Reading Reviews for Molly
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Secret Santa Molly

20th December 2013:
MERRY CHRISTMAS AND HAPPY HOLIDAYS!

It's your Secret Santa here! Hope you've had a lovely holiday season so far! *throws confetti and candy canes*

I really loved this. I think it's awesome when authors really expand on a character from the series who we don't get to read much about. JKR basically just said "Percy is a prat, end of story" but I love that you've explained his feelings on what he did. How he feels guilty, regrets it, etc.

This was such a sweet story and I think you did a great job illustrating the relationship between Percy and his mother.

The characterization was really brilliant as well, particularly Arthur and Molly. The way you started with the description of the maternity wing and then flowed into the rest of the story was awesome.

I thought the whole thing was very heartfelt and adorable and it made me smile! Really well done!

Author's Response: Oh, this is so exciting!! I can't wait to find out who you are :) Merry Christmas - I hope you had a lovely holiday!

I am so happy to hear that you liked this. I think Percy is a very complex character when you look into it and despite everything I actually like him, which is why I wrote this story. I'm so glad that you think it portrayed some different sides of him, as that was the point :)

And I suppose another point of the story was to portray Percy and his mother's relationship, so thank you so much for saying that :) I'm also very happy to hear that you thought the characterization was good. That is something that is really important to me when I read a story so I'm pleased to hear that. :)

THank you for a lovely review and an amazing Christmas surprise with all of your reviews! I appreciate it so much :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by aditi Molly

26th October 2013:
it was soo sweeet. i always knew that percy would come back to his senses. there's no child who,ll be able to fully betray their parent and with parents like mr and mrs weasly i had no doubt about it.

Author's Response: I am so glad to hear that. I definitely agree, I knew Percy would come around too although I imagine the guilt didn't quite go away.

 Report Review

Review #3, by missclaire17 Molly

20th August 2013:
This was absolutely BRILLIANT! I think that Percy's first child being named Molly showed more than the fact that his brief betrayal didn't destroy his relationship with his mother but also that he really learned the value of his family as well. I think that being named Molly had a lot of significance and I'm really glad that you decided to write this!

It was really wonderfully written, and I'm glad that you put in the bit about how Percy really believed that he was forgiven at this point in time because this is when he realized how he felt about his daughter. He'd forgive her no matter what, and so it made it far easier to see how his mother would forgive him.

Awesome job (:

Author's Response: It seems like you've decided to spoil me with reviews... well, I'm definitely not complaining ;)

I am so happy that you liked this one-shot! And you're right, naming his daughter Molly also says a lot about Percy's (newfound) family values.

Thank you so much for those kind words. Yes, the point was for Percy to finally understand the unconditional love that a parent feels for his or her children. I am glad it came across, and again, so glad that you enjoyed this. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!!!


 Report Review

Review #4, by quixotic Molly

30th June 2013:
Tag!

Ah, I absolutely loved that story. It feels like I've stuck my head in a pensieve full of Percy's memories. That's how well your description is. I'm so used to writers portraying Percy as this ministry robot and you've made him human. The story was simple, heartwarming and a pleasure to read. :)

-Quix

Author's Response: I'm so happy that you liked the story and the description! I actually quite like Percy's character and wanted to give him a little more depth. I'm so happy to hear that you liked it!! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by marauderfan Molly

28th June 2013:
I loved this one-shot! You did a wonderful job. I like that Percy's daughter was born so close to Christmas, because when I think of Percy and Christmas, I'm reminded of the one where he only came back to bring Rufus Scrimgeour around to see Harry. Now Christmas for him has to be about family.

I think my favourite aspect of this story is the way you've characterised Percy - just a really normal guy who made mistakes when he was young. He's actually rather likeable and not anywhere near as pompous as he was during his time at Hogwarts as a Prefect. You clearly showed how much he's grown up since the war.

Oh and I loved the whole scene with Percy and Mrs. Weasley. So cute. I liked how Percy describes his newfound respect for his family (esp his parents) now that he's a parent himself, and how he hopes his daughter turns out like his mother. I can only imagine how Mrs Weasley reacted when Percy told her his daughter's name - probably lots of sobbing and smothering hugs :)

Of all the HP characters who named their children after other people, I think Percy's made the most sense. Harry couldn't choose any original names, haha - but after reading your story I think it was perfect that Percy named his daughter Molly.

There was one sentence where I think you could re-word it to make it sound less awkward, you wrote "Her skin had the furious pink colour that new-borns had", but maybe you could say something like "Her skin was the furious pink colour typical of newborns" ... not really a big deal but just a suggestion! :)

I'm so glad I read this, I really enjoyed it. Great job!! 10/10 :)

Author's Response: Aw, I'm so glad that you liked it! And that's a really good point about Christmas meaning something entirely different for Percy from now on :)

In my mind, Percy changed a lot after the war, mainly due to the fact that Fred died, and that his regrets over not being there would probably have been overwhelming. So, yes, I did make him likable in this one, because this is years and years after that, and I just couldn't see him being the same person.

I'm glad you liked the part with him and Mrs Weasley, too. I agree - I think it took Mrs Weasley a while to collect herself enough to be able to actually go out and get enough of the family. I also agree on the baby names, and how Percy's made the most sense, and, I think, had the most meaning, because it was a way for him to show his mother just how much he loved her, despite of everything.

You're definitely right about that sentence, and I'll go back and change it as soon as possible :)

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I appreciate it so much!!! :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by randomwriter Molly

14th June 2013:
Hey :)
So this thing signed me out... Just wanted to review it properly from my account. Also, it was for review tag, not swap.

REVIEW TAG :)

Heyy :)

Okay, this isn't the kind of story I usually read. But I went for it. Thank god for the review tag :)

I love how you've given Percy's character a whole new dimension. I've always disliked Percy in all the fics I've read, but it was different this time. I think it's because nobody bothers to stress on how he was forgiven and since walking away from the family is a huge blunder on his part, I've never seemed to be able to forgive him, myself. But you've done a great job of convincing me. You've written a story that has delivered and filled in the gaps. I think I understand now, from the point of view of this fic. A very nice, quick read. Well done :)

Author's Response: Oops! I should probably have responded to this one, so that you can see my response! Well, I'll just do what you did and copy+paste ;)

I'm glad you liked it, even if it's not what you usually read! Well, I actually dislike the fact that Percy usually is so unlikable in fan fiction, especially in stories that takes place after the war. I think it's evident in the last book how badly he regrets ever leaving his family, and in my mind, Fred's death and everything that happens in DH changes him a lot. And of course, so does parenthood! Now he knows the love a parent feels for his children, so of course he realizes what an idiot he was back then. Of course, this is all in my head, but I'm glad you seem to approve :) It make me so happy to hear that you liked this!


 Report Review

Review #7, by randomwriter Molly

14th June 2013:
Heyy :)

Okay, this isn't the kind of story I usually read. But I went for it. Thank god for the review swap :)

I love how you've given Percy's character a whole new dimension. I've always disliked Percy in all the fics I've read, but it was different this time. I think it's because nobody bothers to stress on how he was forgiven and since walking away from the family is a huge blunder on his part, I've never seemed to be able to forgive him, myself. But you've done a great job of convincing me. You've written a story that has delivered and filled in the gaps. I think I understand now, from the point of view of this fic. A very nice, quick read. Well done :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it, even if it's not what you usually read! Well, I actually dislike the fact that Percy usually is so unlikable in fan fiction, especially in stories that takes place after the war. I think it's evident in the last book how badly he regrets ever leaving his family, and in my mind, Fred's death and everything that happens in DH changes him a lot. And of course, so does parenthood! Now he knows the love a parent feels for his children, so of course he realizes what an idiot he was back then. Of course, this is all in my head, but I'm glad you seem to approve :) It make me so happy to hear that you liked this!

 Report Review

Review #8, by patronus_charm Molly

2nd June 2013:
Ok I’m not even joking but that one-shot brought tears to my eyes, I’m trying to get rid of them so I can write this review but it was so heart-wrenchingly beautiful and adorably fluffy. I love it really and thought it was a wonderful one-shot.

I really liked how you started it off with them at the maternity ward and the Healer looking over them as it was a really interesting perspective and worked really well. Then the doctor and nurses excitement about the baby being born despite having seen so many births before.

Aw and when Audrey and Percy were gushing over Molly it was truly adorable. I’ve seen a lot of people make Audrey out to be a horrible person but I don’t think she would be so I really liked how you made really likeable. I also loved how you made Percy relatable too, as I don’t think that’s an easy thing to do but you did really well.

I liked the background information about the Weasley family and their children as it helped me place Molly into the timeframe and how she figured out compared to the other children and that helped a lot. It was also nice to see how they were getting on too.

When Molly and Arthur came I think my heart may have melted a little as everything was so content and serene and lovely. Then there was bit of panic when Percy was worried about having to look after and Molly calmed him down. It was interesting to see that what he did during the war still affected him but I think it was the right thing to mention that as he basically left his family so of course that’s still going to be felt. Then when he said she was going to be called Molly I started crying it was so lovely and well done and it was his way of saying how much he regretted what he did and how he loved her.

One tiny CC is that in some places the commas was outside of the speech marks when it should have been inside like here ‘“She’s perfect”, Audrey said,’ and here ‘“I know”, Percy answered’. It’s only a small thing, but you did quite a few times throughout the one-shot so I thought it would be best to point it out :)

That was an amazing one-shot and I loved it ♥

-Kiana

Author's Response: Oh, I'm so sorry for making you cry (but also a bit thrilled, haha!) I'm so glad that you liked this one-shot :)

I'm glad to hear that the Healer's perspective worked! And yes, I guess every birth is a miracle, but they were also exited because they had been so bored before, haha ;)

I don't like it when people portray Audrey as horrible either. I imagine her being a bit like Percy, sort of a know-it-all, but I still want her to be likable. And especially in this moment, after she's just had her first child, she wouldn't show any of those traits.

Yeah, Molly is somewhere in the middle of all the cousins in my mind, although maybe a bit younger than that. This is because Percy and Audrey, in my head canon, are very focused on work and don't want to have children until the timing is absolutely perfect!

I definitely think that Percy would have a hard time forgiving himself, which is why this moment was important to him in more ways than one. I love the fact that he named her Molly, because as you say, it truly is his way of showing his remorse and his love for his mother.

Thanks for pointing it out! I'll go back and change that :)

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! It was so nice and full of compliments and it really warmed my heart! I can't thank you enough!


 Report Review

Review #9, by bronykatnisshermionie Molly

27th May 2013:
This is an amazing idea, to give us a slice of the relationship between Percy and Molly. It is all detailed to perfection. A story worthy of JKR herself!!

Author's Response: Wow, what an amazing compliment! I feel very flattered! Thank you so much for brightening my day by reading and reviewing! :D

 Report Review

Review #10, by HeyMrsPotter Molly

14th May 2013:
Hello! I'm here for your requested review from the forums.
This was a lovely story! I always like fluffy one-shots so this was right up my street.

It flowed really well, I love that you kept referring to Percy not being able to take his eyes off his daughter, as a parent it's something I can totally relate to.

There were some really nice descriptions in here too, a couple that really stood out were:
"Her skin had the furious pink colour that new-borns had"
"His father’s chest seemed to swell with pride as he smiled back at him, and tears were already streaming down Mrs Weasley’s face."

Characterisation is also good, I really like the later part of the story where Percy shows his remorse for his actions before the war and that the birth of his daughter intensified that.

I did spot a couple of small errors
"no wonders she was tired" should just be "no wonder"
Grandma and Grandpa Weasley should be capitalised
"His mother's face beamed with joy" would make more sense as "His mother beamed with joy"
"Her eyelids flattered" should be fluttered.

Other than that, this was written perfectly, especially considering English isn't your first language. Job very well done!
Thank you for requesting a review and for a lovely read.

Author's Response: I'm really glad to hear that you liked this! I am so flattered by your lovely comments, and that you found Percy's behaviour believable. :) I guess that having a child is such an emotional thunderstorm that all the guilt he felt just came crashing over him.

Thank you so, so much for pointing out the errors! I'll go back and change them as soon as possible! I really appreciate it, as it helps to improve the story :)

One again, thank you so much for doing this! Your lovely compliments made me really happy, and I'm very thankful that you pointed out those errors! :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Lululuna Molly

25th April 2013:
LOVE this! I'm glad you've chosen to write about Percy, who is one of the most interesting Weasleys in my opinion. He's kind of like Ron, as he makes the wrong choices and then the right ones, and ambition and loyalty and morality are all muddled in his head.

It was interesting how even in this perfect moment, Percy can't help but regret his actions of abandoning his family all those years ago. It was very poignant but also very realistic, and I loved how Mrs. Weasley convinced him that he was forgiven by comparing it to his love for baby Molly- that was a very emotional moment and you wrote it beautifully.

It was so lovely to see your take on Percy and Mrs. Weasley's relationship: he probably wouldn't get much alone time with her, but this was really special. The descriptions of the baby were so sweet as well. My favourite line:

"Her skin had the furious pink colour that new-borns had, and her incredibly small fingers were gripping the blanket that the healer had wrapped around her. For every breath that Audrey took, the baby was raised and lowered along with her mother's thorax."

Such a beautiful and vivid description!! Very well written one-shot :)

Author's Response: I'm so glad to hear that! :) I agree, Percy is such a great character. He is a lot like Ron in that way.

I think that Percy would have trouble forgiving himself, especially after losing Fred. That's why I thought that this was an important moment for him. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed it. I think that Percy and Mrs Weasley's relationship is so interesting to imagine, especially after the war.

Thank you so much for this review! It makes mo so happy to hear that you liked this, and I really appreciate to hear what was good about etc. Thank you!! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by adluvshp Molly

20th April 2013:
Here for review tag.

Aw this was such a sweet little one-shot. I absolutely loved reading it. I think there are very few realistic Percy stories on the archives, and I was pleased that this is one of them. I liked how you reflected on Percy and his relationship with his mother here. Your descriptions were just beautiful too. I especially found the whole part of Percy loving his daughter so much the moment she was born, very adorable. You expressed all his feelings and thoughts exceptionally well. The ending was very fitting too.

All in all, a very well-written and sweet one-shot. I enjoyed this. Great job!

10/10
Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: I'm so glad to hear that you liked this! Yes, Percy seems to be forgotten at times... I'm flattered!

It makes me really, really happy to hear that you enjoyed this one-shot! Thank you so much for this review, it brightened my afternoon! :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Molly

19th April 2013:
Aw!! ♥

This is just so cute and sweet and fluffy and wonderful and perfect and... a whole bunch of amazing and awesome things, all rolled up in to one! I was near tears before I even got halfway down the page!!

The plot of this is amazing, from the bit about babies not wanting to be born near Christmas to the "forgiveness" scene between Molly and Percy; truly amazing and brilliant! And I LOVE that you waited until the end for Percy to tell his Mom what they've named her, I can only imagine how emotional her reaction was!

The flow, pace and everything are just perfect, and there were no spelling or grammar mistakes. All in all this is just a beautiful, perfect one-shot and I adore it to pieces, which is why it's not going in my favorites!! ♥

Well done, dear! 10/10!

~Jayde

Author's Response: Oh my, this review... I don't even know what to say that will make you understand how happy it makes me! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

Intentionally, I was only going to explain why Percy named his firstborn after his mother, but then those other things came naturally.. I'm so glad that you enjoyed them too :) Yeah, I wonder how long it took for Mrs Weasley to be able to stop crying after that announcement.. ;)

Thank you again for your wonderful praise! (I read your message, so I understand that it's *now* going in your favorites, and I'm really glad to hear it!) and thanks for encouraging me to want to write more stories like this one! :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by ginnys twin Molly

18th April 2013:
Wow, this is beautiful. I love the thought process and I just don't know what to say but WOW. Another story this reminded me of was Grizzled by Lululuna. I think you would like it. Again, this was perfect in every way.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! It makes me so happy to hear that you like it, and I'll check out that story as soon as possible :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by 800 words of heaven Molly

16th April 2013:
REVIEW TAG, YO!

Aww... this story was absolutely adorable! I liked it so much! Just what I needed on a day like this - it's made me feel much better!

I love the subtle humour in this. It isn't outright funny, but it has its moments, and they're really charming. They add a lot of colour and lightness to the mood of the story, which I think is really fitting for this piece!

I also like the way you portrayed Percy. I was really happy, too, when JK Rowling told us the name of Percy's firstborn. I thought a similar thing to you, and I adore the way you've told it here!

I think you have a wonderful author's voice, and I hope you write more stories like this one in the future!

Author's Response: I am so glad that you liked it!

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! It makes me so happy to hear that you enjoyed this story, and especially that you liked Percy (he's not the easiest character to write!)

Thank you so much again!! :) Now that you've encouraged me, I probably will write more stories like this one ;)


 Report Review

Review #16, by CherryBoom Molly

12th April 2013:
Hi! I'm here for your requested review. =)

It was a really sweet piece of fluff. The idea was wonderful, and it would be interesting to read more about Percy & Audrey and their family. I see that you've softened Percy's edges from canon, but it works quite well for such emotional one-shot. Though I can't deny that I was hoping for a small sign of Percy's pompousness to emerge, just for laughs. =P

I quite enjoyed the characters, although mostly this one-shot concentrated on Percy's and his mum's relationship. Mrs Weasley was especially splendidly written. If I remember right from OotP, Molly's biggest fear was losing her loved ones, so losing Percy (even for a short while) must have been really hard for her.

There's really only one thing that felt like it was missing from this one-shot. You didn't describe much of the characters. I would have like to know whether little Molly had as flaming hair as her grandma, whether Percy was still wearing glasses and bit more about Audrey. But it's a really minor issue.

Other than that, it was wonderfully written one-shot with nice flow and I didn't even notice any typos in text. The ending was perfect, since it brought a good closure to the story.

I hope this review was helpful for you. If you have any questions, you can PM me in forums. Happy writing! =)

Author's Response: Hello! First of all, thank you so much for doing this!

I'm glad that you liked this. I have softened Percy's edges, but that's because he, in my mind, changed a lot after the Battle, after losing Fred and especially after having a baby. I agree with you that I should have shown a bit of his old traits too, I just couldn't come up with something good. But I'll definitely add something if I do ;)

I'm glad you liked Mrs Weasley. She's such a lovely character to write, so I'm glad you think I did her justice.

You're absolutely right about describing the characters. I'll definitely give this story a second look when I get the chance - I personally love when things are described well so you get the full picture, so I really agree with you :)

Once again, thank you so much! This review was both very kind and helpful, and I really appreciate it!! :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by DancingMooncalf Molly

11th April 2013:
Hey, here is your review.

I adore this story. It's very precious, almost breakable. There's This kind of tinkling of emotion through the story that makes my heart melt.

The joy a newborn brings to the world and to the hearts of the parents is something that I alwasy see as a sort of light. And you described that a bit. It's really beautiful how you did that.

The conversation between Percy and his mother was so honest and true. There was really no way he wouldn't call his daughter after his mother. Because after everything that happened he still loves his mother a lot. You can fell that in you words.

I wish there was more. But maybe it is just enough as it is. But I liked it so much I was really disapointed that it was over.

I hope you liked my review. I really like to read the story and write this for you :)

Maya

Author's Response: Wow, I don't even know where to start. I'm so glad that you liked this. Thank you so much for your kind words.

I agree with you - the fact that he named her Molly really shows how much he loves his mother, and that's what I wanted to portray in this story. I'm glad to hear that you got that message ;)

I'm so glad that you liked it. It makes me happy to hear that it left you wantin more, but I didn't want to make it too long and lose the emotion of it. Also, it's a sort of addition to my other story, '19 years' (although this part is still far off in the future of that story).

Thanks again for reviewing, I appreciate it so much!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login