Reading Reviews for Waiting For You
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alicia and anne Waiting For You

12th August 2014:
Ooo a wedding! And someone may not be turning up! Drama is a-foot!

Haha I wonder if Lily has come to her senses? I think James would go mental! He would explode!

Awww I love the letter she sent him, she's just nervous, of course she is! I would be if I was marrying the awesome person that is James! :P

Why is she late then?

Awww Sirius is worried! I just want to hug him!

Aww all Lily has to do is say please, and James will do everything he can for her. :P He's so cute! And so wrapped around her finger.

What's he planning?! WHAT's HE PLANNING!!!?

OH MY GOD I AM SO HAPPY AND SO FULL OF LOVE AND FLUFFYNESS AT THE FACT THAT HE'S LOOKING AT LILY AND HE'S FULL OF LOVE!

WHAT? WHAT? YOU TRICKED ME! I THOUGHT FOR SURE THAT YOU WERE WRITING FROM THE VIEW POINT OF JAMES!

WHAT?! WHAT?!

NO! WHY DID YOU TRICK ME!

REMUS LOVES LILY?!

:O OH MY GOD! SERIOUSLY! I CAN'T NOT TALK LIKE THIS NOW. THESE ARE MY FEELINGS! SHOCK, SO MUCH SHOCK IT'S UNBELIEVABLE!

I CAN'T BELIEVE YOU TRICKED ME SO FABULOUSLY, I DID NOT SEE THIS COMING!

NOW I HAVE REMUS/LILY FEELINGS!

 Report Review

Review #2, by slytherinchica08 Waiting For You

1st May 2013:
Oh I really liked that bit at the end with Remus! It was very interesting, switching povs over halfway through the story but it worked. The only thing I would really suggest is to maybe make the switch a bit more obvious. It tripped me up a bit going from James to Remus and it made me reread bits just so I could figure out who was talking. I enjoyed reading both povs though. It was nice how you tied in the beginning and end with the title, waiting for you. As they were both waiting and while one didn't have to wait too long, the other is going to wait the rest of his lifetime. I could feel the longing for both of them which was nice and I thought all around that you did a good job with your title, rating, and pairing! Thank you for taking part in the challenge!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Hi Erica!

I'm pleased that you liked this one-shot, although it's solely from Remus' POV. The reader was meant to think it was James at first then be surprised that it was Remus, but I suppose some concepts sound great in your head but don't fully come across on screen XD I'm glad you liked it anyway, and I definitely enjoyed writing it in this challenge!

-Isobel


 Report Review

Review #3, by Siriusly89 Waiting For You

13th February 2013:
Aaaah!

I've recently discovered that I am slightly obsessed with Jily, and when I mean slightly I mean I troll through the forums looking for them :D

This one-shot was so beautifully written! All of James' pre-wedding jitters were really well descirbed, and him worrying Lily wouldn't show up was pretty probable, as he was probably still worried she was going to revert back to hating the sight of him!

Remus' piece at the end was very interesting! The piece where he said: I've known him for longer than you, and I know what he's really like. I know that this façade of maturity won't last forever. One day, he'll let you down. Eventually, he'll break your heart and destroy all the hopes that you have now. was really different! I've seen a few one-shots where Remus pines after Lily, but eventually accepts that James is the person for her/ he is too dangerous given the whole werewolf thing/ she is happy with James! But never have I seen him say that one day James will let her down, and that he'll be there! And I really love this one-shot for that :D

10/10

Author's Response: Aaaah!

James/Lily are one of the best ships ever! If only this one-shot was about them :(

Thank you so much! Although it was actually Remus all the way through the one-shot - you were meant to think it was James at first, though! ;) And yeah, those people's worries were pretty likely! XD

Awww, thank you so much! It's great to hear that you thought my take on Remus was unique! I thought he needed a selfish side every once in a while, before he lost all the people he cares about!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #4, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Waiting For You

11th February 2013:
Hey, SamMalfoy93 here. :)

Whoa, whoa, whoa! It's not James??? What a twist! I was so sure, so happy reading a nice James/Lily one-shot, then BAM, it's REMUS! Whoa! Now I'm sad, feeling so sorry for my favorite werewolf who isn't getting the girl he loves! And my head keeps going whoa! because I still can't quite believe it!

But I loved it. It was written so amazingly well and I enjoyed every second of it. Thank you for leaving a link for my, I'm so glad I got to read this!

Whoa! :P

Sam.

Author's Response: I'm so sorry for the delay in responding - RL has been crazy!

And yup, it's not James! XD Aww, I'm sorry you're sad - but I'm very pleased about your head going "whoa!". ;) (I feel sorry for poor Remus, too!)

Thank you so much! It's great to hear that you enjoyed it! XD

-Katie


 Report Review

Review #5, by Arithmancy_Wiz Waiting For You

7th February 2013:
Hello there. The link you left as a reply to my status didn't work so I hope you don't mind that I picked this story to review.

Wow, what a twist. Here I am, plugging along, thinking about all the cute and fluffy goodness that is James and Lily, and then bam! It's not James thinking all this at all. It's Remus. I didn't see that coming. I love stories that catch you by surprise and this one totally did for me.

That said, there was still a lot of loveliness here. You really made it clear how much Remus cares for Lily -- that he loves her just as much as James does. How bittersweet. And your descriptions themselves were really well done. I could practically see the light filtering in through the stained-glass windows. You did a great job of marrying (no pun intended!) the details and the emotion throughout.

I think my favorite part was actually when Sirius whispered in his ear. It was sweet when I thought it was James, but looking back, knowing he was talking to Remus, made it all kind of heartbreaking. Poor Remus, wanting deep down for his friend to understand what he's going through.

The only small bit of CC I can think to offer is to maybe scale back a bit on the abundant use of semi-colons. They are a pretty strong form of punctuation and can be a bit distracting when used so frequently. I think in some cases you might have better flow if you used sentence fragments mixed in just for more variety.

Other than that, this is a really great read. It packs a surprising amount of emotion for a relatively short piece.

Author's Response: Hello! First off, I'd like to apologize for the delay in responding to this review; RL has not been my friend recently. (And it's completely fine that you picked this story to review; the link was meant to go to my author's page anyway.) :)

Heh. It's great to hear that you liked the twist and that it was successful in surprising you!

Thank you so much - I was really worried about writing the Remus/Lily ship, as James/Lily is my OTP, so it's always pleasing to hear that I wrote Remus in a way that was believable. XD And it's great to hear that you liked the descriptions!

I absolutely agree with you - that is one of my favourites too, even though it was one of the hardest to write for me considering I always feel bad about breaking poor Remus' heart.

Ah, semi-colons. I'm working on reducing them and using more brevity in my sentences, and I plan to revisit this one-shot some time to re-edit. But thank you for pointing the issue out! :)

I'm glad to hear that you like this story! Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Waiting For You

2nd February 2013:
Hello, Laurenzo7321 here with your review!

I really don't know what to make of this! I absolutely adored the writing, I think it's a fantastic piece of work. I'm just confused because it goes against everything I love about this era!

I'm a huge Lily/James shipper so I'm glad you kept them together. I just don't like the thought of Remus planning to break them up. Please don't think I'm criticising or anything here though, I'm just trying to explain my mixed feelings towards it. I want to not like it because I don't like the thought of Remus doing this but I can't help but love what a beautiful piece of writing this is.

I genuinely thought it was James right up until the point of her stepping the extra two steps. It was a serious 'Hang on a minute - what just happened now?' moment and as soon as I finished it I re-read it and gave different meanings to everything than I had done the first time. You've done an absolutely amazing job of hiding who your true speaker is up until the point I mentioned and if you took that section out, you really could be talking about James. A massive massive kudos to you, you've done it so well.

I'm going to be honest, I can't find anything to give you CC on. Your imagery was amazing, the way you've hidden the narrator is fantastic and the story you've told is really interesting and could have happened as much as I don't want it to have.

The letter from Lily was really sweet, poor James for not reading it! I really liked what you wrote. I also loved Remus's plea that Sirius know he was lying. I think you've got Remus spot on there and if this did go down, it's how he would have felt - if I'm making sense?

I also liked and disliked the bit you wrote where Remus says he knows James and it's only a matter of time before he messes up - that the maturity is an act. I think this finished the piece off nicely and was a fitting end. I just didn't like it as the James in my head is all mature and it definitely isn't an act!

Anyway, I loved this piece! Thank you for requesting it - I really enjoyed reading it!

Lauren :)

Author's Response: Hello there!

First off, please don't worry about not liking this chapter! Confession: it was a nightmare to write, since James/Lily is my OTP and I can only write them and unrequited Snape/Lily... this was originally written for a challenge where I had to write Remus/Lily, hence this one-shot. I'm really glad to hear that despite your James/Lily love, you still liked this one-shot - it's such a -fantastic- compliment!

That was definitely my intention - even going so far as to include the stolen letter - and I just love that two steps further moment! XD Again, that was also my intention, and I'm so happy to hear that this one-shot was as successful as I'd hoped it'd be!

Aww, thank you! ♥ I mean, seriously. I'm just a pile of mushy feels right now at all of your lovely comments! And yes - you make perfect sense! :)

ME TOO!! But again, I love that you still liked this one-shot despite the pairing, and yep - James definitely is mature (most of the time) - in this situation, it's Remus' jealousy speaking.

Woo! Thank you for such a lovely review! ♥

-Katie


 Report Review

Review #7, by Remus Waiting For You

1st February 2013:
Heya! Back for more and seriously...I can't wait to read this one! I love me some Marauder fics...! I'm sorry, however, to have taken so long to come back. I went walking today to clear my head and did some needlework while watching the HP 7.2 movie. Before I knew it, it was dinner time! haha, However, better late than never!

Awww! The guests don't seem to like James much, now do they! They thought that Lily had left him in the altar and that she had changed her mind...I felt sorta sad for James! Was there anyone that actually liked him aside from the friends? hahaha. I was half hoping that Sirius would offer some firewhiskey to James because that's something I bet he would do in the wedding. Anyway, I'm glad that the people didn't bother James when it came to what they thought. He only cared for Lily and that made me happy. He sounds so in love and hopeful and seriously...I was grinning like a mad woman as I was reading this. The imagery of the church, by the way, was fantastic! I could picture everything in my head without a problem.

How come Lily wasn't walked down the aisle by her father? Were James's parents already dead by now?

There was a instance, in paragraph 4 where it starts off with For a moment... where it got a bit wordy. But that was the only moment that felt that way.

Remus took me by surprise! I seriously thought it was Sirius who was thinking all of that until I read the part that he became an Animagus just for me. I was shocked! It was in a good way though. I can understand why he would fall for her. They were prefects, both were dedicated to their grades so I'm sure that they spent a lot of time studying together. However, it made me sad to think that even Remus thought of James as person just pretending to be mature. Perhaps his jealousy speaking?

I really wish this had been longer, you know! Like an expansion of Remus's thoughts and feelings. Sirius perhaps and definitely Lily's. It just felt a tad bit rushed. Then again, it could be me just wanting more James/Lily fics of them getting married. Hahaha!

:D

Thanks for the swap once more! XD

Until next time!

--Rosie

Author's Response: Hello there! Ah, don't worry! You're right - better late than never! :D

Considering that James is infamous for his prankster attitude whilst at school, and how much Lily disliked his behaviour in her earlier Hogwarts years, I think most of the wizarding world would be all "wait, what?!" at the news of their marriage. But that's only because they don't -really- know James and Lily. ;) I know! That's something that Sirius would totally do! XD It's also fantastic to hear that you could picture the church in your mind perfectly!

That's a good question - I didn't actually think of that. :3 The last wedding I went to, the bride walked down the aisle by herself instead of being accompanied by her dad so yeah, I don't know what happened there. I'll fix that soon, if I remember. >.< As for James' parents, they would've been on the groom's side of the church like Remus was. Since Remus was looking behind him, towards the middle of the church, he would've had his back to James' parents so he wouldn't have described them since he couldn't see them. :3

I thought I dropped the hint that it wasn't Sirius by having Sirius ask Remus if he'd heard from Lily... :3 Absolutely - and there's no need to be sad! Mr Hooves is definitely mature - most of the time! (Side note: I can't think of that name anymore without thinking of that dancing stag! :3) It is definitely Remus' jealousy speaking there, and not his unbiased opinion.

I actually found it really hard to write this, as it was originally written for a challenge where I had to write the Remus/Lily pairing, so expansion from Remus' POV would be impossible since James/Lily is my OTP... I do plan on including the wedding in a chapter of TGND from Lily's POV, so you'll get more detail if you read that one when I eventually post it! XD

No problemo!

-Katie


 Report Review

Review #8, by CloakAuror9 Waiting For You

27th January 2013:
Aw! That was such a bittersweet one-shot! It was beautiful!

When I realised that the lower half of the story was in Remus's POV I wanted to reach out to hug him and say that Tonks will be there for him soon. I can imagine how painful it must've been for him to not be able to do anything about James and Lily's union, not even when he was given the chance to speak up.

Is it bad that I totally squealed when James saw Lily walking down the aisle? I couldn't help it. There's just something about imagining you OTP getting married.

I thought you wrote both parts really well. ♥. Remus's part was so perfectly written. It's sad and a little bit poetic. Beautiful!

~Izzy

56th review out of 100

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the compliment!

The whole one-shot was actually in Remus' POV - I didn't want to give away the Remus/Lily ship so I made the first part ambiguous. :) It's great to hear that what I wrote made you want to hug him and imagine how he felt, though! :D

And of course it's not! James/Lily are my OTP too; that's why Remus never spoke up, because Lily and James will always belong together in the end. ♥

Thank you so much! Thank you for reviewing! :D

-Katie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login