Reading Reviews for Chasing Charlie
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by kenpo Welcome to the Madhouse

31st January 2014:
Hey, here with your requested review!

Before I even start... yay. Charlie. I'm already a fan. I really need to get around to writing a Charlie fic.

I have a character named Bennett. He's not too nice of a guy. I'll try to not let that distract me:)

I really like the idea of "idealistic legislation"

This is so weird. I don't think I've ever read a fic that has the name as one of my characters. Sorry. I'm letting it distract me. It's pretty irrelevant to YOUR story, though, so ignore me.

"Have you ever met a dragon keeper?"
I wish. Oh man, I wish.

I like all these little interactions. They give a good vibe for first day of work, not really knowing what exactly you should say, but trying to be pleasant.

I really like your description of the office. You've given a good sense of chaos but not to the extent that it reads like a parody.

I want to meet Charlie. When does Charlie come into the story?

HA! She learned to identify a keeper by his swagger first. That's hilarious.

Red headed! It's gotta be Charlie!

Arhaldkfjsdkio. He totally would be too handsome for his own good.
askdfjalie.

I like Charlie.

Even if you hate my review, please re-request so I remember to keep reading.

Okay. Now for my notes.

General opinions: I liked this. I think it works very well as a first chapter; we get characters and brief descriptions, we got a setting, we got the start of a plot... no complaints. I like that it's a bit shorter. I prefer shorter first chapters because if I'm browsing fics, and I see that the first chapter is 5k long... eh. Do I really want to commit myself to that?

Characters: Ara (I approve of her nickname so I don't have to scroll up to double check her name spelling) seems cool. I'd like to get to know her better; this chapter seemed to focus more on the other characters. I'd like to know more about how she felt being assigned to the division. Was she nervous? Or totally ready to get all girl-power? You gave some indications, but I would've liked to see more of it.
The other characters we didn't see very much of, but that's expected for a first chapter! They seem real.

Flow: I thought it flowed well. Like I said before, I prefer to read a quicker first chapter. In future chapters, I hope that there's more detail and it moves a bit slower, though. Sorry if that isn't useful.

I've said it before, but overall I really liked this. Charlie alskdfjoieafjsld. Yay. Wow, sorry.

I see that you've got four chapters up, so saying "keep writing!" doesn't seem entirely appropiate... but do that. Keep writing.

Author's Response: Thank you :)

Oh Charlie, he's so... amazing. I just love him. And not just because he's a total babe :P

I'm glad you liked the shorter chapter! I tend to do that for first chapters so it's nice to hear that you agree. I have the same idea about long first chapters - it's easier to commit to reading longer chapters when they're later in a story.

I do address Ara's feeling on the division later on. She's certainly not afraid to share with the others how she feels about things :D Like their habit of filing anything and everything under 'A'.

Thanks for reviewing! ♥
~Shiloh


 Report Review

Review #2, by darkest knight Change of Scenery

30th January 2014:
Yay another chapter!! just letting you know I'm following this story like a bible :D! cant wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm working on a challenge piece right now but I hope to get the next chapter of this up as soon as that's done :)
I'm so glad to hear someone is following this!


 Report Review

Review #3, by marinahill Welcome to the Madhouse

22nd January 2014:
I LOVE LOVE LOVE the premise of this story, Shiloh! You've already introduced a great workplace dynamic and I'm sure we're going to be seeing much more of the handsome side of Charlie in the future.

I love that there are so few women in the department - not for the issue itself but because it sets up a challenge for Araminta straight away. Of course there are certain professions that both sexes shy away from so this is just one of them. It gives her something to strive for amongst the rest of the mad people they work with. And I got a great sense of the restlessness for this group of men who usually prefer to be out with their hands on fieldwork than back at the office doing their paperwork.

I can't wait to see where you go with this, it looks super interesting!

Marina

Author's Response: Marina! xx ♥

What a lovely review :)
I had SO much fun writing the dragons division. As Mrs. Rogers does, I refer to them as 'the boys'. They're ridiculous so of course I love them. And Araminta is fun to write as well. She's so disapproving of them and their antics. But secretly she adores them. Well... eventually!

THANK YOU MY LOFF
xoxo
Shiloh


 Report Review

Review #4, by 800 words of heaven Welcome to the Madhouse

21st January 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

It has been an incredibly long time since I read something of yours, so here I am!

Dragons are cool (I think I'm a little obsessed, actually) so obviously Charlie is a fave character simply because DRAGONS. I couldn't resist a story involving him and romance (another fave :P). Can't wait to get to know him better!

Araminta seems interesting so far, although we don't really know that much about her yet. This chapter felt more like an introduction to her job than her, which I didn't mind because I'm a bit of a sucker for world building.

I really loved the way you've described the department. I have a great visualisation of the place and how it operates. I really hope we spend a lot of time there!

I hope that in the next chapter we get to learn more about Araminta and what she's like. And Charlie of course, but mostly Araminta. Nice start!

Author's Response: Thank you! I appreciate the feedback :)

Dragons are AWESOME. Charlie is a babe.

Ara is fun to write but yes, this story was building the department more than her. There is definitely more of her coming up!
But I had a ton of fun writing the dragons division. I love all the 'boys' and the way Marcia adores them.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by darkest knight Shepherd's Pie

21st January 2014:
I LOVE THIS!! i was begging the chapter not to end and when it did I had a sort of mini melt down!! please update soon!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you like it :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by soccerchicka2421 Welcome to the Madhouse

14th June 2013:
It is really hard to find well written Charlie stories. THis is by far one of the best I've read. I'm hoping that you will update soon despite this chapter being written a while ago. I assume it has be because of you working on your other stories. After reading this I'm looking forward to reading your other stories! Keep up the great work and hopefully I'll see chapter 2 in the near future!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I don't know about one of the best but I'm so glad you think so ♥
I got lost a bit in real life but I'm back and updating regularly now! (hopefully)
Thank you for this wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by JinkSeeker2005 Welcome to the Madhouse

14th June 2013:
Truly brilliant this is! I'm excited for the next chapter! =)

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Mags2421 Welcome to the Madhouse

8th June 2013:
I think that you did a marvelous job with the first chapter. It was very well written in my opinion. I can't wait for the next installment! Keep up the great work.

Author's Response: Thank you! I know it's been a while between updates but I hope you aren't disappointed!

 Report Review

Review #9, by justonemorefic Welcome to the Madhouse

24th December 2012:
As a seventh year she had envisioned herself spearheading soapbox campaigns for reformation and drafting wordy, idealistic legislation.† Which the Minister, of course, would sign into effect with a flourish and she would be lauded for her work.† AHA, I love this bit. I already know what type she is, there is no doubt about it. A wee bit annoying but eventually gets a little wiser.

I can imagine trying to cram dragon keepers into cubicles, and I'm imagining cramming dragons themselves in there, and I'm getting the idea that it's not too much different :'D

Administrative assistant.† Secretary doesnít quite cover the wonders that woman does. I was about to say! :D Plinth totally sounds like she runs the place, and you've got the office atmosphere down pat. And being in comp sci, I know what it's like to be in a male-dominated environment, though not as bad as dragon keeping. Heh, thinking of mother hen Mary in your other fic, it seems like Marcia's mother hen here.

Omg Mr. Brocklehurst can't be anything but dragon-sized. I knew it, the office IS full of 'em.

And now I'm imagining these hulking men in viking-worthy gear attempting to do paperwork with a handwriting fit for a first grader. Aha, love this line: Araminta learned to spot a keeper based on swagger first and kit after. Valuable skills, these. And Carl already knows the valuable skill of avoiding work 8D

CHARLIEEE, I've got such a weakness for that man because, I mean, dragon keeping. Hnnng. I would let him flirt his way through his review, I won't even try to deny it 8D

♥ totally fun start! :D

Author's Response: This chapter doesn't look anything like the original but this is so much better. I am quite fond of Araminta. And her name. She's got these big dreams about what her future entails and then she gets the dragons division. Of course she'll go on to be indispensable!

Plinth. She's amazing. I wish she came into the story more. In the backstory I've got in my head she totally herds the head of the department while letting him think he's the one running things. I love her.

Mr. Brocklehurst. Think Billy Connelly in The Boondock Saints.

Ah, the paperwork. They are absolutely rubbish at it and she gets quite good at letting them know. Ha Carl. He's so nice but yeah. Plus O'Brady hates working with him, they're a mess together. It would be humorous to see a scene of them attempting it!

I'm sort of in love with Charlie. He's the most attractive man I can imagine. ♥

xoxo
Shiloh


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login