Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Hallowed
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Felpata Lupin The Tale of the Three Brothers

22nd March 2017:
Hello, dear Drue!
I'm here to check out this other story of yours for the Chalices Review Spree! :)

This was such a great start! I found really fascinating your take on the Peverell brothers so far. They have very defined personalities, even in this first chapter alone, and I loved the bond among them and the way they balance each other, even if they clash at times. I loved when Ignotus teased Cadmus to break the tension between him and Antioch. (In case you were wondering, Ignotus is my favourite...)

I loved your interpretation of the tale, with the appearence of Death and everything else. Even if it was a retelling of the story we all know so well, you made it fresh and new and I really loved it! I also loved the little background story of Cadmus and his fiancť, it gave much more depth and feeling to it. And the fact that he had a child, too. So fascinating.

Your writing was lovely throughout, you had some really lovely description. I particularly loved when they admire the valley from above, it was really well done. And I loved all the details that referred to the medieval era.

My only CC (if I have to be nitpicky) is that sometimes you tended to make repetitions of the same words and/or concepts in subsequent sentences and that made the pace slightly less fluent (at least for me, maybe it was just my impression). Otherwise, everything else was perfect!

Another great story, you really have a great talent! I'll try to come back soon!

Lots of love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #2, by SunshineDaisies The Tale of the Three Brothers

21st March 2017:
Hiya! I'm here for The Chalices Review Spree!

This is such an interesting concept for a story. I'd never put much thought into the Peverell brothers, so it's neat to see them in action. I loved reading their story from their viewpoint, rather than in the form of a fable. It's interesting to read their interactions and thoughts. I certainly see why it was nominated for a Chalice! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by LadyL8 And Then There Were Two

17th March 2017:
For The Chalices Review Spree

Hi Drue,

So Iím here for the last chapter. Iím honestly so excited to read it, because I think Antioch is going to die in this chapter Ė the chapter title is ďAnd then there were twoĒ after all. Iím curious to see whoíll end up killing him, and Iím also really curious to see how the other two brothers will react. I hope his death might help Cadmus see the light, but I obviously know his fate already so thatís not gonna happen. A girl can hope though :P

Aww, thatís just sad. You broke my heart with that ending. I mean honestly Antioch got what he was basically asking for, but his family didnít deserve this. Death was cruel and cunning and Antioch fell for it way too easily, but Iím glad he found out that his brother was right in the end, and even though it broke my heart, I really was happy to see him beg for his youngest brotherís life. It really showed that Antioch truly cared about his brothers, but the power just got to him, just like it got to Silas.

I was also happy to see a small hint of an improvement in Cadmusís mental state. I truly hope he will step up and take care of his son, and maybe this death might even encourage him to do so even more. I donít know, but I hope so for Tyrionís sake. Iím not sure I quite believe him though. I feel like heís still mad, and it makes me really worried for Tyrion and especially Ignotus, because we know it wonít end well. Iím glad theyíll have each other, but if Antiochís death was a tough blow, I just canít imagine what Cadmusí death will be.

I hope that weíll get to see that in future chapters. But anyway, Iíve truly loved reading this story. Itís creative, well-written and just great. Thank you so much for sharing, and good luck on your Golden Chalices Award nomination!

- Lotte

 Report Review

Review #4, by LadyL8 The Demise of Ganon Blackthorn

17th March 2017:
For The Chalices Review Spree

Hello Drue.

So this was a really dark chapter. At lot of things happened, and wellÖ everything was terrible really. I donít even know where to start here, because thereís just so many things to comment on and I just donít have enough time to cover it all.

But I think it want to start with Ignotus. I feel so bad for Ignotus, because you can really tell he wants to save his brothers, but itís just hopeless because they donít want to listen. It really hit me hard, because, as Iíve said before, I have many siblings myself, and I just canít imagine being in such a hopeless situation, to just have to watch your own siblings completely lose it and not be able to help them out. It was really heartbreaking to see, and I just sympathised with him so much.

Oh, but Cadmus. Oh, Cadmus, Cadmus, Cadmus. You know I can understand Cadmus in a way. Iíve been lucky enough to not lose anyone really, really close to me, but I have lost grandparents and I can understand wanting to see them again. But this was just really sad. Poor Tyrion. Heís the innocent one in all of this, and truly didnít deserve to have something like this happen. Iím glad Ignotus is there for him, but noÖ I just hated seeing Cadmus like this.

And Antioch. Well, heís just completely lost it. It was truly like reading the mind of a madman. And with the way things are going now, I would definitely not be surprised if heís ends up dying in the next chapter. Heís reached the bottom, and Iím mostly just worried about how Ignotus will react. I hope he wonít blame himself.

But you know, I think the most interesting thing in this chapter is the way these gifts are effecting the brothers. The gifts are obviously driving them both mad, but in very, very different ways. Antioch just gone all Voldemort on us, while Cadmus is not violent and doesnít go around murdering people. Heís neglecting his son, and it looks a lot like he might be a serious danger to himself, but heís not mad in the same way as Antioch. It was really interesting to see that difference, and I think youíve managed to stay very true to the original tale, but youíve also added something new and great to it. I really like that!

Another great chapter. I canít wait to read the last one!

- Lotte

 Report Review

Review #5, by LadyL8 The Eldest Foe

17th March 2017:
For The Chalices Review Spree

Hi Drue.

Itís me again :P Iíve made my way over to chapter 2, and Iím just so excited to find out whatíll happen next. I obviously know the three brothersí fate, but seeing it happen through their own eyes will be quite different and Iím excited about that. But Iím not gonna ramble on any longer. Letís get started on the chapter.

Wow. Thatís one good chapter. I pretty much assumed weíd see Antioch show off his powers, but it just went down in a completely different way from what I expected. I really like that we see things more from Antiochís perspective in this chapter. Heís not the most likable guy, but I do in a way feel like I understand him better after this chapter.

Donít get me wrong though, I still donít sympathise with him, but power is a dangerous thing for some, and you can tell it really got to him. It was almost like reading the mind of a madman. I think deep down he knows what heís doing is wrong, but itís like he just canít stop it. It was truly frightening to read, because you really felt like this was someone whoíd completely lost it. I was of course hoping heíd realise the dangers after almost killing his enemy and hurting his friend Ė it even seemed like that for a second - but it looks like Antioch is just not gonna change his mind. So now Iím mostly worried about how Cadmus and Ignotus will take this, but we wonít see that until maybe the next chapter.

Anyway, I said this in the last review too, but youíve created three really distinct characters, and their personalities are so consistent that I donít even need to know their names to know who youíre talking about. Itís rare to see someone master the show-donít-tell technic so well, and I truly admire you for that talent. Not a lot of people can do it, but you most certainly can!

But you know, as interesting as Antioch was in this chapter Ė losing his mind to power, losing control and hurting and almost killing an enemy and a friend Ė I actually found Cadmus to be the most interesting one. It looks like he might be changing his mind a little. Maybe heís now seeing what heís brotherís talking about? I donít know, but it just makes me really excited about the next chapter. I wonder if weíll see a Cadmus that maybe tries to get rid of his gift, or a Cadmus that will maybe listen more to his brother. Knowing their fates, Iím guessing not, but a girlís allowed to hope, right? :P

Anyway, another great chapter. Iíll see you over in chapter 3 :)

- Lotte

 Report Review

Review #6, by LadyL8 The Tale of the Three Brothers

17th March 2017:
For The Chalices Review Spree

Hi Drue.

Iím here because this story is nominated for a Golden Chalices Award in the Best Drama category, and I thought it would be a good idea to read it before the voting round officially begins. Iím really glad I did too, because this story is really different from anything Iíve ever read before.

But letís begin by talking about the brothers. My favourite thing about this whole chapter is the way you characterise these three men. You really show their differences, their personalities, and itís just so believable because it fits so well with the little things we do know about these three from the books. Antioch is arrogant and based on his personality it just makes perfect sense that heíd ask for the elder wand just to humiliate death further. Cadmus I can sympathise more with, and you can really understand why heíd make that wish too.

But my favourite is definitely Ignotus. So incredibly intelligent, kind and just very likable guy. And you know I always wondered about him, because he clearly understood that Death was just trying to trick them, but why didnít help his brothers? Why didnít he help them so they wouldnít be tricked? I thought it was really interesting to see here in this story that he really does try to save them; they just donít listen. Itís a really good portrayal of the three, and I just love and can relate so much to the relationship between the brothers. I have three sisters myself, and we too do tend to make jokes at the othersí expense, but itís always in good fun :P

Anyway, I really loved the idea. Iíve never read a story about the Peverell Brothers before, but Iíve always found their story really interesting. It has many of things we typically see in muggle fairy tales. A supernatural element. A moral. The wise and good guy wins in the end, showing us that we should be just like him. Itís just a really good tale, and I loved that you stayed true to the story, but added more details and even allowed to see everything through Ignotusí eyes. It was really good. I loved it.

Just a small little critic, if you even want to call it that. It was just a little slip-up, but I noticed you sometimes got Cadmusí name wrong. It was just one or two times in the story, but I always understood who you were talking about. And overall I think it was really good grammatically and especially when it comes to plot and categorisation.

So to sum up, I really loved it, and Iím very excited about the next chapter!

- Lotte

 Report Review

Review #7, by marauderfan And Then There Were Two

25th January 2017:
Well, I guess I'm not surprised Antioch didn't last that long. The power went right to his head and got out of hand pretty quickly. I know I should probably feel bad that he just got murdered but I don't really - I won't miss him. So the cycle of violence of the Elder Wand begins.

...okay, so then Antioch goes and pleads for Cadmus' and Ignotus' lives, so he does have a heart after all. I guess when faced with Death he became a lot more human and a lot more caring.

With Cadmus vowing to take more responsibility for his son now, I wonder how Antioch's death will affect that - whether that will further motivate him to stay away from the stone because the gifts from Death are not to be trusted... or whether he'll regress back into trying to use the stone now that there are two people whose death he mourns.

Also. I don't want to be annoying but where is the rest of this story? Please tell me you haven't abandoned it! It's too good! I hope that you come back to this story and write more someday, and when you do, I'll be here to read it! *bribes with cookies*

Amazing work!

 Report Review

Review #8, by marauderfan The Demise of Ganon Blackthorn

25th January 2017:
The first half of this chapter is really sad. Poor Tyrion. The stone is already starting to ruin Cadmus as well, and just allowing him to sink into depression and obsession with making the stone work. There are so many things that could go wrong, anyway. I mean, Seraphine has been dead nine years, and what if she comes back just like that? a rotting zombie? ew. I know Cadmus is upset and loved his betrothed, and wants his son to have a mother, but it's becoming clear that he just really doesn't know how to let go. When he turns Tyrion over into Ignotus's care at the end signals a definite spiral downward and I hope he's able to come to his senses (even though I know he doesn't - ah!)

Maybe because of Ignotus' still ingrained distrust of the gifts from Death, and the fact that he has done nothing but try the cloak on once, but it's nice to see that he's not suffering or going mad as a result. He was afraid of Death when he got the cloak and he still is.

Ganon's long ago prank of putting a drunk Antioch in with the pigs is like the medieval equivalent of drawing a moustache (or other things) on someone's face when they're passed out. Annoying, but definitely doesn't mean the person deserves death. I don't like Antioch. Power does terrible things to him... not that there weren't already warning signs before he even had the wand.

Another great chapter! I'm really enjoying this fic!

 Report Review

Review #9, by marauderfan The Eldest Foe

25th January 2017:
Just favorited this story, btw.

You could probably write this whole thing without dialogue tags and I'd still know exactly who was talking. And that's really impressive - being able to vary characters' speech patterns enough that it actually feels like different people talking, and it does here.

You make Ignotus such a relatable character. I think it's an easy trap to fall into for people to disregard the young, and while Ignotus is probably not that much younger than his brothers, he has been the youngest of the three for his whole life, and always will be, and there's kind of a hierarchy. So even when Ignotus senses in his very being that something is wrong, his brothers still ignore him, impressed with their own successes, and I can't imagine how frustrating that must be for Ignotus when he's right all along. I mean, you can't outsmart Death. I don't know why the other two are up on their high horse! (Well, I do. Cadmus is such a dreamer that I think he just hopes things will turn out fine, and Antioch just wouldn't believe Death capable of outsmarting him, I think.)

I knew it wouldn't be too long before Antioch had to show off his new power. At the end of the chapter he got so close to introspection, to actually thinking about his rash action of revenge - he even considered what his youngest brother had said! - only to just brush it all off at the end. That's so frustrating as a reader, to know that a character is so close to improving themselves and then falling back into the trap of their flaws. But it's also really good writing!

I think Cadmus is going to end up being a really interesting character, too. Just given the way he's wavered so far - being set on getting the gift from Death, and then reconsidering once he actually had it. I sense a potential for change in him. Antioch, though, as evidenced by this chapter isn't one who changes easily - he's stubborn as well as revengeful.

Another amazing chapter!

 Report Review

Review #10, by marauderfan The Tale of the Three Brothers

25th January 2017:
Hi Drue! I'm here from your wishlist - even though the wishlists are closed now, but I still wanted to make sure to give you a gift! I had to choose this story just because it looks so unusual - I've never seen any other fics about this era of wizarding history and I am so.excited. Where has this story been all my life?

Their unsuccessful hunting trip in the beginning reminds me of every time I played the Oregon Trail game.

I really enjoyed this retelling of the Three Brothers' tale from Ignotus' POV, and in so much richer detail. What stands out the most to me is your wonderful characterization. You don't say anything like "Antioch was arrogant and concerned with his image", you say that he rides with his posture straight even when no one is looking. Just the way they talk to one another says so much about them. In other words, you show, rather than tell, so wonderfully and it's lovely to read. Even only halfway into this chapter I already felt like I had a very good idea of who the brothers are and how they would act when facing a given situation.

Their interactions with Death, also, were so telling. One wants to humiliate Death, one wants to take back from him what he lost, and the last wants to just hide from him. The way they treat Death and what they ask for says a lot about them as people and kind of foreshadows what will happen later on.

Even though I know what eventually happens to them, this is still such a captivating read because of the depth you've brought to the story. Cadmus' tendency to get lost and end up at the pub. Ignotus' suspicion. It's really wonderfully written and now I find myself wishing there were more stories in this era on the archive. I may just have to read your other one once I finish this one! :P

On to the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Beeezie And Then There Were Two

28th December 2016:
Oooh - wordless magic wasn't a thing then (or at least wasn't widespread)? That's fascinating - it shows both how the Elder Wand was able to genuinely change the rules and how once Pandora's box is opened, sometimes it stays open for good. It's all about changing what one already believes is possible. Excellent job there - I love it when people work canon in like this. ♥

I'm not sure how to interpret Antioch here. Did the wand truly corrupt him beyond the arrogance and malice he showed before they met Death, and once he'd lost it, he was free of that influence? Or, was he just a frightened man about to die knowing that all his bragging was bluster? It's so hard to know, and I love how open-ended you left it. I also really enjoy how nuanced you're continuing to make Cadmus as a character - based on what he's saying here, he really wants to do the right thing, but knowing the tale, it seems likely that he'll succumb to the same temptation that led him to ask for the stone in the first place. That's so wonderful and so well-done.

I also love how complex the relationship between the brothers is. Ignotus and Cadmus really clashed in the previous chapter, and it's clear that Ignotus is quite frustrated with both his brothers. However, when push comes to shove, it's also clear that Ignotus cares deeply for them - and I have to wonder whether he'll be able to feel so philosophical about death with the loss of Antioch.

I wasn't quite as sure about Death's characterization here, though. While I liked the idea that Death never intended for his hallows to remain on the mortal world, I was confused about how Death could possibly know who killed Antioch but not that Antioch no longer had the wand. It would have felt more natural if Death had raged about Antioch losing the wand from the start, rather than after asking for it back. I also would have liked to see more of an explanation for how the cloak could doom Ignotus, since avoiding that was explicitly part of what Ignotus asked for.

Otherwise, though, this was another solid chapter, and I'm very sad there isn't more yet! Happy holidays! ♥

Author's Response: Thank you SO much! Yeah, looking back at everything now, sometimes I wish I had expanded more on Antioch before killing him off, but I think I ultimately decided to do it when I did because I have so much planned for the story with Cadmus and onward.

That is also awesome feedback to hear about Death's characterization! I actually had not considered that take on it, and that seems the more logical approach!

You provide such excellent feedback!! I cannot tell you how much I've appreciated your reviews. :) Thank you so much, and happy holidays!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Beeezie The Demise of Ganon Blackthorn

28th December 2016:
Back for our holiday wishlist event! ♥

Yeah, so I really like what you're doing with Ignotus here. You're showing the first cracks in the kind, patient exterior we've seen over the past two chapters, and it's a really nice illustration that the effects of the hallows can spread far, far past the people who actually possess them. Ignotus should be snapping - his brothers are being foolish, and Cadmus is neglecting his son on top of it. That's a really awful thing to do, and my heart went out to both Ignotus and Tyrion. I can only imagine how Ignotus would feel if he saw how Antioch was behaving - it's like he's taken getting a wand from Death as an open invitation to be a terrible human being, and I'm finding myself wondering whether he was always like this, or if his hallow is corrupting him as well.

A little CC, though: while I felt like the interaction between Ignotus and Cadmus was very believable and fit in well with the story, I did feel like you did a little too much telling as opposed to showing in the scene. You emphasized that Ignotus was Tyrion's favorite uncle and that it was so out of character for Ignotus to talk to his brothers in this way so strongly, and while I think both points have a definite place in the story, I wish you'd showed them in a more subtle way (if that makes sense).

In general, though, this was another solid chapter. Amazing job!

Author's Response: Another!! :) You really committed to that wishlist. :)

Thank you for that CC! That's very, very helpful. I feel like I, at times, can overtell the situation. I know it is a fault of mine to not give people the benefit of the doubt and think that they will be able to put two and two together, so sometimes I feel like I have to really write out my point, but that's an excellent point about going about it more subtly! I will definitely consider that in the future. :)

Thank you again for your incredibly review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Beeezie The Eldest Foe

28th December 2016:
So this chapter has zero reviews? And I don't understand that at all? This is wonderful. What the hell is that nonsense about? Oh, well. I'm here to remedy that ridiculous misstep by silly people with another review for our wishlist event! ♥

I love the way the brothers are continuing to fall on a spectrum. I think there's a very real temptation to simplify the hallows to the wand and the stone being bad and the cloak being good, and you're continuing to resist that telling and show the nuance of it. Cadmus gave into the pain of grief, but he's entirely not void of common sense - he wants to handle their gifts in a quiet and pretty sensible manner. It works really well with how he ultimately meets his end (as opposed to Antioch), and it does absolutely give Death a more sinister air. I still think that you showed nuance in him, but Death did trick Cadmus to lead him to his death. There are no easy answers there, and since the stone really is so complicated, that fits well.

Antioch's personality is also continuing to remain consistent and thoroughly unlikeable. He's all about overt power and status - it's not enough to just have something that's powerful, he has to be able to control people with it and brag about who he hurt to get it. That's a very dark way to approach something so powerful, and it fits with the hallow he took possession of. I have a hard time mustering up sympathy for him, but that's not actually a bad thing - I always root for the heroes, and in this story, that's absolutely, without a doubt, Ignotus.

Great chapter!

Author's Response: Eeek!! You continue to make my day!! :) Thank you again for your feedback! Yes, I absolutely adore the Ignotus I've portrayed here, so I'm glad to hear that he's coming off the way I want him to! :)

Thank you again!!!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Beeezie The Tale of the Three Brothers

28th December 2016:
I'm here to spread some cheer for our HPFT holiday wishlist event! ♥

So.

So.

Oh how I enjoyed this, LET ME COUNT THE WAYS.

First off: I've got a massive soft spot in my heart for other era fics as it is, so this is right up my alley and I'm super excited to read it on the basis of that alone.

Second: You did such an amazing job at making this genuinely feel like it was straight out of a very different time period. You did it with the dialogue, and you did it with the prose. I ended up getting completely absorbed in it, and I loved that to a ridiculous extent.

Third: Omg the three brothers. Even before they met death, their personalities were so, so distinct. I could see how Antioch would be so foolhardy and intent on beating Death from the start. To me, it came across that Cadmus made an incredibly foolish decision for reasons that were... I'm not sure if pure is the right word, but at least not malicious? But Antioch was about humiliation. That's a different and much darker animal, and it fits their respective hallows.

But Ignotus. Ignotus had the right of it, and you managed to make that clear without falling into tired cliches. Ignotus's request felt genuine and honest, and I really adored him for it - and I feel like that allowed you to show a side of Death that wasn't focused solely on tricking people and hurting them, however Ignotus characterizes Death's laugh as they ride away.

Great job. ♥

Author's Response: Oh my goodness!! Your review has just left me feeling all warm and fluffy inside!! Gosh, thank you so much for your kind words! I can't tell you how much I appreciate your thoughts. I really wanted their characterizations to be clear, and I really wanted to capture what the written story describes and stick true to it, so that really helps me out.

Gosh, thank you so much!! :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by pattybuns_hpf The Tale of the Three Brothers

18th July 2013:
This is an interesting rendition of the tale. I do like where this is all going, but I can only guess where it will all go after their encounter with Death. You tell me because I am intrigued and would love another chapter of this. I also like how you've written the three bothers. It's great that you've established the differences between them like you've experienced something like it before. And the era in which you're writing. I do love those stories that have that medieval/olden times feel on them.

There were a few bumps on the flow of the story but it did get me to the end wanting for more. There were a few sentences that didn't quite make any sense and I thought weren't so necessary to a paragraph. BUT overall it was a good read and a good start for the adventures of Ignotus. As this is my first story about him I would really love to see how you go about this story.

And I don't think I'll be able to keep my eyes off from your story's banner and chapter image. They're truly beautiful and eye-catching for many miles around. Nice choices on the brother's faces, I can totally see them playing the Peverell brothers if ever there was a movie.

Anyway, I'm definitely following for another chapter. See you around. :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by HufflePuff_Blitz The Tale of the Three Brothers

17th June 2013:
I can't wait to see how this story twists without Dominique in it... and is the the same chapter as the first in and love prevails?

Author's Response: Thanks for showing such interest in it! I do hope you like the way it goes without having Dominique in it! And it is not the same. While it's similar, there are a lot of different aspects to it. ;)

Thanks for the review! I hope to see you back for the next chapter!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login