Reading Reviews for The Brave at Heart
  
179 Reviews Found

Review #1, by gigi Stepping on a Serpent

23rd July 2014:
Absolutely loved this chapter. Your story is quite addicting. Thanks for making me very happy.

Did the scarecrow win the award for being out-standing in his field?

Author's Response: Hi again! Thank you so much for your kind words - that is so lovely to hear :)

And yes, that is the answer to the riddle! :D Gold star for you ☆


 Report Review

Review #2, by gigi Those Who Defied the Dark Lord

22nd July 2014:
OK this chapter lost me. Too much dialogue in the middle of a battle when there's spells and curses flying all around and I found myself rolling my eyes quite a bit. But hopefully this is the only chapter that feels off, because the rest has been pretty good so far.

Author's Response: I'm sorry you didn't like this chapter... there was a lot that needed to be said, so there were a couple of points where Mel wasn't fighting/ was searching for Lester with Charlotte, because that was more important to her than fighting. I hope you enjoy the rest of the story though. Thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by gigi The Moonlit Knight

22nd July 2014:
Why does Sirius have to be such an idiot and say the wrong thing? I just read "How to tame a Marauder" and there too Sirius had to say something stupid to hurt his gf and jeopardize the relationship. I was hoping this story would be different. I hope Mel is not like Laura who wasted a lot of time being mad at him and can sort this out quickly. Because if this story continues to stick to canon like HTM, we know time is short what with Sirius' future in Azkaban, exile and an early death. I wish it was Remus that told Mel the secret or at least all 4 together.

Other than that I loved this chapter and the story so far.

Author's Response: Hi! About Sirius saying the wrong thing - he is a rather impulsive person in canon, and in writing this story I was trying to stick to canon as well. And teenagers make mistakes in relationships. I was trying to write Sirius and Mel as realistic, flawed people who are learning. And yes, time is short :( I think it would have been nice if Remus was able to tell the secret too, but things don't always work out in the best way.

Anyway, I'm glad you are enjoying the story so far, thank you :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by sjar Flying Together, Falling Apart

16th July 2014:
i think you've done a pretty awesome job!!!

Author's Response: Aww! Thanks so much!! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by papilio II. In the End

16th July 2014:
just finished!! btw im the person who said there from wales. Btw I thought you where from America at some point in the story but other times I wasn't sure because you used place that are not big capital like London. glad you did your research. i love remus so much he just so cute and you always made me laugh. i laughed so loud earlier when everyone was in bed (akw) haha
papilio xox

Author's Response: Hello again! Yeah, I tried to include a lot of things that weren't London, because I know the UK is more than that ;) I'm glad the research paid off - and I've been there too which helps. Remus is one of my fave characters, I'm so glad you liked him in this story, and that I made you laugh! :) it means a lot to me that you enjoyed the story, thanks for reading and for your reviews!

 Report Review

Review #6, by papilio Mandy's Lonely Hearts Club Band

16th July 2014:
just wondering where you are from (love the story so much aha, that why im still up reading it at 5am lol)
PAPILIO XOX
ps. im from wales!

Author's Response: Wow, I'm so flattered that my story has kept you up until 5am reading. Thank you! But get some sleep! :p
(And I'm American... does it show? haha)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Rumpelstiltskin A New Start

12th July 2014:
Hey there! Long-time-no-see ^.^.

While both Mandy and Mel have had an extremely eventful summer, I'm glad that they're on good terms with each other. They're going to need their friendship after this last year at Hogwarts (or before) when they're really being impacted by the war. It's also refreshing to see everybody on the Hogwarts Express chit-chating and getting on so nicely, catching up after the summer. Going back to Hogwarts seems like finally returning home.

Ouch, those are some rough comments about werewolves! I see that none of the girls really threw in their opinions (I wonder if they'll find out about Remus, and how they'd react)! Anticipation. O.O Sirius shouldn't hit the glass so hard. If he were to damage his brain, well, let's just say I'm fearful for everybody :D (haha, look I made a joke).

Oh look, it's Snape! Yeah, it must be difficult to know that you were fairly good friends with somebody when you began your school adventure, but then not even have them acknowledge your presence at some point. Well, they'll be at fairly opposite sides of the war, anyway, but you know what I mean.

I do love the random bits of dialogue thrown in, just as little, normal conversations that the girls are having during the day (you know, comparing one to the other's cat and whatnot) -- it never fails to make me laugh.

D'aw, she so has a crush on Sirius, it's almost painful to watch her try to avoid that. Albeit, I understand that she's trying to keep her distance in order to stay on good terms with Mandy (which is important)...still funny though. On a side note, Lily needs to learn to love James :p -- though, shouting at him may very well be her way of show him love ^.^. Of course, Sirius HAD to get him in trouble...oh boys.

Well, after all of that Sirius watching, strangling fights could be a form of flirting. Sorta. Well, I think it might be. Ooooh, maybe if Mandy does have a crush on Remus, then Mel might get the OK to pursue her crush on Sirius. Maybe...nothing's set in stone for teenage girls.

I'm sure Remus can keep a secret ;).

Oh Luke...just give it up already, yeah? That boy is persistent I tell you. Heheh, but the line "use the force Luke" made the entire scene, so I'm perfectly fine with him not giving up :D

Great chapter, it's nice to get back to this story!

-Rumpel

::Slytherin - House Cup - 2014::

Author's Response: Rumpelll ♥

They have indeed had an eventful summer. But yay for strong friendships! :)

Yeah.. it certainly doesn't help that they didn't like the professor to begin with. But I think that probably not everyone was tolerant, so yeah Russell comes across as kind of tactless there :-/

Losing friendship is always hard. Even if it's someone who turned to dark magic and hates your new friends - but they were friends once so it's difficult :(

Haha, thanks, I'm so glad you like that! I really enjoy writing the random, completely unnecessary conversations haha

I don't recall age 16-17 as being particularly easy for romance. So everyone is confused about what everyone else thinks, and has to resort to shouting, or attention-seeking hair strangling, or generally failing to express feelings in a normal way.

That line was like the whole reason for that scene, I couldn't resist XD I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Thanks! It's great to see you back! Thank you for your lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by SkyEcho Counterstroke

10th July 2014:
Hi Kristin!!

This chapter was great! I'm really enjoying the developing friendship between Remus and Melanie. And I look forward to reading more about the prank war haha.
I love how Melanie isn't afraid to stand up for herself, or others she feels are being treated unfairly. It was interesting to see Regulus here and I like how we get a sense of how truly different the brothers are. It was nice to see some support for Melanie at the end!

I'm really enjoying your story so far and can't wait to find out what happens next :)

*House Cup 2014 Review*

Author's Response: Hi Kristen! :D

Thank you! I really loved developing their friendship as it is such an unlikely one. The prank war does return in the next chapter I believe.

Melanie's not that brave, but she is kind of easily goaded into things and is sometimes too honest, has a smart mouth :p I'm glad you liked Regulus' appearance too - I figured he had to show up at some points as he's in the same house as Mel.

It means so much to me that you are enjoying the story, thank you SO much!! I really appreciate the review! ♡


 Report Review

Review #9, by td II. In the End

16th June 2014:
I really like your story..but I wish the ending was a happy one tho..

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks, I'm thrilled that you enjoyed it! I wish it could have ended happily too, but it had to be this way :( Thank you for reading!

 Report Review

Review #10, by CambAngst A Message and a Mess

12th June 2014:
Tagging you from Review Tag!

Can I tell you how stoked I was to get back to this story? Very stoked, indeed!

Melanie's brother seems to have one crazy owl. Like a larger, more dangerous version of Pigwidgeon. The letter that she brought was anything but amusing, however. I like how you're maintaining some mystery around Melanie's brother and parents. Are they or aren't they?

Mandy seems to be taking it all fairly well, considering her mixed parentage. I like the fact that you've introduced at least one Slytherin character to this story who isn't a pureblood. Or Snape, I guess. It really helps to balance the perspective out a bit.

Moving along to the prank. It seemed pretty clever in the state we first see it in, but it looks like things are only going to get more interesting. Three of the house tables look pretty and smell nice, the Slytherins are going to get a nasty rash -- possibly poisoned -- and Filch is going to have a major allergy attack. It seems well thought out and probably better than the broom closet prank from the Slytherin girls, especially considering that it hasn't fully played out yet.

My goodness, have the Slytherin girls been tricked into taking the fall for the Marauders' prank? I'm really feeling the need to move on to the next chapter, just to see whether Remus, Sirius and the others took off just before Filch arrived on the scene!

Another enjoyable chapter, albeit a tad short. Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Do you know how stoked I was to see this awesome review? So stoked! Seriously, it means so much to me that a splendid writer like yourself enjoys this story.

I think his owl was sort of inspired by Pigwidgeon, actually. I guess when you get a new owl it probably has to adjust to its task of carrying letters, right? And the letter.. yeah. There's a lot Melanie isn't aware of outside Hogwarts just because she's shielded from it at school, so that's a reminder for her that she should be thinking about it.

Melanie is not a pureblood either - I think probably a lot of Slytherins weren't purebloods. There would certainly be fewer people with Muggle heritage but I seem to remember that the number of completely pureblood families is pretty low.

Their prank was probably much better planned out, yes - after all they are known for this sort of thing! And... well. They aren't exactly friends with the Slytherin girls yet, as it would take more time for them to drop such an ingrained house rivalry, so... perhaps they wouldn't be above doing that. We shall see. ;)

Thank you so much for your review!!


 Report Review

Review #11, by toomanycurls II. In the End

11th June 2014:
I HOPE YOU'RE READING FOR SOME SHOUTING AND KNOWING THAT THERE WERE UNWRITTEN CURSE WORDS IN THIS REVIEW!!

I was really excited that you mentioned Melanie and Sirius at least having a friendship during GoF. You get kudos for that. Sirius' downward slide is understandable while everyone is gone from Grimmauld Place. WHY DID SHE PULL AWAY FROM THE KISS?!!?!?!?!??!?! *cough* sorry

Their letter writing campaign made me squee and I was looking forward to more snogging...

...UNTIL...

I'm tearing up again just getting back to that spot in the story. (Maybe I'm for-real kind of crying right now)

THERE AREN'T WORDS FOR THIS PART JUST KNOW I'M ANGRY AND THINKING A LOT OF MEAN THOUGHTS ABOUT WHAT I COULD DO TO BREAK YOUR HEART.

The after the veil bit was a gush of fuzzy feels that I needed after feeling so terribly sad about Mel's death. I love the idea of them trotting off together into afterlife land where they can snog and hold hands and NOT HAVE YOU HARM THEM ANYMORE!!

I should probably comment on how well you characterized Sirius in this chapter with his OotP mood/attitude (I felt like I could have rolled this into my Remus/Tonks stories).

WHOO! i'm famous! At least I was mentioned in your A/N. I really loved this story and can't believe it's done and I kind of hate you for breaking my heart. (Just kidding, I still love you.)

-Rose

Author's Response: Aww! I loved this review, despite (or maybe because of?) all the shouting and implied curse words :p Your enthusiastic reviews on this story siriusly always made my day.

I wanted Sirius to have at least something while he was alone in that cave. On the occasions that he talked to Harry in GoF he seemed happy, so I figured an old friendship was possible! SORRYYY because she's married! :p Though, I imagine that kiss probably went on for several minutes before she pulled away, if that makes you feel any better, haha.

I'm sorry about that part! But I had to. :( It was either that or create a massive plot hole, as she wasn't around in the second war. Plus Sirius was pretty miserable in Grimmauld Place and this was like another reason for him to be sulky, not that he needed more reasons.

I don't really do happily ever after (yep, shock, right? I can see the surprise on your face) but this was as close as I could get! At least they have a happily ever after when they're dead... :p

Ahh, thanks about the characterization! You know it's funny, since I've actually had this story finished for a year and a half, I was thinking the same thing when I read your R/T stories, how they fit into my own headcanon. In your story sometimes when Sirius was moody I was thinking "ITS BECAUSE HE'S GRIEVING ABOUT MELANIE" and then I was like wait, wrong story. And that would have been obnoxious of me. But haha yay thank you!

You are famous! Eternal glory and a gold star for you. Thank you so, so much for reading and I am so thrilled that you loved the story, that is such a wonderful compliment. Sorry about the heartbreak. Here's this though: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by lindslo2012 Beginnings

11th June 2014:
Hey there!
This is a very good first chapter to the story.
I always enjoy the Maurauder's era and stories like your's make me enjoy it even more. :)
I think that you do very well with description and it made me feel like I was actually into the story. Another thing is in Maurauder fics I don't hear about Snape much and I would like to more. So I was pretty happy that you mentioned him in your chapter and I hope we see more of him while the story goes on.
I always tend to enjoy the scenes with Lily and James in them because they just make me smile even if they aren't together now it makes me happy to think that they eventually will be- unless you don't make them be of course because it is your story. Well, good job! And I hope that I can read some more so feel free to come by and request a review you can find the link to my thread on my profile!
Thanks for the good read, can't wait to read your review!
-Lindsey

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you! Aw, that is so sweet of you! :) That is wonderful to hear about the description too - this is my earliest fic so I had thought the description wasn't impressive - so that is very reassuring :) And yes! Snape as well as the MCs are in Slytherin together so he does pop up every now and then!

I love Lily/James too! Haha, I don't really think I'm spoiling anything by telling you that they do indeed get together :p This story is meant to be as canon as possible.
Thanks for your lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Nick Progression

9th June 2014:
Umm chudley cannons would never win a game. But so far it's good, and also what does OC mean? Or OtherCanon? And which character is which as far as the whole OC thing goes? Thx.

Author's Response: Haha... poor Ron, that's serious dedication to still like such a bad team :p Thank you so much, that is wonderful to hear that you like the story so far! So yeah, Other Canon is HPFF's way of listing characters that are really minor in the books, like Avery, Mary Macdonald, etc, and OC stands for Original Character which is any character I made up, such as Melanie, Charlotte, etc. Hope that clarifies it for you :) Thanks so much for reading and for your review!!

 Report Review

Review #14, by toomanycurls I. Epilogue: Sixteen years later

3rd June 2014:
I CAN'T BELIEVE I'M HERE ALREADY!!! I REMEMBER VALIDATING THIS BUT REVIEWING IT IS SO FINAL.

I'm really happy that Melanie and Nathan are close again. And I love that he's involved with Ali Bashir because it makes me feel like he was jsut off the pages of the books.

THEY SHOULD HAVE DONE THE CARPE DIEM THING TOO AND GOTTEN MARRIED EVEN THOUGH IT WOULD HAVE BEEN TRAGIC. phew. I had to get that out. I'll be getting a lot of things out this chapter.

Considering that Sirius was ripped away from Melanie (not your fault but I'm still bitter with you about it) I think you did it in a very kind way. At least she woke up after it happened.

I'M STILL GOING TO GET SHOUT-Y THOUGH BECAUSE... i wanted this to be au and for them to live happily ever after. This had to be such a shock. You portray her disbelief very well - ENOUGH WILL THE FEELS. I CAN ONLY TAKE SO MUCH. MY HULL IS CRACKING (that was in Scotty's voice)

Um, really good job weilding the feels with Melanie evading the aurors and going to collect her things. Just :'( that's all

:-o SIRIUS WENT TO VISIT HER!!! AND SHE JUST THINKS IS A CUNNINGLY SIMILAR BLACK DOG. aw, it's almost worst now that he thought she was dead. I thought my feels were already worn out but nope. dude, I'm only like a quarter of the way down the page. CAN I JUST FAST FORWARD TO THE SNOGGING?

Yay, she believes him. ...why are't they snogging? :P

:( Cake baking is ruined by the fact that she got married. ugh they could have done a cake batter moment.

Sirius is being quite unfair. I really like Melanie's take on making the best of what she had. :) It's a great message.

...and snogging! ??!

haha, wait, he made that cake without knowing the ingredients?

Okay, cake round 2 better have snogging.

Um, I'd like to suggest an edit here: They held on to each other for a long time, but finally jumped apart when there was a loud crack from outside.

and add that they snogged passionately ;)

SHE SHOULD HAVE SAID SHE LOVES HIM. I'M ALL BESIDE MYSELF THAT HE EVEN SAID IT BUT AHAHHAKLAKLAWOIFNAKLSDFJKLAJFKLASJFLASFJLKAWJF.

I should say something about how sweet her family is but I just can't right now.

Amazing chapter

-Rose

Author's Response: Rose!! All right, confession, I've held off on responding to this review simply because it's so lovely and I keep just coming back to re-read it! ♡

Haha thanks! I wanted Nathan to be far enough removed that he'd managed to lie low and not get caught by Voldemort, but still with some tie in to canon so that he seems more real and connected with the books. And he deserved some sort of happy ending because no one else gets one haha.

I knowww... I think they would have gotten married after the war, if they'd been able to. SORRY I HAD TO! You can thank JKR for the heartbreaking feels and making Sirius go to Azkaban.

Aw, yeah I guess it was the kindest way I could have done it, but there was really no nice way it could happen. As it was he thought she was dead and she woke up to a terrible surprise, but... I suppose it could have been worse. She could have died. I did seriously consider that, but I wanted to write an angsty bittersweet reunion instead. :p

I'm glad you thought her disbelief and reaction seemed real. She had always been the type to run from difficult things so it seemed like something she'd do to escape.

Of course Sirius is being unfair ;) Azkaban really stalled him, so that he's hung up on the past because he didn't have those 13 years to change and move on, whereas a lot happened for Melanie during that time. :-/

Lol, yeah that must have been a terrible cake. I think he just poured some ingredients in without measuring, thinking it'd all be fine.

Gaahh sorry about that scene :p Sirius has nothing to lose, and Melanie does still love him, but can't say it.. I was seriously soo drained after writing this chapter! I apologise for the lack of snogging though. :p

THANK YOU SO MUCH for this amazing review! You're the best!! ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by J E P Andela II. In the End

26th May 2014:
So, this is it. I can hardly believe it's all over!! One of the most beautiful endings ever written. Just... WOW!

"Well, the Death Eaters killed one of the Unspeakables" and I went, OH NO, not Melanie!! But of course it was and I think it was very noble of you. To have them reunited! I absolutely loved the ending, everyone back together. Maybe there is a life after death, like Nangijala or Nangilima. Where they can live happily ever after. Oh, and Charlotte. Brave and beautiful Charlotte!!

Really, I cannot find the words to tell you how much I loved and adored this story! Thank you so so much for sharing!! I know I will read it again and again, whenever I feel sad or unhappy.

Thank you!
-Julia

Author's Response: Julia ♡

Ahh I just want to hug this review (and you)!!! I am so, so honoured that you liked this story and stuck with it, and left such amazing reviews. And wow such a compliment that the ending was beautiful - aww! Thank you so much!!

gah I know, I felt bad about killing everyone off but I had to! :p But I liked the idea of those voices behind the veil being like a big reunion, gives a little happiness to such a sad part in OotP ;)

Eee thank you so, so much for reading and for all your support! It means so much to me and I am thrilled that you liked the story that much. You are a wonderful reviewer and your feedback always brightened my day. Thank you! *hugs* ♥♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by Veritaserum27 Beginnings

22nd May 2014:
Hello!

I'm here for the review swap!

Wow. There was a lot of back story in this chapter. I understand that it was necessary to build the characters and the plot. Melanie obviously comes from a biased pure blood family. Her overuse of the term "Mudblood" proves that. I noticed that she didn't use it in the second part of the chapter when she was in fifth year. Perhaps she has grown.

I liked the fact that you chose to write a story from the point of view of a Slytherin during the marauders time period. Your portrayal of James and Sirius is pretty accurate and it makes your main characters more sympathetic to know that James and Sirius were frequently the instigators of the pranks upon the Slytherins - not the other way around.

I think you are building to a nice conflict in this story. We know a war is brewing and, although it seems that Melanie doesn't want to take sides, she soon will have to decide.

Thanks for doing the review swap!

~Beth

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks so much for your review!

Yeah, there is a lot of back story in this chapter, I hope it wasn't too much! :S Melanie's family is indeed a little biased, though they're not purebloods... there's more about them later on.

Thank you, I'm glad the premise is interesting! Haha, I don't know if James and Sirius are *always* the instigators.. Melanie is not necessarily an objective narrator :p

it's certainly a difficult time to be growing up in, with war going on. And yes, she thinks she'll have no part in it, but as you said, she can't stay on the fence forever.

Thank you so much for the swap!!


 Report Review

Review #17, by toomanycurls The End of the Beginning

22nd May 2014:
THIS REIVEW MIGHT BE IN ALL CAPS BECAUSE I CAN'T BELIEVE IT'S OVER AND THERE'S ONLY A FEW MORE CHAPTERS AND I KNOW I VALIDATED SOME OF YOUR EDITS BUT I WASN'T READING IT READING IT. SO. I'M EXCITED.

okay, I'll try not to shout the whole time.

Sirius' joke about being a back-up singer is quite hilarious with the Quibbler article that comes out about him later on.

:-o I am excited for Melanie to be part of the Order!!! Aw, Sirius is so protective. They could be snogging during his confession of love and not wanting to lose her (FYI).

SNOGGING!!! WHOOO!! I literally cheered.

Oh come on, Mandy, it's not an invitation to die. Just... not a very long life expectancy.

Of course Sirius thinks he can just stroll into the Ministry and sign up to be an auror. *sigh*

THEY SHOULD LIVE TOGETHER AND YOU SHOULD WRITE A NOVEL ABOUT THAT WITH A LOT OF SNOGGING.

Ugh, I'm disappointed in Mandy for not joining the Order.

why did you have to end on such an optimistic, ironic note??!! I'll be back soon.

grr

-Rose

Author's Response: HI THAT'S OKAY I LOVE ALL CAPS REVIEWS.

oh wow you know I wasn't even thinking of the Quibbler article when I wrote that bit! (Or at least I don't think I was... don't remember anymore.) Haha I'm glad you enjoyed that though.

Sirius is protective of her but I think only within reason because Melanie is pretty independent and stubborn, and he knows that haha. And yes, you guessed right - yay for snogging! :p haha that would not actually be that interesting of a novel, you know :p

Yep Mandy opted out.. honestly I think that wouldn't have been too uncommon, like once she finds out what she's getting into, it's a bit too much. Plus I didn't think I could get away with adding that many additional people to the Order when they weren't in that picture Harry gets of the 70s Order in the OotP book. One person's absence from the picture can be explained away, but not too many more.

Gah I know I'm terrible, I'm sorry :p Thank you so much for your review!!


 Report Review

Review #18, by ladyrae II. In the End

21st May 2014:
Beautiful ending. That's all I have to say.

Author's Response: Awww! Thank you so much! ♥♥ Your reviews on this have been so wonderful and thanks for sticking with this story to the end! ♥

 Report Review

Review #19, by Niharika I. Epilogue: Sixteen years later

8th May 2014:
Woah, that was a slightly weird ending. But I guess that's the only kind of ending you could have without changing J.K's story. It's kinda bittersweet that she married the other guy.

Thanks for the story! It's been a pleasure reading it and I hope you write some more :)

Author's Response: Awww, thank you so much for your review! Yeah, there could never really be a happily ever after :( There is still one more chapter actually, since this isn't really a proper ending haha, and I'll be posting that within a couple of days. Thanks again for reading/reviewing! ♥

 Report Review

Review #20, by Rumpelstiltskin Communication Breakdown

7th May 2014:
Okay, okay, just one more (I can't help myself) :D.

Aw...look who's getting along!! Who doesn't like chocolate? Only Sirius. What would Remus say? ;)
And what are summers for if not foolish adventures? Actually, their summer sounds like a blast! Monopoly always sounds like a good idea until two hours later when the game never seems to end and somebody flips the board. And everything is lovely for the moment.

Aw, I love Sirius/serious jokes :D.

Not only does Mel have a chance to make the Quiddich team for her seventh year, but riding on a motorbike with Sirius calls for extreme closeness! Hooray for closeness!...especially closeness that leads to accidental face-brushing :D.

Oh, look now, he's following her around like a puppy. An almost-kiss...they're the best because there's no actual victory...but there ALMOST is! Uh-oh...Mandy DID take it roughly...even though there wasn't exactly an "it".

Oh, but now he's sorry for the almost-kiss! Of all of the things to be sorry for...

I'm really glad that she made up with Mandy -- a girl needs her friends, always ♥.

Okay, now I should probably go to work...though the next chapter is much more tempting than work!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Aw! I'm so flattered that you can't help yourself from keeping on reading :)

Well, there's more chocolate for Remus that way. I know, crazy isn't he? Of course, chocolate is no good for dogs! :P I think I've only ever finished a game of Monopoly once in my life because I can't pay attention for that long. "Accidental" board flipping... guilty as charged.

Sirius/serious jokes never get old. Even after I've seen them 23873298798 times. Siriusly.

Hooray for closeness indeed! After like 20 chapters of them bickering and almost-flirting with each other, it was about time for some actual fluffy scene :D And an almost-kiss :P

Yes, friends come first, always!

Thank you so much for your amazing reviewing spree, I'm so flattered ♥ Hope work was fun :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Rumpelstiltskin Why So Sirius

7th May 2014:
Mandy's parents could still be alright, and that's fantastic...though I can't say the same thing about her poor dog :(.

At least the Leaky may buy them some time to figure out where they're going to live for the rest of the summer. My first thought was, oh, why don't they just go over to Charlotte's? I was of course overlooking the fact that Charlotte's family is made up of Death Eaters. That wouldn't work out so well.

Hooray! Mandy's parents are most probably alive ^.^. Poor Charlotte's in a bit of a tough position, though. Maybe she should just stay at the Leaky with the other two girl. And yay for Apparating-test-passing and letter's from Mandy's parents! Also, at least Mel's mother is attempting to be motherly. She clearly loves her daughter, but everything is super screwball right now!

(I love pumpkin-flavored ice cream...yum.)

Baha, Mandy's remark of "look who I found" made me laugh (you know, because Mel had already run into James and Sirius and the fact that they didn't need finding...-_- I think I'm tired...don't mind me).

Of course! They'll just go and stay in the land of misfit children (aka, the Potter's house) ^.^. That's where I would go if I was in their predicament.

Sirius and his motorbike :)... if not for James, I'd say that the motorbike was his best friend!

I'm so happy that Sirius and Mel are getting along! *Squee* There sordid family history is good for something ,right? :D

-Rumpel

Author's Response: I know the dog had been mentioned approximately 1 time before this but ahhggh it made me so sad to do that :(

Mmm yeah Charlotte's family might not be too cool with that. Especially because Melanie would probably scream at them and stuff. Charlotte is in a tough position too.

(I know, it's so good! Yum)

Haha, yes she found people that didn't need finding, whom she wasn't even trying to find in the first place! (haha.. I think I'm tired too.)

The motorbike HAD to make an appearance ;D

Yay for shared horrible experiences! At least they can actually relate to each other now. Man, that was a long time coming.

Thank you for your review!!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Rumpelstiltskin Over the Edge

7th May 2014:
When I came home from college, my mother was always almost too entirely excited to see me. That being said, when Mel comes home from Hogwarts, and her parents lecture her on making friends with muggle-borns and the like, it's a bit concerning. Obviously in these times, there are extreme ideas that are being carried...but...it's no wonder why she believes that her family is associated with death eaters! Furthermore, her father really had to use a killing curse to kill a fly!? I'm almost determined that they are on team Voldemort now!

I'm glad to see that Nathan is apparently the same as always :D. That's a wonderful thing, to have a great sibling relationship. Three positions? Whoo, that must have been a workout! ^.^. Her father really hates all things associated with Muggles, doesn't he? It's not very nice to tear up somebody's garden! -_- No fresh tomatoes for him!!

Oh yeah, I forgot Nathan hangs out with Lucius...with his hair that is to be envied ;). My suspicions of his death eater..ness has been reignited.

Aw, see? Muggle things aren't so bad! In fact, going to see Star Wars in the theatre sounds like a blast!

It's much harder to stand up against your family than it is to stand up against a bully. I mean, Sirius does it...but he's Sirius. OH! A commonality! I spotted it (I should have spotted it sooner). That will give them something in common to...probably not really talk about -_-, haha.

Aha! I see nobody in that family hold a strife against cornflakes and they hold no magical properties! Hypocrites. ^.^

Oh boy, he IS a Death Eater. This is not going to end well. I wonder if saying Voldemort's name three times will have similar effects as Beetlejuice *looks around frantically* phew, thank goodness.

O.O Things are super intense! Mel basically gets thrown out of her house because she refuses to associate herself with Voldemort. THEN Mandy shows, splinched, after a Death Eater attack! Holy crows. She's right...everything is gone...

Now what?, exactly!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Things aren't really spectacular for her family at the moment, no :( There are probably much safer ways to kill flies. Or even like, trap them in a jar and then release them outside. This is one occasion where I prefer the Muggle way of doing things!

Fresh tomatoes are so good. Melanie's dad has no idea what he's missing.

I really liked writing Nathan. He's a good person with bad taste in friends and he makes bad choices... it's a tough life :-/

I know, I'd totally want to see Star Wars in the theatre!

Yep, a commonality :O though at this point Mel has no idea :P And yeah ultimately not one of her better days- for her or Mandy.

Thanks for your review!!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Rumpelstiltskin Finals and Farewells

7th May 2014:
Er...frosted count chocula? ^.^ I doubt it has anything to do with cereal...I think I'm just hungry.

I'm not certain that replicating any of James Potter's stunts is such a great idea...but...whatever floats her boat ^.^. Baha, at least they're having fun, and nobody is seriously injured. Though, speculating on the "seriousness" of the injury at at a magical school where they can grow bones and all of that fun stuff is a tough judgement.

Why is Luke such a ridiculously nice guy? I want to be like, pfft, he's such a bad person, I can't see why she ever dated him in the first place! But, I can't say that, because he's fairly terrific (and has been much nicer than Sirius at this point). It does seem, though, that both Mel and Luke are happy this way, so I won't wallow in it ;).

Poor Mel's cram study session was interrupted. She's right, having the assumption that Sirius likes her does make small gestures like putting his arm around her shoulders seem different :D.

Bahaha, all Divinitation professors love when students claim that they can see their own deaths, don't they? ;) ...I'd have so much fun as a Divinitations teacher...*evil laughter*

O.o Sorry, onwards.

Oh the hat, bahaha. Does she really believe that she can dissuade male attention by a hat? Hats can be taken off. She'll probably have to try a little harder than that!

Vanessa...somebody needs to punch HER in the head as well... (apparently I'm overly violent today...going around punching people). Baha, apparently, Mandy is also in a punching mood!

Summer :).

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Lol, every time I get a review on this chapter I've forgotten that I put a joke in there. It's FROSTBITE! :D (And ps, I'm hungry too and it doesn't help that the ice cream truck keeps driving through my neighborhood and I can hear it even from far away. Gah.)

No, probably not a good idea, but if she can outshine him at his own trick, then it's a good idea, right? Too bad she can't. :p

I think you're the first person to mention that you like Luke. He is nice! (Too nice.)

That's a pretty nice way to be interrupted from your study session, as far as interruptions go. Can't say I'd mind it, but I guess she disagrees :p

Once upon a time there was probably a good Divination professor. But I imagine they're few and far between! So yes another really crazy one! :D

It was a really ugly hat, in her defense. But yeah ineffective.

Feel free to punch Vanessa because no one else did in this chapter.

Thanks again for your wonderful review(s)!!!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Rumpelstiltskin Unintended

7th May 2014:
I wonder how mad Mandy will be if/when Mel begins dating Sirius... she could be okay with it...but she HAS been in love with the dude for a very long time. (TENSION!) Bum, bum, bum. Though her interest in Francis certainly points towards giving up on Sirius...so, who knows!?

Aww, they made up ♥ ! I was almost convinced that Sirius wasn't going to man-up and apologize, but he did...good on him ^.^. Of course, Sirius' method of apologizing happened to be hexing somebody and then acting as if Mel should be grateful towards him...but...it's still a win!

Everybody's always against the Slytherins...-_- I guess the house DOES have a bad reputation...but, hey, Rumpel's a snake ^.^. Get it together, Hogwarts.

Heheh, Mel's not going to pick on Lily about James without getting some teasing back about Sirius ^.^.

Oh yes, do ask her out!! I know they're talking about Mel via my sixth sense! Ask her out...do it! ...

Do it.

*Cough* (You never expect normal reviews from me, right? Okay, good.)

What are best friends for, if not to be nosy. That's how they figure out everything that's wrong so that they can fix it with their friendship skills ^.^.

Phew, things could have been awkward there, but it seems friendship wins (for now, anyhow)!

Whoo, two chapters down...I think I'm making some progress today :D.

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Hmm, yes there could potentially be some tension there. Well, she does like Francis, but she also kind of just likes everyone ever.

Yeah, I don't think Sirius is super good at apologizing :p I mean, it was something. He tried. Kind of. :p

Poor Slytherins :( I'm not against the Slytherins! Wait, this was the game against the Puffs, wasn't it? Ok never mind, I'm against Slytherin >:D hehehe.

I love that you talk to my characters. It makes me happy to know that it's not just me who does that. Normal? Pfft what's that?

Yay for friendship!

Aaaa and I have even more wonderful reviews to respond to from you. You are amazing my dear! ♥


 Report Review

Review #25, by Rumpelstiltskin In the Dark

7th May 2014:
I am so behind on this -_-.

Ooops! She was caught! (I hate it when that happens ^.^!) Sirius is right though, it does seem like a waste of pie. He's awfully full of himself, isn't he? He'd definitely wind me up too, and I kind of want to punch him in the head for good measure...BUT he's Sirius, and his annoying disposition is adorable (to a certain extent).

...until he says things like THAT! Holy crows, *I* wish that she was holding the pie, too, because he sooo deserves to be hit by airborne pie.

Oh dear lord...it's Vanessa. Poor Mel can't catch a break today, can she? Maybe she just needs to go back to bed and try again tomorrow (that's my philosophy).

At least Hagrid is pleasant ^.^.

Sirius is annoying, but I think there's a little more it than just that. ;)

Thank goodness for Lily, sweeping in at the last moment, to save her from severe awkwardness. Sirius may have some problems, but there's no need to be rude...silly boy. Lily loves James already, even if she doesn't admit it!

"We tried to tell you but you probably couldn’t hear us, since your head was a watermelon…” -- bahaha, even if it was an accident, I don't think I'd be very appreciative of somebody turning my head into a watermelon.

The impending war certainly acts as a dark shadow. I don't know what I would do if my father and brother were death eaters. I mean, how COULD you feel if your family is aligning themselves with murderers? Hopefully, Mel's suspicions about her own family isn't correct, though I expect that they might be!

I'll just have to keep reading to find out!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: RUMPEL ASFLHDSLFNA ♥ ♥ ♡ ♫ YOU ARE AMAZING. All your reviews just completely made my day!

(speaking of being far behind, I really need to catch up on Everto! Eeep!)

Yeah, it was a good idea for a prank but I think I'd be sad about the poor pie all over the floor. I mean, what if it was blackberry or something? Too delicious to waste.

Hagrid is always pleasant. At least when he's not trying to teach you about Blast-Ended Skrewts or something, but those thankfully don't exist yet.

You think there's more to it? Hm... whatever would make you say that? ;)

Haha, I don't know if Lily is quite there yet, but she certainly doesn't hate him as much as she says she does!

nope, probably not the best first impression they gave...

You suspected the DE stuff way in advance, didn't you. You're a Seer. Either that or I'm pretty much rubbish at surprising revelations in this story :P

♥♥♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>