Reading Reviews for The Brave at Heart
  
195 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TheFawkesRebirth II. In the End

19th March 2015:
Wow I'm blown away. I came to care so much for your characters - I read the last few chapters before bed, and by the time I was finished I was crying and unable to sleep. Your story inspired me to finally write the story that has been in my head for a few years now. So thanks.

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, wow - this review has left me completely speechless! Ahh, thank you so, so much! I'm incredibly flattered and it means so much to me that you liked the story and characters, and that it inspired you to write your own story - that's about the greatest compliment an author can receive. You totally made my day. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed reading the story - thanks for your amazing review!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by Unicorn_Charm A Message and a Mess

22nd January 2015:
Hey Kristin!

Have I told you how much I love this story? No? Well shame on me. I LOVE this story! :p

I don't know why, but I found that crazy owl to be really, really funny. That must have been a wonderful way to wake up, with an owl going insane because it couldn't deliver it's letter to the person it was supposed to. :D But then the contents of the letter were very sobering. I can't imagine how difficult that would be to know that your father - and now possibly your brother - are on the wrong side of the growing war. I do admire the fact that she will say "Voldemort" and finds "You-Know-Who" and "The Dark Lord" to be a little ridiculous. It's a little unsettling knowing that her brother has a pretty important job at the Ministry and may possibly be becoming a Death Eater, or at the very least, sympathetic to Voldemort's ideals. Mandy's idea of writing back and mentioning all of the muggle-born friends she had was pretty amusing. She's such a great friend, I really enjoy her. :)

I don't know how you keep coming up with these pranks, but you're brilliant! Turning the entire Great Hall basically into a jungle?! What will you think of next? I loved her thoughts on why James may have had lilies all across the Gryffindor table. I can't see Lily being amused or charmed by that at all haha. And Mel winding up on the floor again! The poor thing!

Ahh! We've got to see a little bit of cheekiness coming from Sirius! There is nothing I love more than cheeky Sirius. ♥ You want to slap him, but you can't help but to like him all at the same time!

Loved it! Love, love loved it! Thank you for doing the swap with me and I can't wait to read on!! ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Hi Meg!

Hehe. I think you've mentioned it on occasion ;) Siriusly though, thank you :D

That owl was strongly influenced by Pigwidgeon if I remember correctly. Inept owls make me laugh. Yeah, definitely some sobering things in that letter - she really doesn't know what to believe anymore. As for the Voldemort vs You-Know-Who thing, I figured that at this point the extreme fear of the name Voldemort wouldn't be as ingrained as it came to be later, so it's not as much of a fear thing as it will become within a few months/years. Haha, I'm so glad you like Mandy! She's a lot of fun to write.

Ehehe. Teachers would have hated me at Hogwarts. And eh, no, I don't think Lily would be particularly amused. :P

Glad you liked that ;) That side of him does show more as they get to know each other better, so at least you have that to look forward to. :P

I'm absolutely loving hearing your thoughts on this story! Thank you so much for the review ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by Unicorn_Charm Counterstroke

17th January 2015:
Hey there!

Wow, so this chapter became a little dark! But, during this time period, you can't expect everything to be all pranks, laughter and sunshine unfortunately.

Yeah, I can absolutely and easily picture James and Sirius doing that to Snape, in the beginning of the chapter. I love how Remus and Mel just kind of watched it happening, too. I mean, she did kind of speak up about it, but it seems like mostly everyone knows not to get in their way when they're behaving that way. Probably better off haha.

I am enjoying the friendship that is developing between her and Remus. It's nice to see, especially with the first war looming ahead, a little bit of inter-house friendship. It's so easy to take the "All Slytherins are evil and Death Eaters" approach during the Marauders Era and I love that you're not doing that. It makes for a unique and enjoyable read.

That Jasper seems like an absolute creep! Your stereotypical Slytherin (I know. After I just finished saying how I like that you're not doing that, but it's still the reality of that era, too). That spell that he put on her sounded horrible and exceptionally painful. Good thing Lily and Sirius happened to walk by!

Your description of the 'Puffs made them sound like a bunch of hippies! And I mean that as a total compliment! It made me want to travel back to that time and be sorted into that house! If love to sit around, play guitar and sing songs in the common room!

So maybe Sirius' attitude is changing, regarding Mel, just a bit? Hopefully he lets his brother and his friends have it. The slimy jerks!

Another awesome chapter!! I adore this story! :D Thanks for doing the swap!! ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Yeah. Although a significant portion of this fic is silliness and serious/Sirius puns, it does get into some heavier stuff because of the time period and all that comes with it in the wizarding world.

I'm so glad you like the friendship between Melanie and Remus! And yeah, Melanie's not really sure whose side she is on at the moment, so she doesn't stand up for anyone. :-/ But yes inter-house friendship! Slytherins too often get painted as the house where all the mean, future Death Eater people are, particularly during the wars, and while there are some unpleasant Slytherins, there were good ones too and friendship is powerful!

Hahaha! Yeah, I mean, given the (almost nonexistent) qualifications for being sorted into Hufflepuff, the house that takes everyone, it seems like the one that would be most about equality and full of activists and civil rights and nice people and especially since this is the 70s yeah, basically just a lot of hippies. I love my house, yo. :D

Sirius... well, I don't know that his attitude is changing yet, but at least he's not openly being a jerk. :p

Thank you so much ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by Unicorn_Charm Tricks and Treats, But Mostly Tricks

14th January 2015:
Hey Kristin! Finally here for our swap! Basement is finally dry haha.

So I love your characters. They are brilliantly diabolical. Almost like female Marauders in a way. That first prank, with the students sticking to the wall was hilarious. I bet the boys wished they could have thought of something that brilliant! :) And it's great that Filch doesn't even suspect them and assumes it's James, Sirius, Peter and Lupin. Sneaky Slytherin girls. ;)

That bit with Lupin in the Three Brooksticks was perfect. I could absolutely see Sirius putting him up to something like that and it was really cool of Mel to go along with it and spend the day with him. I loved her questioning the fact that Dumbledore made him a prefect, when he so obviously causes mischief with his friends. And the admiration that he had for her, when she confessed it was her and her friends who pulled those pranks, was priceless. I could actually picture the look on his face and was cracking up. :)

I cannot wait to see this prank war that is going to happen. So far the pranks have been fantastic and I cannot wait to see what else these girls (and the boys for that matter) have up their sleeves. Although, I do almost (key word, almost) feel bad for Filch. He's going to go nuts! :D

Ahh! You have Peeves in this!! And you wrote him so, so, so well!! :D I'm uber excited to see him in this story and hope that we see more of him!

Oh my goodness! That whole prank at the end was fantastic! I loved the paintings on the wall spitting and spewing paint on the passing students. But the best part of it, was Filch's cat transfigured into a grey sheep. Again, you had me laughing out loud with that one!

This was such a great chapter! I am really, really liking this story and I cannot wait to see what else happens. It is all just fantastically and brilliantly written. I love it! Thanks again for doing the swap! I'll be back to read more and review again soon! ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Hi Meg! So glad to hear your basement is fixed :D

I am so thrilled you like the characters! Haha, kind of like female Marauders but not as good :p They're definitely sneaky though. I'm glad you liked that prank - the pranks were so fun to write in this :D

I figured Remus, as probably the friendliest of the Marauders, would be most likely to branch out to an unlikely friend. Despite their distrust of one another, they're realising they might have a lot in common! :p

Poor Filch, yeah. It's gonna be a mess :p

Ahaha, thank you, I'm so glad you liked that prank with the painted wall! :D And yay, so glad to hear that you like the story and the writing. Thanks so much for the swap and your lovely review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by ExpectoPatronum1229 Holmes for the Holidays

27th December 2014:
Oh gosh... Full moon? The suspense is killing me :) Love this story so far, it's great!

Author's Response: Cliff hanger! :P I'm so glad you like the story so far, and thank you so much for reviewing!!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Unicorn_Charm Business as Usual

21st December 2014:
Hi there! Here for our swap! :)

I'm already in love with this story. Two chapters in, and I'm smitten. ♥ Melanie is such a wonderful character. I truly adore her. She and Mandy are just such typical teens; talking about boys and begrudgingly doing their homework. I laughed out loud when then were attempting their homework and turned the desk into an alligator! And I can't believe they overheard the password for Gryffindor! That's is beyond awesome!

So this little prank war they've started is highly amusing. I loved how the first thing Mandy did was turn Sirius' girlfriend's hair green haha. :D They definitely stepped it up a notch by hanging all the Slytherin banners and levitating the boys' beds. I bet their reactions were priceless! But of course the Marauders one upped them with turning the tables into hay, and the cow and everything.

I have a feeling that Mel and Mandy weren't chosen for the team because they're girls, more than any other reason. It seemed like the Slytherin team - in canon - was the only one that was mainly boys. But with how behind Mel is on her homework already, maybe it's better than she didn't make the team. ;)

I loved the fact that she stuck up for that little Gryffindor boy! Even though she didn't intend to, the fact that she did was just wonderful. I know that I was just as impressed as the boys all were. What she did to Mulciber the previous year was pretty funny. I liked how Peter brought that, that made me chuckle. I also got a kick out of the whole boa constrictor/lion around her neck comments that were made. Your dialogue is always just so natural and really well done. :D

Oh there is really nothing worse than when your friends try to set you up with someone. It almost never goes well. I totally feel for her here. I really can't wait to see how that all plays out.

Another awesome chapter! I love Mel and Mandy a lot! I am really excited to continue with the story and see where it all goes. Thanks so much for doing the swap!! ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Ahhh! Thank you so much! I am so thrilled that you love this story and the characters - seriously (Siriusly), that really makes my day. I'm glad they came across as average, that's really what this chapter was aiming to show. And yeah, Mel's Transfiguration skills could use some work :p

I had way too much fun writing the prank war. I mean, it's pretty well known that Slytherins and Gryffindors are rivals, but I wanted to make it fun, so there's a lot of this sort of thing in the story :D And of course the Marauders one-upped them. They aren't the school's most infamous troublemakers for nothing. ;)

Hehe. Well, Mandy didn't get picked for the team because she's bad at Quidditch and chose instead to flirt with that guy, but Melanie is decent at it. But yeah, there may have been some favouritism on the part of the Captain. As you mention, in terms of timing it's probably best that she's not on the team though!

Mel isn't brave enough to stick her nose out and stand up for someone ordinarily, but she has a good heart, so she made the best of a bad situation. I enjoyed writing Peter in this story actually - despite the miserable rat he became later, he was a good friend at the time. Ah, thank you so much, I'm really glad you like the dialogue and that it feels natural, that's so wonderful to hear!

Mandy is a little ridiculous sometimes :P Ahh, I am so glad you're enjoying the story! Thank you so much for your review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by Unicorn_Charm Beginnings

15th December 2014:
Hi there!! :)

I've been meaning to read this for a while now actually. It's been on my reading list. I'm really glad I started it finally.

Your writing is honestly just fantastic. It has a way of drawing the reader in immediately. It's just effortless the way that it flows.

I really enjoyed the introduction to the main characters. Melanie seems like a decent kid, not what I would come to expect from a Slytherin. Especially a Slytherin in the Marauders Era. Even though she did think the term Mudblood quite liberally in the beginning, she honestly doesn't seem to have any prejudice against Muggle-Borns. I really got a kick out of Amanda when she first came in. I laughed out loud when Melanie was thinking that she was going to die if Amanda didn't stop talking. I can totally relate to that. My best friend is very Amanda-ish and never shuts up. Sometimes it's a bit much haha. Charlotte seems a little more Slytherin-ish to me. She has that aloof aura about her. I thought it was really cute when Lily and Severus joined them and how Severus became all excited hoping they would all be in Slytherin together.

I loved the sorting. It was pretty interesting to see how she was considered for either house, but got to choose Slytherin, but it didn't work for Amanda. I'm sure Amanda begged the hat to put her in Gryffindor, but obviously it did not. Melanie was really sweet with how she comforted her about being in that house. She's right, just because they're Slytherins, it doesn't automatically make them future Death Eaters. I loved how you made put that in there.

One little detailed that I really, really loved was how, when we flash forwarded 5 years, she thought of Amanda as Mandy now. Just that little of a name change shows how close the girls had become in that time. That was a really clever way of showing that. It was nice to see that James and Sirius were capable of being somewhat decent to them, too. Even if they are in their rival house. It also seems that Lily is still friendly with the first friends she made, which is pretty cool. I expect her being so close to Severus, up until the previous semester, would have kept her in contact with them.

I really loved how Melanie had developed within those 5 years. She's a little snarky now, isn't she? My kind of girl haha.

I absolutely loved this first chapter and am thrilled that I've finally got around to reading this. I can't wait to read the rest and see how the story developed. I'm excited to read this one!

Thanks for doing the swap! I'm up for one any time! ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Ahhh! I am both really excited and kind of nervous to see you reading this fic, haha! It was my first fic and it shows, but it is also one of the closest to my heart. So I'm kind of flailing excitedly after you said that you like it! :P

Gah, thank you so much, that is the sweetest compliment that you like my writing! ♥

I've gotten several comments before stating that Melanie doesn't seem to fit the Slytherin mold, but that was one of my goals in writing her, I think. I don't believe in molds. Even though I'm the most Hufflepuffy Hufflepuff ever, I do have some Slytherin qualities, and these characters are meant to be an example of how not all Slytherins during the war were Death Eater wannabes - many of them were decent people. Well, some were. :p She definitely has 'typical' Slytherin traits though which (hopefully) will be clear! ;) I'm really glad you like Mandy and that she reminds you of your own friend, that's great :D

I'm glad you liked the Sorting too! How I see it, Amanda was trying to make all sorts of deals with the hat and manipulating it to put her in Gryffindor. And the hat thought that was very Slytherin of her. :P

I think Snape was a special case in terms of the rivalry. Certainly Gryffindors and Slytherins are rivals, but I wanted to project it as a mostly good-natured rivalry.

I am SO glad you loved this chapter, and I'm thrilled you're reading this too! You're awesome and thanks for the swap! :D


 Report Review

Review #8, by Aussie hp lover II. In the End

14th December 2014:
Omg I am actually crying! This was possibly the best fan fic I have ever read! Although necessary, I hated how things turned out... WHY MUST THEY ALL DIE?? But apart from that this story had no flaws. You are an amazing writer and I would love more than anything else to read more of your work, possibly an alternate ending where she doesn't marry Luke, but marries sirius instead and they have beautiful babies. I should probably stop now before things get more weird so I will finish with saying that this story was perfect and that you should never stop writing! xxx

Author's Response: Wow, thank you SO much, this is such an incredible review! Very sorry about the tears *hands over tissue* but I am so flattered that the story connected with you that much. (Gah, I still think it's so unfair that JKR killed off Sirius in OotP!) Thank you for your kind words - I appreciate your review so much! ♥

 Report Review

Review #9, by Rumpelstiltskin Discoveries

11th December 2014:
*Confetti* My first review since having the baby! It has been way too long.

I don't know if I've mentioned it before -- and, if not, I'm a very bad Rumpel -- the flow of your sentences are awesome (you use punctuation within the sentences extremely well). :D

Anyway, on to the madness.

D'aw.. Mandy asked Remus out! That's just adorable! ♥ Mel will get the courage to ask Sirius out eventually. Maybe. Hopefully. *Cough* Sirius and his moodiness -- so much to love ;).

Uhoh, Vanessa with a love potion...that can't be good. Unless she uses it on Filch (then, THAT is hilarious)! Bahaha. Of course, then we find out her mom died, which was a perfect transition back into the reality that their facing, with Voldemort and whathaveyou. I do love that you're leaving that shadow hanging over everyone's heads while they continue -- most of the time -- to act like normal teenagers (as they would do, because they ARE teenagers).

Carol's trying way too hard (which is a good thing, because the primary objective is not to have Carol dating Sirius anyway). Oh goodness. Must. Not. Make. Eye-contact. Don't do it ;).

Fleeing the country seems to be a suitable choice in the wake of the war. I have the feeling that she will not be doing that, however, but who knows. Maybe this ends with Mel living happily ever after in Iceland with a pack of krups in a fortress made out of rock. Or not, who knows.

An Obliviator...that actually sounds like a fun job.

Whoo! James Potter's impressive Patronus-casting skills to the rescue! To be fair to Mel, casting a Patronus charms seems difficult enough, never mind casting it when there's a creature designed to suck the happiness out of its surroundings in front of you.

Mystery parcel...I WANT TO KNOW WHAT'S IN IT! :( Heheh, poor Peter, continuously left out of things. Well, we can't feel too bad for him, can we? Nope. :D And poor Octavius as well. Sirius is just jealous, kind of like how Mel is jealous. Maybe they just need a shove in the right direction ;p.

Oh yes, and then Remus with the werewolf complex. :( it must be frustrating to feel as if he can't get close to anyone, and it must be frustrating for Mandy as well, not being able to know why.

Heheheh, of course Lily doesn't like the lack of attention ;). I think the girls are right, I don't think she'll be able to resist going out with him for much longer ^.^.

Owl steeds! :D That made my day. ...and then the winterized corridor prank just made it even better.

Bahaha, Sirius almost let it slip in Potions, didn't he? Those two crack me up, not to mention the frustration as being the reader, and knowing that they both do have some sort of feelings for each other. It's all about timing though...and, it is quite funny watching them make fools out of themselves ;). Oh, I don't think he'd give Mel tuba feet :D.

Aaand an exciting game of Quiddich to end a lovely chapter! Thanks for some great reading upon returning to HPFF :D. Hopefully I'll be able to make an appearance every now and then!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: omg, congratulations!!! ♥

Ooh, thank you! I am a huge fan of punctuation. Sometimes I think I go way overboard on commas and semicolons because I love them, so I am glad to hear they are reasonable ;D

Yep... Mandy is a go-getter, and there's no way that Remus was going to put himself out there on his own. Sigh. Fingers crossed for Mel! ;)

Bahaha that would be hilarious. And disturbing. Yeah, I wanted to show some sort of background to Vanessa because there'd been nothing particularly sympathetic about her so far - but she does have a reason for being how she is. :-/ And I'm really glad that feeling came across, of the shadow hanging over the heads of otherwise normal teenagers.

I think that most teenagers wouldn't be all "I'm so awesome I'm going to join in this dangerous fight against Voldemort!" Besides, as Mel is not necessarily brave and has a tendency to avoid her problems, escaping would be exactly her sort of thing. Ooh, I wish I'd gone the Iceland and krups route, that sounds like the best outcome. ;)

Harry was good at the Patronus charm, but it's definitely supposed to be a really difficult one, so I figured not everyone can do it under pressure!

Well, I think that Sirius kind of underestimated Peter, so he just didn't think before he said that (as he's not particularly tactful either, is he..)

Remus... ugh. Love him, but he can be so frustrating!

Oh Lily... it's too obvious to EVERYONE around her that she likes James, but... haha. I think you can understand Lily a lot better than she can understand herself at the moment! ;)

UGH, I know. I think this chapter is them at their most frustratingly obtuse, haha!

So glad to see you back, your reviews always put the hugest smile on my face. There are exciting things coming up in the next few chapters so I'm excited to see what you think ;) Thanks so much for your review!! ♥ And congratulations once again :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by Felpata Lupin II. In the End

17th October 2014:
Hi again, Kristin!
I just finished reading this and, well... I really don't know what to say!
All the story was amazing, just as usual. And this ending... I'm not sure if I'm supposed to cry or smile... I mean, I always knew where this was heading (it's always a bit cruel in this kind of stories to grow so affectionate to all the characters and then be reminded in the end of their cruel fates... I didn't really expect Melanie to die that way, though... That was so sad...) but I'm somehow glad that they're going to have a bit of the happiness they deserved at least in the afterlife, if this even makes sense...
Anyway, lovely work, just as always!
Hugs,
Chiara.

Author's Response: Hi Chiara!
Wow, thanks! This was actually the first story I ever wrote - although it's not as well written as some of my more recent work, this story will always be close to my heart. It means a lot to me that you liked it that much and felt attached to the characters! :)

That's exactly what I was going for with the ending. While I wish they could have had a happily ever after, there wasn't really a way to end it happily and still canon... and besides, I just love bittersweet endings ;)

Thank you so much for your review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #11, by hermionehero I. Epilogue: Sixteen years later

5th October 2014:
Loved your story! What a treat to read! You are a good writer. Hope you write more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so thrilled you enjoyed the story :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Rumpelstiltskin Carry That Weight

18th September 2014:
Hello!

Wow, Mel's all about asking Sirius questions that he doesn't exactly want to answer: first about Remus, then the nicknames, and then Regulus -- she's on a role! At least Sirius seems to be opening up to her a little bit, what with actually having a conversation with her about his brother. (Also, I'm sure that Sirius' claw hand looks absolutely fabulous, because he's Sirius :p .)

“The world is not split into good people and Death Eaters, Sirius,” -- That's actually a very powerful line, in my opinion. Not only does being a Death Eater seem to define a person's good or evil status, especially in people like Sirius' opinion, but there are also people who aren't becoming Death Eaters who aren't necessarily good people. Mel's ability to see this, influenced slightly by Nathan's involvement, is a strong show of her characterization as it conflicts Sirius'. Though, there is that strong bond of similarity between them, as both of their brothers are either Death Eaters or soon-to-be Death Eaters, so that element alone provides an essential commonality. Which, of course, means, queue awkward hand-holding meant to be a gesture of friendship ^.^ hahahah. Teenage love.

Speaking of, I love James and Lily's interaction here. That tentative dancing that Lily's doing around her feelings, while showing the desire to speak to James and be around him is absolutely fantastic. Her denial of actual feelings towards James I think is not only for everybody else's benefit, but for her own, like she's trying to convince herself that she really doesn't show an interest. However, it's almost as if she's partially admitted to herself that she's developing feelings for him, already. ♥

Yes, I would think that learning how to dissuade Peeves from his pestering would result in life at Hogwarts being just a tad more tolerable. ^.^

Gah, wow Mel...*cough* thinking before she speaks isn't exactly her strength, is it? Baha, it made ME laugh, though, even if it was a little bit horrifying for her. I do love her rationale when she decided that she was never going anywhere near Sirius ever again -_-...poor Mel. I can imagine that she's quite embarrassed, even though her cover was oh-so-suave.

Of course, it didn't help that Vanessa assisted in the revision and spreading of the tale. I think that, in her position, I would have just locked myself in a cupboard and refused to come out for the remainder of the year...or until someone did something so embarrassing that everybody forgot about the incident. Yeah...

What was he going to tell her?! Stupid, giggling girl *hmph*. I'd like to hex her, myself, to be quite honest. Luckily, Sirius took the events of the previous day lightly, overlooked the rumors, and was able to maintain his friendship with Mel. You've really nailed this charismatic aspect to him that I really just love about him, and would expect him to be like.

“You know, there’s nothing going on with me and Carol,” he said cautiously. “We’re just friends.” -- His justification proves, to the readers, that Sirius might have actual feeling for Mel. Of course, with both of them being teenagers and dancing around the subject like teenagers do, it leaves Mel feeling worn out because these kids refuse to process their feelings O.o! So, yeah, the main topic of this review is teenage love (don't mind me). Obviously, they're just both very confused by their feelings, and don't know how to handle those feelings, so they just play this back-and-forth game. It fits perfectly into the story, building up tension to the point where you want to scream 'Just kiss, already!' -- which is an absolutely fantastic thing.

I'm rambling.

Well, isn't Mandy the romantic ;). Though, Althea doesn't seem to mind the soup incident, and that she does, in fact, have a crush on Hector. ♥

I think one's own personal ghost would be a pretty neat thing to have.

Oh boy, Death Eaters inside the castle...that's going to start a panic. Well, yes, actually that's exactly what happened. Parents (as well as students) will be wondering if Hogwarts is a safe enough place to be.

Ouch, Althea, that was pretty harsh. Though, Slytherin House DOES seem to be under fairly constant speculation...poor Slytherins ;). The war is happening...and it just seems to be escalating! Things are really going to hit the fan when they're OUTSIDE Hogwarts...

:D Great chapter!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Rumpel! You're such an amazing reviewer, like where do I even start with this review other than "bkjasjhkd"

That conversation was one of my favourite parts to write about this chapter as they finally TALKED about important stuff and connected on a deeper level. I really like the connections you drew here between Melanie and Sirius - although they do have the commonality of having brothers involved in the other side, they have very different perspectives of it. I do like that line in particular - Sirius said something to that effect in OotP when talking to Harry (and in my mind at least, he was recalling this conversation with Mel :P)

You hit the nail on the head with what I was trying to convey with Lily, and I'm so thrilled it came across that way. That's the way I imagine it too - she was trying to deny it to herself for a while, but her shell is cracking by this point!

Well, Melanie does usually say what's on her mind, which in this case is unfortunate when things like that are on her mind. Maybe it would have been easier if Sirius actually picked up on it, too. :P

Aw, thanks! That really means a lot to me that you think I've done the characterization well with Sirius.

Hmm.. does he actually have feelings for her? Who knows, because as you said - like teenagers do, they just get awkward about it. Ughhh sometimes I just wanted to yell at all the characters :p I'm glad you like that dynamic and all the building tension though!

Mandy is too much of a romantic! :P Sometimes when writing her lines I was just doing these huge eyerolls at how absurd she is.

Panic indeed. That would be super scary.

That was definitely harsh from Althea - she's normally quite a nice person but as you can imagine she's under a lot of stress, and that does sometimes crack even the nicest people. Poor Slytherins indeed. The war must have been a bad time to be a snake.

Thanks so much for your amazing and thoughtful review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by Rumpelstiltskin Second Hand News

27th August 2014:
Ah! There are so many of your stories that I need to read!...and I need to finish this first!

Jeeze! Hector is all over the Quiddich tryouts (but who wants to try out for a sport directly after eating lunch...yuck)! It's a bit adorable that he's so excited, though :). After some of James Potter's classic nonsense -- because how do you possibly involve James without his nonsense -- I was glad to see the Mel made the team ^.^. Yay! Oh, this means that there will be a fierce competition between Gryffindor and Slytherin this year...whoo!

Unfortunately for Mel, Jasper WAS good at the tryouts! I don't suppose breaking his legs would do much good, with magic and all...wouldn't keep him out for the season.

Haha...I love the way the next section began. Charlotte's little crush vanishes at a bad grade...that was pretty priceless. My friends and I weren't as kind as Mandy was in school -- we'd laugh at each other if they got a bad grade and we didn't... *cough* all in good fun, of course ;). Charlotte's course of vengeance (doodling unflattering caricatures) seems like a good outlet.

Vanessa Saltz...that's never good. Oh, bahaha, spider-in-the-hair is classic ;). I would have freaked out, too, if somebody told me there was a spider in my hair (but it's much funnier to see someone like Vanessa freak out). Ink on your essay is not as funny :( (escape, before you face the wrath of Pince)!!!

*Cough* Anyway. Aww! Lily's flirting a little with James :D. She may not realize it yet, but I think he's starting to grow on her ♥ .

I've seen people's hair dance on the breeze before...though mine never seems to do so. If the wind catches my hair, it typically flies back into my face, blinding me in the process. I must find out the secret to dancing hair.

At any rate, the girls are right -- that's completely adorable of James :D. I do love watching this slow process of Lily figuring out her feelings...it makes it all quite romantic.

Are Mel's attempts to flee from Luke's sight finally at a stop? Is Luke finally going to stop asking her out? Hooray! (For now, any way.) I feel a little less bad for him now that he has a girlfriend, though that doesn't necessarily mean that he's still not harboring feelings for Mel. Ugh, teenage love is complicated.

That's true...Voldemort won't stroll into Hogwarts until the next war...but that's besides the point. At least they know where Mark is, but Hogwarts might be one of the safest places to be at the moment. O.O Hopefully something doesn't happen to Mark.

Though, with Death Eater's being recruited, it might not be the absolute safest place ever. Camille's not worried about Voldemort...oh boy...she'll figure it out.

O.O Oh goodness. The wrath of Pince! I love how much she worries about the books ;)...she IS the librarian, so if she didn't worry, then there would probably be an issue.

Aww...poor Mel. Sirius just likes playing with everybody's emotions, so I can't blame her for feeling that way. Aha, but Mandy's over him (for real this time) or so she says. That's difficult to judge. On one hand, Mandy's straightforward telling Mel to ask him out, but I'm kind of afraid that Mandy will become jealous again, and they don't want to fight anymore!

Or...Mandy has a crush on Remus. That's too cute. ♥ Well, Remus is closed-off for better reasons than 'most blokes'...but we'll see how that plays out. *Excited*

Just ignore Jasper, Mel...this is what practice is for...to practice :D.

Great chapter! I seem to be taking forever to read today, sorry about the delay!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Wow, Rumpel, what a review! ♥

Hector has to be enthusiastic, he's the captain! But yeah, no one else wants to go immediately from lunch to tryouts :S Haha, yes, as if Gryffindor and Slytherin didn't already have fierce competition!

Mandy is generally very kind. Which is good I suppose because Charlotte is generally not! And a bad grade definitely gets a professor out of her good graces. :p

I always had the feeling that Lily had excellent hair - absolutely the type that would dance. Ah, bummer about you getting a face full of hair when it's windy, I sympathise. Mine usually just looks like I hugged a Van de Graaff generator (ie a huge mess).

I loved writing Lily and James' slow (REALLY SLOW) process of growing up and changing. Aw! Glad you enjoyed that too :)

'Ugh, teenage love is complicated' - yep. Pretty much sums this chapter up :p

It is a weird time in the war - some people don't realize the danger (particularly the younger students), no one really knows where is safe... as I see it, it was probably a lot like the beginning of the second war, only no one knew quite what to expect the first time around! :/

Thanks so much for your review!!!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Ribbons Carry That Weight

18th August 2014:
Hey Kristin!

I loved this chapter. It was really, really great. I loved all the Sirius/Melanie interactions, as well as the Lily and James stuff that happened.

I also ADORED the tiny part about Lancelot the cat. I know, I'm weird. What can I say?

My one suggestion is for you to go into a little bit more detail about the death eater attack, like the panic in the corridors and what everyone was doing and what ministry employees were there etc. I also found myself wishing for Sirius and James's reactions, which might be a little weird.

So, that's it for now because I really want to read the next chapter.

Lots of love,

Alena

Author's Response: Hey Alena! Aw, I'm so glad to hear that! It's wonderful to hear that you like Sirius and Melanie. And yes - we are finally getting into the part of the story where there's chemistry between James and Lily too. :P

One of my favourite things to write is just the little, trivial daily life things (which, I suppose this story is just a lot of those little things strung together, haha) so I'm glad you appreciated the bit about Lancelot! :D

Ah, yeah you're right that definitely would have been nice to add! I think for Melanie it was just general confusion, so her thoughts aren't very clear about exactly what is going on where. Unfortunately with first person it limits the accessibility to other people's reactions, and things are seen through her lens... Or it could be because I wrote this part of the story around three years ago and I just wasn't as descriptive of a writer back then :p

Thanks so much for your review! Hope you continue to enjoy :)



 Report Review

Review #15, by Ribbons What Friends Are For

6th August 2014:
I am shipping Sirius/Melanie so hard right now, I feel a little bit insane. I know the story is obviously about their romance. but I still feel like I'm over thinking every interaction, just to construct some kind of attraction between them. When the map spouted that whole 'hot' thing, I literally screamed I was so pumped.
Looking forward to reading the next chapter!

Ribbons

Author's Response: Hehehe :D Well, the first half of the story is more about friendship. But yes... we're getting there - I'm so glad you liked that scene! I had way too much fun writing it haha. Thanks so much for your lovely review - it means so much to me that you're enjoying the story!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Ribbons Beginnings

5th August 2014:
Oh my god, I am so excited to read more. This is amazing! As soon as Melanie was sorted into Slytherin, I knew this story was going to be fresh and interesting. It's almost always a given that the main characters are in Gryffindor (or at least the OCs that fall for the marauders are). Either that or it's considered no big deal and there's no animosity at all, which is unrealistic. When you think about it, Slytherins would be pranked more than anyone else, would have to endure being considered 'evil' and have bad morals and they would also have trouble finding good dates outside of their house because of their house's reputation. I mean - that's completely awful! I am so glad that you have put in this early and major plot point/twist. It's genius! Can't wait to read more.
Cheers!

Ribbons

Author's Response: Eeee! Your review was the most wonderful thing to find when I logged on today! ♥ I am so glad to hear that you think the story is fresh and interesting. I love what you said about the Gryffindor/Slytherin thing too, Slytherins get a bad rep in the books and I like to think that the relationship between the two houses isn't always enmity, but sometimes just intense rivalry -I really enjoyed writing that aspect. So stoked that you like the story so far! I hope you continue to enjoy it!! ♡

 Report Review

Review #17, by gigi Stepping on a Serpent

23rd July 2014:
Absolutely loved this chapter. Your story is quite addicting. Thanks for making me very happy.

Did the scarecrow win the award for being out-standing in his field?

Author's Response: Hi again! Thank you so much for your kind words - that is so lovely to hear :)

And yes, that is the answer to the riddle! :D Gold star for you ☆


 Report Review

Review #18, by gigi Those Who Defied the Dark Lord

22nd July 2014:
OK this chapter lost me. Too much dialogue in the middle of a battle when there's spells and curses flying all around and I found myself rolling my eyes quite a bit. But hopefully this is the only chapter that feels off, because the rest has been pretty good so far.

Author's Response: I'm sorry you didn't like this chapter... there was a lot that needed to be said, so there were a couple of points where Mel wasn't fighting/ was searching for Lester with Charlotte, because that was more important to her than fighting. I hope you enjoy the rest of the story though. Thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by gigi The Moonlit Knight

22nd July 2014:
Why does Sirius have to be such an idiot and say the wrong thing? I just read "How to tame a Marauder" and there too Sirius had to say something stupid to hurt his gf and jeopardize the relationship. I was hoping this story would be different. I hope Mel is not like Laura who wasted a lot of time being mad at him and can sort this out quickly. Because if this story continues to stick to canon like HTM, we know time is short what with Sirius' future in Azkaban, exile and an early death. I wish it was Remus that told Mel the secret or at least all 4 together.

Other than that I loved this chapter and the story so far.

Author's Response: Hi! About Sirius saying the wrong thing - he is a rather impulsive person in canon, and in writing this story I was trying to stick to canon as well. And teenagers make mistakes in relationships. I was trying to write Sirius and Mel as realistic, flawed people who are learning. And yes, time is short :( I think it would have been nice if Remus was able to tell the secret too, but things don't always work out in the best way.

Anyway, I'm glad you are enjoying the story so far, thank you :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by sjar Flying Together, Falling Apart

16th July 2014:
i think you've done a pretty awesome job!!!

Author's Response: Aww! Thanks so much!! :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by papilio II. In the End

16th July 2014:
just finished!! btw im the person who said there from wales. Btw I thought you where from America at some point in the story but other times I wasn't sure because you used place that are not big capital like London. glad you did your research. i love remus so much he just so cute and you always made me laugh. i laughed so loud earlier when everyone was in bed (akw) haha
papilio xox

Author's Response: Hello again! Yeah, I tried to include a lot of things that weren't London, because I know the UK is more than that ;) I'm glad the research paid off - and I've been there too which helps. Remus is one of my fave characters, I'm so glad you liked him in this story, and that I made you laugh! :) it means a lot to me that you enjoyed the story, thanks for reading and for your reviews!

 Report Review

Review #22, by papilio Mandy's Lonely Hearts Club Band

16th July 2014:
just wondering where you are from (love the story so much aha, that why im still up reading it at 5am lol)
PAPILIO XOX
ps. im from wales!

Author's Response: Wow, I'm so flattered that my story has kept you up until 5am reading. Thank you! But get some sleep! :p
(And I'm American... does it show? haha)


 Report Review

Review #23, by Rumpelstiltskin A New Start

12th July 2014:
Hey there! Long-time-no-see ^.^.

While both Mandy and Mel have had an extremely eventful summer, I'm glad that they're on good terms with each other. They're going to need their friendship after this last year at Hogwarts (or before) when they're really being impacted by the war. It's also refreshing to see everybody on the Hogwarts Express chit-chating and getting on so nicely, catching up after the summer. Going back to Hogwarts seems like finally returning home.

Ouch, those are some rough comments about werewolves! I see that none of the girls really threw in their opinions (I wonder if they'll find out about Remus, and how they'd react)! Anticipation. O.O Sirius shouldn't hit the glass so hard. If he were to damage his brain, well, let's just say I'm fearful for everybody :D (haha, look I made a joke).

Oh look, it's Snape! Yeah, it must be difficult to know that you were fairly good friends with somebody when you began your school adventure, but then not even have them acknowledge your presence at some point. Well, they'll be at fairly opposite sides of the war, anyway, but you know what I mean.

I do love the random bits of dialogue thrown in, just as little, normal conversations that the girls are having during the day (you know, comparing one to the other's cat and whatnot) -- it never fails to make me laugh.

D'aw, she so has a crush on Sirius, it's almost painful to watch her try to avoid that. Albeit, I understand that she's trying to keep her distance in order to stay on good terms with Mandy (which is important)...still funny though. On a side note, Lily needs to learn to love James :p -- though, shouting at him may very well be her way of show him love ^.^. Of course, Sirius HAD to get him in trouble...oh boys.

Well, after all of that Sirius watching, strangling fights could be a form of flirting. Sorta. Well, I think it might be. Ooooh, maybe if Mandy does have a crush on Remus, then Mel might get the OK to pursue her crush on Sirius. Maybe...nothing's set in stone for teenage girls.

I'm sure Remus can keep a secret ;).

Oh Luke...just give it up already, yeah? That boy is persistent I tell you. Heheh, but the line "use the force Luke" made the entire scene, so I'm perfectly fine with him not giving up :D

Great chapter, it's nice to get back to this story!

-Rumpel

::Slytherin - House Cup - 2014::

Author's Response: Rumpelll ♥

They have indeed had an eventful summer. But yay for strong friendships! :)

Yeah.. it certainly doesn't help that they didn't like the professor to begin with. But I think that probably not everyone was tolerant, so yeah Russell comes across as kind of tactless there :-/

Losing friendship is always hard. Even if it's someone who turned to dark magic and hates your new friends - but they were friends once so it's difficult :(

Haha, thanks, I'm so glad you like that! I really enjoy writing the random, completely unnecessary conversations haha

I don't recall age 16-17 as being particularly easy for romance. So everyone is confused about what everyone else thinks, and has to resort to shouting, or attention-seeking hair strangling, or generally failing to express feelings in a normal way.

That line was like the whole reason for that scene, I couldn't resist XD I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Thanks! It's great to see you back! Thank you for your lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by SkyEcho Counterstroke

10th July 2014:
Hi Kristin!!

This chapter was great! I'm really enjoying the developing friendship between Remus and Melanie. And I look forward to reading more about the prank war haha.
I love how Melanie isn't afraid to stand up for herself, or others she feels are being treated unfairly. It was interesting to see Regulus here and I like how we get a sense of how truly different the brothers are. It was nice to see some support for Melanie at the end!

I'm really enjoying your story so far and can't wait to find out what happens next :)

*House Cup 2014 Review*

Author's Response: Hi Kristen! :D

Thank you! I really loved developing their friendship as it is such an unlikely one. The prank war does return in the next chapter I believe.

Melanie's not that brave, but she is kind of easily goaded into things and is sometimes too honest, has a smart mouth :p I'm glad you liked Regulus' appearance too - I figured he had to show up at some points as he's in the same house as Mel.

It means so much to me that you are enjoying the story, thank you SO much!! I really appreciate the review! ♡


 Report Review

Review #25, by td II. In the End

16th June 2014:
I really like your story..but I wish the ending was a happy one tho..

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks, I'm thrilled that you enjoyed it! I wish it could have ended happily too, but it had to be this way :( Thank you for reading!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>