Reading Reviews for All the Pretty Things
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by noname Her Doctor

11th June 2013:
This is, by far, the best DW crossover I've read. It was really well done. I think you really portrayed Eleven well, which is pretty hard to do. Overall, this was brilliant. ^.^

 Report Review

Review #2, by atellam Her Doctor

25th May 2013:
JESS, WHY DID IT TAKE ME SO LONG TO READ THIS? D:

I've had it sitting open in a tab for the longest time, and I finally got around to it, and I'm hitting myself that it took me this long, because this is perfect, and *dies*

I want to write a Doctor Who crossover now (look at you; you're such a trend setter) but it won't be as cool as yours.

BUT AH, POND FEELS.

asdfghjkl;

You're perfect.

 Report Review

Review #3, by heartjily4ever Her Doctor

21st May 2013:
I love this. It's cute, and the perfect crossover. It's the only one I've really liked. It's really well written:D

 Report Review

Review #4, by Remus Her Doctor

17th May 2013:
Hey Perelandra here with your review!

I'm so sorry that I've taken forever (and ever) to come and review this! Life has been crazy lately. New job, long hours...anyway, I'm sure you don't want to hear me complain. You want your review! XD

Just so you know, I'll be reviewing this as I read along. :)

First of all, your summary immediately intrigued me. I love Doctor Who/HP crossovers but to do it with Petunia...brilliant idea!

Man, Mr. and Mrs. Evans are quick to dismiss Petunia's comment. Makes me sad for her, really. She was just making a comment that she saw a police box and they're quick to dismiss her, telling her that it was a 'trick'. I can understand why she's mad. It would've made ME mad too!

before Lily could soar through the air and make flowers bloom in the palm of her hand, before she became a pretty thing herself. --Man, that last bit right there was like a knife to the heart. Without really saying it, you managed to show Petunia's jealousy of Lily's ability to do magic.

Yay! 11 to the rescue!

Oh my gosh! I could flail! Your Doctor sounds just like 11! Kudos to you for that! He's a hard character to pin down I think so I'm happy that you managed to do it.

Wow, thanks to your story I found out that Petunia got married at a very, VERY young age! 18-19.

Wait, what? no! It can't be over! What! You can't end it like this! XD Does the Doctor find her again? This isn't a very nice end for a one-shot! Does he try to look for Petunia, at least to apologize? He could at least go and make sure that she's happy. He doesn't take Lily and James, right? Because that wouldn't be fair to Petunia. He's Petunia's, not Lily's. Hahaha, as you can see, I'm devastated for Petunia's sake. XD I can't believe it but you managed to get me attached to her and worried about her feelings.

Love the Doctor's personality. It's so him.

Hahaha! This was a fantastic one-shot. Not very happy with the end because I want to know more! This was Petunia's story so it made me sad that it ended with Lily. :(

Anyway, I'll stop complaining now. XD

until next time

--Rosie

 Report Review

Review #5, by LILY Her Doctor

16th April 2013:
this is amazing!! I'm really looking forward to it. Please update soon! x

 Report Review

Review #6, by HuffleyPuff Her Doctor

9th April 2013:
So I just so happened to stumble upon this fanfiction of yours and I do have to say that I am very glad that I did in the end. I am a big fan of Doctor Who and you captured him very beautifully. That cheeky, smart man who everyone falls in love with in the end. (Merlin don't you wish about that?) Anyways back to this review of mine. The flow of this, however was a little...off...if that's the right word to use in this situation. I do like how you made time pass by using the little snippets of Petunia's and the Doctor's adventures whilst Lily is away at Hogwarts, but somehow I just don't get a feeling for all the jumps you have. It would be nicer for time to pass just a little slower and I think that this story would be a little better off as a short-story instead and this way you can make the snippets from their adventures into a whole chapter of the story instead of a few words. That would be how I would do things and it may be something you want to think about when taking on something like this again if you ever decide too.

Another thing I am fond about in this story is the characterization. I love that you captured the Doctor's personality through the story and added in the things about Amy, Rory and even that little bit about Rose at the very beginning. I also like how Petunia developed through the story from being the girl who liked all the pretty things to the older Petunia who fell in love with the doctor and waited for him. This is why the end saddened me and I really wasn't expecting that. Two and a half years and passed and the doctor came back only to find that Petunia had gone and married Vernon and now they lived somewhere else. Her secret was gone and the Doctor was no longer her own little secret as Lily and James stumbled across him when he came back looking for Petunia. It brought a little tear to my eye and that's something that doesn't normally happen with me.

The plot was good, the description was better and the characterization and the plot twist and the end was the best bits! Defiantly adding as a favorite and please keep on writing like this!

HuffleyPuff x

 Report Review

Review #7, by marauderfan Her Doctor

7th April 2013:
Just randomly stumbled onto this story and I love it! I love Harry Potter and Doctor Who and I think you did a great job integrating them. You characterised the 11th Doctor perfectly, and captured a lot of the little things - like the Doctor rolling back and forth on his heels, etc., the details are great and make it very easy to visualise.

Also, I liked Petunia in this. You did a great job portraying her as someone the reader can empathise with. I felt kind of bad for her - it must have been so hard for her as the older sister to constantly see herself as in Lily's shadow. And it was obvious she still cared, I liked that you included just how much Petunia talked about Lily.

Anyway, wonderful job on this! 10/10

 Report Review

Review #8, by Robin Her Doctor

31st March 2013:
That was actually really well written. You made Petunia a character I could empathize without making her vomit glitter, also, can I just say, you wrote the 11th Doctor to an absolute T! Really lovely overall! Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #9, by nikitablaise Her Doctor

25th March 2013:
That was fricking AWESOME! Sorry. I just kept adding exclamation points... I liked the ending too. "Doctor? Doctor Who?" *internal fangirling nsflahfsaerkeuroqwh*

 Report Review

Review #10, by Phantom of the Claw Her Doctor

22nd March 2013:
Found this on the Random Story search. I'm a huge Doctor Who fan, and I loved the way you integrated the quotes. I think it's brilliant that he says the same things over and over with different people - 900+ years must take a bit of imagining never to repeat yourself.

It also reminded me of the Christmas Carol special and young Dumbledore, how he travelled with a child.

Also, it was interesting not to find Petunia being rotten. You made a one-dimensional charecter travel though many relative dimensions - or, more specifically, you gave her another side. I only wish there had been a bit more toward the end. Something about why she got married, something about the Doctor whistling, something about Lily...

Yet fantastic, brilliant, cool.

 Report Review

Review #11, by naflower05 Her Doctor

20th March 2013:
I really liked this story! I would love it if you explored more, either into Petunia's interactions with the Doctor, or where it goes with Lily. Great writing! =]

 Report Review

Review #12, by GracelesslyFalling Her Doctor

13th March 2013:
This is so beautiful jess! it really is, and because i love harry potter AND doctor who it just makes this even better!

oh my god, you know when you just read a story that's just so (and forgive me for the irony) pretty? well this story is just it so pretty and sad and heartwarming and ahhh, it just fits in so well with both harry potter and doctor who!

i love love loved it!! amazing job! :)

-izzy xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much Izzy! I really appreciate it and it makes me so happy that you enjoyed the story and thought it was "pretty" :D

~Jess :D


 Report Review

Review #13, by Rachel Her Doctor

12th March 2013:
This was really, really good.
Please continue.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad that you enjoyed it! Unfortunately, where I have ended the story in this oneshot is as far as I'm going to go. I suppose I could continue with James and Lily traveling with the Doctor, but I really wanted to tell Petunia's story here so I'm going to leave it as is. But it makes me so happy to hear that you liked it enough to want more! Thanks!!! :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by sour_grapes_snape Her Doctor

12th March 2013:
Bargh! Jess! I loved it! Loved it, loved it, loved it!

Also, I'm not completely sure if you know this, but this is Laura of teamstarkid7 on tumblr. Hi!

I can't tell you how perfect this was. I could actually hear Matt Smith's voice in my head for all of the Doctor's parts. And all the other references to the show just made me smile like an idiot.

I really like how you portrayed Petunia. You gave her character a lot of depth and some of the emotional conflict in this was just brilliant. It certainly gave an interesting perspective on Lily leaving for Hogwarts.

Part of me almost wants a sequel, or something. Does Petunia ever see the Doctor again? Does Lily have any more communication with him? This was fabulous.

Much much love to you!

-Laura

Author's Response: Hi Laura! And don't silly, I know exactly who you are! :D

Thank you so much for stopping by and reading this; it really means a lot to me! And I'm so glad that you enjoyed it! I was really nervous writing this oneshot because I've never written Doctor Who fanfiction before and while I've seen the entirety of the revival series, I wouldn't say that I'm as familiar with the universe as I am that of Harry Potter. I was also really comfortable and confident in my abilities to write Petunia, James, and Lily, but really nervous and unsure about the Doctor. So your comment about being able to hear Matt Smith's voice in the dialogue makes me so unbelievably happy!!! Thank you so much! I was so worried about that and now I feel so much better!

And I'm glad that you liked my portrayal of Petunia! I think a lot about her as a person and while I don't sympathize with her as an adult, I do feel very sorry for her as a child and teenager. It must have been hard to feel second best and to want to be a part of something so badly and not be able to. When I signed up for the challenge, I was hoping for the quote where the Doctor says that he's never met someone who wasn't important because I felt that really suited her and her situation. But I'm glad that I got the quote I did because I was able to explore a different layer of her and more of her relationship with her sister which I really liked doing.

I'm glad that you want a sequel, haha! Unfortunately there won't be one, but I can tell you that Petunia does not see the Doctor again, but James and Lily travel with him steadily for a while until they return to the real world to help with the war. Which then leads to Harry and then their ultimate deaths and the poor Doctor is heartbroken once more (I feel so mean saying that). I think that before their deaths, Petunia finds out that Lily traveled with the Doctor too and that drives a further wedge between them because even though she had moved on, he was still HER Doctor and Lily was supposed to have her magic and stop "stealing" things from Petunia. So yeah, to say that all of this ends happily would be a lie.

But thank you so very much for reading!! I'm so happy that you enjoyed it and I'm looking forward to reading your DW oneshot when you publish it :D

~Jess :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login