Reading Reviews for A Child's Love
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by GingeredTea A Child's Love

30th November 2013:
I loved this! You did a really good job with a rather fluffy story - making it compelling, funny, and deep even though it wasn't angst-filled. I love Ron's Fluffykins and the way he describes each of his boys. The flow was excellent and you stopped it before she knew about the goblet. LOL
Great job!

 Report Review

Review #2, by TheGirlWithTheLaughingFace A Child's Love

25th November 2013:
Review Tag!

Aww what a sweet little one shot this is.

It may seem evil but I just couldn't help giggling at Arthur being at his wit's end with the boys. Oh Arthur it's okay you know your children and wife love you no matter what.

This was a cute story that should how much Arthur tried to help out his wife while she was pregnant with Ginny and just how slightly clueless he is.

 Report Review

Review #3, by HandofGlory A Child's Love

29th April 2013:
It was nice to see the Weasley boys still act like they currently did when they were younger. I knew Percy was always a little jerk, even at 5!

Poor Arthur, even though he should have known this was going to happen to him. At least he tried, right?

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! It was a lot of fun writing the Weasley boys when they were younger!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Female_Warrior A Child's Love

22nd March 2013:
Hello. :) I stumbled across your story totally by accident, but I'm glad I did! I thought that Arthur's perspective was extremely well done - it's easy to imagine him having those types of insecurities about his ability as a father, especially early on. And he always was the good cop! The relationship between he and Molly is just so loving here, and somehow that complements the chaos perfectly and keeps it light.

The bit that made me keep reading, though, was your description of the five-year-old Percy. He's clearly an old soul, and he seemed to hold his brothers' more obvious immaturity in such disdain that it made me laugh out loud. Do you picture him with his horn-rimmed glasses at that age?

Anyway, just wanted to say that this was a great read. Great work!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much for the lovely review! I can definitely see a little horn-rimmed glasses wearing Percy!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #5, by potterfan310 A Child's Love

6th March 2013:
Hey, I'm here from the review battle :)
I love the Weasleys and fics centered around the red headed clan :)

I think it's really sweet what Arthur's trying to do for Molly even though she doesn't 100% trust him with their unruly boys.

The way Molly was thinking about Arthur looking after the boys, I thought she felt like he was just as bad as them and that really it was seven children not six lol.

What with Fred and George involved, I'm in agreement with Molly, I'm surprised the house stayed standing with them involved.

It made me smile about Ron and his teddy bear 'fluffykins'. I'm guessing this might have been the teddy that was turned into a spider.

It was really nice of Arthur to offer to clean the house, although I bet the children thought it was going to be something more fun/exciting. I know I would :D

I think because the Weasley's are so well known it can be tricky to write them but I think you done an excellent job!!

And the characterisation was perfect, especially the children. Ron was just adorable, especially with his teddy. Although most one year olds can't say proper words such as 'food' or 'what's doing' more like a lot of nonsense and the odd 'mama' or 'dada'.

Fred and George, trouble makers before they even start Hogwarts. Bill and Charlie were perfect, considering you had pretty much a free reign on them as we don't know alot about them.

Even though Percy is older than Charlie I can relate slightly to the telling off older sibling and the telling tales. Since I'm was guilty of both whe I was younger *whoops* It made Percy even more Percy like :)

"little pieces it would be impossible to put together" - All I could think about was Hermione yelling at Harry about being a wizard. Would the reparo spell still work if Arthur managed to find his wand?

The only thing I would say is that Ginny's real name is Ginevra not Virginia. But apart from that I loved it!!!

This was really good, poor old Arthur, bless him. At least Molly did manage to have a little rest before having to restor peace to the busy house.

It flowed really well and I didn't see any mistakes. Well done you and well done Arthur :)

-Potterfan310
Soph :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the sweet review - I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

About the Ginevra/Virginia thing, at this stage Molly and Arthur were just considering names for Ginny...my head canon is that they liked the nickname Ginny, but not Virginia. But that's just my take.

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #6, by CambAngst A Child's Love

5th March 2013:
Hello there! I'm here for the Review Battle and, honestly, I've wanted to check this story out for a while.

The first thing you should know about my reaction to reading this is that it made my chest feel tight. You're probably thinking that's a bad thing, but it's not. When your reader is the father of two rambunctious boys, I think it's quite a compliment. Arthur's stress level is so palpable in this, the situation is so gripping and nerve-wracking... the scene you've painted in this story is every father's worst nightmare. And you did a lovely job of it!

You gave all of the kids such unique and appropriate personalities. Charlie is obviously more of a blank slate from the books, but I thought you did a really good job of filling in the gaps. Bill and Percy were absolutely perfect; I can't even think of a thing to suggest. The twins and Ron did seem a tad too advanced for their age, especially Ron. Very few one-year-olds are at a point where they can communicate verbally. Having older brothers to mimic probably helps, but it still stuck out in my mind.

The pure chaos that the boys are able to create all around the house was so familiar that it made my blood pressure go up. Arthur definitely allowed them to divide and conquer him, a cardinal sin when you're trying to manage multiple children at the same time!

Molly is just a saint, isn't she? She got maybe an hour of "rest" before the cacophony drew her downstairs and yet she's still appreciative of what Arthur tried to do for her. I... um, don't think my wife would have been quite that understanding. ;)

This was a lovely, fun story and you did a splendid job writing it. The narrative was crisp and lively and everything flowed very well. It was an easy read and I didn't see any typos or grammatical problems. Well done!

Author's Response: Hello to you too! I can't believe how long it's taken me to respond to this review, I'm so very sorry! And it's been a while since of reviewed your fantastic Conspiracy of Blood...I should probably get onto that.

I'm so happy you enjoyed this story - it was definitely a lot of fun to write, imagining how each of the Weasley boys would act as a young child.

Thank you for the lovely review!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #7, by HollyStone73 A Child's Love

1st March 2013:
This is SOOO cute!! I can totally see this all happening inside my head! I love how you captured each of the Weasley boys in a manner that is true to the novels. The fact that Arthur is insistent on making the cake by hand like the muggles do is so what I would expect from him. And tattle-tale Percy with his head buried in a book was priceless. Loved it! Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review - it was so much fun writing each of the Weasley's as children.
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #8, by RS A Child's Love

26th February 2013:
It's so good! And I like how it doesn't end perfect, which makes it more realistic. But isn't Charlie older than Percy? Percy was still yelling at Charlie, though. I thought the older ones usually tell off the younger ones. But great great story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Yeah, Charlie is older that Percy, but I just remembered in the fourth book, Percy yelling at Bill and Charlie to keep the noise down, so I thought it seemed the kind of thing little Percy would do.

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #9, by aquabluez17 A Child's Love

20th February 2013:
Aww!! that was just soo cute!!

It was really great to see all of the kids together :P the twins are just soo adorable!!

poor Freddie :(

great work Courtney!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #10, by 800 words of heaven A Child's Love

31st January 2013:
REVIEW TAG!

I enjoy reading your stories quite a bit, because they're always so entertaining! This one-shot is no exception - so many kinds of adorable!

One of my favourite ships is Molly/Arthur. I think they're super-underrated, but probably the most normal couple in the entire Potterverse. They married young, for love, and they've turned out to be the exception that proves the rule, in a sense, as their love is so strong and enduring.

I think you really captured the essence of each character really well here. Molly was typical Molly - motherly, in control, the one who ran the household. I think it was very telling that Arthur still felt so insecure in his role as a father, which is often the case with young dads, although, you'd think he'd be a bit used to the idea by now, considering his seventh kid was on the way! But it made sense, because he wasn't home as much as he wanted to be, because he needed to work overtime at the Ministry and everything.

Can I just say that Ron was my absolute favourite? He was so cute, with his love for his teddy bear and even greater love for food. I actually also really enjoyed Bill and Charlie as characters. We don't know so much about them, because they'd already graduated by the time Harry started school, but I thought it was really nice the way you explored them. Bill sounded a lot like James II did in the epilogue, which I thought was a pretty clever way to make a connection. Charlie was so cute! I thought he acted a lot more mature, emotionally at least, for his age than Percy did, which was some cool sort of insight into Percy's character, later on in the series. Fred and George were, of course, typically Fred and George, getting up to all sorts of mischief!

Anyways, a super enjoyable read, as always!

Author's Response: Yay! Another review from you-your reviews always make my day and make me smile, so I really appreciate it!

This was such a fun piece to write, and I really enjoyed putting my own spin on what we already know about each of the Weasley's, so I'm super glad you liked their characterizations!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #11, by adluvshp A Child's Love

30th January 2013:
Review Tag!

Ahaha this was a wonderful one-shot! I really enjoyed reading this, great job xD

I think you portrayed the chaos of the Weasleys quite well. Arthur and Molly were captured very well. I loved how you wrote Arthur trying to handle six children, it was hilarious! I did pity him though xP And then Molly coming in and putting everything in order was awesome, very Molly-like.

This was a fun read, and though there were some grammar errors, they didn't obstruct the flow much. I liked the ending also, it was quite sweet.

I think Weasleys are a very challenging family to portray, but you managed to show them just fine. It all felt very believable, and the situation didnt seem forced at all. The story had a humorous edge with its sweetness.

All in all, good work!

9/10

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the lovely review-I'm glad you enjoyed reading it, especially when I know how amazing your stuff all is!

The Weasley's definitely were a challenge to write, as there are just so many of them, but also very enjoyable.

Thanks again!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Badname A Child's Love

27th January 2013:
Teeheehee... poor, well-meaning Arthur trying to deal with six unruly children! The way you had Arthur tiptoeing around, trying not to shout at the children while they run amok, I thought was spot-on.

"Jabba buboka wabble fwog," Ron told his teddy bear seriously. Ha - did you have Ron saying some actual words here that he's just mangled, or was Ron winging it?

Arthur's surprise is cleaning - I can absolutely imagine Arthur enthusiastically announcing that cleaning would be a fantastic way for his children to spend the day.

Gosh, poor Arthur. Things are going from bad to worse! I thought Ron losing the teddy-bear would put an end to it but the Weasley boys clearly have a lot more mischief in them yet.

I think my favourite part of this is when Molly comes in and sets everything to rights - in a couple of paragraphs she's proved that she's a very capable woman. Arthur seems to have been running around like a (well-intentioned) headless chicken, but Molly's all business.

Ahh... the mayhem of the Weasley family :-)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much for the sweet review! I had a lot of fun writing this one shot, especially Arthur's character, so I'm glad you enjoyed it! And the Weasley family are just awesome!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #13, by marauder5 A Child's Love

24th January 2013:
This was a great one-shot, I really liked it! I think you've captured the characters and the essence of the Weasleys perfectly. I can really picture it having been like this. A very sweet ending, as well. There were a few mistakes, for example you tend to write like this: "He wasnít childish-well, sometimes he was". I guess you forget to make space between the words, it should be: "He wasn't childish - well, sometimes he was..." It's a minor error and it doesn't really disturb the reading, I just noticed, so I thought I'd point it out.

Like I said, I really enjoyed this! I love Arthur as a father, but I can easily imagine him feeling a bit insecure next to Molly. It was brilliant, you should be very content with this story :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review! Haha, thanks for pointing that out-I guess one always tends to make mistakes, no matter how many times they edit! Well, I do anyway! I'm glad you thought I captured the essence of the characters well, so thanks!
Courtney:)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login