Reading Reviews for Late Nights
  
50 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alexaemd123 October: 1981

16th September 2014:
Awww so sad what happened to them! I loved this story! So heartfelt!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by AlexFan Fifth Year: 1976

1st January 2014:
Hello there! I'm here for the 12 Days of Reviewing!

I haven't read this story in a while but after re-reading this first chapter I remember why I chose to read it!

I love seeing the relationship develop between James and Lily. It seems so easy between the two of them and the banter that they throw back and forth is just so smooth and lighthearted.

Lily may have lost a friend that day but by the looks of it, she's gained another one in James. I also loved the little references that were made what with the Animagus (that doesn't sound like it makes sense but let me explain).

What I mean by reference is when Lily asks about Animagus and James has so much knowledge on the topic and we as reader's know why but Lily doesn't. She doesn't even question why James knows so much on the topic but just accepts it as something that he's good at. I kept thinking to myself "Oh Lily, if you only knew what really went on with James."

And then when she asked him what his favourite animal was and he replied with a stag and that just made me really happy for some reason and I started thinking, "Oh Lily, if you only knew why his favourite animal is a stag."

I had a lot of "if you only knew," moments while reading.

This got my Jily feels going all over again!

Author's Response: Hello!

Don't worry I understood ;) When I wrote it I felt so clever, ahaha!

I had no clue what to write as his favourite animal and I felt like James wouldn't have thought of that so he just said stag to save trouble, ahaha! :p

Anyway, thank you so much for the kind review! I'm glad you enjoyed it! :D

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by SilentConfession Seventh Year: 1977

9th December 2013:
Hey, i'm back for your reviews! I will get these done, i promise!

Right, so this is a lovely chapter. I still like how you've written them together and I think it works. It is an interesting concept you have here. The idea of those moments that happen at night time. I find that some authors seem to forget that some of the most impactful moments can happen in the middle of the night where people seem to lose some of their inhibition. Also, typically, all the action happens during the day and at night people all sleep and nothing happens. I love that this whole series is focusing on night and these 'lost' moments of lives really have defined Lily and James' relationship.

Also, i think it's really neat how you've added to some of Lily's depth here. She seems more rounded. I think it's important to keep focusing on that otherwise she will seem like a perfect little character who has few proper faults. I'm not saying she's there, but keep an eye out for how she's portrayed and make her seem alive. I like how shed seems young here and how you've kept part of her innocence. She seems very teenager like and I think that it's great to capture that about her.

I like how you've continued to chose moments that seem really important and that they aren't random. This one was really important as it was the moment they both realized they loved one another. And it wasn't some grand moment, it was a normal moment where they were both tired and living in the moment. There was something really raw about how you had them express themselves.

There was the time that Sirius was telling them that he could still hear them which was really confusing for me. I thought the fact that he was a comedic relief was really lovely to add in and made the chapter seem really full, however, i felt like you needed to lead into that a little more. It felt like Sirius' conversation sort of interjected itself into the paragraph and it really jolted me out of the chapter.

Overall, i think you have a decent chapter here that takes on the sweeter aspects of lily and james' relationship. I wonder if their relationship and time will get darker with the war or you will remain focussing on their innocence (which can be just as interesting).

Author's Response: Hello again! You don't need to stress about them if you can't do them! I understand that life can be really stressful and this isn't a priority! Please don't stress over this, I COMPLETELY understand! :)

But thank you anyway for continuing to review this story! It really means a lot to me! ♥

Yeah, many authors do forget about the night. As a student, most fun things happen in the night for me and I wanted to reflect that in my stories!

I always see Lily as very flawed but I never really know how to write that in so to hear you saying that you like it makes me really happy! :D Thank you for that!

Okay, I understand what you're saying. I just kind of wanted to show how much time had actually passed but had no idea how to :p I'll work on it in the future, however, thank you for the tip! :)

Thank you so much for these reviews! But in all honesty, if you have too much on your plate, I completely understand if you don't have time for these reviews. I won't hold it against you or anything, haha :p

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by NightStar Fourth Year: 1975

18th October 2013:
Ah nice chapter :3 so cute!

And omg Cassandra clare :D I love TMI!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! ♥

I love Cassandra Clare's work. It's absolutely fantastic! Everything she does - in my opinion - is brilliant, haha!

Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by SilentConfession Fourth Year: 1975

15th October 2013:
Hey girl! I'm back reviewing! I'm so sorry (again and again) how long these promised reviews are taking!

I have so many feels that i'm having a hard time controlling myself. I love Jily to no end and i really am liking what you've created and the feeling of the piece. I like the mixture of the humour and darker edges and the way the characters interact. I love that the war is so apparent even then in fourth year. It seems like a lot of stories start the war in 7th year and forget that it started many years before then. However, i'm still really pleased that they were able to be children and joke around a lot as well.

There were so many moments in this that i thought were so funny. Mostly Sirius' pieces and him being a bit of a dramatic, sarcastic show off. But it suited him well and I think you did a great job at capturing him in that light.

Another thing that I thought was great was Remus and how Remus he seemed ;). He was all self doubting and awkward. That side of him isn't always explored and I liked how you've shown a very unsure 15 year old boy who clearly has tried blocking everyone out before this point. It was exciting to read that bit of it. Peter was also quite cool and I loved this bit where he is so earnest about not staring at Lily's bum. It was so sweet and it really told of his character.

The only thing I could say is clean up a little bit of your description. There were times when they were at the Shrieking Shack that I found myself stumbling over the sentences a little. I think if you looked over it again and perhaps cleaned up some of the grammar stuff this would be really great.

Another thing i wondered about is why they'd show the girls the Shreiking Shack? Remus has just opened up about him being a werewolf to the boys and i don't even think they've become animagus yet. (that happens in fifth) So it would be strange that they would be so open to saying they are the ones making the noise and letting the girls into Remus' hideaway.

Anyway, overall, I think this is a great look into the Hogwarts life and I've really enjoyed reading this!!

Author's Response: Hey, Zayne! Don't worry about it, I totally understand that it takes a long time to review! :)

Aw, thank you so much! I'm so glad you liked it! :D

I remember I had a reason for the Shrieking Shack but I can't remember at the moment! I think I was going to write it in but it was useless to the chapter so I just left it out. Now I wish I had written it in there!

I'll definitely work on description in the future! This definitely needs a thorough editing and once I've finished editing my other novel I'll go through this one! :) Thanks for the tips!

Thank you for the lovely reviews you've left! They really mean a lot to me! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by SilentConfession Fifth Year: 1976

5th September 2013:
Hey! I'm finally here for your first review! I had this plan that they'd all be done by September but hey ho, life gets busy. I am sorry for the long wait though. I haven't forgotten.

I commend you on choosing such a charged moment to start your story. I think this moment would have meant so much in their relationship and I like how you've chosen this path for them to go down. In a sense we can tell that James and Lily are friends already of a sort. If they weren't she wouldn't have forgiven as easily and the chemistry between them is undeniable. There is a charge between them that can be read into their actions, especially Lily's, that can only be seen as they weren't enemies before. I think that's an interesting and refreshing look into their relationship. I've read so many interpretations of lily/james and it's always nice to come across one that seems to set out in a direction that is different than a lot of them out there. But the mere fact that they don't seem to be bitter enemies is something that makes this unique already.

I like how you've made Lily seem really human here so far. I mean, it's far too early to tell too much about their characterization, but her dialogue seems to really establish her as a confused teenager. She seems young, her wording, the way she talks about becoming an auror. It all seems like she doesn't quite understand the war yet and it hasn't affected her very much at this point.

It was interesting to see James here too. You've humanized him as well. A teen who really has no idea what he wants from life but doesn't really care at the moment. I think it's really great that it's Lily who wants to be an auror and not him. It is refreshing to see that change and to see this more carefree aura come from James. I can imagine him being that way where he just accepts life in the present where Lily feels like she needs to plan.

I think it was great too that Lily wasn't good at every subject and that she needed help. Obviously with that interaction we can tell a lot about the characters. That Lily doesn't ever ask for help and refuses to admit a weakness. She's almost rather hide her inadequacy rather than show it otherwise she would've asked for help before now. The whole using the animagi as a point of misunderstanding is a bit overused however. I don't know why i'm picky about that, but it seems to come in nearly every one i read that everyone goes to the Marauders on help with that specific thing. If they were really trying to keep their secret they'd probably even pretend they don't understand it themselves. Just to keep their and Remus' secret better and not give anything away. But anyway, it's a small thing.

I would've liked to see more description. I felt like there were times i wanted to know more about the scene. More about what they were doing or smelling. It was very dialogue heavy and although that can tell us a lot about the character there were times i wanted to know about the world you were constructing around them so i could be pulled into it with them.

Overall this is an interesting start and i'm really pleased I was able to read it. I am excited to read a few more chapters of this to see where you are taking this. Lily/James is one of my favourite pairings :)

Author's Response: Hello! Sorry for taking so long to get back to you! It's frustrating not being able to respond on your phone!

Thank you so much! I'm not going to lie, I actually LOVED that scene! Even though James was a naughty little bugger, I liked that it showed people CAN change (for better or for worse) so I've always wanted to experiment with that scene.

I know when I was 15/16, I was so confused about EVERYTHING (I still am, really :p) so I did try to channel that out. It's the age when people really start shaping themselves so they're so confused ALL THE TIME. :p

Girls at 15 and boys at 15 are a LOT different. The boys hardly ever have plans (at least the ones that I know) whereas girls are always thinking of their future. So I'm glad it came across, haha!

It is a bit of a cliche, I do admit. But I loved writing it, hehe. If I ever write another James/Lily story (which I'm sure I will because I absolutely love the pairing), I'll make sure not to include that! Thanks for the tips!

I see what you're talking about! I remember trying to make it more descriptive but I see that that didn't work out! I'll try to work on it in the future, thank you for pointing that out!

Thank you so much for this lovely review, it really means a lot that you took time to review it! :)

- Kayla. :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by miluv October: 1981

27th August 2013:
we definitely loved reading it, it was amazing all the way through! I think my favorite parts were the ones when Lily and James were still n Hogwarts, like the ones where James helped Lily write her essay in Head's Office. It was so sweet! Loved this, and love you(:
xox, miluv

Author's Response: Thank you so much! That was one of my favourite parts as well, I must admit! :p

Thank you for this lovely review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by alexandra bester October: 1981

26th August 2013:
what a great story--- u really portrayed the last night well. keep writing x0x

Author's Response: thank you so much! :) I will keep writing, haha! :p

 Report Review

Review #9, by Lily October: 1981

14th August 2013:
I loved your story so much I couldnt stop reading it since the first chapter. I cried when I read the last paragraph/chapter, it's so sad to think that after all that they die! Like, they we t through so much, and sometimes it was all for nothing :( please keep writing because you are really amazing at it, and I loved reading your story. Now I think I'll read it again :) thanks so much! From Lily

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for your kind words! They really mean a lot to me. ♥

It wasn't really for /nothing/, though. They went through it all for Harry and the Wizarding World, basically. :)

Thank you so much for this amazing review, you're so very kind. ♥

- Kayla. :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by PhoenixPulse October: 1981

9th August 2013:
Awh, this was sweet, Kayla. It's a perfect ending chapter!

I just don't know what to say. This whole thing was just an assortment of feelings, some of bitter-sweetness and some of pure fluffy happiness, but all in all, it was excellent. Jily all the way!

To be honest, because of you I've become a hardcore Jily shipper. I love looking through DeviantArt to find Jily pics and scouraging around Tumblr and fanfictions for anthing Jily related. Of course, I always have supported the ship, I couldn't envision them with anyone else, but the pairing never moved me so much before all this. And then you enlightened me with the wonderfulness of the pairing, and they truly are a beautiful couple that's become one of my favorites. So thank you Kayla.

Thank you for this beautiful collection of one shots. I had fun reading them. (Even if you managed to stomp all over my heart at times)

Author's Response: Hey, Pearl!

Aw thank you for this amazing review! ♥

MUHAHA WELCOME TO THE DARK SIDE. WE HAVE TEARS AND COOL GRAPHICS. (Although I don't make the graphics, I just cry at others' :p)

I love going on DeviantArt for pictures. Julvett has an amazing collection, I highly recommend it!

I feel so honoured that I've made someone become a hardcore Jily shipper! :'D

Thank you for this amazing review, your reviews always make me smile! ♥

- Kayla. :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Dahlia Bailey October: 1981

8th August 2013:
This was an amazing story and really sweet! Although I nearly got chocked up at the end bit, so sad but excellent at the same time.

Dahlia XD

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

It was bittersweet, but that's what Jily is, ahah! :p

Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by pattybuns_hpf October: 1981

8th August 2013:
I very much loved reading these late nights of James and Lily. It was brilliant. I would desperately beg of you to continue but alas as I think about it, you've brought closure to what the idea of this story was all about.

I liked how you didn't go into chronological order with their nightly rendezvous. It was all jumbled but it seemed to connect after one another. Well, thinking of Lily and James spending time together at night and all, of course it's going to connect. Anyway, It was confusing at first but it somehow made sense to have the time jumping around. It was nice reading of their seventh year then to their first year and so on, and I congratulate you for making it seem so seamless a transition. I liked seeing the difference between the years. And also, the it kept everything interesting, I was always curious as to know how Lily and James interacted in the particular time you've set for them.

Oh gosh, I nearly cried in this last chapter. I was just so happy reading it and seeing how normal they looked and how great a family were. Still, that last sentence was a blow to my heart and it's really sad to think about the way they'd been so happy and then Voldy just had to come there and ruin it all. Oh well...

Thank you for this story, by the way, and it was truly a great read.

-Patty

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much!

haha, the jumbled-ness was completely unplanned! I just was too lazy to try and change it, so I tried to make each one link in tiny ways. :p

Thank you so much for this amazing review, it really means a lot to me. You have NO idea how big my smile was when reading this!

- Kayla. :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by atellam October: 1981

7th August 2013:
AH, Kayla! This whole story is brilliant. I actually stumbled across it on FFN? You've posted it there too right? But then when I saw you'd posted a story by the same name here, I was like "oh! That makes so much more sense!"

Anyway! This was amazing. You know how much I love Jily (my babies!) and you didn't disappoint. I loved how you wrote then, both before and when they were together. Harry is adorable. ^_^

Lots of love, and can't wait to read some more of your stuff now that my Trials are over. Woohoo!

Keep up the amazing work, girl!
- Adele. ^_^

Author's Response: Hey, Adele!

Yeah, I started to post it on FFN as well! Although, that's the "less-important" one, haha!

Aw thank you! I'm glad to hear I didn't disappoint with the Jily, I was so focused on getting them exactly right, ahah! And yeah, Harry is adorable, isn't he? :p

That's exciting about your trials! I only have two more left, and they're the easier ones! :p Hope you went well on them! :D

Thanks for the review! :D

- Kayla. :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by PhoenixPulse Third Year: 1973

3rd August 2013:
Oh, that was sweet of her, Lily teaching James how to do math. And then James with his horrible puns and jokes that make her laugh and me smile none-the-less.

Gawd, Kayla...You write them so wonderfully.

But despite the fluffiness of it all, is it bad that I sort of got that sinking feeling around the part when James talks about the Mathsive Maths War? Particularly with this:



"Of course I would. I would die in battle of course, and I'll be forever remembered as the Mathsive Maths War Hero. I'll have a whole castle built in my name with different times tables on each door," he said without missing a beat.

"Really die in battle? That's the way I was going to die in the second Mathsive War," she said, biting her lip to hide her smile.

James clasped her hands in his and said solemnly, "We'll die together. As a duo and we'll each have a castle named after us. It was a grand fight and we'll be remembered forever, never you worry."

Lily replied just as solemnly, "It was a pleasure fighting with you, Mister Potter."

"And you, Miss Evans," he said, bowing.




I don't know...It just sort of pierced my little happy balloon that was swelling with joy...because it was sort of like warning bells in my mind, reminding them that they really were going to die...together. And that they truly were remembered...

GAWD KAYLA! WHY?!? why must you hurt me like this? :(

Ah well, it was a beautiful chapter none-the-less. And that's why I love your writing! :)

Author's Response: First thing you need to know about me is I LOVE PUNS. So all these jokes/puns made me actually laugh as I was writing them.

#imsocoolwhat

haha, glad to hear that I write them well! It's scary trying to write them, because what if you get it wrong?! D:

Yes, yes, I put that in there exactly for that purpose. I was laughing but really sad at the same time because fORESHADOWING?! D:

I'm sorry for hurting you, I don't do it on purpose. (Okay, maybe I do it for a little bit but that doesn't mean I like doing it, haha!)

Thank you for this amazing review!

(Also, I'll send over chapter 2 of Superheroes next week. Maybe on the weekend. But definitely next week some time! :D)

- Kayla. :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by PhoenixPulse First Year: 1971

3rd August 2013:
OH! This was probably by far the best chapter, Kayla. :)

I love James and Lily's little squabbles. It's so childishly adorable! Their hormones are just flying everywhere, left and right aren't they? From going at each other's throats, to apologizing, and then going at it again... I sort of want to chide James after he sat on the Tower's ledge as well. Tsk tsk.

Lily's snobby behavior. It's comical because she's still so young. And James pestering her to no end. I just want to prod them together to a hug, because they're so perfect already! Everything just screams JILY SHIPMENT!

I feel sorry for Mary though, the poor dear. Sirius driving her up the wall...

But the adorable irony at the end.

Author's Response: Really? I was so iffy about this chapter, I just kept scrunching my nose up but it was the best I could get. :p

Eleven year olds are surprisingly very versatile with their moods. :p Glad to hear that that it was reflected in the chapter. :p

(Did that even make sense omfg)

JILY IS DA BEST.

haha, I feel like Sirius would have been the most annoying person in the whole wide world when he was younger. I loved writing the teeny tiny bits of him and Mary together, haha!

haha, glad you liked the last line. :p

Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Dahlia Bailey Third Year: 1973

1st August 2013:
This was a really good chapter, I'm excited about where this story is headed.

Dahlia XD

Author's Response: Thank you!

The next chapter is the last one, and I've just put it in the queue. Hopefully you'll like it! :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by Siriusly89 February: 1981

18th July 2013:
Review #6  I’m so sad that this is the last review. Please promise me you’ll write more James/Lily or Marauders in the future! You’re so good at it! Please, I’m begging you! (Figuratively) on my knees right now!

Awh! Baby Harry, I love it so much! And then James and Sirius attempting to pull him away from his food. I have a feeling Harry’s a bit of a Mammy’s boys, am I correct? In my mind he is anyway!

James comment about missing the missions, and the Sirius with his ‘it’s no fun to insult Death Eaters, especially when Moody threatens to hit you with his leg’! How do you do it! I’m giggling fit to burst over here (not good, seeing as most of the house is asleep, but still, can’t help it!) I love how James gave up the mission when Harry was born though, shows how much he cares for him and Lily, such a James thing to do!

Harry getting sick all over Sirius, hah! That little bit of James in him coming out there I see. Then Sirius having his own room, gah! Again with attacking my feels. James and Sirius really are a package deal though, aren’t they? They’re so, intertwined or something, it’s just so bromance-y and lovely and makes me want to run around hugging strangers and throwing sweets at people and gah.

James feeding the cat. Don’t know why I find that amusing, but I do. So let’s just roll with it, shall me? :P

And the whole shebang takes a rather sinister turn when Dumbledore shows up. Poor guy, bearer of bad news, telling them that Voldie’s after their seven month old son.

Oh Sirius, ‘Harry would be able to live without his godfather. He couldn’t live without his parents’- he had to live without all three. This is so sad, this line. The three of them cared so much for Harry, and Harry was denied that love by that sadistic monster Voldemort. Argh. It makes me so angry sometimes. And he had to go off and live with that, that awful woman and he pig of a husband and her bully of a son and live under a stairs and- well you know the rest, but still! Not fair!

Lily and James stay up all night once again, but this time it wasn’t to finish an essay, or to play Exploding Snap. No this time, Lily cried because she knew no matter what she did, her son would more than likely end up either dying, or growing up without one, if not both of his parents. Of course we know what happens in the end (Good prevailing, Voldemort going to hell where he belongs) but still, so sad, so, so sad.

And so, after a few short chapters, you have reduced my feels to shreds.

Just thank you so much, well I suppose for writing these, they made me laugh, cry, all the things you could think of, you really are an extraordinary writer

Author's Response: There's still three chapters to go! I've written the seventh, about 800 words of the eighth chapter and half of the ninth! I've refrained from posting because I like to post these in three big chunks. :p

Also, I'm thinking of starting a James/Lily novel once I finish school and write more of Naive. I just need an idea haha!

Harry is a Mummy's boy. AND IT MAKES ME SO SAD THAT WE NEVER GOT TO SEE THAT AHHH IFDKVJEFDCBGVNFCKBKDF

hahaha babies are always sick on people. I have luckily never had to deal with that, but my friends have from their cousins/nieces/nephews/etc. :p It was also influenced by John Green saying in a video that we as babies vomited on our parents and they still kept us haha!

I know, it gets so sad and angsty as soon as Dumbledore showed up. :(

I'm sorry for making you cry, I didn't mean to even though I cried myself when writing it. :p

You're such a kind person oh my god, LET ME LOVE YOU. *chases trying to engulf you in a tight hug*

Thank you so much for all these reviews, they meant the world to me. Thank you thank you thank you! ♥

- Kayla. :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Siriusly89 Sixth Year: 1976

18th July 2013:
Review #5, coming your way!

Sixth year starting off with a bang, Sirius claiming that he levitated Regulus at the grand old age of two, with James being disbelieving, Remus saying nothing, avoiding conflict, and Peter just going with the flow!

Sirius Black! You did not just push your friend down the stairs! And look, he landed on top of someone. What’s the betting that ‘someone’ is either Lily or maybe Snivellus!

It was Lily (who was half-right? ME!)

And Peter shooing the crowd away. See, I like the way you portray Peter. Some people try and diss him, but like, he was a part of the Marauders, so they obviously had to like him, and he them. Just because he made some (very, very VERY) bad decisions in later life, does not mean he was a bad person right the way through, right? Right.

James being all fidgety while he was being examined by the matron, I found that hilarious! It’s just so him, can’t stay still for half a second before he wants to be off again, up to something constantly. Him apologising to Lily is so sweet, sometimes lads can be hard pushed to say sorry, but not my Jamesie ;)

Madame Pomfrey forcing the lads to turn around while she examined Lily, hah! Seems like a very Madame Pomfrey-ish thing to do! You’re so good at characterisation, you have all the characters down to a T, so realistic and just, brilliant, just amazing really! Hearts to you my friend! Hearts to you!

I agree with James. Lily, you are the worst actor in the history of bad acting! I like how it was Lily that knew about Muffliato, not the prankster James. Shows that she has a bit of mischievousness in her as well! Ah Kayla, you have me on cuteness overload over here! Lily wanting to spoon with James. Okay, this is definitely flirting, and I love it! James and Lily flirty flirty time, wink ;)

Look, James admitting he was a prattish prat of a first year, and Lily admitting she was snobby. Look at that, acceptance, the first step. Well done my young grasshoppers, you have done well *stroke my awesome Dumbledore beard*

YES! I got my wish, serious James has arrived. This is such a, well cute doesn’t really fit with the mood, and intimate sounds hokey, but well, you get what I mean. They’re just lying there, talking about everything and anything, and then Lily admitting she’s worried about Snape, even though he was the biggest prat to her, and James offer to protect her without a second thought and oh, my feels! They just exploded!

James confiding in Lily about the ‘infamous Marauder secret’ really was a significant moment, wasn’t it? I’d say that was the moment that got to ball rolling from them being awkward friends to falling in lurve. So cute, just so Aaah! This needs a new word, ‘cute’ doesn’t cover those two anymore. It’s something bigger! Much bigger!

And of course it had to end with Exploding Snap ;)

Last chapter next! Sob!

Author's Response: Hello again!

I feel like James and Sirius would have had the touchy-feely friendship, and would constantly be poking each other or pushing/shoving each other, because that's what a lot of blokes do. :p

Every time I see a fic with Peter characterised as a ~insert non 12+ word here~, I get SUPER mad. Because James and Lily wouldn't have picked him as their Secret Keeper if they didn't trust him! D: So as soon I see those types of fics, I generally close the tab groaning. :p

Ahhh, I'm so glad you like my characterisations of everyone though! It really means a lot to me! :')

Of course it was going to be Exploding Snap. They do really enjoy card games. ;)

Thank you so much for this absolutely amazing review! You're far too kind! ♥

- Kayla. :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by Siriusly89 Second Year: 1972

18th July 2013:
Okay, okay, I know your prize was three reviews, but let’s face it, this is one of the best James/Lily’s I’ve read in an age, so I’m reviewing the whole thing! :P

Review #4!

Ah poor Lily! I too have forgotten homework (many a time, as I’m the scattiest person you’ll ever meet) but I agree with Mary, he was just being a grump, give the girl a break for peat’s sake! She’s such a good student, and I’m pretty sure she’s never forgotten it before, so just lay off her Mr Horrible! Okay though, James, you deserved it pet. Not going to defend you!

Ah James, describing Voldemort as ‘just a bunch of letters thrown together’, love it! Sometimes you end up seeing a lot of Harry in James, don’t you? Except Harry’s more tightly wound, a bit of Lily, if I’m not mistaken. James is just so, so casual and relaxed about almost everything. It would be nice to see him serious for once though I suppose knowing James, he doesn’t have a serious side does he? Except when he’s with Sirius, of course :P (I’m sorry, that was really bad, I just couldn’t resist!)

I love it, James just threw it together in Herbology, hoping to scrape by! And Lily’s comment about the creativeness only working on someone like Dumbledore was spot on too, lets face it, the man was a bit, err, well mad, wasn’t he?

Lily’s so competitive! First with the Gobstones, and now with the Exploding Snap! She’s so cute though, in her twelve-year old adorableness. She has this aura around her, like she knows everything, but at the same time, she’s really innocent, and actually doesn’t know anything at all about the real world, don’t get me wrong, she’s smart and all, but like, she doesn’t have street smarts if that makes any sense, something that James has in abundance!

The whole chase scenario with Filch was just brilliant. At this age, James and Lily really remind me of Harry, Hermione and Ron. James is a bit like Harry and Ron rolled into one, isn’t he? And then Lily’s such a little Hermione, I have a feeling they would’ve gotten on well, had Lily not, well, you know,

Dumbledore knowing where they were was just so Dumbledore-ish! I really would love to know how he does it, but then again, like James said, he’s a bit crazy, but brilliant all the same!

Next chapter, here I come! :D

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! You're far too kind to me, oh my god!

I don't forget homework, ever, but I do "forget" homework. ;) It's just I'm so lazy so I just never do any of it and then wonder why I fail everything uGHHH.

ANYWAY, I'm glad you enjoyed this haha! I've always imagined Lily to be extremely competitive. I don't know why, but I always have. :p

Yeah, although Lily is academically smart, she doesn't understand a lot about the Wizarding world, but that's where James comes in. *cue superhero music*

Oh god, Dumbledore was SO SCARY TO WRITE AHHH. But everyone says that I've written him pretty well, so yay I guess? :p

Anywho, thanks for leaving me a review! /rhyme.

- Kayla. :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Siriusly89 Seventh Year: 1977

18th July 2013:
Review #3!

Back in the library again I see, being glared at by the librarian I see. What is it with Hogwarts and employing crabby librarians, it’s like an unspoken rule, that each librarian must be mean and slightly obsessive over their books! But James and Lily are more than cute together properly! Aaah! Excitement at reading this is ridiculous :P

‘Not for you two to do your business’ –another laugh out loud moment right there! I will bet you anything that Lily is going to blush like a tomato. I was correct! I know her so well! James helping her with her essay is just adorable. He hates Potions, yet he’s willing to help Lily (okay, he knows that the sooner she finishes, the sooner he can snog her) but the sentiment is cute all the same!

‘Mainly because if she did fail, she’d probably lock herself in her room and not come out. James was rather fond of her.’-this is both a naww and a laugh out loud moment. I have a feeling he’s more than ‘rather fond of her’ but I wont start shouting at him just yet, mostly because he’s seventeen and him telling Lily he loved her would probably scare her to death (although there is quite a considerable amount left to go in this chapter, it could happen yet!)

Aaah! James’ offer. Just no words. No words. Because I know he doesn’t mean it to be anything more than just the two of them cuddling and talking until the sunrise. It’s every girls dream isn’t it, finding someone as perfect as James. In reality, I realise I’ve set the bar pretty high here, but I will not settle for anything less than my personal James. TA guy who will chase me for years and not give up no matter how many times I tell him to go away, someone to stay up with till three in the morning completing essays, someone to stand in front of the most evil person of all time, wandless, trying to save my life. Yes. Ideal man? See James Potter!

Oh Sirius, such comedic value! James and Lily were having such a cute morning (they said they loved each other! I knew there was a considerable amount of chapter left for that to happen!) And he just barges in, shouting at them to go to sleep, of course, forgetting that there were people who were sound asleep also in the dorm!

James and Lily really are night owls, aren’t they? Well, James is on a high due to the pain potion, but whets Lily’s excuse :P ?

Sirius! Bold Sirius! That ‘Finally; wasn’t referring to him getting a good nights sleep now they were gone, was it? The suspicious object he threw at James confirms my theory. Bad Sirius! Don’t embarrass poor Jamesie!

Nawww, sitting around playing Gobstones at four in the morning. I love it, so much it’s ridiculous. I think I’ll end this rambling review here (I have to go review the next one, I can’t stop now, can I? ;) )

See you!

Author's Response: Hello!

haha it isn't just Hogwarts, all school librarians are mean. D: Even when you're nice and courteous to them, they're still grumpy old ladies. :p

My ideal man is James Potter, I must admit. :p

I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter. Reading your reviews really give me a big grin on my face. :D

Thank you so much! ♥

- Kayla. :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Siriusly89 Fourth Year: 1975

18th July 2013:
Hey! Review #2 coming your way, hopefully this one won’t involve such mindless babbling, but meh, I’m just sort of rolling with it at this point!

Remus’ 15th birthday. . . .weird to think of him so young, isn’t it? But I love that he’s so awkward and a bit gangly and unsure of himself, so Remus-ey! And they’re spending the night in the Shrieking Shack? It’s called a shack for a reason, you know, broken windows, holes in the walls (mostly due to a certain werewolf, but still!) they’re going to perish! Hope they brought blankets or something, come on Lily, you’re the sensible one, talk some sense into this scheme! Remus, find your inner prefect, bring this mad idea to a close and march them back upstairs to the warm common room to sit in front of the fire and play exploding snap or something, not the mad things Sirius and James more than likely have planned! Aaah! They aren’t going to listen to me, are they?

James, Sirius and their two left feet! Guess we know where Harry got his dancing skills form then! It’s funny, because I always thought of Lily as the hopeless dancer, and James as a fair-to okay one, what with being a pureblood and all, you know, waltzing and stuff at the stuffy Ministry parties! But the more I think about it, the more I like the idea of it being the other way around!

“I thought I’d lie on the floor and writhe in pain for a while’-‘It relaxes me’-AAAH! I literally burst out laughing when I read this! It’s just so-Sirius, so in character, so sarcastic and witty and cutting, without being too mean and Aaah! My favourite line I’ve read in such a while! AAah!

Oh James, way to ruin the moment ‘not-not like our children’-hee hee, cue more giggling! In a way though, it sort of diffused the tension a bit, I liked it. James and Lily, even when they were fourteen and fifteen, they were perfect for each other. They aren’t flirting with each other or anything, but you can just see that spark. That something special. It’s really a tribute to you as a writer that you can create that you know!

See you in the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hello again!

I know, it's so depressing thinking of them as little youngin's who had no idea the TRAUMA AND TERRIBLE THINGS THAT WOULD HAPPEN TO THEM WIGSBFDSJVBKCIK

hahahaha yes, James and Sirius were sadly not good dancers. Most men I know aren't. :(

That would make sense to have James as the good dancer but I did not think of that. :p Ah well, too late now! :p

hahaha it's a Cassandra Clare quote from The City of Ashes. I really recommend it, it's absolutely brilliant and the sarcasm is AMAZINGGG! :D

hehehe James would have stumbled a lot and become cripplingly awkward around girls he liked which obviously reflects Harry (aka him spilling tea all down his front when Cho walked past). :p

Thanks for the amazing review! :D

- Kayla. :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by Siriusly89 Fifth Year: 1976

18th July 2013:
Hey! Sarahjane here, not only with your prize from the ‘To Kill A Mockingbird’ Quote Challenge, but also for the review challenge for Hufflepuff in the HC, talk about two birds with one stone, eh? Jily foreba!!! ♥

And so, off we go with Review #1,

Nawww, James followed Lily all the way to the library. He may have had the Marauders Map to help him, but I like to think he spent at least a half-hour tracking her down, running all over Hogwarts and the grounds like a mad-man, yelling her name. Ah! I can just see him now! Run little Jamesie, run like the wind!

Ahem, sorry about that.

‘As the rest of the library kept shooting them furtive glances’- I’m surprised a first year didn’t faint! James POTTER and Lily EVANS, sitting TOGETHER in the library, not only GETTING ALONG, but HELPING EACH OTHER. :O
I loved James’ little ‘secretive’ smirk at the Animagi, of course he knows all about them, doesn’t he spend most of his time gallivanting around the grounds as a stag? And then Lily’s little comment about him not having to study, because she hates him for being so perfect, doesn’t she? In my Head Canon, Lily and Petunia are similar in that way, they’re both striving for unreachable levels of perfection. Lily finds it with James, but Petunia spends her whole life-sorry, babbling on! Back to the point!

Snape, slithering on up to talk to her. I do feel bad for him though, because we all say things we don’t mean sometimes. And now, are you ready for more babbling, because in my opinion, James has the gift of forgiveness (something Harry inherited from him) but Lily, she’s stubborn, and once you ‘betray her trust’ you’re gone!

‘I don’t like borrowing books, it makes me feel weird’- Lily Evans, you are my twin in disguise! Okay, I know libraries are great things, but you don’t know who has been pawing those books! Or where they’ve been! My bag also usually weighs about half my body weight (and trust me, I’m not a petit girl :p) but I have no James to offer to carry it for me *despair*

James Potter, why are you wandering around without a shirt on? But him and Lily, oh the dirty jokes! James really can make anything bad, I mean ‘curdle’ euugh. . . . Oh god, proof I’ve been talking to my fifteen year old cousin too much-much too much...

Listen, I’ll see you in the next chapter ;)

Author's Response: Hey, Sarahjane! :D YAY FOR HUFFLEPUFF! :'D

I'm so glad you enjoyed this! ♥

In my head canon, James just knew Lily so well he guessed she would be in the library. :D But the Map works well too. ;)

I really tried to put elements of Harry in their personalities, I must admit, so I'm glad that came across haha!

I hate borrowing books. I do not like it at all. If someone tells me to read a book and offers me theirs, I refuse and buy my own. Even if I hate the book. :p It's like I have a special connection with the first time I read a book and I always want to keep the book for myself to remind myself of that ~connection~.

hehehehe I'm super immature and I generally laugh at all dirty jokes. :p And my friend and I made a list of the grossest words of the English language and 'curdle' was basically number one. :p

Thanks for the amazing review! ♥

- Kayla. :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by Marauder_Weasley February: 1981

17th July 2013:
omg great chapter love it

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by iatevoldysnose Second Year: 1972

12th July 2013:
I am so sorry for taking so long to review this! I think I've apologized to five or six authors for taking so long to review haha :P

But, siriusly, I just love reading this story! I like how both were annoyed at Professor Iratus! He seems to be one grumpy person ahaha :) Sev is adorable, especially when "his face darkened" when James was mentioned...oh, jealousy...

I love how Lily and James seem to be getting closer in this chapter :) But when Lily hesitated, about helping Severus, I realized that he didn't even apologize for the fact that it was HIS homework she was helping with! Hmph!

Oh, Mrs Norris. She really is evil isn't she?
I like how you've put in Dumbledore's humour :D It was nice to read that...

This story really is wonderful! You are such a great author, a truly talented one! I'm so glad that you wrote this and posted it for us :D Please never stop writing and I hope you update soon :)

Love,
iatevoldysnose xox

Author's Response: Don't apologise! I should be apologising, this review is a whole week late! D:

haha Severus has always been a bit jealous of James, we may as well admit it. ;)

Mrs Norris is evil, haha! I love cats but she seems to be a bit of a crazy cat! :p

Dumbledore was SO SCARY to write! I'm glad you liked it, though! :)

Wow, thank you so much! It means so much to me, thank you!

Thank you for this amazing review. ♥


 Report Review

Review #25, by Courtney Dark Second Year: 1972

10th July 2013:
Hey there!

Aw, I loved this chapter! It was so perfectly sweet and adorable and cute - and to top it all off, I don't think I've ever read James and Lily as second years, so it was definitely a refreshing change!

Professor Iratus is certainly a nasty guy, isn't he? And I loved the differences between Lily and James when they found out they'd been given detentions - Lily was upset because she'd never had a detention before and James was just slightly annoyed because he'd already had one the previous night, haha.

I also loved James's homework! I would definitely give him top marks for creativity! I don't think Professor Iratus has a very good sense of humour...

I loved how you wrote Dumbledore! Especially is comment about Peeves bringing the castle lively entertainment - that was definitely very in-character. I've always found Dumbledore very difficult to write, so nice job!

Lovely chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hello again!

It's SO HARD writing them as little babies, so that's probably why there aren't many stories when they're young! :p

haha Iratus is actually Latin for angry (thank goodness for Google Translate! :p) so that's why he's a bit nasty. :p

James was a troublemaker, we all knew it so I'm sure he was well practised with detentions. :p

I would give him marks for creativity, but sadly Professor Iratus would not. :p

Dumbledore was SO SCARY to write! I think I spent four days on him, trying to perfect him because it was so scary, haha! I'm glad that you liked the way I wrote him. :)

Thank you for the lovely reviews! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>