Reading Reviews for A Series of Unfortunate Pranks
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by RavenclawGirl11 April Fools

6th August 2013:
This made me laugh so much! It was interesting to see the King of Pranks owned by a goody-two-shoes! I think you did third person really well, and I think this was really well structed.

My favourite line is,"To be fair, Lily did warn him." Which I think is a really well done ending. You can do no wrong, I'm jealous!

~ Macy ;P

Author's Response: I'm glad to hear that it made you laugh! It was supposed to! I've always had a theory that a goody-two-shoes isn't as much of a goody-goody as everyone thinks, they're just smart enough to get caught. Plus, Lily Evans was one of the smartest witches in her year.

Heh heh, oh stop, you're flattering me! Now I can't stop smiling, thank yous so much!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderfan April Fools

3rd August 2013:
Tag!

This was an amusing one-shot. I really enjoyed the fact that despite James' crush on Lily, he is not above playing pranks on her. Actually, it sort of reminded me of Gilbert from "Anne of Green Gables", picking on her because he liked her ;) Although James took it to an extreme here!

I can't imagine how furious Lily must have been, but she held it together much better than I would have. She got James back pretty well, although I'd have loved to see some of the other pranks she did to him. I also like how you incorporated Lily's friendship with Snape, since they were still friends at that time.

Well done on this! :)

Author's Response: Hey!

I'm glad that it amused you. I start flapping my arms when you mentioned Gilbert from Anne of Green Gables since I love him. Sorry, I just couldn't help myself. James Potter is nothing if he doesn't go to an extreme.

I thought about what I would do if I was in Lily's situation and I made her do the exact opposite.

I was reading through this and the friendship with Snape occurred to me and I was asking myself why I hadn't included it so I went back and I did!

Thanks for reviewing and I'm glad that you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #3, by blackballet April Fools

2nd August 2013:
This was absolutely hilarious! I really found Lily interesting, and she got him good in the end. I think the broomstick one hurt especially. Very well done, as always. Also, your title is so clever. I love A Series of Unfortunate Events, so there you og. Loved it!

Author's Response: I'm glad that you found it hilarious, it was what I was aiming for. If there's one thing that I know about the Potter boys is that you don't mess with their Quidditch or anything related to them.

I'M SO HAPPY THAT SOMEONE CAUGHT ON TO THE THAT! I was hoping that someone would notice and you have no idea how incredibly excited I got when I saw that.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Elyse April Fools

29th July 2013:
That was pretty funny! (: I wish I could do that to... well, someone I know. Putting them in the middle of a lake... *smiles in bliss*
Anyway, well written, no grammar or spelling mistakes that I can see, and entertaining. All in all, very very good. (:

Author's Response: I know how you feel, I would enjoy doing these things to the people that I disliked. It's horrible of me to say but it's the truth. I'm glad that you didn't spot any mistakes, I went back and edited this twice because I realized I'd made more mistakes when I edited this the first time.

I'm glad that you enjoyed it and thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by ginnys twin April Fools

20th April 2013:
Oh wow, just when I thought you couldn't impress me more I read this. Perfectly in character, especially the last prank James played on Lily. I'm finding it hard to offer CC because I wouldn't change much on this fic. The one thing I think was missing was Potter being in his underpants when he was floating on the lake. I don't know if you and others automatically imagine him in his underpants for that scene (eww that sounded wrong), but I think you should make a point of it. Well, overall, it was great and super funny!

-katty01/ginnys twin

Author's Response: Oh my good golly gosh, thank you so much. I can't believe I've actually impressed you (the thought of impressing someone with my writing has always seemed like a foreign concept to me).

I'm quite find of the last prank, I shall be forever proud of that prank!

I just assumed that James would be wearing pajama bottoms, I never actually though about him just being in boxers. I can see it though, wearing pants to bed is definitely annoying and something I hate doing (unfortunately my house gets freezing so I have no choice).

Thanks for reviewing and I'm glad that it was super funny!


 Report Review

Review #6, by nott theodore April Fools

14th April 2013:
Tag!

Oh dear. James clearly hasn't worked out that Lily isn't a person to anger, has he? He also doesn't seem to have realised that pranking a girl to distraction is not the best way to get her to like him.

I had so much fun reading this story! I was laughing all the way through and some of the ideas for pranks were ridiculous (in the best possible way!) and the way it carried on getting worse and worse was just really funny.

I think this was my favourite line: "Now she was a colourful chicken." It's brilliant!

I love all the different characters in this story and the idea that the Marauders (except for James, of course) don't prank on April Fools' is unique and I've never seen it done before. The character I love most is Lily, though. She promised James she would get her own back, and she was true to her word in the best way possible. I'd love to know how she got him into the Black Lake!

Also, I'm pretty jealous of the pink hair prank. That is definitely something I would do if I could do magic!

Great story!

nott theodore :)

Author's Response: James is a teenage boy and I've found that teenage boys have a tendency to be clueless about some things.

I'm glad that you had fun reading it and that you were laughing. I was hoping to make people laughing. I thought the hair changing prank was slightly tame compared to the other ones.

You know how everyone has Christmas and such as their days off, well, for the Marauders it's kind of like their own sacred holiday (except for James of course).

I'd pull all of those pranks if I could do magic (and I wouldn't feel sorry for any of it at all).

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by teh tarik April Fools

7th April 2013:
Hello there :) Review tag.

Soo a lovely fluffy Lily/James :) This was a really fun and light-hearted read and I enjoyed it quite a bit, though I did feel really bad for Lily. You know, there are plenty of Marauders' stories out there, but I haven't actually come across one that really details their pranking behaviour, and much less, the individual pranks they carried out. So this was certainly an interesting and very fun insight to the things they did!

Gah, Lily is one patient girl. Honestly, I'm so surprised she didn't scream and explode by the second prank and hex James to infinity and beyond. And James. Goodness. I can't imagine that Lily will ever want to marry him :P He's almost a bit of a bully :P Him and his mates against Lily on her own. I think the raincloud following her around and raining into her cauldron was the funniest.

And I loved how she got James back in the end. Waking up in the middle of the black lake XD Obviously, Lily's prank is a lot more sophisticated and complex than James' ones! I wish you could have gone into more detail about the other awesomesauce pranks she must have pulled on him. After all, he did give her quite a lot of grief :)

OK, anyway, this is a bit of a rambly review. But this was a funny and very entertaining story! Great work :)

-teh

Author's Response: Well, James technically was a bit of a bully back then so I thought I'd work with that and his pranks.

Well you don't mess with Lily Evans. Your pranks may be funny but hers will really embarrass you. A lot of people want me to go into more detail about it and I'm debating it so I might end up going into more detail.


 Report Review

Review #8, by slytherinchica08 April Fools

4th April 2013:
Aw I thought that this was a fun oneshot to read! I loved seeing a different side to Lily than is normally painted. Usually we only see her as someone who yells at him but wont ever dish out what he gave her so it was really great to see that here! I also thought that the chapter read really well and was a fun read. I think you did a really great job with Lily's personality as well. She was every much her red head yelling self but also her plot to get back at James was great! I very much enjoyed this! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: I'm glad that you enjoyed it and whoever said that Lily couldn't be mischievous and pull pranks as well as James. Lily is prideful, after all, she is in Gryffindor so naturally she wouldn't take what James did to her lying down and just yell at him.

Again, I'm glad that you enjoyed it and thank you so so so so so so so much for reviewing, it was greatly appreciated!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Courtney Dark April Fools

4th April 2013:
Tag!

Oooh, I really liked this story! It's not often that you see a James and Lily story that isn't full of cliche James/Lily-ness, so it was nice to see for a change - and all of the pranks you thought up were awesome! I think my two favourites definitely had to be the honey/chicken feathers/paint one and the bed in the middle of the lake one. Both of those were very well written and completely in character for James and Lily. I like the fact that James' prank while funny, was slightly more childish, whereas Lily's prank was clearly very well thought out and required a certain level of advanced magic. That was very well done!

I actually liked the way you consistently switched between James and Lily. At times the flow got a little wobbly but, for the most part, I think it worked really well and made the story very cool and very different to read.

I also liked your depictions of each of the characters that you wrote about, especially Severus. He seemed very calm and level-headed, which was a nice contrast to Lily and James. It was a strange experience seeing him portrayed that way, but I really liked it!

Overall, I think this was a really nice one shot. Good job!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I'M IT!

Just kidding.

I've been hearing that a lot lately and every time someone tells me that this isn't the usual James/Lily sort of story I'm practically exploding with pride. I'm also very glad that my pranks are coming off so well and that everyone enjoyed them as much as I enjoyed writing them.

I'm going to agree with you, the honey/chicken'paint one was my favourite prank as well (I was snickering like a five-year-old while I wrote that part).

There's never much mentioned about Severus in James/Lily stories except that he was a git who called Lily a mean name so I thought I'd include him for a change and their friendship (because it did exist whether some people like it or not).

Anyway, thank you so, so, so, so, so much for reviewing and for the awesome feedback!


 Report Review

Review #10, by soapman333 April Fools

3rd April 2013:
Holy Huffington (yeah...don't know what that means)

I'm geeking out about this! Mauauder's + pranks = epicness.

Would it be lame to say that I would totally do the undergarment prank? Especially the part where she walks in and it spells out "Morning Evans"? Yes...I know, I'll go into my corner and think about my words.

Apparently, James doesn't know about a woman's wrath yet. Poor kid.

I think my favourite part about this all (besides the very clever pranks) is Severus. I know, crazy right? He's just so cool headed, and he has the widest perspective out of all of these characters.

The ending line is just brilliant and finishes it all off really well: "To be fair, Lily did warn him."

I like this :D thanks for writing it!

Author's Response: I'm so happy to see that everyone is enjoying this version of a Marauder's era story/one-shot. I didn't think that everyone would take to it so well but I was surprised that everyone did.

It would not be lame to say that you would the undergarment prank. Even me --someone who is a girl-- would do the undergarment prank.

Granted, I'd do it someone I hate instead of my best friend but that's a minor detail.

I agree, James clearly has not heard of "Hell have no wrath like a woman scorned."

That is the quote right? I'm not getting it wrong or anything? Oh well, if it's wrong then I apologise.

After everything that Severus did in the Harry Potter books I think it would be pretty expected of him to be cool headed otherwise he would've messed being a double agent real bad.

I'm glad that you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Tonks1247 April Fools

3rd April 2013:
Hello! This is Nymphie Tonks from the BvB review
battle. Just stopping by to leave a quick review to
further procrastinate on other stuff I should be
doing xD

To start with, I’ll warn you, I’m not big into the
Marauder Era. It’s not that I don’t enjoy the
characters in it or anything, but I find it to be quite
clichéd and to not have much of a variance which
makes it a bit boring to read. With that said, I can
say that this story skipped over most of the clichés
and was really different than most of the Marauder
stories I have read.

For a start, I never thought about the Marauders
would be ones to step down and not pull pranks on
April Fool’s day, so I found it very original and
different that you have them, ironically, not cause
any chaos. With the exception of James, of course.
I would never expect anything less of James. But it
really did add a new twist to the Marauders and
their problem causing.

As for the idea of James pranking Lily….well, at first
I thought it was kind of typical but those pranks…oh
my gosh. I was laughing so hard at the idea of Lily’s
clothing being strung all over the great hall.
Especially with the ‘grannie panties’. I just couldn’t
stop laughing at the idea of walking into the Great
Hall and seeing all that…I think I would have died of
laughter seeing that and in Lily’s shoes, died of
embarrassment.

I also adore how you kept building it up as the day
went on, with James pranking her more and more
until she hit her bursting point. Also adore how you
have Lily and Severus as friends. And Severus
having to drag Lily away from beating James with
her Charms book. It was so fitting, in a way, and I
haven’t found many stories that actually take the
time to focus on Severus and Lily’s friendship.

As for the end, I laughed when James ended up in
the middle of the Black Lake. It was just too great.
Along with Lily’s other practical jokes on him, I
found that this story took a bit of a different, and
quite entertaining, turn than I originally thought it
would.

A few things I think could use some improvement
would be the flow when you switch point of views. I
found it perfectly okay that you did-as in it was
easy to follow- but some of the transitions needed
a bit more work to keep the pace of the story
going.

The other thing is that some of the paragraphs
towards the beginning seem to be a bit…
disconcerting. It seems like the tense of the story,
or maybe the narration, is trying to switch up a bit
and it’s rather confusing to read the first time
through. I think it’s mostly within the first 4-5
paragraphs that it was difficult to get into, but after
that, it was fine. It could just be me but maybe
read them over to help with the flow.

The last part I have with this is, I would have
LOVED to see some more of the pranks Lily pulled on
James. I mean, the brief summary was great but it
would have been so great to see a bit more.

Overall, I adored this story! It was quite a fun,
quick read and I’m glad I jumped into the review
battle to get a chance to read it! Great job!

~Grimmerz

Author's Response: Holy smokes, that is one long review. YES!

I was going to make all of the Marauders pull the pranks but I was supposed to focus on just James so I had to change it a bit. After a lot of thinking, I came to the conclusion that it would be really ironic if on the day that you're supposed to cause mischief, the Marauders took a break. It would've been like their own personal holiday from causing mayhem (I can just imagine Sirius going "we'll let the newbies have a try at causing chaos, the masters shall take the day off" and then making a dramatic exit).

I'm glad to see that the pranks weren't what you were expecting, that means I was doing something good!

A lot of stories seem to forget that Severus and Lily were in fact friends and so they would generally have gotten along until the end of fifth year. I had been thinking of using a minor character (like Mary MacDonald) to drag Lily out but then it occurred to me that Lily already had a best friend and that he'd probably be everywhere that she was.

It was fun writing a small part of their friendship even if it wasn't a big part.

I'll make sure to take a look at those first four/five paragraphs and see if I can make it better.

I was supposed to focus on James and I had thought of going into more detail about what Lily did but I felt like it would've focused more on her than on James and I didn't want that to happen so I kind of summarized what had happened instead.

Thanks so much for the review and feedback, it was really appreciated!


 Report Review

Review #12, by AC_rules April Fools

2nd April 2013:
Hi there!

First, I've got to say that one of my favourite quotes from this was she was soaking wet and trying to kill James with her mind which really made my life. We've all been there. I also really liked that you had Lily pre-warn James with exactly what she was planning on doing and that he was just his usual arrogant self and didn't listen to her. I think that definitely added a touch of excellence to her comeback (because you can imagine him, at the end of it, just thinking WHY did I not listen to her!?!?). Your pranks were creative and amusing, too, so they were really fun to read about.

I also liked the tone of this. It was quite unusual way of narrating the story, in that you had those little bits like 'things for Lily were about to get much worse.' I'd have liked for you to have this almost narrator figure to make a few more of the almost sarcastic comments about things. but I think the way you narrated things really fit with the story.

Generally, I really nice little story.

:)

AC

Author's Response: Kind of freaking out that you're reviewing my one-shot because you're amazing and famous and all that jazz. Anyllamas.

I had debated on whether I should've made James listen to Lily and stop the pranks or at least tone them down but then it occurred to me that that would not be what James Potter would do and let's face it, the one-shot would be going nowhere if I had done that.

I thought I would have to resort to some very cliche pranks because I was worried that I wouldn't be able to think anything up but my brain surprised me with the ideas that it had so yay for that!

Thank you so much for the review and positive feedback!


 Report Review

Review #13, by UnluckyStar57 April Fools

1st April 2013:
Hi! I'm here for the Blue vs. Bronze Review Battle! :)

So, I thought that this story was pretty funny. You've got some really great pranks in there, especially the underwear one! I think you've done a pretty great job with getting the audience's attention when it comes to silly April Fool's pranks!!

However, I wish that I could've seen a few more of the pranks that Lily played on James. He seemed to get the most air time as far as pranks go, and I'm sure that hers were all just as cleverly executed, if not more so, than his were. But that might make your story too long, and you might not want that!

Therefore, I will conclude that your story is awesome, and I love how it isn't at all about a relationboat. Totally awesome. :)

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: I thought I'd have a hard time coming up with pranks but funnily enough they just kind of pored out of me.

I was thinking of going into more detail about the pranks that Lily pulled but the focus of my character for the challenge that this was entered was James so I thought that if I went into too much detail about Lily it would seem like it was about her.

I'm so happy that you enjoyed it and thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Siriusly89 April Fools

28th March 2013:
Hi! Siriusly89 here with review three of your prize!

Oooh! A Marauder one-shot focused on Lily pranking James? I love it already!

Awh! Fourteen year old Lily was James’ target. That can’t be good. And hanging her clothes (granny panties and all) up in the Great Hall was very harsh. I for one cannot wait for James to get a taste of his own medicine!

Turning her hair pink. I don’t blame Lily for beating him round the head with her Charms book. Snape really should have just let her get on with it, it would have been better for everyone in the long run.

Ooooh! James has better watch himself! Lily’s plan to dump him in the middle of the Black Lake is pure genius! I’d love to see her getting him out there, but I’m pretty sure she’ll find a way. If its one thing I’ve learned, never mess with a girl intent of revenge.

I do think that James went a bit overboard though, although that is part of his personality isn’t it. Go big or go home is sort of his motto isn’t it? The honey and feathers was pretty funny though. I would have died a thousand deaths if someone had done that to me. I would have just dissolved into a puddle of embarrassment!

Lily’s idea of a week from hell does sound pretty bad! James deserved it though! That’s what you get for messing with a girl’s hair and turning her into a giant pigeon! Lily’s ‘pranks’ weren’t really pranks though, they had quite a malicious edge to them, and that stays true to the personality ‘my’ Lily has. She is kind and compassionate, but can be evil. . . .evil I tell you!

Another wonderful piece! :)

10/10!

Author's Response: For once I thought I'd write something that wasn't romance and pranks are the next best thing. I thought I'd have trouble coming up with some pranks but they just poured out of my ears. And they were quite mean pranks like you said. I worry about myself sometimes.

I was hoping to make the panty thing as humiliating as possible and judging from what you said and my best friends reaction, it went well.

Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned.

I always thought of James as someone who thought "when you're going to prank someone you might as well do it right or not at all." Maybe that's just me but it always just seemed something that would be part of his personality.

Anyway, I'm glad that you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #15, by aquabluez17 April Fools

26th March 2013:
Aww! This is so unique! Bahah poor Jamesie :P

I wonder how she got his cloak lol. James had no clue what hit him hahah!!

Great work!! I really enjoyed reading this. Couldn't see any errors :P

Author's Response: I'll take a wild case and just say that you enjoyed it lol. James faced the consequences of messing with Lily Evans (one does not simply mess with Lily Evans and get away with it).

I'm so happy that you enjoyed it and skglsegslegksg my first piece of writing with no errors in it!


 Report Review

Review #16, by CassiePotter April Fools

19th March 2013:
Hello!I really enjoyed this one-shot! I thought it was really fun and playful, and you did a good job writing the pranks that James pulled and the revenge from Lily! I would hate to be on her bad side! The story flowed really well, and your pacing was great. I also loved how you wrote James, because his character was just so believable for a fourteen year old boy! Haha. But poor Lily! His pranks were pretty harsh! I would hate getting covered in honey, feathers, and paint all at once! This was a really great one-shot! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: I feel bad for responding to this so late and when I say that I feel horrible, I mean that quite literally. I'm kind of sick at the moment.

Anyway, I'm glad that you enjoyed it and I thought I would have trouble coming up with pranks but they just flowed out. I enjoyed putting Lily through that torture.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login