Reading Reviews for Strings
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MissesWeasley123 Strings

4th January 2014:
Hi, I'm here for day 9 of the 12 Days of Reviewing. Having recently read Paper Towns and when I saw your summary that this was written for some John green challenge, I knew by the title immediately which quote it was, or at least hoped it was that quote. I was really excited for reading this. And I'm glad I did, because it was amazing.

It was really interesting, the character you chose --Remus-- for this quote. I probably wouldn't have chosen him, maybe George, maybe Dennis. But Remus. I loved the way you showed it, that in 24 hours he had lost everyone. That was tough to digest.

The quote is so meaningful, and I'm glad you put such an interesting twist on it. Excellent job on that.

Remus experiences a different type of heartbreak. It's not love, but it's friendship and that kind of love and support he's lost. Not only has he lost that, but he's lost himself too. You conveyed his pain so wonderfully in the amount of words you wrote this in.

Everything flowed so perfectly and poetically. It was amazingly done, great job.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much for the surprise review! Surprise reviews are the best. The quote I used for this fic is one of my favorite John Green quotes, so I was very happy to be able to use it for a fic.

I actually thought of George first for this, but I've never written George before, and I've written Remus quite a few times. Remus is also my favorite character, so when this idea popped into my head I knew I had to run with it. I'd always wanted to explore Remus's emotions after James & Lily's deaths, so this was perfect.

I'm glad you like the way I interpreted the quote! I didn't want to go an obvious route, and I'm very glad it worked. It is a very meaningful quote and can be interpreted in different ways.

It's always struck me as odd that there's very little mention of what happened to Remus after James & Lily's deaths, although I suppose it's because the books were from Harry's POV and being a teenage boy with more than average weight on his shoulders, he doesn't think too much about it. But Remus, like Harry, lost everything that night. It was really emotional to explore it.

I'm so glad you liked the story so much. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by bkaddictjk Strings

3rd November 2013:
I love John Green. I love Remus Lupin. I love angst.

This fanfic was written for me. Somehow. I know that we've never met, and we probably never will meet, but you wrote this for me somehow.

Thank you. I loved it. I'm crying and laughing at the same time. You wrote a great one-shot.

Author's Response: Aww, this means so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed this fic so much. I love John Green, Remus Lupin, and angst, too. Of all the stuff I've written, this is one of my favorites. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Siriusgirl Strings

11th August 2013:
GAAH!! *hugs Remus and cries with him*

This was so beautiful, yet so SAD! It is exactly what Remus must have felt. Even before Pottermore, I always thought the death of the Potters and its aftermath would have been extremely painful. He lost all his friends in one fell swoop! Reading his story on Pottermore makes my heart break and you captured it perfectly. Remus endured so much injustice and loneliness in his life, he is probably the one character who can say he never had a chance, yet he remained so kind. He's my favourite character and you did a a beautiful job writing him. 10/10!

Author's Response: Aww, I'm glad you liked it so much! I wrote this long before Remus's backstory on Pottermore got released, and I was so happy it fit in so well! It was such a sad story to write, but I always imagined how awful Remus felt after the Potters were killed. Remus is my favorite character, too. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by HollyStone73 Strings

17th July 2013:
Poor Remus! I have always wondered how things were like for him immediately following everything that happened. The picture you painted from the mental struggles to the physical pain that he felt from he despair was brilliant. I loved it. I absolutely love that he returned to the shrieking shack as well. This was a very emotional and very well-written one-shot about one of my favorite characters! You did awesome on this!!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! I think this was definitely a "missing moment" type of thing from canon. Remus lost so much that night, basically all he had, but it's never really discussed in canon. Remus is one of my favorite characters, too! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by biggestHPfan1 Strings

28th April 2013:
Oh, poor Remus!
I never really thought about how he felt after James, Lily, and Peter died/disappeared.
Heh. Dumbledore never knew about that passageway.
I thought you did this really well. I could see Remus in my head, doing all these things and just.

I need to stop. It's too beautiful. Bye then.

Author's Response: I've thought about it for years and just recently got around to writing about it. I'm glad you enjoyed it! Haha, well, Dumbledore himself admitted that he doesn't know all of Hogwarts's secrets. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Jess the Enthusiast Strings

20th February 2013:
Hi there! This is Jess the Enthusiast here with your long overdue review for the John Green Quotes Challenge! I apologize for being an equally lazy and horrible person; I feel so bad that it's been so long since the challenge ended and I have several entries to read and review! I'm hoping to get to them all today and tomorrow and have the results posted this week! Again, I am so sorry for the wait.

When I read the summary for this story, I was very excited to read it! The Marauders Era is my favorite, but I don't read enough Remus stories as I should. Not that I don't adore him, it's just that he gets lost in the shuffle because I'm so caught up with the Potter tragedy, Sirius' unfair imprisonment, and Peter's betrayal. So I often forget about Remus and the deep pain he is undoubtedly feeling because of all this. But you wrote his story incredibly well and you reminded me why I should pay more attention to his aftermath because he lost everything that night.

You received one of the more abstract and difficult quotes if you ask me and I think you utilized it perfectly. I loved how it was an overall theme to the piece and it really emphasized the pain and emptiness he must have been feeling.

I really loved the characterizations and while Remus was just perfect (you wrote his emotions wonderfully), I really have to compliment you on Dumbledore. I can imagine him being a really difficult character to write for because his philosophical one-liners run the risk of being cheesy and hippy-ish. I didn't get that from your writing whatsoever and I'm really impressed. He was Dumbledore - plain and simple.

I also loved how you brought up the rest of the Wizarding World's celebrating and how Remus would feel about it. It makes sense; I mean to them all the pain is over, but to him it continues. Voldemort was gone, but it was at the price of two lives - people who were very important to Remus.

So I know this was a really long review filled with only compliments, but I can honestly say nothing constructive about this. I just really loved it! And I don't think you need to fix or change anything!

Really wonderful job! Thank you so much for entering my challenge. Again, I am so sorry for the long delay but I will get this done - pinky swear!

10/10

~Jess :D

Author's Response: Hi Jess! Don't worry about the wait! This is such a lovely and long review, so I definitely don't mind the wait. And thanks again for the challenge! I adore John Green. Can't wait to see the results!

I agree that Remus often gets lost in the shuffle, which is sad because he's such a complicated and interesting character. I'm always on the look-out for new Remus fics. And I've always wanted to write this exact story, just never got around to it. When I saw the quote you gave me, I knew it would be perfect for this!

The quote was abstract, but it's such a poignant and significant quote that I thought would be perfect for weaving through as a theme rather than just thrown in. I'm really glad it worked!

I'm glad Remus's emotions came through. I just imagine him as feeling so utterly lost and unable to figure out what to do with himself. Dumbledore is so hard to write! I've written his portrait before in other stories, as well as a bit of him in my Marauders novel, but he never gets any easier. I completely agree with it being easy to give him cheesy one-liners. I'm very glad he didn't come off that way.

The idea of the wizarding world celebrating the disappearance of Voldemort after James & Lily's deaths has been something that's stuck with me ever since I first read Sorcerer's Stone a decade ago (wow, now I feel old). It just seemed odd to me that people would celebrate when James and Lily were just murdered, but I suppose throughout history that has happened with wars.

Aww, I'm so happy you enjoyed this! It was so much fun to write (and a little sad). Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Jchrissy Strings

11th February 2013:
I was feeling a bit of Marauder feels, and I came across this. Nothing could have fit my mood better just now.

This has to be one of the most painful parts of the HP series, this and Sirius's story. Both men wasted so much of their lives in unimaginable amounts of pain. I always wondered why Remus didn't try harder to insist Sirius be given a trail, but the way you created his pain was so intense in this that it's easy to see why he'd let whatever he was told go to heart. He needed something to hold onto, even if it's a lie. And having a person to blame would make things temporarily feel easier.

There's a line somewhere in there about him biting his lip to stop himself from crying. That just killed me. Why did they have to go through all this? It's just no fair ;(.

I also liked the mention you had of Sirius not talking. I'll always think that he as good as allowed himself to be locked up. He suggested Peter, in his eyes he as good as killed them. He probably didn't think about fighting to try and help Harry or find Peter until he could come to terms with his best friends being dead, but by then he was already locked away.

I couldn't even imagine how painful it probably was for Remus to walk through Hogwarts. All those memories ghosting around...

This was a beautiful, beautiful one shot. It was written so perfectly and Remus's voice was exactly what it should have been.

Amazing job!
♥ Jami

Author's Response: I've always thought the same thing, about this being one of the most painful parts of the series, especially for Remus. In a matter of minutes, he was left with no one, and this was never touched upon in the series, since it was from Harry's point of view.

To be honest, I don't think a trial would've even helped, since the only people who knew Peter had been the secret keeper were either dead, Peter, or Sirius, and no one would've believed Sirius, and Peter certainly wouldn't have come forward. I think Remus just felt so lost, and so broken, that he would've believed anything Dumbledore, a man he always trusted, told him. And Dumbledore hadn't known the truth, either.

The whole Marauders plot line was just so tragic. Remus & Sirius got a bit of happiness later on, but only after so much tragedy, and then they both died too soon.

I think Sirius believed it was his fault James & Lily were killed. If he hadn't have suggested Peter, they probably would've survived. He probably thought he deserved to be locked up, at least at first.

I'm really glad you liked the story! It's something I've always wanted to write, and I'm very happy at the positive response. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by The Empress Strings

28th December 2012:
Aw! Sarah this is beautiful ♥
I absolutely love the way you've written Remus here. I just want to snatch him up and snuggle him until all his hurts are gone and he's happy again. The heartbreak and the grief is so poignant it breaks my heart.
This is wonderful.
xoxo

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! It was so sad to write, but I've always been curious as to what Remus's reaction would've been. He literally lost every single person he was close to in one night. Awful. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Jen Strings

4th December 2012:
Wow. This is really powerful. I loved it and hated it at the same time. Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Aww, yay! I'm so glad you liked it (and hated it, because it was very sad). Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by ngayonatkailanman Strings

3rd December 2012:
Aw. you are making me cry. Poor Remus. He had to wait for 13 years to be reunited with Harry and Sirius and then to lose Sirius again... He then had Harry, Tonks and Teddy only to die. how very sad.

Author's Response: He did. His whole story was so incredibly tragic, and there's so much there to work with. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by gingersnape Strings

3rd December 2012:
This was SUCH a beautiful one-shot (and will make an AMAZING podcast; I can't wait to see how it gets done! :D) and it fit the quote beautifully! I've thought a lot about how the strings in people break and my favorite part of this was how brilliantly you captured the progression of the strings breaking. I always imagine that Mario Party minigame where players take turns to cut the strings and some strings boot people off the platform and others do nothing. You never quite know which string will break Remus, but as they build up and build up, you know he is broken and there is only so much longer he can last. Gah, so tragic but so beautiful!

I read this like slam poetry? in my head - it has a REALLY beautiful rhythm that way - and it flowed perfectly. I did notice a few spelling and grammar mistakes, which I can't find right now. There were only two mistakes, both missing words, but I'm not sure where they are. :couch:

You are such an amazing writer and I'm very jealous of your everything. Congratulations on NaNo and DFTBA! :D

Looove,
Annie

Author's Response: Annie! I'd completely forgotten that you reviewed this! I'm so sorry for the horribly late response. I can't wait to see it as a podcast, too, although no one has picked it up yet.

I'm really glad you liked the way I used the quote! It's such a great quote from a great book. Haha, I don't think I've ever done that minigame before, although maybe I'm just forgetting. But, yeah, similar concept. There's only so much he can take before the final string breaks.

Yay! I was going for a rhythm! I'm so glad it worked. I read through it and did find the missing words, although I still have to go back and put them in, which means reading again to find them. I should've just put them back in immediately after rereading...

Aw, thank you! DFTBA! And thanks for the amazing review! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by slytherinchica08 Strings

2nd December 2012:
Omg! I don't know what to say! Poor Remus, my heart is just absolutely breaking for him right now! I mean I knew that he was alone after James and Lily died and the whole thing with Sirius and Peter but this, gah I can feel the tears! You did an amazing job with this oneshot! It was written so well, from the description to the flow! Man, I still want to cry for him and how lonely he was after they died! And that ending, I could feel my own heartstrings just breaking at the thought of him being back in the Shrieking shack cuddled up on the bed because its the only place he can go! This oneshot though makes me wonder how he was able to pick up the pieces of his shattered life and be able to live. I mean where did he go (he couldn't have stayed in that shack forever), where did he finally get a job and such.. it just brings up so much that I wonder and never really thought about until reading this! I thought you did a wonderful job incorporating the quote you had for the challenge into this oneshot, not only by actually using it but also making that the whole point of the story. This was such a wonderful read and I still feel so much for Remus! Great Job and good luck on the challenge!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: My heart broke for him as I wrote this! It was so sad, but I'd had the plot for so long and I had to write it. What I'd love to do is write a novel that goes from when this ends to when PoA starts, but I can't commit to that when I already have all these other ideas going.

I'm so glad you enjoyed it! It's so sad to think about him being all alone and what he had to go through afterward, all by himself.

The quote just fit so well with this plot that I had to make it the entire theme. It tied everything together so well. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Jelly Bean Omelette Strings

29th November 2012:
I love Paper Towns (Margo or Alaska?) And I love this too. ;-)

Author's Response: I love Paper Towns, too! Paper Towns is about Margo. I'm glad you enjoyed this. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login