Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Breaking Even
  
247 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Gosia The End

21st August 2017:
I'm not sure what I expected to feel after reading this chapter. I know I feel so many so different things right now.
I would love to be able to put it into words, but I fear I'm not. I also wanted this review to be just about the books, but, again, I don't think I can do it.
These books are... I could call them so many things. Catalysts, memoirs... everything about them I hold dear.
I could thank you a thousand times and I would not thank you enough. For always responding to my reviews - since the very first review of mine showed up in your inbox, for caring so much, giving so much of yourself to us, who have been reading your trilogy. For writing and having the courage to share your works.
Your mention of my name in this last Author's Note has yet again made me cry. And for this I must thank you as well. For all the feelings - from sheer happiness to genuine grief, from filling warmth to cold and dark hollowness. For emotions so strong, that after they had passed, I would have felt as if I were never going to feel anything ever again.
From the very first sentence to the very last - this trilogy is truly wonderful. Simply because of the emotional charge it carries for me. Technicalities are something so unimportant here, they feel so mundane.
The plot is absolutely unique. Your character creations are astonishingly realistic. Your interpretation of Marauders - everything about them - reaches the point where it's really hard to think that you actually wrote all of this, because I simply take it as a fact, as canon, there is nothing that could ever seem made up or far-fetched. Beth, Severus, James, Sirius, Peter, Remus, as well as many others - Dumbledore, Lily, McGonagall, Zonko, Sarah... When I was reading this story, they all were around. I felt as if I were in the same room, with people I had known for a long time. They are not spectres of characters. They are real people put in a book to be kept there forever in form of letters, words, sentences...
I'm going to make myself cry if I keep thinking about it all, but I don't mind.
You already know how much these books mean to me. But right here, right now, there is something new about them. Yet another thing that I identify with. It was bound to be different, this time around, given how much my perspective has changed over past four years. Other things would make my mind resonate with the content on the screen, other things would stir up emotions hard to contain. Of course, there were things that had not changed, no matter what.
Or maybe I'm wrong. Maybe it's not that different at all. It's just that I can't remember feeling what I feel now. What I felt while reading the last chapter.
Because now I am Beth, reminiscing about the old happy times that are never to come back because of the darkness that has fallen. And I might even be aware that there are new good things to come, new happy times... It's just that it'll never be the same. It's always going to be different.
Now I am Sirius, waiting for that one friendly hand on the other side of the bars. Alone, struggling not to fall right down, to the bottom of everything, one weak mantra in my brain to make myself believe I'm still on the surface, to make myself believe it's enough to keep me on this very surface until things get better. Until this hand reaches for mine.

I think I have reached my limit for now. I've used up every single word my mind was capable of finding. I've used up every emotion that I could find or that came to me on its own. I don't want to make it all sound final. I'm not bidding you or this story farewell, there is no reason for me to do it. I still have one story of yours to read, Beth and Severus awaiting me there, and besides - I just don't want to.
For now, though, this is my last review on this wonderful trilogy. There always must be the last time for everything and everyone and I'm not denying it. It's just that... I don't quite feel this time is now. Right now, I'm sending you much, much love, my friend.
I'll see you soon. Under the same sky - just a different part of it. ❤

 Report Review

Review #2, by Gosia Into Hogwarts Again

21st August 2017:
Oh, them two absolutely adorable dorks. ❤
I truly appreciate the normalcy of their time together in this chapter, their wedding being so simple and quiet, so pure. This is what really speaks to me on hundreds of thousands of levels. Little things and so much magic in them. ❤
I still cannot believe that I'm just one chapter away from finishing the trilogy for the second time. It's so...unreal. I know that you are already drowning in my reviews, and I know that apart from this one, there is one more coming. But I'm not sure I'm ready to write it. I guess I have to find out.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Gosia Wedding Day

20th August 2017:
This is so beautiful.
It's beautiful because it's...real. Nothing like the nonsense we see so often. It's just two broken people, so in love with each other, doing what they feel is right, among the ashes of the world they knew. Knowing better than to wait for 'a better time'. Doing it just for themselves.
Their love is so quiet and humble, they respect each other so much... It's something so beyond being physical.
I almost feel as if I were witnessing something not meant to be seen.
Thank you. And much love. ❤

And I can't believe it is only two chapters from here. It's always going to be too soon, but I'll see you tomorrow. Just to let my mind process it a bit better. I'm so far from rushing it.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Gosia A Trip to Hogsmeade

20th August 2017:
I don't want this to end, oh my goodness, I really don't. ;-;
And they are getting married, and Severus is so absolutely lovely and adorable, and I'm just, I don't know, my face is going to split and I'm emitting ultrasound right now but just THEY ARE GETTING MARRIED and the way he asks Beth and oh, Merlin, blushing Snape, sorry, my brain is dead. ❤

 Report Review

Review #5, by Gosia Traitor, Traitor

20th August 2017:
I had to make myself some really, really nice mug of tea to get through all this in one day. I think I'm about to make a second one.
Geez, this breaks my heart so much.
Or actually no, it does not, because my heart is long turned to dust.
You know, for a long time I thought Remus was a great guy, a great friend in their Marauders pack... But when I really think about it... It's sh*t. How could he believe that it was Sirius? How come he took it as it was? I mean, isn't it a bit suspicious? If he would think for a minute, talk for a bit. But no, too much, he preferred living 12 years, his best friend in Azkaban, without a single thought that something does not add up. Yeah, Remus, kind of bad of you. But you don't see it outright in the books, do you. (At least it took me some time. On the other hand, I was 10 when I first read them, so... But I like how the perspective changes.)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Gosia The Next Morning

20th August 2017:
I'm just... I mean, Sirius. And Beth. And Remus. And Sirius at the end of the chapterÖ

*lie down*

*try not to cry*

*cry a lot*

 Report Review

Review #7, by Gosia Shatter

20th August 2017:
I know I've said it before, because I remember leaving my review for this chapter, but...
When his glasses shatter? The whole world shatters with them. And I've got nothing better to say here, really. I can't think of anything else.
Our dear, loving James. Thinking about jokes mere seconds away from certain death. Such an untimely demise. Truly heartbreaking.
But you know what? It had never really broken my heart that much, the idea of Lily and James was just too distant in the books. But then I read your trilogy.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Gosia Professor Severus Snape

20th August 2017:
Snape, Snape, Severus Snape ❤
Oh, sweet geez.
And it's eleven o'clock.
And Dumbledore, good old Dumbledore. Never really liked him in the books, but it must be said that he always did understand people.
Gawd, it's such a happy moment. Do I have to know what comes next?

 Report Review

Review #9, by Gosia The Secret-Keeper

20th August 2017:
There's so much going on right now I really don't know what to write.
I think I've started writing this review six times in my head by now.
Because...
How could they think Remus was a traitor. Seriously.
Lily is pregnant.
Beth sure as hell goes to Hogwarts.
Sev becomes a teacher and Beth doesn't know.
And Peter. Really. Remus is the traitor? Guys, what kind of world do you live in. Besides, old Dumble should have done what Hermione did. I mean, you should always be prepared for a traitor. I can't even imagine what a face he would have made... Geez. Oh, Dumble, learn from the young!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Gosia Bathilda and a Broomstick

20th August 2017:
I'm melting ;u;
My heart is melting, I'M MELTING ❤❤❤

 Report Review

Review #11, by Gosia Treason

20th August 2017:
OH MY GOODNESS
Only now did I realise that so what Severus had no memories of Beth when he, well, killed her father - he was definitely going to remember doing so when she gave him his memories back. And I'm like... How did I miss it? O.O Sometimes it's hard to remember that she's going to just fill in some certain gaps and not redo his memory and cut the whole stretch of time out. Geez, how weird.

And really, Sev, why Sectumsempra? Could've carved his name in Bridger's chest just as well.
But I still love you, you know. ❤

 Report Review

Review #12, by Gosia The Reparation

19th August 2017:
Oorah! for forgiving! ^^ And hugs!

How I love these two ❤ Beth is such a good-natured, emotionally real girl. Whenever she's confused about what she feels, I see her as a more and more complex person.
And Sirius and his feeble lies, sooo adorable!
I really, REALLY like the way you wrote him. He's just so... Sirius. (Now this sounds weird.) All these "I've got coffee and... coffee" things, his flat in general, him being not too attached to, um, earthly possessions but definitely attached to his friends to an extent most can just dream of... And a bit of clumsiness ❤ Oh, AND SIRIUS VS. MCGONAGALL - THE OLD FAMILY FRIEND! I totally lose my chill, geez, this guy is precious ❤❤❤

Hogwarts, Hogwarts, Hoggy Warty Hogwarts, yay!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Gosia The Confession

18th August 2017:
Oh, Sirius. My heart breaks in two, and these pieces break again, and again, and again until they are so tiny they are dust. I would take that punch for him! And then I would hug him and tell him it's gonna be OK.
It's not his fault that things he does out of deep care go so ugly. :c I mean, I know why Beth is so angry with him, why she's so resentful, and I do feel for her, but Sirius really didn't deserve another punishment for what he had done. His own guilt was enough. :C

But! Severus ❤ How strong his memories of Beth and feelings for her must have been that even Dumbledore couldn't take them all from him!

"Yes. You know itís true, Lily, heís so different where sheís concerned"- now this made me laugh, given how my brain reacts to Sev around Beth vs. Sev around Marauders >u< And that chapter was so lovely, aw. I love all the Potters-are-home scenes to bits ❤

And yes, I'm here and I'm alive! I've been away from home for a few days and I couldn't wait to be able to read again. Yay!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Gosia Happy Birthday, James

12th August 2017:
Beth has the bestest best friends in the entire galaxy. Full stop.
And I've never thought about it before (why, though?) but this feeling Sev gets - as if his brain was stuffed with something cottony... it's a detail, but a very important one - makes the whole memory modification so much more real!
And ohhh, the bracelet again! ❤

Author's Response: I'm still here!!

I love the Marauders so much, they are the greatest group of friends. ♥ Even when Sirius is being a butt.

I'm so glad someone finally picked up on that! That cotton-y feeling was supposed to represent Severus trying to remember a memory that had been removed -- I wasn't ever sure if it was too subtle or not. :P It was probably one of those things that only made sense to me, but there you go!

And the bracelet, of course, the memory that persisted. I love reading your reactions to these chapters. :D I can't wait to hear more from you!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Gosia Forget Him

11th August 2017:
Poor, poor Beth. I would hug her. :c I can't even imagine how difficult that nasty a break-up (of sorts) must be. But at least she's got Sirius! Who happens to be the source of her grief. :v Poor girl.
Rickman alert for this chapter. X)

Author's Response: Omg I totally forgot that Beth doesn't know yet what Sirius did. Whoops. It's strange -- I wrote these books so fast that I forget whole chapters of them! ♥ It does make it fun to go back and read them over again, though!

Beth needs all your hugs. :D But reviews are sufficient!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by MuNition The End

3rd July 2014:
I read the trilogy completely, and it had it's highs and lows, but overall, it is a compelling read (if a bit fluffy for my taste). I love how it is so very close to canon, and yet not exactly. Bethany is one of my favorite OCs, and your interpretation of Snape is one I can get behind.

Thank you for writing this.

Author's Response: I've been watching for your reviews, and even though I haven't responded to the rest of them, I did want to respond to this one and let you know I do appreciate your taking the time to read my works! This trilogy is very, very close to my heart, and every time I know someone made the effort to read something I wrote, it's extremely appreciated.

Looking back, there are things I would have done differently, but overall I'm very happy with the way these books turned out, and I'm happy that your overall opinion was positive, too. This review really made my day. :)

Thank you so much for reading! I'm thrilled you enjoyed the books!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Laurie The End

19th December 2013:
Thank you, so much, for writing this trilogy. You have created an amazing character in Beth Bridger, and I love how you crafted the relationship with Severus. Kudos on a job very well done, and I look forward to reading your other works.

Author's Response: I've been thinking a lot about this trilogy and these characters lately, wanting to return to them because they were such a huge part of me. And so waking up to this review was one of the more lovely things about my week! ♥ I'm so glad that you enjoyed Beth and Severus and just all the books. It means a lot to me that you read them all!

Thank YOU for an incredible review. It really does mean so much!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Eleanor Professor Severus Snape

23rd November 2013:
You know, I was dreading this chapter. I thought for sure that Snape would get all sorts of angry at her once the memories were restored. I like this better! Keep up the work!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! :) I felt that Beth and Snape needed a bit of happiness and romance -- goodness knows they haven't had enough, right?

Thank you for reviewing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by Ardeith The Reparation

12th November 2013:
I'm still reading and reviewing! I know I keep disappearing and this time it's 'cause my grandmother passed away. She'd been sick and was slipping away but we still miss her... :-(

So glad to see Beth and Sirius back on good terms. She definitely needs his support in her life now. I loved his weak excuses -- for someone so inventive (he's a Marauder after all!), they were pretty lame. Not criticizing at all, it seems right...just not sure why.

Your writing gets better and better, I can always really feel your weather (if that makes sense). I liked this:

"The smell of asphalt was thick in the air, dredged up from the late spring sun, and the windows of the buildings reflected the glare, winking like eyes behind glasses."

And your descriptions of feelings! I liked this, too:

"hen her eyes found Siriusís. It was as though a thin film of ice immediately coated them, angry fire burning brightly beneath. "

Hope you don't mind that I'm slowly working my way through your story! I hope to catch up...eventually, because I see you're working on a new one! :-)

Author's Response: I know that it's been ages and ages, but I still remember you as one of my best reviewers! I'm so sorry to hear about your grandmother, though this review response is late. Weather and feelings are two of my favorite things to write, so thanks for the compliment!

Hope you're doing well in 2015 -- I haven't heard from you in a while, but I hope to soon. Thanks for reviewing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #20, by Rumpelstiltskin The End

22nd October 2013:
So I have attempted to give myself some time to allow this story to sink in. That is, because I was hoping to offer you something in a review that was not just squee filled ravings. This entire trilogy was just too beautiful so that is obviously not going to happen. Although, perhaps now I can formulate some proper sentences that do not solely consist of "oh my god!" :)

Just for the record though, OH MY GOD!

I love your characterization of many of the people in your story. THis is especially true regarding Beth. She's unique, dynamic, round, interesting to read about, and (somebody give the girl an award) in love with Severus Snape!

Speaking of Severus, not only have you done a brilliant job concerning his character development but you made this wondrous little plot about his memory of Beth being eradicated. I love the originality and the intriguing little twists it has generated throughout.

I would also like to remark on the way you have captured the Marauders: genius, I say! They have to be some of the best represented Marauders that I have ever had the pleasure of reading. James as a father is too cute, and I adore his interactions with Lily and Beth. Of course, then there was the anticipation and anxiety surrounding that impending October night, which never ceased giving me chills.

I found myself astoundingly captivated as I read each positively gripping chapter, hoping that Severus would eventually come to remember Beth. Every time his thoughts even moved vaguely towards her I became almost uncontrollably excited.

By the time chapter 23 rolled around I found myself attempting to cheer Beth and Severus on from my computer screen like a complete lunatic. That was a particularly odd situation to talk myself out of when my fiance walked in on my pathetic attempts of communication. Though it did not stop my obsessive chanting.

Anyways.

Talk about being at the edge of one's seat! And then the end of the chapter...oh my god.

Right, I am supposed to be formulating sentences so...moving on.

Back to the October occurrences, oh dear lord! I knew what was going to happen (what HAD to happen) and I had braced myself for it but it still broke my heart! :( It is okay, though, as I am a big girl and I can deal with this...probably.

I also loved the aftermath of the entire situation. People's emotions were running high and the suspicions and blames were turning everybody against one another. It was perfect, really.

Everything was so tragic and so perfect and then HOLY COW MARRIED?! I think I cried from pure delight! Hooray!! Everything was perfect.

I cannot believe that it is really over! All I can say is that I will read this over and over and...

Long live Sneth!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Holy cow married! It truly means so much to me that you made it to the end of this series -- it's so near to my heart that anyone who reads all three books has an endless supply of brownie points from me. ♥

Seriously, thanks so much. :) I hope that someday you do come back and read this review response, even though it's very late, because I don't want you to think I don't care about your kindness and enthusiasm. At this point in my life, when my fan fiction is almost nonexistent and my original writing has hit a slump, I appreciate it more than ever.

Truly, thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by rez The End

13th October 2013:
aw it's actually over! I can't believe it! it's amazing how you managed to make such a completely tragic scenario so peacefully happy in the end, but it's so much better this way..

I've been a terrible reviewer lately I know, but your adorable authors note made me feel better about myself :p thank you for this beautiful piece of art, which I and many others have been so emotionally invested in over such a long time :) It was truly amazing and your dedication and persistence is honestly inspirational :))) All the best for your future writing! I'll definitely be looking forward to everything that comes from here on :)

Author's Response: It's actually over! I still can't believe it, either, but I'm glad you found a bit of peace and happiness in this last chapter -- it's bittersweet, but I think in this case the sweet trumps the bitter overall.

Please, please don't feel the need to apologize for your reviews. ♥ I've only just managed to respond to these last-chapter reviews myself, and the fact you came back to read and review at all is wonderful! Thank you so much for sticking around and seeing this story through to the end. It truly, truly does mean to much to me.

And, of course, thank you for reading the trilogy in the first place -- I'm so glad you enjoyed it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #22, by Ardeith Into Hogwarts

9th October 2013:
First thanks so much for the warm welcome back! I know just what you mean, I have some vanished Internet friends that I sometimes wonder about. I'm sure they just got busy and had other things to do vs. this site, but...

Anyway, on to the review. I loved this chapter. In the midst of dark times and a dark story, it was so nice to revisit Hogwarts and see students with nothing more important to worry about than their next exam. And it was nice to see Sirius and James be their relatively silly Marauder persona again. I love the glimpse of their fanboy, Toby. :-) What was Toby's nickname that he wasn't allowed to use?

So now they know where the memories are, right? Though I'm afraid their behavior must have seemed awfully suspicious to Dumbledore.

The moral dilemma hurts my mind too. I just want Sneth back together. Tell James not to worry about it! ;-)

Author's Response: I've had several Internet friends disappear without a trace over the years -- it's a very scary thing. I'm just glad to know that you're okay! ♥

I did try (as I'm sure I've mentioned before) to balance the general darkness of the story with lighter chapters like this one, and it was too fun writing jokey Sirius and James to resist. :) And Toby! I don't know where he came from, but I love him. I actually don't have a clue as to what his nickname was, but you can be sure it was something that would have irked Sirius to no end.

They do know where the memories are! And yes, Dumbledore definitely noticed their suspicious behavior, even if he didn't mention it outright... All shall be revealed in time!

Thank you for taking the time to review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #23, by tragicYETmagic The End

5th October 2013:
I got a bit teary at the end of this wonderful journey. I followed Beth for so long I have no idea what to do now, but that is also how I know this story is so great. I've cried, loved and even gotten angry while following Beth, Sev and the Marauders adventures throughout the three stories and I just want to thank you for making them come alive. I truly believe that a perfect story such as this should be read by many and I'm so glad it's so popular. I have adored it all and you deserve every reader, review and word of praise you get because you're a wonderful writer. It's such a shame it had to end, but if it had to I'm glad it ended like this. I cannot wait to see what new project you put your mind to and I will be waiting to give it a chance.
Thank you.

Magic xx

Author's Response: You really have been one of the reviewers who's stuck with Sneth the longest, and it was always truly lovely seeing your name back here on another review. ♥ I'm beyond flattered to have caused such emotions in you, and moreover to have kept you coming back, even after all this time. Reviewers are the reason I'm seriously looking to work in writing and publishing as a career. You guys have made me feel like I CAN do it, that it's not a pipe dream.

So thank you for being so great regarding this story, and for always saying such lovely things. ♥ And for being such a consistent and cheerful reviewer!

And -- of course -- for reading this trilogy in the first place. Thank you for ALL of it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by Ardeith Bridger

2nd October 2013:
I feel really bad, I've been gone from this site and your lovely story for so long! Let's see...I've been busy with work, a very bad thing happened but it led to some good (I think), I moved and here I am again. I'm going to read all the chapters till the end and review, too, in hopes of making it up to you!

One thing I like about this story is how you are able to keep in the moment and the reader forgets what is to come. I liked how Alice wanted to go on missions and I was pulling for her to get to go, but then I remembered what a terrible fate is in store for Alice and Frank. Hope that makes sense!

Now I've been away from this story for a long time, but when I heard Death Eaters talking about "Bridger" it make me worry for Beth...even if one of them might have been Severus.

Author's Response: I don't generally respond to reviews out of order, but it's SO good to see you back again! ♥ I get so worried about Internet friends, because you'll basically never know if something bad happens to them, right? I'm glad to see you're okay! You don't need to make anything up to me. :) It really is a relief to see you're all right, and I hope things continue to get better for you!

Your second paragraph makes perfect sense. ;) And that's actually something I was going for -- the characters don't know what the readers know, but I want to keep the readers in suspense anyway. I'm also notoriously cruel and like throwing little barbs at people to pain their hearts, but that's neither here nor there.

Ah, Beth's name. Or is it? (I'm terrible at being vague.) Thank you so much for this review! This really made my entire day. I hope to hear more from you very soon, too!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Pen and Pixels The End

30th September 2013:
I'm so sad that this is over, but so glad that everyone got an ending (does that even make sense?).

I wonder how long it will take Beth to realize that she knows Sirus is innocent? Because she does, deep down. And I'm pretty sure if she asked Snape to help her prove it, he would in a heartbeat.

And I'm actually quite glad that there's no mention of the future. Because now I can live in a happy little AU bubble, and dream of cute little Snapes and no death by a stupid snake.

And thank YOU, TenthWeasly, for penning the first worthy fanfiction of one of my favorite characters. I was constantly using the Severus/OC search, hoping to come up with a story that would be worth my time, but they always fell flat. Then one day I pushed the button, and there was In The Black, with its enticingly real main character, who was in the Maurders but not in love with them. It was love at first chapter, honestly it was. And then they fell in love, slowly, as Snape would do, in In The Red. And then you exceeded ALL of my expectations with this last installment. As heartbreaking as it was, Snape removing his memories was a brilliant twist, and truly proved both of their love.
So thank you thank you THANK YOU. 10/10, every time.

I will miss the world you have created.

Author's Response: I'm still feeling sad that this is over -- but it's been a shameful amount of time since these reviews, and I knew I needed to respond to them. ;) Your happiness that everyone got an ending makes perfect sense, no worries!

I left a comment on someone else's review about little Snapes that might interest you. :3 But the future is very open from this point, and unless/until I write more (which I don't plan to do right now, but you never know!), I want everyone to be able to imagine their own versions of the canon years from Beth and Snape's viewpoints.

I am beyond flattered to hear your kind words regarding my Snape/OCs. ♥ I always seek to write the stories that I can't find to read, and that's largely where Sneth was born. Thank you for reading and reviewing and coming back, always coming back, because it's people like you who got me to the end.

I will miss reviewers like you the most, I think. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>