Reading Reviews for The British Are Coming
  
23 Reviews Found

Review #1, by magnolia_magic May I Have This Dance?

16th July 2013:
Wow, what an intense chapter! I definitely was not prepared for the sudden change in Carter. I mean, James warned her, but I didn't expect him to show his true colors so soon. Addie's really lucky to have such awesome "brother" around to look out for her.

I especially loved the beginning, when Addie and Dom were talking about the future. It makes sense that Dominique would want to separate herself from the other Weasleys and prove that she's got more than just her looks. I really do like her, and I think she and Addie work really well together as friends.

This was such a fun story! I really enjoyed reading it. I hope you update soon!

--Maggie

Author's Response: Yeah, some people can change the way they act so quickly. Thanks again Maggie! You're amazing, I should be updating pretty soon!

 Report Review

Review #2, by magnolia_magic Bootcamp

16th July 2013:
So I know you said this was just a filler chapter. But sometimes it's good to take a step back and just let us get to know your characters a bit better. The two truths and a lie was a great way to do that, because we got to learn tons of little tidbits about them. And it was done in an interesting way...a great example of the "show, don't tell" technique. I had fun reading it!

And yes, Addie is being VERY stupid about James! Ugh, why can't they be cute again right now? Haha, I'll just have to be patient, I suppose. I'm glad Addie and Dom are getting to be better friends, and I really enjoyed getting to know your supporting cast better. Though Tyler is still my favorite of them all :)

Off to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Yeah, I love playing that game, it's one of my favorites. Ty is amazing! I love him! Thanks again sweetie!

 Report Review

Review #3, by magnolia_magic Happy Birthday To Me

16th July 2013:
Aww, so precious! I loved this chapter, especially the end! I know it probably can't be happy forever with James and Addie, but it was nice to see her have a good birthday (and to finally let James in). I loved the little tidbits of jealousy you put in for both of them. It shows that no matter what they may say, they're starting to have feelings for each other.

My favorite part was the bit where Addie's describing her charm bracelet. I feel like I really got a sense of her in that moment; who she really feels like inside, just like she said. You're doing a wonderful job developing her. And side note: I'm so impressed with all the detail you gave about Salem! You were very thorough in your description of it, and it sounds like an amazing place :)

Off to the next chapter! Awesome work!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! I love reading your reviews, that fill me up inside with warm and fuzzes! You're too sweet!

 Report Review

Review #4, by magnolia_magic Uncommon Name

16th July 2013:
So I wish Addie would just figure out why she dislikes James so much. The way I'm seeing it, he hasn't done anything to deserve her hatred, and I just wish she could soften up a bit with him. She's so rude to him, for no reason! Haha I was really frustrated with her at the beginning.

But then the second section happened. I loved the therapy session, and seeing Addie open up. Just when I'm starting to really hate her, you make me like her again. That's a great skill; it keeps readers on their toes, for sure! This chapter shed a little more light on her childhood, and why she's so guarded. I felt terrible for her, but I was glad to see some clarity there. (And I liked her moment with James at the end. So sweet!)

I have a feeling I'm going to get to all your chapters today! I'll be back soon :)

Author's Response: Yeah, sometimes Addie (and I) get like that. Thanks you so much, that means a lot!

 Report Review

Review #5, by magnolia_magic Mommy Problems

16th July 2013:
Hi! Back for another chapter!

I'm finding myself loving some things about Addie and hating others. Haha, I'm sure you get that from readers a lot :) She's full of contradictions, but that's what's great about her! Mostly she just hates the world and practically everyone in it. That does get exhausting for me to read, but then you show us unexpected softer sides of her. Like her vulnerability about her mom, or the fact that she's not a drinker (which really did surprise me.) I think you're doing an awesome job of keeping Addie interesting!

I love Ty best of all your supporting cast so far. He seems like such a sweetheart, the perfect compliment to Addie's sullen attitude and Luke's craziness :)

Great work, again! Haha I'm definitely getting sucked into this story. I'll be back for chapter 3 soon!

Author's Response: Yeah, I love the three of them together. My goal was to make a character that was real, so I hope you think I did that! Well that's amazing to hear! Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #6, by magnolia_magic Not Your Girl

16th July 2013:
Hi! I've always wanted to read a fic set in America, and I'm so glad I picked this one! You're off to an amazing start!

Addie's going to be fun to read, I can tell. I'm a Southerner myself, so I just love reading from the POV of one! She definitely seems like the type of girl who would have guy friends, and I think you wrote her tomboy side well. (And I love Tyler and Luke too, they cracked me up!) And you're already starting to build up this great mystery about her. Clearly, her home situation isn't the best. I'm excited to find out more!

I'm off to the next chapter now! I love the way you've introduced us to Salem life. Can't wait to see where this goes. Great start!

Author's Response: Oh my lord, this is just so sweet! This made my day! Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Kathrynen Not Your Girl

16th July 2013:
I like it!
Funny main character, fun best friend type relationship with the two guys, introduction of main plot/ship pretty quickly...really well done, keep it up!

Author's Response: Wow, thanks you! That's so sweet!

 Report Review

Review #8, by YolandaP. May I Have This Dance?

16th July 2013:
I can't believe he did that, awesome plot twist! But it's sweet to see the overprotective side of James involving Ads.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Hannah(Banana) Bootcamp

16th July 2013:
I like the idea of quidditch boot camp!

Author's Response: Yeah, I had something like that for softball at my school!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Cotten Candice! Happy Birthday To Me

16th July 2013:
James is just so sweet!

Author's Response: Just like you for leaving me a review! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Emelie Happy Birthday To Me

16th July 2013:
OH MERLIN! THEY KISSED! THEY REALLY KISSED! AH! Intense fan-girling right now!

Author's Response: Haha, me too! By the way, I love your name! Thanks for being so sweet!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Cotten Candice Mommy Problems

15th July 2013:
Even though it was a filler chapter it was super sweet!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you!

 Report Review

Review #13, by tyerfuweilhqdjwHgxcfdygus71 Mommy Problems

15th July 2013:
LALALALALALALALALALALALALALA I'm drunk.

Author's Response: Like Marcus last chapter? Haha, have fun with that.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Cotton Candice Not Your Girl

15th July 2013:
I love how drunk Marcus is. It is hil-ar-ious. I love the song Love Shack too.

Author's Response: Yeah, my dad raised me on songs like that!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Awesome Possum Girl Not Your Girl

15th July 2013:
My friend and I found this and we decided to sing the beginning part and it was the best frikin' thing ever!

Author's Response: Haha, that's great! I should try that!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Maverick Not Your Girl

15th July 2013:
I love how she "accidentally" burned off Meredith's hair in 1st year. I'm sure it was accidentally on purpose.

Author's Response: Haha, maybe. ;)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Casey Not Your Girl

15th July 2013:
Hey, this is a really awesome story! Can't wait to read all 6 chapters in one day :D

Author's Response: Aw, thank you, that's so sweet!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Chivalrous May I Have This Dance?

11th July 2013:
Awww poor Addie! She has bad luck with guys from what I've seen... :( Oh and your name is Claire!??? One of my best friend's name is Claire! Haha! :)

Author's Response: Haha, yeah it's such a common name! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Chivalrous Bootcamp

22nd June 2013:
I love this so much!! I love how Addie is from Alabama!! :) Can't wait for the next update!!

Author's Response: Thanks! I love the south!

 Report Review

Review #20, by heartjily4ever Uncommon Name

30th May 2013:
I think you story line is so cute. I love your characters, especially the fiestyness of Addie. I haven't read a story like this, so it's interesting. Its cool to have people coming to Salem, instead of from Salem to Hogwarts. I can't wait for the next update, which I hope will happen soon :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much, this is TOO sweet!

 Report Review

Review #21, by shewhomustnotbenamed_ Uncommon Name

18th May 2013:
I really liked it! please update soon :)

Author's Response: Thank you, i'll try!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Holly_Mist Mommy Problems

24th February 2013:
hello :)
i think your idea of the story is great. However i think you need to develop your characters more. Especially Addie since she's the protagonist. Her characterization is sort of...vague? (i'm not sure if that's the right word). For me - it would be to justify as to why Addie is a little rude. Because, sometimes i like Addie and sometimes i don't. So i think if you work a little more on that - you should be okay! :)
Update soon :) x

Author's Response: Thank you so much for that pointer, I'll defiantly use it. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Naomu Not Your Girl

31st January 2013:
Love it so haularious plus wicked cool

Author's Response: Oh my merlin! THANK YOU!
-Claire


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login