Reading Reviews for Dreamscape
  
31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by randomwriter darkmark.

11th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hi again! I'm back because your work is addictive and you deserve all the reviews you get!

This story was a touch more angsty than your other work, but I must commend you on how well you transition from one genre to another, doing justice to everything you write. Your writing here is beautiful. It simply sings. It flows so well and structurally, I think you've given it a very nice touch. I love the language and your choice of words, if that doesn't sound too weird. It's beautifully descriptive, without being too heavy. I didn't even stop once while reading this.

As for characterisation, I love your Draco! Most people paint a rather unrealistic image of him in post-war stories, but yours is painfully accurate. It seems obvious to me that the war would have left him with his fair share of trauma and nightmares. It's not easy to get over something like that and it certainly isn't a process that begins and end within a couple of years. In my mind, it takes him years just to make the first few steps. As for Astoria, I've always thought that it'd work well if she was some sort of counsellor to Draco. An informal one, if not a formal one. But I've never actually read a fic like that. I'm so glad I found this. It waltzed right into that slot in my kind, waiting to be filled. And I say waltzed because it was elegant, in a manner, the writing and everything about this.

The ending was really amazing. I'd never have thoughts of it, but I'd love to see the implications it has on the story.

Over all a great start, but I'm already panicking a little, seeing that it hasn't been updated. I would hate to see it go abandoned. Please update! I will follow it when you do :)

Author's Response: Ahhh thank you so much! I tried to keep a subdued quality to Draco's narration. His anger is quiet; it's inward, it's fear and guilt. His days are repetitive. He sees no hope in his days, and it's when he's desperate that the words start to lose themselves in these rambles.

Exploring the post-war trauma is very important to me, especially for Draco. He didn't even have to be a death eater--just going through the war, seeing classmates die in front of him would be trauma enough. And every character copes differently. Some grew used to war earlier than the battle. Some were thrown in at the last minute. And Draco is one who was on the wrong side for most of his life.

Thank you so much for this kind review! I hope I can finish it one day; I intended to leave the first chapter as least mostly standalone, as sort of an introduction to my Draco headcanon, because I knew the update would take awhile :P


 Report Review

Review #2, by TidalDragon darkmark.

9th July 2014:
Hello again!

This was a really refreshing take on post-war Draco. You didn't try to cover up his flaws or make him a completely changed man. Instead you embraced his real character, but as he might exist in a broken form, lying in a dark place. It seemed totally appropriate that after everything he had been through that Draco would need a psychiatrist too.

I think it was a nice touch making it Astoria. Though we didn't get to know her incredibly well, Draco's observations of her were interesting - plain, inexperienced, foolishly hopeful. And yet she possessed a talent Draco didn't - that he didn't noticed until she had been working with him for some time - legilimency.

This leads me to wonder about the ethics of that as a clinical practice (without the patient's consent I mean), but that's a discussion more appropriate for a thread than a review.

Suffice it to say I enjoyed the piece! Thanks for sharing!

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Aah, I'm glad you liked my rendition of them c: I like this flavor of bleakness when exploring Draco; I was never too fond of the snarky, roguish Draco that usually shows up in fics. I see him as lost and guilt-ridden, surly at the very least. And I hoped to surprise people with Astoria, who is more than she seems and has a few black marks of her own :)

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #3, by MissesWeasley123 darkmark.

7th July 2014:
No but the questions are who are you what even is this HOW HAS THIS NOT BEEN UPDATED?!?! UPDATE PLEASE THANK YOU THIS IS SO GOOD. inhale exhale omg EHEHEHE. Ok i shall leave a proper review now.

First of all, let's take a moment to appreciate your super hot banner yeah? The blue is beautiful but wait SO IS YOUR STORY. Like wow how does your brain work? These ideas this... story is so brilliant. Not only stylistically but also like, words you know.

We also need to address ahem first of all, the way you write Draco. I imagine his character as extremely complex after becoming a Death Eater and having so many problems and tricks in his mind and behaviour. The opening was amazing, how he was "already bored". I love how you describe Astoria as not pretty and rather mousy and it's a definite contrast of most characterizations of Astoria you know?

The twist at the end was what took me aback! She's a legilimens! I think that's so smart as it ties in with Draco and his death eater days and fighting that. Like, wow.

All in all, beautiful writing. The way you work words is absolutely breathtaking. I know you're popular on hpff and me saying it doesn't really make a difference, but if you were to ever publish a book I'd totally read it. Um, yeah ♥

Great, fab work. I loved reading this and update soon? :)

House Cup 2014 Review
~Go gryffies!

Author's Response: Ah, thank you :') I've been terrible about updating anything, but I wanted to put up this chapter because it is a standalone stream-of-consciousness-like story for most of it until you get to the end, heh. Also after I made the banner, then I was just perpetually itching to post the story.

I love Draco as this very bitter character who has to live up to his sins but also forgive himself and build a future from rubble. I have no idea how most Astorias are--I only have experience with peppersweet's Astoria--but I like her as this deceptively mundane heroine, someone who takes up the complexity that Draco usually gets. It's usually the girl trying to figure out Draco, but here, it's Draco figuring out Astoria. She's been lying to him this whole in a way, and suddenly she has a touch of darkness to her as well.

Thank you so much for your review! ^__^ I'm writing an original story based on one of my fics soon, so I am trying to get published--maybe one day!


 Report Review

Review #4, by sharzamow darkmark.

24th October 2013:
Gosh, this is absolutely beautiful, and so fantastic! I'm always marginally wary about reading Draco fics because I find writing him so unbelievably difficult, he's such a tricky wee character to get right, and I find a lot of other people don't get him quite right, either. You did him so much justice in this fic, however, and I'm completely in awe of your Astoria. I've never, ever thought of her as being a psychiatrist before, nor is your characterization anything like mine, but I just adore how you've written her! You've made both Draco and Astoria come to life and just, ugh, wow. I love it.

Your writing in general is beautiful as well - it's really pretty and lyrical, but it's not too airy-fairy at the same time, if you get me? And I love the delving into Draco's mind, and it all strikes me as seriously accurate - I particularly liked the mention of Crabbe, and his death still haunting Draco, as it's something I think is often forgotten? Even though Draco obviously didn't treat Crabbe as an equal, they grew up together, and so it must've affected him - thinking about it, the fact that Draco didn't treat him as an equal might've made it worse.

Anyways, I loved it to bits, and I really hope you 're continuing it? It's perfectly strong enough to hold itself on its own, obviously - I'm just pretty much itching to read more about your Draco and Astoria because they're really interesting.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I have similar sentiments about fanon Draco too. I am perpetually in love with the idea of him, but he's usually written too woobie-ish or overtly angsty for my tastes, so I gave it a go myself c: I hope you've read peppersweet's Draco stories, because I was very much inspired by hers.

Teehee, airy-fairy. I think I've gotten a bit airy-fairier since writing this, just from a conscious effort to write more description, but I love going back to my sparse roots in shorter stories. I find it easier to write concisely, weirdly enough--usually it's the opposite! On Crabbe: no matter how close or distant he was, seeing someone he's interacted with for years just die in front of him--I think that's the kicker. My personal horrifying thought is just suddenly vanishing from the earth one day--just like that, an entire life cut short. All that potential, gone.

I mean to continue this, but my muse has stalled D: I also mean for it to work decently enough as a one-shot, as I'd feel guilty posting it otherwise. I really appreciate this review--it's so nice to see a surprise review on an old fic--thank you again ^__^


 Report Review

Review #5, by vanityfair darkmark.

18th September 2013:
I really liked this and thought it was very different to the other Drastoria stories I have read. Astoria warmed to me a lot and she seemed very nice. I liked the idea of her being a therapist. Also, Draco was very in character and I couldn't help but feel sorry for him as he seemed so lost. The description was very and nice simple but effect. That is something I don't often come across. 10/10 Maia xxx

Author's Response: Thank you! I pity Draco too, even though I think he had a lot of things coming to him. He's a hard person to place blame on. I kept my descriptions fairly simply for his point of view, and I'm glad you like it! c:

 Report Review

Review #6, by Sharvi darkmark.

10th September 2013:
Wow, I really hope that you continue! I've Draco/Astoria and I really think this could be such a beautiful story! The way Astoria appears to be aloof because she's meant to be above all emotions felt by her patients and how sometimes she lets the real her come out makes Astoria seem much more real than just the person who Draco goes to for help. And from the POV of Draco it sounds so poetic! Please please please carry on!

Author's Response: Thank you! I have very intermittent muse for this story, but I do like to revisit every so often when I get a hankering to write more canon characters. I love introducing Astoria slowly. At first, very professional but then with vices that come into light later on (and more when I get to it :P). I have a lot to write, but I really do need to finish this soon!

 Report Review

Review #7, by rozen_maiden darkmark.

26th July 2013:
So after reading Capers, I came here to have a look, and I loved it! The mood was melancholy, but I really enjoyed reading it all the way through. You have such a lovely writing style, and you wrote Draco and Astoria so well! I hope you update soon :)
-Mahalia

Author's Response: Thank you! c: It's a bit on the backburner, but I hope to finish this up after some etc!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Wistful darkmark.

18th July 2013:
I've stop being shocked about how you always manage to shock me.

That was a lie.
I'm still very shocked about how you always manage to shock me.

I really don't know what to say about this. I'm sure you've heard it all. My reaction to this was pressing my eyes to the computer screen and blatantly gaping. My second reaction was to clap (no, really, I literally clapped) and make some sort of incoherent sqeualing sound. My third reaction was to register that there is a review that must be written. Which is this. A review. I just want to squee everything. Can I squee everything? Ee.

Your characterization is impeccable. Astoria appears so open, so bland, so dull in the beginning. At first glance, Draco is quick to dismiss her. I would have honestly done the same thing in his shoes. Mouse brown hair - that just speaks wallflower. There's a clipboard. There's tea. And I get it. But as you progress forward, we slowly begin to see Draco's scrunity of Astoria Greengrass change. He begins to notice something beneath the air of professionality, something difficult to unearth despite her obvious open disposition, something willing to try. And Draco, you wrote him exactly as I would imagine him post-War. I can't really describe it, but there's just a feeling of Draco. He's really a remarkable character, and you portrayed his view perfectly.


And your word choice. Description. Ohmygod, I have no words for your word choice. Every single word you use feels so concise and deliberate, painting such a vivid picture in my mind. How you wrote his world, and how he saw things... it's really an amazing feat. You need to writ forever and ever. I think that's a really brilliant idea actually. Forever writing from Gina.

Eeee, amazing job with this!

Author's Response: c: aw thanks! I really wanted to evoke that sort of reaction to Astoria -- bland and ordinary in the beginning, but she becomes as much of an enigma as Draco is usually characterized as. Yet, she's the sort of mystery that doesn't need solving; she is simply unsettling in Draco's eyes, and it's a really interesting kind of attraction to write. As for Draco, I'm trying to bring out my headcanon as best as I can!

I'm glad you liked it! ^__^



 Report Review

Review #9, by Justicar darkmark.

9th July 2013:
Amazing. This was really poetically beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you! I really need to finish it when I have time, but I hoped the first chapter would serve as enough of a standalone bit for the time being.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Jchrissy darkmark.

11th February 2013:
Ohhh I wish I would have been leaving a running review this entire time! There were so many parts in this that took my breath away, and now I'm never going to remember them all.

Let me start with how much I loved your progression in this. We start with confident, separated Astoria and a weaker, unable to face it all sort of Draco. We know pansy suggested it so I think they may have been dating then broke up before the section where he thinks about how she can't understand 'seeing other people' but anyway, as you slowly break him apart and get a reality behind his facades, you do the same with Astoria. She becomes younger, and the longer she's with Draco the less she's able to come off as a complete professional. The longer Draco is with her the more he's able to talk about.. Even if it possibly starts to merely scare her away.

I really hope you continue this because I'm dying to know how Draco reacts to what he just discovered. His arrogance will have to demand he's angry... He spent so long having no control over what he thought, too afraid it would be displayed, that he couldn't ever be comfortable with that again. But maybe he'll surprise us...

Your ability to give these characters such strong voices in only a few thousand words is so amazing. Astoria barely spoke and we were never in her head, but her character still feels so full.

I'm excited to continue this! I am absolutely in love with your style of this first chapter and I can't wait to see what you do with the next!

Author's Response: Sorry it took so long to respond; I'd been mostly gone for February/March!

Eek, thank you! A lot of the characterizations and growth are more subtle than what I'm used to, so I really wanted to make the most out of the details and the order of the scenes (I've constantly been swapping them). Especially for Astoria, since she is as much of a mystery to Draco as she is to the audience - a nice plus of having it in his PoV only!

I wanted to finish this before posting, but I also really wanted to post something during the holiday review fun, so unfortunately I posted this unfinished :P but it's in my queue of updates, so hopefully over summer I can finish it up (it is marginally standalone, so I hoped there wouldn't be a rush).

Thank you so much again! c:


 Report Review

Review #11, by Athene Goodstrength darkmark.

30th January 2013:
Let me start by apologizing for being so slow to get back to you after the Holiday Review swap. Ill health and university took all my plans and threw them out of the window. But I’m here now, and let me tell you - I’ve read and re-read this chapter a few times in the weeks I’ve had it open in a tab. Because I love it. Seriously.

Your characterization of Draco is outstanding. Although this is a story that clearly is sympathetic towards our protagonist, you haven’t turned Draco into a Mary-Sue or even romanticised him. He’s still arrogant, rude and angry. What you have done is - with Astoria - taken a look at why he is that way, and it doesn’t take long before we see the fear and trauma beneath it all. I know that we’re supposed to laugh at Draco’s cowardice when he’s a kid, but actually he does seem to live in an incredibly fearful environment, and that can’t be healthy! I really find this Draco interesting, and I want to find out more.

Astoria is interesting too - the way you slowly reveal more about her as we go along, it’s as if we only get to see her as Draco notices her more and more. She seems both fragile and strong, and I really like that.

This chapter has a real atmosphere; I’m not sure I can define what it is exactly, I only know my head goes somewhere else when I’m reading it. It’s sort of cool, and clear, and light, but also there’s a sense of real turmoil. I know I sound crazy.

The language you use is perfectly deployed, and you come up with some really excellent phrases and ideas. These lines jumped out at me as being particularly great:

“His dreams fill with smoke, and Crabbe dies for the twenty-fifth time.”

“The most hated man to leave the Battle of Hogwarts alive, and yet everyone still wants something from him”

“Pureblood and mudblood both spill red and paint the castle of his adolescence.”

“ He was a born monster; anyone could have seen it — except blind batty Dumbledore” - this line intrigued me. It made me wonder if Draco’s actually angry at Dumbledore for not seeing Riddle as a monster, if he feels Dumbledore should have stopped it all before it started. I just loved the idea of someone on the ‘baddie’ side being disappointed in Dumbledore, and wanting more from him.

The final twist, that Astoria’s a legilimens, made me gasp. Utter brilliance.

More please! More! I've added this story to my favourites.

Athene xoxo

Author's Response: Eeek sorry for responding so late, I wanted to leave a proper response! School just about swallowed me up too so :P I think it just about swallowed everyone!

Aaah aaah thank you so much. Most of this chapter has been sitting here for a year, and it sits there stubbornly as 'my idea of Draco that will post one day.' I always thought of him as a litlte snot while growing up reading HP so when I first got into fanfiction, I didn't get the hoopla over him (Tom Felton, I would later understand). But I came to adore him for his potential because his story, after the HP books, has barely begun. I *want* to cheer for him, but there's no getting around his very ugly childhood, and hopefully I can keep that balance going!

Ahaha, no that's totally like the atmosphere I was attempting! The post-war world is pretty calm, especially in the middle of a psychiatrist office, but inside Draco's head is anything but.

I didn't think too much about that line with Dumbledore, but now you have me thinking too! I was trying to see the war through other's eyes who don't have the benefit of knowing the people who died as closely as they did.

♥ thank you so much again! c:


 Report Review

Review #12, by Voldys_Moldy darkmark.

20th January 2013:
I love Draco. I love him so much and it's all due to one-shots like this. Different Astoria. Not sure if I like her yet and I definitely never pictured her as a psychiatrist. Interesting. Anyways, brilliant job. (Please update etc.,etc., and life goes on.) Have I mentioned that I love Draco? Because I do. A lot. And I love your interpretation of him. And I want to read more of this. Please?

Author's Response: Thank you! c: This leans toward my headcanon Draco more - sort of traumatized and mopey-kind-of-broken instead of angry-kind-of-broken.

etc update will happen early Feb hopefully~ I've been dying under schoolwork *__*


 Report Review

Review #13, by Lumos_Nox darkmark.

10th January 2013:
Wow.

If I were to quote my favorite line from this story in this review, I would end up copying and pasting the entire thing into the little review box, and quite frankly, I don't have enough characters. All I can say is, you've done it again.

This story has it all - emotion, beautiful descriptions, a shocking ending . . . I've never read a Draco/Astoria fic before but I've always wanted to and I'm glad this is the one I had the pleasure of reading.

ALSO I already left a review for 730 Whispers so I can't say this in a review for 730 Whispers or else I would, but I CANNOT STOP REREADING 730 WHISPERS AND THE BEAUTY OF IT SHOCKS ME EVERY TIME(:

Author's Response: Eeee thank you c: I love Draco/Astoria - I love Draco/Anyone really - he's such an interesting character, with a lot of potential stories in his Post-Hogwarts life.

Aaah, and thank you for that too. I've been very glad at how that fic resonated with people. Never expected it!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Crescent Moon  darkmark.

4th January 2013:
I love this story so far!
Incredibly well written like all of your work and I love the way you've written Draco and Astoria. Very realistic.
I can't wait to see where you go with this.

Author's Response: Thank you! :) I love Draco/Astoria, so it was high time I tried writing my own!

 Report Review

Review #15, by spreaddapoo93 darkmark.

19th December 2012:
Hello!

Ah~ This is tremendously beautiful. I love the poetry of the whole story (well... the whole of the first installment, that is), there's a lovely lulling quality about it; you really get the sense of the fluid topsy-turviness of dreams, the scattered quality of trauma and grief, and of course (her being a legilimens and psychiatrist), explorations of the mind and soul.

The imagery is so fresh~ I adore it.

This is my first Draco/Astoria fic to be read, so, thumbs up to hitting it spot-on! I can't wait for the next parts!

Author's Response: Ahh thank you :) It's really nothing I'm familiar with so it was fun to explore and piece together; I have lots of the sections half-written and I've been rearranging them since I first wroe it.

The first Drastoria? :0 You must head over to peppersweet's page and read some of hers! She's always rewriting them though so I think only two of them are marked as complete. Must prod her.

♥!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Holiday Hippogriff darkmark.

14th December 2012:
So I decided to start with reading this because of your ridiculously beautiful banner (as all of yours are) but I quickly fell in love with this story, because it is incredible.

Draco is definitely an interesting and complex character, and I always love reading different author's interpretations of him. I love the way you've shown him here, because he seems very real. You haven't made him a saint, which as we know, isn't canon. But you also haven't made him this completely evil villain either. He's human, which is the best thing, in my opinion, for a character to seem like.

I love the idea of Astoria as a psychiatrist. It seems like the perfect way for her and Draco to meet and it's very well suited to her, I think. I like her a lot already - even though she's new and maybe a little bit out of her depth, I admire her strength and determination. And I can definitely see how the two of them would go well together.

Moving on to your style, which is gorgeous. (Seriously. I'm dying over here. You're too talented for your own good.) I love the way that it's sort of sparse, in a way - not overly long, just saying what needs to be said. And you do it eloquently. The imagery is to die for, and your descriptions are great. They're very vivid and really help tie the whole story together.The whole thing has this sort of dreamy feel to it, which I think it quite appropriate considering the title!

Now for some of my favorite quotes because that's the best part of a review, am I right or am I right:
"Azkaban or not, there is no escaping hell."
"His dreams fill with smoke, and Crabbe dies for the twenty-fifth time. When he wakes up, he forgets to breathe." I don't know why this struck me so much, but it did.
"What are mere nightmares? Only images, hardly real, no matter how they feel on the nights he wakes up screaming, unsure if he'll open his eyes to a battlefield or the mocking shadows of his ceiling." Ugh. Again, this is perfect.

And she's a legilimens. Somehow that seems very fitting and oh gosh I am excited to keep reading this! This was a stunning introduction to the story and there's nothing I don't like about it. Sorry if you wanted constructive criticism, you'll have to be less perfect next time, I'm afraid. ;)

Happy holidays! ♥ I'll be leaving some more reviews shortly, so keep your eyes open!

Author's Response: HELLO DEAR HIPPOGRIFF :'D I was Holly the Holiday Horklump last year; I appreciate your commitment to alliteration.

There's a lot of wild mass characterization of Dracos with extreme personality -- princely snob, tragic figure, chronic snarker, etc -- but he's a bit of all of that, isn't he? It's what makes him one of my favorite characters to read about :D

Reviews are like brownies and quotes are like the pecans :3 (the best part, if you happen to dislike nuts and therefore this metaphor would be completely inappropriate).

I'm glad you like the style! I totally fretted over the description before posting. Since it's sparse, everything that actually makes it into the chapter stands out that much more, so I kept agonizing DOES THIS FIT HERE??

Thank you, HH! :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #17, by Arithmancy_Wiz darkmark.

13th December 2012:
Hello. I'm here (a bit behind) returning the favor for the Holiday Review Swap. I'm so glad I picked this story to review. It was such a great read.

I love stories that explore ideas outside the norm and this definitely ticks that box. Having Astoria as Draco's therapist is such an unusual and creative way of bringing them into each other's lives. No matter how you see it all playing out in future chapters, it creates such great possibilities for various interactions and dynamics.

Draco can be a tough character to pull off, but you have created a really good voice for him. You've managed to pull together a good blend of snark, melancholy, rebellion, and regret. I loved his simple command of "Install a floo." He's come to her for help and yet he's copping an attitude with her. It really makes his decision to visit a therapist believable. It's hard to imagine a Draco that shows up, begging for her professional advice and pouring his soul out to a stranger. But one that goes grudgingly and is resistant to the process? That I can totally envision.

Astoria is wonderfully crafted here as well. I love your repeated references to her optimism -- that she really believes she can help him. It speaks to her youth and inexperience, but also to her character. And the ending! What a twist. Not only does it open up some plot possibilities, it also really adds something to Astoria. What kind of person enters another persons mind that deeply without warning...even if they are only trying to help?

Your writing style as a whole is really well-crafted for this story. I like the use of short paragraphs, quick dialogue and small scenes. You have a great talent for saying in a single sentence things it can take other writers paragraphs to convey. Some of my favorite lines were:

-- There are words to say, but he does not know what they are or who they are for.

-- Loyalists for life, life for Loyalists

The last one especially complexly conveys the climate of the world at large with one simple slogan.

Overall, this was a really great first chapter. I really enjoyed it. Thanks for tagging me for the review swap. Happy Holidays!

Author's Response: Psychologist jumped out for me as Astoria's profession from the very beginning, though I never thought much of how to spin it until I began writing. There's an odd mix of hope and cynicism in the profession, I would imagine. I'm totally going by what I've learned from TV unfortunately :P

Draco, I imagine, is someone who wants a lot of things in his life to change, but without wanting to go through the actual effort of it, or is easily deterred by setbacks. So there's this part of him thinking he probably needs the therapy, and the other side that utterly scoffs at it. He had a pretty conflict-filled childhood too.

And Astoria, even though i didn't write her with the greatest idea of who she was, her flavor of optimism intrigued me, because I saw it as having this darkness behind it, because there is definitely something uneasy about someone being able to enter minds at will - especially covertly and with a patient no less.

Thank you so much! ^__^


 Report Review

Review #18, by teh tarik darkmark.

12th December 2012:
Goodness, this is such a lovely piece of writing! Your prose is beautiful, as are your descriptions. I especially love your sentence structures and their rhythms and the way they vary in lengths. It's really quite poetic in some places. You have a lovely light touch with your use of language; the descriptive prose isn't overdone and it reads beautifully. And I really appreciate the level of detail you've gone into to describe your characters, their body language and all.

And your dialogue is wonderful as well. It's fresh, original, snarky, sardonic and quite darkly humorous. And it all sounds natural, too :) I can really imagine Draco saying all those lines.

Your characterisation is lovely. I really loved that segment where Draco begins to observe Astoria; it certainly portrayed her in a different light, and made her character seem more vulnerable and convincing at the same time. I also love your Draco. He, too has his moments of vulnerability. The dream sequences were extremely well-written and really vivid. Loved the imagery of those!

Well, wow, this is a really beautifully-written story. I'm so glad I discovered it :D I can't wait to see what happens next. Once again, great work! Good luck with writing future chapters; I'll be keeping an eye out for this one.

-teh

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm always on the concise end of writing, which is what I generally prefer reading too - which is what I like about your style too :D I'm so terrible with canon, so I'm glad I got snarky Draco right xD I can somehow imagine Draco silently judging every face that walks past, on the claims of 'observing', at least until someone surprises him.

Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Aphoride darkmark.

10th December 2012:
Oh. My. Gosh. I don't really know what to say, but I'll try to scrape together something remotely coherent for you ;)

Firstly, you have to know that I'm a huuuge Draco/Astoria fan. There's just something right about Draco marrying someone we know little about, you know? Kinda almost like, and honestly I never really thought about it before I read this, she's his escape from the rest of his life, like she's the normality and the new and a physical representation of a fresh start. Another chance, I guess. And she's his literal version of that - and this just makes that feel so real. Like she's not trying to reinvent him, just get him to see past everything that happened before without forgetting it. Just put it out of mind and stop worrying about it.

Gah, I'm rambling. Sorry!

I love your Draco, how he's not the tragic Romeo or the sexy Slytherin God (which always annoys me) or the haughty posh kid - he's just Draco. He's just him and that's it. He's trying to just be normal, to just live, and he can't do that - the paparazzi and the nightmares are constantly holding him back. He's just so... perfect. Practically JKR's own Draco in more adult form. Also, I liked how the paps were always chasing him and using him as a scapegoat and kinda the symbol of Voldemort's reign. Like when Harry was used by the Ministry in book five, just, I suppose, it's perhaps more malicious because they're saying he actually killed people and tortured people and all that kinda stuff, rather than simply because called crazy.

Astoria is... fascinating. Seriously. I don't really know what to make of her, but I don't think I'm supposed to know what to make of her, you know? She's kinda... mysterious and open, but professional and calm, and then there's something between them, but Merlin knows if anyone could say what exactly at this point... they just fit together so well, as well - he needs fixing and supporting and she wants to fix him and support him, even if just professionally at this stage (yes? No? After the 'I was worried' scene I dunno any more... Astoria's so hard to read... gah...).

I kinda find it ironic that all through school Draco bullied Harry for being famous Potter and superstar Seeker and having all the attention, etc. etc. And now he has it all, and he hates it. They do say be careful what you wish for, though... poor Drakie ;)

Loved. It. Favouriting. Soon.

Aph xx

Author's Response: Eeek, I am so glad you liked it. I didn't have a strong idea of Astoria most of the time while writing this so I was surprised to see so many different projections of what she might represent or be like. I imagined Draco and Astoria meeting early enough that they're still discovering much of who they are, Astoria's new in her profession, etc. and there's still this optimistic air about her.

Bahaha yes, there is apparently one thing Draco is always good at, and it's looking sexy in leather pants while serenading half of Hogwarts :p He's such a difficult character to understand! And such a huge reason why I avoided writing him for ages. He had a terrible childhood, an ingrained bitterness, but so much potential to grow past it. I admire people who can face their past demons.

♥ thank you! :3


 Report Review

Review #20, by notreallyblonde44 darkmark.

9th December 2012:
The beautiful banner drew me in...as all your banners do *cough*...and I'm so happy (I feel like happy is not the right word) to have read this. It was a very different take on post-Hogwarts life and I feel like it's only going to get darker.

& the plot twist at the end! Very nice. I can't say I ever favored reading Draco fics. I always paired him as alone and desolate forever...but maybe, just maybe between you and peppersweet, Drastoria might become one of my more enjoyable pairings to read. There is so much room for originality. I love that you still mentioned Pansy and I laughed that she couldn't grasp the concept of "seeing other people"...esp when he decides to see a therapist. I almost hope that he gets better, but I like his tortured soul. It's seems appropriate for all the deeds he was involved in.

Looking forward to the rest, hope that posting this and all the positive feedback inspires you like you want :)

xx Ellie

Author's Response: Hee, I really really wanted to put more ultramarine banners on the archive, and I forget whether the fic or the banner came first xD Because i have a habit of writing fics around banners.

It's strange; a lot of people think it's going to get more romantic, and you're the first to think that it's going to get darker. I think the first chapter is pretty indicative of the rest, but I've never actually intended for this fic to be overtly romantic, so you're closer to the mark! The thing about Draco getting better - the past never truly goes away does it? And it shouldn't, I think.

Hee ♥ Julia solidified my love for Drastoria. Before her, I had an inkling that I'd like the ship, but I'd never read any Drastoria before. Her downtrodden characters fit my fancy too well.

♥ thank you so much! It definitely has; I never expected this response! If only I had more time xD


 Report Review

Review #21, by fayeswonderland darkmark.

9th December 2012:
I'm fascinated.
It's simple as that.
I'm captivated.
And without words.
And why?
Because your chapter is simply amazing. It astounds me how much I already love this story after only reading one single chapter - I have no idea what will happen when I read more D:
Draco and Astoria both come to life with all their quirks and flaws - I was pulled into heir lives with a force of ten thousand trains and I just want more.
I love how Draco and Astoria meet, how they already develop so much and how they both learn about each other.
This isn't like just any other story. This is a hundred per cent you. A hundred per cent of perfection.
I love your works, Gina, please don't ever stop!
-Sally

Author's Response: Hee, hey hey! Thanks so much, Sally :3 I'm so glad that people like the fic; it's been awhile since I've posted anything angsty, and I've never written a proper romantic drama before, especially a 3-parter!

♥!


 Report Review

Review #22, by SilentConfession darkmark.

9th December 2012:
I've never read a Draco/Astoria story before. I'm not sure why as i'm sure they'd be really interesting but I guess i'm always a little apprehensive of some people's Draco's and turning him into an angel. I liked how you didn't do that with him here. He even knows his own fallacies and mistakes. He knows what he's done and he's haunted by the savagery of it. Haunted by his memories. It makes him relatable in a way because i think we all have something like that in us. Mistakes. Probably not as grisly as his though.

Anyway, i really liked this Draco if you couldn't tell. I liked how he still has this sense of darkness in him and how he just didn't want help. especially at the beginning you get this feeling of this idea he just wants to be in control of everything, of himself and his life and being at a therapist can mean letting go of that. It would be hard for someone like him.

And gah! Astoria. I really, really liked her. I was training to be a psychologist for a brief time and this feeling of being new to the field and trying to help even though your out of your depth is so familiar. I think you've done an excellent job at portraying a psychologist though. Her trying to stay cool through his outbursts and his desire to get under her skin. I can tell she's trying to figure her style out and keep her professionalism but i think that the situation is complicated because she was there for all the things he's talking about. I think that will probably make it all too personal in the chapters to come.

I think one of my favourite lines was "Azkaban or not, there is no escaping hell.' Absolutely stunning job with painting this really grisly post war tale that doesn't let anyone go unscathed.

I've really enjoyed this and i'm definitely favourting ;D

Author's Response: I could never see Draco as an angel. I think it's strange that happens so often because it's his flaws that make him - or anyone - such a fascinating character! I am quite vocal about my love of happy endings, but even so, I know it's /all/ about the catharsis and struggle along the way, whether a story ends happily or not (but hopefully satisfyingly!).

Totally. One of the things that I don't like is when Draco opens up too easily, and I could never imagine him leaving the war all too cheery about opening up. He wasn't even like that before.

Eek, you make the second of psychologists to pass through, and I'm terrified of writing you guys incorrectly xD I'm going on absolutely nothing right now, except TV. But I think what's struck me most about that profession is how intimate it must get but always with a layer of professionalism in-between. That's always been very fascinating to me!

♥ thank you so much! ^__^


 Report Review

Review #23, by EnigmaticEyes16 darkmark.

8th December 2012:
I really like this story. It's a different spin on how Draco and Astoria come to be, and so I'm enjoying it. I'm not completely sure what's going on, but I like the idea that Draco's seeing a psychiatrist after the war to help him through his problems, although it sounds like it's probably mandatory...

Moving on... I also really liked your writing. It's very clear and precise and I didn't see any problems.

Anyway, i can't wait to read more so I hope you update soon.

xxEnigmaticEyes16

Author's Response: I always thought Draco would suffer something like PTSD, but would be too proud to actually see a psychiatrist until he rolled closer to rock bottom, so I thought, what better person for him to see than Astoria? 8D

Glad you're enjoying it! Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by meadowlarks_cries darkmark.

8th December 2012:
How do you do that? You take words to paper (albeit virtually) and transform characters into people. Your ability to transcend genres, from the comedy and light-hearted adventures of Capers, to the romance and angst of Etc. and finally to the simple and breathtaking humanity of this piece, is absolutely incredible. I cannot wait to see how the rest of this goes and I applaud and not-so-secretly worship you as an author. Thank you SO much for sharing your talents with all of us here!
~Alondra

Author's Response: Eek, thank you so much! :3 I try to write different characters as much as I can (I think Draco is one of the most difficult to get right, along with Luna), because there is something really interesting - beyond the writing - about getting into someone else's mind. Especially someone who's gone through something totally foreign to me; I know nothing of war except for news.

Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #25, by academica darkmark.

8th December 2012:
Hi Gina! I've come to holiday swap with you :)

So I favorited this as soon as I saw it because, gah, looks so good, and I have this secret love for Drastorias that I never have time to read. /sigh

Ahh, Astoria is a psychologist?! I'm a psychologist (in training), so that idea instantly hooks me in. Ugh, I love her. She clearly doesn't know what to do with him but is pretending that she does, which is painfully familiar to me, and I love how she keeps her cool no matter what he throws at her. I feel like she wants to help him, poor girl. I love how it already seems, at least to me, like she's trying to sort out her professional desire to help him and her personal desire to figure him out. Can I already see hints of affection in her gentle touch, greeting him as he wakes from nightmares? She reminded me so much of a wife just then.

Your imagery is so beautiful. I can't find the words to describe it, except to say that you've captured the uncomfortable atmosphere of a therapy session so accurately. The section where you described Draco's memories of the Battle of Hogwarts was particularly poignant in its grotesque depiction.

And Draco -- I don't even know what to say about Draco, less than I don't even know what to say about the rest of this. I have read a fair amount of post-war Dracos, because post-war Draco is my favorite Draco, and I've seen so many characterizations that I don't like because I feel like they don't get at the subtleness that you do here. He's in pain and yet still so guarded, his conditioning reverberating through the years. He's perfect, and I'm so jealous. I'm intrigued by him.

Yeah, I'm gonna make an effort to come back. I'm really glad I chose this for the swap. I love it! :)

Amanda

Author's Response: Spread the Drastoria Love! :D

Oh no, I have two psychology-trained readers now. I had this utter fear that I'd get things wrong because I know absolutely nothing about the field (I only discovered TODAY that there is a difference between a psychiatrist and a psychologist). Eek, I'm so glad that Astoria's inexperience is relatable (well, not that it's good to feel inexperienced but, well, I HOPE YOU UNDERSTAND WHAT I MEAN xD). I imagine her as someone who believes a little too much in her own abilities (as she has her ace in the hole of legilimency), so when she struggles, she tries very hard not to let it show. And I think there's a conflict between her personal optimism and the cynicism that she has picked up going into adulthood and through the war. Not necessarily affectionate, but quite personal nonetheless.

All the love for Post-War Dracos as well! :D Waah, I'm so glad you like mine, because I struggle with it, with him having gone through such a hard life that I can't begin to fathom, but my head-canon characterization of Draco is so much like what you describe, and it's what I strive for.

♥ thank you so much Amanda!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>