Reading Reviews for James Potter's Stupid Journal
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 800 words of heaven Keep It Simple, Stupid

14th February 2015:
Heya! I'm back for chapter three!

I'm sad to see that this is the last chapter posted. I hope that you come back to this story soon. I'm really enjoying reading it.

James is such a pleasure to read. He's not a player or anything, but he is a little mischievous which rather suits him. He's also a bit of a mummy's boy, keeping his journal in his bag, although I don't think that is something you'd want getting into the hands of the Marauders.

I hadn't even thought about the fact that the Map doesn't lie. I can't imagine a scenario where the Marauders don't figure out what's going on, so that should be fun. Right now it's funny watching them sort of shun him. I can imagine that they're quite secretive, what with all the the illegal Animagi and General mischief-making that they get up to. It's nice to see that at least Lily is not that way.

Lovely chapter! I hope you post the next one soon :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Yes, unfortunately this is all I have posted so far. I'm studying abroad this semester, so we'll see how much time I have to write... But I can tell you I have a good part of chapter 4 written. :D

I am SO GLAD you like James. He is a bit mischievous, yes, and also definitely a bit of a mummy's boy-- though he will forever maintain that it's not that he's a mummy's boy, but that his mum is rather scary when she wants to be. :P And no, I don't think that's something the Marauders should get their hands on-- especially now that James is using it as a log of operations of sorts. That list especially might be troublesome. ^_^

We'll have to see how long it takes/if the Marauders find out everything. :P It'll definitely take some finagling on James and Sofie's parts no matter how things turn out...

And I'm sure I have NO IDEA what you're talking about. Between being illegal Animagi, all the pranking the Marauders get up to, and Remus' furry little problem, I don't see ANY reason why the Marauders might be secretive. XD

I'll try to get the next chapter up soon, but like I said, I'm studying abroad, so we'll see how it works out.

Thanks once more for the lovely review! :D



 Report Review

Review #2, by 800 words of heaven I See Dead People

11th February 2015:
Heya! I'm finally dropping in for chapter two :)

Gah! I actually love James Potter II as a drama queen. I feel like it fits his need for a little excitement in his life, although getting transported back in time would kind of cover the quota of "exciting things happening" for me.

Sofie is still interesting - there hasn't been a dip since the last chapter. I'd like to get to know her better in the next chapter, though. I feel as if my understanding of her is so superficial when compared to James.

Dumbledore is still crazy. That's good to know. He's about the only person who'd actually believe a time travelling story at face value, although I am glad that he seriously considered the possibility that Sofie was just Sirius in drag. That's totally possible - and far more plausible. Also I love how James' last name is Harrison - I SEE WHAT YOU DID THERE.

As for the whole time travelling thing - that is an intriguing mystery indeed. How did they travel so far back and not die? Who set it up? Why did it even happen? So many questions!

Author's Response: Hello again! :D

James II is totally a drama queen. He is related to both Ron and Harry AND James I AND Sirius (albeit distantly)-- there is no universe in which this kid isn't a drama queen. At least to me.

So glad Sofie's still interesting, and I will definitely try to flesh out her out more thoroughly. James is easier to flesh out because he's the narrative voice, but he should be able to describe his best-mate-and-crush fairly well, I think. :)

Dumbledore has, in fact, experienced Sirius in drag thanks to a memorable event in Fourth Year involving the Hufflepuff girls' dormitories, five House Elves, and far too much Butterbeer. It stands to reason it might happen again.

James' last name is brilliant, right? Simple, yet brilliant. ^_^ As for the time travelling questions... well, we'll just have to wait and see, won't we? ^_^

Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by 800 words of heaven The Horror Begins

23rd January 2015:
Heya! I've been meaning to read this story for a while now, and I finally got the time, so here I am!

Ah! I really like this! James is adorable. Sofie is adorable. Albus is adorable. So far, everyone is adorable. And already things are exploding in flashes of light, time travel is very real (and very cool) and James's crush on Sofie is so obvious! Yay for rapid plot progression!

Looking forward to the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Thanks for stopping by! :)

I'm so glad you like this, and especially that my James is adorable-- he's definitely supposed to be. Like a golden retriever. ^_^ I am especially glad you think his crush on Sofie's obvious-- I'm new to writing characters with crushes (and anything resembling romance in general, actually), so I'm glad I'm doing well so far. His crush is supposed to be fairly obvious, at least to the readers.

Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by DramaMama97x Keep It Simple, Stupid

22nd December 2014:
You are absolutely brilliant, o great author! Here I am, doddling about on my laptop and looking for some quality humor when I come upon "James Potter's Stupid Journal". To say the very least, I've been laughing myself absolutely silly, and I am so looking forward to the next chapter!
Yours truly,
DramaMama

Author's Response: Thanks! ^_^ I'm home for the holidays, and I've already begun chapter 4, so hopefully I won't keep you waiting too long for it. *crosses fingers*

I'm really happy you're enjoying it so far! Laughing yourself silly is basically what I was aiming for, so yay! Mission accomplished! :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by naflower05 Keep It Simple, Stupid

13th December 2014:
Good chapter!! I can't wait to see what else happens, update again soon!! =]

Author's Response: I'll try; I've got chapter 4 already in progress and everything, but I also have work and school and life to deal with, and it's all kinda crazy right now. :)

Glad you're enjoying the story, and I'll try to update quickly! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #6, by Felpata Lupin Keep It Simple, Stupid

13th December 2014:
Ahahah!!! Oh, this is so amazing!
I love time-travel fics, and I love even more humorous stories, and this just makes me roll with laughter! :D
Great, great work so far! Can't wait for what's next! (Although, maybe you should study for your finals... But I wouldn't mind if you didn't and keep writing... Ok, I'm a horrible person :P )
Hugs,
Chiara.

Author's Response: I really need to study. I REALLY do. And I will, just as soon as I finish replying to this review. (I swear.)

Time-travel fics are awesome. But usually the ones I see are *Harry* going back in time, and that's nice and all, but what happens if a less-emotionally invested person goes back?

This story, apparently. That's what. :P

I'm so happy I had to you rolling with laughter, and hopefully I'll have you laughing even harder fairly soon. (AFTER finals. Because I am going to study now.)

(REALLY.)

^_^


 Report Review

Review #7, by dominique_fox I See Dead People

12th December 2014:
Classic Dumbledore with his sherbet lemons. Loved that.

This chapter was so much fun to read, and very well-written. Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Any fic involving Dumbledore has to involved sherbet lemons. It's a rule or something. ^_^

Hope chapter 3 is just as fun to read! Hopefully I'll have time after finals to continue writing, not only this story but my others. But we'll see; I have a lot of stuff on my plate right now.


 Report Review

Review #8, by dominique_fox The Horror Begins

12th December 2014:
I love this already! James' character reads so real and teenagery, and your other characters seem very cool too. Also, cliffhanger much?! Arghhh!

Author's Response: Cliffhangers are the best. ^_^

I'm glad James seems real, and I am especially glad the other characters seem real as well. Sometimes I end up making all the characters sound the same, and that's no fun at all. :(

Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Aragona  I See Dead People

6th May 2014:
I absolutely love it! I think it's very funny (it had me in stitches several times), and I can't wait to see what will happen when they meet Sirius, Remus, Snape, and perhaps Regulus. I wonder how James (II) will react to Peter, knowing he's going to betray his grandparents, and I also wonder how it will affect the future. Hm...

Anyway, well done!

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you're loving it-- like I said, this is my first attempt at complete (mostly irreverent) humor, so I'm glad it hasn't fallen flat. :)

I have a theory that James II doesn't actually know that much about Peter; somehow, while I don't think Harry and Ginny would want to shelter their children overmuch, I don't think that would be something either of them would want to talk too much about. (Especially Harry.) But we'll see how he reacts soon, hopefully. I'm out of school for the year, so I hope I can cram as much fic writing as possible in between the job I'm hopefully also going to get. ^_^

Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by theblacksisters I See Dead People

26th October 2013:
I think you should bring in Ted (Tonks), Andromeda (not yet Tonks), and Bellatrix (not yet Lestrange). It would be fun to see James (II)'s reaction to people like Bellatrix who he'd heard about.

Author's Response: Quite unfortunately, all the Blacks save Sirius and Regulus (even Ted Tonks) are out of school and busy adjusting to life outside of Hogwarts, whether it be killing people (*cough*BELLATRIX*cough*) or raising one of the more unfortunately named people of her time (Andromeda and Ted). Unless they somehow worm their way onto Hogwarts grounds, Regulus Black is probably the closest we're going to get. :)

(Let's face it, though, he'd probably try to duel Bellatrix for retroactive vengeance for his dad and Sirius.)

In all honesty, poor James already has to come to terms with being surrounded by his dead paternal grandparents, his dad's godson's dead father, his dad's dead godfather, and a score of other dead people his friends and family are probably all named after. I think he has his hands full enough as it is. :P

(Especially when he runs into Al's middle namesake. XD )

Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by dimming I See Dead People

25th May 2013:
Loving it loving it loving it. Aha, you've got a really good writing style and I love how Sofie and James' friendship is portrayed. This is great! (:

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it so far! And I'm *especially* glad you like how James and Sofie's relationship is portrayed, as that's a rather important aspect of the story. :D

I'm working on chapter 3 as quickly as I can, but I'm also working on my OTHER fics as well, so I really have no idea when I'll update. Promise it'll be ASAP, though. :)

Thanks for the lovely review! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #12, by naflower05 I See Dead People

23rd April 2013:
good chapter! I really liked it! I can't wait to see how they start to fit in! Update again soon please! =]

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! Yeah, it'll be interesting to see how a Ravenclaw and a drama queen fit in with the drama queen's dead grandparents. :P

I'll try to update soon, but it's the end of the semester, so no promises. (Sorry, but university calls.)


 Report Review

Review #13, by WoodenFences The Horror Begins

5th April 2013:
I'm definately adding this to my favorites. And if you stop this you will die. a very very PAINFUL death.

Author's Response: I'm glad you like what I've got so far! Don't worry, I'm definitely continuing this-- writing lighthearted, funny stuff is very fun. And I love my James II. :)

I'm working on chapters 2 and 3 right now, so please don't painfully murder me, as then it'd be kind of hard for me to update. :P


 Report Review

Review #14, by naflower05 The Horror Begins

4th April 2013:
Interesting so far, not what I normally read but I would like to see where you take this. AU maybe? update again soon! =]

Author's Response: I'm glad you think it's interesting so far, especially as you don't read this kind of stuff usually.

I suppose it could fall under AU, but really it's just inadvertent time-travel within the context of the canon-verse. (Wow, that sounded intelligent. :P ) Poor James the Second is going to find himself in some VERY INTERESTING situations as the story progresses. XD

Thanks for the review! Hope you keep reading!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login