Reading Reviews for The Dating Game
  
57 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Haronione Creating the Game

27th July 2013:
Hi Courtney Dark :) I was searching for a marauder fic and stumbled across this one. I had read your Regulus house cup one-shot and thought it was brilliantly written so when I saw your name above this fic I just had to read it, and I have to say I wasn't disappointed :D

Enough rambling and on with the review! I really enjoyed reading this. I found your characterisation of the marauders and Lily to be spot on. I love Remus in this and how you have made him the studious boy we know he was but then being embarrassed about the fact that he is in front of the other marauders. I could really see him being this way. And I loved how James and Sirius were so confident around the girls and in contrast having Remus blush when the object of his affections turns her attention to him. Just fantabulous! I love that word and use it all the time - it's so much better than 'fantastic' - and it really made me smile when the group were discussing the word. Is it really in the dictionary?

As i have said, I really enjoyed reading this, and I love your writing style :) I saw this was written for the 'out of your comfort zone' challenge, can I ask in which way this was out of your comfort zone (sorry only read 1 other of your fics) was it the genre, characters, era? I only ask because I could not tell from reading this first chapter as I felt it was written wonderfully :D

This was a great first chapter and you have left me eager to read on to find out how the four dates go!

Haronione ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by annaisadinosaur The Winner of the Game

27th May 2013:
This was such a cute story! I literally gasped aloud in pain when Remus chose Ruby instead of June. My mom walked by: "Uh, what are you doing...?" "Nothing, nothing, just reading, it's all good.."

Anyway, it was lovely, and the humor was excellent, not too immature or over the top, just right. I especially liked Lily's, "It seems you've finally learned mathematics!" Literally LOLed. This last chapter was very emotion invoking of me it seems.

So good!! Will definitely read the sequel! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Madeleine1918 The Winner of the Game

21st May 2013:
Ohmygosh! My only question is what happens to June. There's a sequel right!?

 Report Review

Review #4, by Madeleine1918 A Date with Lily

21st May 2013:
Ooh the plot thickens! :) it's been awhile since I left a review... I've been so caught up in getting to the next chapters. Really great as usual!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Madeleine1918 Creating the Game

18th May 2013:
Interesting. I like how this is set in the past. You did a great job of representing j.k' s characters in a younger form. I will definately read more! Where did you get the idea for this story?
-Madeleine1918 (Preveously known as, Addicted)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Marauders map63 The Winner of the Game

5th May 2013:
Please write a sequel!

Author's Response: There is a sequel! It's called 'Just a Game' and I'd love it if you checked it out!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #7, by 800 words of heaven A Date with Lily

3rd May 2013:
REVIEW TAG!

OH, MY GOD! WHEN DID YOU FINISH THIS STORY AND HOW DID I MISS IT?!?!?! I think it has seriously been that long since I reviewed something by you! Wow!

Okay, I just got the call for dinner, so I don't have enough time to write a really, long, in-depth, full-on review like I usually do, so I am sorry for it's briefness! And I feel so bad, too, because it's been such a long time!

Anyway, my favourite part had to be the beginning. I loved the scene between Sirius, James, and Remus. It was so wonderful to read, even though it was brief, but I loved the way you portrayed their friendship, once again! They have this wonderful way of talking with each other, which is just so light, but you can still see how close they are.

It was also really nice to see another side of Lily. I think it added a lot of dimension to her character, so well done on that!

And as always, loving the budding... whatever... between June and Remus!

I can't even say I'm looking forward to the next time you post a chapter BECAUSE YOU'VE FINISHED THIS AND IT'S RIGHT THERE! What I will say is that I can't wait to find out who wins! Would it be wrong if I took a peek? ;)

Author's Response: YAY! YOU'RE BACK! I'VE MISSED YOU'RE AMAZINGLY AWESOME AND HUMOUROUS REVIEWS!

I'm glad you liked the scene between the boys - it's so fun to write about their friendship and surprisingly easy to write, too. This was my first marauders, and I actually thought it would be a LOT more difficult than it is!

I know what you mean about finished stories! I ALWAYS scroll through right until the end, even if it's just to look at all the pretty chapter images!

Thanks for the review!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #8, by willow1 The Winner of the Game

27th April 2013:
this is a really good story. it is well written and has a lot of emotion. however i get the feeling that you were making it up as you went along, whilst following a basic structure. it is very funny, and you should write more. you seem very creative, so i think you should write more stories set in the next generation so that you can make more of the story up. humor, romance, and fluff seem to work well for you, so you should keep that up! I think you should also try modeling your main character off of someone you know so that you can make them more real and rounded and full. i like the quick changes in the plot, and all of the hints, but you should make it less obvious, i felt like after chapter two i basically knew what was going to happen, but i kept reading anyway because your story was so much fun to read
it is an obvious 10/10 and you should definitly keep writing.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review!

Haha, this was definitely a spur of the moment piece of writing - a sort of break from my other pieces, so it was definitely a make up as you go along process, which made it a lot more fun to wrote.

I have actually written some next-generation, my main ones being Missing and Moonlight, so feel free to check those out. I have also just posted the sequel to this story, Just a Game.

Thanks again!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #9, by {Fawkes the Phoneix} The Winner of the Game

23rd April 2013:
Oh my gosh! I loved loved loved loved loved it!!! Thank you for writing this! You're very talented. I enjoyed reading your story very much.

Please please write a sequel (or prequel)! I would totally read it! Please write another very soon!

I only have one question: why did James snog Dara?
I just didn't understand that part.

Again, it was awesome!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed it.

I have just posted the first chapter of the sequel, Just a Game, so watch out for that!

I think the main reason James snogged Dara was a combination of the fact that he was a little fed up of Lily always getting so angry at him and wanting to make her jealous. And he's a guy! He probably just felt in the mood for a bit of a snog, haha.

Thanks so much!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Unknown The Winner of the Game

23rd April 2013:
Yes! Write a novel! Sequel! It's amazing!!! Do it now! ( I don't think peters obssession and cross eyed ness with power and the top people or person in power or his undieing following for James and siris came across as well as I think you could have made it. Also, maybe you could set the sequel in the future with Remus and tonks and June's and tonks similarity and maybe have June die whist fighting moldy voldy aka voldemort and have tonks help Remus move past her and everything. Your writing style would really make it come to life!!) HAVE FUN!

Author's Response: I'm glad you think I should write a sequel, because I've just posted the first chapter in the queue. It's called Just a Game, so look out for it!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Persephones_Child The Winner of the Game

21st April 2013:
Aww yay! I HATED Ruby - I mean, she just wasn't right for Remus. However, June is so I'm happy.
YAY!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Yep, June and Remus are perfect for each other, hands down.
Courtney


 Report Review

Review #12, by patronusflight14 The Winner of the Game

21st April 2013:
awww. the ending is sooo sweet!!! i love your writing..i think a sequel would be really nice :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much - I have just posted the first chapter of the sequel, Just a Game, so look out for that!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #13, by hpfan!... again The Winner of the Game

11th April 2013:
Oh, and forgot to mention! I love how you showed Lily as a nice girl with a MAJOR temper! In all the descriptions and fanfictions about Lily it always makes Lily seem like she is perfect. It's great to see that she does have imperfections too!

Author's Response: Haha, thanks - I always saw Lily as having a bit of a temper.
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #14, by hpfan! The Winner of the Game

11th April 2013:
PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE WRITE A SEQUEL!! This was amazing!! The entire time I was wondering how Remus and June would break up since Remus marries Tonks in the end. That would be an interesting sequel. Or anything else that you want to write! It would be amazing!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much - I'm so glad you enjoyed it!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #15, by dreamyMist The Winner of the Game

2nd April 2013:
Sequel. Definitely. I'm dying to to see what happens next!!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it enough for a sequel!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Ron 4 Hermione Creating the Game

2nd April 2013:
Hey there, here to review your piece for my challenge! :)
I love the idea of this, the dating game, it sounds like a lot of fun! You've got a lot of new people but there all so different and unique that it's easy to tell who's who, and they all sound interesting too!

I love your characterisation of the Maurders, Sirus being bored so coming up with that game and James still trying to get Lily, it's good! I love how it's written, it sounds like a lot of fun!

Your prompt was Remus Lupin and you've did a perfect job with it. You've written him perfectly and I love his views on his friends and everything else that's going on!

Great story, you've did a great job with the prompt! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I had a lot of fun with your challenge, and I'm so glad that I was able to write something different - I'm even considering a sequel!

And thanks so much for the first place!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #17, by sarahelizabeth A Date with Dara

31st March 2013:
I don't know if you've noticed, but there are a lot of random words in this. Like every time the word should be 'eyes' it says 'puppies'. There's a lot of different words that this happens with, actually! 'Hair' is replaced with 'ears'. Also, whenever the word ass comes up, or a-s-s in the middle of a word (like 'passion'), it's replaced with 'eyebrow'. Otherwise your storyline and writing are great! The story is really interesting, and the dialogue is funny! Other than the random word replacements, this is great! keep up the good work Courtney!

Author's Response: I'm so sorry about that! It's actually not my fault - HPFF has this new rule that allows no romance, so wherever I have written 'kiss' or 'lips' or anything to do with romance, that word has been replaced. I'm really sorry, but there's nothing I can do to change that - I wish there was!

Thanks for the review!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #18, by rebakahgranger The Winner of the Game

26th March 2013:
Aww! That was a really sweet story. Also, I like the personality you gave to Lily. It made the story all the more interesting...

~Rebecca

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #19, by Hogwarts4ever The Winner of the Game

26th March 2013:
I loved reading this and continually stayed tuned. You go girl! Write even more on this!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! I'm almost 100% certain there is going to be a sequel, so look out for it!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #20, by nimbusscribbler The Winner of the Game

25th March 2013:
Yay for Remus! I loved this story, such a clever plot and you are really good at showing the characters in a really revealing way. I would like to see your take on how James and Lily get together now tha Dara is a sort of girlfriend to James (personally I thought her and James would be a good match) so pretty please write another part to this?

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you enjoyed it. Look out for the sequel, coming soon!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #21, by oldnumberseven  The Winner of the Game

25th March 2013:
"It just goes to show, I guess, Sirius does have a bit of brainpower there, buried beneath that long, shaggy black hair of his."

ha! i totally LOLed at that one.

BUT AWW! JUNE/REMUS! i love them together, they are so cute! i'm glad remus got out of his ruby infatuation and i'm glad she was the one to point the truth out to him.

i would love for you to write a sequel - i want to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Hahaha, thank you so much! It's great to hear that so many people want a sequel, and really motivates me!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #22, by jillybeans The Winner of the Game

25th March 2013:
i saw the that this was updated in my favorites and i was SO EXCITED!!! this is one of my absolute favorites atm, and you ended it so PERFECTLY. it was exactly how i wanted it to be!!! i was so glad that june and remus got together, and i love that it was ruby who told him to go after, and not james/sirius, bc that really shows that he's moved on from her. plus june and remus makes so much sense its impossible for it to go any other way.
your remus is just how i picture him, and i loved reading a story from his POV. except now i'm all sad that canon remus ends up with tonks instead of june (even though i love ronks but still... ):)
you should TOTALLY WRITE ANOTHER ONE!
wizard god yes! i would probably prefer a sequel since then you can just elaborate on the relationships and characters that you already have and that i already love. if i were writing a sequel to this i might write something centered on james/lily/dara (cliche as it would be) but yeah i'd do that because their conflict was left unresolved... (on purpose perhaps so you could write a sequel? hmmm)
just a random typo that i noticed-- in the para about sirius laughing in HoM, the word "figured" got all mangled and moved around.
GREAT JOB! THIS WAS AWESOME!!

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, thank you so much! I am honestly grinning from ear to ear right now, this review really made my day! I am fairly certain I'm going to be posting a sequel - I've already started writing one, so look out for that!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #23, by oldnumberseven  A Date with Ruby

19th March 2013:
"Donít get your dazzle in a frazzle" - hah!

remus/june, remus/june! love it :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the sweet review!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #24, by oldnumberseven  A Date with Lily

19th March 2013:
lily to the rescue! i love when writers use fairytales to prove points. it's always much better than just straight dialogue between characters. bravo!

Author's Response: I'm really glad you enjoyed this chapter - we actually saw Lily's sweet side!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #25, by oldnumberseven  A Date with June

19th March 2013:
i am totally a remus/june shipper now. they are so cute!

i love how you're developing remus. i think he's a very difficult person to write - especially in first person - but i love all of his emotion and desire for ruby (even though i really don't like her haha)

:D

Author's Response: Aw, I'm so glad you like Remus/June! And I don't think I've seen much Remus first person, so I'm glad you're enjoying it!
Courtney:)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>