Reading Reviews for Breaking Even
  
232 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MuNition The End

3rd July 2014:
I read the trilogy completely, and it had it's highs and lows, but overall, it is a compelling read (if a bit fluffy for my taste). I love how it is so very close to canon, and yet not exactly. Bethany is one of my favorite OCs, and your interpretation of Snape is one I can get behind.

Thank you for writing this.

Author's Response: I've been watching for your reviews, and even though I haven't responded to the rest of them, I did want to respond to this one and let you know I do appreciate your taking the time to read my works! This trilogy is very, very close to my heart, and every time I know someone made the effort to read something I wrote, it's extremely appreciated.

Looking back, there are things I would have done differently, but overall I'm very happy with the way these books turned out, and I'm happy that your overall opinion was positive, too. This review really made my day. :)

Thank you so much for reading! I'm thrilled you enjoyed the books!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Laurie The End

19th December 2013:
Thank you, so much, for writing this trilogy. You have created an amazing character in Beth Bridger, and I love how you crafted the relationship with Severus. Kudos on a job very well done, and I look forward to reading your other works.

Author's Response: I've been thinking a lot about this trilogy and these characters lately, wanting to return to them because they were such a huge part of me. And so waking up to this review was one of the more lovely things about my week! ♥ I'm so glad that you enjoyed Beth and Severus and just all the books. It means a lot to me that you read them all!

Thank YOU for an incredible review. It really does mean so much!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Eleanor Professor Severus Snape

23rd November 2013:
You know, I was dreading this chapter. I thought for sure that Snape would get all sorts of angry at her once the memories were restored. I like this better! Keep up the work!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! :) I felt that Beth and Snape needed a bit of happiness and romance -- goodness knows they haven't had enough, right?

Thank you for reviewing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by Ardeith The Reparation

12th November 2013:
I'm still reading and reviewing! I know I keep disappearing and this time it's 'cause my grandmother passed away. She'd been sick and was slipping away but we still miss her... :-(

So glad to see Beth and Sirius back on good terms. She definitely needs his support in her life now. I loved his weak excuses -- for someone so inventive (he's a Marauder after all!), they were pretty lame. Not criticizing at all, it seems right...just not sure why.

Your writing gets better and better, I can always really feel your weather (if that makes sense). I liked this:

"The smell of asphalt was thick in the air, dredged up from the late spring sun, and the windows of the buildings reflected the glare, winking like eyes behind glasses."

And your descriptions of feelings! I liked this, too:

"hen her eyes found Siriusís. It was as though a thin film of ice immediately coated them, angry fire burning brightly beneath. "

Hope you don't mind that I'm slowly working my way through your story! I hope to catch up...eventually, because I see you're working on a new one! :-)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Rumpelstiltskin The End

22nd October 2013:
So I have attempted to give myself some time to allow this story to sink in. That is, because I was hoping to offer you something in a review that was not just squee filled ravings. This entire trilogy was just too beautiful so that is obviously not going to happen. Although, perhaps now I can formulate some proper sentences that do not solely consist of "oh my god!" :)

Just for the record though, OH MY GOD!

I love your characterization of many of the people in your story. THis is especially true regarding Beth. She's unique, dynamic, round, interesting to read about, and (somebody give the girl an award) in love with Severus Snape!

Speaking of Severus, not only have you done a brilliant job concerning his character development but you made this wondrous little plot about his memory of Beth being eradicated. I love the originality and the intriguing little twists it has generated throughout.

I would also like to remark on the way you have captured the Marauders: genius, I say! They have to be some of the best represented Marauders that I have ever had the pleasure of reading. James as a father is too cute, and I adore his interactions with Lily and Beth. Of course, then there was the anticipation and anxiety surrounding that impending October night, which never ceased giving me chills.

I found myself astoundingly captivated as I read each positively gripping chapter, hoping that Severus would eventually come to remember Beth. Every time his thoughts even moved vaguely towards her I became almost uncontrollably excited.

By the time chapter 23 rolled around I found myself attempting to cheer Beth and Severus on from my computer screen like a complete lunatic. That was a particularly odd situation to talk myself out of when my fiance walked in on my pathetic attempts of communication. Though it did not stop my obsessive chanting.

Anyways.

Talk about being at the edge of one's seat! And then the end of the chapter...oh my god.

Right, I am supposed to be formulating sentences so...moving on.

Back to the October occurrences, oh dear lord! I knew what was going to happen (what HAD to happen) and I had braced myself for it but it still broke my heart! :( It is okay, though, as I am a big girl and I can deal with this...probably.

I also loved the aftermath of the entire situation. People's emotions were running high and the suspicions and blames were turning everybody against one another. It was perfect, really.

Everything was so tragic and so perfect and then HOLY COW MARRIED?! I think I cried from pure delight! Hooray!! Everything was perfect.

I cannot believe that it is really over! All I can say is that I will read this over and over and...

Long live Sneth!

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #6, by rez The End

13th October 2013:
aw it's actually over! I can't believe it! it's amazing how you managed to make such a completely tragic scenario so peacefully happy in the end, but it's so much better this way..

I've been a terrible reviewer lately I know, but your adorable authors note made me feel better about myself :p thank you for this beautiful piece of art, which I and many others have been so emotionally invested in over such a long time :) It was truly amazing and your dedication and persistence is honestly inspirational :))) All the best for your future writing! I'll definitely be looking forward to everything that comes from here on :)

Author's Response: It's actually over! I still can't believe it, either, but I'm glad you found a bit of peace and happiness in this last chapter -- it's bittersweet, but I think in this case the sweet trumps the bitter overall.

Please, please don't feel the need to apologize for your reviews. ♥ I've only just managed to respond to these last-chapter reviews myself, and the fact you came back to read and review at all is wonderful! Thank you so much for sticking around and seeing this story through to the end. It truly, truly does mean to much to me.

And, of course, thank you for reading the trilogy in the first place -- I'm so glad you enjoyed it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by Ardeith Into Hogwarts

9th October 2013:
First thanks so much for the warm welcome back! I know just what you mean, I have some vanished Internet friends that I sometimes wonder about. I'm sure they just got busy and had other things to do vs. this site, but...

Anyway, on to the review. I loved this chapter. In the midst of dark times and a dark story, it was so nice to revisit Hogwarts and see students with nothing more important to worry about than their next exam. And it was nice to see Sirius and James be their relatively silly Marauder persona again. I love the glimpse of their fanboy, Toby. :-) What was Toby's nickname that he wasn't allowed to use?

So now they know where the memories are, right? Though I'm afraid their behavior must have seemed awfully suspicious to Dumbledore.

The moral dilemma hurts my mind too. I just want Sneth back together. Tell James not to worry about it! ;-)

Author's Response: I've had several Internet friends disappear without a trace over the years -- it's a very scary thing. I'm just glad to know that you're okay! ♥

I did try (as I'm sure I've mentioned before) to balance the general darkness of the story with lighter chapters like this one, and it was too fun writing jokey Sirius and James to resist. :) And Toby! I don't know where he came from, but I love him. I actually don't have a clue as to what his nickname was, but you can be sure it was something that would have irked Sirius to no end.

They do know where the memories are! And yes, Dumbledore definitely noticed their suspicious behavior, even if he didn't mention it outright... All shall be revealed in time!

Thank you for taking the time to review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by tragicYETmagic The End

5th October 2013:
I got a bit teary at the end of this wonderful journey. I followed Beth for so long I have no idea what to do now, but that is also how I know this story is so great. I've cried, loved and even gotten angry while following Beth, Sev and the Marauders adventures throughout the three stories and I just want to thank you for making them come alive. I truly believe that a perfect story such as this should be read by many and I'm so glad it's so popular. I have adored it all and you deserve every reader, review and word of praise you get because you're a wonderful writer. It's such a shame it had to end, but if it had to I'm glad it ended like this. I cannot wait to see what new project you put your mind to and I will be waiting to give it a chance.
Thank you.

Magic xx

Author's Response: You really have been one of the reviewers who's stuck with Sneth the longest, and it was always truly lovely seeing your name back here on another review. ♥ I'm beyond flattered to have caused such emotions in you, and moreover to have kept you coming back, even after all this time. Reviewers are the reason I'm seriously looking to work in writing and publishing as a career. You guys have made me feel like I CAN do it, that it's not a pipe dream.

So thank you for being so great regarding this story, and for always saying such lovely things. ♥ And for being such a consistent and cheerful reviewer!

And -- of course -- for reading this trilogy in the first place. Thank you for ALL of it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by Ardeith Bridger

2nd October 2013:
I feel really bad, I've been gone from this site and your lovely story for so long! Let's see...I've been busy with work, a very bad thing happened but it led to some good (I think), I moved and here I am again. I'm going to read all the chapters till the end and review, too, in hopes of making it up to you!

One thing I like about this story is how you are able to keep in the moment and the reader forgets what is to come. I liked how Alice wanted to go on missions and I was pulling for her to get to go, but then I remembered what a terrible fate is in store for Alice and Frank. Hope that makes sense!

Now I've been away from this story for a long time, but when I heard Death Eaters talking about "Bridger" it make me worry for Beth...even if one of them might have been Severus.

Author's Response: I don't generally respond to reviews out of order, but it's SO good to see you back again! ♥ I get so worried about Internet friends, because you'll basically never know if something bad happens to them, right? I'm glad to see you're okay! You don't need to make anything up to me. :) It really is a relief to see you're all right, and I hope things continue to get better for you!

Your second paragraph makes perfect sense. ;) And that's actually something I was going for -- the characters don't know what the readers know, but I want to keep the readers in suspense anyway. I'm also notoriously cruel and like throwing little barbs at people to pain their hearts, but that's neither here nor there.

Ah, Beth's name. Or is it? (I'm terrible at being vague.) Thank you so much for this review! This really made my entire day. I hope to hear more from you very soon, too!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Pen and Pixels The End

30th September 2013:
I'm so sad that this is over, but so glad that everyone got an ending (does that even make sense?).

I wonder how long it will take Beth to realize that she knows Sirus is innocent? Because she does, deep down. And I'm pretty sure if she asked Snape to help her prove it, he would in a heartbeat.

And I'm actually quite glad that there's no mention of the future. Because now I can live in a happy little AU bubble, and dream of cute little Snapes and no death by a stupid snake.

And thank YOU, TenthWeasly, for penning the first worthy fanfiction of one of my favorite characters. I was constantly using the Severus/OC search, hoping to come up with a story that would be worth my time, but they always fell flat. Then one day I pushed the button, and there was In The Black, with its enticingly real main character, who was in the Maurders but not in love with them. It was love at first chapter, honestly it was. And then they fell in love, slowly, as Snape would do, in In The Red. And then you exceeded ALL of my expectations with this last installment. As heartbreaking as it was, Snape removing his memories was a brilliant twist, and truly proved both of their love.
So thank you thank you THANK YOU. 10/10, every time.

I will miss the world you have created.

Author's Response: I'm still feeling sad that this is over -- but it's been a shameful amount of time since these reviews, and I knew I needed to respond to them. ;) Your happiness that everyone got an ending makes perfect sense, no worries!

I left a comment on someone else's review about little Snapes that might interest you. :3 But the future is very open from this point, and unless/until I write more (which I don't plan to do right now, but you never know!), I want everyone to be able to imagine their own versions of the canon years from Beth and Snape's viewpoints.

I am beyond flattered to hear your kind words regarding my Snape/OCs. ♥ I always seek to write the stories that I can't find to read, and that's largely where Sneth was born. Thank you for reading and reviewing and coming back, always coming back, because it's people like you who got me to the end.

I will miss reviewers like you the most, I think. :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by lovemesomethinSirius The End

30th September 2013:
First of all, thank you so very much for the birthday wishes! And, of course, including me in your authors note! It made me grin like a Cheshire cat, let me tell you! Alright, on with the review!

I think this might be one of the saddest chapters, in its own way. Not really made-me-sob sad like when Sev gave up his memories, but really close. I mean, Sirius just about broke my heart! Your scenes are always so brilliant and realistic and I could really see Sirius sitting in that cell.. I wish I could give him a hug and tell him it's all gonna be okay..and a shower and a hot meal too, poor guy. Ahh, I'm so glad that Sarah visited him! And so sad that Bethy didn't. I'm a bit upset with her for that! She should know him better than that, he and James were her best friends! C'mon Beth! :(

I love how Sev and Beth are married- him playing with her ring, his insistence that just knowing she's his wife is enough. All so sweet! But, again, it's sad that she's missing the boys. I also love the memory of their first Christmas together, with them catching snowflakes on their tongues. Who hasn't done that?!

And REMUS!!! I'm so upset with that guy for shutting Beth out like that! Just grrr! I understand why, of course, but still!

Oh, I just had a random thought! You know how the map insults Sev years down the road? With Beth on there, that would also mean that Talons is insulting him then. Beth unknowingly ends up insulting her husband! For some reason, that makes me giggle. Maybe because the insulting bit was all James and Sirius. :)

Anyway, I'm sad it's over! Waaa! Maybe you could write another one, maybe Pre-Hogwarts or Hogwarts era? That would be amazing!

Thank you for letting us share this journey with you! What an amazing story. ♥

Author's Response: Happy birthday (again)! I think you're very right -- for me, at least, this is one of the saddest chapters, and just because I could feel a very oppressing air of finality about all of it as I was writing it. Sirius was included solely for Sarah's purposes, but he got a semi-happy ending from it, and Beth and Sev are nearly fully happy now, and it just took so long for them all to get there. Quite the journey, wouldn't you say?

Beth will always have a part of herself that is lost without her boys, but the love of a man like Severus will do her wonders. ♥ My dear character. I already miss her so much.

I LOVE that idea about "Talons" insulting Sev -- I've never thought of that! Oh my God, I'm going to have to write a one-shot about that, even if I never post it anywhere. That is just too good.

Thank you so much for being such a lovely reviewer throughout this trilogy! Your thoughts really were always appreciated, and I genuinely loved hearing from you and from everyone else.

And thank you for reading this trilogy in the first place, of course! ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by Always Padfoot (and sometimes Snape) The End

29th September 2013:
AHHH!HHH!HHH!HHH!HHH!HHH!HHH!HHH!

I can't believe this is the end. It seems like just yesterday that you told me you finished writing Breaking Even and while I was sad about that, I could content myself with the fact that there was still loads of time and updates left before I had to say goodbye to Beth and Severus.

Gah. I wanted to be able to review the second you posted this, but luck had it that I woke up with a raging migraine and really bad vertigo. Basically I spent all day in bed because it felt like I was going to be tossed into the ceiling.

SIRIUS. YES. ♥ ♥ ♥ That was perfect. God, Azkaban is one of the most inhumane magical inventions ever. They don't even get glass on their windows. They sit in a little room and freeze and go mad and they can't bathe and jeez, that is such a dark and dismal fate. I'm so happy that Sarah Wright came to visit him and that she still believes in him even if no one else does. I'm endlessly depressed that Beth doesn't know he's innocent. It's just so wrong that he has to sit in there for the next decade and not get to see Harry grow up and not be godfather of Beth's children, too. But Beth is at a different place in her life now and it would be painful to think about any of the boys at all so I can't blame her for not wanting to go visit him.

Beth and Severus at Christmas! This chapter was so bittersweet, and I LOVE the image of Beth and Severus sitting together by the fire reading books, all rosy and happy, while the snow comes down. That's a lovely scene you painted for us, and I can see all the promise in their future. We went from experiencing Christmases in the Gryffindor tower to Beth and Severus's first Christmas together, and while we won't get to see it I can imagine Christmases later on down the road when Beth and Severus have started their family. I'm happy for them. They bring out such a sweetness in each other that nothing else can.

♥ THIS STORY. Not just Breaking Even but all of them. They're my favorite stories on the archive, written by my favorite author on HPFF, and I feel so honored that I got to have insider information (usually after wearing you down a good bit) and I got to be a part of the magic in a small way, cheering you on and cheering on Beth Bridger. I'm going to miss this story like nobody's business. You really achieved something amazing here. You gave Severus the happily ever after he SO deserved. Because of you, I can pretend that he doesn't grow up to be the bitter, lovelorn Professor Snape that Harry knew and hated. He's still got the same characteristics at his core, but thanks to Beth and the side of him that she brings out, he can be more. He can be more than a symbol, more than some guy who was rejected, looking after a dead girl's son. He's too intelligent of a character, too complex and interesting, to live only for the purpose of Lily Potter.

Your wonderful quality of writing, your ability to combine suspense, romance, adventure, humor, darkness, action - it's no wonder you've kept us all on the edges of our seats all this time later. A lot of people set out to write a novel and never finish. You finished three.

I'm going to admit here that my eyes are a wee bit teary because I'm going to miss Beth and Severus and Sirius and James and Lily and not Peter ever, and I'm going to miss seeing Order meetings and Death Eater headquarters and Lucius's pimp cane and Beth making Severus fall in love with her out of sheer willpower. But then I remember that the best from you is yet to come, and I'll get to read it all. Beth's story is over, but you're just getting started. I'm so excited to see everything you come up with next!

I LOVE YOU. I'm so proud of all your accomplishments. You are literally incapable of writing anything halfway. You have a remarkable gift and just (hug) (hug) (hug). THANK YOU FOR WRITING THIS TRILOGY AND SHARING YOUR AWESOME WITH THE WORLD. Beth and her adventures have a permanent place in my head canon. I'll never be able to read the HP books in the same way again.



Author's Response: I AM GOING TO POWER THROUGH THIS RESPONSE AND IT'S GOING TO SUCK AND I WILL APOLOGIZE IN ADVANCE FOR IT. ♥ *steels nerves*

Dude, it feels like yesterday I started /writing/ Breaking Even. Or started writing Sneth in general. And it's been over two years and I don't like this whole "time flies" concept at all.

Sirius in Azkaban and Sarah Wright and bleakness and balls of hope/light are all for youuu. ♥ I was totally content with the reader never seeing Sirius again (except in Beth's flashback) but of course I can imagine you might have raged at me for it, and this is the very happiest I could make him, in all good masochistic conscience. I feel like Beth should go on another crusading mission and break him out. She broke into Hogwarts, right? It should be easy!

Gah. I told myself I would not cry. Definitely not after two weeks. But I MISS Beth and Severus, and writing their cozy moments, and having you cheer for them as they fought so hard to be together. OH MY GOD, BUT I'M REALLY CRYING. And I just don't know how to tell you how damn influential you were not just with this trilogy, but in my entire life, ever since I met you. No one has cheered louder or listened more intently or helped more patiently, and it's because of something you said -- yes, you -- that I'm trying to do something with writing at all. Do you remember the review you left me once, so long ago I can't even remember, that said something along the lines of "If you never do anything with writing in your professional life, I'll be very surprised"?

That was the night I decided I wanted to major in English writing. Professional writing came later, but YOU made made switch my major idea in the first place. You. One of my best friends, because of everything you've done for me in just under three years. ♥

Beth's story is over, and I'll be mopey about that for ages -- but I'm just getting started, and you're still cheering for me, and that's all I need, amirite?

(hug) I LOVE YOU VERY MUCH. THANK YOU FOR READING THIS AND BEING AMAZING AND ALL OF IT. PADFOOT TO MAH PRONGS. ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by patronus_charm The End

29th September 2013:
AH. THE END HAS COME. SO EXCITED/SAD/CONFUSED/SUFEFERING FROM SNETH FEELS. VIRTUAL HUG RACHEL! AHAHAHA. I JUST CANíT/DONíT WANT TO BELIEVE IT.

Seeing Sirius in Azkaban seriously (no pun intended) brought tears to my eyes. I was just yelling I believe in you and the fact that my case and his was both hopeless was so sad and made me beginning blubbering. The air of Azkaban you caught was perfect, and Iím just so glad that we returned to him as it was so fitting to see that their stories wrap up well even if his one is a very sad one.

SARAH WRIGHT. I have a loved every single one of her random appearances mainly due to unpredictability and how theyíre just right and this one couldnít be more perfect. It was just like the light which gave him hope and fitted in really well with canon about how he managed to stay sane as she would have kept him like that.

YOU HAVE TO WRITE A SEQUEL ABOUT HOW THEY LIVED HAPPILY EVER AFTER NOW. OK? LOL. This review is turning into an explosion at the caps lock factory but I canít help it! Gah, I donít want this to be my last review. I guess I can go and re-read the series and review the chapters I havenít yet. Hmm, that idea is very tempting.

THEYíRE SO CUTE. They need to have babies, like now. Or in a one-shot about them having babies. They would be really cute ones so no need to worry about that. Gah, Iím so glad that you chose Christmas as itís all romantic and sweet but so feelsy and made me want to cry a lot which wasnít much of a surprise as this chapter has set me off a lot.

REMUS. WHY DIDNíT YOU GET YOUR ACT TOGETHER? Is he a wizard or a ghost (terrible attempt at changing it.)? Iím glad that Beth tried at least, but she needs to get her act together and visit Sirius whatís with all this she might ever not, she needs to. I can see lots of spin-off one-shot opportunities here Rachel. Hint, hint, wink, wink, nudges arm. ;)

The flashback was just perfect. Then Severus kissing her. Gah, I canít cope with it. Iíve just experienced Beth life her innocent young age to adulthood and even though Iíve only followed this story since February which isnít that long compared to some people Iíve loved every second of it and every second of their journey. Itís just been perfect and thank you so much for writing this!!! ♥ ♥ ♥

-Kiana

p.s. I've waited five minutes to post this review to see if the feels would have gone but they haven't :(

Author's Response: Virtual hugs! ♥ I know I'm late responding to this -- but the end is here! It's taken me two weeks to respond to these reviews because I just could not handle it sooner. It's still too weird for words not to have anything to post on Sundays.

All of the Marauders except Beth -- Sirius and Remus most prominently in this chapter -- got rough endings to their stories, and it just sucks so much. But it's also very important to Harry's story, which is one I want virtually unchanged, that I couldn't bring myself to change the vital parts. Sarah Wright is to give real-life Sarah happiness. ♥ As much as she can glean, anyway! I was so happy to include her one last time. :)

I make no sequel promises, but I won't say a flat-out never! When I know something, you'll know something. And for anyone else possibly reading this response, you'll be pleased to know (I'm already excited about typing this!) that yes, Beth and Severus have children. I have known about their children for quite some time. *squee*

A final Marauders flashback, and a final Sneth kiss -- and now I remember WHY IT'S SO HARD TO RESPOND TO THESE REVIEWS. I have so many feelings now. ♥ Cannot handle this. Thank you for being such an incredible and enthusiastic reviewer, and for being a great source of encouragement, and for loads of other things as well, Kiana. I'm proud to call you a friend!

And thank you for reading this trilogy, too!!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Gosia The End

29th September 2013:
And (because it's totally normal that I forget about the most important thing after writing a few words for an hour) congratulations on finishing your trilogy! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! :3 It still doesn't feel real, you know? I can shout about how I wrote a trilogy until I'm blue in the face, but I think it'll always feel a little surreal.

Thank you (again)! ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by Gosia The End

29th September 2013:
I still can't believe this is the end.
I wrote some time ago - "it feels like a journey that is always going to end too soon". Now that it's all finished I can say - it was a beautiful journey that I'm going to remember for a long, long time. I lack words to describe what I would like to describe.

Thank you.
Thank you for your always kind words, for your responses, for every minute you spent writing them.
I would never say my words or my thoughts would mean so much to anyone.

Beautiful last chapter. It wasn't sad - no. It was lovely, calm and full of warmth. Of course I felt like crying a little when I was reading but what really moved me was your Autor's Note and your mention of my name. Thank you.

If I could, I would never finish writing this review. I've been writing it for nearly one hour now; there are so many things I would like to say but I can't.

Thank you once again - I think everything I have got to say comes down to this phrase.

Author's Response: I just don't have words. ♥ Even though you were one of my newer reviewers, you were one of the kindest, and I'll never be able to express how much that meant to me. And I always feel that it's so important to tell you and everyone else how much it really does mean to me that you reviewed. There's nothing obligating a reviewer to leave a review in the first place, and you guys are what keep authors going!

There is a calmness to this chapter, well-deserved after the roller coaster of the end of 1981, as canon lays it out to be.

This review. ♥ It's lovely, and you're lovely for leaving it. Thank YOU for being so great about everything Sneth!

And thank you for reading this trilogy!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Courtney Dark The End

29th September 2013:
OMG WHEN I CLICKED ACROSS TO MY FAVOURITE STORIES PAGE AND SAW BREAKING EVEN AT THE TOP WITH A BIG 'COMPLETED' SIGN ON IT I GASPED EXTREMELY LOUDLY AND BEGAN SQUEALING A LITTLE!

I can't believe I have just read the final chapter. My mind is seriously blown. I know I've only been reading this amazing trilogy for less than a year but I feel like I know all the characters as well as the back of my hand and I just love them all so much and I'm just so sad that it's over. I WANT MORE! Although I am VERY excited to read some of your other stuff - I'm sure it will be just as amazing as this.

This was seriously a great ending. I LOVE that we got a bit of Sirius' point of view, in Azkaban. That was very cool, and I just feel so, so bad for him. Why did this have to happen to him? Sob!

And then Beth's point of view was great, too - the perfect way to end an awesome trilogy. But that flashback was just so sad, and I got this huge wave of nostalgia for the first book when everyone was alive and happy and free and had no idea about all the horrible stuff that was to come.

These were such great books and all your characters were so well written. Beth felt so realistic and I always felt so connected to her and her story. Thank you for writing these, it was an amazing how ever many months it was.

Wow. This review sounds very cheesy. So sorry about that.

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I'm still trying to cope with that "Completed" tag under the story! Ah, emotions. I'm so glad that you felt that you got to know the characters over the course of the story, and more importantly, that you stuck with them until the end. It means so much to me. :)

Sirius's appearance was all for Sarah! Poor dear -- she wanted so badly for him to have a happier ending, and I tried to give him the happiest one canon would allow. And Beth very much needed a Marauders flashback. Those boys shaped her life, for better and for worse.

I'm flattered beyond belief that you connected to Beth and my characters and my story. ♥ It's been a whirlwind two years of Sneth, and I wouldn't change a single thing about it! (That sounds cheesy, too, but it's inevitable.)

Thank you for reading this trilogy!


 Report Review

Review #17, by saloho The End

29th September 2013:
Congratulations on finishing your trilogy. I liked the bittersweet ending where Beth remembers what was, after what she went through, and what we know the future holds, there couldn't be a typical happy ever after. In it fact it left it open... Any plans to explore what the Snapes face 10 years on?

Author's Response: Thank you very much! It was important for me to include the Marauders in this chapter (besides Sirius, of course), since this really is a MARAUDERS story at the heart of it all. It's not a standard happily ever after, but given the circumstances, I'm very happy that Beth and Sev got something like a happy ending anyway.

There are currently no plans to write any more Sneth, although I'll never say never. A one-shot collection would be what I would write if I wrote anything, but fan fiction and I are not friends lately. If I know something, you'll know something!

Thank you for reading this trilogy! ♥


 Report Review

Review #18, by Courtney Dark Into Hogwarts Again

26th September 2013:
OH MY GOD, I'VE JUST READ THE LAST CHAPTER THAT IS POSTED! THIS IS SUCH A WEIRD FEELING!

And wow, I read almost twenty chapters in one day! I have to say, I am quite proud of that effort!

I really don't know what else to say, other than this chapter was perfect and Beth was perfect and Severus was perfect and Dumbledore was perfect AND MY HEART STILL ACHES FOR JAMES AND SIRIUS AND LILY and I still have so many questions, some of which I hope will be answered and I'm wondering what will happen to Beth in the days when Harry attends Hogwarts and whether she'll be okay and whether she'll ever meet Harry and will she and Remus reconcile, and will she find out that Sirius wasn't the traitor and what will she do with her life now and will she and Severus remain married and...

Yeah, I have quite a few questions. I DON'T WANT THERE TO BE ONLY ONE CHAPTER LEFT! I WANT TO READ IT NOW BUT I DON'T WANT TO READ IT EITHER BECAUSE WHEN I DO IT WILL ALL BE OVER! CRY!

I seriously think you should consider writing like seven Beth Bridger books. One chapter every couple of days, how does that sound;)

THIS IS SO AMAZING, YOU ARE AMAZING, CHEERS FOR EVERYONE! WOO! (What am I even talking about? My brain has seriously turned to mush!

Author's Response: I can't believe how quickly you caught up! You read an insane amount of chapters in one day. ;) I know I'm responding to this out of your reviewing order, but I like to have all of the previous chapter's reviews answered before I post a new one. Your other ones will eventually have responses too, I promise!

My heart aches so much for this era. There is SO MUCH SADNESS, and that's one of the largest reasons why I wanted to give Beth and Sev a happy ending. One in five deserves one -- and they've been through so much, too. I miss James and Lily and Sirius, though. Sirius does make an appearance in the last chapter, but James and Lily... decidedly do not. :(

I have so many ideas for small scenes involving Beth and Sev from the canon years that, in all honesty, I'd be very surprised if I never put at least one or two of them on this page. I know people have questions, and I hate that you don't know the answers when, for most of them, I do! I'll never say never. I already miss them too much to give them up forever. ;)

One chapter every couple of days would kill me. ♥ But I appreciate your enthusiasm! Haha!

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR BEING SUCH AN AWESOME REVIEWER. You are, I do believe, one of only two people who can say they've reviewed every single chapter of this trilogy! And that really does mean so much to me. ♥ Thank you!!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Courtney Dark Wedding Day

26th September 2013:
OH MY GOD I AM AN UNNATURAL MESS OF EMOTIONS RIGHT NOW WHO HAS BEEN READING THESE CHAPTERS FAR TOO QUICKLY AND USING OH MY GOD AND HOLY CRAP FAR TOO MUCH!

Severus and Beth are married! Haha, Beth Snape - I have to say, it doesn't really roll off the tongue.

THE WEDDING WAS SO PERFECT! Severus' speech, absolutely everything...

I'm dying. In a good way this time. AND I ONLY HAVE ONE CHAPTER (that's up) LEFT TOO GO! I'VE CAUGHT UP JUST IN TIME!

EK! (For the sake of saying eek, and because I'm feeling quite ekish.)

Courtney:)

Author's Response: ALL THE EMOTIONS. CAPS AND REUSING WORDS ARE ALL PERFECTLY ACCEPTABLE. ♥ Beth Snape really doesn't roll off the tongue too well, but Bethany Snape does sound better -- and honestly, in the grand scheme of things, I would rather her be Beth Snape than anything else.

I seriously am way too attached to these characters for my own good. Like, I joke about it... but seriously.

I'm so happy you enjoyed the wedding! I loved writing it. It just seemed so perfect for the pair of them, especially after everything they've been through. EEK!

Thanks for the review! And... wow. This is the last one, isn't it? WOW. I CANNOT. I am so grateful to you for leaving all of these reviews on all of my chapters. That is seriously so incredible. And I want you to know, for the final time, just how much it seriously, seriously means to me, that you not only read every chapter of Sneth, but that you reviewed each one, too. That is incredible, and I am indebted to you forever for doing me such an honor. ♥


 Report Review

Review #20, by Courtney Dark A Trip to Hogsmeade

26th September 2013:
WOW! I was certainly not expecting that little piece of information! THEY'RE GETTING MARRIED! But...for how long? Will something happen to one of them? or will it be happy endings!

I am now in this feverish I MUST KEEP READING MOOD (I'm so near the end!) that I'm not going to write anymore, but go on to the next chapter with a bucket load of enthusiasm.

Courtney:)

Author's Response: THEY'RE GETTING MARRIED! ♥ ALL THE RUMORS ARE TRUE, I SWEAR. It's been weeks since I posted this chapter, and months since I first wrote it, and STILL I cannot keep the smile from my face with this lovely knowledge. I just. I am so happy.

I'm so impressed with how quickly you sped through the end of this! I'm the same way near the end of a book or fic -- I feel the ending, and it's so close that I can't stop until I get there. :P

Thank you for reviewing! (Are you tired of hearing it yet?)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Courtney Dark Traitor, Traitor

26th September 2013:
REMUS! DON'T DO THIS TO ME!

Poor, poor, poor Beth. And poor Severus. And poor Remus, in a way (even though I kinda wanted to hit him in this chapter, and throttle him for never contacting harry) because I can see that something inside him has just switched off.

You have written everything so perfectly and, I must say, I am looking forward to these (hopefully more positive) Severus and Beth developments, because these last few chapters have been very dark indeed.

Amazing (though horribly awful) chapter.

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I don't know why I get the impression that Remus couldn't handle the events at the end of the war, more than anyone else -- but I do. I think a large part of it has to do with the fact that he basically just disappeared for 12 years with no explanation. That's the sort of thing I think would happen when someone just got too overwhelmed and couldn't cope with the emotions, you know?

There are definitely more positive Sev/Beth developments coming! I will attempt and reassure you, even though you've already read the entire book and don't need my comforting anymore. ♥ Maybe someone else is reading these responses. Who knows? Not me!

Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Courtney Dark The Next Morning

26th September 2013:
Oh my god. When Beth told Sirius to be careful I actually started crying - tears are seriously running down my cheeks right now and I've clamped by jaw to stop myself from wailing and disturbing everyone in the house.

This chapter was just so sad!

Remus and Sirius' fight...oh my god, I knew it had to happen but WHY!!?? James wouldn't have wanted his two best mates to fight!

You're killing me, you know that right? I don't think I'll ever be whole again! (But seriously, you are an amazing author - you should be so proud!)

Courtney:)

Author's Response: *hugs for you* I'M SORRY I MADE YOU CRY. I'm really flattered you had that reaction in the first place, but I know that not everyone finds crying as cathartic as I do. There is much sadness towards the end of this book, for sure -- but I tried to mix it in with considerable happiness as well.

Remus and Sirius's fight is one of my favorite parts about the end of this book, but it was so strange, writing this and knowing it would be the last things they ever said to each other until PoA. James was the glue that held them together, in my mind; when he's gone, everything falls apart.

You're making ME cry with that parenthetical at the end of this review. ♥ I have no words. I am proud, so proud -- but I'm also so indebted to my reviewers, just like you. They are everything.


 Report Review

Review #23, by Courtney Dark Shatter

26th September 2013:
MY SOUL FEELS LIKE IT HAS BEEN CRUSHED INTO A MILLION TINY LITTLE PIECES! SOB! WAIL! CRY!

I knew it was coming, I knew it was most probably going to be this chapter but as soon as I started reading, found out that it was from James' point of view my lower lip actually started shaking, I got that hot/cold/I'm very sad feeling and I just about started bawling.

And then everything happened. Lily told James that she was pregnant and then James told Harry that he was going to have a younger brother or sister AND HE NEVER EVEN KNEW and then James took off his glasses and was making colourful bubbles for Harry...

And then the ending:( Even writing this is just making me want to cry. The ending was...poetic, somehow, in a horrible sinister way. I literally had shivers all over my body. The way it switched out of James' point of view...

URGH! What is everybody going to do when they find out what happens?

Courtney:( (Yep, that's right, a frowny face - not that I didn't love this chapter because I did, but I really hated it at the same time) IT'S A LOVE/HATE RELATIONSHIP!

Author's Response: It was, in retrospect, very mean of me to put such a horrid chapter after a series of really happy ones -- but that's life, you know? I knew it was coming from the moment I started the trilogy, and it was still hard for me to write James and Lily's deaths. I'm pleased to have caused such a reaction in you... but I'm sorry it was such a sad one. ♥

ALL THE BARBS IN THIS CHAPTER. All the happiness right before the world shattered (as it were) -- and I just feel really bad for everyone here. This is the catalyst for everything that comes after it. Everything. And Harry, still just a baby. Writing this chapter made me recognize the weight on his shoulders in canon more than almost anything before.

I'm flattered that you thought the ending was poetic, though. :) If I could pick any adjective to describe my hopes for it, it would be that one. Thank you for such a lovely review, even if the chapter was painful!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Courtney Dark Professor Severus Snape

26th September 2013:
AH!

That pretty much sums up my opinion of this chapter.

THIS WAS PERFECTION! I wish I could write a cooler, more intelligent sounding review but I have just turned to mush and am so happy and this chapter was so amazing and YAY YAY YAY YAY YAY!!!

Omg, omg, Severus remembers her! Holy crap, that scene between them was perfect! Kissing as a teacher in Hogwarts, tut tut, Severus;)

And you just wrote Dumbledore so perfectly!

BUT IT'S STILL HALLOWEEN! AND I WANT TO READ ON BUT I DON'T AT THE SAME TIME...

Courtney:)

Author's Response: That generally sums up my reaction to these chapters, too -- I just had so much fun writing them and posting them and responding to people's reactions to them. ♥ I'm so happy you enjoyed it! It took so, so long to get to this point in the story that I thought I'd explode, knowing things people didn't.

He remember her! She kissed him! And everything is wonderful and I'm so glad you liked Dumbledore and I just have so many feelings, Courtney.

Thank you for your review! I'm going to try and make my future responses more sensible... but I promise absolutely nothing, you know. :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by Courtney Dark The Memory Bottle

26th September 2013:
OMG!

OMG! OMG! OH. MY. GOD!

I honestly don't think I can write a coherent review right now. Beth in Hogwarts! And it all seems so creepy and sinister! AND IT'S HALLOWEEN! OH MY GOD! And when she was talking to James about seeing him later...SHE MIGHT NOT!

AND DUMBLEDORE HAS THE CLOAK! BETH FORGOT IT! BETH WHY DID YOU FORGET IT? WHY AM I WRITING IN CAPITALS? I DON'T KNOW!

PROFESSOR SNAPE!

GO BETH! GO!

HOLY CRAP I'M GOING TO HAVE A NERVOUS FIT IF I'M NOT CAREFUL!

NEXT CHAPTER

COURTNEY:) (EVEN MY NAME IS IN CAPITALS - THAT'S HOW EXCITED/SCARED I AM!)

Author's Response: I was so excited for you (and everyone else) to get to this chapter! And the next one! AND ALL OF THEM! ♥ I'm still giggling like mad, even all this time later, knowing that this was was a thing that happened. These two chapters with Beth in Hogwarts were some of my favorites in the entire trilogy. They just felt right, you know?

GO BETH GO! All caps is a perfectly acceptable way to type. I often use it to my advantage. :D THANK YOU FOR THIS CAPS-HEAVY REVIEW. ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>