Reading Reviews for The Girl from Slytherin
  
299 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Teddy1993 The House of Nott

18th September 2014:
I was kind of expecting Tor to produce a Patronus in Azkaban after Terry taught it to her :) I liked how it gave Mr Nott the chance to exchange a few words with his sons.

Great job again on this chapter. You were able to amuse me with the snowball fight scene, but then you hit me with the seriousness of the war in that last sentence. Amazing work!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Teddy1993 The Other Side of London

18th September 2014:
There's a lot going on in this chapter, but it turned out alright. You shouldn't be too hard on yourself. (Although I can relate :))

I didn't expect Ginny's name to be Andromeda, as they weren't close in the books. They didn't even meet for as far as I can remember. It's the perfect person to give Tor advice on the subject, however. I hope it can help her to make the right choice.

This was another amazing chapter. The story gets better and better. I wonder what you still have in store for me.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Teddy1993 The Slug Club Party

17th September 2014:
I think I could see Astoria spy (indirectly) for the Order of the Phoenix at some point. Provided there's more character development to come. Alerting Ginny of the plans of the Death Eaters is already a step in the right way.

That was another great chapter. Beautifully written.

Author's Response: Very interesting that you would think so!! :) She would have a lot of trouble reconciling that since she is at this point in the story still loving and loyal to her family. So it's tricky, but being around positive influences like Ginny and Terry do cause her to open up towards the Order.

Thank you! I'm so glad you thought it was well written. You really do make my day every time I see a new review, I really appreciate it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by Teddy1993 The Queen's Tale

17th September 2014:
Amazing chapter! I especially enjoyed the scene where Terry tries to teach Tor to produce a Patronus. I liked how you included the history of Anne. Great writing.

Author's Response: Thank you!! :D I'm glad you liked that scene - Terry being the nerd that he is I imagined it's the sort of thing he would have practiced on his own time. And he and Tor do enjoy teaching one another things. I'm pleased you liked Anne as well, she was an interesting character and I couldn't resist the historical story. Thanks so much!!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Teddy1993 The Disguise

17th September 2014:
Pretty much the only good thing about the end of my vacation is that I can continue with this story. Another great chapter. I like how you picture the students' life at Hogwarts. Despite everything, they're still just teenagers having fun with their peers. That's what I miss in a lot of stories.

Author's Response: Hello! :) Aw, yay!! I'm so excited that you're still enjoying the story and of course that reading this makes you happy. I'm glad you liked this chapter and their ordinary lives: those chapters are so fun to include and important since it shows how they still do have fun. Thanks so much for a lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Teddy1993 The Prank

9th September 2014:
Amazing chapter. Your best one so far, in my opinion. That prank was incredible :) I especially loved how the Bloody Baron participated without someone asking him.

Author's Response: Hola!! Ah, thanks so much!! :D This is one of my favourite chapters to be honest, I loved writing it and coming up with the prank. So silly and a little mean but it was just the sort of thing Tor and her friends would come up with.

Thanks so much for a wonderful review!! You really are just amazing!! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Teddy1993 The Visitor

9th September 2014:
Great chapter again! Good job on the conversation between Snape and Yaxley.

Author's Response: Hi!! Thanks, I'm pleased you liked the conversation! It's quite interesting for me to tie in Yaxley and the other Death Eaters, though writing Snape really intimidates me. Thanks so much for a great review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Teddy1993 The Lesson

8th September 2014:
Amazing chapter! I loved the Muggle Studies class. I was surprised to see Tor's father turning up at Hogwarts. Can't really imagine why he would be there...

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Ahh, I'm really glad you liked the class! I worry now that it might be a little too obvious with the comparisons but sometimes that's what Tor needs. It was fun to write especially since I love the character of the professor.

Yaxley is quite good at turning up unexpectedly, hehe.

Thanks so much for coming by! :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by Teddy1993 The Theory

7th September 2014:
I thought the part about the Narcissists was pretty interesting. Maybe it's just a myth, but so were the Chamber of Secrets and the Deathly Hallows...

That was another great chapter. The scene where Terry and Astoria discuss their different beliefs was incredible. Very well written.

Author's Response: Hi again! Yes, one never really knows what's true or not in the magical world. I'm glad you found the idea interesting, it was quite fun to come up with and Pyxis' obsession with the weird theories.

I'm so thrilled you liked that scene! It's so interesting to develop Tor's beliefs and how they shift and grow throughout the story. Thanks so much again!! :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Teddy1993 The Seer

7th September 2014:
Great chapter! I loved the duel in the Room of Requirement. Malfoy won't forget that one fast :)

It was good to see Tor and Terry back together, but I don't know how long it can last. Eventually, she will have to choose sides.

Author's Response: Hey hey!! I'm so glad you liked the duel - it was quite fun to write and I like making fun of Draco a bit. :P I'm glad you like seeing them together, and there relationship is definitely never going to be easy!

Thanks so much for another great review! :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by Teddy1993 The Headmaster

5th September 2014:
Great chapter. I thought adding the former relationship between Amelia Bones and Yaxley was a great idea. It kind of relates to what Astoria is going through with Terry Boot in the present.

Author's Response: Hi again!

Thank you! I love that history of the relationship and it definitely adds a new dimension to Yaxley and Astoria's understanding of him, though she doesn't know about Amelia Bones for the time being. I'm so glad you liked it.

Thanks so much for another lovely review! :) I'm so excited you're liking the story!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Teddy1993 The Horror

5th September 2014:
Great chapter! I can imagine what a shock it was for Astoria when she found out. I'm looking forward to reading more.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Ah yes - I sort of think that Astoria probably suspected or dreaded that he was Muggleborn, even though she was pretty shocked to find out the truth. It would be hard for her to deal with, absolutely.

Thanks so much for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Teddy1993 The Detention

4th September 2014:
Another great chapter! I must say I really like how you write Astoria's personality in this story. As a matter of fact, Astoria has a growing role in my own stories and it's interesting to see how another writer pictures her. I'll try not to steal too many characteristics :)

Author's Response: Hi! :) I'm so glad you're liking Astoria here, she's so fun to write and I really enjoyed developing her personality and how she changes through the story. ♥ Thanks so much!!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Teddy1993 The Unknown

3rd September 2014:
A Slytherin attending a Muggle Studies class? Now that would be a sight. Tor would definitely have some explaining to do in her house if that got out and I imagine something like that is hard to keep quiet at Hogwarts. Another good chapter. I'm enjoying the story very much.

Author's Response: Hi again! Oh, definitely - Tor will definitely have to face her housemates at some point if she keeps doing controversial things for the Slytherins. I'm so glad you're still enjoying it, thanks for all the awesome reviews. They really mean a lot! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Teddy1993 The Bat Bogey Hex

3rd September 2014:
Great chapter again. I was surprised to see Ginny turn up, but you handled it very well. She seemed perfectly in character. First consoling Tor and later hexing her when she saw her tormenting a first year. Seems just like her :)

Author's Response: Hi again! Ah, I'm so glad you like my Ginny - she's one of my favourite canon characters to write so it's lovely though thought she was in character. Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Teddy1993 The Hospital Wing

3rd September 2014:
Great scene in the hospital wing. Your writing is amazing!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! That's so sweet. ♥ I'm so happy you liked this chapter, I really enjoyed writing it.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Teddy1993 The Quidditch Trials

3rd September 2014:
Great chapter. I was surprised by the ending, although it's not very hard to guess whose Bludger that was.

Author's Response: Hi again! :) You're right, it is pretty easy to guess who it was. :P I'm glad you liked it, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Teddy1993 The Worst of Crushes

2nd September 2014:
Very nice chapter. The first sentence cr-acked me up for some reason. :) Good introduction for what I as-sume to be one of your main characters. Nice job!

Author's Response: Thank you! This chapter was quite amusing to write and Goyle is so annoying but fun to laugh at through Tor. I'm glad you like the new character so far, and he definitely is quite important for the future. :P

Thanks so much for a great review! I'm really enjoying hearing your thoughts!


 Report Review

Review #19, by mrsdeanthomas421 The End

1st September 2014:
Thank you so much for such a brilliant, original story. I love Tor/Terry with all my heart and I cannot wait to see where their new journey together takes them! This is genuinely one of my favorite hpff stories of all time and you deserve so much recognition for your ability to craft such a well though out, intriging story. Keep up the good work!!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

No, thank you! Thank you for reading and enjoying the story and leaving me such a lovely review. It really means so much to know that people are enjoying the story and the characters. I'm so honoured by every word you've said here and it's so encouraging and lovely.

I've been working on the sequel and am so excited to start posting it! Thanks so much again, your review really means a lot! ♥


 Report Review

Review #20, by Drummergirlred The End

26th August 2014:
I stumbled on this story maybe a month or so ago after a long break from reading fan fiction. I do think it's one of the most interesting concepts I've read for HP fan fiction. I've really enjoyed reading it and look forward to the second installment.
I love when a writer is able to take AU and incorporate the cannon aspects to where I begin to question if 'this is what really happened.' I suspect that Tor will end up with Draco as cannon dictates and though I love her with Terry I'm more excited to read how Draco and Tor come together. Of course maybe that isn't going to happen and I'll just stay happy with Tor/ Terry.
Really great job.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Wow, thank you so much for this. I'm so honoured to hear that you read the whole story and liked it, it really means so much for me to hear that.

One of the fun things about writing in the Hogwarts era is tying in the canon events and making it seem like they could be happening behind the scenes. Draco will definitely have his role in Tor's story, though things might not play out in a predictable way - if that makes any sense. :P I'm glad you're both excited about Draco/Tor but happy with Terry/Tor - it really makes me glad to see people engaging with the characters and their relationships.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, it really made my day. ♥


 Report Review

Review #21, by nott theodore The End

25th August 2014:
JENNA! ♥ ♥ ♥

Ah, I can't believe that you've actually finished this story and even though I was really apprehensive of what was going to happen in this last chapter, I'm so happy for you! Congratulations - this really is a massive achievement! Such a long novel and such a brilliant one too. I think we should be saying thank you for sharing it with us! ♥

Okay, so when I saw that this chapter was up and you'd marked the story complete I was really, really nervous. After the way you ended the last chapter I've been having nightmares that you were going to break my heart by killing Terry off at the last minute or something and I couldn't keep my eyes off the page (screen) as I read this to find out what was happening. I care so much about these characters now and hopefully that helps you feel that you've done a fantastic job on this story!

I felt so sorry for Tor at the beginning of this chapter! I could really feel her desperation and how much she wanted to be able to save Terry but she's in such a dangerous position already here and she had to try and do that without arousing any suspicion about why she was trying to save this boy from Hogwarts that she supposedly doesn't recognise or know at all. It's so difficult for her, especially when I remember that she's only just turned sixteen and she has to face all of this!

Draco was so horrible and blunt with her at the beginning of the chapter, just completely refusing to help her at all. To be honest, I can understand why he wouldn't help and just tried to forget about what was happening. I do feel sorry for him in a way because he's in a difficult position as well, especially since he's marked out as a Death Eater and is so scared of what people could do to him if he does something wrong. I kind of wanted to shout at him because if he'd voluntarily helped Tor to help Terry escape then that would have been something that really helped to redeem him, but I can understand why he didn't.

Gah, Tor's parents are so horrible! I feel so angry with them when I think of how unfair they've been to put her in the situation she's in now, where she can't confide anything in them and feels like she's not able to love the boy she wants to because of what they expect. And they don't seem to care about her that much either, just being happy to get Tor out of their hair - surely their daughter should be more important than this awful war? Oops, going to try to stop ranting at fictional characters... :P

Tor is so brave, though! I was really proud of her and seeing the way that she's grown and developed in this story. A year or so ago, she'd never have dreamed of disobeying her parents in such a serious way or of putting her life on the line for someone else in something that's so serious and deadly. Her character development through this story is really brilliant and she's already grown up so much - I'm excited to see how she continues to grow and change in the next two novels! I really love the way that you write Tor in this story and she's completely become my head canon!

I really liked Tor's plan to get Terry out of Malfoy Manor! I think that's another aspect that helps to show how much she's matured, as a year ago I don't think she'd have been able to come up with a plan like that so quickly. It's great of her to prepare and try and get all of those things that Terry needs to go on the run with, and nobody actually seems to notice anything, so she does well there. But all the way through this chapter I was just on tenterhooks and really worried that somebody was going to find her and realise what she was doing!

I know that I shouldn't condone the use of the Imperius Curse but to be honest I'm really glad that it did work this time and she's been able to do what she has to do to get Terry out of Malfoy Manor. It shows how desperate she is though that she's prepared to curse Draco and risk him finding out what her relationship with Terry is. I really liked the way you wrote the effects of the Imperius Curse and the connection between Tor's mind and Draco's, and the way that she was able to control him. She's definitely got a lot of power for that sort of magic but at least she's using it for good here.

Argh, when Christian Haynes appeared in the gardens I got so worried! It was so clever of Tor to get Terry to disguise himself as Draco, just so they could get out of the house without people suspecting anything, but I'm really worried about what's going to happen. At least they were able to get out without being stopped, but I have a feeling that Draco could get into a lot of trouble if they realise that he kind of allowed them to escape.

But yay, they got away! I'm so happy that Terry's not dead that I'd be grinning no matter what happened, I think, but it's brilliant to see Tor taking that stand. I loved the moments between them when he was trying to protect her at first from Draco realising anything about them, and then all the kisses. Plus the fact that Terry only got captured by the Snatchers because he was trying to make sure that Tor was okay is just so sweet and adorable and he's lovely and amazing! ♥

So Tor and Terry are going on the run together! She's so brave to do something like that but I can see that they kind of have to - now that they know she's a blood traitor and on the run with Terry, it's going to be so dangerous for the two of them and I'm worried about how they'll survive but still kind of excited to read more about the two of them together and what's going to happen (although it won't be easy for their relationship either, because we saw how much of a strain being on the run put on the trio's friendship).

This was an amazing last chapter to a brilliant novel, Jenna! You've not only finished it really well but set up for the next novel - I'm already intrigued about The Devil's Road! Thank you! ♥

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by marauderfan The End

25th August 2014:
Jenna! Eeeep it's the last chapter! I was essentially glued to the page the entire time, my heart pounding. The suspense! I was so terrified she wouldn't be able to get Terry out in time, or that someone would catch them, or really any number of bad things that could have happened.

Brilliant way to get Terry out! I was so relieved when it all worked out, and the scene when Terry and Tor were reunited was just the sweetest thing ever. Gah, and now they're on the run together and it's the end of the story! She's a blood traitor and he's an escaped fugitive! They're like magical outlaws and it's only October, so they have a long time to go until things are safe again and askdhfaj so many feels. I'm so glad there's a lot more to this story because then I don't have to say goodbye to these characters yet, they're like friends to me now! I will keep an eye out for The Devil's Road and if somehow I miss it, then send me a PM so I can smother it with love and raving reviews.

So ahhh, congrats on finishing your first novel! That's such an amazing accomplishment and I'm so proud of you! :D Your writing style is so fantastic and even though it was great at the beginning, your writing has improved astronomically throughout the course of the story, which is so lovely as it really complements how Tor grows up and matures in the story as well. You're incredibly talented and your characters and plot are written with such insight and care, I really admire that. Please keep writing forever.

Love,
Kristin

 Report Review

Review #23, by Teddy1993 The Death Eater's Daughter

24th August 2014:
Nice chapter. It was good to read a bit more about Astoria and her family. And indeed, Death Eaters are people too. As J.K. Rowling said, the only character that is truly evil is Voldemort..

Author's Response: Hi!!

I loved writing this chapter and explaining why Tor is the way she is. Her family is quite important to the story so it was important to set up this base. You're right: while the Death Eaters have their flaws, they aren't simply motivated by pure evil.

Thanks so much for another thoughtful review! :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by Teddy1993 The Association of Slytherin Students

17th August 2014:
Your're right that not much has happened at this point in the story, but it's only the fourth chapter after all. I'm sure there's plenty to come, as you have already uploaded so many chapters. The story seems to be very promising to me, having read this first few chapters and I think you chose a very interesting main character. Great work so far!

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, looking back I can definitely see how these early chapters were necessary for all the action to unfold, especially in the later chapters as the wizarding world becomes more tumultuous. I'm so pleased you like the story so far, thanks so much for the wonderful reviews! :D


 Report Review

Review #25, by Teddy1993 The Slytherin Boys

17th August 2014:
I like how you don't picture all Slytherins as bullies or gits, despite their different believes from the main characters we know from the books. How Pyxis treated his house elf, for instance. Very nice chapter.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm glad you like how the Slytherins are portrayed here! You're right, though they do have a dangerous side they are often nice people and not necessarily just mean because they're in Slytherin, though the darker side of certain characters does come out later in the story.

Thanks so much! :) I'm so glad you're enjoying it!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>