Reading Reviews for A Minor Setback
  
82 Reviews Found

Review #1, by newgenerationlover Chapter of the First

1st August 2014:
Hi! Here for BvB!

Ep! She's pregnant! Not usually a big fan of hogwarts/pregnancy stories, but something about this one caught my eye and I'm sure glad it did. Loving Seraphina and all her quirkiness and straight-laced-ness (though that's not exactly a word but oh well). She is a very believable character which I have to give you a round of applause for as because of the type of character she is, it would be extremely easy for her to fall into the Mary Sue category.

Already sensing a little crush on Albus' part, am I right *smirks* He is so adorable and I already am shipping them! Why does she have to be so mean?! Ok, well I know why but I just wish she wasn't because they would be so cute together and make beautiful little children (already got that step done am I right? *wink wink*) Ok, so, I'll wrap it up here, you got a wonderful story and I will definitely keep reading!

xoxo
Mary

Author's Response: HELLO MARY!

I haven't read many pregnancy fics myself, just two so I can understand what you mean by not reading them often. It's always a relief to hear that a character isn't a Mary Sue and I'm really happy to hear that you think that Seraphina is believable.

OH MY GOSH YOU'RE ONE OF THE FEW PEOPLE TO CATCH ONTO THE FACT THAT ALBUS HAS A CRUSH ON SERAPHINA CONGRATULATIONS! A lot of people thought it weird that he was paying so much attention to her but you're one of the few people who actually got it right! HISTORY IS WHY SHE IS MEAN TO HIM IF YOU DECIDE TO KEEP READING.

Thanks so much for your awesome review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by ginnypotter242 Chapter the Seventh

10th July 2014:
Gah! I can't even put this into words, that's how brilliant this entire chapter was (especially the ending).

I liked the part during Charms class, it was nice to see a looser side to Rose and Seraphina. Relaxing a letting go should be good for them, and I was glad that they were able to do that.

Lysander and Lorcan are smart little ones aren't they? So, did they figure out that she was pregnant, and then assume it was Albus' from there? Or did they realize she slept with him, and then decide she was pregnant? They're clever manipulator's, I'll give you that. I love how you write them.

The talk with Al. Oh, I could say so much about this, but it was perfect. Telling him what she felt that night was great, and I can't believe she still won't let herself feel anything. I'm even more intrigued to know what happened between Al and Phina when they were little. Albus apparently still thinks of them as good friends, and I'm thinking he likes her as well (considering he kissed her. Ya know, I'm good at observations.) I wish she had told him that she was pregnant though! If she doesn't tell him soon I'm going to freak! He needs to know, though after this chapter it will be a certain twist for Al!

He kissed her! I think I literally squealed out loud when I read that, I wasn't expecting it at all. I;m very happy he did though (also hoping that she doesn't slap him or run away next chapter). I can't wait to see her reaction! Update soon, I can' wait for the next chapter :D

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review)

Author's Response: Yay, you're all caught up on the story!

GAH! I'M SO HAPPY TO HEAR THAT YOU LOVED THIS CHAPTER!

Of course they're smart boys! They are the sons of Luna Lovegood, and as crazy as she could be, Luna was a smart cookie. They were probably looking around their room for something and probably found something that belonged to Seraphina and came to the conclusion that she had spent the night in their dormitory, or they noticed that Albus had disappeared from the party when they last saw him talking to Seraphina and when they couldn't find her they put two and two together. Really, the possibilities are endless.

Well, after what happened when they were little, WHICH I'M NOT GOING TO SPOIL, would leave Seraphina with her guard up no matter what she admitted. Feelings can be pretty scary if you've been shutting them off for as long as she has. No need to freak, Albus is going to find out about the pregnancy in the next two chapters at the most.

I'M SO HAPPY THAT YOU'RE HAPPY WITH THE KISS! but I don't think you're going to be very happy with how Seraphina responds in the next chapter of the story (it's not exactly a declare-my-love-for-you kind of reaction).

As soon as my beta has gone through all of these chapters, I'm going to finish chapter eight and then it'll be up.

Thank you so much for reviewing each and every chapter of this story!


 Report Review

Review #3, by ginnypotter242 Chapter Six

10th July 2014:
Well, Wesley doesn't seem like the nicest person in the world. He seems like an even more stuffed-up version of Percy. You *never* insult a girls weight (granted, the girl in question s pregnant and doesn't really care at all...but it's the principle of the thing!) That's just rude. Anyway, I liked Seraphina's little piece of advice to the girl she caught- she'll probably figure out what she meant in a couple months, even if she was beyond confused at the time.

The kitchen scene was lovely. It was really funny, and I'm glad we could see that side to Albus, Lorcan and Lysander. The new side to Seraphina was great too- I'm so glad she didn't get them in trouble! They seemed very confused that she didn't, and it was adorable how they kept *asking* if she was going to give them detention. She had a total innocent face- I hope it was better than Rose or Lily's was! Thank goodness Wesley didn't catch them, or find out that she let them go. If McGonagall had found out, Seraphina probably would have lost her badge. Great job on this story, and I loved the Sheldon Cooper comment.

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review)

Author's Response: I can't believe that you actually made it all the way to chapter 6!

Wesley is definitely not the nicest person in the world at all, I didn't intend for him to be. I feel like insulting a girls weight is a low blow because you could be hitting a very sore spot and for some people they know that it's a sore spot for someone.

The kitchen scene was actually my favourite bit to write just because it sounded like it would've been a really funny scene in my head if I had witnessed it. Seraphina isn't the type of person to let people off the hook for breaking the rules, and they're aware of that.

I don't think McGonagall would've taken away Seraphina's badge just because she let off some students with a warning, given her a scolding and another warning sure, but taking her badge away for something so small seems a bit extreme.

Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by ginnypotter242 Chapter the Fifth

10th July 2014:
Ooh, looks like those weird cravings are starting to kick in! Methinks people are going to start to talk soon. I really hope Seraphina tells Albus soon- at least she knows that she can't wait until after the holidays to do it. I think he's getting rather suspicious now.

Rose is smart! And rather blunt- seems like she's a perfect mixture of Ron and Hermione. I'm glad to see Seraphina's mask drop a little bit, and see more of her than what she wants people to see. It's interesting to see her personality progress, especially as she gets more close friends. I like that Lily and Rose stick by her, that's what I think that the Wotter's would do in situations like this.

More people are finding out, which means Albus is going to find out soon! ican't wait to see his reaction. I'm very glad that Seraphina realized that she can't make any permanent decisions without talking to Albus about them! This was a great chapter :)

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review)

Author's Response: Almost finished responding to all of your reviews!

The weird food cravings are a little tricky for me because I've never been pregnant so it's kind of like, "WHAT WEIRD THINGS DO PREGNANT WOMEN EAT? WHAT IS ACCEPTABLE IN THIS CASE?" Promise that she's going to tell Albus before the holidays and that it's going to be soon.

I don't know why but I like writing blunt characters, they're a lot more fun than the ones that are always nice. Naturally Seraphina's personality is going to change a little bit because our situations and environment do have an effect on who we are as people. Who knows, maybe Phina will stop being so cold and distant all the time.

Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by ginnypotter242 Chapter the Fourth

10th July 2014:
Seraphina and Lily's friendship makes me extremely happy. Lily is going to be the baby's aunt, so it's a good thing that they're getting close! Of course, that is unless Seraphina decides to put it up for adoption. I think that she should talk to Albus first though- tell him that she's pregnant for one, and then get his input on what to do. It's his baby too! That being said, I hope she tells Albus soon. If she waits much longer, she's going to start showing, and then he's definitely going to find out. He's probably not going to be happy with her (or Lily) for keeping it from him for so long either.

The part with McGonagall was very serious, but I think that was good. It is a very serious topic, and making it light and humorous would have detracted from such a serious topic, not to mention been rather off character for both McGonagall and Seraphina. I like that you kept them both in character, even if it did make the scene rather serious. Great chapter, I'm really enjoying this story!

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review)

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you like their friendship because I adore their friendship as well and I love writing scenes with the two of them together. I'm debating whether or not Seraphina is going to put the baby up for adoption actually. It's a really difficult decision for me to make because I can see where I would go with the story with either choice. Of course she's going to get Albus's input on what they're going to do. I don't know about how soon Seraphina is going to start showing because I keep hearing that the first time you get pregnant, it's not as noticeable so I'm pretty sure that she's got a few more weeks before Seraphina enters hot water. I don't think anyone would be very happy to find out that the person who's carrying their child was keeping the information from them for so long.

I had planned for the talk with McGonagall for a really long time. This wouldn't be something that would be let go very easily in any school. There would need to be arrangements made for the student so that they could either finish their education or leave.

Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by ginnypotter242 The Chapter After Number Two

10th July 2014:
Well, Lily definitely has her mother's temper! She got a lot angrier than I expected her to. I can see where Lily would be coming from, annoyed at girls throwing themselves at her brother. Though, if Albus and Seraphina were friends when they were little, wouldn't Lily know that she wasn't exactly like that? Granted, I suppose people can change in 7+ years. She overreacted a bit, which I guess is a family trait.

That part in the Great Hall was great. Albeit, dragging her in the gloves that she had been using to clean the hospital wing is more than a little disgusting. But the scene was hilarious! Poor Lily, that's got to embarrassing. She was probably so humiliated! And Al seemed so awkward, I think that was the last thing he was expecting (though the pregnancy might come in a close second). I'm glad that Lily realized that it would have been humiliating for Seraphina to announce that she was pregnant in front of the whole school. I hope that she tells Albus soon though! Having Lily know now helps a little bit- I have a feeling that she'll be more pushy than Madame Pomfrey with making her tell him. Great job on this chapter, it flows really well!

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review)

Author's Response: Well I mean, Lily's entire family is always in the spotlight and she is perfectly aware of the fact that a lot of these girls don't like Albus because of who he is as a person. And the stuff that went on between Seraphina and ALbus was when they were around nine and ten, Lily was seven or eight around that time. And yeah, people definitely do change, especially teenagers, in 7+ years so unless Lily had some interaction with Seraphina no matter how small, I don't think that she would have a very clear idea of what this girl was about. She may have overreacted but you're right, that does run in the family (LOOKING AT YOU RON).

The pregnancy would've been tied in terms things that Albus would've found unexpected, it might've even ranked a little bit higher. At least now that Lily was humiliated in front of the entire school, she has some idea of what it would've been like if Seraphina had been in her place. Seraphina is going to tell Albus eventually, don't worry, he's going to find out about her before they leave for Christmas break.

Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by ginnypotter242 The Second Chapter

10th July 2014:
Oh, she needs to tell him! I think he's going to start noticing soon. Especially now that Lily knows- that isn't good! I'll bet she was shocked to hear that, I wonder how she's going to handle that. he confrontation between Albus and Seraphina was good, and I'd love to find out more about what happened when they were younger! You've got my interest in that :) I love how socially awkward Seraphina is- she doesn'tknwo how to act around people, or what is socially acceptable with friends. It's sweet, and I'd love to see her explore deeper relationships as time goes on.

I see trouble coming with Lily finding out. Is she going to help Seraphina, or go running to Al? I've seen her written in many different ways, so I'minterested to see how you characterize her. I'm glad somebody knows now though- Seraphina isn't going to be able to keep this secret much longer, no matter how much she wants to. Great chapter!

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review)

Author's Response: Phina definitely needs to tell him. Pretty sure that at some point everyone is going to start noticing that Phina is pregnant (then again, people couldn't tell my mom was pregnant with me until around seven months so we'll see).

You're definitely going to find out more about what happened when they were younger. There's actually going to be a chapter where Seraphina basically gives Albus a good tongue lashing about what happened when they were younger.

I'm glad to hear that you like the fact that she doesn't know what's socially acceptable around friends and strangers (a problem that I also sometimes struggle with).

Of course there's going to be trouble with Lily having found out, this is a girl with the blood of Potter and Weasley in her, something is going to go wrong.

Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by ginnypotter242 Chapter of the First

10th July 2014:
This seems like a good start to the story. I like Seraphina so far, she definitely has a unique characteristic. Most of the time, I see characters that are driven for a certain role, but still party and have a ton of friends- somehow it all works out that they're super serious as well. I'm glad you didn't do that. You made her goals and personality match up.

I liked Albus as well, he seemed sweet, though still having a touch of his parent's tempers. I can't wait to see what happens when she tells him that she's pregnant.

Madame Pomfrey's reaction was good, but I feel like she would have been a little more shocked. Or perhaps, given her more information. She probably wouldn't have forced Seraphina to tell anybody just yet, but she probably would have suggested talking to someone or given her pregnancy pamphlets, or made an appointment. I do like how you wrote her though, calm and helping keep Seraphina calm.

So far, I think this story has a lot of promise. Nice chapter, and I will be reading the rest!

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review)

Author's Response: Hey there! Thank you so much for taking the time to review all seven chapters of this!

Yeah I've never really know how one would manage to have all of that, I mean, I do a lot of stuff academically and I don't have the time to go to parties. Someone like Seraphina wouldn't waste her time with social events.

You and a bunch of other people are also looking forward to the reveal to Albus and I'm excited to write the scene where he finds out!

As a matron, Madame Pomfrey would've definitely had to be calm in a situation like this, the last thing that you would want to do is to increase your patients anxiety.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Lululuna Chapter the Seventh

6th July 2014:
Hi again Grace! Woop, I'm all caught up! :D

This was such a great chapter, quite possibly my favourite so far. I think there's something really interesting about seeing Seraphina's everyday Hogwarts life and the wizarding details that make the story and the setting unique, like Flitwick getting Levitated every class and the trials of learning the Aguamenti charm. Rose, again, is a little mean but her abruptness sort of suits Seraphina: it's too bad they weren't friends before!

Ah, poor Albus has no idea what's going on. I really hope she tells him soon because if he's pursuing her without knowing then he's really setting both of them up to get hurt. The kiss and all the confessions were really romantic and sweet, but ultimately this baby is going to change everything and put romantic feelings on the backburner: the baby and preparing for it should be their priority! I'm still thinking that Seraphina hasn't really processed the news properly yet, she's being a bit stubborn and although I love her interactions with Al she needs to face the issue of being a mother head on.

This was a great chapter and I'm so pleased I'm finally caught up. I'll be favouriting this and keeping an eye out for the next chapter, and of course checking my email for chapters ready to be beta-read! :)

House Cup 2014

Author's Response: Hey there! Finally made it through the entire story!

I'm glad that you enjoyed this chapter so much. I tried to put in as much detail about Seraphina's life without making it too boring and I remembered Flitwick being flown across the room from the books so I figured that was probably still happening.

She's going to tell him soon, I promise! At the most in the next five or so chapters but probably sooner. Most likely in two chapters, but really, maybe in one. Seraphina has most definitely not come to terms that she is in fact going to be a mother but that's also happening in the next chapter so that's going to be interesting to write.

To be honest, I thought that you would find out the story one chapter at a time as I sent it to you but it was a nice surprise to find all of these reviews of yours that you left me!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Lululuna Chapter Six

6th July 2014:
Hi!!!

Wesley sounds like such a character, haha. It's funny how Seraphina is generally a little cold and a bit of a kill joy to others but he seems even more extreme. I was wondering how she knew who Sheldon Cooper was - you might not even need to use his name, but could show instead of reference how Wesley has Sheldon-like attributes with examples and interactions. So just a thought there, unless she watches Muggle TV. :)

Both the broom cupboard rant (and I totally see her point, haha) and the food fight made me laugh while reading this, they were so well written and amusing. I especially liked her adoration and excitement over the cheesecake - and I'm jealous she got to eat some! How sheepish the boys were was so endearing too. It's nice to see Al and Seraphina and his friends all bond a bit even if they are being a little slow to catch on to her being a nice Head Girl.

House Cup 2014

Author's Response: Wesley and Seraphina are really similar so it's probably why they clash, as you can already tell but he's definitely more extreme and even Seraphina realises that the dude's a little crazy. Oh yeah, that's why Seraphina made the Sheldon Cooper reference because she watches muggle TV at home (honestly, what do wizards do without a television).

The food fight scene was actually my favourite one to write in the chapter but I was worried that it was OOC for Seraphina to let them off the hook about it so I'm actually really relieved that you liked it and thought it well-written.

They'll eventually find out that she's not as bad as she seems. Seraphina only bites sometimes.

Thank ya for reviewing again!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Lululuna Chapter the Fifth

6th July 2014:
Hi Grace!

At first, I really didn't like Rose, haha. She was just so rude with saying how Seraphina was getting fat and then not even asking if she was okay, but demanding to know who the father was. But she definitely grew on me a little later on in the chapter with how she was actually being supportive and offering her friendship and help. That's what Seraphina really needs right now, and she should tell Albus for her own sake and on her own terms, not simply because it's the right thing to do. She's in a pretty delicate situation and should be able to handle it how she wants.

I liked the description at the end of the chapter with the long shadows and how she was feeling contented and tired. Those descriptions of Hogwarts and the setting are so great and really situate the story in the magical world which is awesome.

I'm still very curious about her parents and their reaction and what exactly they're going to say. It's been a bit easier for her so far since her parents are out of sight and out of mind but Christmas should be quite exciting.

House Cup 2014

Author's Response: Everyone in the Weasley-Potter family has this habit for being really blunt as I've come to notice. Rose and Seraphina share a dormitory so I guess even if she and Phina weren't friends, Rose would still know a little bit about Seraphina. If it had been a normal day, Seraphina probably wouldn't have cared how she looked but because she's pregnant, it's a big concern.

Everyone's mentioned her telling Albus because I can picture exactly how she's going to tell him and it's going to be the most awkward thing ever and I'm just super excited.

I get really serious about my description whenever the character is alone for whatever reason. I just keep chanting to myself that the reader must feel how it's supposed to feel to the character.

I've also got the whole parents finding out scene mapped out in my head, and some of it is even written down so that'll be happening soon as well.

Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Lululuna Chapter the Fourth

6th July 2014:
Hola!

Eep, I forgot to put "House Cup 2014" at the end of the last chapter - fail. :P Ah well.

It's exciting for me to get to chapter four since I haven't met it yet with beta-ing! Woop!

I was actually a little unimpressed with how McGonagall was saying that Seraphina getting pregnant was breaking a rule! It seems a bit draconian for the school administration to interfere into students' intimate lives, to be honest, and policing sex is a bit extreme though I suppose Hogwarts is old fashioned. Though to be fair Seraphina is being punished enough with having her whole world turned upside-down so having her privileges taken away would just be cruel.

Hmm, I'm excited to see her consider adoption even more! I've never read/seen a teen pregnancy story on here where the character seriously considers adoption or goes through with it so I'm really looking forward to see how you handle it. It still feels like she hasn't really realized the implications of having a baby so it will be interesting to see her go through all of that.

The moment with Lily was so sweet! I'm glad she has that support system and Lily is quite adorable with how caring she is towards her. They make excellent friends. ♥

Okay, so now I'm really curious to hear more about Sera's family and her history. Are they Quidditch players or famous somehow but she keeps it quiet? Has she told her parents about being pregnant yet?!! Ahh, that sounds like a scary conversation.

Another very interesting chapter, onto the next one I go! :)

House Cup 2014

Author's Response: Bonjour!

I can see where you're coming from and I do agree that Hogwarts is old-fashioned but I guess I can kind of see where McGonagall is coming. I think if it had been any ordinary student, there might have been consequences but it wouldn't have been that big of a deal and adjustments would have been made if they chose to attend Hogwarts. That being said, Seraphina is the Head Girl and the Head Girl is supposed to be an example for younger students so having a Head Girl get pregnant wouldn't really be sending out the message that the staff would want. And besides, you would want to keep a teenage pregnancy from happening at Hogwarts because you wouldn't want to hinder your students education and make their life more difficult by having a child on the way. It would make it really difficult for the students to go onto further education and training in well-paying jobs if they have a kid to look after.

But because this is Seraphina and she's not one to give up easily, something positive might come out of the situation instead of something negative because it tells everyone else at Hogwarts, "Don't make my mistake but if you do, your life isn't over."

And can you imagine going up the stairs at Hogwarts while pregnant, that's reason alone to keep it all in your pants.

I've actually been debating about whether or not to end the story with Seraphina putting her child up for adoption or something like that. I really like the idea and I'm considering it as an alternative ending. I can definitely see what I could write a sequel about if she does put her child up for adoption. Well, I'll be talking to you about this anyway so we'll see how it goes.

There's a couple of Quidditch players in her family but for the most part everyone is just really invested in the game like the world gets really intense about football(soccer). And no, she has not told her parents that she'd pregnant but that scenes should be coming up soon!

Thank you again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Lululuna The Chapter After Number Two

6th July 2014:
Hi again! :)

Lily is just such a character, haha. I loved this chapter and just how nervous Seraphina was which translated to me because I was so worried about her being publicly embarrassed. The tampon excuse really is a stroke of genius because it's the sort of awkward, random thing that doesn't really make sense, but Seraphina shows how she's good at thinking on her feet with mentioning how Al was using tampons for pranks.

The hug at the end is just so cute! I like the sound of Auntie Lily, haha, and I'm looking forward to seeing their relationship develop as friends. You did a really good job of showing how Lily is quite moody and how her reactions to things can change very impulsively: she's a bit of a foil to Seraphina in a way who is quite methodological.

Another great chapter! :)

Author's Response: I've actually got no idea how on earth I came up with the tampon excuse, the only thing that I remember about coming up with that bit was trying to think of something that would be embarrassing for a girl and being on the time of the month always seems to be embarrassing for girls for some reason so I went with that.

I'm looking forward to writing their friendship. Seraphina leads quite an uneventful life (well, at least up until now) and Lily's going to be that bit of spontaneity that keeps Phina's life interesting.

Thanks again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Lululuna The Second Chapter

6th July 2014:
Hi again Grace! :)

Aww, another lovely shout-out at the bottom! :) I'm happy to help!

I'm so curious right now about their friendship before Hogwarts and how that ties into Seraphina's current character. She's so prickly and guarded, and I wonder if Albus not being her friend when they were at Hogwarts has something to do with that. You've definitely caused me to be very curious!

Poor Seraphina, she truly doesn't think she's funny, and that's sad because she actually can be quite witty. I think her dry way of talking and stating the obvious is quite entertaining, in fact. One thing I'm excited to see more of as well are her reactions to the actual pregnancy and how this will impact her life: right now I feel like she's fixating on Al, which is fine and gives her something to focus on, but soon she will have to face the fact that she's going to be a mother and her life is going to change dramatically.

Oh dear, the Lily cliff-hanger: reading this even stressed me out even though I know what happens! :P But Seraphina's awkward handling of awkward situations are part of what makes her so endearing, so it's so fun seeing how she handles them.

Another great chapter! :)

House Cup 2014

Author's Response: Hey again Jenna!

Expect to see a shout-out in every chapter because that's how I roll.

We will see exactly how Albus is connected to her and just how big of an impact he was on Seraphina's life. The suggestion was actually made by a reviewer who pointed out that ALbus needed to have some sort of connection to Seraphina otherwise the amount of attention that he was paying her would've been a little bit weird.

The fact that Seraphina doesn't find herself funny is actually one of my favourite characteristics about her. You bring up a very good point that I keep forgetting to talk about so I'm going to keep Seraphina's own reaction something to mention in the story in the next chapters or two that I post!

Thank you so much for reviewing again!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Lululuna Chapter of the First

6th July 2014:
Hi Grace! :) So even though I get to read this story anyway I've been meaning to come and drop by some reviews - to focus on the fun stuff instead of the nit-picky beta stuff - so this is just the perfect chance with the House Cup going on!

I love how you jump right into the action and show Seraphina character and how consistently logical she is. Her personality really seeps through the narration here and I feel like I know her, even just from this chapter. She's relatable, but she's also a little frustrating, which I think is a sign of a great character who the reader has strong feelings about.

Albus is just so adorable. Sure, he's a bit of a drunk mess at the beginning, but their story actually is kind of cute in a very, very awkward way. One thing I really look forward to in this story is seeing more interactions between them so this was a great introduction to that.

Gah, she is so intense! It made me laugh how threatening she was with him, almost to the extent of desperation. It's sad how Seraphina cares about how people perceive her even if she sort of pretends otherwise: being Head Girl, her character can't be compromised, but she also secretly just really wants true friendship. Her and Al almost have an understanding of what the other is thinking, though, or at least he does towards her like when they're in bed and she puts a finger to her lips to tell him not to speak of it. That was a cute moment hinting at a potential growing bond between them.

Wonderful first chapter, Grace, and it's looking so spiffy with the edits! :) I'm so proud to be your beta, and thanks for the lovely shout-out!

House Cup 2014

Author's Response: OMG HEY JENNA! I'm quite fond of your nit-picky betaing actually but still, thank you so much for deciding to drop by with reviews!

I'm really happy to hear that you feel like you already know Seraphina, a lot of people seem to feel the same way and it never ceases to surprise me when I hear it yet again.

You can't really blame Albus for being a drunk mess, I think everyone's a mess when they're drunk. I'm so glad that you find Albus adorable because that's what I wanted him to be. I've seen him characterized a lot of different ways but I don't come across sweet Albus very often (and I couldn't picture him any other way for this story either).

I certainly hope that there's going to be a growing bond between them considering the fact that they're going to become parents to a little human.

I always get really proud when I see the chapter with the edits to it and it's all thanks to you for being an awesome beta!


 Report Review

Review #16, by enchantedx Chapter the Seventh

7th June 2014:
Wow, I really miss this fic and I loved this chapter!! Phina act so strong but exactly like any people she has weakness. Im so happy there was a kiss!!! I cant wait til she tells Albus! Looking forward to the next chapter a lot. 10/10

Author's Response: I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the chapter. I'm sorry that I'm taking so long to update but it's just that I'm sending everything to my beta so that she can look over them and make them better and stuff like that so that's why it's taking me so long.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by LightLeviosa5443 Chapter the Seventh

10th April 2014:
AHHH. She didn't tell him but there was a kiss!

It's improvement. I'll take anything.

I really liked that Lorcan and Lysander tricked Seraphina into telling them everything, clever clever boys. I also like that you've made them Al's friends. I know so many people make him best friends with Scorp (me included) and it's a nice little change of the usual!

I also really liked Seraphina's freak out before Albus kissed her. So cute and believable! I really really am enjoying this story so far! Update soon hon! (and sorry these reviews are so short, I wanted to review before I forgot, but reviews on my ipad are a nightmare)

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: I am so sorry for getting to these in May but you have no idea how grateful and surprised I was when I got all of these.

No, Seraphina didn't tell Albus but it's going to happen soon, I promise you that and it's going to make the kiss between them even more awkward!

I needed Albus to have friends but I didn't want to create my own characters but I wanted them to be relatively unknown and then Lysander and Lorcan popped into mind (along with one OC friend) and that was that.

I'm so happy to hear that you're enjoying the story and thank you so much for all of your reviews. I know the struggle that you must be going through with typing out reviews on your iPad. Autocorrect can make life difficult (which is pretty ironic considering its purpose).


 Report Review

Review #18, by LightLeviosa5443 Chapter Six

10th April 2014:
Gah! I definitely thought she was going to tell him towards the end and send the other boys away!!!

Okay. So, I really liked this chapter, kind of more than the others, I think. It was interesting and I liked how she got sassy with Wesley and told him she wanted to split up. He kind of reminds me of Percy for some reason. But Percy in a bad way :P

Anyways, this was great. I loved how the boys were having a food fight and one of the first things to go through seraphina's mind when she see's the stain on Albus' pants is that he might have wet himself. That was just great.

Anyways, this chapter was great!! I can't wait to read the next one!! (this is so easy and fun to read! I don't think I've ever gone through six chapters this fast)

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: I actually enjoyed writing this chapter quite a bit as well, probably more than the rest to be perfectly honest. Mostly because of the kitchen scene. I thought that the fact that the first thing that jumps to Seraphina's mind when she sees the mess is that Albus looks like he's wet himself instead of the fact that they've just trashed a kitchen.

I'm so happy to hear that you've enjoyed the story so far! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by LightLeviosa5443 Chapter the Fifth

10th April 2014:
Hi!

Wow, am I really already on chapter 5? That's crazy.

I really really enjoy this story. I love how Rose pinned it from the start, and how Seraphina and Lily were polar opposites. With Seraphina freaking out and Lily keeping her cool. Until they dragged Rose out of the Great Hall, that is. Seraphina needs to tell Albus soon! I can't wait to read his reaction. You must be getting sick of reading me say that, I say it every time!

Anyway, this was really great, and I'm super intrigued, especially since we already established how close Christmas Holidays are. If she truly is going to tell him before, then it's gotta be like wicked soon! I'm super excited ah! It also makes it more suspensful that you titles don't give anything away. I can't try to predict anything based off the title. Clever Clever.

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: Heh heh, this doesn't really have long chapters so it moves along rather quickly.

It seems that everyone except Albus is figuring out that Seraphina is pregnant. You're not the only one who wants to see Albus's reaction so don't worry about it. I haven't gotten tired of hearing it at all.

Seraphina will definitely tell Albus before Christmas. Trust me. Actually, the reason that my chapters don't have titles is because I didn't feel creative whenever I tried to come up with them so I just chose variations of Chapter 1, 2, 3 etc etc.

Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by LightLeviosa5443 Chapter the Fourth

10th April 2014:
Hi!

Wow, this chapter was intense. I would not want to have that conversation with McGonagall. That'd be so scary and nerve-wracking. I'm so glad that Phina was allowed to keep her badge and everything, though. That's always a plus!!

I really liked how Lily had just made herself at home in Phina's dorm, and Phina just accepted it, I like that they're getting so close. Also, the quidditch scene was great. I loved that everyone was just shocked silent.

Another great chapter!

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: I don't think anyone would really want to have that conversation to be perfectly honest. It had to happen however given the circumstances.

Lily and Seraphina are going to become close either way, I mean, Lily is going to be an aunt so Seraphina is going to be around her quite a bit. Even if they didn't get along, I think that they would eventually become friends anyway because of Seraphinas kid.

Thanks for reviewing Sarah!


 Report Review

Review #21, by LightLeviosa5443 The Chapter After Number Two

10th April 2014:
Hi again. I should just stop saying hi because it's only been a few minutes since I read the last one. Oh well.

Anyways, this chapter was really interesting. I didn't expect Lily to drag Seraphina into the great hall, and that whole show down between them was really funny. I like the way this story is moving so far, I'm super interesting in seeing where you take it and how you end up telling Albus. I mean, he'll have to find out soon, with both Lily and Pomfrey hanging over her head.

Anywho, great chapter! I really like what you've got written so far!!

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: I don't think that I had planned on Lily dragging Seraphina to the Great Hall either but that's what seems to have happened and I quite like how the chapter ended up going.

As I've said before, when Albus finds out, it's going to be extremely awkward (well, at least that's what it looks like in my head anyway) and I'm going to enjoy writing that scene immensely.

Thanks so much for reviewing Sarah!


 Report Review

Review #22, by LightLeviosa5443 The Second Chapter

10th April 2014:
Hi!

I came back sooner than expected! Yay!

I really liked this chapter. I love that she's running away, and thinking she's doing a good job of it (don't we all?) when in reality she's not! And I loved that he pointed it out to her! I also love her awkward social skills. I think it's interesting how her determination to be head girl kind of exiled her from the rest of her classmates. I'm wondering when we'll see some of those Gryffindor traits pop out, it'll be really interesting!

I also can't wait to see where you go with this. Especially since Lily knows, and Lily probably doesn't know how to keep quiet. Oh! It's just all so exciting!

Really great chapter, I'm sorry for the incoherent run on sentences that I call a review. ♥

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: We all tend to run away from our problems whenever we don't want to face them, thinking that maybe they'll go away if we ignore them even though we know that they don't. With the kind of focus that Seraphina has, it really is no wonder that she didn't make many friends while at Hogwarts. Ambition is one thing but if it's to the point where you don't even interact with others unless you have to, it's not going to exactly make people want to be your friend.

The problem is not that Lily doesn't know how to keep quiet, after all, growing up in the spotlight she would've known how to keep things from leaking to Witch Weekly and such. The problem with Lily is that she has quite the temper which will probably lead to her doing some very rash things.

Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by LightLeviosa5443 Chapter of the First

10th April 2014:
Hi

I'm here for the BvB!!

I really enjoyed this story! I thought that it was fun, unique, interesting. I really liked the way that you portrayed the main character and the voice you wrote it in. I also really enjoyed the way that you started it off. How we got a beginning intro to why she went to the party, who she is, who she's friends with (or not in this case).

I think I came away from the chapter really KNOWING Seraphina, more than I do in other fics with the main character! Really lovely job! I just think this was great over all. I'm also a sucker for teen pregnancy. Especially when it involves Albus Potter. (Because we all know it's gonna happen with Scorose and James)

Lovely job! I enjoyed reading this a lot! I'm definitely going to keep on reading!

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: I'm so happy to hear that you're enjoying the story! I quite like Seraphina as well, even if she is a very asocial type of person. With the way that she behaves, there had to have been some kind of reason as to why she did the things that she did.

It's great to hear that you came away from the chapter feeling like you know Seraphina. It's always nice to feel like you've already kind of connected or understood the character when you start a story, isn't it? I haven't read many teen pregnancy stories to be perfectly honest, but this is my first time writing it!

Thanks so much for reviewing and I'm so happy to hear that you're enjoying the story!


 Report Review

Review #24, by 800 words of heaven Chapter the Fourth

15th December 2013:
Hello! I know it's been a seriously long time since I read this, but I'm here for both your (once again, seriously long ago) requested review as well as REVIEW TAG!

Let me just start by saying what a gorgeous CI! I mean, almost anything with Logan Lerman is bound to be nice to look at, but this is very cool. He even manages to pull off that sweater ;P

I think I actually adore your characterisation of Lily. Her out-there personality is really quite something, and since she's pestering the poor girl to tell Albus, I'm on Lily's side all the way!

Is Quidditch through the Ages still the definitive book on Quidditch, even after all these years? I love that for Lysander, that's the qualifier: if you've read Quidditch through the Ages then you're a true fan of Quidditch!

Ah! Saved by McGonagall! I'm excited to see what McGonagall has to say to poor Seraphina. It's almost as if the fact that she's pregnant hasn't quite caught up with her yet, the way she's acting. I like how she's not all preoccupied by it, but I think it's more of a coping mechanism than actual disregard.

Oh, I'd forgotten that Seraphina was Head Girl! She never seems to do any of her Head Girl duties. She just goes around being grumpy and anti-social and avoiding her problems (I can completely relate to that, since that is exactly what I am doing right now).

How much bigger can her mistakes get that McGonagall will have to take her badge away? She'd have to get caught committing murder or blowing up the school on purpose, or something equally as dire to merit getting her Head Girl badge taken away!

Hahahaha! Romance novels are also my guilty pleasure! And it seems that Lily is coming to enjoy them as well. I cannot stop loving this girl!

This was a bit of a filler chapter, but at least I got the chance to get acquainted with Seraphina and her odd ways again. I'm sure there's quite a bit of excitement still in store for her!

Author's Response: Hey there, it's been a week since you posted this and I'm getting to it now! I actually completely forgot about that I had requested a review from you until I saw this so woohoo!

Logan Lerman can make anything look good, I have a theory that he could just stand in a movie doing nothing and it would become a million times better. The amazing artist inspector. over @ tda is to thank for the awesmazing CI though.

This is the first time that I've gotten a review that is on Lily's side one hundred percent. But yes, Seraphina really does need to tell Albus that she's pregnant.

I think Quidditch Through the Ages would still be the definitive book, maybe they came out with a more upgraded copy that included newer models of broomsticks and more team statistics but I think it would still be the definitive book.

You've got to admit though, if you've memorized Quidditch Through the Ages or read it then you've definitely got to have some kind of interest in it.

It is actually a coping mechanism, I imagine that if Seraphina actually faced her consequences and got a smack in the face by reality she might lock herself away in her dorm for a while.

You know, Seraphina does seem to be avoiding her Head Girl duties, I'll get right on fixing that, we can't have her being a bad authority figure, that just wouldn't fit in with her character. Thank you for pointing that out.

I think there's an entire list of things that Seraphina could do to get her badge taken away, after all, this is magic so there must be something.

Thank you for the review and the feedback!


 Report Review

Review #25, by MrsKatieGrint The Second Chapter

14th November 2013:
Hey there again!

So, I think was a great update. Your details to certain things were super cute, and I love Seraphina's humor! haha she's a hoot!
She's so awkward, and cold, I just love it.

I'm glad her and Albus kinda talked? Lol not much, but atleast they're 'friends', and on regular speaking terms? I hope, after all, she is having his baby!

I hope she ends up telling him soon, because otherwise it looks like Lily will, yikes!
Okay, that seriously was probably the most awkward experience Lily will ever overhear, for real. How ofter do you hear that your brother got a girl pregnant before he even knew!

Oh well! All in all, I still think you did a great job on this update. I really can't wait to see what all happens! Cheers again!

Author's Response: Heyo! Responding to your review kind of late but I'm here!

I'm glad that you found Seraphina funny, one of my concerns while writing is that she's too serious to be funny. And you know, it's quite fun making her awkward and cold, I've no idea why but I'm glad that you enjoyed it!

Well they're definitely on speaking terms and on their way to being friends, they're just not there yet.

We shall see who spills the beans on the pregnancy as the story goes on! Who knows who's going to tell!

Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>