Reading Reviews for The Rules: According to Molly
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by twinklet0es Rule 5: Pay Attention in Class

24th August 2015:
Aww poor Molly! She seems very lost to me, poor thing.
I really like this story so far so hopefully you'll update pretty soon *hint hint* ;) :D

Author's Response: Well thank you, I'm glad you like it! :) It should be updated soon, but I have to make sure I get my challenge entry chapters in ASAP. ^^

 Report Review

Review #2, by RavenclawFTW Rule 5: Pay Attention in Class

21st August 2015:
Hey Julie! I saw this story in the recently updated and just wanted to check it out. I'm so glad I did! I really like what you're doing here.

So I really love your characterization of Molly II in this. She seems so shaped by Percy, which is something I feel like people ignore in Lucy/Molly II fics. But this Molly is also so wonderful and straightforward and hilarious in her own way. And I totally understand Riley's fascination with her! I also love how quickly everything is kinda breaking down here-- it makes sense that Riley is throwing everything off with his behavior and that's really shaking Molly up. She's constructed all these walls because she wants to, not because she's so weird that nobody wants to talk to her, so it makes sense that all of these interactions are confusing her and throwing her off.

I also think Riley is really funny and I like his determination! I can't help but root for him. :)

In this chapter, though, it felt a little extreme for Molly to be sent out of class just for zoning out. That's such a normal teenage thing to do that it seems a little too much for that to be the punishment. It seems like docking points would be enough to check the students. Just my two cents!

Anyway, can't wait for the next chapter! I really like this story so far. :)


Author's Response: Thank you so much for your input. :) It's been a really long time since I did anything with this story, (and it's honestly due for a very large overhaul) so I completely agree with you on how extreme it was. I wanted to take it back a notch, but at the same time I was thinking, this is a very high-level/intense class and this is McGonagall, who doesn't want excuses, you know?

But no worries - I appreciate your input a lot and I am trying to work out the kinks still. :)

That being said, I'm glad you like Molly and Riley. They were both kind of oddball characters who popped in my head one day and just kind of stuck around. I'm really excited to get back to working on their story.


 Report Review

Review #3, by moonbaby11 Rule 1: Question Everything

15th August 2015:
Hi! I've decided to drop by and leave you some reviews :)

This story looked a little lonely and, quite frankly, I'm not sure why. I know this is only the first chapter but I'm really enjoying it so far! I don't think I've ever seen a main character quite like Molly - someone who says they don't need friends and means it too. Most Next-Gen stories seem to have the main character surrounded by a few cousins and some quirky OCs at all times, so I kind of like that with this story you're straying from the norm. I think it makes your story stand out quite a lot.

God, I already love Riley. I have a feeling he's going to be quite the nuisance, but it looks like his intentions are good (at least, I'm really hoping they are) so hopefully Molly will warm up to him eventually. He seems like such a fun character and I'm sure you had a great time writing him. His flair for the dramatics cracked me up - I could just picture someone clutching their hand to their chest as he did and I'm sure if I saw it in real life I would laugh too.

I'm really excited to read on. I can't wait to meet some more characters (hopefully we'll get a glimpse of Dom and her boyfriend?) and see more of Riley because he's just so great! You'll be seeing more from me soon :)

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much! This is such a nice review, and unexpected since I haven't updated this story in forever, (oops). I'm really glad you like how Molly is just like, everyone leave me alone, because I was a little worried that people wouldn't get it/like it. Like you said, most next gen stories have huge casts of characters and there are like ten best friends and cousins oh my.

Riley is my little darling & I'm so glad you love him too. He's so important to me. :3

Yes, yes! Dom will definitely appear very soon and she's quite the dramatic herself. Thank you so much for the lovely review! :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by ReeBee Rule 1: Question Everything

12th December 2013:
Hi there! Review swaps are super fun! You find out about such amazing stories!! Loved this btw! :D And, I just realised your the artist making me my banner- on TDA! So, thank u in advance for that! :D

Okay, firstly, awesome dialogue! I loved it! It was hilarious and awesomely written! Oh my god- too good for words! But, I'm going to express in words, so, it was funny and captured the personality of the character speaking perfectly! There are some fics in which the character is really serious but the dialogues makes them seem like a prankster. This was not one of those so, congrats!!

Hm, the next thing I'm going to ramble about is writing style! It's really good- like you've had a lot of experience. And, this fic has got to be one of the best uses of third person to covey humour, I've seen! God, that was a bad sentence... Anyway, great job.

Okay, characterisation- great job! I like it how you didn't leave a whole paragraph of just description! You conveyed it through the dialogue- long paragraphs are frankly just boring.

Hm, one CC, is maybe include more description? I know that you did describe the food (hilarious use of description, btw!), but I would have liked to see a bit more description of the setting? Maybe more inclusion of the crowd? Because in my mind I could only see those two, and I am almost 80 percent sure that there would have been more people around, so just a line saying something about the crowd?

And one last piece of CC. I didn't realise that Molly didn't know Riley well (that they'd never talked), until you literally spelled it out for me. So, maybe a bit of confusion from Molly about why Riley is talking to her? Doesn't have to be much, just a tiny sentence or so?

Hm, I think thats all I have. But, awesome job!! Yay! I loved it! :D

-ReeBee :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Yes, review swaps are grand and I love doing them every so often to find new fics. :)

First off I will definitely keep what you've said in mind. It's been awhile since I -really- wrote this, I've just done baby edits since then, so I'll definitely go back and think about adding in more description of the crowd/Molly&Riley's relationship/etc.

I'm glad that you really got the characterization, dialogue, and 3rd person humor. Those were all really big focuses of mine when I started writing this, so I'm glad they came through well! :)

Thanks so much for the lovely review dear, and hopefully I will have your banner done soon. x)


 Report Review

Review #5, by LittleLionGirl Rule 2: Trust No One

25th January 2013:
Wow another great job! I feel so honnored to be in an authors note...
I do hope to see the rest of Molly's rules. Two tiny things I thought I should point out that I noticed;
Other then that it was amazing and I do expect more.

Author's Response: Hahah awh, it's no problem. (x and thanks about that, I'l be sure to fix those when I edit! I've been really busy lately, so I've neglected this a bit. :(

And thank you so much. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by poodlelover Rule 1: Question Everything

9th January 2013:
Great story! This is really inspiring! Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Awwwh, thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by jess94 Rule 2: Trust No One

9th January 2013:
I really like this!

Riley seems lovely, though I'm still not sure if he has another motive or not? Hope he doesn't he seems incredibly sweet

Well done

Author's Response: Thank you! I guess we'll have to see(x

 Report Review

Review #8, by LittleLionGirl Rule 1: Question Everything

3rd January 2013:
Wow! Good chapter dear! I hope to see more! this was probably the first story centered around the lovely Molly Weasley. Keep up the good stuff!

Author's Response: yay! My first review. (x Thank you so much! Yeah, there aren't very many about Molly, and most of them aren't flattering. o.o I really appreciate the review and I'm glad you're enjoying it! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login