49 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan A Foreboding Fate

1st January 2014:
For Day 6 of the 12 Days of Reviewing

Ooh, scary things happening at the Filch household! I'm not surprised that his mum and Mrs MacQuillen got found out though, their black market potion business could only last so long. But they seem to have Argus in an unpleasant situation. What are they going to do with him? Will the Magical Law Enforcement think he is behind all the potion stuff, or will they just catch the others? Ahh!

Poor Mrs Norris. She does kind of have a rubbish lot in life. :(

I did find the scene when Argus was wearing the cat like a scarf quite funny! No wonder he was getting strange looks! :p

Great work on this chapter!

Author's Response: Ha! I was actually with my sister when I wrote this chapter. Even though its supposed to be more serious we get a little goofy sometimes :) Hope you enjoy the rest of the story!
-TheRandomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderfan Regret and Reassurance

31st December 2013:
For day 5 of the 12 days of reviewing on the forums.

Hi there! Last time I looked at this story I had read all of the completed chapters to that point, so what a wonderful surprise to come back and find so many new ones to catch up on.

Poor Argus! You did really well writing his despair and regret about his decision, and how the only thing in his mind is taking care of Mrs Norris. I think he's starting to turn into the Filch from the books who we all love to hate, how he is so devoted to Mrs Norris.

Aw, he found mice for her. That was nice. Hopefully she will come out of her unresponsive state soon. I'm eager to finish reading the story, now that you've got it all posted, yay!

Great chapter!

Author's Response: Hey! I just watched the 4th Harry Potter movie about a week ago and there was a scene of Argus dancing with Mrs. Norris at the Yule Ball- I laughed so hard! Haha anyways thanks for the reviews! I'm glad you think that Argus is starting to seem more like...Argus. I was worried about that and I hope I did a good job!
-TheRandomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #3, by maskedmuggle Isabelle's Despair

30th December 2013:
Hey!

It's been a while yet again but I'm still reading this (albeit very slowly) and really, really enjoying it! I'm here for the 12 Days of Reviewing (a challenge from the forums) but also because I'm still eager to find out if Isabelle and Argus will meet again/what happens to Argus!

I really loved this bit: But since when did I care about Argus so much? Nevertheless, another answer came that instant. Since I found out he cared for me.. -- because it's so realistic and actually something very relatable for me, personally.

Love/heartbreak is something everyone deals with differently so I really love how this young Isabelle is so torn and angry, and how she made that ending declaration about never loving anyone else - you conveyed her emotions across so well! Also, despite how different she is from when we first met her (kind of snobby towards Argus), Isabelle still feels perfectly characterised - so the transition in her character's attitude/outlook has felt so natural. The other thing I really liked was how strongly a sense of youthful naivety was prevalent throughout the chapter - because it made Isabelle's feelings feel that much more realistic and spot on.

A really great chapter! & now that I've got some spare time I'm really looking forward to reading to the end :D
- Charlotte

Author's Response: Hello again! I'm glad you decided to come back! It's been a while since I checked my account and I was very happy to see your reviews! Hope you enjoy the rest of the story :)
- TheRandomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #4, by bowtruckleinlove Refuge At Hogwarts

29th August 2013:
That's such a sweet chapter. I know that what he did was wrong but I just love that even after everything he's gone through, he still only cares about Mrs Norris' safety

Author's Response: Thank you! now I'm at more of the 'falling action' of the story I was trying to incorporate more of the relationship Filch had with Mrs. Norris in the Harry Potter books. Caring, like you said, is a main one :) I think one of the hardest parts for me in that chapter was getting Dumbledore to seem like... Dumbledore, if you know what I mean :) I hope the characters seemed to flow well, and thanks for your reviews!
-TheRandomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #5, by maskedmuggle Plans and Promises

28th August 2013:
Hey!

Wow. Short, but powerful. I had a really strong feeling that Filch would be kicked out of the house.. but I can't say that I'm glad at all to have been proved right.. That last moment between Filch and Isabelle felt really romantic.. but also very foreboding.. I kind of feel like despite Filch's strong desire.. he's never going to see her again? I hope I'm proved wrong though! I feel like it will be really interesting to see how Filch will adjust changing environments yet again, especially since his time at the Wrights has probably been the best experience.

I actually feel like my perceptions of the Wrights are changing a bit.. they seemed really generous and caring.. but now I feel like I'm also seeing this more contemptible side to them. As always, I'm really enjoying this story - your writing is awesome!

- Charlotte

Author's Response: Hello again! I like that you described that moment as "foreboding," because I didn't realize it until now, but that is exactly what I was trying to put across! Thanks for your reviews. Very helpful and encouraging!!!
-TheRandomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #6, by maskedmuggle Young Love

28th August 2013:
Hey!

I started reading your story about a month+ ago and then took a long break.. but I'm back again! Your story is as fascinating as I remember - this chapter was just as eventful and just as engaging to read!

The way you wrote this was so perfect! I think it's really much more difficult to write about children developing a relationship than like older teenagers/adults, especially since I think it's not seen in fanfiction as much. But the characterisation of Filch/Isabelle was just fantastic… they were clearly hesitant, but it also felt really "right", if that makes sense.. hehe. The interaction between them was a little awkward.. but that's what made the moment so perfect!

Ahh I can't believe their moment got interrupted.. it'll definitely be interesting to see what the father will say to Argus now.. The whole situation with the parents makes the story seem so realistic. Wonderful writing - I really enjoy reading your story! :)

- Charlotte

Author's Response: Thank you :) I'm glad you decided to return! I did realize that taking on Filch as a child would be a challenge, but I'm happy that I stuck with it. I hope you continue reading The Story of Argus Filch and Mrs. Norris- I enjoy reading your reviews!
-TheRandomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #7, by luvinpadfoot Isabelle's Despair

10th August 2013:
Isabelle's feelings seem so real in this chapter. It's that feeling of the first love that everyone has at some point, that first time you feel the rush of emotions for someone else and how you know you'll never feel that way again for anyone else. Teenagers are especially prone to such strong emotions and that's how Isabelle comes across, deeply embedded in her love for Argus cut short.

I'm so glad you mentioned Romeo and Juliet! It's what I've been thinking since the romance began between them and I just adore the comparison (I'm a huge R&J fan). It comes across as so down to earth and real, despite the slight tendency toward melodrama. I dunno if that's an oxymoron, but that's what I think.

The description of her and Filch's love was beautifully written. I loved the phrasing you used in the last paragraph, especially "I would forget what it was like to love" and "Torn into shreds as easily as a piece of paper". Those two lines really stuck out as spectacular. The whole paragraph was just perfect and left me awestruck. :)

Author's Response: Ha! That's Ironic :) I just talked about Romeo and Juliet in the last review! Wow, Thanks!! This is actually my first novel/novella (not sure which its going to be yet) so it's really encouraging to get this kind of feedback. Thank you so much for all of your reviews- I really appreciate it!!!
-TheRandomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #8, by luvinpadfoot Plans and Promises

10th August 2013:
Oh poor Filch and Isabelle! That's just so awful. What's he going to do now? He's only a kid. Even with everything that happened and Mr. Wright not wanting anymore romance to happen between Filch and Isabelle I can't believe he'd just kick him out like that.

The last bit was very sweet and very much seemed like two young lovers. It almost reminds me of Romeo and Juliet, the over the top farewells and proclamations of love as well as her parents forcing them apart.

It's very well done and I adore every bit of the romance, although I can't wait to see what happens from here. Obviously their story isn't near done yet so I do wonder how they come to meet again.

And when will Isabelle discover what her parents have planned for her future? I feel almost certain it's an arranged marriage now, although I can't imagine she'd be too fond of that. She seems a bit too headstrong to merely bow to her parents' will, but sometimes it's hard to tell.

I'm eager to keep reading and this story continues to be so lovely! :)

Author's Response: I'm glad I got the Romeo and Juliet act to be noticeable! I read the play a little while ago and it was just so over the top- perfect for Argus and Isabelle! I just felt the need to incorporate something like that in the story. Thank you for your insightful reviews and I hope to hear more from you!!
-TheRandomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #9, by luvinpadfoot Young Love

10th August 2013:
Oh no! Poor Isabelle and Filch. I really do wish things could be happy for them. That moment before her parents walked in was so sweet. They just fit really well together despite all of their differences. I don't know what it is about the two of them, but they really work together as a couple.

And their thoughts were so parallel! It was brilliant how you switched between them so seamlessly in the narration, just flawless.

I am curious as to why exactly her parents are so upset with it, beyond the obvious reason that Filch is a servant and a bit strange. Perhaps some sort of arranged marriage? I dunno yet.

I do wish that in the end they'll run away and live happily together, but somehow I don't think that's much of a possibility. At the very least I hope her father isn't too harsh on Filch. He only just found a new home, a new place to live. It'd be so awful to have that ripped from him too after leaving his mother.

Another wonderfully crafted chapter! I adore this story so much. :)

Author's Response: I like your thoughts on the chapter :) very helpful. Aw, thanks! I really wanted to get both of their perspectives on the whole situation so I'm glad it worked out okay. Thanks for your review!
-TheRandomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #10, by bowtruckleinlove A Foreboding Fate

1st August 2013:
Poor Mrs Norris. and your poor computer. I liked this chapter, but I'm feeling really bad for argus.
I hope that the truth comes out so they know that he's mostly innocent & as for his mum... karma is a terrible thing

Author's Response: lol, thanks. I know, everything is looking quite bleak at the moment, isn't it? But the climax of the story is always the most intense. I hope you continue to enjoy the rest of the story and thank you so much for reviewing!
-TheRandomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #11, by luvinpadfoot Unspoken Words

21st July 2013:
Aw that was so sweet! I'm rooting for Isabelle and Filch almost despite myself. I wish her mother hadn't come in to interrupt them, although maybe it's best that Isabelle has a bit more time to admit her feelings to herself first.

I hope things don't get too bad with Isabelle's parents. Filch has already lost his original family, it would be so harsh for him to lose this one too, even if he's a servant and not really family. They're still all he has.

I'm hoping nothing else happens with Filch's real family, but won't his brother come looking for him? No one even cared about him a little? That makes me so sad for him. Even if he was a squib he was still family. They should still care a little.

Oh well, I'm still really enjoying this story. Everything about it is just so wonderful. Yet another great chapter! :)

Author's Response: I know, I found myself doing that too! Also, I think you're questions will be answered in the near future :) Good thoughts on the chapter! Thanks for writing so many reviews!!
-TheRandomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #12, by luvinpadfoot Grownup Stuff

21st July 2013:
Sometimes it's good to be reminded that Filch is only thirteen, still a kid in this story. I like that he was impressed by how sophisticated the conversation was, at thirteen I probably would have been too.

And the beginning seemed realistic with his age as well. After going through something so traumatic I'm sure Filch would have strange or even scary dreams.

And Isabelle so indignant over her mother thinking that she might fancy Filch was great! I still love everything you're doing with the characters. They seem so true to themselves, and they have for the whole story thus far.

I'm still eager to find out more about the secret conversation between the Wrights and to find out what happens to Filch! It's a really amazing story so far. :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you're enjoying it! Yes, sometimes I had to make sure he remained 13. It's often hard to try and imagine what Filch was like as a kid, but I pulled through :) Thanks for your reviews! I really appreciate all the feedback I'm getting!!
-TheRanomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #13, by luvinpadfoot Whispers in the Night

21st July 2013:
I am quite intrigued with this overheard conversation. Something big and dramatic must be happening, I can't wait to see what! And who is the mysterious "Sir Norris"? Since the cat's name is Mrs. Norris, I would presume he's rather important. I do wish she'd stayed to hear the rest of the conversation!

And I know I keep harping on this, but Isabelle really is the best. That little line about worrying over Filch making the sofa filthy when he was unconscious was just perfect. And the last line sounds just like a spoiled little girl who thinks she's so right all the time. I just adore it.

The only note I have is that Isabelle seemed rather hasty in feeling guilty about how she'd treated him. Maybe she acted like he was a bit of a dunce, but everything she said aloud to him was perfectly polite- all of the insults were in her head. But that's just a nitpicky thing and I'm not sure if it's even right.

Another great chapters! I love the descriptions in between the dialogue, you always have great prose and comment on the smallest details that add so much to the story- like Filch's snoring or Isabelle's white hands.

Author's Response: No, you're right. I did kind of rush into that a bit. I'll maybe have to stretch it out a bit more. Thanks for the suggestion!
-TheRandomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #14, by luvinpadfoot Never Loved

20th July 2013:
Poor Filch! It's awful that people are so mean to him for being a squib, I'm glad he's found the Wrights. I'd like to think that this story has a happy ending with him living as a muggle, but I find that one hard to believe. I am very interested to see how you get him from this to the man he is during Harry's years at Hogwarts.

The characterization continues to be brilliant! Isabelle especially is my favorite, both positive and negative aspects. It's funny how she thinks Filch is a simpleton who doesn't even remember his own name. I can't wait to see how that's going to develop, if she'll realize that he may be strange but not necessarily that uh troubled.

I can't believe Filch's mother just threw him out for getting a job! I thought she'd like something like that, that she'd think he was being less of a burden for her to feed and clothe. Not that I'm sorry he got out, maybe it'll be healthier for him to live somewhere else, such as with the Wrights.

Another great chapter, I'm really loving this story and so glad I found it!

Author's Response: Hello again, luvinpadfoot! I like how you're thinking through the chapters instead of just clicking the next button. Hopefully some of your questions will be explained in following chapters! Aw, I feel really bad for Argus, but I guess that's kind of my own fault, huh? :) Okay, It's getting late here and I'm starting to get tired. I'll check back in tomorrow if you've written further reviews. Thank you for being the awesome person you are and for reading my story!! Goodnight and happy reading!
-TheRandomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #15, by marauderfan The Anguish of a Thousand Hearts

20th July 2013:
Aw! With each passing chapter I feel even worse for Isabelle! And knowing that she'll never turn back to a human. I wonder if that will change Argus's feelings at all as to whether she deserved it. I still can't imagine how Mrs Norris is ever going to trust Argus again after all that!

Whew! And that's 22 reviews :P Thanks for this story, I have really enjoyed it so far!

Author's Response: AMAZING! Give yourself a round of applause, you deserve it. I've found your reviews to be very helpful, and I will try to upload another chapter soon. Thank you for each and every one of your reviews!!!
-TheRandomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #16, by marauderfan Mrs. Norris

20th July 2013:
wow, this was a crazy chapter! I feel so terribly for Isabelle, if it were me I would have clawed Filch's eyes out. It was sad when he realised what he'd done and that the potion was hurting her but it was far too late to change it. He's got himself into quite a mess there, but still doesn't blame himself, apparently.

Author's Response: Argus is starting to become too damaged by his past that he's hurting those around him. It's quite a tragedy, isn't it?
-TheRandomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #17, by marauderfan The Big Day

20th July 2013:
Haha, Argus's little song that he sang to himself as he ran down the passage reminded me of Dory's "keep swimming" song in Finding Nemo.

I can't believe his mother actually tried to Avada Kedavra him!!! :O

But I think Argus is perfect in this - so vindictive, so angry that he doesn't see anyone else's perspective. It's not love anymore but obsession, and I'm starting to see the characteristics of the adult Filch already.

Author's Response: YAY! I was hoping someone would pick up on that!! I love Dory :) I'm glad he's starting to seem more like the book character as you read on. I was trying to get in some kind of transition and I'm glad it's there.
-TheRandomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #18, by marauderfan Great Garden Gnomes!

20th July 2013:
. . . . . . Worst idea ever. Most cats may love him but that one is going to hate him! Especially when it's PERMANENT instead of temporary like Argus thinks! (And even if it were temporary, I can't imagine that Isabelle would be ok with being transformed into a cat, taken away from her fiance, and dragged along with Argus to who knows where. Argus is so deluded :P ) I wonder how he's ever going to get the angry Isabelle to become Mrs Norris the cat who is so fond of Filch. Oh this is hilarious.

Author's Response: I know! Oh, Argus. Maybe he'll work something out... ;)
-TheRandomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #19, by marauderfan Memories

20th July 2013:
I can't believe he snuck into her house, I was expecting him to call from the ground at her window or something! And I can't blame Isabelle for acting as she did- Argus was being quite unreasonable as it'd been many years since they'd even thought about each other. Oh and now I'm getting another idea. Argus is clearly off his rocker with bitterness at the end there, and given that the McQuillens run a black market business I have a feeling that he'll have Mrs McQuillen (or a "work" colleague of hers) turn Isabelle into a cat, because she's about to become Mrs Norris as it is. Ahhh!

Author's Response: You think ahead too much! :) I guess the plot is starting to get a little more predictable, huh? Thanks for your reviews!
-TheRanomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #20, by marauderfan Wedding Plans

20th July 2013:
Isabelle's mum was funny in this, how she's the overreacting bride's-mum-zilla and Isabelle is so calm and collected! I can't believe they're getting married after knowing each other for only a few months, and Isabelle is only 17 still - she hasn't even had time to get out of the "honeymoon phase". Something tells me that all this happiness is short lived :/ (Or maybe I'm just too much of a cynic about weddings! But I digress.) Great chapter, I can tell we're leading up into a tense moment when Argus and Isabelle meet again...

Author's Response: Yes, I always had considered betrothals to be all about the 'after' and not much about the 'before.' And yes, the tension is building...
-TheRandomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #21, by marauderfan A Furtive Meeting

20th July 2013:
OMG! Did not see that coming, so great job with the plot twist. I'm guessing the MacQuillens aren't even Filch's relatives at all, merely his mother's potion making accomplices. Filch isn't particularly bright so I'm not surprised he never picked up on it. I'm really curious as to how Archibald got out of Azkaban, was he released? Because the way he's talking it sounds like he escaped, and I thought Sirius was the first person to have ever escaped from Azkaban. Anyway, great job on this chapter!!

Author's Response: Oh, was he??? Hm, I don't remember this chapter very well. Did I say he escaped from Azkaban or was let out? I'll have to look into that. Thanks!
-TheRandomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #22, by marauderfan Argus' Great Escape

20th July 2013:
I can't believe Garr has an OWL SKELETON in his room! Ok, well now the actual story. Filch's escape was funny, although unnecessary - it's not like he was being held there against his will, and I'm sure if he told his aunt he wanted to visit an old friend they'd have had no problem! But I guess he's not really thinking clearly at that point!

Author's Response: Nah, he was kind of having an emotional meltdown. I would probably do something stupid like that too :)
-TheRandomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #23, by marauderfan Sir Fredrick Norris III

20th July 2013:
Sorry my last review was short and useless! So I'll try to do better this time. I thought this was a really funny chapter, how Isabelle was so staunchly against a betrothal, purposely messing up her hair and trying to make life difficult for her mother, but then she found out Sir Frederick was cute and didn't mind anymore! Ah well, she's 17 ;)

Oh and her parents were too funny, spying in the coat closet!

And now that she's found someone she likes, she'll probably meet Filch again and he'll be bitter because he's spent the last few years doing nothing but attempting to avoid getting boil curses from his cousin. Such is life.

Author's Response: I like how you're so insightful. Glad you liked the chapter, I had a lot of fun writing it! Thanks for your awesome reviews!
-TheRandomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #24, by marauderfan Betrothal

20th July 2013:
AHH I CALLED IT

I really wonder what he's like! I can't decide whether he'll be totally awful, or just a normal guy. On to read the next chapter and find out :)

Author's Response: Hm, I didn't really go into that much detail on Sir Norris...maybe that would be a good idea. I see a prequel in the future! Maybe, I don't know :)
-TheRandomGurlz


 Report Review

Review #25, by marauderfan The Wonders of Magic

20th July 2013:
I was hoping Argus wouldn't rat out the brother, since he's a guest at their house, but it was very in character for him to do so. Adult Filch was always very much about punishing who he saw as guilty, so it made sense for his character that he said what he did here! This was a pretty amusing chapter and I enjoyed getting to know the McQuillens more.

Author's Response: Yes, they're quite an...interesting bunch. Thanks for reviewing!
-TheRandomGurlz


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>