Reading Reviews for humpty dumpty sat on a wall
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by arcanum Torture and Insanity

28th July 2013:
I love it! This is such a brilliantly written story! And the ending in St. Mungo's just broke my heart. Agh! Well done :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the lovely review! I did aim to get a tear out of people, since that's what Alice and Frank's story always does to me every time I hear it.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Sakurasou Torture and Insanity

22nd April 2013:
This one shot made me tear up. The rhythm and style are so well paced, it reads in a really interesting way.

The end is just heartbreaking. Neville receiving one of the wrappers for the first time. Its so sad and heart warming knowing that so many years later he still treasures them.

This is a really amazing one shot. Loved it.

Author's Response: Hello! Sorry it's taken me forever to reply :P Thanks so much for the lovely review! The Longbottom story is such a sad and sweet one, so I'm glad to hear that I've done it justice ;) The wrappers is such a powerful image- they're Neville's connection to his parents it seemed like a fitting end.

Thanks again for taking the time to review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by GingeredTea Torture and Insanity

11th April 2013:
From the review tag!

This was simple in it's flow which just added to its heart wrenching quality. I loved the ending, because it is very difficult to describe a mind that has't got anything in it and you did that so well. The scene with Neville was tear-jerking. Wonderful job!

Author's Response: Hey :D Sorry I'm so late in replying to this!

I'm glad you found it heart wrenching and tear jerking, that was the aim after all, to make sure that everyone of HPFF dissolved into tears :P Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by adluvshp Torture and Insanity

5th April 2013:
Here for review tag!

OMG this was such a powerful one-shot. I am almost on the verge of tears now =( You're truly a gifted writer.

This was a very emotionally intense and heartbreaking piece. There are not many stories (that I've come across) about Alice and Frank, and especially not about their "insanity/torture" period, so this was a refreshing read for me. I liked your portrayal of the couple, and how they seemed to love each other and care for each other so much.

I loved how you depicted the cruciatus (sp?) pain as fire. The part where Frank thinks/says that silence is rewarded with fire and that it's better to take it because it can't last forever and eventually it would burn them - that just struck a chord. So, you really did an amazing job with your descriptions and imagery throughout.

I also liked the writing style to depict the insanity and the torture, it was very fitting for the mood of the story. The part where Alice holds baby Neville and is unable to figure out who he is and yet feels a connection to him was just so beautiful and tragic, gah! You really brought out the emotions so well!

The end was very suited as well. "Why". That one word really says so much. It is so powerful as it really expresses that the suffering, the pain of the war is for what? Really, very powerful and intense.

All in all, this was truly a great piece of writing. The emotions, descriptions, flow, writing style, plot, character portrayal - everything was perfect and I really loved it. I am so glad I got the chance to read this story.

Great job!
10/10
Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hey Aditi!

I'm on the verge of tears now...just hearing that I'm a gifted writer has me on a high :P Thanks so much!

Alice and Frank's story is one that really hit me hard when I read it in HP. Their story is a real tragedy and makes me just want to cuddle a teddy bear whenever I think of it.

I couldn't think of it in any other way, a fire that just burns through the body, coursing through the blood. Descriptions are probably the most tricky part of writing for me- sometimes I just feel as if I've written it or read it before, and no one likes reading 'her eyes were as blue as the sky' again, so I'm glad you liked it!

Mothers have a connection to their children and it's a connection that I feel will never be lost. Even if Alice has an addled brain, she will still have an affinity to Neville and I wanted to portray that at the end ;)

It's a powerful question that we overuse. In this application, I wanted it to be as poignant as possible, because this is a tragedy and I wanted to do it justice by making the reader realise that the fighting is pointless.

Thank you so so so much for the review! Made my day :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by LilyLunaPotter17 Torture and Insanity

15th February 2013:
There aren't many stories that could make me feel emotional (heart of stone, me) but yours was one of the few that did. I've always pondered on the subject of Alice and Frank, but I've never really gone as far as after their torture.

It's so sad that Neville was like a stranger to Alice. Yet she still had that feeling only mothers get about their babies. It was so simple yet so ... effective.

AND IT WAS BEAUTIFUL!! you're really good at writing sad! x

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review dear! I think I have to write more depressing, sad stories now ;)

 Report Review

Review #6, by patronus_charm Torture and Insanity

14th February 2013:
I saw you status on the forums and Iím so glad that I stopped by this was just so powerful. Wow, is all I can really say about this.

I really liked the analogy with Humpty Dumpty as it does show you how easily something can be broken beyond repair, and as much as you try and fix it there really isnít anything you can do about it.

Alice and Frankís love for one another just seemed so pure and true, and you could tell how deeply they cared for one another. It brought tears to my eyes, over how they were both trying to save one another, yet refusing to be saved as they knew it would sacrifice the other one.

Then the scene when Alice is holding Neville, and knowing that she has a connection with this baby, but doesnít know why or how. Itís just heart-breaking really, and it shows you how much Neville had to suffer, and why he had so many insecurity issues.

The ending was probably the most powerful part of the story, and it showed you how pointless all the fighting and war was. The way you left it on why, just asked the question everyone wanted to ask themselves. Why? Why all of this suffering, and killing, and for what end result? It was just such a powerful ending, and all thanks to a single word.

I thought this was a superb one-shot, and Iím so glad that I clicked on the link, as it was just so moving, and it made you really attached to Alice and Frank, and it makes you look at their story in a different light. A definite 10/10, Kiana :D

Author's Response: Hey Kiana, thanks so much for the review! Nursery rhymes are really quite haunting when you look at the lines :P I'm glad that you're glad you clicked on the link ;)

 Report Review

Review #7, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Torture and Insanity

14th February 2013:
Hello :)

I saw your status so I thought I'd pop by! Wow - what a powerful one-shot! You really broke my heart. I think Alice and Franks story is so tragic but can sometimes be overlooked - you certainly made an amazing job of writing this!

The love they have for each other just shows through so plainly, even when they're not saying anything. In the insanity section the way Alice gave him the purple wrappers. It was just so sweet and lovely while still tearing my heart in two. You wrote that section particularly well. The child like quality they have is very well written.

I thought you did an amazing job of describing the effects of the cruciatus curse - not an easy thing to do. You kept them both strong though until the end - Frank spitting in Rodolphus's face and not screaming and Alice trying to protect her husband. The line ''Take the fire Alice' he pleaded. 'The fire can't last forever; soon, we'll be burnt beyond repair'.' really got to me as of course, this is what did happen.

I liked that you included the bit with Neville. Again, it was so tragic to read; Neville's story is as sad as Harry's really, if not worse in a way. He gets to see his parents but they don't have any recognition of him - so awful. It was nice though that Alice almost recognised him, or at least felt something for him. The best that could be hoped for in this situation.

Well done on such a heartbreaking one-shot!

Lauren :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review Lauren! Alice and Frank's story gets me every time, I had to dedicate a one shot to them because sometimes they're glossed over ;)

 Report Review

Review #8, by CassiePotter Torture and Insanity

14th February 2013:
Wow.
This one-shot was gorgeous. It was so well-written, and you did a wonderful job putting emotion into it without overdoing things. I loved the way you described the cruciatus curse as being fire, and how you wrote the Longbottoms' transition into insanity. The end was really haunting, and I loved that even though they didn't know who Neville was, Frank and Alice still felt something for him. This was really amazing. Beautiful job! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hey Cassie! Thanks so so much for the review dear! I'm glad you found it haunting, it means I've succeeded ;)

 Report Review

Review #9, by ValWitch21 Torture and Insanity

14th February 2013:
Oh my God. This is one of the best written and most moving one-shots I've ever read.

It's so perfect, and beautiful, and I'm at loss for words.

You write Frank and Alice so amazingly -- what else can I say? This was flawless through and through.

&hearts

Author's Response: Ah, I'm glad you think it's moving! I was so apprehensive about this because I wanted to do Alice and Frank justice so hearing this is great ;) Thanks for the review hun :D

 Report Review

Review #10, by Siriusly89 Torture and Insanity

14th February 2013:
Oh gosh! This one-shot. . . . . its so simple and beautiful and. . . . . wow!

The beginning is very sad, what with the description of them being crucio-ed. They really did love each other, and it really shows in this. The title was very well chosen, because they did end up as broken people.

The last part was the piece that really affected me! The use of the colour purple was really well done. The bubblegum wrappers, and the flowers. I like how the first bit is kind of told from Franks point of view, but then we transfer over to Alice's for the second.

Her feeling as if there was something missing was really sad too, because even though she's lost her mind, she still remembers her son, somewhere deep down!

Brilliant! 10/10! I loved it! :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! *squishes* I've never written sad before, but Alice and Frank's story kinda just compelled me to...

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login