Reading Reviews for My Not-So-Imaginary Fiend
  
93 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ohmymerlin XV: Must, Must, Must Make This Work!

16th April 2014:
[heavy breathing]

oh my god oh my god oh my god oh my god GO SALLY-ANNE

FOUR FOR YOU, SALLY-ANNE! YOU GO, SALLY-ANNE!

OH MY GOD.

THEY'VE GOT THE DATE FOR WHEN IT ALL BEGAN?!?!?!?!

OH MY GOD

I CAN'T BELIEVE HOW CLOSE THEY ARE

OH I HOPE HE FINALLY GETS DEFEATED I WILL BE SO HAPPY

And oh my god Sally-Anne is good with her maths! That would have been EXHAUSTING. I love doing maths like that, but only for a little bit! Did you actually do that maths or did you just put it into a calculator and see whatever number you got?

Or did you just make that on the top of your head?

See what I mean about liking maths? I'm always so intrigued how people do it, haha! And there always tends to be maths hate on this site as most people are English/literature people :p

Anyway, back on track to the review:

OH MY GOD BENAJMIN IS SCARY

It's SUCH an abusive relationship, oh my god! This is so stressful, I cannot wait for the day when Sally-Anne finally defeats him! :'D

So clearly, I loved this chapter. It's definitely a 10/10 from me :')

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by ohmymerlin XIV: Am I Ready to Start This?

2nd February 2014:
:O

I'm actually scared. Benjamin is TERRIFYING. The nightmare nearly reduced me to tears.

COME ON, SALLY-ANNE! DEFEAT THIS EVIL CURSE!

I don't have much to say EXCEPT THAT I HAVE GOOSEBUMPS o.o

I have no words except oh my god you're an amazing writer. I can't wait to read future chapters I'm so nervous for this!

10/10

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Willow_Lupin XIV: Am I Ready to Start This?

31st January 2014:
Thank you so much for updating!! i check all the time to see if you update! I love the nightmare i thought it was well written and i love when sally-anne goes to see trewanley. i love how even benjamin is curious of Hermione!!! i hope you update soon and please don't take two months again!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Nerissa8 XIV: Am I Ready to Start This?

31st January 2014:
This chapter was defintely worth the wait. I loved the dream/nightmare that Sally-Anne had and Benjamin is such a wonderful character. You think he is just pure evil but then he goes and does something really nice and then you are left having to rethink your opinion of him.
Keep up the good work!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Nike XIII: Knowledge is Power

22nd January 2014:
I read all through 'My Not-So-Imaginary Friend' without once remembering to review. This shall now be rectified: I Just wanted to let you know that I have really enjoyed reading both 'My Not-So-Imaginary Friend' and this the sequel.
I think your story line is very original and I like how very different you have made the characters of Sally-Anne and Marta, depending very much on how Benjamin has treated them.
I love your stories :) *Thumbs up*

 Report Review

Review #6, by zelectrodez XIII: Knowledge is Power

21st December 2013:
Haha Peter fainted at the sight of her! Too bad he didn't die from the shock though.
Benjamin is very confusing! He wants to be friends yet he still wants to kill her. Two very different vibes.
Has he every felt bad for killing any of the desendents? Like Rhea?

 Report Review

Review #7, by asdfghjkl XIII: Knowledge is Power

19th December 2013:
Hey there :)

I am glad you are back with this funny, but at the same side sad chapter. Especially the ending "Goodnight, Sally-Anne. He smiled. I sincerely wish you pleasant dreams. was so heart breaking.

At first I always thought the key to breking the curse was her "pure" blood. If she had a child with a "halfblood" or muggle, then she's be free of Benjamin. But it looks like he can control her getting children, after all he made Marta get her child early and even hepled her getting pregnant with just one try.

And now he says if she married a muggle she wouldn't get pregnant. He could stop it :( Well, a blood transfusion wouldn't do it either I believe.

Then I thought maybe she has to marry one of Benjamin's descendants. This way Benjamin would have finally gotten the girl of his dreams.

At first I wondered whether Sally-Anne or one of the others might fall in love with Benjamin. But he is too cruel for that :(

So, now I have this new theory: Sally-Anne has to make Benjamin fall in love with her so much, that he is breaking the curse himself. You can see that Benjamin and his twisted mind really want to be loved. He had feelings for Marta and I think it really broke him when she started to hate him. And now there is this cheerful, happy and smart daughter of her, and Benjamin tries to make her happy and was devastated when he saw Lupin again. He doesn't want history to repeat itself.

I wonder what the final key is, Sally-Anne deserves happines and Benjamin a final rest.

I hope you update sooner this time ;)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Willow_Lupin XIII: Knowledge is Power

30th November 2013:
Hah! "Scabbers" fainted! thats hilarious! i almost fainted when i saw the update! i love this story so much and i can't wait for chapter 14! thanks for updating and hope to see another one soon :)

Author's Response: That was one of my favorite scenes I had in my head since the beginning. Mostly just for Benjamin's reaction to Scabbers' worm-like tail. I'm glad that you're still enjoying the story despite my lack of recent updates (to which I feel really bad about that). My goal: have at least Chapter 14 up before 2013 is over! Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Minnie XII: Answers Where Least Expected

2nd November 2013:
Ahh I love your story and writing style, the plot is amazing and I really like that Sally was able to come up with something while Marta gave up, people tend to underestimate children. Please could you update sooner though? Also I think it would be really cool if one of the golden trio found out about Sally-Anne's real father, or maybe Harry after the Battle of Hogwarts. OR SHE COULD MARRY CHARLIE! That would be perfect, and it wouldn't mess up canon, and she could be in the DA. And fight in the battle of hogwarts. And adopt a child with Charlie and live happily ever after. OR benjamin could become Real and cause trouble then end up dead. I also feel like theres something going on with dean and sally. she also is yet to try out for quidditch! She could become close friends with the Golden Trio after school due to her Marauder connections! SHE SHOULD FIND OUT PETTIGREW WAS A TRAITOR! From Remua because Remus would have to tell her but then she'd Have no proof and have to only see him in Order meeting because her adopted parents would obviously join the order, and for that she develops Her relationship with the golden trio! And then Sirius dies and she suffers even more mental torment. But confides in Lupin and he becomes a lovely father figure for her and is Teddy's godmother! Argh, sorry for all the plotting but the possibilities are endless! Update soon I love your story!

Author's Response: True, people underestimate children a lot, which is why I wrote this story with Sally-Anne still so young. And I'm so terribly sorry that I've been so bad at updates! (And review responses as well . . .)

Wow! You have put a LOT of thought into where this story could go! I'm impressed! I think Benjamin would be perfectly fine with Sally-Anne marrying Charlie, but then again Sally-Anne might want someone closer to her own age. *cough*Dean*cough* Of course, that's only when they get old enough to start seriously thinking about that subject. Thirteen is still too young.

So many of your ideas are incredible, I can only hope that you're not too disappointed in the direction I've chosen to go instead. Thank you so much for your review, and I'm sorry again it's taken me so long to respond (and post, and generally be online). I posted the next chapter almost three weeks after your submitted this review. Hopefully I won't go on another two-month break!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Toni M. XII: Answers Where Least Expected

4th October 2013:
Eep!?
You have such a great command of Language, and can express the full range of emotions with your words, and all you can come up with is Eep!
The native tribes of North America had elders who told the history of their people and pass the stories down to the next generation you must have learned from an elder yourself.
Also I think you meant sHop in your third paragraph of chapter XII not sTop.
The family dynamics you use are core. Sally-Anne likes to joke with her family but takes her cues from her Father so as not to go too far. Yet her Mother seems to worry about hurt feelings in the most innocent word or phrase.
Now finding a villain you just love to hate is very hard thing to do, but at times you just cannot wait to find out how they are going to hurt the un-hurt-able.
I like the way you keep the established charters down to a minimum, just enough interaction to know where you are yet giving over the story to your originals where you can have your way with them.
Once again Thank You 4 a good story.
Are you on any other writing sites? If you are what pen name and site. Sometimes I use my initials A.T.M. but Iam not an automatic teller machine (although I would not mind that kind of money.)LOL
I would like to see some of your original work, or are you already a famous writer poking your fingers into someone elses pie?
Either way I enjoy the body of work you have shared with us already.

Author's Response: I probably should have phrased that part "'Eep!' I squeaked." I didn't think twice about using it, because that's my response when I'm surprised or when someone pokes me. My friends say I sound like a squeak toy. Sorry if I disappointed you with that! :(

You're right with the stop/shop type-o. Sorry again for another mistake!

Those two points seem to be the only flaws in this chapter of the story. I've read over the rest of your review several times now, and I just don't know what to say! It's so complimentary! *blushes*

Ooh, it seems that you really like Benjamin's character! Before it was revealed that Benjamin was pure evil in the prequel, I had a lot of people telling me how much they loved him despite how rude he was. To be honest, I still love Benjamin's character. He's so complex but has a simple drive to his actions, if that makes any sense.

To be honest, I'm terrified about using the Golden Trio. I don't want to go against canon and make them too interested in Sally-Anne's problems, but I also don't want to ignore them. Your appreciation for the way I've handled them thus far is gratifying.

Sadly, this is the only place in the world where you can view my work. I've only ever written Harry Potter fan fiction, and it's only been through this site. I do have several original stories that I've been working on (I have one particular story/series that I've been playing with for nine years now), but nothing has been published in the real world (yet). The inquiry for more stories by me is very flattering!

Thank you so much for leaving this review! I hope you continue to enjoy the story!


 Report Review

Review #11, by archer_of_the_wolves XII: Answers Where Least Expected

27th September 2013:
Whoo, new chapter!
Perfectly fine, life and, unfortunately, writer's block happen and I personally like the result! I also love how nonchalant Sally-Anne was about Lupin's lycanthropy.
Can't wait to read what else you have in store!

Author's Response: Thanks for understanding about the writer's block thing. I figure if you're going to wait a long time for updates, then those precious updates should feel worthwhile!

Thank you so much for another review! Glad you're still enjoying the story!


 Report Review

Review #12, by MargaretLane XII: Answers Where Least Expected

27th September 2013:
*laughs at McGonagall saying she's not going to sack Sally-Anne today* Actually, I've a scene planned but won't actually be writing, as my viewpoint character isn't going to be aware if it, where a staff member asks McGonagall if they are going to be fired.

Love the way she refers to her adoptive parents as her "real" parents. I usually read about adoptive kids who talk about their biological parents as their "real" parents, so it's nice to see one who feels differently.

So if she had a child with a Muggle or Muggleborn or half-blood, it might break the curse? But just for her child, I assume. It wouldn't be much good to her. Hmm.

Hmm, that's a rather complicated idea of hers. I wonder if it'll work.

And she knows about Lupin. I like her reaction. She has a point. Benjamin is probably a worse curse than lycanthropy.

Author's Response: I couldn't resist using the whole expelling Sally-Anne gag again. While most kids might wonder if they're in trouble, Sally-Anne automatically thinks of the worst-case scenario. I blame her parents and residents of Hogsmeade for putting the idea in her head.

I actually haven't read many stories about adopted children, but I have had conversations with my parents about what would happen if we found out I was switched with another baby at birth. I figure that one's real parents are the ones who love and take care of you and not necessarily the ones who contribute to your DNA.

The chances of Sally-Anne having a child with a non-Pureblood is actually quite slim because of Benjamin's influence over her (since he really exists in her blood, he has control over her bodily functions, so to speak). And you're right about it not helping Sally-Anne out of the fate Benjamin hopes for her.

Sally-Anne's plan really is complicated. My head starts to hurt just by thinking about the amount of research I still have to do. *smiles anyway*

I'm glad you like how Sally-Anne reacted to Lupin's condition. If only most of the people in the wizarding world realized that lycanthropy only seriously affects people twelve hours a month. I would much rather be around a werewolf than a vampire, that's for sure.

Thank you, thank you, thank you so much for this and all your previous reviews! I hope to stay caught up with them when I put up the next chapters!


 Report Review

Review #13, by AlmostInvisible XI: Shattered Innocence

19th September 2013:
And now she knows! I wonder how she'll cope with it later on. Will Benjamin freak out now that she know practically everything? Will she hunt down Kazik? Will Sirius himself ever find out the truth? SO MANY QUESTIONS. I guess I'll just have to wait to find out. "All will be revealed..."
Fantastic job! :)

Author's Response: More information for Sally-Anne in this chapter! You've said it yourself: there are so many questions! I hope to fill in the gaps little by little on Sally-Anne's journey. (It's a little hard for me to keep track on what Sally-Anne knows, what the readers know from Marta's story, and what I know as the author, but I'm doing my best!) Thanks again for another review! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by AlmostInvisible  X: Imaginary Friend or Imaginary Fiend?

19th September 2013:
AH
THIS. THIS.
SHE'S SUCH A SMARTYPANTS.

This is fantastic! This is the chapter we have all been waiting for since the ending of My Not-So-Imaginary Friend!! And it's awesome!
Sorry that's its been so long since my last comment. Summer, the beginning of school, it's all so crazy. But now I can go back to commenting on all the wonderful prospective chapters of this lovely fic. Great job and I'm excited to see what happens next! :)

Author's Response: I know, I had been waiting too to write this chapter since deciding to make the sequel! It's a relief that Sally-Anne knows (generally) what's going on with her!

Oh, don't worry about apologizing! I should apologize for taking over a month to respond to your review! I understand real life happens. I hope you can be patient for the updates. Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm really glad you still like it!


 Report Review

Review #15, by ThestralPrincess XI: Shattered Innocence

17th September 2013:
no!
That was genuinely my reaction to the end of this chapter, and seeing there wasn't another one yet. I am soo sucked into this story! Your plot is amazing. Please update soon. :)

Author's Response: I'm sorry, I've been writing very slowly lately! :(

And I've been responding to reviews slowly too. :(

But about a week and a half after you left me this review, I posted the next chapter! :)

I'm glad you like the story so far! Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by zelectrodez XI: Shattered Innocence

16th September 2013:
Ahhh OMG! Good old Harry helping people without even realizing it. Yay Sally-Anne now kinda knows that Sirius is her dad but I guess for her its not the best thing in the world... Thank you for another great chapter!

Author's Response: *smiles* That's my tiny way of getting the Golden Trio involved in Sally-Anne's problems. I figured that since everyone who has read Marta's story knows about Sirius, it was time to let Sally-Anne in on another secret. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #17, by brax XI: Shattered Innocence

10th September 2013:
I'm really enjoying this an incredible amount, particularly
the scenes with sirius and remus. Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Glad to hear you're having fun! I love Remus and Sirius. I've missed writing them into every chapter. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by MargaretLane XI: Shattered Innocence

29th August 2013:
The fact she thinks of him as an imaginary friend doesn't make it any more believable, does it? I mean, if she said there was a curse on her family, it MIGHT be believable in the wizarding world, though given her tendency to make up stories, they'd still probably be unlikely to believe her, but even in the wizarding world, "my imaginary friend is trying to kill me" sounds ridiculous.

That was a mean thing to let slip, about Seamus wetting the bed until he was seven.

Yeah, there's got to be more to the curse. Firstly WHY? It's a pretty extreme curse, every woman for 1,000 years dying in childbirth. There must be a pretty major reason. Or else the Benjamin Gaunt guy is completely psychopathic and would curse loads of people for any reason. Which is possible, from what we've seen of the Gaunts.

Also, there's the question of what the "imaginary friend" is needed to continue the curse. If each person were murdered by the imaginary friend, his involvement would be clear. But dying in childbirth seems like something that could happen anyway.

And the fact they each HAD a girl child. Is that part of the curse or just coincidence? I'm guessing part of the curse, because you'd think somebody would only have boys or remain childless.

Hmm, his concerned eyes surprised me. I thought he'd be obviously evil now he knows she knows. Maybe he really does sort of care about her in a strange sort of way, though his attitude in the last chapter really didn't seem that way. *ponders*

Benjamin appears to arrange who the father of each child will be. That MAY be his part in the whole thing - ensuring the girls don't remain single or anything. I still think there's more to it though, because even without remaining single, they could still remain childless. Maybe he does more to ensure they get pregnant. A lot of them DID seem to get pregnant quite young, though that may be just because a lot of them lived in the past when women often DID have their first child earlier and it's not like most of them are super-young. Weren't most of them in their 20s?

There should be a full stop after "Thanks. I think." and before "She yawned" because she doesn't actually yawn the sentence; she says it and then yawns.

Author's Response: Benjamin has been appearing as an imaginary friend for so many years, it's hard for her to think of him as anything else. And if she said it was a curse, everyone would direct her back to the Defense Against the Dark Arts professor anyway, and Sally-Anne is not eager to have another discussion with Lupin anytime soon after what just happened in the last chapter.

I'm not too inclined to completely believe that bed-wetting thing. How would Dean know about it anyway? I think that came around as an exaggeration (or played off as an exaggeration anyway). *shrugs*

You're right, there is more to the curse than what has been explained so far. Sally-Anne just hasn't had the opportunity to play 20-Questions with him yet. But Benjamin Gaunt had a logical reason why he targeted Sally-Anne's family. At least, it's as logical as a thousand-year-old curse can possibly get.

So many of your questions are answered in the prequel. I'm not telling you to go read them right now! And I don't want to spoil the fun by answering them all for you right here. What I'm saying is that your questions have helped me see what I haven't explained in this story yet. Thanks to you, I know what I need to cover when Sally-Anne and Benjamin have a decent conversation with each other!

I'm sorry if you feel like I haven't answered your questions adequately! But I think you want your answers to come in the form of Benjamin's words, not mine. Thank you so much for reviewing! (And I'm sorry again for taking a month and a half to respond!)


 Report Review

Review #19, by MargaretLane X: Imaginary Friend or Imaginary Fiend?

29th August 2013:
*laughs at the part about sending her to Professor Dumbledore to have her expelled* I think that'd be a bit of an extreme reaction to her asking him if he sent her a piece of parchment. She might not be being the most respectful and she should go to her next class, but expulsion would be a LITTLE over the top.

And Benjamin GAUNT. GAUNT! Uh oh.

Benjamin's been writing messages to Lupin on the board? I WONDERED what that writing was about, but then I thought maybe it was just stuff from the last class. I should have known though, that it was more important, as you mentioned specific words from it.

And Lupin knew Diana as well as Marta? Hmm.

Or maybe we could be positive here and suggest the failed plan is BENJAMIN'S plan. *laughs* I prefer that idea.

Lupin said of Benjamin "he probably doesn't want answer." I assume you meant something like "he probably doesn't want answerS" or "he probably doesn't want TO answer."

Yikes, how scared and confused and horrified must Sally-Anne be! I mean, this is the guy she thought was her imaginary friend, her older brother figure, the person she thought advised and helped her. It's like everything she thought she knew is turned upsidedown. And there's the idea that she'll die. AND the fact she can't escape him.

Hey, what if she never had a child? Would that end the curse? If I were her, I'd definitely be avoiding pregnancy.

Or is that even possible? It might be part of the curse that she can't escape pregnancy.

Author's Response: There have been many jokes about Sally-Anne getting expelled from her parents and Hogsmeade residents, it's now practically her default line of thinking. At least Sally-Anne is prepared for the worst-case scenario!

Tee hee, I thought Gaunt was an appropriate last name.

Few people suspected that Benjamin was the one leaving the writing on the board. Of course, I'm also not against giving out red herrings from time to time. (I gave out a major one in the prequel!)

Lupin didn't know Diana personally. He only knew of Diana through helping Marta.

I like your positive thinking about the failed plan card! You've always gotta think positively!

Oops, not another type-o! Lupin meant to say the latter, "he probably doesn't want to answer." *blushes in embarrassment again*

While writing this story, I have to constantly remind myself that Sally-Anne is only thirteen years old. I sometimes feel guilty about putting someone so young through such a traumatic event like this (she's even too young to read about her own story!). But then again, Sally-Anne has a good chance to beat this curse because Benjamin will underestimate her abilities.

The curse is more than just Benjamin coming around and taunting her. For instance, her mother Marta also knew about the curse but still got pregnant. It's ancient and powerful. We'll just have to see what Sally-Anne does from here . . .

Once again, thank you for another review! I'm thrilled to hear that you're still enjoying it!


 Report Review

Review #20, by MargaretLane IX: Grades Aren't All That Important

22nd August 2013:
Hmm, I really wonder what was wrong with Benjamin there. Could it have something to do with piggy-back rides? I don't see how, unless he made the mistake of giving Martha one when they thought they were alone and somebody saw them.

*laughs at the comment about Dean's dad greeting him fondly* What's she expecting? A typical evil stepfather? I kind of understand what she means though.

It was only at the mention that the small owl might kill her that I made a connection between the owls and Benjamin. Mind you, I've no idea what the connection IS, but it's just occurred to me they might be disquieted by something to do with him. I'd assumed all along you just meant that as a bit of humour and I've only just realised it could be significant.

I've never managed to figure out whether giving students things like grades immediately or keeping them back is more likely to cause lack of concentration. On the whole, I think getting something immediately might be less problem because at least once you'd read it, you might be able to pay attention again whereas if you're waiting you're not going to be able to concentrate on anything else. Though in Sally-Anne's case, I guess if she read the letter and it DID contain any information about her mother, she wouldn't be able to concentrate anyway, because she'd be too fascinated by that.

Wouldn't she be excited if she found out Remus was her father!

Author's Response: Are you sure you haven't read the prequel?! Sorry about the outburst, but that's what I thought when I read the first paragraph of this review! Benjamin's sudden mood change is a direct reference to the prequel and I'm astonished by your inference skills! :D

Sally-Anne doesn't really know what to think about other families. Having adopted parents is one thing, but having one biological and one step-parent could be a whole other realm. At least, that's what going on in her mind.

I've tried to passively sprinkle in incidents involving animals in general, such as not liking Sally-Anne and attacking without provocation. Now that's you're thinking more about Benjamin in a not-so-nice light, it's probably becoming easier to see the oddities in her life. *smiles*

As far as academic assignments go, I feel that passing back grades immediately is best only if the teacher intends to review what the correct answers are. If a teacher passes back grades and plans to teach his/her lesson, some students might get distracted because they either want to compare their grades with their friends or, for those who didn't do so well, might dwell over their mistakes for the whole period and not learn anything for the upcoming test. Sorry, I've had a lot of experience contemplating that very issue. But in regards to Sally-Anne's problems, I can't see any professor giving her the letter right away since mail is supposed to be delivered at breakfast. (And giving her the letter at the end of class helps move along the plot in the right direction!)

*smacks forehead* I should have had Sally-Anne think of that possibility! But she already knows that Marta and her look alike, and neither Marta nor Remus have Sally-Anne's black hair.

Again, thank you for another wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by MargaretLane VIII: Nudged in the Right Direction

20th August 2013:
I'm guessing they're right about all her ancestors dying in childbirth- the women, I mean.

*grins* Harry would be bound to understand how important finding out about her mother would be to Sally-Anne.

Hey, if each of those women died in childbirth, then what'd happen if the first child was a boy? I mean, we don't know they each died having their first child, but considering how young they were, it seems likely. Maybe it's part of whatever magic or whatever is going on. Not that we know they all died in childbirth, but certainly, it seems they each had a child before they died.

Since Benjamin is ridiculing the idea of her father playing Quidditch, I'm guessing he did.

Marta is probably looking for Benjamin, I'd guess.

Author's Response: You commented in a previous review that Sally-Anne's story sounded a bit like Harry's. I did that intentionally so he would be more inclined to help later, even if he's not aware of the significance of his help.

It's kind of frustrating that I can't put up the list I made that Sally-Anne keeps referring to. Your ponderings about what would happen if a boy were born are good, but you're right about some sort of magic affecting these women. More information to come!

I really enjoy reading about your thoughts and theories! I know you haven't read the prequel yet (at least, I don't think you have), and it's nice to hear that you're coming to the right conclusions about things (your last two sentences being perfect examples). Thank you so much for sharing them!


 Report Review

Review #22, by MargaretLane VII: I Don't Believe in Coincidences

20th August 2013:
*laughs* I can well imagine Snape wouldn't take too kindly to getting a drawing handed up to him instead of homework.

When she's talking about being late to Potions, she says "Snape gave me essay a big fat zero". I guess you meant "my essay," since she doesn't seem to say "me" for "my" at any other points in the story.

I wonder if how often Sally-Anne seems to get sick has anything to do with Benjamin. This is what? about the third time this story.

I'm guessing those women are her ancestors. But why somebody'd send her the list, I don't know. Hmm.

Asking Lavender is rather a long shot too, I'd say. After all, Brown is a fairly common name, although maybe it isn't so common in the wizarding world.

It'd probably sound better if Harry said "I'm not beaten yet" instead of "I'm not beat yet."

Hmm, the Ministry hasn't been around 1,000 years? Wonder what proceeded it.

*laughs at Ron being the one to come up with the important information* Bet nobody expected that.

Author's Response: Oops, you caught some of my type-o's. I try to catch as many as I can, but I seem to have a problem with interchanging me and my. Sorry if they distract from the story!

Snape is actually a perfect example of a teacher who would not, under any circumstances, accept extra credit. As I wrote that part, I remember thinking that Sally-Anne should have known better than to try it. Then again, Sally-Anne's character would have given it a shot anyway, so that's why it happened.

Illness connected to Benjamin? Whatever could have led you to that insightful deduction? *whistles in a corner with notes pertaining to future chapters*

Magic before the Ministry? I feel like I did a few research projects for this story myself. From what I remember, before the Ministry witches and wizards just lived alongside Muggles, most likely because there weren't so many people in the world. I think Pottermore even said that Purebloods associated with rich Muggles. Yeah, it was something like that.

I actually thought of Ron when I was finishing up the prequel to this story. The background Sally-Anne wants to know is common knowledge with him because of, well, he will explain better in the next chapter. But my initial thoughts about the end of this chapter and the beginning of this one haven't changed much in the process between brainstorming and writing. Besides, I wanted Ron to contribute really useful information for Sally-Anne!

Thanks again for another lovely review! I hope you're not too mad at me for being such a slow responder.


 Report Review

Review #23, by MargaretLane VI: Masterpieces Take Time

20th August 2013:
This is a very small thing, but I'm wondering how common time outs were in the UK in the 1990s. They come across as a bit of a modern thing to me. I would more have expected children in the early '90s to get a scolding or a smack or be sent to their rooms.

Yikes, my immediate thought when there was a mention of a prisoner and her father, was could Sirius Black BE her father?

I think you've really captured Sir Cadogen's craziness here. It must be really irritating having him guarding the portrait hole. But then Ravenclaws have to wait until they figure out the riddle or somebody else does, so I guess she's not doing TOO badly.

Extra credit sounds kind of American for a British boarding school.

I was expecting Lupin to notice her sketches when she'd been drawing in class and then he started talking to her afterwards.

Poor Remus. He's trying to hide his lycanthropy, worrying about whether or not he should let Dumbledore know about Sirius being an Animagus and probably dealing with the constant reminders that his old friend is, he thinks, a killer and also now dealing with Sally-Anne's problems.

Author's Response: Hm, maybe they weren't called time outs per say, but getting sent to one's room could be the same as getting a time out. I don't really know.

The Sirius Black connection . . . ooh . . . that will be confirmed or denied in Chapter 11. :)

Oh, I spent a lot of time learning about Sir Cadogan from the books and Pottermore (more time than I would have liked actually). He really was quite insane. I would still rather face Ravenclaw's riddle though, but that's just me.

I actually got the idea for extra credit from Hermione's Charms exam back in PS. She told the others that she got a 112% on her exam, meaning Flitwick gave out extra credit. I don't think all teachers would have accepted Sally-Anne's extra credit, but some like Flitwick might see it as some sign that the material has been learned.

I have to say, Remus Lupin is my favorite HP character. Because of that, I tend to put him through a tough time in every one of my stories. He's trying to do his best given his own problems, and now I'm throwing Sally-Anne's problems at him too (not to mention that he's going to be helping Harry out eventually).

Thank you again for taking time to review between chapters! And I'm sorry again for how long it's taking me to respond!


 Report Review

Review #24, by MargaretLane V: Always an Interesting Halloween

19th August 2013:
*grins* Parvati sounds sensible.

And I love the way you bring in Crookshanks annoying people and Hermione defending him no matter what.

Absolutely LOVE the name of the shop. It's perfect.

The dog is Sirius?! It took me a while to catch on to that. I didn't until he responded to the mention of the imaginary friend. I keep forgetting this is Prisoner of Azkaban era. I think it's because the story is so separate; I mean it's about something completely different to Prisoner of Azkaban, so I forget the two things are happening simultaneously.

Hmm, I'm wondering what being colour blind has to do with anything.

Author's Response: I know Parvati and Lavender aren't given very much character development in the books, so I decided to make Parvati the more sensible of the two. I'm glad you seem to like her like that!

I did my best to be as close to canon as possible without bring in very many PoA events (due to copyright issues). For instance, I could see Crookshanks bothering everyone. And Sally-Anne is even a canon character (she was only mentioned one time in PS and not even assigned a House).

Yup, Sally-Anne has met Sirius. I know you haven't read the prequel yet, but the significance of this moment will be made clear by Chapter 11. I can completely understand how you can forget this is going on during PoA events. I figured that not everyone in the school knows the connection between Sirius and Harry, nor would everyone care as much as the Golden Trio. But this story started in the Marauders era, so I wanted to bring as many Marauders into the sequel as I possibly could. :)

Tee hee, yes, color blindness in dogs definitely helps me continue to keep the story canon. More information about this will be revealed in upcoming chapters that I haven't even written yet.

(And I'm so sorry I took a month and a half to start responding to your dedicated reviews! I hope you can forgive me!)


 Report Review

Review #25, by Willow_Lupin XI: Shattered Innocence

14th August 2013:
Omg! thanks for updating i've wanted to see her reaction and it's awesome! i can't wait for the next chapter! XD

Author's Response: I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the chapter! I'm really sorry it took me nearly two months to post the next chapter though (and nearly just as long to respond!). Nevertheless, thank you for sharing your feelings!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>