Reading Reviews for Wolf Calling
  
42 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Gryffin_Duck Some Family Time

20th January 2014:
I love the Weasley family scenes. The part where Nana Molly told Louis he was too skinny was my favorite. I can definitely see her doing that with her grandkids. Lily ranting about James was really funny. It's great getting to see the other Weasley cousins in this fic.

Ooo, things are getting exciting! I hope they're able to catch that werewolf. Looks like he's able to put up quite a fight, though.

Louis and Elsie need to realize they'd make a good couple. I love how Elsie pushed the emergency button in the elevator in order to talk to Louis, as that seems to happen all the time in various medical TV shows.

You left one of your notes to yourself in this chapter, right where Louis first mentions Healing Technicians. Just thought I'd point that out for when you edit. Great chapter! Can't wait for the next! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by notreallyblonde44 Official

19th January 2014:
Hi hi! Back with the last review for your entry, Wolf Calling.

Congrats Louis! Looks like his hard work paid off :) Excited to see the developments.

"You're her relieve." -You're her relief

'since there was only one healer manning that whole ward' -super personal pet-peeve. Staffing. Manning implies men only :/ You don't have to change it, but I prefer gender-neutral terminology.

'but feeling the wind blow your hair from her forehead' - your hair, not her.

Aw Jonah, break my heart!! The moments with Jonah really added another level to Louis and I liked that. I feel like we're really getting to know him, which is great. I also am so sad about what's happening in your story. It's so awful, I hope they catch the person who's turning these kids. I pray it's not baby Remus or I will be devastated. It's a good idea that Louis wants Remus to meet Jonah. It's sad, but at least he isn't alone. Not by a lot it sounds like. Makes me wonder: how many attacks have happened? What's going on in the werewolf's mind? So many questions to be answered, yay!

I'm happy you entered the challenge and love your focus on Louis. His male mind is excellent and I really feel like you're stretching your writing wings since "Why Not/Because I Love You" with a new cast and a new perspective. I'm curious to see what develops and I like Louis a lot as a character. Sometimes your pacing can be slow, with a lot of internal monologue (the showing not telling thing I've mentioned a few times), but I think your plot is great and your characters are sucking me in. Thanks for sharing this, looking to read some more in the future :)

xxEllie

 Report Review

Review #3, by notreallyblonde44 Doubt

17th January 2014:
Hey again!

Oh research team dynamics! This looks like fun. Miranda is entertaining me and I love all the personalities that are about to crop up. Lol- always her time of the month. Nice. Oh, and ageism too. This will be interesting! * keeps reading* Uh, he's paid his dues and they don't want to baby him. Tension, love it!

Hmm Prefect and Head Boy but lacked speaking skills and avoids conflict? I don't know if that all matches up in my mind, but I know he's determined haha. Sounds like he should be a Puff indeed, but I think he's going to prove his bravery (pull a Neville!) eventually :) I'm excited to see his character grow.

The only single one for dinner? Oof, I wouldn't want to be in that seat (thank goodness I have younger siblings haha). I'm surprised they don't ask him about his love life considering he's "next" so to speak. I'm glad his focus is on more important things.

"I still arrived at shell cottage" - proper noun. Should be capitalized

"His mum worried over me." Who's mum? The dialogue tag from the previous sentence didn't make it seem like it was anyone but his dad talking. Oh My mum? I think there's a POV switch here.

"Kind of funny since Dad had once told us that there had been a time when Nana couldn't stand Mum," you already mentioned this in one of the other chapters ;)

I really like the contrast you paint between Louis and his flatmates. They go out, he stays in. He gets promoted, we don't have a clue what they do. Seems like Louis is really the silent ambitious type. I like his dedication and I think he's going to do well on the research team!

Until next chapter!

--Ellie

 Report Review

Review #4, by notreallyblonde44 Attack

17th January 2014:
Hi Leslie!

2/4 on Wolf Calling :)

Oh goodness, 23 and he thinks he's old. I sympathize. I laughed at the paragraph in general. I like this side of Louis, he seems cranky and is entertaining.

Oh yikes! Planned attacks! Terrifying thought. It would be so heartbreaking to have that happen to someone in your family (if I were a wizard, of course, and werewolves were real). But the tragedy is real and this was a good turning point for Louis to grapple with what his boss is asking of him. I'm curious to see what Jonah knows and if the attacks were planned and to eventually catch this monster!

This is SUPER nit-picky of me, but I have this thing about stating future events before they happen in time. I don't really like the ominous "I would later know" thing in general. And although the Gretchen piece isn't ominous at all, saying Louis would later know takes me away from the shared joke of the present and throws me into the future. I know this isn't a significant piece of info, but it makes me question when this wedding is and makes me think these characters could live (I mean they're searching for a werewolf soon right? so there's a risk of death) etc. Like I wrote, SUPER nit-picky and you can ignore my rant now :P

Haha the scene with Frank. Poor guy, I hope he ends up with Lily (do I sense a plunny spin-off)?

Overall, I like the connectivity of everything. How you manage to incorporate canon characters and other characters into Louis's life so seamlessly. It's very natural as opposed to all the characters being thrown into the reader's face right away (I'm guilty of this sometimes). I like the feeling I'm getting of going with the normal flow of Louis's life and meeting everyone "naturally" so to speak/write.

I'm excited to see who's on the team and see what's going to happen!! Your pacing is really building up a plot here :)

Until next chapter!

--Ellie

 Report Review

Review #5, by notreallyblonde44 Sleep - what's that?

17th January 2014:
Hi Leslie!

Back again for some reviewing. You said to split them up, so I'm going to do 4 and 4. Hope that's alight ;)

Oh my goodness! The image of an arm sprouting from well, you know where, on a full grown man! Quite hilarious and disgusting at the same time. It's great how you add little anecdotes here and there to show Louis's job without always being in Mungo's. And it is a silly thing how many magically mistakes a population of wizards and witches can have when that's all they learn lol.

I enjoyed learning more about Louis's quirks throughout the chapter. The way he acts when he drinks, how he loves food and what his job means to him. Nice touches help us get to know him and care for the journey he's about to embark on :)

"respected Ministry of Magic office jobs" I think some details here would be a nice touch to flesh out his roommates and give us an idea of how deep their friendship runs. Did they just live together because it's convenient? Are they best friends? Did they all go to Hogwarts together? My last question gets answered eventually, but still I'm curious about details, even though they are minor characters. Louis has been living with them for two years, more detail seems appropriate to me. Maybe a conversation could have happened while they're at the bar?

I love that Fleur can tell her children by their footsteps. What a nice detail to show Fleur's attentiveness and care. Especially when she makes cookies. Although I'm curious what they talk about for an hour while his clothes get washed.

Overall, I think it was a nice chapter. A little fillerish, but it provided the backbone for the main story and seems that Louis has made his decision, which is awesome as it will lead to a fantastic plot, I'm sure :) I guess my main concrit, and maybe you're future chapters have more action, but I feel like I would like a little more showing and not telling in this chapter. I would've liked a bit more details here and there about what Louis's room looked like and what the letter actually said. Expanding on little things like these really would paint a fuller picture for your characters I think.

The language and writing style flowed well and I'm excited to see what happens when Louis accepts!

Until next chapter!

--Ellie

 Report Review

Review #6, by notreallyblonde44 Decision

14th January 2014:
Hi Leslie!

Sooo after almost an entire year of your post date at TGS in my challenge thread, I'm finally reviewing this fic (sheepish grin, don't kill me, so sorry, I'm awful and did one of my disappearing acts!).

Sounds like a lot is going on in this story. Louis is growing up, Healers and Aurors are uniting for a case, inevitable Weasley family dynamics/shenanigans are bound to happen, murder mystery, etc, etc. Very dynamic plot you've got yourself here and I'm looking forward to seeing how it progresses once Louis accepts!

I'm also very curious to read more about his nephew that has become infected, which is the saddest thing ever :( I always found so much comfort in the fact Teddy didn't take after Remus's lycathrophy, but I guess between that gene and Bill's genetics, the poor kid was doomed. (depressing) This does raise a lot of questions about the nature of lycanthrophy and if it can be cured. Wonder if we'll see hints of a cure in future chapters?

My one critique would be the lack of action in this chapter. I get that Louis is a more internal character, which you show nicely through other character's comments and the jabs he mentions his sisters making, so I think the thoughts make sense, but at times they slowed the pacing a bit down. I say this because your "showing" scenes were so good. I loved the old lady bit and Louis awkward interactions with Thomas. They provided some much needed comedic relief on the heavy topic of hurting children and were really well done. Given where your plot appears to be going, I definitely look forward to more action and showing scenes in the future :)

Unique take on the Next-Gen, two thumbs up!

--Ellie

 Report Review

Review #7, by Unwritten Curse Decision

7th January 2014:
Leslie!!! I'm so sorry it's taken my ages to get to your review. But I am certainly glad I finally did. I need to read more of your work, because this chapter was fantastic!

I don't know how you did it, but you managed to create such an authentic character out of Louis. I love his passion for healing and his altruistic soul, how he went off on a tangent about those poor, helpless kids and donating money and healing and you could just tell that he's incredibly passionate about his work. Yet at the same time he has a great deal of insecurities. He calls himself an imposter (which I can totally relate to--being a new teacher I totally feel like a fraud in front of the class) and he can't fathom why he was chosen at age 23 to be part of such an esteemed research committee. Gah. Just great characterization.

As far as voice--be careful of wordiness. Yes, Louis is a nerdy researcher, but he is still 23. Overall, you do a good job of balancing nerdy Healer guy with an interest in lycanthropy genetics with funny, youthful colloquialisms. There are just a few places where the wordiness feels more textbook-y. For example: "If it was only me they were recruiting, then what had they seen in me that could be of use to their research?" would probably flow better if you cut it off after "seen in me." We already know he's being recruited for research, and the "of use to their research" doesn't flow like natural, spoken language. Just a suggestion!

Basically, that was me trying to be nit-picky just so that I could be somewhat constructive, because overall I really enjoyed this chapter. I loved the scene with the old woman trying to run off with them. I love Louis's awkwardness. I love his character development and his investment in his work and this mystery you've set up with the werewolf attacks. Great first chapter. Please come back and request more!

xx Gina

 Report Review

Review #8, by Secret Santa Some Family Time

24th December 2013:
It seems as though my review has up and vanished lol so I'm trying again - hopefully this time it posts! I've really enjoyed reading your story - and can't wait for the next update!
I loved the way you portrayed Nana Molly! I could just picture her shaking her head as she inspected Louis lol. It was nice to see the family all together again as well. I really wanted Louis to tell Lily about Frank!! I understand why he didn't... but I was still hoping :) And although I was starting to question how I felt about Elsie and Louis together - I could definitely understand why his behaviour would upset her. I'm glad she was able to tell him how she was feeling and move forward.
Your story has really captured my interest and I can't wait to see what happens next.
Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and an amazing New Year!!

*Secret Santa*

 Report Review

Review #9, by Secret Santa If You Can't Find 'Em

23rd December 2013:
I like where your story is heading. I am now feeling unsure about Elsie, though. Maybe it's because of how she acted with Lily? And although I wish Frank would just tell Lily how he feels - I'm glad he had that moment in the pub. Hopefully now the truth can come to the surface.
Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Secret Santa Falling Into A Schedule

23rd December 2013:
I really liked learning more about Louis' past in this chapter. It's nice to see the different layers of his personality. I loved the memory flashback to when he turned Victoire's hair green!
You've written humour really well in this chapter. My favourite line was "...causing me to jump up faster than a caffeinated Cornish pixie."
Aww Frank!! I really hope he takes Louis' advice and tells Lily how he feels :) Frank teasing Louis about blusing over Elsie was super cute.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Secret Santa An Unexpected Night

22nd December 2013:
What an end to the chapter! I can't wait to find out what happened between Louis and Elsie :)
The conversation between Louis and Victoire was done really well. They both have valid reasons - Louis wanting to help Jonah, and Victoire wanting to protect her son - so the tension with that was portrayed well. I hope Victoire agrees to let Remus visit Jonah.
It was nice to see the family meet up and that they could discuss the wolf case together. The pace of your plot is perfect. I keep wondering what's going to happen next, yet I don't feel as though things are being rushed or moving too slowly.

Happy Holidays!!
*Secret Santa*

 Report Review

Review #12, by Secret Santa Official

22nd December 2013:
What a lovely chapter! I was happy to see Jonah appear in this chapter - and it was so sweet the way Louis interacted with him. I think you wrote the conversation between them really well. Children are often so honest - and while it was sad to hear that Jonah was feeling sad, lonely and scared about turning into a wolf - these concerns are exactly what would be going through his mind.
The part with Healer Fuller made me feel for Louis! Talk about intense!

*Secret Santa*

 Report Review

Review #13, by Secret Santa Attack

20th December 2013:
Your description of Jonah's wounds really tugged at my heart - so I'm really glad that Louis accepted the position! I also just wanted to point out that you have a switch in your first person narration with the phrase "Louis sighed as he turned from her to address all the reporters at once."
I liked the inclusion of the media in the chapter. It's realistic and it was interesting to see Louis being thrown into a role he wasn't necessarily comfortable with. It was also nice to see that he did a really good job with it! I loved seeing Lily as a reporter and I think the interaction between the cousins was done really well.
How cute was the little revelation about Gretchen and the lunch charms!?! It made me smile :)

Happy Holidays!!
*Your Secret Santa*

 Report Review

Review #14, by Secret Santa Sleep - what's that?

19th December 2013:
I really enjoyed this chapter! You've captured the various relationship dynamics really well. I loved the dialogue between Louis, Brody and Michael. The humour and teasing really showcased their friendship. I especially loved that they are so eager to hear about the "charms gone wrong" stories. Very realistic.
It was also really nice to see Louis and Fleur together. It was very sweet and done really well. I also liked that we get to see Louis' reflections on past events, as he recalls the stories he was told. Looking forward to what comes next :)
Happy Holidays!!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Secret Santa Decision

19th December 2013:
Happy Holidays onestop_hpfan18!

You've created a really interesting start to your story! Louis is so endearing. It's very refreshing to see such honesty and vulnerability from him. I enjoyed having access to his thoughts as he goes back and forth over his decision. I also liked that you included little details into the world of healers -you included them in a way that felt realistic and natural, not overly explained. And as someone relatively new to next gen fics, I loved that you included a family tree! I really like Louis and can't wait to find out what happens next!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Gryffin_Duck To Craft a Hypothesis

16th October 2013:
Ooo, I didn't know you were going in the direction of a cure! I really hope Louis is eventually successful, both for the sake of werewolves everywhere, and for Louis himself. He'd get so much respect, both from his colleagues and his family. Maybe they'd finally see him as an adult. I'm really interested to see where you go in terms of Louis looking for the cure. I've had a few ideas in terms of what sort of cure would be found (might eventually write about it, but who knows).

Aww, Louis messed things up with Elsie. For now. I have confidence that they'll work past it, though. After all, they weren't really in a relationship at this point. All hope is not lost!

I'll never get tired of the scenes where Fleur steps in and forces Louis to come over for food or whatever. I especially loved the part where Bill just sat on the couch, knowing full well that he couldn't do a thing to persuade Fleur otherwise.

One thing- Wolfsbane is one word. ;) Great chapter! Can't wait for the next! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Rumbleroar goes roar Decision

20th September 2013:
A very interesting start to the story! I have always really liked reading stories about Bill and Fleur's children and this was no exception. I already feel a strong connection to Louis! He seems so sweet! I wanted to give him a hug.
Also interesting was the werewolf attacks. I want to know more about that. And Teddy's son has the werewolf gene!? Oh no :(
Anyway, this was quite an original story with an interesting premise. I'm excited to see more characters soon :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Gryffin_Duck If You Can't Find 'Em

11th September 2013:
I really hope the werewolf is on the registry, although I have a feeling they aren't, because it'd be better for the plot. Guess I'll find out, though. Ugh, the thought of protesting all werewolves because of what this one werewolf is doing is so sad.

Poor Louis. He's so confused about Elsie, but I love it all the same. I really like them together. Louis is so quiet, which offsets Elsie, who seems very loud and boisterous.

Loved the addition of Albus and Lily in this chapter! Lily needs to realize Lysander isn't for her and get together with Frank. They'd make a cute couple. It must be hard for Louis having Lily being a reporter. I like to think she'd do an unbiased interview, but you never know. Great chapter! :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by WeasleyTwins Sleep - what's that?

12th August 2013:
Hello Leslie! I'm sorry it's taken me so long to get back here! I can't seem to manage my time wisely these days! :P

As I said in the previous review, I like that Louis has a good head on his shoulders. And you know, there's something about him that I just can't place. His friends mentioned that he likes to complain, and I can see that, but it's not in an annoying way. It's not even really complaining - perhaps he's just very critical of things. I digress. The point I'm getting at is that Louis is so unlike any character in fanfiction that I've read. He's shrewd and very perceptive. I think his perceptive nature makes him/will make him a great Healer. You'd have to see things that others don't in order to diagnose and fix someone. I like him, and of course, Fleur.

Speaking of Fleur! I'm SO glad you took away the markers of her French accent. It can be a bit difficult to read, you know? And she does his laundry! Reminds me of my mother and I'm capable of doing my own laundry! :D Now that I think of it, you really do have a knack for characterization! Your dialogue in this chapter was good too, I might add - very natural. I'll be back soon! ♥

Shelby

Author's Response: That's perfectly alright. Take as much time as you need to read through the story. I'm just enjoying reading your reviews when you do read a new chapter.

I'm so glad you are still liking Louis and that he's unlike any character you've read in fanfic -blushes- I'm assuming that's a very good thing. Writing this story Louis's voice just jumps out and takes the reins from me and most of the time I have to remind him who's really in charge here - ME. Also I'm still unclear how I want Louis to make an impact in the werewolf community (at this point it can go one of two ways). Not only will it be revealed whether the werewolf is found or not, but something else will happen - a breakthrough of sorts. That's all I'm saying; my lips are sealed.

Yeah, I despise using accent marks and I figured after living and raising her children in England she would have learned how to speak English better than she used to. And I'm glad to hear you're enjoying the characterization and dialogue, too. Thank you so much for reviewing! It's really made me smile and blush. ♥


 Report Review

Review #20, by Gryffin_Duck Caught Off Guard

2nd August 2013:
THEY KISSED! OH HAPPY DAY! I loved how wonderfully awkward the whole exchange was, with Elsie trying to tell Louis she likes him and Louis being so clueless and not getting it. ADORABLE.

ANYWAY. Backtracking. I am so glad Victoire took Remus to see Jonah. That friendship will be great for both of them. I hope to see some interactions between the two later on.

I love the way you've written Fleur. She reminds me so much of Mrs. Weasley. Louis is trying to so hard to be grown up, but Fleur just wants to keep mothering him as much as she can. I love it. But it was probably good for Louis to get away from his flatmates and get some decent sleep before he had to go to work.

The part where the little girl died was so sad. I really hope Louis and his crew are able to find who is attacking all these kids.

Can't wait to see more Louis and Elsie interactions in later chapters! :)

Author's Response: Yeah, figured tensions were running high and that's usually how kisses happen. Especially kisses that weren't meant to happen. They had to face their FEELINGS for each other eventually. Sad that it happened given the circumstances that happened prior to the kiss, but that's life.

Of course, hopefully I'll be able to show a scene with Remus and Jonah playing together. I wanted to at least show Remus in this chapter to add the cute to soften what followed later in the ER with the latest victim.

Yay, I'm so glad you like how I'm writing Fleur! Of all the parents of the next generation, I imagine Fleur as being the most like Mrs. Weasley. I guess because Mrs. Weasley wasn't taken with Fleur at first until the end of Half-Blood Prince and I can imagine them growing closer after that scene over Bill's bed in the hospital wing. And of course Fleur would mother Louis still since he's her only son and youngest; he'll always be her baby. One of my aunts is like that with my cousin and he's 24 now.

Yeah, death is always sad but I felt it was time for a death to happen to jolt all the characters to reality. More on the werewolf in the next chapter. Also, politics. Ooh la la.

Thanks for reviewing, Sarah! :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #21, by WeasleyTwins Decision

31st July 2013:
Hello Leslie! I'm finally here!

You know, I really enjoy your take on Louis. I've read tons of Next Gen, but it seems that I never get to read a really good story about Louis. He's always air-headed or Mr. Big-Strong-and-Handsome. Like he's Gaston or something. Anyway, Louis intrigues me - I like that he's very introspective and you do a great job with those descriptions and thoughts. He's been treated like a child, from what he says, never having been looked up to. Louis has a good head on his shoulders and I think that's rare in fanfiction. I just can't get over how much I love him as narrator and character.

And the bit about Teddy's son? I was awe-struck. I don't know if you'll give us more information or let us get to know them in future chapters, but the possibilities that you've opened up are GENIUS. All I could think about was Remus and how worried he was over passing it to Teddy. It's also shocking information because Teddy wouldn't even think to be worried about something like that because he himself wasn't passed the gene/disease/what-have-you. It's fascinating stuff, Leslie.

(Love the family tree for reference, by the way!). I can't wait to keep reading, Leslie! ♥

Shelby

Author's Response: Awww, thanks, Shelby! I'm so relieved and tickled that you enjoy Louis as a character. I felt he was under appreciated in fanfic a lot of time so I decided to make him the main character in this story. Plus his family background just fit the most perfectly into the plot. He's more connected to it and grounded than any other character would be.

Yeah, you'll definitely learn more about why the gene skipped Teddy (even though he became a carrier of it) and passed on to his son later on. Anything you learned in this first chapter will eventually be elaborated on at some point in the story. You'll also get to see the rest of Louis's immediate family and also there will be a Weasley gathering at the burrow (I've yet to reach that point in the plot, yet, but I know I'll be writing it soon).

Thanks for reviewing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #22, by Gryffin_Duck Falling Into A Schedule

12th July 2013:
I knew nothing happened between them! Poor Hugo, though, having to be taken home by a coworker to sleep it off. I do like him and Elsie together, though, so I hope something comes from that.

Yay, Frank! I hope he talks to Lily. Sounds like Lysander isn't the man for her, but Frank seems so sweet. They'd be good together. I hope to see Lily in the fic soon!

Sounds like Hugo is getting the hang of work, which is good. The image of a guy with a Quaffle up his nose is hilarious. I can only imagine what else Hugo sees when he works spell damage.

I still hope Victoire lets Remus meet Jonah. It'd be so good for both of them. Great chapter! Can't wait for the next! :)

Author's Response: I'm assuming you mean Louis instead of Hugo :P Hahah

Nope, Elsie can take care of herself, that's for sure. And I can see Louis with a woman a few years his senior, too. I wanted to shake it up a bit since most men go for younger women in stories/movies.

More on Frank later. Also I'm planning on writing a chapter at the burrow with the whole clan present... but it'll be a couple more chapters off (probably ch 11 or 12 since I have important plot stuff to write before I get to it).

Yeah, that would be quite a funny image. Thanks for reviewing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #23, by Gryffin_Duck An Unexpected Night

3rd July 2013:
Hi Leslie! Haha, I told you you'd have to remind me. :P I'm still in post-LeakyCon exhaustion, but I'm very glad you reminded me to read and review! This chapter is one of my favorites so far.

I love the idea of Remus visiting Jonah, and the scene where Louis asked Victoire gave a lot of good insight into both of their characters. Louis reminded me of a whiny little brother when he was begging Victoire, which he probably is sometimes considering he has two older sisters. And Victoire is so protective of Remus, but that's a good thing, especially considering he's a werewolf. Still, I think it would be good for both Remus and Jonah for the two of them to meet. I hope Victoire says yes!

Yay, Albus and Rose! I'm glad they got some time in the fic. Rose's line about the werewolf possibly being a girl was great, and very Rose (or at least how I imagine her). I definitely see Albus as a workaholic, too.

Ooo, Louis and Elsie!!! I have a feeling nothing actually happened, but I could be wrong. Still, I like the two of them together since I can see Louis with a girl a little older. Great chapter and I can't wait for the next! :)

Author's Response: You still got here eventually ♥ And I'm glad this was one of your favorites because I greatly enjoyed writing it.

I loved writing that scene between Victoire and Louis. Any sibling scenes I write are always fun for me. I guess because I model it on how I am with my sister and cousins (I have 8 cousins on my mom's side that I grew up playing with on a fairly regular basis; and of those 8 I lived next door to 3 so we basically saw them every day).

Yeah, no way around that. Albus is definitely the type to grow into a workaholic. I've just always seen him as being more studious out of the Potter children; more driven like Harry. And I imagine Rose as being a mirror of her mom, but still with the stubbornness of her father in her.

Glad you like Louis and Elsie together because there's more to come with them. ♥ Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #24, by SilentConfession Decision

27th June 2013:
Hey!

This is a wicked beginning. I really got a sense of Louis here and i love that because i'm already connected to him as a character. Which is cool that you were able to pack so much characterization within a single chapter and yet I didn't feel like it was an overload either. The best thing, for me, is having good characters in your story. I don't mean they have to be on the good side or necessarily even likable but if they are well thought out, rounded, and human then the story is loads better. It makes me want to continue reading.

You've done that here. You've made this really interesting character. He's analytical, he's introverted but it doesn't mean he can't talk your ear off, he loves his family, he has a big heart. You introduce some of these characteristics gradually and subtly and all the while you are also introducing the plot and increasing tension. There's a werewolf on the lose and who better and more connect than Louis to help with the team? I like how you've made it personal for him, his nephew is a werewolf, his brother in law's father was one, and his father was bitten by one. There's a lot of questions for me of where this is going and what to expect but i love that and it's a really lovely way to set the scene.

I'm sorry this review focussed so much on Louis but I like what you've done with him and that there is a story that is featuring him as a main character! I shall be back to review some more :)

-zayne

Author's Response: Aww, thanks, Zayne! ♥ I'm so happy to hear that you're enjoying Louis's character already. I hope you continue to enjoy the story when you come back to read more. I really wanted to write a fic from one of the next gen characters that often are pushed to the background because their minds aren't explored as often as say James Sirius's, Albus Severus's, Lily Luna's, Rose's, Molly II's, or Scorpius's. And it makes me happy to know that I've created a character in Louis that is fitting for the plot and makes you like him the more you learn about him as a character. Thanks again for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Gryffin_Duck A Pattern

10th May 2013:
Finally had time to read this! I'm glad Louis got introduced to the rest of the team. Maybe now he'll be able to settle in and figure out his place amongst them. And hopefully his finding the pattern of the locations will help him prove his worth!

Aw, I think Louis's fondness for Jonah will only aid in the search, despite Elsie's views. I think it'll make Louis more determined to find the culprit! Great chapter and I can't wait for the next! :)

Author's Response: Thanks, Sarah! Louis does have quite the heart and I wanted to show that by making him great with kids. Even if the pattern doesn't end up being a new revelation in the werewolf case, it's still Louis's first revelation that he makes toward committing himself to the research. (:

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>