long life expectancy.

Of course Sirius thinks he can just stroll into the Ministry and sign up to be an auror. *sigh*

THEY SHOULD LIVE TOGETHER AND YOU SHOULD WRITE A NOVEL ABOUT THAT WITH A LOT OF SNOGGING.

Ugh, I'm disappointed in Mandy for not joining the Order.

why did you have to end on such an optimistic, ironic note??!! I'll be back soon.

grr

-Rose

Author's Response: HI THAT'S OKAY I LOVE ALL CAPS REVIEWS.

oh wow you know I wasn't even thinking of the Quibbler article when I wrote that bit! (Or at least I don't think I was... don't remember anymore.) Haha I'm glad you enjoyed that though.

Sirius is protective of her but I think only within reason because Melanie is pretty independent and stubborn, and he knows that haha. And yes, you guessed right - yay for snogging! :p haha that would not actually be that interesting of a novel, you know :p

Yep Mandy opted out.. honestly I think that wouldn't have been too uncommon, like once she finds out what she's getting into, it's a bit too much. Plus I didn't think I could get away with adding that many additional people to the Order when they weren't in that picture Harry gets of the 70s Order in the OotP book. One person's absence from the picture can be explained away, but not too many more.

Gah I know I'm terrible, I'm sorry :p Thank you so much for your review!!


 Report Review

Review #25, by ladyrae II. In the End

21st May 2014:
Beautiful ending. That's all I have to say.

Author's Response: Awww! Thank you so much! ♥♥ Your reviews on this have been so wonderful and thanks for sticking with this story to the end! ♥

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>