Reading Reviews for Complicated
  
48 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Brightest Witch Complication #9

12th December 2014:
OMG!!! I just read your whole story and I really realy really like it! You write Abigail and her friends really well! :) there are few grammer mistakes here and there, but none that really detract from you story :)

10/10

 Report Review

Review #2, by blackzero Complication #9

12th December 2014:
Nice chapter. Update as soon as u can

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm working on chapter 10 now!
ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #3, by couldyoureallyknow Complication #9

11th December 2014:
love this story! can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm so glad you like it! Chapter 10 is in the works, so hopefully it'll be up soon!
ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #4, by NH Stadler Complication #8

6th December 2014:
Hello there! I just stumbled across your story and I'm glad I did. I think you are a very captivating writer! The story line is fun and intriguing and Abigail as a character is really appealing with all her quirks and flaws. I love that she is likeable yet has this manipulative streak :).
Keep up the good work! :)

Author's Response: Hello! I'm so happy you like my story, and Abigail especially. I'm glad you can see both sides of her, I really try to show them both when I'm writing her. Thank you!
ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Chivalrous Complication #8

30th November 2014:
Can I just say one thing?

You're amazing!

...Okay so that's not all I'm going to say, but it was a good place to start!

First off, your characters are wonderful. Abigail is flawed and well-rounded as any amazing character should be. She is literally my favorite type of character. I like how she elevates herself to a higher standard from everyone else, but she still has her flaws and things about herself that she doesn't like.

The minor characters are all also wonderful in their own ways. They are in the action, but they don't try to steal the scene from Abigail and James. One minor character I'd like to see and hear more from is Blaise. I know that he's "the boyfriend" and so not very important in terms of Abigail and James's relationship, but I would really like to see more of him. He seems like such a sweetie! :)

The plotting is very thought-out and well executed which I love! As a 'write-by-the-seat-of-my-pants' type writer, stories that are well-planned out always gather my attention.

The overall flow of your writing is very rapid and sometimes I get lost in it. I know that's kind of a dumb critique, but maybe you could try breaking up the paragraphs of Abigail's narration to slow it down. It's really a minor thing, but it helps with the rhythm of the story!

I really love this story and I'm so excited for the next chapter!

For me, this story is kind of reminiscent of Gossip Girl which makes me so happy, because I miss that show so much! :)

You're a wonderful writer and I can't wait for chapter nine!

Sincerely,
Ireland

P.S. I LOVE your face-claims! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by XOdannieXO Complication #8

30th November 2014:
Where to start. difficult... very difficult.. I have to admit, I have often seen the banner to your story but I never bothered to push the button, that is until today. And I have to say that I am glad, I did. At the very beginning I really started to believe that this would be like any other story here; full of clichés, meaning that the pretty but stuck up Ravenclaw Beauty hates, yet secretly loves the Gryffindor Butthole. Also I would have to admit that I anticipated bad use of grammar and all that jazz... BUT, please notice that it is in capital letters, you have proven me otherwise. I really like the thought of Abigail expressing and voicing her thoughts in a higher and more sophisticated level than most teenagers do. It is a nice change from the other works I have read so far. Decidingng against my better judgement, I kept reading and found myself becoming quite attached to the story. Not only do I like it that you create tension and drama as you put Abigail's and James' encounters into words. But I am also fond of the scenes in which Abigail is alone and has the time to think of her life - for example that she wants to be loved by the people that are constantly at each other's throats or the times when she thinks of having betrayed her boyfriend by sleeping with another. Scenes like those ALWAYS get to me. But yeah, long story short, I really like your writing skill and I think that this could really head somewhere. I am looking forward to read more of your work..

Favorite [x]
Reading List [x]

Yours Truly,

D.

 Report Review

Review #7, by manda quinn Complication #8

24th November 2014:
So good. I hardly find a story on here that captivates me. Your plot line is amazing and your characters are lovely. Hope you update soon!!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you like it! I've already gotten a good ways into chapter 9, so hopefully it should be up soon!
-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Dizzy73 Complication #8

24th November 2014:
I just found this story and read all 8 chapters within an hour. I really enjoys the story so far. You captured Abigail's individual very well and I can understand how she feel and thinking. Keep it up! I can't wait for next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you - I'm so glad you like it and think I'm doing a good job with Abigail's character, that puts a huge smile on my face! The next chapter is already in the works, so it should be up pretty soon!
-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #9, by greenbirds Complication #8

23rd November 2014:
woo! love it! great chapter, i look forward to the next one. you're perfect at capturing abigail's thoughts and feelings without going too overboard with it all, i'm jealous. update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you - I'm so glad you like it! And I'm thrilled you think I'm doing a good job of capturing Abigail! Chapter 9 should be up soon - it's already in the works!
-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #10, by red_rue Complication #7

1st November 2014:
I love, love, love this story!!! Please update soon!!! It's amazing and I'm super excited to see what comes next!!! Sorry about all the exclamation marks by the way :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm so glad you like it!
-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Celina Complication #1

16th October 2014:
Aw yes, a girly protagonist! There is such a lack of representation of these types of girls. I love Abigail already, and I've only just begun reading this story. Keep writing! :-)

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it so far! I'll definitely keep writing, don't worry!
-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Lola X Complication #7

14th October 2014:
OMG! You updated! FINALLY!!! Soo happy. This chapter is soo good! Please update soon! Can't wait to see this story develop X

- Lola X

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it! And yes, goodness, it took a long time to update, didn't it? ;) Don't worry, the next chapter is nearing completion so it should be up within the next week or so!
-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #13, by HazelMidnight172 Complication #7

13th October 2014:
I like it! Can't wait to see what happens if/when Blaise finds out! Update soon. :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it! I have the next chapter almost ready to go, so the next update will be coming soon. :)
-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #14, by PolyJuice_ Complication #1

13th March 2014:
Blackout Battle~ 15/20

Ooh, I liked this story! I can't wait to see where you're going with this. I loved her relationships with everyone around her, her friends and her boyfriend. It's interesting to see that she doesn't like to swear, and she's the last one to lose her v card.

It'll be interesting to see what happens on this date of hers. I can't see it going too well - these things never do, haha.

I'd suggest using the word said more, and other adjectives less. Using "I cried" "I mumbled" "I whined" every sentence distracts. If you use said your brain glosses over the word said and gets to the juicy parts of the sentence. If you use other words too much it distracts from the meat of the sentence and takes the focus off the important.

Anyway, it was a good first chapter though and I really enjoyed the dynamics of your characters.

Liz

 Report Review

Review #15, by newgenerationlover Complication #6

7th March 2014:
Love, love, love this story!!! Please update soon because I am sooo totally shipping Abigail and James and I just want them to be together god-dang-it!!!

 Report Review

Review #16, by helpwillalwaysbegiven Complication #6

6th March 2014:
LOVE IT! The end part is cute, how James stays and all. Oh boy though, when the girls find out... drama?! Another great chapter even if it was sort of short. I love your story. Cannot wait for the next chapter :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Maelody Complication #5

3rd February 2014:
Oooh, Abby did a no-no! ;)

I really really liked the description in this. The way you describe clothes makes me really happy (I love fashion) and I picture how awesome these girls really look! Great job on that!

Either this chapter was shorter than usual, or I just really got wrapped up in the whole ordeal of Abby getting drunk and "bringing Potter down" as you say ;). Though, I do wonder what has James so upset. Unless he knows something about her, and he's upset for her, yeah? That'd be cute.

I liked the one-liner you left with right before they woke up. It was humorous, and yet scandalous at the same time. It mad me grin lol.

Good job! I really like this story and how much fun it is! Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: No-no indeed, haha. :)

I'm glad you liked the description - I tried to talk about the clothes enough to create a good mental picture without overloading people with fashion talk!

This was actually the longest chapter in the story so far (or second longest, I'm not sure), so I guess it was the latter! That's a good thing though! As for James's reasoning, that's something that will be revealed later (although how much later, I'm not sure...).

I'm glad you liked that line! :)

Thanks so much for reviewing - I'm so happy you like it and the next chapter should be up within a week! :)

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #18, by HerEyesOnMeGazing Complication #5

26th January 2014:
Ahhh! Now I'm all excited for the next update! I really like how descriptive you are; the banter between Abigail and James is fun to read as well. The question is... will they still have a battle of the wits? Or has this become a battle of the heart?

Author's Response: I'm glad you're excited - the next chapter should be up within a week if all goes as planned! There's definitely a battle of the heart that's beginning, but that's not to say that the battle of the wits will die - I love writing their banter WAY too much to do that. :)

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #19, by helpwillalwaysbegiven Complication #5

25th January 2014:
OMG that escalated quickly! LOVED IT!! I can't wait for the next chapter. Things are going to get pretty interesting aha.

Author's Response: Next chapter should be up within a week, but I'm glad you liked this! Yes, it did escalate VERY quickly. ;) Thanks for reviewing!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Maelody Complication #4

21st January 2014:
Yay for my 100th review!

Ahem, anyway.

I knew it! I knew he noticed her problems on the train and he didn't want to bother her anymore. I totally smell the teenage love in the air ;)

Lasting two months, I can see the prank being pretty creative. But I do have to admit that at first I was a little disappointed that was the prank. Though I loves the thought of it. I can't help but think that if the prank went through all of them, Abigail's would have been green.

Poor Dom! All because her clothes and activities, she's not worthy if the Royals. I hope she never tries to change herself to out herself there, but judging by the smirk and line she had, I would say she won't. I think she's strong and used to the ignoring girls. Though I bet it was a lonely first few years.

The nerve if her mom! I sort of wanted to reach through my screen and slap her. She caused most of the drama!

Anyway, I loved it as always, and I can't wait for you to update chapter five! :D

~Mae

Author's Response: I'm your 100th? I feel so honoured! :D

He may not have given up on bothering her forever, but yes, he does show just a pinch of caring here.

The prank wasn't supposed to be especially creative - that's what throws the girls so off-guard. It did seem pretty comical, to have hair just go through rainbow colours. I wanted to do some joke with crayons but then I remembered that wizards don't even have pencils, much less crayons, so I kind of ignored that urge. :P

Dom's definitely her own character, and hey, she's survived 6 years with the Royals without changing, so I can't say that changing to fit them is in her future. She has other friends though, that you'll meet as the story progresses!

Yeah, her mother is definitely not the best influence. She makes me mad too, and I'm the one who created her...

I'm glad you liked it - thanks for reviewing!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Maelody Complication #3

21st January 2014:
Another chapter that just flew by! :D

Ok, so I love all the little details we're told without being told. Like how Diane and her father got engaged the night before, how Potter actually can car if he notices something, and she cares about her parent's feelings. My heart ached for her when she talked about wishing her parents could get back together. Even if she knows it isn't possible, the small ray of hope is always nice to cling onto.

I think Blaise is cheating on her, and he's cheating on her with one of her friends. Caroline in my opinion. I also think her friends might know it, too. I can just see this being am awful year for her where she needs to learn to feel her emotions and learn to be a little less if a "queen bee" type girl . I hope Potter will be there to help her along the way. ;)

Those are just my thoughts though! I love it so far and I'm excited for what's next!

~Mae

Author's Response: I'm hoping it's a good thing that my chapters fly by! :P

I'm really trying to show details instead of flat-out saying them, so I'm glad someone noticed that! I feel bad for her too - and I'm writing her, which is kinda bad...

I refuse to say anything on that subject, but you may be going in the right direction. ;)

I'm glad you like it, and thanks so much for reviewing!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #22, by Maelody Complication #2

21st January 2014:
Wow! I knew I didn't like that guy! How does she still stay with him? Is this a new development for him? Either way, he's a jerk.

I feel so bad for her whenever she talks about the war between her parents because I can just see how sad she is. You do an amazing job at catching her insecurities and showing them is while still making us know she's got a strong outer shell.

Otherwise, your detail and story are still amazing. I can see everything so clearly, and you make it so easy to do so. I actually didn't even realize the chapter was over when I reached its end. I liked it and I look forward to the next chapter :)

~Mae

Author's Response: Hello again!

Yes, it's a bit of a new thing for Blaise, but yeah, he's definitely a jerk here.

I'm glad I capture her insecurities - I was really trying to make them clear, so that it would contrast the front she puts up.

I'm so happy you like my detail and plot and things like that, thanks so much for reviewing!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #23, by Maelody Complication #1

11th January 2014:
Ok, so this chapter had me giggling the whole way through. I love how confident she is. Honestly, most girls like this I would hate, but that's because they're petty, mean, and stuck up, not confident. I can't even hate her because she's just so... Clean. She has a self image to withhold, and maybe she's made her standards a little high in order for someone to look up to her, but it's like she is trying to be someone good that someone can actually look up to. And I absolutely loved how she is the one to take care of Albus and not the other way around. Though, I do fear he overheard something he wasn't meant to hear.

I don't know if I like her boyfriend, though. The comment on "How's my favorite girlfriend?" Makes me not trust him. I mean, my dad jokes like that all the time when I'm his only daughter, but something makes me think he's being honest and she thinks he's kidding so therefore he wins.

The end really sort of made me think though. She has such a strong image and look to her in the beginning. She even goes in about how she knows she's pretty, but then she sort of picks at things when she was alone over her self image. I wonder if there's some cry of help there? I mean, one meant she has chestnut colored hair that are in beautiful curls past her shoulders, then the next her hair is plain and brown, with eyes to match, and she doesn't like that she's not curvy. Then again, maybe it's just because it's the night before she'll be viewed naked in front of the man she loves that has her so self conscious. I could be over reading haha.

I like how she thinks about what her parents are doing with her. It's a completely believable and relatable feeling with separated parents. I think you did a great Jo depicting this.

I think my only critique is what my favorite part of the story is. Though, I don't have much knowledge in this and I may be completely wrong. I don't know where you come from either, so do forgive me if this sounds completely stupid, but I feel like she spoke more like an American teenage girl. I mean, she has the mannerisms of a British girl, but the way her and her friends talk and act are super California American. It's not a bad thing, it just makes location for me a bit harder to understand. I'm from the states, so I don't really know a lot of the British mannerisms other than what I see in movies or the television, so I could be completely wrong on this.

Anyway, I loved this first chapter. I saw your banner status on the forums, decided I needed something to read, and went ahead and checked this out. I'm glad I did because I can't wait to continue on with it. :)

~Mae

(P.S. Sorry if anything is misspelled or a word has been changed. I'm on my iPhone and I'm afraid it just keeps autocorrecting even when I correct it haha.)

Author's Response: Hi Mae!

I'm glad the chapter had you laughing - the girls are definitely kind of funny in the way that they behave. Typically, I don't like those kind of girls either - I'm glad it worked here though!

Ah, the boyfriend. Yes, that comment. I refuse to say anything else, but he's definitely an interesting character.

That ending was really designed to parallel the beginning, and I'm glad you noticed that. It's kind of referring to the fact that being around her friends is what makes her confident and makes her feel beautiful, and when she's by herself, that kind of fades a little bit, and she starts to pick at her imperfections. Don't worry, you weren't over-reading at all! You were reading exactly what I wanted you to! :)

Her parents are definitely an issue, and I'm glad you think it's believable.

I don't know British mannerisms either, but I really wanted them to appear very clique-y and a bit narcissistic, which I think inadvertently makes them seem a bit Californian American as well, at least in regards to dialogue. I will, however, go through and try to make their mannerisms a bit more British if I can. Thanks for the tip!

I'm glad you liked it so far, and thanks so much for checking this story out and leaving such a sweet review!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #24, by Sharryhanker Complication #2

9th January 2014:
Hello there, really enjoyed the story so far, just one small point cropped up for me. In Britain, we can't drive until we're 17, so no-one would get a car for their 16th birthday.

Apart from that, I've been really enjoying the character development. It's nice to have an anti-hero as the protagonist, and I'd assume an anti-hero as the antagonist too! Ah, such is school I suppose.

Author's Response: Haha, thank you for that - in America, it's 16, so it never occurred to me that it'd be different there! I will definitely fix that ASAP!

I'm glad you like the character development - and yeah, I like the anti-hero concept as well! Having anti-heroes on both sides is definitely the way it seems to be at school anyway - there's no one person who's perfectly right or wrong.

Thanks for the review!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #25, by helpwillalwaysbegiven Complication #4

9th January 2014:
LOVED IT! Your story is so good and girly aha. James seems like he has a soft side aw. I cannot wait for chapter five :)

Author's Response: I'm so happy you liked it! And yeah, James has another side to him that hasn't been entirely revealed yet. ;) And yes, chapter five is one of my favourites!

Thanks for the review!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>