Reading Reviews for Carpe Diem
  
59 Reviews Found

Review #1, by kayleefrank And Watch The Mess

17th August 2014:
Write more please! I can see this is gonna be good!

Author's Response: Thank you. I will really try, but I'm having some trouble with the next chapter. Hopefully it will work out.
Frances x


 Report Review

Review #2, by kayleefrank Let The Boy Bashing Begin

17th August 2014:
K totally loved the insult. Great story so far. Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Thank you. Hopefully I can update soon, if the cogs in my brain will get moving :D
Frances x


 Report Review

Review #3, by Line_v And Watch The Mess

22nd June 2014:
Im very impressed by this story.. most "next-gen" fanfics are so alike, but this one is sooo diferent, and i totally love it.. ;] Im looking forward to many chappies soon.. ;D

Author's Response: Thank you. I did want to try something a bit different but wasn't sure if this was too cliche or not. I'm glad you don't think it is.
Frances x


 Report Review

Review #4, by Josette_Phoenix It's Only A Game Of Truth Or Dare

19th June 2014:
I love the gang! They're all so colourful, I feel like I'm in 10 Things I Hate About You or something! The Truth or Dare was an excellent medium for the reader to get to know all Ridley's mates, great job with that - I can see a little of my high school group in each of them. Logan is hilarious, by the way. I think he'd remind everyone of a few of their own guy friends ;)

I can't wait for the brewing storm, what with Ridley being the rebel and planning to insult the Golden Boy's son! Go Ridley!

Just one thing - just after the beginning, when Zara and Logan are bickering about the messy room, Logan says 'Your disgusting' then Zara says '... and your just so mature.' It should be you're, not your :)

Thanks for the great read!

Cheerio,
Jo

Author's Response: Thanks. I love the gang too to be honest. I wanted them all to be different, have their own special personalities but not be all random and not go together. And I love 10 TIHAY so I very much appreciate that comment.
I wasn't sure at the start how to get the whole thing going, so Truth or Dare was a kind of default move which may have been cliche but I'm glad it worked out well.
Logan is a personal favourite as well - I have big things planned for him.
Thank you for the your/you're tip - I seem to always get that wrong and never learn.
You are very much welcome
Frances x


 Report Review

Review #5, by Josette_Phoenix Hogwarts Is a High School (Duh?)

19th June 2014:
Well here I am with some long-overdue reviews - get used to me, you'll be hearing quite a bit ;)

This is so original - I love it. Instead of the four houses we have the more normal high school cliques, but with the interesting spin that everyone's a witch or wizard. I can't wait to read on to see what you do with this!

Also, I love the idea that you've made the Wotter kids "devil childs in the making". I'm so used to reading stories wherein the Roses and Albuses are good and pure - with their faults, of course, but ultimately with hearts in the right place. Looking forward to seeing how hateful you make them! Also I'm VERY intrigued to see that you seem to be making the Puffs emo-ish children of depravity - something new!!

Just everything about this is unique, I'm gonna stop reviewing now so that I can read the next chapter!!

Cheerio,
Jo

Author's Response: Haha Thank you for reviewing you really made me smile.
I'm glad you like it. I thought it might be a bit cliche what with cliques but that doesn't seem to be the reaction I'm getting which is good.
I didn't want a nice Rose. She doesn't have to be cutesie and clever, like most make her. Just because she's Hermiones daughter doesnt make her like her was my thinking and I'm glad that works out.
Thank you again
Frances


 Report Review

Review #6, by Madi And Watch The Mess

1st June 2014:
Loving the story! Please update soon!! I'm desperate to see how things will play out. Really enjoying this James you have written, keep up the brilliant work!!

Author's Response: Thanks you. I'm sorry I've not really been into writing recently, but hopefully I can get back into it. I really love this story so hopefully it will work out

 Report Review

Review #7, by ihate coming up with usernames Let The Boy Bashing Begin

5th March 2014:
Trust me, Id get this angrey. It's perfect!

Author's Response: Haha thank you. I'm sure many people would really :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by AlexFan And Watch The Mess

24th February 2014:
Woohoo! I'm so excited that you finally got a chance to update! I was expecting something a lot harsher to be going on this chapter because everyone seems so hellbent on being in these cliques of theirs. I assumed that everyone would just jump into outright war. By the looks of it though, Ridley seems to be exactly what Hogwarts needed judging by the fact that Rufus offered to hang out with her and Dom hasn't ripped her to shreds and James actually seems to notice her existence.

Speaking of James, woah! Where did that come from! The very last thing that I expected was for him to actually apologize for his behaviour. It seems that maybe he isn't such a jerk after all. Obviously James doesn't get told off a lot but it's nice of him to take responsibility when he is in the wrong.

The only CC I have was that you used the wrong form of your/you're throughout the chapter but other than that I really enjoyed this and I thought it was great. Good luck with school!

Author's Response: Thank you for the sweet review. Hopefully the reason why there hasn't been outright war will be revealed in the next chapter. But your right, they needed this outburst. I loved writing James. I think after the last chapter everyone assumed he was an utter jerk but I didn't really want him to be quite like that. His parents have obviously raised him with proper manners and morals, and he has just gotten so mixed up in this Hogwarts that he forgets who he is. More on him will be revealed.

Thank you for pointing out the your/you're thing, I will have to check up on that every time I right.
Thank you again for the so sweet review


 Report Review

Review #9, by Raven The Bookworm And Watch The Mess

9th February 2014:
Oh, god. Oh, god. I am laughing so hard right now. James Sirius Sex God Potter. That's a wonderful name you've given him. And if I were Ridley, I'd be wondering if James is bipolar. He's got a great personality. Keep up the good work.

Author's Response: Well I'm not sure if I can take full credit for the sex god potter. In Angus Thongs and Perfect Snogging she calls Robbie a Sex God. It kinda came from there.

To be honest I haven't really made James bipolar, he just has a very changeable popularity.

But thank you for the really nice review


 Report Review

Review #10, by illaiyna And Watch The Mess

8th February 2014:
this was a really good chapter and I liked the interaction between Ridley and James and how he didn't really come across as egotistical as she thought. only one problem really, i'm a bit picky with dialogue and sometimes there was spacing between the writing which is probably just a typo like this -
"I know," I frowned," But that's just made me even more worried.
also one more thing on the dialogue - sorry for being so picky haha xD - but when there's actions you don't put the comma, just a full stop, so rather than it being like -
"Yes, okay, but no one knows who you are," Blair flipped her black hair over her shoulder.
it would have a full stop rather than a comma there because it's an action. same with the first example, with the 'she frowned' it would be a full stop not a comma.

still, really enjoyed this chapter and I love all their friends and the dynamics between them. can't wait for the next chapter! xD

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the chapter, and I will take all of your points on board. Punctuation and such is my biggest problem continually, so thank you for the helpful pointers, I will definitely try and stop doing them. Thank you for the help :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by miss little angel And Watch The Mess

8th February 2014:
yay! You updated! :D I really like this story. I like how you've portrayed the Weasley/Potter clan and how certain people can just control Hogwarts because of looks and who their parents are. I think you've done a wonderful job so far with this story and hope you'll be able to update pretty soon :)

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you like it. I just wanted to give a different look to Hogwarts and Hufflepuff and the Wotter clan, and I hope its turned out well. I'll try and update sooner this time

 Report Review

Review #12, by Sakura9879 And Watch The Mess

8th February 2014:
First of all, I cannot begin to express how psyched I was to see you had finally updated. I literally started screaming. I was especially surprised because for the past couple of months the story has supposedly been updated but it never had a new chapter.

Also, YES! JAMES IS HEAVILY FEATURED IN THIS ONE! wee! I'm also happy about how their conversation turned out, it set a perfect leas in for the rest of the action.

Hope to see an update from you sometime very soon!

Author's Response: I'm so sorry about all the fake updates. It was all these silly chapter images, which I love, but it updates the story and for that I am eternally sorry. But I'm glad your so excited about this, because I'm getting much more excited about this, so yay.

I'm really glad I got James in this, as I originally wasn't planning on having him in it. But it worked out so well. I do feel it will lead on to further chapters, which I'm looking forward to writing.
:D


 Report Review

Review #13, by Madi xx :) And Watch The Mess

8th February 2014:
Love it!! Post faster please!! I adore this story, now that James is properly in the story I feel like you have really picked up his character really well so far! Congrats!! Update soon please!! Xx :)

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm feeling much more excited about this now that James is in it. I'm so looking forward to writing more about him and hopefully will update sooner this time :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by kcool And Watch The Mess

8th February 2014:
well...I loved your previous chapters, and i have been waiting anxiously for this one, but im kinda disappointes. I didn't expect James to be apologizing so quickly and this chap kinda fell flat compared to the rest of the other chaps. Excellent intro but the end just killed it.

Author's Response: Aw I'm sorry you didn't like it so much, but the thing about my character of James is that he isn't really a horrible guy, and that he genuinly feels bad. He's not as perfect mean dude as he seems. The whole point of this was to show how he's a bit curious of how things went different that day, and that he doesn't really care.

I'm sorry you didn't like it though.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Raven The Bookworm Let The Boy Bashing Begin

22nd January 2014:
*whistles* She has guts to say all of that to James. I can almost feel the shock through my computer screen. Ah, to hell with it, I can't be poetic for the life of me. I'm about to start ranting, so you write really well and I've read Undateable, it's really good.

Author's Response: Oh thank you. I think it sounds fairly poetic don't worry. I'm glad you liked the chapter, and I'm glad you liked Undateable as well. I'll try and update them both as soon as my prelims finish

 Report Review

Review #16, by helpwillalwaysbegiven Let The Boy Bashing Begin

21st January 2014:
Loved it! Next chapter please :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. I'm not sure how long it will be till the next chapter, but I am in the middle of exams right now so its quite difficult to update.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Leannadrobisforever Let The Boy Bashing Begin

20th January 2014:
Okay, that was epicness right there. Update. NO.please?

Author's Response: Oh i'm glad you liked it. I've had a bit of writers block with this and been struggling to really figure out whats happened next. I'm also in the midst of prelims, but once they are over i'll try and get something up. I have started the chapter it just might take a wee while

 Report Review

Review #18, by jailbird Tripping All The Way To Kings Cross

20th January 2014:
Oo, Dom and Ridley were friends? This is getting interesting!

Author's Response: Yep more on that later. It will definitely be a playing point in the story. I'm just not entirely sure how I will play it out.

 Report Review

Review #19, by jailbird Hogwarts Is a High School (Duh?)

20th January 2014:
Okay... I'm a little scared of 'The Chicks'.
I love your idea! I wonder who she insulted... Let the chaos ensue!

Author's Response: Haha, I think I'm a little scared of how the Chicks will turn out. I'm glad you like it, and there will definitely be chaos to come in future chapters. Thanks for reviewing :D

 Report Review

Review #20, by Callippso Why Are These People My Friends?

6th September 2013:
Did you know that homely means plain/ugly. ..? The word you were looking for is homey. Otherwise good job really enjoying the story so far :-)

Author's Response: Oh, didn't realise that. I always imagined homely as a sort of Molly Weasley type of person. It means that sort of thing when describing a home or such. Oops. Thank you for telling me :D

 Report Review

Review #21, by TearsIMustConceal Let The Boy Bashing Begin

30th August 2013:
I reckon it comes down to the person on whether you would get offended by it. And how it's said, sometimes being called stupid can hurt if it's said in a certain way. Ridley's a Hufflepuff and they usually get called stupid for no reason at all so I can understand her anger about that and I can see why she kicked off at him!

Great chapter, by the way! I can't wait to see what happens in the next chapter!

Author's Response: I think any Hufflepuff would feel a certain degree of anger at being called stupid, and Ridley was just looking for something to get angry at.
Thanks for the review


 Report Review

Review #22, by TearsIMustConceal Hogwarts Is a High School (Duh?)

30th August 2013:
Considering this was a prologue, it was really pretty amazing! I'm hooked already!

I love the way you have written this, it's really interesting and gives the reader enough information to leave them wanting more!

I can't wait to read the next chapters!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. I wasn't sure how to start off the story originally, but I am pleased with the prologue.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Sun Lovegood Let The Boy Bashing Begin

20th August 2013:
Yes! an upddate, i freaking love Your updates. Ok done With my squiking and Down to buisness. This was great, a little short though. And please dont let Riley become like everybody else, try to get her personality to shine through the dialogues to, if not this story is gonna get boring after some time. Other than that great work!

Author's Response: Thank you, sorry bout the shortness. I wanted to end it just after the insulting thing.
I hope Ridley's clumsy, cute and very outgoing personality will shine through. I want her to be very independant, and not want to follow all the so called rules


 Report Review

Review #24, by nutellugh Let The Boy Bashing Begin

19th August 2013:
Ridley's insult is the pure truth. 50 points to Hufflepuff!

I was so glad that she didn't back away from the whole thing in the last minute.

Anyways, update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you. I agree too, Puffs are just the opposite of stupid.
Thanks for the review
~Frances


 Report Review

Review #25, by Rachel Payne Let The Boy Bashing Begin

19th August 2013:
Great job! You gave her an excuse to insult him and that was incredible lol! Now, she doesn't seem like a rude jerk to everyone who overheard. And, she could be looked up to by the rest of the school for her bravery. At the end of the last chapter I had my doubts about how you were going to execute this situation, and you came through with flying colors.

I kind of dislike how all the girls are described as dressing skimpily, but I guess that is the majority of any school that you hear about these days, and besides, it also fits the characters of the girls rather well. Not calling them sluts, but they do seem to be outgoing and confident, which I like better for the main characters rather than the image of the 'regular meek Hufflepuff'.

I cannot wait until you update again, this story is proving to be exciting and I want to read more!

Best of luck with the writing
-Rachel

Author's Response: Thank you. I had my doubts as to how the insulting would go down, but I'm glad it worked out so well.

I guess the thing with the girls dress sense is more that, well, Zara isn't afraid to show herself off, and Piper kind of follows her lead. She doesn't want to be boxed in a fashion sense. Blair, doesn't exactly dress skimpily, just in her own unique way. it takes a lot of guts to wear black and yellow stripy tights and not look like some sort of bee hybrid.

I didn't want them to be shy Hufflepuffs. I don't generally like that characterization anyway, me being a Puff. And I'm definitely not shy. So yeah, strong and outgoing Puffs for the win.
Thank you again/.
~Frances


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>