Reading Reviews for The Girl from Slytherin
  
430 Reviews Found

Review #1, by EnigmaticEyes16 The Fragments

1st August 2015:
I was so worried about Terry! I'm glad he's okay and was safe and sound with his own family New Year's Eve. I wonder though if Pyxis recognized the Ravenclaw or if he suspects anything from seeing Tor's bogart.

And poor Theo! I'm glad he couldn't do it. Couldn't torture that poor girl. I wonder who she was. And I wonder what Voldemort's decision will be about whether or not to let Theo into his ranks. I hope not. But I also hope nothing bad happens to him because he failed.

Great chapter! It was definitely an emotional ride, this one.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #2, by EnigmaticEyes16 The Ball at Malfoy Manor

28th July 2015:
Hi. I know it's been a while since I last reviewed. I just recently started reading this story again and it's getting quite interesting. Clearly, Pyxis was right when he said these balls were shams for raids and recruiting new Death Eaters as that seems to be exactly what is happening with Theo. And it makes me so sad but I suppose it was inviteable as he is of age and friends with Malfoy. I do wonder who the Dark Lord has him casting the Cruciatus Curse on though.

And Terry's locked up in a cell in the basement!? How did that happen!? I'm so scared of what's going to happen to him. And what will happen to Astoria and Pyxis? Surely someone must have heard her scream. What happens if the Death Eaters come to investigate? I'm so curious! I will definitely be reading on!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #3, by Penelope Inkwell Prologue

22nd July 2015:
Oh my gracious, WHAT a prologue!

I am absolutely sucked in, dying to figure out what is going on.

I love how you really characterize the Slytherin/Pureblood dilemma. It's easy for Harry and the others to think of the Death Eaters as monsters--and in many ways they are. But for all the kids in Slytherin House, all those who didn't choose to fight or who went along with things they might have been uneasy about, those were their parents and uncles and childhood friends. They had seen those people be kind and gentle. It was impossible to think of them as evil. You do a wonderful job in showing that human side, and how difficult it must be to straddle those worlds, since it seems clear our heroine has some blood traitor sympathies.

I'm dying to know who they are, and what he needed to close his mind to hide. This is a very well-written prologue. Tense, full of questions, leaves me wanting more. Excellent!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #4, by Niki The End

22nd July 2015:
I couldn't put this down! Love it! It's written really well and kept me hooked through out can't wait to read the sequel!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Issielikespie12 Prologue

20th July 2015:
I really like it so far. Great Story!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Meredith The End

19th July 2015:
So wonderful and cannot wait for the sequel! Your weaving of canon into the story was brilliant and I am very curious if you plan on staying with DH epilogue canon. Either way, can't wait.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Meredith The Fall of the Ministry

19th July 2015:
I feel like I need to leave a review (or 50) as this story has been amazing. You have written all of the characters so well, making them so multifaceted that we still care about all of them even though they have some questionable morals. I'm looking ahead and I'm really really hoping that you're planning on finishing this series. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by W The Prank

11th July 2015:
Loved this. Thank you for creating such a wonderful story. It's an interesting view behind slytherin eyes.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad you're liking the story! ♥

 Report Review

Review #9, by TheEmeraldSnake143 The Visitor

3rd July 2015:
Hey I have no clue if you even read comments on your old stories anymore. But I thought I'd share with you how much I enjoy your writing style (even if it is morbid). I know that there is still so much of this story left to read, but I am already trying to put together how I think it will end. Also I love how you chose an unconventional character to write from. It's unique and I adore it.- M

Author's Response: Hello! :) I definitely read and appreciate all reviews and comments. Thank you so much for your kind words! It means so much to hear that people are enjoying this story. You're awesome! ♥

 Report Review

Review #10, by LittleMissAutumn The End

9th May 2015:
THIS STORY IS AMAZING AND SO ADDICTING! I NEGLECTED MY HOMEWORK SO I COULD READ THE ENTIRE THING...not my brightest idea, but totally worth it! TERRY BOOT IS A REAL HOOT! hehe I love that boy.
10/10!

Author's Response: Hey!!! :D I'm so excited that you liked the story, even though it's too bad about your homework! :P Thank you so much (and he is a hoot, haha LOVE the pun!). ♥

 Report Review

Review #11, by Ash The End

8th May 2015:
I can't believe I reached The End! Seriously so happy when I found this story, it's the only really thought-out Pureblood Culture fanfic I've found so far. Your writing has developed greatly throughout this series and I'm jumping right in to book two! Thank you!

Author's Response: Hello!! :) Thanks so much, it's awesome to hear that you liked the story and the representation of the purebloods. I love writing Tor's story and getting amazing reviews like this just makes me so happy!!

 Report Review

Review #12, by ginny robles The Horror

23rd April 2015:
i love this its such good riting

Author's Response: Thank you so much!!! :D :D

 Report Review

Review #13, by marauder5 The Guests

9th April 2015:
I really loved getting more of an insight to Tor's home life. Obviously it's different now, because of everything going on with Voldemort, but you can really see how that environment has shaped her. I can instantly feel her becoming more like Astoria and less like Tor, if that makes sense.

You really manage to convey a lot of emotions in me as a reader with your writing. I mean, in the HP books, the Death Eaters breaking out of Azkaban seemed like a disaster for me. But with the way you have made me love Pyxis and Theo, I can't help but feel thrilled for them, because they get to have their dad back! It's really quite paradoxical, the way I feel about it... But well done on your part. This whole story really makes the reader think of the other side in a whole different light.

It's also so fascinating to hear these characters paint the Aurors out to be the bad guys. I'm sure Moody would have never intentionally hurt a child, but whether it's true or not that he's the one to blame for their deaths, I'm sure that's how the Death Eaters and people on their side would make it sound.

Things just keep getting worse, aren't they? Now Yaxley has control over Thicknesse and I suppose they'll control the rest of the Ministry too any day now. It's all so perfectly written and built up, and I just fall more and more in love with this story for each chapter. You have such a beautiful talent and I really hope you're as proud of this story as you should be x

 Report Review

Review #14, by marauder5 The Goodbye

8th April 2015:
Possible futures beyond reach... Yes, Dumbledore's death really means a shift in Tor's future. Knowing all the things that are going to change in the Wizarding World in the very near future, reading of Tor's final moments at Hogwarts this term is even sadder to me. I mean, Terry most likely won't return, since he's a Muggleborn. Is this the last they will see of each other in a REALLY long time? It makes me sad to think that maybe the next time she sees him, will be in Malfoy Manor, the bit from the epilogue.

So it was Pyxis who put the dead snake in their bed! Like Tor, I found that I wasn't really angry about it. I'd rather he did it than someone else, because he would do it out of concern, not to threaten her. After all, he has kept her secret so far. And I just loved Pyxis that much more when he (sort of) made up with Taurus. That was so sweet. i've felt so bad for Taurus this whole time and I keep thinking that (maybe apart from Terry and his friends who really are purely good) (and Ginny) (and maybe Taurus) Pyxis is the best friend Tor has. And now he's established that even more for me.

But wait! Did her father catch her staring at Terry? Will he realize what's going on now? As much as he may love his daughter I'm absolutely terrified of what he might do to her if he actually catches on to them. Maybe, somehow, she will be able to convince him it's not true, though. I really hope so.

Again, this was another great chapter! I know I'm reading it way later than when you posted it but that's amazing that it had been a year since you posted the first chapter! I loved the story already in the beginning and it has only kept getting better. I for one am very excited for the progression into Deathly Hallows territory. I can't wait to hear about what will go on over summer, and the new school year with the Carrows. I'm very excited to read more.

Oh and if I haven't mentioned it in this review yet, thank you so much for being such an incredible writer and for sharing your beautiful story x

 Report Review

Review #15, by marauder5 The Dark

8th April 2015:
Reading Tor's conversation with Theo just got me thinking about how much has changed since the start of this story. It's just getting so much darker (fits well with the chapter title!) and it's also getting more and more interesting. As things get more and more serious outside the school, the same things happen in Tor's life and you've portrayed that perfectly, not just in that conversation but in the overall tone of the story in the recent chapters.

And then, of course, you balance it out perfectly by having Griz Goyle trip and show her granny pants. Perfect!

I absolutely loved the little antidote of Flitwick having to let in a group of students who were forced to sleep in the corridor. JKR is an expert at making up little stories like that and this one would have fit right in one of her books. Brilliant!!

Honestly, I marvel over and over at how beautiful your writing is at times. Those paragraphs starting with "And I wish the story could end there." were just so well written, and I definitely felt what Tor was feeling right then. Wouldn't it have been wonderful if Dumbledore would have been around to help here? It all might have worked out for her and Terry.

It was so interesting to see experience the night Dumbledore's dies from a different perspective. It must have been hell, sitting down in that common room and not knowing what was going on, which must have been what that night was like for most students at Hogwarts. Of course, in Tor's and many of the Slytherin's case, they know the Death Eaters up there fighting. It was perfectly written and I have to tell you again how amazed I am by your writing each time I read a chapter. Your descriptions are absolutely perfect and I'm SO happy that I found this story and I can't thank you enough for writing it. You're amazing x

 Report Review

Review #16, by EnigmaticEyes16 The Disguise

2nd April 2015:
Okay, third review. Here we go. I'm gonna try to do this one as I read and hope that makes this easier since these chapters are so long.

First off, those are some awesome gifts. How you manage to go into such detail about everything, even with all the charms put on the jewelry set is just beyond me. I bow down to you. And Terry's gifts were really cool with the books and the journal they can use to communicate with, I wonder where he got the idea for that.

I kinda love the fact that the Slytherins spend Halloween dressing up and getting drunk, it seems very unlike them, yet like them at the same time. I don't know. I love how Terry and his friends snuck in and turned almost everyone into Malfoy though! Too bad there wasn't a scene where Malfoy actually walked in to see it all because that would have been priceless. Although I have to wonder what Tor's housemates would think if they saw what appeared to be Malfoy leaving their dormitory in the early morning hours... that seems like it could end very badly for Tor...

I'm very curious to read on but I'm really tired and it's late so it will just have to wait unfortunately.

Anyway, I am really enjoying this story. I'm still a little lost, because it's been so long since I read the first seventeen chapters or so, but I think I'll be caught up eventually. I'm very glad I returned to continue this!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #17, by EnigmaticEyes16 The Prank

1st April 2015:
Okay, wow, a lot happened in this chapter. Where to even begin...

I thought the scene in their secret room was very cute, them bantering back and forth and playfighting until they make up. I wonder why he doesn't tell her his birthday though, that seemed a little odd. It is very sad though that they can't be together in public because they are very cute together. And clearly Tor really cares for him with how much she fears for his life, knowing if they were ever found out, the Death Eaters would have his head, basically. Drinking the polyjuice before Micahel Corner walked in was really quick thinking on Tor's part.

The prank was hilarious and very thorough! I had no idea really what they were planning when they were messing with the mirrors and her clothes. When they mention the desks I thought maybe they were just going to pretend she didn't exist, but the fact that they went so far as to stage her own funeral with a "dead" body that looked like hers, that was very cool and insane. I can't even fully imagine what it must feel like to experience that sort of thing. Although I do wonder what Griz will do to retaliate... I especially loved the bit with the Bloody Baron being the only one who can really "see" her, that was awesome. Even though I didn't think the Bloody Baron could talk. Doesn't really matter though, he'd still be a pretty scary ghost to come across when you've just found out your dead and haven't quite accepted it yet.

And I love how they don't even deny that they did it! I think that's the best part. Even though if I did that to someone I definitely wouldn't want to be sleeping in the same dorm as them every night.

This chapter was absolutely amazing and the prank was perfect! You did a great job coming up with all that and executing it through your writing.

I'm definitely going to try to get one more chapter in before I return to my planning/writing for Nano.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #18, by EnigmaticEyes16 The Visitor

1st April 2015:
Hi! I'm here to begin giving you your Hot Seat Reviews! It's been a long time since I first started reading this, but I'm trying to come back to it to finally finish the story.

First off, while I still find it kind of odd that a parent would visit Hogwarts, since it doesn't seem to happen too often in the books, I thought it was really sweet that Tor's father does make an appearance. Especially since she's been worried for his safety for a while now, not knowing if he was dead or alive. You can really tell that they're close and have a very loving relationship. She may dislike Daphne for feeling the need to outshine her, but it seems pretty clear that he still adores Tor anyway and thinks she can do no wrong. Although, obviously, because of this, she questions her feelings about blood status and who's right and who's wrong. She cares about both her father and Terry and doesn't want to disappoint either one.

It was really interesting having her listen in on their conversations and also seeing visions of their past. Is she really seeing them? I'm still not totally sure. I wonder what she will do after hearing the information about the Death Eaters attacking Harry Potter and the Weasley family. Will she inform Ginny that they plan to go after her if they can't get to Harry? Will she do what's right or will she follow what she knows. I'm very unsure about what she will do and what will occur in the Terry/Tor scenes you promise in the next chapter after reading her listen to her father about why he follows Voldemort.

The mouse ending was weird but interesting. I had a feeling it might die when I first read that it was eating something that tasted like sulfur, but the fact that you included it's death was intriguing... like what if it had died when she was still in his mind? What would that be like?

I am very glad I decided to continue reading this. I'm curious to see what happens next. I'm gonna try to get at least two more reviews in but I'm a little pressed for time at the moment (of course that's my fault though for being a terrible procrastinator...). Anyway, great chapter!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #19, by MyDearWatson The Headmaster

19th March 2015:
This story, how I love it!
Before this story I had zero interest in any Slytherin students other than Draco Malfoy.
You've managed to create such a strong character with your interpretation of Astoria! I appreciate all of the thought that you've included with intertwining this with the events of the sixth book.

I love your writing style. It's bold. It's not pretentious. You really seem to have found your voice. I am really enjoying this read so far, and am very excited to see what else you've written!

Keep the magic alive!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Liana The Prank

11th March 2015:
Astoria was sure quick-thinking. That has got to be the best prank ever. Congratulations for thnking of it.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Liana The Visitor

11th March 2015:
Now why would you kill off a little mouse? Most times I'm happy being my little peon self. I don't want to be famous. It seems to bring nothing but trouble.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Liana The Lesson

10th March 2015:
I thought the lecture was good. I liked that Charity compared the Nazis and purebloods. I think that has to be covered in a Muggle Studies course. Although the group that really needs to be there is the Slytherins.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Liana The Theory

8th March 2015:
I thought that the theory about Narcissists was very clever. It's well known that Mrs. Zabini has outlived many husbands so that was an interesting addition to the theory.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Liana The Seer

4th March 2015:
I find it creepy that someone can have visions. It's not that I don't like it but I think it's better to not know the future. I've had so many odd experiences in my life that I probably wouldn't have wanted to live through them. I wouldn't like knowing that two of the people I know would die in the war and one because of me. I do like the little girl with the toad.

Author's Response: I agree! I definitely wouldn't want to have a vision or have to relive any moment of my life, whether in the past or in the future. It's an interesting plot device, but not something I envy Emma for. :P

Thank you! I really appreciate you reading and reviewing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #25, by Aayo88 The Visitor

1st March 2015:
I don't typically review and I also don't typically read stories with purely OC leads but I must say I'm really enjoying this story thus far. I hope that Tor finds a way to give Ginny some warning about the attack. I am also actually really liking the fact that though the "golden trio" is present in your story it is merely in the fringes.

Author's Response: Hello! :) Wow, thank you! This review really means a lot to me, and I'm so glad that you like the story especially since it's out of your typical reading choices. I really like writing the scenes that involve the Trio, but it's even more fun to build Tor's story around in parallel to them.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>