Reading Reviews for Reason to Fight
  
114 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore Puanteur

1st January 2014:
Val! ♥ I actually completely forgot that this had been updated, but I'm trying to catch up now, so you get a New Year's review!

Ah, each time I read a new chapter of this story I'm reminded of how brilliant it is and how much I love it. This time was no different at all.

I'm still a bit confused about whether or not Simon is the only wizard in his family, or whether Sarah is as well. And the wand in the toilet brush - who did it belong to? Have they stopped someone else from escaping? I was so happy to see them getting out and away from the concentration camp though, even though only two of them have made it out. Of course, it couldn't have been a simple escape and poor Simon had to splinch himself, but I suppose they should really be thankful for the fact they've managed to get out of the camp and to safety. I think the story of Simon has probably been the most heart-breaking and poignant so far, although all of them are really moving. But I think the fact that these characters sort of show lots of different aspects of what was happening to people during the war is really effective, and seeing Sarah, who doesn't seem able to fight back at the moment, is really poignant.

The flashback was, once again, really well placed and well chosen. It was so moving to read about Deborah, and I really can't imagine what it must be like for her to be in a situation where it might be better for your baby to be stillborn rather than born alive, because you fear so much what might happen to it if it lives. It really emphasises how awful the effects of the war are and how fearful and terrified those families were. That just makes it even sadder and more upsetting to read about.

I was definitely not expecting that last part to happen! Grindelwald? I've always wondered if he was part of the reason behind the fighting in the war, since the dates coincide so much; I wonder now if he is behind it, or if the French Ministry is somehow going to try and enlist his help to fight the Muggle war? Either way, I don't think that it can be a good thing that Goldberg's talking to Grindelwald - I don't trust the Minister anyway, let alone when I find out he's in secret and important talks with people like Grindelwald! Although it was a good thing that he wasn't creepy with Astrid because he was trying to remain professional after that...

Another great chapter, lovely!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by teh tarik La Rafle

25th December 2013:
Vaaal! ♥ Merry Christmas, lovely!! Aahhh, it has been inexcusably long since I came back to this fic, and OK, I deserve to be sent off a cliff for this. This is old stuff, but CONGRATS YET AGAIN for winning the Dobby for this story! It's certainly one of the most original fics I've seen on the site, and one of the most gripping.

Ugh, this chapter! :( :( I don't even know where to start with how painful some of the things are here. Starting with the Ziegler family and the round-up. There are just so many details that make that part difficult to read, from the extreme way Adele Blanc reacted to the situation, and of Simon's mother giving brith to a stillborn son, probably in terribly harrowing conditions as well, how Joseph Ziegler probably died a very violent death as well at the hands of Nazis...the worst is the irony of those words Simon tells his family: the Nazis are not monsters, or even Joseph declaring that they are French citizens and that no harm will come to them. The use of irony here is so, so effectual; it's brutal and it makes the whole scene really heartbreaking, knowing exactly what the Zieglers are heading into. There are so many tiny details that you included that really spoke volumes about the characters: Sarah's bedwetting habits and how she seems to have regressed in her behaviour due to psychological stress. It's been so long since I read any of your writing that I've forgot how good you are at including these tiny details to really complement the depictions of your characters, making them such vivid and realistic figures. Well done.

Simon and Johanna!! Wow, I have to read more on this.

And gah, that scene with the characters acting like a bunch of children scrambling and fighting for that letter (with the exception of grumpy old Jean lol :P ) made me giggle a bit. It certainly took the tense edge off the story, at least for a few moments. I'm imagining that dangerous bunch of hardened fighters in a pile on the floor, and Camille standing coolly over them with her wand and the letter. Lovely sene!

Ugh, Astrid, what is she getting into.

Something nags at the back of her head, and she cannot help but cringe as she remembers the feel of the Minister's lips resting on the back of her hand.

^ There's something so creepy about this, I don't even know what to say. Something's just not right about everything, and I'm half-afraid to find out whhyyy...and the school where she's been sent to sounds like a terrifying place. I really can't wait to find out more.

Fantastic chapter, Val! I'm so glad to be able to catch up with this story again :D Merry Christmas again, yay! Have a great one! ♥

teh

 Report Review

Review #3, by Courtney Dark L'Envolée

7th December 2013:
Wow, this was such a great chapter!

I really enjoyed Astrid's point of view because there was this beautiful...simplicity about it. I am slightly worried about this German Lieutenant because I'm sure that nothing good can come from Astrid being around him! And Astrid seems such a basically good, peaceful person that I don't want anything bad to happen to her! I mean, I don't want anything to happen to the other characters, but I have a bit of a soft spot for Astrid.

Aw, Simon. I think you've written his thoughts and feelings on his new, horrible life really well. My heart is just breaking for him!

Aaah, the Camille and Xavier scene was just perfect! It is obvious they both have clear feelings for each other, but both are slightly afraid of taking the next step. But I just loved how you combined the touch of romance and then the whole war situation AND magic, with the healing spell and Astrid's talking patronus. It was a great scene, and very well written!

For fairly obvious reasons, Simon's last POV was my favourite. The way you described Esther's death...my heart felt like it was about to break in two, it was so well done! But they found a wand! Hidden in a toilet brush! I am curious to know more about that but for now all I can hope is that Simon and Sarah's escape mission was successful. It all just seems too good to be true, so I'm more than a tad concerned right now!

This story is just so good!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Courtney Dark Entrée par effraction

2nd December 2013:
I'm back! Woo! Sorry I took such a ridiculously long time to get to this chapter, I can't believe there are three new chapters that I haven't read!

Ahh, this chapter was just so good. You are seriously amazing at writing this time period - it just seems so real and so genuine - that must have taken a lot of research! And you are also great at adding magic into the war.

I absolutely loved the thought processes that Johanna and Camille went through to free Jean - all the potions and spells - it was just so exciting to read!

The break-in was definitely my favourite part of the chapter. I loved all the little details you added in, like the fact that Johanna's badges were on the wrong side, but I also loved the first bit, with Johanna trying to heal Xavier. Again, the reason I loved this was because it was so detailed, and we got to see the whole process, and the magic means Johanna used to help her! It was just so cool, that's the only word I can think of to describe it!

Awesome chapter!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #5, by patronus_charm Puanteur

25th November 2013:
VAL! HEY! I read this the day it was validated but I’ve finally managed to get rid of my laziness and review :P

Oh, Sarah ♥ She really broke my heart here. She just seemed so weak both mentally and physically, and I think the point which showed that the most is when she was grasping for that memory of Camille and could only just hold onto it. I thought your portrayal of her was excellent and to me it seemed to be really what a person could have been like if they had escaped from the Nazis.

Every time Camille appears I swear my heart goes all gooey because she’s so lovely and adorable and yeah, I love her and she is my favourite character. She just knew exactly what to do with Sarah and was so sensitive towards it made me realise how wonderful she was. Gah, I just can’t get over how cute and wonderful she is.

The flashback to the Velodrome was heart breaking. Everyone and thing seemed so emancipated and wasting away in there and it was as if I could stench the decay. Deborah’s reaction was so heart breaking to reach that state when you’re glad that your baby has died so it doesn’t have to face the horrors of what’s about to come is a horrible one but so realistic. The way you delve into topics like this which are normally shied away from due to the controversy is really great as it gives the story such an authentic feel and paints an authentic depiction of the war.

Jean’s reaction to what happened just goes to show what great friends they all are. I really do hope they manage to do something for Esther because to have one of them left behind well Sarah is rescued just breaks my heart (stop doing it by the way Val, I’ve said that far too many times for one chapter) and yeah my heart needs time to recover.

The inclusion of Grindelwald was really great and I had been wondering when he would pop up. Does this mean Dumbledore is going to make an appearance in the story then? Astrid’s life is getting even more tense and exciting right now and I hope everything works out for her.

Great chapter, Val!

-Kiana

Author's Response: In an attempt at seeing my unanswered review count go down, I'm responding unchronologically (otherwise this wouldn't be answered before 2014).

Anyway. AWW, KIANA, I REALLY AM SORRY TO BREAK YOUR HEART.

Writing Sarah's scenes breaks my heart every single time, more than any other scene. The others go through the war as well, but they're older and they manage to find things to hold onto. Sarah had nothing after Esther died, and on top of that she's only thirteen.

Ah, Camille! I'm so, so happy you like her (because she's definitely my favourite character even if I shouldn't pick favourites). I'm trying to give her less screen time though, because I feel like the others -- especially the boys -- tend to be dismissed and seen only through her eyes. But don't worry, there'll be a lot of her anyway!

Ugh, the Velodrome scene was horrible to write. There's actually an anecdote about the smell that I based myself off for this. The place was destroyed, but for a movie a set was reconstructed. One of the survivors came to set, and the first thing he commented on when he came in was the stench, when there was actually nothing. It makes you realise how traumatising an experience it must have been...

Grindelwald and Dumbledore might or might no be important, my lips are sealed!

Thank you for such an awesome review lovely! ♥



 Report Review

Review #6, by theblacksisters Le Phare

13th November 2013:
The homosexuals in the Nazi concentration camps were always male. I'm not quite sure why they didn't care about the girls, but I read that in a history book.

Author's Response: Thank you for letting me know! I've gone back and edited, the chapter is now awaiting revalidation.

 Report Review

Review #7, by patronus_charm L'Envolée

3rd October 2013:
Val! ♥

Your use of present tense really adds to the story. It never really stood out to me before until this chapter but it just gives it a really twist especially as it’s a historical story as it feels as if history’s actively happening if that makes sense. It probably doesn’t but I thought I would share it with you anyway.

I adored Astrid’s section! ♥ It just had this wonderful air of simplicity about it with the descriptions of Paris and her thoughts about it and set a really beautiful scene. Astrid just felt so at home there with her absent mindedly passing the Eiffel tower whereas to me I would be running around screaming and whatnot and that gave it an authentic air.

The way you showed how Nazis could be sort of humane with the scene with Maximilian was really interesting. I always find WWII stories which show that side more authentic as there must have been some who had a vague idea of morals and ethics. I have a feeling he might shape Astrid’s life so I’ll be on the lookout for him.

Gah, another piece of fantastic historical accuracy! The way you described all the ersatz-style food was just great. It really showed how they all were wearing down like the food was and that small section with Simon was really poignant about showing the other effects of war. AH! Everything is so sad I can’t handle it!

Camille and Xavier were just ♥ ♡ ♥ So many unsaid things but so perfect things they were. I’m still divided over whether Camille and Astrid are my favourite characters though. Camille has this love torn though conflict going on and she just has this sense of warmness about her which draws me in. As for Astrid, she’s the braver and more girl power one for venturing off into Nazi territory on her own but there’s still this slight remoteness about her. Hmm, I’ll have to read on and wait.

Sarah and Simon were just great! Their dialogue was brilliant, their emotions and reactions were brilliant and so was their eventual escape. Everything seems to be good right now, so something must be coming along to destroy it. I’ll be watching you Val :P Great chapter though!

-Kiana

 Report Review

Review #8, by MissMdsty L'Envolée

1st October 2013:
They made it out! They made it out! I am so happy I could squeal right now!

This chapter brought me back to the first chapters of this story, when we were just getting to know these characters and each chapter had these paragraphs dedicated to just one of them.

I loved the Camille/Xavier part. It gives me the warm and fuzzies. It's like, they are all in this huge storm, but these two have each other to cling to, even if it is on a subconscious level. I think at this point each of them represents the memory of a happier time for each other and I also think this will prove important later on, as the war gets worse and worse.

I can't even begin to comment on the Simon part since it breaks my heart and oh God... it makes my skin crawl.

But the end of this chapter made me so happy! I think it's the first small silver lining we've seen in RtF in a long time. Maybe he'll meet up with the gang and they can all plan a move on the camps?

There are no more chapters? :( Well, I'm finally caught up and I can't wait for the next update, so I'll be sure to ask often! :P Great job, lovely!

 Report Review

Review #9, by MissMdsty Entrée par effraction

1st October 2013:
Awww, I get a special mention! That made me blush! The nominations were well deserved.

The first part of this chapter was something taken from my worst dreams, with the lack of pain killers and everything about it. You would think that who ever gave them these missions would throw in some Healing for Beginners pamphlets.

I liked the part about the potion Camille was making. It's refreshing to be reminded that in the middle of all this chaos and death, these are still witches and wizards who can just whip up a cauldron and mix in some stuff and brew up a Potion. It gave me a very homey feeling.

The action scenes. Oh my God! I wish I could write action like you do! There seems to be such a order and a discipline in everything these characters do and I am so jealous right now of your plotting and scheming abilities!

 Report Review

Review #10, by MissMdsty Je ne t'aime plus

1st October 2013:
Guess who?

First thing's first, you are the first happy recipient of a post-exam review :) Second, this is the first review I've left on the new layout. Isn't this your lucky day?

I really liked the way you incorporated the flashbacks and the periods in which the characters were lost in their own thoughts in the whole of this chapter. It's actually something I appreciate about your writing style, the way in which you incorporate these smaller story arches (like the Camille/Xavier romance) into the main story, which is of course the war and it's impact on the lives of those caught in its path.

I absolutely adored the descriptions with Camille and Xavier in this chapter. It creates such a comfortable and safe environment around the pair and your words were so spot on it made my heart ache for Camille. This, in particular, struck me as something you might read in one of those classic, epic, timeless love stories: "But she'd loved him viscerally, entirely, so badly it had hurt sometimes just to look at him, as if her heart was about to burst out of her chest."

That is just perfection in words. And that ending. Okay, I am super curious what's going to happen so I'm ending my review here and going to see what happens next!

Lovely chapter my dear! As always, great work!

 Report Review

Review #11, by soufflegirl99 L'Envolée

29th September 2013:
This chapter is absolutely amazing, as always, and the words are flowing, and beautiful, and I enjoyed every word of it. This story truly takes you to another place, and when you described where Simon was, it made me cringe and want to stop reading, but I carried on, because it was truly gripping and very moving.


I love how you started the chapter, introducing the scene and Astrid so smoothly. I loved the repitition as well, it really seemed to grasp how fed up and bored she was.
The sentence, "Mission details, mon oeil. Not on a Friday evening at eight." was very funny, and made me chuckle an awful lot! I thought it was very typical Astrid, and I know I've said it before, but the french bits make this story so unique, and it really enriches the story.
The way you put Astrid had to battle with patriotism and comfort, especially I liked the bit about how her toes made the choice for her! :) The way it was akward, and then there was an attempt at conversation, and it really made me want to punch Alban. It was definitely worth Astrid restraining herself though, and it made me completely empathise with her when she did just have to bite her tongue. I loved the horrible note saying 'my pleasure' that was deliciously horrid, and reminded me a bit of Umbridge actually.

Simon is already such a noble and humble and awesome character - the way you describe where he works is horrifying, and especially the depth of the conditions, it must've been beyond freezing for them. I loved the metaphor of the collapsing structure, that was really clever, as it symbolises Simon as well as the house. One small thing and he could collapse.

The most totally-adorable scene EVER was so between Camille/Xavier!! Nothing like an injured man to spice things up a bit...hahah I found it amusing it wasn't like a sexy cut or anything, it was just like a horrible disfigured nose! Still, I reckon romance is going to blossom between them, just one too many shot of alcohol away.it was so nice the way she was so tenderly looking after him, and he was asking after her, and awwwhhh! I might just explode with the awesomeness of this couple! They're so sweet and caring towards each other! I liked the emphasis on the wear and exhaustion of the war on them both, that was pure genius.

How Esther died was very delicately put - you could've gone wrong in quite a few ways, but it was very sensitively put, and of course it would be Sarah that would've seen it. The fact that they would let them work to death in those conditions was horrific enough, but poor 13 year old Sarah, that was just sick. It was so full of suspense and my heart was racing so fast when he could feel the wand in the toilet brush (of all the places, the toilet brush) and when they discovered Simon not being in his place...BRILLIANTLY written!!! I loved the way Sarah said: "take me away from here!"

Altogether, a super chapter, with even more awesome characterisation and touching moments.

Sophie :D

 Report Review

Review #12, by TheGoldenKneazle Entrée par effraction

29th September 2013:
*bombs in with review* HEE.EEY VAL!! I have finished enough revision pages to reward myself with this chapter, so WOOO~

THIS WAS SO EXCITING ASDFGHJKL I mean, first Xavier is all wounded and hot and vulnerable and stuff (and omg your shippy feels balance is just PERF because I want Xavier/Camille sooo much but I don't want it rushed either and there's enough but I'm still all donkey-and-carrot about the whole thing). omidays exciting times, and then with Camille caring for him ♥

AND THEN JEAN. Dayum the whole operation was so exciting, with all the "one in ten chance" and then how much of a close call it all was, especially with all the details you had about them speaking German, badges on the wrong side, etc. and Johanna having to blast through! Your flow was so excellent here because I felt like I knew exactly what was going on but it was still making my heart race and all exciting and shiz!!

All the details about how they planned to do stuff is so great. It makes it so much more realistic to have them planning exactly how to go about missions, and having to actually brew potions/ration etc, since so often in adventure bits it's all "we grabbed the supplies and went and this magically happened". Your way is so much more immersing, I looove it, also we can see how competent the girls are :3

I am so excited for the next chapter ahha too bad I have to do work before I allow myself this :(( still, it will persuade me to work faster (hopefully)! Fingers crossed for more wounded!Xavier and Simon and Astrid soon :D
~Lottie

 Report Review

Review #13, by nott theodore L'Envolée

27th September 2013:
Val! ♥

I was so excited to see that you'd posted another chapter of this story so soon - I had fun review bombing you!

The situation that Astrid has been forced into with teaching in this school is both intriguing and worrying at the same time. I definitely don't want to underestimate her (and I know she must survive if I'm right about her being Fleur's grandmother) but I don't like the fact that she's alone in the midst of all the German soldiers. It's a dangerous place for her to be, especially as she doesn't have anyone there to help her. I liked the fact that you haven't made Lieutenant Schröder out to be completely inhuman, because it makes his character seem more real and believable. It's so easy to forget that in the midst of all the fighting, a lot of the soldiers were just ordinary men who were trying to survive and help their families survive.

Still, I'm not sure where this strange sort of relationship with the Lieutenant is going to lead for Astrid. I have a feeling that it can't end well, but I really can't tell what's going to happen. He has obviously realised that she isn't a sympathiser, but I'm not sure if he'll realise that she's part of the Resistance as well. I can see her being told to get close to him and spy on him or something like that...

I'm actually still amazed by how well you handle the scenes with Simon trapped inside the concentration camp. It's such a hard thing to write about, and you do it so sensitively and yet are able to help me imagine what it really would have been like for people at that point. I love his determination not to die as an animal, because it must have been so hard at that point. The bleakness of the atmosphere and situation came through really well.

I am shipping Camille and Xavier so much right now! All of these little moments when they're beginning to get closer and comfort each other again are so cute. I can tell that it seems natural to them to help each other and they're having to try hard to resist that... I just want them to get together, but I've got this awful feeling that things are going to go badly for them and you'll break my heart.

I also loved the little details in that section that showed even though they're not in a concentration camp or fighting on the front line, they're still suffering with not having enough food and fighting amongst themselves. It helps to remind us that the war touched every part of people's lives and they couldn't avoid it even if they wanted to.

Simon and Sarah! When I was reading about what had happened to Esther I genuinely had tears in my eyes - it reminded me of Schindler's List and the scenes from that. The images are so powerful.

Even though I was really upset about Esther, I can't help being relieved that Sarah is still alive and that Simon has some of his family left. I liked the way that Simon had to bribe one of the women to get Sarah for him, and that she was so suspicious; it shows that the conditions they were forced to live in meant that only the struggle for survival mattered. I definitely didn't expect there to be a wand hidden in the toilet brush! I have no idea how it got there and I'm not entirely sure that it isn't some kind of trap, but I really hope that Simon and Sarah have truly managed to get away, and I can't wait to see where they end up.

I'm impatient I know, but I'm looking forward to the next chapter already!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by CambAngst L'Envolée

26th September 2013:
Hi, Val!

I'm pretty nervous about seeing poor Astrid getting closer to this German lieutenant. There don't seem to be very many good places that plot line could lead. I guess there's always a possibility she could talk him into turning sides, but I'm guessing it's more likely that her superiors will pressure her to spy on him or possibly kill him. I feel awful for her, but these are the kind of things that happen during a war. I like the way you've set her character up. Because she's young and beautiful, everyone seems to underestimate her. The Minister is trying to seduce her. Yet she's already killed for her cause. She's definitely going to be one to watch. The conversation with Lieutenant Schröder was also interesting. I can see the beginnings of a rapport there, even it it's uneasy.

Poor Simon. You've done a really good job of creating the bleakness of his existence. The horrors going on around him. But more on him in a little while...

Camille and Xavier seem to be inexorably coming together. It's fun to watch them do their little dance of trying to avoid it. Who knows, maybe they'll even find a way to be successful. At the moment, though, it feels like the comforting that's going on is rapidly turning into something more.

I love that you gave Astrid a talking patronus! Sometimes I feel like that's used far too infrequently in HPFF stories.

OK, on to my favorite section of the whole chapter. It was so heartbreaking to find out what happened to Esther. I think it says a lot about Sarah's state of mind that she was able to hold herself together through something like that. The horrors that are being inflicted in this camp. All of those awful things almost felt worth it in light of what happened next...

They found a wand! I am so eager to know how this happened, but it hardly matters at the moment. Simon and Sarah are free, at least for the moment. Naturally, I'm a bit suspicious. With Jean's team having been tasked with tracking down magical collaborators, the suspicious part of me wonders whether the wand was a test of some sort. Something the Germans did to identify any magical prisoners inside the camp. I could see Simon and Johanna having a very unpleasant reunion if that's the case. Suffice it to say that I can't wait to see where Simon and Sarah reappear!

Excellent chapter. Just like the ones that came before, I couldn't see a thing wrong with them. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Remus La Faiseuse d'Anges

26th September 2013:
Heya!!! Perelandra here from the forums!! I'm glad that you wanted to do a review swap! It gave me the chance to continue to read this! :D

Can I just tell you how much I love your narrative? I can easily picture everything in my head and I absolutely love it.

OMG! Poor Johanna! :( The line and looks at Johanna with a mixture of disapproval and pity. --makes me sad because the lady doesn't know her story. Doesn't know what happened and just by looking at her and disapproving is just...ugh. Ugh, I tell you! Haha.

Your French here makes me feel a bit better about myself. I thought that the 3yrs I took of French in High School had been a total waste but lo and behond, I can understand the little French sentences you have! Yay!!! :D Hahaha!

Gah!! What's with that Minister?! Part of me agrees about war changing the rules but still. I would think that magic, to wizards, is like water. Its essential for them to survive. So you taking that away is just plain horrible.

I could literally feel the tension in the room when the Minister told Astrid that she was the most competent of the whole group! Jean is certainly something special...

Anyway! This was a great chapter. I have absolutely nothing bad to say and now with the new interface, I can add this to my Currently Reading list! :D Thank you for doing the swap with me! I appreciate it!

Until next time

--Rosie

 Report Review

Review #16, by CambAngst Entrée par effraction

24th September 2013:
Alright, then. I think I'm pretty much hooked!

I've been on a reading spree today, soaking up all of your posted chapters. I think you have a really amazing story going here. I love the pure originality of it. It's pretty rare to find a story that is canon-compliant in every way without involving any canon characters, places or situations. You have a really amazing knack for creating memorable characters and events from scratch and building them up in such a way that one day's reading makes me feel like I'm right in the middle of the story.

Out of the entire group, I think Xavier is my favorite. He's noble; the way that he left Camille pretty much proves that. But he has a very bitter sort of fatalism about him as well. He's sacrificing everything to fight back against the occupation and he knows exactly what that means. He's also none too pleased about being essentially a disposable tool for the agendas of men like Jean and the Minister.

I really love what you've done with the French Ministry as an institution. It has a haunting sort of similarity to the self-importance and political expediency that characterized the British Ministry during Voldemort's rise to power. The contrast between how the Ministry leadership and its favored operatives are living compared to the rank-and-file resistance fighters and especially the average person on the street is really striking.

My heart aches for Simon and his sisters. His father's misplaced trust in the Vichy regime has nearly cost them everything. I really hope that Johanna and the others are able to free him before anything really terrible happens.

So far, you've given every character except Jean a really compelling back story that makes their involvement in the resistance seem like a perfectly reasonable extension of their past. Jean is a tough nut to crack. He's still rather mysterious at this point, and I suspect that there's more to him than just a power and glory-hungry political climber. We shall see.

There's really nothing I can recommend as far as improvements. Your writing is terrific and my hat is off to your editing. You're managing to keep your story tight and error-free in two languages. That's impressive!

I'm really excited for the next chapter to validate!

 Report Review

Review #17, by CambAngst Prologue

24th September 2013:
Hi, Val!

I have wanted to start reading this story for a while, especially after hearing so much about it during the Dobbys. Time and opportunity are fickle things, however, so it's taken me quite a while.

I really love the setting you've chosen for the story. It's an incredibly interesting period in history, one of those rare times where much of the world was united in a strong sense of right and wrong. The French Resistance has been the topic of so many great works of literature and I'm excited to see how you weave the magical world into the history of the movement.

Your characters are set up amazingly well. I really like the technique you use, allowing the characters' thoughts and actions to tell their tale rather than just dumping a bunch of exposition on the reader. The mix of personalities and agendas they bring to the table should lead to a lot of great interactions and contrasts.

I think you've set the table for something wonderful here. Your writing is fantastic: vivid, crisp, subtle and free of any typos or grammatical problems that I could see. Nice job!

 Report Review

Review #18, by adluvshp Entrée par effraction

21st September 2013:
Hey there! This was another great chapter and I enjoyed reading this very much with all the action and stuff. I am totally rooting for Xavier and Camille by the way xD The ending scene was awesome too, with the way Jean got rescued. I think you are doing a great job writing this. I am loving the plot, your characterisations, and your descriptions. It's all awesome, so please keep writing and update soon xD

(Since this review wasn't requested, it's short and gushy, hehe).

Looking forward to more!
Great job!
10/10
Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Erised Entrée par effraction

8th September 2013:
Oh my goodness! This was yet another chapter that was full of action and excitement, and it was a joy to read. I can't wait for your next update!!

Okay so first thing: PHEW! Xavier is okay for now! Good, because I want to see him and Camille get back together, haha. I liked Johanna's comment about them slipping back into old habits, because I forgot to mention in my last review that being engaged is a BIG deal. You don't just move past that easily. I just want them to get together, is that too much to ask? ;)

The rescue mission here with Johanna and Camille was really awesome and exciting! Like the rest of your action scenes it was well paced and tense, and left me on the edge of my seat wondering what was going to happen next. I was actually surprised that Jean managed to get caught because he seems like the kind of person who would be ruthless enough to kill the Nazis who captured him, but perhaps that's why they broke his wrist. Either way it was pretty damn amazing for him to say - "I don't understand," he croaks, "how with two girls like you around people still manage to tell tales of damsels in distress." - best line ever, because yay feminism! :P

Also I think you have a really good imagination for the way you invent new things such as the mountain elf in previous chapters and the language Polyjuice potion hybrid in this chapter. It's great to see such a natural way to find a magical way around these problems and it shows your true skill as a writer!

I feel like I'm a bit of a broken record at this point but you really are such a great writer. I have not seen a point in this entire story so far where you have not been on point with your description, your flow and your plot. You give the reader just enough information to satisfy us but also provide tiny little tidbits which hint towards a bigger plot and what is to come in the future, which I love.

So, I think that's enough gushing from me for now! As you can tell Val, I absolutely ADORE this story and I cannot wait to read the rest of it when you update. So get writing! ;)

Jenny :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Erised Je ne t'aime plus

8th September 2013:
Ahhh the plot thickens even more!! I'm dying at that cliffhanger there (perhaps a poor choice of words there, don't die Xavier!) but I'm happy that I have another chapter to read so I won't be kept in suspense too long ;)

So there's a lot happening in this chapter! I loved that we got some more backstory to Camille and Xavier and why he had to break it off. At this point I don't think I could dislike Jean more. He seems to be causing all the trouble here and broke these two up! (I know it was still Xavier's choice, but still :P) I do really hope that Camille and Xavier will work out their issues and get back together regardless of the consequences. I'm finding myself rooting for them now!

I'm also really intrigued by Astrid and this German officer! Do I sense some sort of romance or friendship between the two of them that will shake both of their beliefs, or she has to kill him or something? :P whatever happens, the introduction that you made for the two of them was really good and was very believable! I so find myself hoping that something will happen there.

As usual your writing is flawless and you have an excellent flow amongst all the components you squeeze into one chapter. Your descriptions were lovely here and I really felt as if I were there in all of the different settings with the characters. I could imagine everything really clearly which is a plus!

Also I've gotta talk about that ending. It was such a short scene but made such an impact! It was really well written and the imagery was really good here, and it didn't feel too rushed either. It was exciting and fast-paced, and is a credit to the chapter!

Overall this was pretty freaking awesome. Onto the next chapter...

 Report Review

Review #21, by Erised La Rafle

8th September 2013:
Yay for a mainly-Simon focused chapter! I'm so glad to see and learn more about him. The whole situation is desperately sad, and it just makes me wish that his father realised how bad it was going to get and that they should escape. His father seems very naive in this sense.

There were a few very simple snippets that really elevated the emotions of the flashback such as "She has tied with a simple piece of string instead of the pretty silk bows she usually employs, indicating that she has understood the gravity of the situation." - no child should ever have to go through that which makes it all the more sad to read. I also really liked - "The bowl of milk is left, still half-full, on the table, lone and forgotten" because they will never come back to it and it just hits you right in the feels. :( I am praying that their situation gets better and that Simon learns wandless magic or something.

So, Astrid has been sent to Paris huh? Interesting. I liked how you mentioned that she could feel the Minister's lips on her hand, because that makes me wonder whether something more happened and also whether she knows that Jean lied and just is happy to take the unjust praise. Naughty Astrid if that's the case! I'd be really annoyed if I were another member of the group.

Nonetheless, you brought the creepiness and unsettling-ness back with the exchange between the principal and Astrid. The 'shooting practice' intrigues me and just shows how many things were gotten away with during this time under the guise of being something else. I'm also wondering how the principal's character will play out and whether something nasty is going to happen with Astrid. I hope not but it looks like she might have to put her skills to the test here!

Another fab chapter!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Erised La Faiseuse d'Anges

8th September 2013:
Ooh, the plot thickens!

Another great chapter here. I feel like although not a lot happened in terms of chronology, more happened with the character development and the relationships between the characters became more obvious. (As you can tell, my reviews mostly focus on characterisation, haha.)

The little flashback with Johanna was just so heartbreaking. I read that you had issues with keeping it in the TOS here, and I have had that problem before too so I know how you feel! I thought the watered-down version was just as good though, and it's very subtle in what it is implying. My heart goes out to her though, that's such a horrible position to be in. That last line of the flashback definitely made me shudder.

On the whole I actually would like to comment on how good you are at dealing with difficult situations in this story, which is clearly full of them. You manage to just hint at what's happened to the characters in their past and give us readers just enough information to work it out for ourselves, which is really nice.

Hmm, the bit between Camille and Jean about Astrid was very interesting as it said a lot about all of them in a very short space. I dislike Jean already and the fact that he wants to get with Astrid just makes him worse! Hopefully it isn't true. I LOVED Camille's parting line though, what an awesome thing to say. Stick it to the man! ;)

The mountain elf really intrigues me and sounds like a really cool magical creature. I'm wondering how it will act and what it will look like, but it sounds like a very powerful tool which would definitely be more exploited if it wasn't so rare. I'm looking forward to reading more about it!

The ending of this chapter was really quite chilling again - just those few excerpts of the file that Astrid reads and the fact that the Minister has no qualms whatsoever about taking away magic from people makes it sound like they're kind of the bad guys right now. I'm interested to see how that will play out and whether their consciences will get the better of them or not.

Onwards!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Erised Le Phare

8th September 2013:
Hi Val! I'm here to review the rest of this wonderful story so I hope you enjoy them :)

I'm really impressed with this second chapter! There was a lot going on as well as lots of split scenes and different points of view but you handled it all very well and made the whole chapter flow very naturally, which considering you had the concentration camp, the mayor mission and a flashback is very good going.

I'm really intrigued by the characters you've created here and how their stories are developing. First, Camille and Xavier - very interesting that there's a failed romance between them. I'm eager to find out what exactly happened between them to have such discord years later because it clearly affects their professional life.

Secondly, Jean. Umm, woah, dude is CREEPY. That last little section where he calmly announces what he did to his uncle in the past? It gave me chills. I'm not quite sure what to make of him and I'm not sure whether he's just a good guy or that there's some dark in him too. Well, clearly there is dark in him with going ahead with that messed up potion. Gross! :P

And lastly, Simon. The scenes with him in are actually my favourite parts of the story so far because you really express how bleak and hopeless his situation is. He's clearly such a strong person for believing that he can escape with his sisters, but there's also that sense of wanting to give up because they're going to die anyway that he's grappling with. Simon is definitely my favourite character because my heart goes out to him!

You have an excellent writing style which just shines through in this story. The dramatics of the events paired with the personable nature of the characters is a great mix which is just wonderful to read. I also think that your dialogue is a particular strong point for you - all of the characters' lines sound so natural and also have a lot of impact too. Nobody is saying anything unnecessarily.

A great chapter, and onto the next!

 Report Review

Review #24, by TheHouseElf Entrée par effraction

1st September 2013:
Val, if there is one thing you can do absolutely superbly, it's the realism that you present with every chapter.

The beginning of this was sublime. It was exactly like a wartime medical situation should be- excrutiating and life threatening. The lack of anesthetic, the lack of time, the lack of a lot of things we take for granted today, it was all there in that little scene.

I loved the second part of the chapter, with Camille and Johanna coming to the rescue. Like Jean said, how people manage to talk of damsels in distress when there are women like them to is beyond me. The feminist in me was delighted.

Another brilliant chapter Val- you can clearly see why it won a Dobby! Congratulations on that again, and congrats on the exam results :D Looks like things are going your way!

 Report Review

Review #25, by TheHouseElf Je ne t'aime plus

1st September 2013:
I said I'd be here with the fangirling, and here I come :P

First off, I want to say sorry. To you, for not reading this sooner, and to myself, because damn, by not reading this sooner I missed what is a great chapter.

OMG VAL! What is this?! All of the Camille/Xavier feels are just attacking me, all at once, it's not even fair. Just no. Your flashback fit in so well with the novel and the chapter and it made me want to cry. It was some pretty intense...stuff (I wanted to say another word there, but alas, I must keep it 12+). They are quickly becoming a favourite couple of mine and they deserve a ship name. Uh huh. Xamille.

And Astrid's part. I think you just want to overload me with feels today, don't you? I see the fledgling of a new relationship that is bound to be doomed. Nazi+French resistance= Never going to work out. Oh well, I SHALL GO DOWN WITH THIS SHIP (THAT ISN'T EVEN A SHIP YET BUT YOLO).

In all seriousness and honesty, this was an amazing chapter. Yet again, your writing catapults me to a time and place that I have never experienced myself, but I feel like I'm there, y'know?

Just a tiny critique, in the flashback, I don't think you need to tell the reader of Xavier's reasoning behind breaking Camille's heart. You don't need to tell us either that he doesn't actually mean his words. We can infer both from his actions and his body language. It's more interesting if you 'show, don't tell'

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>