Reading Reviews for Holding On
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Cannons 1

1st May 2015:
Hi, here for our review swap!

I think this is a first for me, reading about the next gen being parents and imagining 'nana Hermione' at the platform.

Your writing is really polished and Stori's voice came through nicely. Her friend group seems dynamic and fun as well.

I thought it was interesting that she had a rather neutral opinion on which house she had ended up in. I'm interested to see if the house rivalry is still as prevalent now that quite a large time period has passed.

A good start and I think you will see me again with another review soon!


Author's Response: Hi Fin!
I had to keep reminding myself that the Golden Trio were now grandparents! But I think it's fun to think about the Next Gen having kids.
I'm glad you like Stori and her friends. They're always fun to write. The house rivalry is brought up in the next chapter if you're curious.
Thank you so much for the review swap! And I'm really happy you liked this so much!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 5

9th April 2015:
Aaron seems really nice. Now you've probably noticed that I write a lot of drama and sadness, so I tend not to trust characters I read (or write) straight away. But I hope he stays a good guy and that he and Vienna are good. Considering how much they really seem to like each other.

I love that Stori draws. I'm totally seeing a future career in that... if she can do it. I love Aspen, we're totally the same. I can't sit still either. I'd hate it if someone asked me to model for them.


I can't wait to meet Matthew! And to see more of Jude.

Loved this chapter.


Author's Response: I think because I've read so much of your stuff, I don't trust characters I read or write right away, either. Haha. I have two directions that I'm thinking about going with Aaron, and I haven't decided yet which one I like better...
I have a really good friend who is exactly like Aspen. She's either asleep or bouncing off the walls!
I KNEW YOU WOULD LOVE MATTHEW. And yes, you did see Darcy! Matthew is Louis and Darcy's son (who she gets pregnant with in You and Me!) so you'll see them around at some point.
Thank you for another lovely review! I can't wait for you to meet Matthew, either.
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 4

8th April 2015:
I love how close Stori and Vienna are. And the others, of course. But the backstory on those two was awesome to read, gave me more of a sense of their friendship and I imagine they'll be the friend who last (so I'll be very sad if they don't).

Haha! Can Chris actually date a girl? I guess we will see. I hope he can though, mostly to see if he can actually take money off Vienna instead of giving it away. :P

SHE SPOKE TO JUDE. AND JUDE SPOKE TO HER. AND THE END. I so hope he meant that, about speaking to her later, rather than just saying it in passing. I can't wait to see more between them.

Loved this chapter.


Author's Response: I love writing Stori and Vienna :) They're different but still as close as can be.
Things with Chris are going to be very fun to write. Even though is a huge flirt, and can come off as kind of a jerk sometimes, I think he's a really endearing character. Especially in a situation like this, where he has no idea what he's doing. Haha.
JUDE! Yay!
Thank you so much for the review, Sam!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 3

8th April 2015:
IM BACK!!! Hi.

I love Chris. I'm just not gonna hide that. He's fun and cool and such a flirt. School doesn't seem to be a big deal to him, so I hope he finds something fun and good to do if that attitude sticks.

I also love the rest of the friends the more I read. And I can't wait to meet more of Stori's family. Daisy sounds cool and the mention of Albus' personality is just spot on, I think. :D

Blaise! ♥ As you noticed from Just the Way You Are, I love Theo so much that I have him everywhere, but Blaise is just as awesome. I'm so glad you have him written in here. He so supportive of Stori, I know that between them she'll find an awesome career.

Loved this chapter.

Onwards, I think! :D


Author's Response: YOUR BACK! Hello. :)
I had a feeling you'd like Chris. He's a major flirt, and very much inspired by one of my best friends, so he's really fun for me to write. Hopefully as the story goes on you'll get to see some other sides to him, too.
I love Blaise, too. I'm glad you're excited that he's going to be a part of this story!
Thank you so so much for the great review, Sam! I'm so glad you're back and enjoying this so much!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by oldershouldknowbetter 1

27th February 2015:
I have up until now avoided stories of the offspring of the Next Generation characters, not from any overtly deliberate intention, but just from hapenstance . Mostly it is because I haven't encountered many and the one's I have have been so strange. I also like, really like, Rose/Scorpius and have had the feeling that stories of their children might 'interfere' with their paring somehow.

Glad was I to have my worries proved to be groundless. This is an engaging and entertaining story made moreso by the interesting parallels to the usual Rose storyline. It follows the tropes of a lot of the Next Gen fictions, but the subtle variations make it a thing unto itself; it is like a postscript for the Next Generation.

On to the story itself.

I like how you have woven the two different time periods together. You have drawn similarities between the two to good effect; to wit, how the nenervousness she felt around her sorting parallels the way she feels about her future. That it turned out for the best then gives her hope for events to come.

One thing I would have liked to have seen you include , if I can beg a small CC, is the conversation between the Hat and Stori. It would have provided some nice detail and a reason/justification for her sorting into Slytherin.

I like how you haven't bothered to include anything of the years between her sorting and this, her seventh year - it is all just so much noise and is unnecessary for the story you wish to tell. It happened, she learned some magic, she made some friends; apart from a few remembrances - like 'I got this in my owl's and 'I had a boyfriend in such and such year' - nothing more is necessary.

Speaking of friends you introduce them all and very well. With only a few lines devoted to each, we get a good feel for what they are like and the part they'll play in Stori's life and hence the story.

Similarly, I liked the way you handled the adults. We don't learn that much about any of them, but they all have their own voices and anyway none of them have much to do with the story; they are there as necessary background.

A good start to a story and I feel I've cheated you a bit with our review swap because, ultimately, all I've said is that it is a beginning and it has done exactly what a beginning should do - introduce our heroine and the major supporting characters and leave us wanting for more.


Author's Response: Hi Andrew!
I'm so glad you liked the opening chapter of this story! I don't see Next-Next Gen a lot, but I've really enjoyed writing it because I can really make the characters my own. I'm glad that I've changed your mind about reading this era, too! I think it's really fun to read since people can be so original with it. I love Scorpius and Rose too, so I'm definitely taking care not to mess with the pairing too much.
I'm glad you thought this did a good job introducing where Stori is in her life and who her friends are and whatnot. Opening chapters are hard because you have to draw your reader in while setting up plot, characters, etc, so I'm so glad that you thought this chapter did that well! Thank you so much for the lovely review!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Gabriella Hunter 2

29th November 2013:

I'm back and I decided that I would try and get caught up on this story before I'm shipped off back home. *Sigh*
So anyway, I really love Stori's large family and the descriptions you gave for them all were really good, though brief. I think that you have so much room to explore what you do with it and I really can't wait to see more of them.
The explanation on who she was related to and both sides of her family were really well done. I'm glad that you didn't shy away from the ignorance either that could come from both sides and I'm curious to see if that might play a bigger part later on. :D
So, her friends are great too, the banter was just too hilarious! I wonder if Stori is going to have the courage to talk to the guy that she likes though? I want to see him and her getting a nice conversation on but she's so shy! Argh, I want to see how that develops!
Its also curious to see how undecided she is about what she wants to do with her life. I think that's also a nice touch for her character, I usually don't see much of that sort of thing in these stories so I'm eager to see where you go with it. :D
I didn't catch any CC's and I'm really looking forward to seeing more of this story. I think I'm going to look at the next chapter now, actually so be warned!
Much love,

p.S.: Blastoria is back up! I know you'll love it!

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie! I am so, so sorry it's taken me this long to respond to your review! I've just been ridiculously busy!
I'm so happy you like Stori so far! She's really fun for me to write! And I love exploring her relationships with her family since its so big and famous, and since the views associated with both her Mum and Dad's sides are so different. I think it would be really tough to have to deal with that growing up, so I really wanted to touch on that while starting to show you guys who Stori is as a person.
I'm so glad you like her friends, too! They are quite the bunch, and I love getting to experiment with banter and putting their different personalities together.
Overall, Stori is a blast to write, so I'm thrilled that you like this story so far! Thank you so much for the wonderful review!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 2

21st July 2013:
Hey, Cassie! Sorry my coming back took so long!

Stori's friends are so awesome; everything's so natural and carefree with them, their banter is sassy and sarcastic is and adorable. I wanna be their friends! :D

Aww, Stori has a crush. I can't wait to see what happens there with Jude, even though I'm kinda starting to love Andrew. Just a little. ;)

Some people are so mean, I'm so glad she learnt to get past it and that it eventually stopped and that her friend cursed someone for her. And that James and Roxy taught her things she could use (I was a tiny bit confused as to who they were for a moment, because it said aunt and uncle and they're her second cousins - it was a very odd moment for me. I was like duh! :P Calling them aunt and uncle make me think they're all very close, though; I like that. :D)

I love that they're thinking of their future; it's a hard and scary choice when you stop and think and I'm glad she's really thinking about it. Andrew's choice to go into law, whether he sticks to it or not, is a great choice!

This chapter was so good, Cassie!


Author's Response: Hi Sam!
That's fine that you didn't get here right away! I'm just happy you wanted to keep up with this story in the first place! :)
I love writing Stori with her friends, because they're all very different (which will become more clear as the story goes on) but they all mesh together really well. I love writing this from Stori's perspective partially because she's the "responsible one" and is a little more serious than some of her friends. *cough* Chris *cough* Haha.
And we've now met Jude! He'll come back soon and you'll get to know him a tiny bit better!
I think being related to so many famous people who moved the Wizarding World along so much would be hard, especially because of the feelings blood purity that are changing. And as for Stori calling her second cousins Aunt and Uncle- that's something I do with my family, because we're all so close, and I've heard of some other people doing that as well, so I thought Stori would do that because her family is so close. I'll explain that later on in the story so people don't get confused! Haha.
I'm so happy you like this story and have decided to stick with it! Thank you so much for the sweet review, Sam!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Owlpost68 4

12th July 2013:
Ahh the joys of dating lol.
I'm glad it seems like Jude's a nice guy :)
I have to tell you, I like the idea of this being the next, next generation lol. You got to make up your own names, and who's related to who from the 'originals' so to speak. Like Blaise being Potions master was cool. I like Stori, it's a cool name, and a fun character. Chris is funny too, and I like Andrew he has the sarcastic sense of humor, and seems more grounded.
This was a cute chapter, and left us wondering what will happen next.
Good job!

Author's Response: Hello!
I'm so glad you like the Next-Next Gen kids! I love coming up with the characters and who they're related to! It's also really fun to write Harry's generation as grandparents! Haha. I'm thrilled that you like Stori! Her name comes from a possible nickname for Astoria, which is her grandmother's name. And I'm so happy you like Jude, Chris, and Andrew! They definitely aren't going anywhere! I hope you like where the story goes from here, and thank you so much for reading and reviewing!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by teh tarik 3

10th May 2013:
Hi Cassie!

Sorry for taking such a long time coming back to this story. I follow quite a lot of stories and I'm not the greatest at keeping up :)


Can I just say that I really really love Professor Zabini? He's honestly the coolest teacher ever; he's relaxed and kind and ahhmygaarsh he's so fun and sporting giving fighting tips like that. I want to go to Slytherin now to meet him.

Also loved how you started the chapter with the letter from Astoria (I'm assuming Stori is named after her grandmother?) - and that little bit about Astoria having the tendency to spoil her grandchildren.

There are all these references to Stori's huge family - she has her brother, Fabian, who has yet to appear, and then Daisy Potter - Albus' daughter. There are references to George and Ron and so on. I think these constant mentions of her large and varied family is pretty important - while it gives a picture of this huge, happy, messy messy, it also subtly conveys some of Stori's feelings: that she might be feeling a little swamped, struggling beneath the chaotic rhythms of the extended family and perhaps the huge weight of everyone's expectations on her. After all, there are some serious overachievers in the Potter-Weasley-Malfoy clan. And most of them were hugely successful (George with his shop, even Ron is on a chocolate card). Maybe Stori feels a disconnect with them sometimes - I don't know. I think she might - which is why she hangs out with people other than her cousins. The little conversation she had with Daisy came off as somewhat formal rather than relaxed and casual: "Hi Daisy! I've missed you so much. How are you?"

Anyway, I've really enjoyed this chapter! I hope to see more of Stori's life unfolding and the characterisations of your other OCs developing over the next few chapters! Great work :)

teh ♥

Author's Response: Hi teh!
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! It really made me smile to read it, and I'm thrilled that you're enjoying this story so far! This doesn't get read as much as some of my other stories have, so I really appreciate the feedback!
I'm so happy that you're a fan of Zabini! He's fun for me to write, especially with Stori, because they're so close, and I can show a more relaxed, nice side of him.
I loved writing the letter from Astoria! And yes, that's where Stori gets her name! I think Astoria would really love chances to dote on her grandchildren, and I can picture her picking out presents and sweets to send to Stori, Fabian, and their friends, just because she loves them so much!
And Stori's family is a really important part of this story. They're a really central part of why she is the way she is, and now that she has to decide on a career after Hogwarts, they're being mentioned more than ever! I think it would be really hard to be in her position, just because she has all these people to live up to. It's like how Ron felt with all those older brothers. There's a lot of pressure!
And that conversation with Daisy was interesting for me to write... It did feel kind of awkward to me, but I wanted to keep it that way in the end, because I really didn't want Stori to be super close with all of her family. Since she's one of the quieter ones, I think she would have a few cousins that she's really close to, but others that she doesn't spend as much time with, and Daisy is one of them. Not that they don't love each other, it's just that they haven't grown to be as close, if that makes sense.
I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter, and I hope you like where I go next with this story!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by teh tarik 2

17th March 2013:
Hello Cassie ♥

This chapter was lovely. It's so...relatable. So real. Stori in her final year of school trying to decide what she wants to do with her life. Sigh. I think many of us have been able to relate to this at some point. It's just such a big thing for someone about to step out into the real world, and I think you've done well in portraying Stori's state of uncertainty. Also, I'm glad you went into some detail about the current situation of all that Weasley-Malfoy rivalry and how this has become so famous in the wizarding world (but of course this is beginning to die down...). Ooh, Blaise Zabini is a professor and the head of SLytherin house :D

I love the casual and friendly interactions between her and her mates. It's such a warm lovely scene and of course I enjoyed all the banter between them.

Also, that part at the beginning where it's written that Stori sits at her exact same spot each year since her sorting - it just says so much about her character. I sort of think that she's someone who likes constancy and stability in her life, and that she's about to enter into a challenging year, before stepping into an uncertain future. I can tell she's going to be pushed to her limits a little this year :P

So anyway, lovely chapter! I think your story is coming along wonderfully and I'm enjoying it a lot. Hope you update this soon :)


Author's Response: Hi teh! I'm so glad you came back for Chapter 2 of this story!
I'm thrilled that you found it relatable! I'm trying to make Stori and her friends characters that anyone could picture hanging around, and being friends with themselves, so I'm so glad that you found this chapter really real!
I'm also glad that you can sympathize with Stori, who is having a tough time decided what to do with her life, which is definitely a huge step in anyone's life! And as for the Weasley-Malfoy rivalry, I felt like that would be something that Stori would struggle with, because even though her mother married into the Malfoy family, Stori and her brother and the only two that are born as both Weasleys and Malfoys, and that has to be thoug to deal with!
I'm really happy that you enjoyed this chapter! Thank you so much for the great review!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by teh tarik 1

15th March 2013:
Hello Cassie :D

So I saw the link to your new story on the forums and came round to check it out. Gah! Your writing is so smooth as always. It's just got a really lovely pitch , and there's a very nice simplicity to it. And I think you've done a great job in bringing out Stori's voice so clearly and so beautifully.

I haven't read any stories where the Trio are now grandparents. Wow, it really does feel strange imagining Ron and Hermione as elderly folks! And it's lovely to see that all that Gryffindor vs Slytherin or Weasley vs Malfoy drama has died down quite a bit with Scorpius and Rose's marriage. And it's going to interesting seeing Stori as a Slytherin :D

I really love the way she thinks back to her first memory of Hogwarts, which isn't much in all that heavy rain. It's such a lovely detail, and I think you really have the knack for writing these realistic detailed moments.

So anyway, this will be a short review! But I will come back (either tonight or tomorrow) to read and review your other chapter. I love the lightness in the tone of your story; this is such a nice contrast to all the angst I usually read :D So, great start! And I'll be back soon for more!



Author's Response: Hi teh! I'm so glad you decided to read this story!
It is strange to think of the trio as grandparents, but it's also fun to write because I can work out how I think their family has grown, and it's so much fun to give them grandchildren! And I think once the war was over, a lot of prejudice would have died down, and Scorpius and Rose getting married just reaffirms that.
I struggled with where Stori would be sorted for a while, but in the end I just thought that she would be put in Slytherin, because even though she isn't bad, she has the determination and ambition of both of her parents that I think would make her end up there.
I'm so glad that you've decided to come back for chapter 2 and I really hope you enjoy it! You'll get more of Stori's friends in that chapter!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 1

11th February 2013:
Ooh, it's interesting reading Next-Next-Gen stories. I love it, it's so different because I don't read many, I don't see many, and I'm so glad I picked this one.

I love Stori and her friends, they all seem so natural and fun together. I can't wait to see how their relationship progresses throughout the story, as well as how the story itself progresses. I think I particularly love Christopher, he seems so cocky but fun to be around.

I also love that she seems to have a close relationship with her family. I can't wait to read more of them.

Great start, Cassie! I'm very excited for more!


Author's Response: Hi Sam! I'm so glad you picked this to read! Since it's a brand new story for me, I'm really excited to get into the thick of things with it!
I'm really glad you liked Stori and her friends! I had a ton of fun writing them, and they're going to be around all the time in future chapters :) Chris is fun, simply for the reason that he's so cocky! Haha
I'm so glad you enjoyed the first chapter! Thank you so much for the review!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Gabriella Hunter 1

6th February 2013:

Look, first reviewer! Look, world, I'M the first reviewer for this new story. Mwhahahahha. :D
I'm so happy.
Anyway, on to this! So I really like this already, I think you've set up your new female lead in a simple, easy way without all the drama and angst and all the delicious stuff we love. Stori's narration (I see what you did there! Blaise is pleased) was very easy to follow and I liked the bit of foreshadowing you gave in the beginning. Already, she was hinting at things to come and I got the feeling that, with the brief flashback you gave of her Sorting, that things would only get more interesting as I read on. :3
She seems like a really practical girl and I like that about her, she doesn't seem to have her head in the clouds either. And thanks for making her blonde by the way, its always nice seeing a Weasley offspring without red hair. And it gives her more of an edge I think, but maybe that's just me and I'm thinking about her dad? Hm. But there's some sort of spunk that can be brought out a little more but I think I'm going to have to keep reading to see. ;)
I loved the family dynamics that you showed in this chapter too. There wasn't any of that cliche tension between Ron and Scorpius about him being a Malfoy and they honestly seem very happy. :D
That's always great to see.
So, her group of friends! You've got some interesting characters going on here and I'd love to know more about them and their backstories. :D
Is there something going on with her and Andrew perhaps? :3
Oh, the questions...
And way to leave a cliff hanger too! I was enjoying the happiness and you threw in some trouble with that last quote! Can't wait to read on! :D
Really enjoyed this and I only spotted like, a few grammar things at the end but other than that it was smooth sailing. :D
Great job!
On my end, I might be tossing one-shots your way because I'm having a block. Stay patient! :D
Much love,

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie! I'm thrilled that you're the first review for this new story! I'm really glad that you and Baise like Stori as a lead, and that you're enjoying her narration. She's a fun character, just because she's such a real teenage girl, who has some extraordinary circumstances in her life (like going to Hogwarts) and you're seeing how she deals with them on a daily basis.
I'm really glad you liked that I made her blonde! Both the Malfoys and the Weasleys have such distinctive hair, that I went back and forth for a while, but I could picture her better blonde, and ended up coming back to it so often, that that's what I decided on!
I'm so glad you like her family and her friends! Her friends are really fun, because they're all such big personalities, and there will be plenty more of them for you to read, so you'll be able to get to know them.
I'm so glad you enjoyed this story, and I hope that you like where I go with it. And I have a new banner for it now, too! I'm not sure what I want to update next, but I'll keep you posted! See you on the forums!
Cassie :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login