Reading Reviews for Hallowed
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan And Then There Were Two

25th January 2017:
Well, I guess I'm not surprised Antioch didn't last that long. The power went right to his head and got out of hand pretty quickly. I know I should probably feel bad that he just got murdered but I don't really - I won't miss him. So the cycle of violence of the Elder Wand begins.

...okay, so then Antioch goes and pleads for Cadmus' and Ignotus' lives, so he does have a heart after all. I guess when faced with Death he became a lot more human and a lot more caring.

With Cadmus vowing to take more responsibility for his son now, I wonder how Antioch's death will affect that - whether that will further motivate him to stay away from the stone because the gifts from Death are not to be trusted... or whether he'll regress back into trying to use the stone now that there are two people whose death he mourns.

Also. I don't want to be annoying but where is the rest of this story? Please tell me you haven't abandoned it! It's too good! I hope that you come back to this story and write more someday, and when you do, I'll be here to read it! *bribes with cookies*

Amazing work!

 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderfan The Demise of Ganon Blackthorn

25th January 2017:
The first half of this chapter is really sad. Poor Tyrion. The stone is already starting to ruin Cadmus as well, and just allowing him to sink into depression and obsession with making the stone work. There are so many things that could go wrong, anyway. I mean, Seraphine has been dead nine years, and what if she comes back just like that? a rotting zombie? ew. I know Cadmus is upset and loved his betrothed, and wants his son to have a mother, but it's becoming clear that he just really doesn't know how to let go. When he turns Tyrion over into Ignotus's care at the end signals a definite spiral downward and I hope he's able to come to his senses (even though I know he doesn't - ah!)

Maybe because of Ignotus' still ingrained distrust of the gifts from Death, and the fact that he has done nothing but try the cloak on once, but it's nice to see that he's not suffering or going mad as a result. He was afraid of Death when he got the cloak and he still is.

Ganon's long ago prank of putting a drunk Antioch in with the pigs is like the medieval equivalent of drawing a moustache (or other things) on someone's face when they're passed out. Annoying, but definitely doesn't mean the person deserves death. I don't like Antioch. Power does terrible things to him... not that there weren't already warning signs before he even had the wand.

Another great chapter! I'm really enjoying this fic!

 Report Review

Review #3, by marauderfan The Eldest Foe

25th January 2017:
Just favorited this story, btw.

You could probably write this whole thing without dialogue tags and I'd still know exactly who was talking. And that's really impressive - being able to vary characters' speech patterns enough that it actually feels like different people talking, and it does here.

You make Ignotus such a relatable character. I think it's an easy trap to fall into for people to disregard the young, and while Ignotus is probably not that much younger than his brothers, he has been the youngest of the three for his whole life, and always will be, and there's kind of a hierarchy. So even when Ignotus senses in his very being that something is wrong, his brothers still ignore him, impressed with their own successes, and I can't imagine how frustrating that must be for Ignotus when he's right all along. I mean, you can't outsmart Death. I don't know why the other two are up on their high horse! (Well, I do. Cadmus is such a dreamer that I think he just hopes things will turn out fine, and Antioch just wouldn't believe Death capable of outsmarting him, I think.)

I knew it wouldn't be too long before Antioch had to show off his new power. At the end of the chapter he got so close to introspection, to actually thinking about his rash action of revenge - he even considered what his youngest brother had said! - only to just brush it all off at the end. That's so frustrating as a reader, to know that a character is so close to improving themselves and then falling back into the trap of their flaws. But it's also really good writing!

I think Cadmus is going to end up being a really interesting character, too. Just given the way he's wavered so far - being set on getting the gift from Death, and then reconsidering once he actually had it. I sense a potential for change in him. Antioch, though, as evidenced by this chapter isn't one who changes easily - he's stubborn as well as revengeful.

Another amazing chapter!

 Report Review

Review #4, by marauderfan The Tale of the Three Brothers

25th January 2017:
Hi Drue! I'm here from your wishlist - even though the wishlists are closed now, but I still wanted to make sure to give you a gift! I had to choose this story just because it looks so unusual - I've never seen any other fics about this era of wizarding history and I am so.excited. Where has this story been all my life?

Their unsuccessful hunting trip in the beginning reminds me of every time I played the Oregon Trail game.

I really enjoyed this retelling of the Three Brothers' tale from Ignotus' POV, and in so much richer detail. What stands out the most to me is your wonderful characterization. You don't say anything like "Antioch was arrogant and concerned with his image", you say that he rides with his posture straight even when no one is looking. Just the way they talk to one another says so much about them. In other words, you show, rather than tell, so wonderfully and it's lovely to read. Even only halfway into this chapter I already felt like I had a very good idea of who the brothers are and how they would act when facing a given situation.

Their interactions with Death, also, were so telling. One wants to humiliate Death, one wants to take back from him what he lost, and the last wants to just hide from him. The way they treat Death and what they ask for says a lot about them as people and kind of foreshadows what will happen later on.

Even though I know what eventually happens to them, this is still such a captivating read because of the depth you've brought to the story. Cadmus' tendency to get lost and end up at the pub. Ignotus' suspicion. It's really wonderfully written and now I find myself wishing there were more stories in this era on the archive. I may just have to read your other one once I finish this one! :P

On to the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Beeezie And Then There Were Two

28th December 2016:
Oooh - wordless magic wasn't a thing then (or at least wasn't widespread)? That's fascinating - it shows both how the Elder Wand was able to genuinely change the rules and how once Pandora's box is opened, sometimes it stays open for good. It's all about changing what one already believes is possible. Excellent job there - I love it when people work canon in like this. ♥

I'm not sure how to interpret Antioch here. Did the wand truly corrupt him beyond the arrogance and malice he showed before they met Death, and once he'd lost it, he was free of that influence? Or, was he just a frightened man about to die knowing that all his bragging was bluster? It's so hard to know, and I love how open-ended you left it. I also really enjoy how nuanced you're continuing to make Cadmus as a character - based on what he's saying here, he really wants to do the right thing, but knowing the tale, it seems likely that he'll succumb to the same temptation that led him to ask for the stone in the first place. That's so wonderful and so well-done.

I also love how complex the relationship between the brothers is. Ignotus and Cadmus really clashed in the previous chapter, and it's clear that Ignotus is quite frustrated with both his brothers. However, when push comes to shove, it's also clear that Ignotus cares deeply for them - and I have to wonder whether he'll be able to feel so philosophical about death with the loss of Antioch.

I wasn't quite as sure about Death's characterization here, though. While I liked the idea that Death never intended for his hallows to remain on the mortal world, I was confused about how Death could possibly know who killed Antioch but not that Antioch no longer had the wand. It would have felt more natural if Death had raged about Antioch losing the wand from the start, rather than after asking for it back. I also would have liked to see more of an explanation for how the cloak could doom Ignotus, since avoiding that was explicitly part of what Ignotus asked for.

Otherwise, though, this was another solid chapter, and I'm very sad there isn't more yet! Happy holidays! ♥

Author's Response: Thank you SO much! Yeah, looking back at everything now, sometimes I wish I had expanded more on Antioch before killing him off, but I think I ultimately decided to do it when I did because I have so much planned for the story with Cadmus and onward.

That is also awesome feedback to hear about Death's characterization! I actually had not considered that take on it, and that seems the more logical approach!

You provide such excellent feedback!! I cannot tell you how much I've appreciated your reviews. :) Thank you so much, and happy holidays!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Beeezie The Demise of Ganon Blackthorn

28th December 2016:
Back for our holiday wishlist event! ♥

Yeah, so I really like what you're doing with Ignotus here. You're showing the first cracks in the kind, patient exterior we've seen over the past two chapters, and it's a really nice illustration that the effects of the hallows can spread far, far past the people who actually possess them. Ignotus should be snapping - his brothers are being foolish, and Cadmus is neglecting his son on top of it. That's a really awful thing to do, and my heart went out to both Ignotus and Tyrion. I can only imagine how Ignotus would feel if he saw how Antioch was behaving - it's like he's taken getting a wand from Death as an open invitation to be a terrible human being, and I'm finding myself wondering whether he was always like this, or if his hallow is corrupting him as well.

A little CC, though: while I felt like the interaction between Ignotus and Cadmus was very believable and fit in well with the story, I did feel like you did a little too much telling as opposed to showing in the scene. You emphasized that Ignotus was Tyrion's favorite uncle and that it was so out of character for Ignotus to talk to his brothers in this way so strongly, and while I think both points have a definite place in the story, I wish you'd showed them in a more subtle way (if that makes sense).

In general, though, this was another solid chapter. Amazing job!

Author's Response: Another!! :) You really committed to that wishlist. :)

Thank you for that CC! That's very, very helpful. I feel like I, at times, can overtell the situation. I know it is a fault of mine to not give people the benefit of the doubt and think that they will be able to put two and two together, so sometimes I feel like I have to really write out my point, but that's an excellent point about going about it more subtly! I will definitely consider that in the future. :)

Thank you again for your incredibly review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Beeezie The Eldest Foe

28th December 2016:
So this chapter has zero reviews? And I don't understand that at all? This is wonderful. What the hell is that nonsense about? Oh, well. I'm here to remedy that ridiculous misstep by silly people with another review for our wishlist event! ♥

I love the way the brothers are continuing to fall on a spectrum. I think there's a very real temptation to simplify the hallows to the wand and the stone being bad and the cloak being good, and you're continuing to resist that telling and show the nuance of it. Cadmus gave into the pain of grief, but he's entirely not void of common sense - he wants to handle their gifts in a quiet and pretty sensible manner. It works really well with how he ultimately meets his end (as opposed to Antioch), and it does absolutely give Death a more sinister air. I still think that you showed nuance in him, but Death did trick Cadmus to lead him to his death. There are no easy answers there, and since the stone really is so complicated, that fits well.

Antioch's personality is also continuing to remain consistent and thoroughly unlikeable. He's all about overt power and status - it's not enough to just have something that's powerful, he has to be able to control people with it and brag about who he hurt to get it. That's a very dark way to approach something so powerful, and it fits with the hallow he took possession of. I have a hard time mustering up sympathy for him, but that's not actually a bad thing - I always root for the heroes, and in this story, that's absolutely, without a doubt, Ignotus.

Great chapter!

Author's Response: Eeek!! You continue to make my day!! :) Thank you again for your feedback! Yes, I absolutely adore the Ignotus I've portrayed here, so I'm glad to hear that he's coming off the way I want him to! :)

Thank you again!!!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Beeezie The Tale of the Three Brothers

28th December 2016:
I'm here to spread some cheer for our HPFT holiday wishlist event! ♥

So.

So.

Oh how I enjoyed this, LET ME COUNT THE WAYS.

First off: I've got a massive soft spot in my heart for other era fics as it is, so this is right up my alley and I'm super excited to read it on the basis of that alone.

Second: You did such an amazing job at making this genuinely feel like it was straight out of a very different time period. You did it with the dialogue, and you did it with the prose. I ended up getting completely absorbed in it, and I loved that to a ridiculous extent.

Third: Omg the three brothers. Even before they met death, their personalities were so, so distinct. I could see how Antioch would be so foolhardy and intent on beating Death from the start. To me, it came across that Cadmus made an incredibly foolish decision for reasons that were... I'm not sure if pure is the right word, but at least not malicious? But Antioch was about humiliation. That's a different and much darker animal, and it fits their respective hallows.

But Ignotus. Ignotus had the right of it, and you managed to make that clear without falling into tired cliches. Ignotus's request felt genuine and honest, and I really adored him for it - and I feel like that allowed you to show a side of Death that wasn't focused solely on tricking people and hurting them, however Ignotus characterizes Death's laugh as they ride away.

Great job. ♥

Author's Response: Oh my goodness!! Your review has just left me feeling all warm and fluffy inside!! Gosh, thank you so much for your kind words! I can't tell you how much I appreciate your thoughts. I really wanted their characterizations to be clear, and I really wanted to capture what the written story describes and stick true to it, so that really helps me out.

Gosh, thank you so much!! :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by pattybuns_hpf The Tale of the Three Brothers

18th July 2013:
This is an interesting rendition of the tale. I do like where this is all going, but I can only guess where it will all go after their encounter with Death. You tell me because I am intrigued and would love another chapter of this. I also like how you've written the three bothers. It's great that you've established the differences between them like you've experienced something like it before. And the era in which you're writing. I do love those stories that have that medieval/olden times feel on them.

There were a few bumps on the flow of the story but it did get me to the end wanting for more. There were a few sentences that didn't quite make any sense and I thought weren't so necessary to a paragraph. BUT overall it was a good read and a good start for the adventures of Ignotus. As this is my first story about him I would really love to see how you go about this story.

And I don't think I'll be able to keep my eyes off from your story's banner and chapter image. They're truly beautiful and eye-catching for many miles around. Nice choices on the brother's faces, I can totally see them playing the Peverell brothers if ever there was a movie.

Anyway, I'm definitely following for another chapter. See you around. :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by HufflePuff_Blitz The Tale of the Three Brothers

17th June 2013:
I can't wait to see how this story twists without Dominique in it... and is the the same chapter as the first in and love prevails?

Author's Response: Thanks for showing such interest in it! I do hope you like the way it goes without having Dominique in it! And it is not the same. While it's similar, there are a lot of different aspects to it. ;)

Thanks for the review! I hope to see you back for the next chapter!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login