Reading Reviews for Resolution
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Norbert/Norberta Resolution

23rd April 2015:
Hello! *waves*

I'm Norbert (well, now Norberta, since I'm actually a female, you know). I've come all the way from Romania, because a friend - she used to be a dragonologist - over at the forums told me you are the admin there. And I like the people at HPFF, they're all so nice to me, so I thought I should leave you a review so you know how grateful I am for all the hard work you put into the site. And that's why I'm here.

I think this was a very good story. I've never thought much of Celestina, but my friend over at the forums loves her. She thinks it's a shame there are not more stories about her, so I know she would have been delighted if she saw this story herself. And even though I myself am not a fan of Celestinas music, I did enjoy reading about her. I've always wanted to be famous, but it isn't really that easy when you're a dragon. If you do get famous, it's never in a good way. No, life is certainly not easy when your a dragon, I can tell you.

I like your characterisation of Celestina. I think you really captured her emotions and thoughts well. She's always seemed to me like she's a very busy woman, because it must be stressful being so famous. And that really comes across in this story as well. There's a sense of fatigue over it, a woman who's so busy that she doesn't really have time to do much other than what is planned for her. But that's okay for her, because - like she thinks in the last line - it's what she was meant to do.

I would like to stay longer, but I have to get back to Romania now. It's a long flight, so I really should get going. Maybe you could say hi to my friend over at the forums for me, though, if you meet her. She's very friendly and kind, I must say, but then again so are most of the people over at the forums, I've been told. Hopefully you can find her anyway, if that's what you want to do.

Thanks for sharing the story, and I hope you have a wonderful day!

Lots of Love

Norbert/Norberta

 Report Review

Review #2, by Secret Santa! Resolution

5th January 2015:
Hey again Alopex!

Ooh I really loved this! You could just sense the anticipation and tension in everything she thought and did, and I'm really amazed how you managed to carry it through the entire story. It made me wish there could have been a follow up to this just to see how she was! Despite all that tension and anticipation though, there was this underlying sense of calm which was echoed in the last line as she recognised her ability to sing and perform was something innate and nothing could make her fail, so the worrying seemed almost routine in a way.

I really liked how you tied her being a performer into the wizarding world as there were some familiar aspects to it such as her feelings and how they were all shouting her name, but instead of using a microphone she simply said sonorous instead and had banshees as her backer singers! I really loved the thoughts about the banshees as it seemed so funny to have them there and did make me laugh throughout!

This was such a great story and really did make me smile! :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore Resolution

9th July 2014:
Hi Alo! I'm here in the middle of my reviewing frenzy to try and stop by some of the staffers' stories and give them some love as well, for organising this event!

This was a great story! I've never read anything about Celestina Warbeck before but I love minor characters and so this immediately caught my eye. I thought that you explored her character really well in this story and especially her thoughts and emotions. There was a sense of fatigue that came through in the majority of the story, because she's under so much pressure and doing so much performing and touring, and then when she gets on the stage that just seems to disappear completely. It's clear that she's at home when she finally gets on stage, and that she loves performing; the final line about her being made to perform tied in brilliantly and made a lot of sense from the character you'd created with this story.

I think my favourite line in the whole story has to be the one which seemed so casual about the banshees as her backing singers. It made me laugh a lot!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #4, by Beeezie Resolution

17th July 2013:
I liked this story a lot! You gave us a nice glimpse of a witch who was mentioned a few times throughout the series but who we never really saw, and I always kind of wondered about her. This take makes sense - if she was such a huge singer when Molly was young, of course Molly would still be devoted to her years later - and of course Fleur would find her less than amusing.

You did a nice job depicting how this sort of thing works in the wizarding world - I loved the soundproofing charm (which I often wish I had), though why Celestina thought banshees were a good idea still confuses me a bit.

Nice job! I really enjoyed it. :)

House Cup 2013 - Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #5, by Trundlebug Resolution

17th July 2013:
This was an excellent scene. I like anything that really how a character thinks and what they feel, and you have certainly accomplished that here. And you did it with a minor character and made it your own. Always good.

The writing is very well-done, and it reads fluidly. My only gripe was that it wasn't about 10 times longer than it is. I read it in around a minute and immediately wanted more, and that's always a sign that you did right by a piece.

Good job all around, and a solid 9 for sheer story-telling skill, but I'm keeping that last point because you teased us with such a short bit.

Very good work

Ken

 Report Review

Review #6, by broadwaykat Resolution

10th April 2013:
Wow - I know I said I was going to review this a while ago, seeing as you were the only entry in my challenge...but now I feel horrible for leaving it late. I hope I can make it up for it.

This piece was exactly what I wanted to see come out of this competition; it's an in-depth look at a performer in the wizarding world, and I think you did an awesome job with what you were given. I love how you took someone existing in the books - however cursory - and fleshed her into the piece rather than giving a major character a different hobby, or making an ooc - this just feels like it would belong in canon, and it seriously gives me shivers, being a singer myself - there was so much connection to the magical world, and the character and - I want to read more! I want to read about Celestina's other touring venues - I want to go on the road with her and her banshees!

Also - I loved the throwaway of the banshee singers. Those are some more 'creatures' only just mentioned in the world, but they would be singers, wouldn't they! It's just - no other word to describe it - perfect. This is what I was expecting in this challenge. Brava!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Jchrissy Resolution

10th February 2013:
You have to play some sort of instrument, right?

There was so much feeling in this piece, so much connecting between Celestina and what she was doing. Her preparations were precise. Even after 100 shows that year It still feels like she's in love with being up there, doing the only thing she would want to.

This is a really beautifully written piece. The style is simple enough that I don't find myself having to dig through words to find what you're saying, but it also has a dreamy feeling to it. That doesn't make much sense, huh?

I didn't notice if this was for the 500 word challenge as well as the creativity is magic, but if it's not I really think you should consider extending it or writing something similar to it. I know there wasn't much to get across. You wanted us to feel and understand that what she's doing, what she does probably very near every night, is it's own kind of magic. And you got that across beautifully, but I just wanted more. I know, that's a weak complaint. Maybe because I enjoyed being inside the dream like sense of this piece...

I saw you on my forums page and clicked on you, and realized I didn't remember reading anything of yours before. Which is what led me here. To be honest, I chose this piece because of it's short size. It's just about midnight where I am, and I wanted a small read. But after reading this, I'm genuinely glad it's what I chose. I'm anxious to get back and read more of your work!

Jami

 Report Review

Review #8, by Arithmancy_Wiz Resolution

13th January 2013:
I'll be honest, I didn't even know you were writing again until I saw your status update on the forums. Someone who is as good at reviewing as you are should definitely post more stories.

This, I thought, was kind of adorable. It's short, yes, but it's also very sweet, though with a hint of melancholy on the part of Celestina. Her sense of fatigue really came through in the beginning, but I like how it seemed to fade the moment she stepped out onto the stage.

I thought the writing itself was also good. It definitely doesn't read like someone who hasn't done a lot of writing of late. I thought everything from "There was a discreet tap..." onward was particularly well done. The writing felt clean and tight. If you're looking for CC, the only thing I noticed were a few "unnecessary" words near the beginning. For example, I don't think you need both warm-up and exercises. Vocal warm-ups or vocal exercises would suffice. Same with "few moments of undisturbed peace to herself." A few moments of undisturbed peace, or a few minutes to herself would be enough to convey the meaning.

But those are just little nitpicks; I just couldn't find anything else to offer suggestions on. Overall, this was a super cute read. I hope you win the challenge ;)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!

I'm gratified that you remarked on Celestina's sense of fatigue and how it faded onstage. That is precisely what I was trying to convey, and it's always good to know it was obvious to a reader.

I actually find it quite interesting that you identified the discreet tap line as a dividing point. That was my first line, initially, and then I wrote on from there. However, I hadn't reached 500 words by the time I reached my intended last line (it just occurred to me that I often have a last line in mind when I write). I went and added stuff to the front, but I think to a discerning reader such as yourself, it's obvious that the tacked-on beginning is not quite in sync with the rest.

I see what you mean about repetitive wording, and I agree. I absolutely have a tendency to be excessively wordy. Even when I've edited a story quite a bit, which was definitely not the case here, I find myself tempted to add words rather than remove them.

I did win the challenge, but I was also the only one who finished their story. :P


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login