Reading Reviews for The Only Exception
  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 800 words of heaven Noticing

26th July 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Lucius/Narcissa is one of my favourite ships and I am so incredibly happy at finding this story! A story about Lucius and Narcissa! Starting as teenagers! While they're at Hogwarts! Woohoo!

I really like Narcissa's voice. She's young, but there's this sense of self awareness and maturity that can be a product of adolescence, especially at seventeen/eighteen. I like how she's very much aware of the kind of person Lucius is, but still can't help her feelings for him. Attraction is such an awkward thing, no?

And all the little mentions of the Black family are awesome! They're such a great bunch of crazy kooks I can't wait to meet some of them!

And Lucius. Of course I want to see more of Lucius. He's walking the line between rebel without a cause and reluctant gentleman rather well at the moment. I wonder which side of him will win when he's around Narcissa?

Lovely first chapter!

 Report Review

Review #2, by HufflePuff_Blitz Noticing

30th May 2014:
Reward Review Number 1:
Sorry it took me so long Sam. I keep forgetting to do this :/.
Anyways. I really enjoyed this. I liked the light and airy tone of this chapter and how you portrayed Narcissa not liking the parties. Also the slip ins about James, Sirius, Bella, and Andromeda. I hate to admit this but I also like Lucius's character so far.
The only wierd thing I noticed was the mention of Dobby. While it was nice to see, I don't know how well house elf's age, but in the books Dobby didn't seem like an older house elf to me, but i'm not sure.
I liked reading this and I promis I'll get to the next review as soon as I can!
-Kyle :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by TheGirlOnFire Asking

1st March 2014:
Hello, this is for the blackout bingo:)

This chapter was good. It gave an insight to their relationship but I still think that Lucius should play a bigger part. Rather than Narcissa telling us about Lucius.

TheGirlOnFirexx

Author's Response: Lucius doesn't play a bigger part because it's not about Lucius. It's all about Narcissa. I'm glad you like it, though. :)

Thank you for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #4, by TheGirlOnFire Dancing

1st March 2014:
Hello, this is for the blackout bingo:)

Firstly, I'd like to say well done for another good chapter. The interactions between Narcissa and Lucius was nicely done. But I would have liked for us have read more about th through dialogue rather than narration. Narcissa dominating this and we can oonly make some assumptions on Lucius's character from the small pieces if dialogue he has.

Apart from that it was an enjoyable read.

TheGirlOnFirexx

Author's Response: Hey!

Lucius is basically a minor character in this story; everything is about Narcissa and what she sees. Lucius will come in more, though, I promise. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #5, by TheGirlOnFire Noticing

1st March 2014:
This is the first time I've real a Narcissa/Lucius story. I must say I'm pleasantly surprised. This is very goo and berry well written. I hope you carry on the good work.

TheGirlOnFire:)

Author's Response: Hey!

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review! I hope you continue to like it. :)

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #6, by BKL8008 Parenting

21st February 2014:
I think it worked out very well, and the name fits perfectly. Junior?! hehe. Like you wrote, in a word...no! It's nice to see the Malfoys here as happy parents, too. I never really thought that Lucius would come across like the jerk that the 2nd movie made him out to be with Draco. Again, a very good story, and I hope to see more of it soon. 10

Author's Response: Aww, thank you, I'm so glad you like the name. The Malfoys are so different to what Harry sees, I'm sure. I'm glad you like it. More will come soon. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #7, by BKL8008 Wedding

21st February 2014:
Very touching, in all the right topics. Everything about these people is captured here, but expressed just enough to remind us that many of these folks at the joyous occasion are not nice people. Excellently handled.

Author's Response: Yes, they're very bad people. I hoped I was able to show that well. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #8, by BKL8008 Asking

21st February 2014:
Tasteful! Even with the dark undertones, it's still a great look into what once was - before the Darkness crept in.

Author's Response: The darkness. Yes. More darkness is coming. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #9, by BKL8008 Dancing

21st February 2014:
Tastefully done, with a plethora of issues addressed. Jane is a great addition, and the handling of the Andromeda topic and the Voldemort topic were superb. Also, not overly mooshy and fluffy; that's a huge plus, while still managing to be romantic.

Author's Response: I'm glad you like how I see the issues, more will come and I hope you like them as well.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #10, by BKL8008 Noticing

21st February 2014:
I guess the "new story" for authors RSS doesn't always work? I didn't see this one until I looked at the 'most recent'. Normally, something like this would send me running in the other direction, but it sounded interesting. It's certainly started off that way. So little is known of the Malfoys early on, and it's a great take on what might have been. I look forward to reading the rest of it.

Author's Response: I'm glad you found it and decided to give it a go. I hope you continue to like my take on the Malfoys. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #11, by cleannmoore Parenting

21st February 2014:
i think this is awesome. I have never looked at the Malfoys in this way. Feels good to see them in a happier light.

Author's Response: There's definitely more to them than meets the eye, I think. I hope you like my views. :)

Thank you for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #12, by theblacksisters Asking

16th January 2014:
I liked it a lot; it's sometimes hard to find a good Lucius/Narcissa story. I'm also wondering when Lucius joins Lord Voldemort and what the story puts as his motivation for doing that.

Author's Response: Lucius joining and his motivation for joining is in chapter... six, I think? Yes, chapter six. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review, I'm glad you like it. :)

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #13, by MarieBlack Dancing

5th January 2014:
I LOVE THIS. Pardon the super enthused excitement there but I do love this story! Please keep posting. I am so enthralled with the love story between Narcissa and Lucius, and how it unfolds with the oncoming war and her relationship with her sisters.

Author's Response: I love super enthused excitement, please bring more. :D

I'm very happy that you like this story. I will keep posting. The next chapter will be up soon. I just have one to post before it. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #14, by patronus_charm Dancing

30th December 2013:
Hi Sam, here for the 12 days of reviewing over at the forums and Iím so glad that Iím reading this!

I always love the Black family because of the fairy tale air they seem to evoke and it was definitely in this story. The first chapter, with the great introduction to them all and at a ball which went with the fairytaleness (new word!) of it all. Lucius and Narcissaís interactions with one and another were so innocent and sweet it really had me gushing over how they were still in the young love stage.

I liked her brief thoughts about her sister and wondering what she was up to with Ted and it makes me hope that those two make an appearance later on as I do love Ted and Andromeda. Also, I love the Only Exception by Paramore and I think itís a great inspiration for the story!

Aw the second chapter was just perfect! It was so perfectly pureblood with Narcissaís use of vocabulary, then the names of her friends, her innocent thoughts about Lucius and just the way theyíre going about courting one another and itís so cute. I just want to squish them or something. Also, their brief conversation about books was so sweet as it showed theyíre really beginning to get to know one another.

I liked that Lucius brought up Andromeda because it makes me think that heís open to accepting her as part of Cissyís family so she might see her later on. Gah, I just wish the Black girls could be friends at times, so reading this here is making my wish look more hopeful!

Aw they kiss, so cute! I hope thereís more soon, and poke me when there is!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hey, Kiana!

The fairy tale air is something that draws me in, too, the same with Founders. There's just something about it and it was fun to include the ball and show a bit of fairytaleness (awesome word!). This is definitely the young love stage. :)

Andromeda does make an appearance. I don't know about Ted yet, so don't expect to see him, but I hope so. I love the song, too, it seemed very fitting.

The getting to know each other stage is definitely the cutest part of their relationship. I just want to hug them.

Lucius would do anything for Narcissa, including acknowledge her sister even if he doesn't agree with her actions. We'll find out what happens.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #15, by presi Noticing

16th April 2013:
This a beatiful story. I don't see many of good one of these two and I am glad that I found this one. It's simply lovely.
Thank you!

MEL

Author's Response: Aww, I'm so glad you liked it. Thank you so much for leaving a review. :)

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #16, by alicia and anne Noticing

18th March 2013:
I really like hearing Orion talked about as a nice person, it's not often you see that side to him, but then again Narcissa would always see the lovely side of him. I like that he hated parties as much as Narcissa did.
I really like Lucius and Narcissa in this, Lucius seems kinda sweet, giving Narcissa his cloak so she wouldn't get cold.
Aww this was so cute, I loved seeing Narcissa and Lucius being together and dancing and flirting.
This is another story I'm adding to my favourites so I can read more when you update it :D I've lost track of the amount im favouriting.
It's your amazing writing :D

Author's Response: I don't see Orion has evil or so controlling. He's not especially good, but he cares about his family. Narcissa would definitely see this side of this more than anyone else.

Lucius and Narcissa before everything happened. The war hasn't affected them yet.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Anna Noticing

17th March 2013:
Loved it please keep writting!! I really liked both personalities

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I've got this story planned, so I definitely intend to keep writing. :)

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #18, by Jchrissy Noticing

4th February 2013:
Hi mídear!!

Happy Valentine's day! Well, in ten days ;).

I really liked to watch the analysis of the family through young Narcissa eyes. Especially the comment about Sirius being with his new friend. Hehe. And then the small bit of heartbreak you give us when she thinks how Andromeda isnít part of the family, not to her sister and parentís eyes at least. That is one connection I always wanted to explore more on, and love with it isnít ignored. I canít imagine Narcissa never missing her sister, and her you show a more naive part of her. A girl that really does miss her, and itís.. it was a really awesome thing to sort of start building her character on in this.

The idea of Lucius having to wake her after falling asleep at one of these events is really, really sweet, actually. I think you painted the picture of him walking in, a sort of fun but conceited look on his face, and Narcissa looking all adorable startled, even more adorable with how embarrassed she probably was.

His explanations about the two types of crazy! So perfect and lightened the mood up just enough before continuing.

I think you really have the idea of the pureblood society down. It was easy to imagine Lucius's mother pushing an appropriate young lady onto him, despite his feelings toward her. And again easy to see that, if he were to find someone he truly cared for of adequate... breeding, that that would be acceptable as well. I always feel like I'm reading stories about princess and princes when I read about these two. With all the rules that comes along with who you can court and who you can marry... I love the genuine affection you have in this.

This was a really cute one shot, mídear. I love looking into the more innocent times of Lucius and Narcissaís relationships. Thanks for sharing this sweet little story &heartsí

 Report Review

Review #19, by adluvshp Noticing

10th January 2013:
Hey! Here for your requested review :)

I really liked this first chapter of what I am sure is going to be a lovely story.

Since your main concern was characterisation, let me talk about that first :) We've only seen a very older version of Lucius and Narcissa in the books, so I'd say that you pretty much have a clean slate as to how to craft their characters.

So, I'd say that your Lucius and Narcissa, though don't seem to be very much in line with canon, are pretty well characterised. We've never seen them so carefree and youthful, but I think that it is very plausible for them to have been like this in their adolescent years.

I like that though you showed their youthful nature, you didn't forget to emphasise on the pureblood "qualities", expectations, and habits that are tied to their characters and lives.

Narcissa and Lucius both are well-written, and their chemistry came through nicely in your narrative. I liked the playful yet sweet way they interacted, and then the slight beginning of romantic feelings on their part. The ending of the chapter provided a nice closure and was very sweetly written too.

Your plot concept itself is really nice, I like stories focusing on the initial years of Lucius and Narcissa's relationship. The writing style was very smooth and the flow was good too. Your descriptions were strong and the over all chapter was hooking. It interested me and made me want to read more.

Your grammar was also okay, though there were a few typos here and there, such as "gave me time process the fact" should have been "gave me time to process the fact", and there should have been a comma, not a period, after Lucius in 'Lucius." I smiled.'

Anyway, apart from that, this was a very nicely written chapter and I enjoyed reading it. Your characterisations of Lucius and Narcissa and the portrayal of their relationship was done in a great way. The plot, pace, flow, and descriptions were all really good. And the grammar stuff is definitely not major.

This really made for a good read!

9/10

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

P.S. Feel free to re-request :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Sydney Noticing

29th December 2012:
Beautifully written this is a wonderful back story.

Author's Response: Thank you. :D

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Ever Noticing

27th December 2012:
Thank you, thank you, thank you!

This definitely is one of the top ten presents I've received, even out of the real ones!

I'm a sucker for Lucius/Narcissa, and I particularly enjoy your take on Narcissa. I think you defied a lot of cliches, and you did it with grace! Thoroughly impressed! Lucius is so lovable! I know fangirling over him is weird but I can't help it! He's kid on soft and I love it! I really loved how Jane was the bad type of crazy. When he was explaining what the good kind of crazy was I was practically screaming for him to say narcissa was the good kind of crazy! They are just so darn cute!

Thank you for this! Merry christmas to you as well Sam:D I really, really love this! I will be stalking this for updates!

Author's Response: Ah, I fangirl over Lucius, too. I don't care if I shouldn't, I love him!

I'm so glad you like your gift, I love writing it (I love Lucius/Narcissa). I hope you'll like the rest, too.

Sam.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login