Reading Reviews for Its a very common crisis
  
49 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HermionesSecretClone The Next Day Crisis

20th March 2014:
I enjoy this witty,but wonderful story so far.. please continue as I love to read stories that make me laugh but have a bit a romance going on... I can predict some of this but it is still awesome to read! Please continue! (",):)-Hermionessecretclone,10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! It's great to see that the humour came across. You should continue reading and see if you're predictions come true ;)

SB


 Report Review

Review #2, by newgenerationlover The Next Day Crisis

19th March 2014:
Love it!!! Please update soon!

Author's Response: THANK YOU! and i shall! :D

SB


 Report Review

Review #3, by TidalDragon The Next Day Crisis

19th March 2014:
Interesting way to develop some drama between Delaney and James - it definitely had the desired effect of massively turning off Delaney, but it was a bit odd to see it resolved so quickly.

As far as the bulk of the chapter, I wasn't as drawn in to this one as I was to the two prior. Most of the middle of the chapter here felt more like filler between the break and the fix. Every fic has to have those chapters I suppose, but perhaps tying in some of the other plot-lines you've hung out that could have advanced time a little bit more substantively.

Hope these reviews have helped a bit in terms of the more generalized feedback you were looking for. If there's anything else specific in these chapters, feel free to shoot me a PM.

Author's Response: Thanks for all your reviews. They've helped a lot! I'm starting to see what i should work on and what needs to happen. Hopefully, the next few chapters I submit will be a great deal better.

Like I've said before, I tend to rush things mainly because I hate when things are drawn out for too long. But I now know thats what I need to do to create a better story.. so thanks. :)

I'll PM you if any other thoughts arise.

Again thanks for all your help :D

SB


 Report Review

Review #4, by TidalDragon The Party and The Crisis

19th March 2014:
The formatting is what threw me the most about the chapter. Initially, based off the fact that previous chapters were fine, I thought you were doing it on purpose at the top, which would have been a very interesting approach, but if you were, carrying it all the way through was too much.

I did like the interaction you built up between James and Delaney. The dancing in particular was a good moment, though I think some more description outside of their individual feelings could have been good to deepen the experience. I'm interested to see how the bet comes to light, what goes down as a result, and how everyone is affected, but I'm glad that despite the growing passion, you have taken the foot off the gas a bit and are really milking that instead of letting it get too physical too quickly.

"Jamaican Fred" was an interesting touch. That humor is not my cup of tea, but I know there are some out there who will eat it up.

Author's Response: The formatting was a mistake that I will rectify so no worries. I'm going to try to add more desciption in all my chapters so that all the characters and scenes are bettter portrayed.

I was iffy about adding Jamaican Fred but I just threw it out there.

SB


 Report Review

Review #5, by TidalDragon The Makeover Crisis

19th March 2014:
I thought this chapter worked pretty well. You threw in some well-placed inner thoughts for both Delaney and James and worked in some interesting side plot-points as well.

I did thing some of the shorter POV-switches were a bit too short and that you could have gotten more mileage out of the party in particular, perhaps building up the mystery around Delaney's apparent absence more before having her be revealed to James, but maybe more of that is coming in the subsequent chapters.

Author's Response: Thank you. I realised i did rush the POV's a bit and could have drawn it out a bit more. I'll get to editting that soon.

SB


 Report Review

Review #6, by TidalDragon The Panic Crisis

19th March 2014:
I was very glad to see you add some more dimension to both Delaney and James. I think it's very beneficial to see their non-public personas, especially in James's case because it helps make him more of a character you can root for despite the bet he's made.

Again, I felt like the physical aspect was rushed between the pair, but I'm glad you pulled it back before going too far so hopefully you'll ease back in as the plot goes forward.

This chapter being shorter also helped I think because you really drilled down on the important things you wanted us to get and avoided some of what seemed superfluous from prior chapters.

 Report Review

Review #7, by TidalDragon Crisis At The Lake

19th March 2014:
This chapter was a mixed bag for me. On the whole, it drug on a bit for me, but in places it seemed rushed.

I think perhaps what drug it out for me was the whole bit with Fred. Perhaps it will be a great tie-in later, but for now it didn't really give me enough to leave me wanting to find out about it too badly and it took up a lot of words/time. If it is merely a vehicle for having the Head Boy/fellow choir member find out about the bet, I'd consider a more succinct way of doing it as the lake scene (particularly the game) was where you got the most mileage out of your words with me.

I thought what seemed rushed was the chemistry between James and Delaney. I thought you did a good job with the tackle scene making it more subdued and a little flirtatious, but the almost-kiss this soon seemed pretty fast for me given the character you've laid out for Delaney.

 Report Review

Review #8, by TidalDragon My Life... The Crisis

19th March 2014:
Interesting to get a different POV and to see a bit inside your integral OC's head. Aside from her bit about the houses and her place, I like most of my first look at her and am interested to see how she develops.

I also actually like the choir angle. I think as an activity it makes sense for the wizarding world, even if it is only from the movies.

Still, I think I would have liked a bit more explanation for how James has at least his talent with an instrument. This might have been a ripe opportunity for a first "connection" between he and Delaney (though I'm assuming you have something specific in mind for that). Making the instrument a guitar was an interesting choice though. It's a bit hard to see why James would hide that talent given his "cool guy" image, but it's an in to the choir at any rate.

 Report Review

Review #9, by TidalDragon Crisis Continued

19th March 2014:
Alrighty. So you were inspired by exactly what I thought you were! It will be interesting to see you try to capture a unique twist on that, set in Hogwarts, while only loosely following that plot. I'm definitely interested in particular to see the first true glimpse of the "target" Delaney Shaw.

As far as this chapter itself goes, I felt the end took a bit long in coming. A lot of the hits to James's reputation seemed redundant after the first two chapters, and almost seem to make the bet that sets up your plot less likely to be entered in. I understand James wants his popularity back, but using him for a seven-week popularity boost for your OC after you've spent the bulk of three chapters tearing his apparent popularity down seems to be a reach to me.

While I feel like I have a definite feel for who James is at this point (to your credit), I'm also wanting a bit more development of some of the other characters, especially those closest to him, like Matt and Fred. Hopefully that will happen in coming chapters.

I also think a POV switch could be really beneficial whether it is to your OC or somebody else because I think an objective look at the major players in your story would be helpful at some point for us to judge their true progress later on.

Author's Response: Yeahh i think it's pretty obviuos to those who have watch the film to see what i was inspired by :D I do have different ideas to change to plot a bit. Hopefully it won't be that predictable.

Again thanks for the imput, it helps a lot. I will spend a lot more time developing the other characters a lot more!
The next chapter will be in another POV and hopefully that will be helpful to the story.

SB


 Report Review

Review #10, by TidalDragon Crisis Overload

19th March 2014:
Normally I'm not a fan of the injection of technology like YouTube into the wizarding world, even if it is into the 2020s. However, I will give you credit for doing what most fics that use it irritatingly never do - explaining how it got incorporated in the first place. It also makes it far more believable that the recording is done with wands, so kudos on that.

I think you did a good job keeping the most-developed characters from the previous chapter consistent as well across the chapter transition and cultivating the atmosphere of dread/resignation James (II) feels as the reality of his plight slowly dawns on him.

Was not a fan of the profanity personally. I think it can have its place in almost any fic. I understand that it's more prevalent in Next-Gen because we don't have canon restricting the speech habits of teenagers, but to me it still felt gratuitous here. Just my two cents.

Author's Response: Thanks for your honest opinion. I didn't know how poeple were going to take the whole WizTube element. Whilst others said it was a good injection others didn't really like it. But I'm going to stick with it though it probably won't be mentioned a lot in the fic.

I'm trying to be constistant with the all the characters and they will be fully developed as well. I'm a rusher and its a real problem since I tend to leave a lot of imformation out.

Its not good but my friends and I tend to swear a lot and pretty much any other teens I came across do aswell. I thought that it'll be more realistic since they are teens. But thanks for your imput :D I'll try to tone it done!

SB


 Report Review

Review #11, by meowcowpow The Next Day Crisis

19th March 2014:
I absolutely love this story! Please update soon! I know Lane isn't the type of girl who'll completely change herself for someone, especially a guy. But I just hope she doesn't lose parts of herself. She seems like a very cool and relatable character :)

Author's Response: Thank youu! I'll try to up date faster. Its good to see you mention Lane's relatabilty. Of course I don't want her to be the type of girl who changes herself for a guy. Hopefully James will only be there to pull her out of her shelf :D

Aww, thanks again! I'll try to update much faster. These reviews mean a lot to me!

Cheers
SB


 Report Review

Review #12, by TidalDragon New Year, New Crisis

17th March 2014:
Howdy! Dropping by in response to your review request.

Since you're looking for more general comments, I'll start by saying I like the basic premise. It actually uses a well-set scene to both give us a solid first look inside WHY you describe James (II) the way you do and to set him up with a character that is atypical. Most fics seem to pair him with someone based on what little we see of him in the epilogue or pair him with nobody based on that, so it was refreshing to see you taking a different path.

I also liked the mechanism you used during the break-up to explore his thoughts, blurring out some of what Veronica was saying for him to express these things. I thought it worked well with the character you have in mind.

One thing that might be useful is a little more description and a little more clarity on who these friends of his are right up front, but I assume we'll get to that later.

Author's Response: Heyya!

Thanks for the review! I didn't know if the thought process was going to work well but I'm pleased to see that it had a nice effect.

I have a bit of a problem with rushing things and not describing them fully. Since I'm editing it at the moment I'll make sure to add A LOT! more description.

SB


 Report Review

Review #13, by CassiePotter New Year, New Crisis

16th March 2014:
Hello!
I thought this was a great start to your story! I really love how you write James. I got a clear mental picture of him right away, and I think his thought process is really entertaining to read! The thing that really stood out to me from this chapter is the way James interacts with his friends. I think the dynamic between James, Matt, and Fred was really realistic and fun, and they all have really distinct personalities that go together in a really interesting way! This was a great opening chapter, and you've got me curious to see what happens next, so I, going to keep reading! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks for the review! I'm glad to see that you enjoyed it. Its good to see you found James and his friends entertaining.

Since this is my first fic I was so sure it was going to come out stiff and horrid. It's nice to know some people actually are enjoying it.
So thanks (again)

SB


 Report Review

Review #14, by CambAngst New Year, New Crisis

15th March 2014:
Tagging you from Review Tag.

First off, kudos for jumping off the sidelines and writing your own story. I see that you've been a member of HPFF for quite a while and I think this is the first time I've seen your forums username pop up in the Review Tag thread. It's not always easy, putting your ideas and style out there for the world to see and possibly criticize.

I like the inner voice you've given James. Pompous, snarky and rather self-absorbed, he doesn't seem like a lead character who's immediately easy to like. I felt like Veronica probably had some pretty good reasons for dumping him and her new romance with Krum's son was probably just the tip of the iceberg. He doesn't even pay attention to most of what she's saying, and it seems that this isn't the first time in their relationship that's happened. I'm curious how you'll go about turning James into a character that the reader can relate to and possibly even cheer for.

I sense a bit of mystery with whatever was keeping Fred away from the spectacle. Matt seems like a completely original character, so I'm interested to see what he's all about.

I found your writing style a bit confusing in places. You slipped in a few British-sounding words and phrases here and there, but overall then tenor of your writing was very Americanized. That's not a cardinal sin by any means, however it did make the occasional bit of Brit-speak feel sort of token. At this point in the story, James is also somewhat lacking in depth. I realize this is the first chapter and there's a lot of story left to go, but he was so aloof and unemotional that it was hard to get any sort of a read on what makes the guy tick.

I also noticed one typo that you might want to take a second look at:

Five minutes later and three galleons lighter, I proceeded to tuck into a chocolate frog, viciously biting it's head off. -- its head off.

Not a bad start and I hope you don't take this as overly negative. If you focus more on what James is feeling and offer a little more support for those feelings, I think it will be a lot easier for your readers to connect with him.

Author's Response: Hellooo

Thanks for the review! I joined quite a while ago and didn't do anything with my account until I decided to write It's A Very Common Crisis. So hopefully you'll be seeing more of me .

That was exactly what I was going for with James and I'm glad it came out that way. He is a bit of a jerk and we'll see how he redeems himself :D

I'm currently editing the story with my beta. I know I've messed up the slang but it'll get better soon. I hope!

Thanks for the typo, I tend to miss the little things. I'll get to correcting that! :) and thanks for the advice. I'm new to this and I need all the help I can get :D

SB


 Report Review

Review #15, by no1britishHPfan The Party and The Crisis

10th March 2014:
Yayy yayy yayyy finally was so happy when I saw you had updated this is one of my fav fanfics by far ! Please update soon I can't wait to read james' pov of this !

Author's Response: Aww, thanks again! I'll try to update much faster. These reviews mean a lot to me!

Cheers
SB


 Report Review

Review #16, by newgenerationlover The Party and The Crisis

24th February 2014:
Just found this story and I absolutely love it!!! Please update soon! I can't wait to keep reading!

And I cannot decide between loving James and wanting to punch him in the face for using Shaw just to win a bet (although I am not totally sure if that is his only reason for hanging out with her now, since I feel like he has gotten feelings for her.)

But anyway, I DEMAND AN UPDATE!!!

Author's Response: Its sad...but your review just made my day. THANK YOU! and yeah, James is a dolt but hopefully he'll realise what's important.
Enjoy the rest.


 Report Review

Review #17, by PB The Makeover Crisis

6th February 2014:
WRITE MORE,, NOW!
PLEASE.

Author's Response: I feel so bad for not uploading a new chapter in forever! You're review was the last motivation jump i needed to finish the chapter off. There's a chapter waiting to get validated. Thank you for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by SkyIce The Makeover Crisis

6th September 2013:
This is really awesome. Please Please Please update soon I'm begging u for more

Author's Response: and hopefully more is what you'll get. I apologise for waiting this long without uploading a new chapter. I'm such a dolt! Thanks for reading and reviewing anyway.

 Report Review

Review #19, by a harry potter fan The Makeover Crisis

28th August 2013:
Omg this is SO good officially my favourite fanfiction ever! I couldn't put my phone down! Update SOON please! I'm gona be checking everyday hopinggg :)

Author's Response: AHH! I'M SO SORRY! I can't believed i've put this off for so long! I'm so glad you enjoyed it, It means a lot! Thank youuu.

 Report Review

Review #20, by HPManiacs The Makeover Crisis

26th August 2013:
I want to see their reactions and what they say! Update soon!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and I should hopefully have the next chapter up very soon.

SB


 Report Review

Review #21, by SkyIce The Makeover Crisis

23rd August 2013:
This is amazing
Can't wait for the next release

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you're enjoying the story so far.

SB


 Report Review

Review #22, by Ashley Lovegood Crisis Continued

22nd August 2013:
Haha is this based off of She's All That?

Author's Response: YES! :) More or less. Thanks for reading.

SB


 Report Review

Review #23, by batsoulini New Year, New Crisis

18th August 2013:
Great start! Based on the teen movie, She's All That, i assume? Great romantic teen movie! I'm a sucker for these films!
I'd love to see what's in the bag for us! Plot twists etc...

Putting this to favorites!
Greetings from Greece
-Maria

Author's Response: You so get me! :D I cannot get enough of cheesy teen flicks. And don't worry, they'll be plenty of plot twist to keep you entertained. Thanks for reading.

SB


 Report Review

Review #24, by Jenny New Year, New Crisis

2nd August 2013:
Poor James being publicly dumped in front of everyone.

Keep going.

Author's Response: haha i know! what a shame. It'll get better for him

 Report Review

Review #25, by Romione for ever The Panic Crisis

2nd August 2013:
Aww they're so cute. Great chapter.

Author's Response: thank you... i think so too!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>