Reading Reviews for The Girl from Slytherin
  
418 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauder5 The Guests

9th April 2015:
I really loved getting more of an insight to Tor's home life. Obviously it's different now, because of everything going on with Voldemort, but you can really see how that environment has shaped her. I can instantly feel her becoming more like Astoria and less like Tor, if that makes sense.

You really manage to convey a lot of emotions in me as a reader with your writing. I mean, in the HP books, the Death Eaters breaking out of Azkaban seemed like a disaster for me. But with the way you have made me love Pyxis and Theo, I can't help but feel thrilled for them, because they get to have their dad back! It's really quite paradoxical, the way I feel about it... But well done on your part. This whole story really makes the reader think of the other side in a whole different light.

It's also so fascinating to hear these characters paint the Aurors out to be the bad guys. I'm sure Moody would have never intentionally hurt a child, but whether it's true or not that he's the one to blame for their deaths, I'm sure that's how the Death Eaters and people on their side would make it sound.

Things just keep getting worse, aren't they? Now Yaxley has control over Thicknesse and I suppose they'll control the rest of the Ministry too any day now. It's all so perfectly written and built up, and I just fall more and more in love with this story for each chapter. You have such a beautiful talent and I really hope you're as proud of this story as you should be x

 Report Review

Review #2, by marauder5 The Goodbye

8th April 2015:
Possible futures beyond reach... Yes, Dumbledore's death really means a shift in Tor's future. Knowing all the things that are going to change in the Wizarding World in the very near future, reading of Tor's final moments at Hogwarts this term is even sadder to me. I mean, Terry most likely won't return, since he's a Muggleborn. Is this the last they will see of each other in a REALLY long time? It makes me sad to think that maybe the next time she sees him, will be in Malfoy Manor, the bit from the epilogue.

So it was Pyxis who put the dead snake in their bed! Like Tor, I found that I wasn't really angry about it. I'd rather he did it than someone else, because he would do it out of concern, not to threaten her. After all, he has kept her secret so far. And I just loved Pyxis that much more when he (sort of) made up with Taurus. That was so sweet. i've felt so bad for Taurus this whole time and I keep thinking that (maybe apart from Terry and his friends who really are purely good) (and Ginny) (and maybe Taurus) Pyxis is the best friend Tor has. And now he's established that even more for me.

But wait! Did her father catch her staring at Terry? Will he realize what's going on now? As much as he may love his daughter I'm absolutely terrified of what he might do to her if he actually catches on to them. Maybe, somehow, she will be able to convince him it's not true, though. I really hope so.

Again, this was another great chapter! I know I'm reading it way later than when you posted it but that's amazing that it had been a year since you posted the first chapter! I loved the story already in the beginning and it has only kept getting better. I for one am very excited for the progression into Deathly Hallows territory. I can't wait to hear about what will go on over summer, and the new school year with the Carrows. I'm very excited to read more.

Oh and if I haven't mentioned it in this review yet, thank you so much for being such an incredible writer and for sharing your beautiful story x

 Report Review

Review #3, by marauder5 The Dark

8th April 2015:
Reading Tor's conversation with Theo just got me thinking about how much has changed since the start of this story. It's just getting so much darker (fits well with the chapter title!) and it's also getting more and more interesting. As things get more and more serious outside the school, the same things happen in Tor's life and you've portrayed that perfectly, not just in that conversation but in the overall tone of the story in the recent chapters.

And then, of course, you balance it out perfectly by having Griz Goyle trip and show her granny pants. Perfect!

I absolutely loved the little antidote of Flitwick having to let in a group of students who were forced to sleep in the corridor. JKR is an expert at making up little stories like that and this one would have fit right in one of her books. Brilliant!!

Honestly, I marvel over and over at how beautiful your writing is at times. Those paragraphs starting with "And I wish the story could end there." were just so well written, and I definitely felt what Tor was feeling right then. Wouldn't it have been wonderful if Dumbledore would have been around to help here? It all might have worked out for her and Terry.

It was so interesting to see experience the night Dumbledore's dies from a different perspective. It must have been hell, sitting down in that common room and not knowing what was going on, which must have been what that night was like for most students at Hogwarts. Of course, in Tor's and many of the Slytherin's case, they know the Death Eaters up there fighting. It was perfectly written and I have to tell you again how amazed I am by your writing each time I read a chapter. Your descriptions are absolutely perfect and I'm SO happy that I found this story and I can't thank you enough for writing it. You're amazing x

 Report Review

Review #4, by EnigmaticEyes16 The Disguise

2nd April 2015:
Okay, third review. Here we go. I'm gonna try to do this one as I read and hope that makes this easier since these chapters are so long.

First off, those are some awesome gifts. How you manage to go into such detail about everything, even with all the charms put on the jewelry set is just beyond me. I bow down to you. And Terry's gifts were really cool with the books and the journal they can use to communicate with, I wonder where he got the idea for that.

I kinda love the fact that the Slytherins spend Halloween dressing up and getting drunk, it seems very unlike them, yet like them at the same time. I don't know. I love how Terry and his friends snuck in and turned almost everyone into Malfoy though! Too bad there wasn't a scene where Malfoy actually walked in to see it all because that would have been priceless. Although I have to wonder what Tor's housemates would think if they saw what appeared to be Malfoy leaving their dormitory in the early morning hours... that seems like it could end very badly for Tor...

I'm very curious to read on but I'm really tired and it's late so it will just have to wait unfortunately.

Anyway, I am really enjoying this story. I'm still a little lost, because it's been so long since I read the first seventeen chapters or so, but I think I'll be caught up eventually. I'm very glad I returned to continue this!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #5, by EnigmaticEyes16 The Prank

1st April 2015:
Okay, wow, a lot happened in this chapter. Where to even begin...

I thought the scene in their secret room was very cute, them bantering back and forth and playfighting until they make up. I wonder why he doesn't tell her his birthday though, that seemed a little odd. It is very sad though that they can't be together in public because they are very cute together. And clearly Tor really cares for him with how much she fears for his life, knowing if they were ever found out, the Death Eaters would have his head, basically. Drinking the polyjuice before Micahel Corner walked in was really quick thinking on Tor's part.

The prank was hilarious and very thorough! I had no idea really what they were planning when they were messing with the mirrors and her clothes. When they mention the desks I thought maybe they were just going to pretend she didn't exist, but the fact that they went so far as to stage her own funeral with a "dead" body that looked like hers, that was very cool and insane. I can't even fully imagine what it must feel like to experience that sort of thing. Although I do wonder what Griz will do to retaliate... I especially loved the bit with the Bloody Baron being the only one who can really "see" her, that was awesome. Even though I didn't think the Bloody Baron could talk. Doesn't really matter though, he'd still be a pretty scary ghost to come across when you've just found out your dead and haven't quite accepted it yet.

And I love how they don't even deny that they did it! I think that's the best part. Even though if I did that to someone I definitely wouldn't want to be sleeping in the same dorm as them every night.

This chapter was absolutely amazing and the prank was perfect! You did a great job coming up with all that and executing it through your writing.

I'm definitely going to try to get one more chapter in before I return to my planning/writing for Nano.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #6, by EnigmaticEyes16 The Visitor

1st April 2015:
Hi! I'm here to begin giving you your Hot Seat Reviews! It's been a long time since I first started reading this, but I'm trying to come back to it to finally finish the story.

First off, while I still find it kind of odd that a parent would visit Hogwarts, since it doesn't seem to happen too often in the books, I thought it was really sweet that Tor's father does make an appearance. Especially since she's been worried for his safety for a while now, not knowing if he was dead or alive. You can really tell that they're close and have a very loving relationship. She may dislike Daphne for feeling the need to outshine her, but it seems pretty clear that he still adores Tor anyway and thinks she can do no wrong. Although, obviously, because of this, she questions her feelings about blood status and who's right and who's wrong. She cares about both her father and Terry and doesn't want to disappoint either one.

It was really interesting having her listen in on their conversations and also seeing visions of their past. Is she really seeing them? I'm still not totally sure. I wonder what she will do after hearing the information about the Death Eaters attacking Harry Potter and the Weasley family. Will she inform Ginny that they plan to go after her if they can't get to Harry? Will she do what's right or will she follow what she knows. I'm very unsure about what she will do and what will occur in the Terry/Tor scenes you promise in the next chapter after reading her listen to her father about why he follows Voldemort.

The mouse ending was weird but interesting. I had a feeling it might die when I first read that it was eating something that tasted like sulfur, but the fact that you included it's death was intriguing... like what if it had died when she was still in his mind? What would that be like?

I am very glad I decided to continue reading this. I'm curious to see what happens next. I'm gonna try to get at least two more reviews in but I'm a little pressed for time at the moment (of course that's my fault though for being a terrible procrastinator...). Anyway, great chapter!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #7, by MyDearWatson The Headmaster

19th March 2015:
This story, how I love it!
Before this story I had zero interest in any Slytherin students other than Draco Malfoy.
You've managed to create such a strong character with your interpretation of Astoria! I appreciate all of the thought that you've included with intertwining this with the events of the sixth book.

I love your writing style. It's bold. It's not pretentious. You really seem to have found your voice. I am really enjoying this read so far, and am very excited to see what else you've written!

Keep the magic alive!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Liana The Prank

11th March 2015:
Astoria was sure quick-thinking. That has got to be the best prank ever. Congratulations for thnking of it.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Liana The Visitor

11th March 2015:
Now why would you kill off a little mouse? Most times I'm happy being my little peon self. I don't want to be famous. It seems to bring nothing but trouble.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Liana The Lesson

10th March 2015:
I thought the lecture was good. I liked that Charity compared the Nazis and purebloods. I think that has to be covered in a Muggle Studies course. Although the group that really needs to be there is the Slytherins.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Liana The Theory

8th March 2015:
I thought that the theory about Narcissists was very clever. It's well known that Mrs. Zabini has outlived many husbands so that was an interesting addition to the theory.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Liana The Seer

4th March 2015:
I find it creepy that someone can have visions. It's not that I don't like it but I think it's better to not know the future. I've had so many odd experiences in my life that I probably wouldn't have wanted to live through them. I wouldn't like knowing that two of the people I know would die in the war and one because of me. I do like the little girl with the toad.

Author's Response: I agree! I definitely wouldn't want to have a vision or have to relive any moment of my life, whether in the past or in the future. It's an interesting plot device, but not something I envy Emma for. :P

Thank you! I really appreciate you reading and reviewing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by Aayo88 The Visitor

1st March 2015:
I don't typically review and I also don't typically read stories with purely OC leads but I must say I'm really enjoying this story thus far. I hope that Tor finds a way to give Ginny some warning about the attack. I am also actually really liking the fact that though the "golden trio" is present in your story it is merely in the fringes.

Author's Response: Hello! :) Wow, thank you! This review really means a lot to me, and I'm so glad that you like the story especially since it's out of your typical reading choices. I really like writing the scenes that involve the Trio, but it's even more fun to build Tor's story around in parallel to them.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by marauder5 The Decision

12th February 2015:
I loved Andromeda's letter. I REALLY hope Tor gets the chance to come in for that cup of tea, no matter what might happen in her future.

I had to laugh at the image of Tor trying so hard to convince Pyxis of her Transfiguration story that she hits him in the chest. Haven't we all gone a little over-excited and done stuff like that?

Pyxis obviously isn't stupid and I think it was about time she told him. Maybe sharing her secret with someone will make it easier for her. I knew Pyxis wouldn't be happy, but I guess his prejudices have deeper roots than Tor's did, because I would have expected him to be a little more supportive. He clearly doesn't think he has a choice, even though I'm not sure if he wants to be a death eater either. At least he won't tell anyone. I really hope he'll keep that promise.

Once again, I must say that I love how you tie in the canon events. Her being one of the people delivering letters to Harry was brilliant, and then the two girls whose little brother got bitten by a werewolf. You have such a clever way of tying canon events with this story too - they don't seem like they're there just for the sake of it, but they seem meaningful and fitting and I absolutely love it.

Did I mention how much I love Terry's friends, by the way? I probably did. Anyway, I'll say it again. I kind of wish I was friends with them too.

I swear, sometimes I think Dumbledore has an almost godlike way of knowing everything. Maybe he is, as he so often claims himself, just good at guessing. I love that Tor went to him, but I'm worried that he won't be able to help much. After all, I really don't think Yaxley will be convinced to give up his way. Also, we know, even though Tor doesn't, that Dumbledore hasn't got long left.

This was another great chapter! At the moment, I feel like Tor's whole life is a ticking bomb and I'm just waiting for it to explode. It's bound to happen sooner or later - I just don't know HOW it will happen, exactly. Maybe she'll have to cut ties completely with her family. I can sense that she does love them, but part of me thinks that she loves them because she always has, and because they're her flesh and blood. She doesn't really like them anymore, does she?

Anyways, great job on this chapter too! You are still one of my favourite authors on this site, and this story remains my number one favourite story! Congratulations on the Dobby Award, by the way - you definitely deserved that one x

 Report Review

Review #15, by Liana The Headmaster

7th February 2015:
I think the last memory given to Amelia was a nice touch. Maybe we all have pleasant memories in our last moments. We'll never know until that time I guess.

Author's Response: I agree, it's a very interesting thing to think about. I'm glad you liked that moment with Amelia, I have a fondness for her and it was an interesting scene to write. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Liana The Horror

6th February 2015:
I foolishly thought Tori would be nicer than she was after kissing Terry. I don't know why I thought that. She's a pureblood. I hope she doesn't hurt Terry too much.

Author's Response: Yeah, Tor still has a lot of changing to do, unfortunately. But it's still early, and there's time for her to redeem herself! :D Thanks so much for another review! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Liana The Detention

5th February 2015:
It's good to hear that Mr. Yaxley is still alive. I'm always happy I don't have to take potions. The ingredients sound disgusting.

Author's Response: Yes! Ah, I agree. Gross ingredients and it would also be a lot of hard work to make a potion. I'll definitely leave it for the fanfic characters! :P

Thanks so much again! I love your reviews!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Liana The Unknown

5th February 2015:
I think Tor and Terry are just a couple of friends fooling around. I'm worried about Mr. Yaxley at the moment. Maybe he's out on personal business. I'm really enjoying your story.

Author's Response: Hi again! I'm glad you're worried about Yaxley, he gets himself into a lot of tough situations and leaves poor Tor to worry about him. Thanks so much, I'm really glad to hear you're liking the story! :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Liana The Bat Bogey Hex

5th February 2015:
I was afraid the poor toad was going to explode. The Bat Boogey Hex is Ginny's signature move. She seems to practice it indiscriminately.

Author's Response: Ah, I know! Poor toad. :( Part of the reason I originally included Ginny in the story was so that I could have her cast the Bat Bogey hex, it just seems so awful but also hilarious.

Thanks so much! :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Liana The Hospital Wing

5th February 2015:
I'm sure it's hard to be a Slytherin and make friends outside of that house. Voldemort is being as charming as ever.

Author's Response: Hello! :) It definitely would be hard, since the Slytherins stick to their own even more than the other houses. Yeah, that Voldy's a real great guy, isn't he? :P

Thanks so much for the review! :D


 Report Review

Review #21, by Liana The Quidditch Trials

1st February 2015:
That was a nice bit of luck--running into the person she was looking for to begin with. I hate it when someone overdoes it in trying to give advice when maybe you're just a bit jittery but still know what to do.

Author's Response: Hi again! It was some good luck, for sure. And yes, I agree - Tor knows what to do, and they were being quite irritating with smothering her with advice like that. Thanks so much for all the reviews - you're awesome! :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Evil Otter The Prank

1st February 2015:
I'm still laughing about the prank that they pulled and the way that they got past Snape. I think that this is the best chapter yet in your magnificent story.

I can't wait to red the next chapter!!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Ah, I'm so glad you liked the prank! It was so ridiculous, but I was giggling the whole time while writing it. :P Thanks so much for reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #23, by Liana The Worst of Crushes

30th January 2015:
It would be very tempting to name a pug Pansy. I wonder who this mysterious student is. I don't blame Astoria for trying to escape Goyle. She's made him sound unattractive.

Author's Response: Hi again! It is a great pug name, isn't it? Goyle is definitely not the best, and his aggressive behaviour to Tor is quite disturbing for her. Thanks so much for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Liana The Death Eater's Daughter

30th January 2015:
I'm glad you explained why Daphne and Astoria went by Yaxley. I was trying to figure that out.

Author's Response: Hi! :) This was one of my favourites of the early chapters, because I got the chance to do some exposition and explaining. I'm glad you liked the explanation and found it helpful. Thanks so much for reviewing! :D

 Report Review

Review #25, by Liana The Association of Slytherin Students

30th January 2015:
How hysterical that they are the Association of Slytherin Students. I'm surprised you were able to use the initials in the story. If I use anything close to an objectionable word I get a warning.

Author's Response: Hi again! :) I was able to use the initials because I have the 'Contains Profanity' warning on my story and it fulfills a certain rating - there are guidelines about which words we're allowed to use in the Terms of Service. Hehe, I thought it was quite funny as well. Thanks for reviewing! :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>