Reading Reviews for If Only They Knew
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BellaLestrange87 If Only They Knew

23rd July 2014:
I loved this! You captured Draco really well, with his feelings about cheating on Astoria with Hermione. It's a nice way for a Dramione shipper like me to have their moment and still be in canon :)

That plot twist at the end was amazing. I've never read a Ron/Astoria story before, and even though they aren't the focus of this story, it still opens up a lot of thoughts about plot bunnies...

Good job!

 Report Review

Review #2, by alicia and anne If Only They Knew

18th April 2014:
I must say that I really wasn't expecting that ending. I honestly honestly thought that it was a Dramione.
You wrote that so well, you certainly had me fooled, I absolutely loved how you wrote it in a way that it seemed like Dramione.

This was absolutely wonderful Isobel! I loved it so much :D

Author's Response: Hehehehehe thank you Tammi! ♥ I'm really pleased that I managed to trick you, since that was the point of the one-shot ;)

Thank you so much for reviewing, I honestly wasn't expecting it! *hugs* ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by prometheus If Only They Knew

6th October 2013:
Whoa, I so did not see that coming O.O but I guess that was the point. Hah... the banner was a little deceiving though. Anyways, that was really good! :)

Author's Response: MUHAHAHAHAHA that was indeed the point :D And yes, the banner /was/ a little deceptive, but hey, I didn't want to give away the ending before the story had even started ;)

I'm glad you liked it, and thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by EnigmaticEyes16 If Only They Knew

18th August 2013:
Haha, oh my god. This was priceless. I loved the ending and how while Draco and Hermione have been seeing each other, so have Astoria and Ron. So weird. But kinda funny. Anyway, this was a really wonderful one-shot. Good job!

xxEnigmaticEyes16

Author's Response: Haha, thank you so much for this review! Actually, it was /just/ Astoria and Ron all the way through - there was no Dramione ;) I'm glad you liked it though!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Miranda If Only They Knew

24th June 2013:
Great story, truly. Not at all what you expect going in.

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it! Thank you for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Bobby Dazzler If Only They Knew

9th May 2013:
Hi, how're you going? :) I'm here with your very overdue review request - sorry, I've had a long string of computer troubles, hopefully fixed now! Onwards! :)

So, first up - loved the twist! Wasn't expecting that at all!!! I was really anticipating a Dramione, not what we got, well done! Honestly wasn't expecting that ending, was really taken back by it, but I loved it because it was unexpected and also original pairing!!! Loved it! :)

You said in your request that you wrote it in one sitting and were worried about posting it - you shouldn't be worried about posting your work, you've got a lot of talent and it was beautifully written. It was creative, had an original pairing and a unique twist. Having read it originally, as I'm sure many people did, through Draco's eyes and then having it thrown at you that it's actually through Ron's eyes and then rethinking everything we've just read and our expectations etc, it makes it very fresh and really clever. You're a very talented writer :)

I thought the flow was fine, honestly I was a little distracted by my daughter at the time so I couldn't really focus on the spelling/grammar as in depth as I normally do, but if nothing jumped out at me immediately to outdo a hungry toddler throwing a tantrum (I only had like... 3 paragraphs to go when she started, I just had to finish haha!), then I'm sure it's all good :)

Really enjoyed it, very creative, please feel free to request any more reviews from me anytime; really enjoyed your style of writing. Take care, Bobby xx

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for dropping by! It's not a problem at all for the delay - I've had some laptop trouble too, and combined with hectic real life it's contributed towards the lateness of this response - I'm terribly sorry!

I'm really glad that you loved this one-shot, as I honestly thought people would dislike it. It's fantastic to hear your comments and please don't worry that you weren't able to focus on spelling/grammar as much - your daughter obviously comes first :)

Thank you very much, and I'll definitely re-request soon!

-Katie :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by patronus_charm If Only They Knew

15th April 2013:
Ok I will attempt to give a sort of normal review now!

You lead us along perfectly, with the whole Gryffindor vs. Slytherin theme. Then the forbidden love, and the feeling that this was all wrong was perfect, as you never would have guessed, and the fact I saw you tweeting asking for banner advice, and I saw your Dramione banner too. Ok this is clearly not going to be a coherent review, and just my confused thoughts you’ll have to deal with.

This line makes so much sense to me now! ‘Because Hermione was his drug, and he was addicted, and he knew that he could never let her go.’ It was really great as you could apply it to both Ron and Draco, and it made it an even more convincing Dramione story! The trickery, wub it was perfect.

Re-reading this I realised you never mentioned the man’s hair colour! That’s how you got away with it! As Astoria and Hermione have the same colour/curliness, so that wasn’t conspicuous, but if you mentioned the gingerness it would have been obvious. Wah! You’re so clever Katie!

I seriously do hope that if Rose and Scorpius got it together they broke their thing off, as otherwise it would have been cree-py! Yeah I felt the need to break it up into its syllables. Imagine the whole meet the parent situation, it would be so weird, and if the parents got married, they would be step-siblings and a couple!

Then the way the press dubbed them Dramione too, was perfect, and it relates to the craze those two make!

Enough of this rambling, as I have to go to bed! It was awesomely confusing but I really enjoyed!

-Kiana :D

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! And I'm so sorry for the delayed response, please forgive me ♥

Haha, I don't mind your confused thoughts at all. Their house colours were a fabulous tool to use to describe their relationship without giving away the pairing, especially as they inspired the interpretation that they were silver to each other and their spouses were gold. And yeah, I was worried I'd receive a bunch of angry reviews from readers expecting to get a Dramione, but no-one's said anything except to comment on how the banner misled them :P

Yup! Hermione is indeed Ron's drug, and that's why he'd never leave her for Astoria. That line is great though, as it could also describe why Draco's having an affair in the first place (although he isn't).

Haha, thank you so much! ♥ I've always had it in my head that they did break up when Scorpius and Rose got together, but that it wasn't easy for them. You'll see a little Rostoria in The Best Of Friends when it's posted! XD

It just seemed like something Rita Skeeter would do - find the ship that generates most gossip and then give it a name! :P

Thank you for reviewing, Kiana ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by adluvshp If Only They Knew

15th April 2013:
Hey! Here for your requested review from the forums (finally). I apologise for the extreme delay. Real Life has kept me very busy.

Wow. This story totally drew my mind. At first, I thought it's Hermione and Draco, and then the end just totally shocked me and I was like WHAT!

This was certainly a very well-written piece. I loved your descriptions, they were so beautiful, just captivating me into the story. The entire thing flowed very well as well - be it individual scenes, the transitions, or the over all descriptions.

I loved the air of mystery surrounding this throughout, the way you didn't say a name but kept saying "his wife", and then the ending twist of course. I enjoyed the part about Rita Skeeter calling them Dramione as well, haha.

There was nothing about this fic that I disliked at all, and I am shocked you even asked me! There is nothing terrible here that needs to be removed, nothing that was weird. It was all just awesome. I loved every word of this story. You really have a way with words!

I enjoyed it immensely, from the concept, to the characterisation, to the flow, to the descriptions. All was done really well. I don't have any CC to give you! It was a pleasure reading this, so thanks for requesting!

10/10

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hi Angie! Nonsense, it's /me/ who should apologize for the delay in responding to this review! I'm terribly sorry and I hope you can forgive me ♥

Haha yes, the Dramione and Rostoria pairings have quite a lot in common! I'm really glad to hear that you liked my descriptions and they pulled you into the story! ♥

I had to say "his wife" or it would've been obvious early on who was having an affair with whom, and it's great you liked the mystery of it all! And yes, Rita calling them Dramione sounded just like something that she'd do :P

I'm honoured that you disliked nothing at all and loved every word! It's so super to hear things like that, and I'm glad that you enjoyed reading this one-shot! ♥

-Katie


 Report Review

Review #9, by Val (who has had another illumination except this time I was If Only They Knew

13th April 2013:
I have had another epiphany which I felt complied to tell you about because I feel really, really unbelievably stupid right now.

My previous review is completely off-track. I was so absolutely persuaded this was what it isn't, but your chosen pairing made me suspicious and I reread and now here I am, tugging at my hair in desperation.

YOU ARE EVEN EVILLER THAN I THOUGHT.

So, the brunette curls got me thinking wrongly, and I thought you were drawing a parallel between both couples by writing the end similarly to the beginning, when actually it was the same right since the beginning!

This is what happens when I review stories at two in the morning, you see.

My admiration for you has just gone up another notch because it took me ages to realise exactly what you'd done, you sly author you. How are you a Hufflepuff again?

This review probably doesn't make any sense because I don't want to spill if ever someone reads this, so now I will go and send you another PM fr me to rant properly.

I THINK MY BRAIN JUST FRIED.

&hearts

Author's Response: *cackles even louder at own evilness*

Yup, the brunette curls describe both Hermione and Astoria, although in this case it's the latter. As you can tell from the DA banner, my Astoria is brunette. I love this mistaken identity! XD

And I'm so honoured. Thank you so much ♥

I'm a Hufflepuff because 'Puffs are fabulous ;) Seriously, we're loyal, work hard, have a sense of fair play and don't betray our friends *cough* Marietta Edgecombe was a 'Claw *cough* and also, I'm not studious enough to be in Ravenclaw and judging from my fear of the dark, eyes and unsecured heights, I'm no candidate for a Gryffindor. Slytherin might be good, but my cats kill snakes and eat them or bring to our feet as offerings, so I'm avoiding being a snake :P

And here's a hug to apologize for frying your brain: *glomp*



 Report Review

Review #10, by TheHistoryGirl If Only They Knew

11th April 2013:
Hey! It's THG from the forums here with your promised review.
Ok so despite the existing general view people tend to have of the Draco/Hermione ship being too unrealistic I have to admit that I have a soft spot for them on the rare occasion that they are made to look credible and interesting (because really isn't that what fan fiction is all about)?
I have to admit that the chances of somebody managing to achieve this in a one thousand word story aren't huge but somehow you manage to make it work! I have to applaud you for that I really do.
I think the main way that you managed to achieve this was by making them silver to each other as you so creatively put it instead of gold. Abandoning the extremes and avoiding the explanations almost altogether stops the story from becoming tangled in cliches so good choice!
And I also can't leave without praising you on that amazingly jaw-dropping twist at the end, because that was absolute genius and only served to make the Dramione shipping more realistic through its achievement of taking some of the focus from them. It also made me feel less guilty about liking the Draco/Hermione pairing because I realised that Ron and Astoria were in the exact same situation.
A truly enjoyable and creative piece!
THG

Author's Response: Hi THG! So sorry for the late response to this review, laptop issues have been a nightmare for me! I hope you can forgive me!

I think most pairings can be credible if they are written well, and I'm glad that you felt that I achieved that in this one-shot.

Thank you very much! I actually drew inspiration from their house colours, having Gryffindor gold and Slytherin silver in mind. And my aim was to avoid the clichés, so I'm glad that you felt this to be successful! :)

And thank you! It's super to hear that you love the twist - I quite like surprising people with unexpected twists in my one-shots! :')

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by ValWitch21 If Only They Knew

10th April 2013:
Okay, so I knew who this was about because I saw your banner, but had I not, I would have wondered who you were talking about, and even with this knowledge, this is still a gripping beginning.

I loved the way Draco was comparing Hermione and Astoria. It makes him wonderfully realistic, and much more human than the usual smarmy Draco, uncaring and cold. I like your Draco because he makes sense.

Talking of their dreams, past and present - of what ifs and could have beens and maybes.

I love this quote so much! It's such a beautiful way to describe a pairing that generally goes through monstrous ups and downs, and you just make them so normal and adorable... I'm actually rooting for Draco/Hermione right now (congratulate yourself, it rarely happens).

The explanation you gave their 'sordid affair' -- it's a nice change to see Draco aware that what he's doing isn't appropriate, by the way --, again, was something that made sense, and to top it all off you steered clear from the abusive!Ron stereotype that I absolutely detest, so kudos for that!

THANK YOU. I was thinking exactly along the same lines as Draco for that section about their children -- there's a first time for everything, apparently! Draco's love for Hermione is amazingly well written: it's simple, but at the same time you understand exactly how complex the entire thing is, without you making them irritatingly soppy and whiney.

Oh my goodness. You evil author you! I should get used to your unexpected plot twists at the end of one-shots, but this is just pure genius (albeit a little disturbing). At first, I thought you were still talking about Draco, which I suppose was entirely intentional, but then when I realised it was Ron...

WHAT AN EVIL ENDING, HEEHEE. I know why I love your one-shots so much! Thank you for giving me a chance to read this Katie, especially because it's not exactly my cup of tea &hearts

Author's Response: Okay, so I know you asked me to disregard this particular review because of your sleepiness, but I'm just so intrigued at how you fell for the Dramione pairing!

Comparing Hermione and Astoria was a necessary evil, and I was actually surprised how similar they are in looks considering how vastly different the actresses who portray them look. Ron is definitely very human, even while committing adultery and that's why I love him as a character.

I just... reviewers keep quoting lines from this one-shot and I keep going "how did I think of /that/?" AND I'M SO GLAD I MADE YOU SHIP A PAIRING I WASN'T EVEN WRITING ABOUT :P

Bahahaha does Astoria have competition? Are you going to become Mrs Val Malfoy? ;) And I'm so glad that you love the way I described Ron and Astoria's love!

*cackles at own evilness* I LOVE PLOT TWITS. And thank you for calling me a pure genius! *blushes*

And no problem! I'm glad you liked this one-shot! Also, apologies for the delay in responding to this ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by Debra20 If Only They Knew

10th April 2013:
KATIE! You little mischief-maker!! I still can't stop laughing from the shock I had when I read the ending. I finally understand all those tweets you kept having with Ral about using a banner with Draco and Hermione. You should definitely advertise this story more. It's brilliant in its twist. Boy, that was a real shocker...

Dramione is really not my cup of wine, but Ral kept going "read it, it's so good!" and then I said, why not? I really commend you on your style and your usage of visual description. I say this in every review I have for stories with a similar style: I LOVE adverbs. I love stories that entice readers with sensory descriptions. I think they're amazing and grab a reader like no other type can. So congrats on that aspect :D

And the twist. Seriously, THE TWIST! I'm VERY sceptical (to say the least) about Dramiones and not a particular fan of stories that have Ron as a cheater or an abusive spouse, just so that it can give an explanation on why Hermione hooks with Draco. For more than half of this story I thought you were talking about Draco and Hermione and she had dyed her hair. I was SO not expecting that at the end. Brilliant!!!

Author's Response: HAHAHAHAHA!! Indeed I am a mischief-maker! Call me Minnie the Minx! (Do they have the Beano in Romania?) And thank you so much for taking a chance on this one-shot!

I agree with you - although in the UK we say my cup of tea - that's why I was motivated to write this in the first place. *hugs Ral* I'm really glad that you liked my sensory descriptions - I was flailing around trying not to repeat myself or say "his ginger hair" by accident :')

YES THE TWIST ♥ Having written Ron as a cheater, I think it can actually be done in a story - although I agree with you, it sucks when he cheats with some random girl just so Hermione and Draco can get together. I could write an essay on the reasons Ron cheated with Astoria, but I won't here - if you want to know more about the reasons behind his actions, just PM or tweet me ♥

Once again, thank you so much for reviewing, Roxana! And I apologize for the delay in responding to this!


 Report Review

Review #13, by DarknessIsMyOnlyFriend If Only They Knew

9th April 2013:
I'm always extremely curious when a story is written in one go. Sometimes those make the best stories. Simply because we don't over-think it.

Portraying adultery realistically is a difficult task, but I think you made it very believable. You made it clear that it was more complicated than simply not loving his wife any more. Life is never black and white and you showed that in this piece.
I think it's heartbreaking to read how he feels about her in comparison to his wife. And I could easily see this happen in real life to someone.

There are plenty of stories involving Dramione, but often they are quite unrealistic. You gave little back story, but the bit you did give showed how this was all started by a fight and a meeting afterwards to wrong rights. Perhaps you could say a little more about it, because it sounds like a good back story.

And the ending; I loved the twist! It was good. Ironic. Very original!

I really like the flow of this story. And certain sentences really stood out in a good way : "Losing silver wasn't any less worse than losing silver". For some reason I really like the message of that line.

One little thing, where he thinks what his wife would do if she knew : he hoped none of them would ever happen. I would change them for that.

Author's Response: Hi Darkness!

First of all, apologies for the delay in responding to this review! I'm sorry and I hope you can forgive me - laptop issues are evil!

I completely agree with you. Sometimes I can write on the spur of the moment - and it's either fantastic or disastrous. I'm glad that you consider it to be the former! :D

Oooh, that's brilliant to hear! Thank you very much for the compliment! ♥ I know; at first I didn't have very much sympathy for Ron, but as the story progressed I felt bad about the situation he had landed himself in.

Personally - and this is just my opinion - I'm not a fan of Dramione, so I decided to challenge myself by writing one - then after a few paragraphs I decided it would be more fun to make it a Rostoria, since that isn't a ship we see very often in HPFF, and my Astoria isn't as prejudiced as the Slytherins that Harry met in the books.

Thank you! I was worried about the flow at first, I admit! And as for your correction - thanks for spotting that! I don't really want to put this one-shot into the queue just to fix one word, but I've edited my document so that if/when I make other corrections in the future, I'll also edit out that mistake.

Thanks so much for this review, I really appreciate it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by Splendiferously_Awesome If Only They Knew

3rd April 2013:
This is a fantastic fic! Your writing has a beautifully nostalgic, melancholy tone and absolutely loved the plot twist at the end...even though I'd anticipated it from the start :P 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much for those lovely compliments! And I'm glad to see that you loved my plot twist! (...even though you're evidently a proficient Legilimens! ;))

Thanks for stopping by! :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by ohmymerlin If Only They Knew

27th March 2013:
Hey, Katie! :D

So at first I thought, "EW DRAMIONE I'M GOING TO EXIT!"

But then I was like, "No, I promised I'd read and review it."

So I sat back down (metaphorically because I was already sitting) and continued to read with an expression similar to Rose's mother's face when she meets Jack in the Titanic. You know that snobby-I'm-better-than-you look? :p Not saying I'm better than you - that's just the expression. :p

Anywho, I kept thinking, "Ew" and then the end came and I was so shocked! I've never seen this pairing done before! It's really original!

(And you're welcome for the idea. ;))

So yeah, I really liked this one-shot! You did a really good job! :D

- Kayla. :)

Author's Response: Hey, Kayla! :D

BAHAHAHA!! :') I'm glad to hear that my story succeeds in it's masquerade of a Dramione!

I definitely know that look! I would've thought that you'd have somewhat of a clue though, since you wrote a one-shot stylistically similar! :P

I'd never seen it done before, but I read DLS and got thinking about how misconceptions can fool us so easily... and bam. This new ship! XD

Thank you so much, Kayla! And thanks for finishing it, even when you didn't want to (at first)! ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by MissMdsty If Only They Knew

26th March 2013:
Okay, half way through this I was mentally writing a PM about how I hate Dramione and you're lucky I love you and I won't hold this story against you!

The descriptions were brilliant. I was sucked into their affair immediately and my heart ached both for the spouses that were being cheated on and for the two lovers, who I thought were Hermione and Draco. Then they brought up the subject of Rose and Scorpius, whom I love (I like to think of them as the skeptic's Dramione) and I thought, how can we have a world where those two can't get together? Then of course the parents would do what I think every parent should do, which is step aside and leave the child to live their life.

Then the ending came and my jaw dropped! Literally! Whatever I was expecting, this was not it! I've never read anything like it and I compliment you on the originality! I loved the style of this story, the flow of it all and of course, the way in which the romance was described!

Good job honey! :) Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: BAHAHAHA THAT IS EXCELLENT. No, seriously. I actually -wanted- you to think that they were Dramione - even though the pairing is set to Other Pairing for my safety. ;)

Oooh, thank you! :D Ah, Rose and Scorpius! I have a wonderful plunny for how they got together - but that's for another story. :P (And some people actually like -both- Dramione and ScoRose! *.*) I actually didn't want Ron and Hermione to break up, or for Draco and Astoria to do so, (especially the latter, because I love my Astoria) so I thought that they needed an incentive not just to split, but to stay away from each other - a -reason-, and that came in the form of their children.

WOOT WOOT. :D What -were- you expecting?! I really want to know - do tweet/PM me the answer!

Thank you so much for reviewing this, and for your lovely compliments! ♥


 Report Review

Review #17, by Lisa If Only They Knew

25th March 2013:
Whoa that was really good.I loved the end!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad that you loved it! :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login