Reading Reviews for Wolf Calling
  
50 Reviews Found

Review #1, by happyanon Some Family Time

2nd August 2014:
You know you made me cry just with his interaction with Jonah and then I cried again when the lik girl died. I hope Louis finds the cure. And that stupid rouge wolf. You write really well. I loved your story of finn and molly. Hope to read more of this!! Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm happy that you're enjoying what I've posted so far and I am planning on getting back to writing this so that I can finish it in the next month. Thanks again! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Some Family Time

13th July 2014:
The last current chapter...

The more I read, the more I love Louis. He's so dedicated, to his work and to his friends (when the two don't intersect). And I know that can be a bad thing, I hope he finds some time to wind down a little, but he's doing something that could - if it worked - help a lot of people who will probably want it, so all I wanna do is hug him and love him.

Family dinner at the Burrow. Inevitable. I'm glad Frank isn't talking to Lily. He really needs to figure out what he wants to do before he talks to her, and I suspect he's either feeling guilty about yelling or is still angry with her. Maybe both.

Go Louis for not telling.

I knew he wouldn't be there long. And I was wondering when Elsie would come back. Say what you have to say and move on - that's the way to do it. She is right, since they still work together and all. I do wonder what will happen between them, though... if anything will ever happen.

What it the werewolf they were chasing?

Can't wait for more!

Sam.

Author's Response: I'm so thrilled that you're enjoying Wolf Calling! :D I haven't been able to write much, though the next chapter partway written. I've just been writing more OF than fanfic. I've actually quit writing fanfic, though I haven't quit writing Wolf Calling. I still plan on finishing Wolf Calling, and actually I'm thinking after I get back from LeakyCon in a couple weeks that I'll shift my muse back to this fic and dive in to complete writing it. I'll have more time to do so, too. Thanks again for reading and reviewing! Hope you continuing enjoying once I start posting new chapters again.

 Report Review

Review #3, by TheHeirOfSlytherin To Craft a Hypothesis

13th July 2014:
I love Thomas. He's a cool character and a good mentor. Encouraging rather than flat out saying no. I hope that if/when Louis strengthens his hypothesis, Thomas is able to get the board to say yes.

Elsie is all up and down, saying one thing to others than another to Louis. Never mind him, I'm confused. :P I'd ignore her, too, at least until I'd figured out something to say or do to explain myself, so I don't hold it against Louis for doing the same.

I like Michael, too. Encouraging Louis' hypothesis and having him consider a promotion. Making the potions would be useful, both for him as experience and, of course, the patients. I think he'll take it, given who he is as a person. He'd be quite good at it.

Fleur is starting to scare me a little, but I love it because it's just how I imagine her. Now for dinner with family; poor Louis. :P

OMG, THEY FOUND THE WEREWOLF... almost. :D

Great chapter!

Sam.

Author's Response: Louis has a lot going on and things will continue to be thrown in his way, but he'll learn to get through it all in the end. As for Elsie, well she can't make up her mind and that's only confusing Louis. Louis doesn't like being confused so he's burying himself in work to distract himself from her. Ah, the werewolf... :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by TheHeirOfSlytherin If You Can't Find 'Em

13th July 2014:
As interesting as it would have been to see what might happen between Louis and Elsie after that kiss, I'm glad they pushed it to the back of their mind to focus on their job. I'm all for romance, but I prefer a good mystery, a story that has me thinking (and a little scared for these kids), and this is an awesome one. I need to know what's happening the more I read.

Although referring to it, as with Elsie having Louis go to his own desk and his what the hell, is a nice touch. It's not just going to be forgotten in the story. (I don't want it to be.) :D

I knew it! I knew the werewolf would be unregistered. As much as I want to know who's doing this, it wouldn't be as awesome a mystery if there weren't some twists and everything was easy. Now they must dig deeper. It's awesome!

Poor Frank. I feel so sorry for him, he needs a hug. I know what I said in the last review, and he should tell her, because at least then he'd know where he stood and be able to move on or be with her, but personally I hope he moves on. Lily clearly can't see it and I don't think she deserves him.

A cure to lycanthropy? I'm intrigued and skeptical and also confident in Louis' ability to at least try. I wonder if he can manage it...

Great chapter!

Sam.

Author's Response: Of course what happened between Elsie and Louis won't be forgotten, but I'm not about to make it easy for them, either. I've got to throw some obstacles out there. Make them work toward building a relationship before actually tossing them in one. Yeah, definitely didn't want the werewolf to be registered. It made more sense. And I totally feel bad doing this to Frank, but what only hurts you makes you stronger, eh. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Caught Off Guard

13th July 2014:
Fleur is definitely the worrying sort when it comes to her children. It's just something I've always imagined, after what happened wth Bill during the war it's just become instinctive to her to worry, I think. And I always imagine Louis being the one she worries over the most, being the youngest. Always needing food or sleep or being home. I was happy to see it here. :)

Waken up, into work, werewolf attack. We're back in the action. Which is both cool and sad; action is always fun to read, but it's sad that it's a child who gets hurt.

:O I didn't expect her to die! ;( I feel like Louis does right now.

And Elsie is back, admitting feelings and everything. :O He tried to kiss her! And now he is! So much is happening!

...until the elevator works again :D

One thing I have to point out: Your tense confuses me. I see bits of present mixed in with past that you might want to read through. Or explain it to me if I'm just missing something. :)

Apart from that, it's a cool chapter!

Sam.

Author's Response: That blasted elevator had to go and work again. Glad to keep you on your toes in this chapter! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Falling Into A Schedule

13th July 2014:
The awkward morning after, at least on Louis' end it seems. Of course, waking up on the couch of someone you've only known a few days is bound to be awkward for the one on said couch, whereas I hope Elsie found it as funny as I do, since she knows how it all happened and has less to be embarrassed about.

Dancing. Nice. :P So wish I could see that. I wonder what else he did. She's definitely not telling Louis everything.

I love Louis and Frank. They're really good friends, able to talk to each other despite the age difference. I hope he follows Louis' advice and talks to Lily, Lysander sounds like a bad boy (not sure if I'm referring to the stereotype or him as a character - but he sounds bad).

Elsie really does know how to stir up trouble for Louis, doesn't she? Not the bad kind, thankfully, just the embarrassing kind. So there was more... Oooh, what did he say to her?

I'm still hoping Jonah meets Remus. They do need each other, I think; it'll help them get through lycanthropy more than non turning adults, for sure.

Louis definitely likes Elsie.

Great chapter!

Sam.

Author's Response: Yep, more happened that Elsie isn't saying. Perspective. ;) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by TheHeirOfSlytherin An Unexpected Night

13th July 2014:
Hola!

I can totally see Louis being the less sociable of his family, not seeing even his siblings for so long that they call on him. He does have a busy job here, with a lot more work coming his way I bet, so I'll let him off. ;)

Though I can see Victoire's hesitation, not wanting to put her child in potentially stressful situations that he may not fully understand, it would be nice for Jonah to have a friend in a similar situation as him. I hope she does consider it, at least.

And it's wind down time. He really needs it. Poor Louis, working so hard with people who don't like him (yet). I hope Elsie turns out to be nice...

Speak of the devil. :P Drinking with a coworker. I don't know if I should be thinking yay or uh oh... Things will go one of two ways: a couple of drinks and home or very drunk and someone's home.

Haha! He's on her couch! I wonder how he ended up there. ;)

Great chapter!

Sam.

Author's Response: Yeah, Louis is the low-key one of the family, that's for sure. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by TheHeirOfSlytherin A Pattern

8th July 2014:
Hello!

So, it's been a while, but I'm back and ready to review. First off, judging a book by its cover is so not cool. Poor Louis. I'm not sure if I like these Healers yet; I'll have to wait and see, they're probably just stressed from what they're doing, but so far they've set a bad example. Elsie is okay, it seems. For now.

Go Louis for finding a clue in the locations! I really hope it's an important one, one they can use, because I really don't want this werewolf to get another kid. Only reading will tell me, I suppose. :D

Elsie's fallen off my nice list. Telling Louis what he can and cannot do and breaking his focus... :O Does he like her?

A couple of things I just want to point out:
-There's a couple of times where I have an issue with tense, there's present when it should be past.
-The end; should it be I instead of He?

A read through would sort them out, though.

I really enjoyed this chapter!

Sam.

House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! Glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Gryffin_Duck Some Family Time

20th January 2014:
I love the Weasley family scenes. The part where Nana Molly told Louis he was too skinny was my favorite. I can definitely see her doing that with her grandkids. Lily ranting about James was really funny. It's great getting to see the other Weasley cousins in this fic.

Ooo, things are getting exciting! I hope they're able to catch that werewolf. Looks like he's able to put up quite a fight, though.

Louis and Elsie need to realize they'd make a good couple. I love how Elsie pushed the emergency button in the elevator in order to talk to Louis, as that seems to happen all the time in various medical TV shows.

You left one of your notes to yourself in this chapter, right where Louis first mentions Healing Technicians. Just thought I'd point that out for when you edit. Great chapter! Can't wait for the next! :)

Author's Response: Thanks, Sarah! Glad you are still enjoying it! I'm actually thinking of diving back in to finish this fic up. I can't just leave it a wip when I was having so much fun writing it. I'm still done writing fanfic, but I'm not done writing this.

 Report Review

Review #10, by notreallyblonde44 Official

19th January 2014:
Hi hi! Back with the last review for your entry, Wolf Calling.

Congrats Louis! Looks like his hard work paid off :) Excited to see the developments.

"You're her relieve." -You're her relief

'since there was only one healer manning that whole ward' -super personal pet-peeve. Staffing. Manning implies men only :/ You don't have to change it, but I prefer gender-neutral terminology.

'but feeling the wind blow your hair from her forehead' - your hair, not her.

Aw Jonah, break my heart!! The moments with Jonah really added another level to Louis and I liked that. I feel like we're really getting to know him, which is great. I also am so sad about what's happening in your story. It's so awful, I hope they catch the person who's turning these kids. I pray it's not baby Remus or I will be devastated. It's a good idea that Louis wants Remus to meet Jonah. It's sad, but at least he isn't alone. Not by a lot it sounds like. Makes me wonder: how many attacks have happened? What's going on in the werewolf's mind? So many questions to be answered, yay!

I'm happy you entered the challenge and love your focus on Louis. His male mind is excellent and I really feel like you're stretching your writing wings since "Why Not/Because I Love You" with a new cast and a new perspective. I'm curious to see what develops and I like Louis a lot as a character. Sometimes your pacing can be slow, with a lot of internal monologue (the showing not telling thing I've mentioned a few times), but I think your plot is great and your characters are sucking me in. Thanks for sharing this, looking to read some more in the future :)

xxEllie

 Report Review

Review #11, by notreallyblonde44 Doubt

17th January 2014:
Hey again!

Oh research team dynamics! This looks like fun. Miranda is entertaining me and I love all the personalities that are about to crop up. Lol- always her time of the month. Nice. Oh, and ageism too. This will be interesting! * keeps reading* Uh, he's paid his dues and they don't want to baby him. Tension, love it!

Hmm Prefect and Head Boy but lacked speaking skills and avoids conflict? I don't know if that all matches up in my mind, but I know he's determined haha. Sounds like he should be a Puff indeed, but I think he's going to prove his bravery (pull a Neville!) eventually :) I'm excited to see his character grow.

The only single one for dinner? Oof, I wouldn't want to be in that seat (thank goodness I have younger siblings haha). I'm surprised they don't ask him about his love life considering he's "next" so to speak. I'm glad his focus is on more important things.

"I still arrived at shell cottage" - proper noun. Should be capitalized

"His mum worried over me." Who's mum? The dialogue tag from the previous sentence didn't make it seem like it was anyone but his dad talking. Oh My mum? I think there's a POV switch here.

"Kind of funny since Dad had once told us that there had been a time when Nana couldn't stand Mum," you already mentioned this in one of the other chapters ;)

I really like the contrast you paint between Louis and his flatmates. They go out, he stays in. He gets promoted, we don't have a clue what they do. Seems like Louis is really the silent ambitious type. I like his dedication and I think he's going to do well on the research team!

Until next chapter!

--Ellie

 Report Review

Review #12, by notreallyblonde44 Attack

17th January 2014:
Hi Leslie!

2/4 on Wolf Calling :)

Oh goodness, 23 and he thinks he's old. I sympathize. I laughed at the paragraph in general. I like this side of Louis, he seems cranky and is entertaining.

Oh yikes! Planned attacks! Terrifying thought. It would be so heartbreaking to have that happen to someone in your family (if I were a wizard, of course, and werewolves were real). But the tragedy is real and this was a good turning point for Louis to grapple with what his boss is asking of him. I'm curious to see what Jonah knows and if the attacks were planned and to eventually catch this monster!

This is SUPER nit-picky of me, but I have this thing about stating future events before they happen in time. I don't really like the ominous "I would later know" thing in general. And although the Gretchen piece isn't ominous at all, saying Louis would later know takes me away from the shared joke of the present and throws me into the future. I know this isn't a significant piece of info, but it makes me question when this wedding is and makes me think these characters could live (I mean they're searching for a werewolf soon right? so there's a risk of death) etc. Like I wrote, SUPER nit-picky and you can ignore my rant now :P

Haha the scene with Frank. Poor guy, I hope he ends up with Lily (do I sense a plunny spin-off)?

Overall, I like the connectivity of everything. How you manage to incorporate canon characters and other characters into Louis's life so seamlessly. It's very natural as opposed to all the characters being thrown into the reader's face right away (I'm guilty of this sometimes). I like the feeling I'm getting of going with the normal flow of Louis's life and meeting everyone "naturally" so to speak/write.

I'm excited to see who's on the team and see what's going to happen!! Your pacing is really building up a plot here :)

Until next chapter!

--Ellie

 Report Review

Review #13, by notreallyblonde44 Sleep - what's that?

17th January 2014:
Hi Leslie!

Back again for some reviewing. You said to split them up, so I'm going to do 4 and 4. Hope that's alight ;)

Oh my goodness! The image of an arm sprouting from well, you know where, on a full grown man! Quite hilarious and disgusting at the same time. It's great how you add little anecdotes here and there to show Louis's job without always being in Mungo's. And it is a silly thing how many magically mistakes a population of wizards and witches can have when that's all they learn lol.

I enjoyed learning more about Louis's quirks throughout the chapter. The way he acts when he drinks, how he loves food and what his job means to him. Nice touches help us get to know him and care for the journey he's about to embark on :)

"respected Ministry of Magic office jobs" I think some details here would be a nice touch to flesh out his roommates and give us an idea of how deep their friendship runs. Did they just live together because it's convenient? Are they best friends? Did they all go to Hogwarts together? My last question gets answered eventually, but still I'm curious about details, even though they are minor characters. Louis has been living with them for two years, more detail seems appropriate to me. Maybe a conversation could have happened while they're at the bar?

I love that Fleur can tell her children by their footsteps. What a nice detail to show Fleur's attentiveness and care. Especially when she makes cookies. Although I'm curious what they talk about for an hour while his clothes get washed.

Overall, I think it was a nice chapter. A little fillerish, but it provided the backbone for the main story and seems that Louis has made his decision, which is awesome as it will lead to a fantastic plot, I'm sure :) I guess my main concrit, and maybe you're future chapters have more action, but I feel like I would like a little more showing and not telling in this chapter. I would've liked a bit more details here and there about what Louis's room looked like and what the letter actually said. Expanding on little things like these really would paint a fuller picture for your characters I think.

The language and writing style flowed well and I'm excited to see what happens when Louis accepts!

Until next chapter!

--Ellie

 Report Review

Review #14, by notreallyblonde44 Decision

14th January 2014:
Hi Leslie!

Sooo after almost an entire year of your post date at TGS in my challenge thread, I'm finally reviewing this fic (sheepish grin, don't kill me, so sorry, I'm awful and did one of my disappearing acts!).

Sounds like a lot is going on in this story. Louis is growing up, Healers and Aurors are uniting for a case, inevitable Weasley family dynamics/shenanigans are bound to happen, murder mystery, etc, etc. Very dynamic plot you've got yourself here and I'm looking forward to seeing how it progresses once Louis accepts!

I'm also very curious to read more about his nephew that has become infected, which is the saddest thing ever :( I always found so much comfort in the fact Teddy didn't take after Remus's lycathrophy, but I guess between that gene and Bill's genetics, the poor kid was doomed. (depressing) This does raise a lot of questions about the nature of lycanthrophy and if it can be cured. Wonder if we'll see hints of a cure in future chapters?

My one critique would be the lack of action in this chapter. I get that Louis is a more internal character, which you show nicely through other character's comments and the jabs he mentions his sisters making, so I think the thoughts make sense, but at times they slowed the pacing a bit down. I say this because your "showing" scenes were so good. I loved the old lady bit and Louis awkward interactions with Thomas. They provided some much needed comedic relief on the heavy topic of hurting children and were really well done. Given where your plot appears to be going, I definitely look forward to more action and showing scenes in the future :)

Unique take on the Next-Gen, two thumbs up!

--Ellie

 Report Review

Review #15, by Unwritten Curse Decision

7th January 2014:
Leslie!!! I'm so sorry it's taken my ages to get to your review. But I am certainly glad I finally did. I need to read more of your work, because this chapter was fantastic!

I don't know how you did it, but you managed to create such an authentic character out of Louis. I love his passion for healing and his altruistic soul, how he went off on a tangent about those poor, helpless kids and donating money and healing and you could just tell that he's incredibly passionate about his work. Yet at the same time he has a great deal of insecurities. He calls himself an imposter (which I can totally relate to--being a new teacher I totally feel like a fraud in front of the class) and he can't fathom why he was chosen at age 23 to be part of such an esteemed research committee. Gah. Just great characterization.

As far as voice--be careful of wordiness. Yes, Louis is a nerdy researcher, but he is still 23. Overall, you do a good job of balancing nerdy Healer guy with an interest in lycanthropy genetics with funny, youthful colloquialisms. There are just a few places where the wordiness feels more textbook-y. For example: "If it was only me they were recruiting, then what had they seen in me that could be of use to their research?" would probably flow better if you cut it off after "seen in me." We already know he's being recruited for research, and the "of use to their research" doesn't flow like natural, spoken language. Just a suggestion!

Basically, that was me trying to be nit-picky just so that I could be somewhat constructive, because overall I really enjoyed this chapter. I loved the scene with the old woman trying to run off with them. I love Louis's awkwardness. I love his character development and his investment in his work and this mystery you've set up with the werewolf attacks. Great first chapter. Please come back and request more!

xx Gina

 Report Review

Review #16, by Secret Santa Some Family Time

24th December 2013:
It seems as though my review has up and vanished lol so I'm trying again - hopefully this time it posts! I've really enjoyed reading your story - and can't wait for the next update!
I loved the way you portrayed Nana Molly! I could just picture her shaking her head as she inspected Louis lol. It was nice to see the family all together again as well. I really wanted Louis to tell Lily about Frank!! I understand why he didn't... but I was still hoping :) And although I was starting to question how I felt about Elsie and Louis together - I could definitely understand why his behaviour would upset her. I'm glad she was able to tell him how she was feeling and move forward.
Your story has really captured my interest and I can't wait to see what happens next.
Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and an amazing New Year!!

*Secret Santa*

 Report Review

Review #17, by Secret Santa If You Can't Find 'Em

23rd December 2013:
I like where your story is heading. I am now feeling unsure about Elsie, though. Maybe it's because of how she acted with Lily? And although I wish Frank would just tell Lily how he feels - I'm glad he had that moment in the pub. Hopefully now the truth can come to the surface.
Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Secret Santa Falling Into A Schedule

23rd December 2013:
I really liked learning more about Louis' past in this chapter. It's nice to see the different layers of his personality. I loved the memory flashback to when he turned Victoire's hair green!
You've written humour really well in this chapter. My favourite line was "...causing me to jump up faster than a caffeinated Cornish pixie."
Aww Frank!! I really hope he takes Louis' advice and tells Lily how he feels :) Frank teasing Louis about blusing over Elsie was super cute.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Secret Santa An Unexpected Night

22nd December 2013:
What an end to the chapter! I can't wait to find out what happened between Louis and Elsie :)
The conversation between Louis and Victoire was done really well. They both have valid reasons - Louis wanting to help Jonah, and Victoire wanting to protect her son - so the tension with that was portrayed well. I hope Victoire agrees to let Remus visit Jonah.
It was nice to see the family meet up and that they could discuss the wolf case together. The pace of your plot is perfect. I keep wondering what's going to happen next, yet I don't feel as though things are being rushed or moving too slowly.

Happy Holidays!!
*Secret Santa*

 Report Review

Review #20, by Secret Santa Official

22nd December 2013:
What a lovely chapter! I was happy to see Jonah appear in this chapter - and it was so sweet the way Louis interacted with him. I think you wrote the conversation between them really well. Children are often so honest - and while it was sad to hear that Jonah was feeling sad, lonely and scared about turning into a wolf - these concerns are exactly what would be going through his mind.
The part with Healer Fuller made me feel for Louis! Talk about intense!

*Secret Santa*

 Report Review

Review #21, by Secret Santa Attack

20th December 2013:
Your description of Jonah's wounds really tugged at my heart - so I'm really glad that Louis accepted the position! I also just wanted to point out that you have a switch in your first person narration with the phrase "Louis sighed as he turned from her to address all the reporters at once."
I liked the inclusion of the media in the chapter. It's realistic and it was interesting to see Louis being thrown into a role he wasn't necessarily comfortable with. It was also nice to see that he did a really good job with it! I loved seeing Lily as a reporter and I think the interaction between the cousins was done really well.
How cute was the little revelation about Gretchen and the lunch charms!?! It made me smile :)

Happy Holidays!!
*Your Secret Santa*

 Report Review

Review #22, by Secret Santa Sleep - what's that?

19th December 2013:
I really enjoyed this chapter! You've captured the various relationship dynamics really well. I loved the dialogue between Louis, Brody and Michael. The humour and teasing really showcased their friendship. I especially loved that they are so eager to hear about the "charms gone wrong" stories. Very realistic.
It was also really nice to see Louis and Fleur together. It was very sweet and done really well. I also liked that we get to see Louis' reflections on past events, as he recalls the stories he was told. Looking forward to what comes next :)
Happy Holidays!!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Secret Santa Decision

19th December 2013:
Happy Holidays onestop_hpfan18!

You've created a really interesting start to your story! Louis is so endearing. It's very refreshing to see such honesty and vulnerability from him. I enjoyed having access to his thoughts as he goes back and forth over his decision. I also liked that you included little details into the world of healers -you included them in a way that felt realistic and natural, not overly explained. And as someone relatively new to next gen fics, I loved that you included a family tree! I really like Louis and can't wait to find out what happens next!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Gryffin_Duck To Craft a Hypothesis

16th October 2013:
Ooo, I didn't know you were going in the direction of a cure! I really hope Louis is eventually successful, both for the sake of werewolves everywhere, and for Louis himself. He'd get so much respect, both from his colleagues and his family. Maybe they'd finally see him as an adult. I'm really interested to see where you go in terms of Louis looking for the cure. I've had a few ideas in terms of what sort of cure would be found (might eventually write about it, but who knows).

Aww, Louis messed things up with Elsie. For now. I have confidence that they'll work past it, though. After all, they weren't really in a relationship at this point. All hope is not lost!

I'll never get tired of the scenes where Fleur steps in and forces Louis to come over for food or whatever. I especially loved the part where Bill just sat on the couch, knowing full well that he couldn't do a thing to persuade Fleur otherwise.

One thing- Wolfsbane is one word. ;) Great chapter! Can't wait for the next! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Rumbleroar goes roar Decision

20th September 2013:
A very interesting start to the story! I have always really liked reading stories about Bill and Fleur's children and this was no exception. I already feel a strong connection to Louis! He seems so sweet! I wanted to give him a hug.
Also interesting was the werewolf attacks. I want to know more about that. And Teddy's son has the werewolf gene!? Oh no :(
Anyway, this was quite an original story with an interesting premise. I'm excited to see more characters soon :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>