Reading Reviews for Opposites DO NOT Attract
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by UnluckyStar57 Keep Trying

7th January 2014:
Hi! I'm here for the Twelfth Day of the Twelve Days of Reviewing. :)

I like this story so far! It's quite different from the usual Ted/Vic together forever stories that I see a lot. Why are they so opposite, and why is Victoire so opposed to dating Teddy? What Houses are they in? I think it's very unique that she isn't head-over-heels for him from the get-go.

He's so persistent! Why can't he leave her alone? He seems nice enough, but wow, it looks like he's constantly asking her out--that could get annoying very quickly! Maybe he'll learn that if he cools his jets a bit, she'll be more likely to say yes? Or maybe he'll never learn...

I hope that you update this story very soon! I like it so far!!

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hey there!

I'm glad that this was different from the usual Teddy and Victoire stories. I hadn't planned on starting it this way but this is how the chapter ended up coming out. Victoire doesn't want to date Teddy because they're opposites, she focuses on school and getting good grades and he focuses on Quidditch and having fun. Victoire plans things out and Teddy just goes with the flow. She doesn't want a distraction and he just really wants to date her. But more on that later on.

Sometimes persistence is a good thing, on the other hand, I think Teddy may have been watching too many romance comedies. he doesn't ask Victoire out constantly, it's not like he's at her side every hour but it's enough so that she dreads being in the same room as him. But we'll see, maybe he will let up and maybe he won't.

Thank you so much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Illuminate Keep Trying

15th September 2013:
Hi! Review Tag!

This is a really nice Teddy/Victoire prologue! They are such nice characters to work with- since we know nothing about them they could really be any kind of person.

I think your mature-ish Teddy and slightly more loud Victoire make a good pairing. I like that the whole point of the story is that opposites do not attract, and I hope if you continue this story that we get to see more of their differences and what makes them exactly opposites but still makes them want to hang out. I'd like to see more of his feelings for her aswell in the future :)

I saw a few missing commas here and there, nothing that couldn't be fixed easily :)

Great job!

Author's Response: It's been a while since I got a review on this story! Anyway, I'm glad that you liked the prologue. I hadn't written anything about them before so I thought I'd give them a try and see how well it went.

I definitely plan on continuing this story I just don't when I can get the next chapter up. But to make a long story short, that's definitely plan when it comes to this story.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Erised Keep Trying

18th July 2013:
Hiya!

So this was a really good start! I felt that you set the story up nicely and really explained what the problem was with the two of them. It's nice to see them at loggerheads rather than 'meant to be' as people usually put them as, so nice work there. I also liked the library setting, very natural and flowing.

Victoire is definitely different in this than what I've seen her in before in terms of writing. She seems a lot less put together and a lot more outspoken which is very refreshing as it is very easy to characterise her as the perfect child which seems to happen often. I thought her style of speech was interesting and that you allowed the reader to begin to understand her really quickly. It'll be interesting to see what lengths that Victoire goes to to avoid them being together!

As for Teddy, obviously he will develop a lot more as the story continues so he did seem a little bland but for now that's fine. I did like the dialogue you wrote for him though, it was witty.

Great start!

Author's Response: I've never really pictured Victoire as put together as everyone a lot of the times makes her out to be. After all, I don't really think being part-Veela has anything to do that. Plus, she has Bill for a father and he's a Weasley so she's got to have some of that Weasley in her instead being all prim and proper.

He will definitely develop a lot as the story goes on, he just seems a little bland because I didn't really have much of him in the chapter . . . if that makes any sense at all . . .

Anyway, thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by marauder5 Keep Trying

18th May 2013:
hi! I'm here for the review tag :D

Haha, well, I really enjoyed this! You definitely made me laugh a couple of times, and you've captured the light mood perfectly! Also, even if the whole 'do opposites really attract' thing is a bit cliché, it worked really well, and I can easily see this happening in real life, so congratulations on that (because many stories, especially fluffy romantic ones, are far from believable!). This right here was my favourite line: "I should be a spy, I'd be the best out of all of them. This is obviously a fool proof disguise." That is pure brilliance right there!

Teddy/Victoire is such a lovely pairing. I guess it would have to be weird to think of actually going out with someone after you've known them your whole life (I personally can't imagine dating any of my childhood friends, because I know them too well!). So maybe you could add something like that to Victoire's reasons for not wanting to go out with him. I get that the focus is on the fact that they're too different, but just imagine what a weird transition it must be for them! Also, Teddy said that they've known each other since he was three, but wouldn't they have known each other ever since Victoire was born? These are just minor things, but since I thought about them, I figured I should point them out! You can ignore them and still have a very funny and promising story ahead of you :)

Once again, good work on this! I'm interested to see what you have in store for these two! I think that Teddy in this story seems very sweet, and it was a really different take on Victoire, which was great! Usually, she is portrayed as light-hearted, beautiful and extremely likable, so it was fun to see her as a somewhat bitter person (given the whole life and lemons thing). That was a great summary, by the way! That quote pulled me into choosing this story in what looked like an ocean of funny, romantic stuff on your author's page!

I have one last suggestion: it might not be fitting with too much description in a humour story, but I would appreciate reading a bit more about their surroundings, the way they look... What colour was Teddy's hair today? Etc. Other than that, this is really great! :) Well done!

Author's Response: I feel like such a horrible human being for getting to this now but the point is I'm answering the review!

I aim to amuse people whenever I can! I'm glad that you think it's believable, I try to make the stories seem as believable as I can even if in general the environment that everything is happening in is anything but normal.

I think for some people it would be too weird but for some people it might just work. I mean, you've known the person your entire life, you'd know them just as well as their parents if not more.

Teddy said three-years-old because when Victoire was born, she was two and when I think of people knowing someone I think of them being able to play and talk with them (even if it is gibberish) and I figured that Teddy wouldn't really understand what was happening at the age of 2 and Victoire wouldn't know what was going on after just being born.

I'm having quite a lot of fun writing Teddy and Victoire this way, I always imagined bitter Victoire to be more entertaining than perfect Victoire.

I'm quite proud of my life and lemons quote, it's one of my favourite things about the story so far and I thought that it would make an interesting summary. I'm happy to see that I'm not the only one who thought so.

I'll definitely keep in mind to add more description and thank you so much for the review and feedback!


 Report Review

Review #5, by LuckySeven Keep Trying

28th April 2013:
Oooh! I love Teddy/Victoire! This looks cute and funny. I especially liked the bit where Victoire thinks she's being sneaky. Nice prologue. I can see this going places. :) PM me when the next chapter goes up.
Hugs,
Lucky

Author's Response: Everyone seems to love Teddy/Victoire which is a good thing considering my story and all. I'm glad that it's coming off as cute and funny because that's how I'll try to make it as the story goes on.

Thank you so much for reviewing and you got it, I will most definitely pm when the next chapter is up!

Lollipops everywhere,
Gracie!


 Report Review

Review #6, by 800 words of heaven Keep Trying

27th April 2013:
REVIEW TAG!

Yay! A Teddy/Victoire story! I'm a bit of a sucker for those! And there aren't nearly enough of them around.

Obviously, the relationship dynamic you've set up here is very different to what we normally see in Teddy/Victoire stories. Victoire is very different. She doesn't want to date Teddy. She doesn't get it. She seems a bit introverted and a little nerdy. Besides all this, she seems to be on pretty good terms with him. They seem to be friends, and in my head, their relationship dynamic is what James and Lily's would have been if they were normal people and not the parents of the Boy Who Lived, and everything.

Teddy is also adorable. He's very comfortable with himself and appears to be quite confident, which is really nice to see, because often, you see Teddy as this really sensitive guy, or one who's like his dad, with all these unresolved issues and insecurities about himself. But this guy's got it together.

Whilst the plot device might appear to be a bit tired, your refreshing take on these two characters bodes well for this story despite that! I'd like to see where this goes!

Author's Response: Everyone seems to be reading the Teddy/Victoire story which I honestly didn't think would be such a hit. Anyway, you're very right indeed, there aren't many Teddy/Victoire stories around the archives so I just thought I'd add to that.

I was hoping that their relationship would be very different than how it's usually written.

I wanted to make Victoire a little bit nerdy as opposed to how she's usually portrayed and I didn't want Teddy to be this totally soft guy who didn't say anything so I want to make him just slightly cocky and arrogant.

I've never really understood why Teddy was like to be perfectly honest, I just never understood where that all came from.

Thanks so much for the feedback and for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by hazledayz Keep Trying

23rd April 2013:
I really love the way you wrote Victoire and Teddy's relationship, it's different but I like it, I'm looking forward to reading more of this story!

Author's Response: I'm glad that you like the way their relationship was written. I was hoping to write it a little bit differently as it's usually written.

Anyway, thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by adluvshp Keep Trying

19th April 2013:
Here for review tag (version 3.0 hehe).

Ah this seems like an interesting story. It is definitely a new perspective on things as usually Victoire is portrayed as this really proud and haughty person and Teddy smitten by her and she pushing him around (well that's the kind of fics I've come across), so it's a fresh outlook to see Teddy trying to convince Victoire to date him. I like the whole idea of "opposites attract" or not too, and would love to see how you explore it further.

A little CC - I think you should polish your grammar a little. There are no glaring errors but a few small ones like "you're" instead of "your" and some awkward sentence phrasing here and there can interrupt the flow. I suggest getting a beta or giving this a thorough re-read (possibly aloud). Also, this being a prologue, I'd love to see more descriptions in it to establish the setting instead of jumping into the action. Perhaps the first paragraph can be a description of the scene and setting and stuff, before you actually get down to the thoughts and dialogue and such. It usually builds the story well. Just a thought =)

Over all, this was a good starting chapter though and I liked reading it. It was light and sweet, and made me look forward to the more. Good job! Keep writing!

8/10
Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: I love your reviews, they're always so helpful. Anyway.

I've personally never pictured Victoire as haughty or really REALLY proud. It's just that from the family that she comes from it doesn't make sense for her to be a little stuck up.

As soon as I get my computer working I will definitely fix my grammar more and make it a lot better. The grammar was bothering me as well. I took your advice for the description and I've added a paragraph or two to the beginning.

Thanks so much for the awesome feedback!


 Report Review

Review #9, by TheHistoryGirl Keep Trying

18th April 2013:
Hey! It's THG here from the RCR for the review battle! I was scrolling through your author's page and, realising that I don't read enough Teddy/Victoire this immediately jumped out at me.
I love the kind of Lily/James parallel's that Teddy and Victoire's relationship has. It adds an interesting twist to people's usual take on them as a ship. This was sweet and a real enjoyable read.
I disagree though, I think that opposites do attract in a sense and I'd be interested to see how this idea plays out with them.
Good story
THG

Author's Response: Hello THG! It's funny because the lack of Teddy/Victoire that I haven't been reading is what inspired me to write this in the first place.

It is a very James/Lily type of relationship now that I think about it, except Victoire doesn't hate Teddy.

I'm kind of in between with that, I think opposites could be attracted to each other if they had something going for them that would keep them together (if you know what I mean).


 Report Review

Review #10, by GingeredTea Keep Trying

16th April 2013:
I really liked this. It was a breath of fresh air and made me smile. I like how you have imagined Victoire since we don't really get an impression of her from cannon. Short but smile worthy and I'm interested in where this will go. :) I'll come back for more next time your in the review tag!

Author's Response: I'm glad that you liked it and that it was a breath of fresh air. I'm quite fond of Victoire, she isn't a perfect Veela like she's often portrayed, she's just an ordinary girl.

Again, I'm glad that you liked it and I'll look forward to your review if you do come back for more of the story!


 Report Review

Review #11, by patronus_charm Keep Trying

14th April 2013:
Team Blue for the win! I've never read any stories where Teddy and Victoire are the main pairing so I was really intrigued about this one.

I really liked both of their characerisations. Victoire had this spunkyness about how, which was a refreshing changed from the perfect girl she's often made out to be. I think the best part was that line about the lemons, as I really want to see that happen!

I liked Teddy's belief that he will get Victoire one day. It almost reminded me of the whole Lily/James scenario so it will be interesting to see how that plays out.

I hopw we get to ginf out more about Victoire doesn't want to date him, as I'm sure it will have a funny story behind it.

Anyhow, that was a good start to the story, and I loved your characterisation!

-Kiana :D

Author's Response: Yeah, there aren't that many Teddy/Victoire stories around so I'm happy to be adding to that! Victoire may be part Veela but hey, she's still a human and she has her imperfections as well! Look at Fleur, she's gorgeous but she's still not perfect!

I quite like the lemon line as well, I was giggling while writing that even though it isn't that much of a funny line.

There will definitely be a reason behind why she doesn't want to date him that will be explained as the story goes on.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by academica Keep Trying

9th April 2013:
Hi! Here from the Ravenclaw Review Battle :)

This was an interesting little prologue. I like that you gave Teddy some personality; I see him as being somewhat reserved, like his dad, but I can see a lot of Tonks in his sarcastic, idealistic manner. I like your Victoire, too; having her being sort of a spitfire is a little cliche, but the image of her hiding behind the huge book and trying to avoid Teddy made me chuckle. I suppose he'll wear her down one day :)

Anyway, this is a good start. I will be curious to see where things go from here. I did see a fair number of typos, so I'll pass along my oft-given advice to look into a beta or proofread a bit more.

-Amanda

Author's Response: I'm always glad to hear that I have an interesting beginning so thank you for that. Teddy always ends up sounding like one of Harry's children to me whenever I read him in fanfictions so I was hoping to kind of change that and make him his parents' kid.

I haven't had access for a week so I've had to make do with what electronics I had at my disposal. Needless to say, I'll be doing some editing once my computer is up and running.


 Report Review

Review #13, by aquabluez17 Keep Trying

8th April 2013:
Heyy Grace!!

This is a great start! I was thinking of starting a Teddy/Victoire story too! haha great minds think alike :P

I like the plot you have here, though I feel that maybe adding a bit more description to why Teddy is so determined and why Victorie is so adamant about this topic would really help this prologue!

Also, I got a vague idea of what kind of a pair Teddy/Victorie are thogh I feel like just by adding a few scenes, maybe flashbacks or something, readers could really feel their relationship a bit more clearly since that would make the story pop out more.

Also I noticed a grammatical error, " since I three.." I think you meant "since you were three"

Overall this was a great start! Can't wait to see where you are going with this =) Good job!

Sorry if this review seemed to harsh :P

-Mya

Author's Response: It's so strange to hear someone refer to me by my actual name on here.

I don't know why but I seem to be hopping onto the Teddy/Victoire bandwagon (prepare yourselves for the obsession people). I'll see if I can add any more detail about that part in there.

Sorry, I haven't had access to a computer for the pass week or two so my writing isn't at it's best at the moment. I'll definitely be taking a closer look at the chapter and try and make it better. This wasn't a harsh review at all and it was really helpful, thank you for the feedback!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login