Reading Reviews for Facing the Truth
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by maraudertimes Beginnings and Endings

14th January 2014:
Aw! This is at the same time really scary but yet so sweet! Seeing as I've never been in that situation, I couldn't imagine what Venus was going through. Nor James! It must be some type of scary!

But that he wanted to help her and was so cute to her and was going to take responsibility was so cute! That is exactly the James Potter II I've always imagined!

This was really cute and funny, and you did an amazing job!
Lo:)

Author's Response: Not knowing exactly what it is to be in the situation, it was hard to write this for me too. :) It feels good to hear that it seemed to work well and you liked it!

Haha, that was REALLY sweet of James! I also believe he must have been more like Harry, so. I'm happy you found him believable too!

Thanks for the lovely review! You really made my day. :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by Your Secret Santa Beginnings and Endings

16th December 2013:
Hi! So, I was scrolling through your stories, trying to decide which one I wanted to read because they all sounded too interesting to choose one. I'm so glad I settled down on this story.

I love how smoothly it all goes, how you see her finding out she's pregnant, then you understand exactly how bad it would be, the telling of the best friend, telling the father (which I love as well, by the way, because people seem to always take forever with that particular detail), then finding out it was all a misunderstanding.

I love how you've packed so much into a one-shot, but it doesn't feel like it's a lot. You don't read it and go, woah that was a lot of information, you aren't going back and saying wait, what just happened? It flowed very nicely and that's something that is to be admired. Especially in a one-shot.

I really enjoyed reading and reviewing this story, I can't wait to review more of your stories, you've done a really brilliant job!

Much Love - Your Secret Santa ♥

Author's Response: Ooh, my Secret Santa! :D It seems so great and so mysterious to hear from you!

I did think I should make it a short story for it seemed like I'm packing too much stuff in just a thousand words, but it would've lost the fun of the unexpected ending I guess. I'm glad it didn't feel like too much in a one-shot. :)

I notice exactly the same thing when I read the pregnancy stories. It might take time for other girls to tell the news to the father of the child, but in this case Venus trusted James.

Thank you, Secret Santa, for the lovely Christmas gift! Merry Christmas! ;)

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #3, by rogue_bludger Beginnings and Endings

10th May 2013:
Ravenclaw Review Tag!
the end made me laugh. This was a great story. At first it felt like a cookie cutter james/pregnant oc story, but the parts about the pregnancy charm, and the ending definitely made this a unique piece.
Side note: I was surprised by the last name of your OC--I don't recall any death eater with that last name.
I do like this story though- it was a cute, light-hearted piece with a feel-good ending :)
~M

Author's Response: Hey! It's nice to come after two days of no HPFF and find your gorgeous review waiting for me. :)
I know the beginning and some parts of the story do sound like "cookie cutter James/pregnant oc" story. I actually wrote this silly little story to prove that an author can write a james/OC pregnancy story so differently. =]
Well, I think I've mentioned that Venus' mom was a death eater no one knew and Rowling didn't tell us all the names, you know. Besides, her father wasn't a Death Eater so her mother's surname must've changed obviously. =]
Anyways thanks for leaving such a lovely review for me! :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by 800 words of heaven Beginnings and Endings

13th April 2013:
REVIEW TAG, WHAT UP?

Sorry about the greeting - I haven't left the house in a few days.

So, when I started reading this, I was like, oh, another teen pregancy story. As a rule, I try and avoid them, but I'm glad I clicked on this, because this was just such a pleasant surprise!

Can I just say, that Venus' nickname is adorable? And so is James. He was just so cool and supportive and ugh! Loved him!

When Venus first looks at the test and thinks she's pregnant, my first thought was, "Shouldn't she get that verified?" And thank goodness for Kate! I adored how this story turned out at the end! Unexpected, but really awesome! I think it's a pretty common thing, mistakes like this happening, although I'm not sure how often they happen concerning pregnancies!

But such an adorable story! Well done!

Author's Response: Hi! I can totally understand how you must've felt while reading this. I'm not a fan of teen pregnancy stories either. Though these stories are the inspiration behind my beloved fic! ;)

You liked Venus's nickname! Wow, I feel like I've given an award or something. I haven't got a compliment like that before. :) I love James too! Especially in my own story, haha.

Venus was just too scared to verify I guess. You sort of guessed the ending right? ;) Kate is just a best friend everyone'd love to have, isn't she?


 Report Review

Review #5, by DarknessIsMyOnlyFriend Beginnings and Endings

5th April 2013:
I thought was a nice story! The title made me think this would be much more serious then it actually was. It was fun.

I like how you made them use a magical precaution, which they know nothing about. But James, seriously, did he learn nothing from his parents :P.
They are teenagers after all and they make mistakes, this makes it realistic. Of course mistake like this could alter their whole life.

The way Kate reacted was good. It made sense. She seems like a great friend! How did she find them so quickly though? If they simply entered a classroom?

While reading this I was think that perhaps you could make the back story of how they got together a little bigger. It would have little effect on the story of course, but I'm just really curious about things like that :). and perhaps knowing more of the characters makes it even more fun to read about their ordeal in here.

Do her parents know of her relationship? His family obviously is fine with it, but again I'm curious:P.

The ending seeming slightly rushed. Starting from the moment she enters the classroom with James. But I do think it's a good thing that he was taking his responsibility.
The twist was good! it'll make them think twice about how they handle things from now on.

This storyline is actually one I haven't read too often...if ever in this fandom. So I really like that!
I think it's a good thing that you posted it again! If you had fun writing it, you should always just enjoy that feeling. Regardless of the thoughts people have about it. Of course I doubt anyone would have a problem with this one.

Author's Response: Hi! Responding to your lovely review after the edited chapter is validated. :) Now you'll get to know a nice little backstory of the relationship of James and Venus. I hope you like it!! :)

Haha, you're right. James should learn something from his parents. ;) Harry was perhaps more like Lily but James is totally like his grandfather, though James didn't do anything like this because he loved "Lily".
Anyway they're teenagers and they make mistakes.

Yes, yes Kate is one of the most brilliant friends I've ever written. She's already guessed what happened at Christmas and now she confirmed it. I've corrected the classroom thing too. :)

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the twist! :D I had written the story terribly when I first posted it and now I think I've done a better job. I did enjoy writing this both times, though. I know that feeling is great. :)

Thanks for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Calypso  Beginnings and Endings

6th March 2013:
Hello- I'm here from Review Tag!

Haha I did NOT see that ending coming! It was a really great twist and really made me laugh! So original! I liked the way Kate kept bursting in- she seems like an awesome friend to have, and the parts when she and Venus interacted were very well written- they seemed so realistic.

I loved how you created tension through this piece. I could really feel Venus' anxiety and concern! You also did a great job of defying the drunken-one-night-stand cliche of some teen pregnancy stories by giving her and James a real relationship. I would have loved to know more about the two of them, especially because of her mother's anti-Potter feelings! I did think that James came round to the idea of being a father a bit quickly, but it sort of worked with your plot!

All in all, a great piece of writing! I loved the way you wrote Venus, and the twist at the end was just inspired! I really enjoyed reading it!

-Bethany

Author's Response: Haha, yeah, the ending's too different than expected. ;) Original? *blushes* that's a really big complement! Thank you so much! :D
I thought their are too many stories, making their heroines pregnant after a drunken one night stand and if James and Venus would've had a night stand, James probably wouldn't have taken the responsibility so easily.
What I wrote is right for my story.
Yes, I've edited the chapter and the new version is in the queue. Don't forget to read it again for more descriptions of their relationships!
Oh and I really loved your review. Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Bex Beginnings and Endings

3rd March 2013:
Hilarious ending! So Venus wasn't preggers at all and she was freaking out for no reason. Your banner and the first paragraphs are so SERIOUS that I thought she's going to die or something in the ending! I mean, I couldn't understand what exactly you were writing about venus getting pregnant in one chapter.
Anyway, your ending is better, I agree. AND I LOVED IT!! :D

Becca

Author's Response: Haha, I know the banner and the first few paragraphs are TOO serious for the twist! ;) I did that on purpose, just to make the ending sound more surprising. But I usually don't kill my favorite characters, so no worries for you! ;) It's actually an attempt to write something different, to show people that pregnancy stories can be something different. =]
Thanks for the lovely review! =]


 Report Review

Review #8, by patronus_charm Beginnings and Endings

27th February 2013:
Hello there! Iím here with you requested review!

I really liked the name you choose for your OC, as it was unique, but not strange and perfectly fitted the Potter universe. I think the name holds a great importance, so I was glad to see that yours fitted.

I thought that it was nice that you made Venus and James friends beforehand, as I hate pregnancy stories, where the girl gets pregnant by a guy she doesnít even know. Whereas here you knew that they liked each other before, so it didnít seem as odd. One thing that would be nice is perhaps more detail on the backstory of their relationship, so we feel as if we know them more.

I thought it was a nice twist to make Venus a daughter of a former death eater, and that she trained her daughter to hate the Potters. It reminded me of the whole Romeo and Juliet thing, and it just made me laugh that she would get pregnant by James of all people. I think that this would have worked slightly better with more backstory to the two of them again, as then we could perhaps find out why they became friends.

I liked Kate she seemed fun, and it was funny to see her reaction to Venus being pregnant. Iím glad that she sort of had a go at Venus, as it would have been sort of odd in my opinion if she hadnít. The way she was so dismissive of those pregnancy charms as well, made me crack up.

I thought that though James reaction felt a little rushed, by the way he suddenly agreed to look after the baby; it was great as well, as I felt proud of him taking responsibility of his child.

I loved the ending though it was a great twist! All that worrying for nothing. Iíve never seen a pregnancy story which has done that before, so I really liked the twist.

Overall I thought this was a funny and unique one-shot, the only recommendation I would say is perhaps dwell on the parts I suggested for longer, so we can understand their relationship more.

-Kiana!

Author's Response: Hey, I like the name Venus too! I thought it was a Death Eater's daughter kind of name and named her Venus. She's my favorite OC and when someone compliments her, I burst with pride. So thanks!
I thought about what you suggested and quite agreed with you. I've come up with a funny little backstory and I've put it in the queue too! I wanted to let you know I've done what you suggested so I responded your review after writing it. =]
MY one-shot funny and unique? Another big compliment! :D Thanks a lot! Your review just made my day.


 Report Review

Review #9, by adluvshp Beginnings and Endings

27th February 2013:
Review tag!

Haha this was a fun little piece. I loved the ending twist xP I think you portrayed the anxiety Venus felt very well, and James' reaction, though slightly unrealistic, was nice. The ending was the best though, what a relief, haha. This made for a nice read and I didnt spot any glaring grammar errors, and it was all pretty smooth. Good work!

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hello! I'm happy you liked the ending twist, it was the main thing of my whole plot! I think I've managed to potray Venus's feelings better than my other OCs because I actually love her. Facing the Truth was my first fic on HPFF, so I was happy to write this all over again. =]
Oh, you didn't see any grammar errors? :D You don't know what and how much that means to me!! My grammar is horrible... but I feel honoured... it looks like HPFF has improved my grammar skills. =]
Thanks for the lovely review! It made my day!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login